Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 64 View Image Gallery
  • Gwelfor Barn - Anglesey - 1057992 - photo 1
close

Gwelfor Barn

(Ref. 1057992)

Llangoed, Anglesey Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 5 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Sustainable Property

Sustainable properties have all successfully completed Sustonica's sustainability certification. This means they have been recognised for energy and water conservation, waste reduction and promoting inclusiveness. Read more

Features

  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • pool (21)
  • no (16)
  • property (16)
  • views (14)
  • barn (14)
  • our (12)

29 Customer Reviews

  • "Firstly, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the barn."

    The property is AMAZING! my grandparents who didn't make it out a lot, enjoyed the views and sitting outside in the sunshine. There was more than enough room for all of us and the pool area was clean and everyone made use of the pool throughout our stay. The barn is well equipped with everything you could need, from pots/pans to highchairs and dog crates. We had a small issue of a curtain pole falling down in one of the bedrooms, this was flagged and fixed same day. Great service! Couple of things, the outside decking area - i think, from the listing I was expecting AstroTurf? We took lots of outside games but found these not to be possible to use. Also on the listing was a calor gas BBQ, there was a BBQ but this was coal and we were unable to use when we wanted to (first night) owing to us not having the correct fuel. We found clothes in the tumble dryer which had been forgotten, random white towels in the kitchen cupboards.. all round could of been a bit cleaner but certainly didn't dampen our time spent at Gwelfor Barn.

    Thanks for your feedback. Glad you had a good time and thanks for reporting the curtain pole. The listing does not mention anything about a BBQ. One guest left a charcoal one last year so we have kept it outside but no mention in listing. The astro had to be removed in the winter due to damage, apologies. I will ensure the cleaning company check the tumble dryer at change over. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Holly3.4May 2024

  • "Beautiful cottage,lovely setting and views , great space for all the family, the children loved the pool (and it was nice and warm)."

    Thank you for your kind feedback. So glad you have a great time with the family. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Mar 2024

  • "Lovely property, everything we needed."

    Beautiful views, great walks from the house

    Thank you for the kind feedback and so glad you had a lovely stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Sep 2023

  • "Absolutely fantastic property, beautiful views, something for everyone!"

    Thank you so much for sharing this with us, we had an amazing time!

    So glad you had a nice time. Thank you for staying with us and leaving such positive feedback. Hope to see you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Aug 2023

  • "The barn is lovely with a fantastic outlook, the pool is excellent and we had a lot of fun in there with the children."

    The cleaning could be better, there was a lot of dust under furniture and in corners, there were dead flies and wasps in sitting area which we cleared up on arrival. The kitchen/utility room facilities were very good although the kitchen was very dark even with the lights on. Out of the 4 lights on the cooker hood only one was working. The cooker was not very clean nor were the oven trays. Lack of a mirror in the bedroom meant it was difficult to dry and style hair. There is a dip on the grass over the garage which feels like there may be an issue with the roof, child tripped twice where it dipped down. Overall we had a wonderful holiday, the barn is big enough to have some private space and the area is fantastic with plenty to see and splendid views.

    Glad you had a great time and thank you for the feedback. I will pick up your comment with the housekeeping team and ensure a mirror is placed in the downstairs bedroom. Thank you for taking the time to feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline4.1Jul 2023

  • "Absolutely fabulous holiday in a beautiful location with loads to do in the vicinity."

    I would definitely recommend Gwelfor Barn as a fantastic house for groups and extended families. The access road is not suitable for low clearance vehicles as it’s a bit bumpy but standard cars are 4 x 4’s are fine - but this contributes to the beautiful seclusion of this property, and ample parking. The annex in the house was wonderful for parents with a young baby to be able to cater individually for their needs without disturbing the others. The views are insane - binoculars are provided - and we were even visited by an owl who sat on the balustrade for a while! The pool was perfect in its temperature and was a huge hit with everyone - especially as it has its own shower and toilet, which is useful as it is accessible externally to the property. The kitchen was fully equipped and even had pans for large families, and fridge freezer with an integrated ice maker was an added bonus. Everything was spotlessly clean throughout and furnished to a high standard. It made for a memorable holiday and I would return in a heartbeat.

    Thank you for the kind feedback and so glad you had a great time. That Owl is super friendly and often hangs out on the terrace. Hope to see you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jun 2023

  • "Overall an excellent all round property."

    However there are some minor points that we listed for housekeeping eg lights bulbs not working. Our main comment is regarding why when we have paid a substantial amount to rent the property we are then expected to strip all the beds empty waste bins etc. Using COVID19 guidelines as an excuse for this is no longer acceptable eg we stayed at a hotel the previous night to arriving at the barn without any such requirement. Surely if the cleaners are that concerned then they can wear gloves and masks! This was time consuming and took the edge off what had been a fabulous week.

    Very valid comment I will speak with the housekeeping team about updating the guidance. Glad you had a good time and thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.7Apr 2023

  • "Stayed here before, the place is as good now as was there, superb property with stunning views, immaculate house really comfortable and met all our needs."

    The pool really tops it off. Just sorry we had to come home.

    Thank you very kind and glad you had a great stay again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Apr 2023

  • "We had the most amazing week."

    The house is beautiful. Had everything we needed and more. Views are stunning. Could’ve just packed swimming costumes and pyjamas as we had to force the kids to venture out away from the pool. Lovely and cosy despite the wind outside. We will definitely be back.

    So glad you had a good time. Thank you for the kind comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Feb 2023

  • "Wonderfully spacious property with a seaview."

    It's right on the coastal path so there are walks in several directions right from the doorstep. Swimming pool also greatly appreciated.

    Thank you for the kind feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Sep 2022

  • "The toilet flush in the main bedroom, broke on Tuesday night, constant calls to Menai Office, all Wednesday no answer automated reply saying very busy try again later, tried again Thursday same reply, phoned Sykes sales office to be transferred to Charlotte at Menai Office, who said she would log it, Amanda phoned to say a plumber will be out late afternoon/evening, he came in the evening can’t fix it did not have the part although we said what was wrong with flush to Charlotte, plumber took photos, said don’t know when he would be back."

    Friday morning at 9.00, our day of departure, a different plumber arrived as we are trying to pack up to leave by 10.00, water was off for 40 mins, as we are trying to pack our cars and make last minute loo breaks. Plumber completed by 9.40, we then left. So we had the inconvenience of no toilet working in the main bedroom for 2-3 days, think some type of cash refund should be given for this inconvenience.

    Reviewed by Carol3.1Aug 2022

  • "A lovely comfortable property that well suits a three generation family group."

    Everything that you need for a relaxing holiday in spacious accommodation in an idyllic location. Whether you want an active or peaceful stay plenty of options locally and further away.The swimming pool a bonus to return to after a day out. Not only has care been taken over facilities inside the barn but the outdoor area is equally as impressive, lots of space, well maintained gardens and plenty of seating to take in the day from the stunning sunrises to sunsets over the sea.

    Thank you for your amazing feedback. Hope to see you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Aug 2022

  • "A beautiful well maintained property with a splendid location."

    All our party from 76-9yr old had great fun. Superb for a family gathering and very spacious. Very well equipped kitchen and an excellent utility room with large washing machine and separate dryer. We were very pleased to find a bbq at the property because when we asked the question we were told no bbq was available. Beds were excellent and lovely white linen. Plenty of hot water and the swimming pool was a pleasant temperature. Would definitely recommend Gwelfor Barn especially easy to access coastal path as it runs very close to property. All in all excellent.....

    Thank you. So glad you had a great time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Aug 2022

  • "We loved our stay it was very special."

    Beautiful view and a beautiful house. I have nothing negative to say and we would love to come back again if we can find a date when it’s free. Fabulous place!

    Thank you for the amazing feedback. So glad you had a great time and hope to see you soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jo5.0Aug 2022

  • "This is the 2nd time that we have stayed at Gwelfor Barn, beautiful house, ..."

    This is the 2nd time that we have stayed at Gwelfor Barn, beautiful house, really well equipped spacious and Ideal for a multi generation family 9 to 72 we all loved the pool, peaceful swim for grandparents before breakfast, plenty of space for the kids to play and lovely walks for the dog, We all had a great time thank you

    Great to have you back again. Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline4.7Jul 2022

  • "Wow what a spectacular home!"

    The location, views, pool & property are amazing and we had the best holiday. Highly recommended!

    Reviewed by Leora5.0Dec 2021

  • "An absolutely beautiful home in an idyllic location."

    Had everything you could have wanted/needed. The indoor pool, just for our personal use, was a rare find and did not disappoint. Hope we can come and enjoy Gwelfor Barn in summer too.

    Thank You for the amazing feedback. So glad you had good time and hope to see you again next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Dec 2021

  • "Tremendous property the kids loved the pool the computer games and toys a brilliant break"

    Thank you for the feedback. Glad the kids enjoyed the rainy day box. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matt and Pam5.0Nov 2021

  • "Gwelfor Barn is a really beautiful property."

    We all thoroughly enjoyed our week there. This is by far the best equipped holiday let I’ve ever stayed in. Every detail has been thought of to make you holiday as enjoyable as possible, kitchen has everything!! . I would 100%recommend this property. Love the fact ample wood is supplied for the log burner. The grounds and scenery are stunning. So quiet around. Even though you have neighbours we didn’t here a peep from them. It’s also very close to Beaumaris, for all you need and some lovely places to eat. Jolly’s cafe very dog friendly. A few things that we think could do with making clearer, but by no means complaints. The pool has no access from the house you have to go outside, not an issue in the summer but cold this time of year when you exit the pool room wet. Not a major issue just something to be aware of. The house states 5 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms which is strictly true. However the one bathroom is in the pool room , which means the twin room has no bathroom as there isn’t a family bathroom (they are all en-suite) . So ideally a children’s room who can use their parents bathroom. The property is extremely warm in the bedrooms at night. We resorted to using the fan, I think if possible turn the thermostat a little lower. Everyone struggled a little with the night time heat. Thank you for sharing your beautiful property it’s was a truly memorable stay in such a gem of a spot.

    Reviewed by Charlotte4.7Oct 2021

  • "Had a really lovely week."

    The cottage is well situated to explore the many attractions in the area.

    Reviewed by Thomas4.7Sep 2021

  • "We found two dirty cups in the cupboard, loose towel holder in under stairs toilet, master bedroom toilet flush button insecure."

    The information book needs more info regarding the kitchen appliances and how to work them. The information on the Internet regarding bedroom position/layout within the house is mis-leading. The house and pool door key's are worn and hard to lock/unlock. Suggest the children's toy box contents needs checking regularly for broken or inoperative toy's. Property is not disable person and young child friendly, due to a lot of unmarked steps, also soler panels on balcony not fenced of and only information about them is in the booklet. Only covered with plastic at same level as grass.

    Thank you for your feedback. We will look at addressing your suggestions. The house is not advertised as disabled-friendly due to one or two steps as you move across levels from Cottage to back bedrooms. I don't understand the comment on misleading descriptions. We don't have solar panels only water pads that are free to walk on as per the guide book. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Raymond2.8Aug 2021

  • "This was an amazing holiday for our 3 generation family."

    The grandchildren loved the indoor pool and had a great time. The accommodation was first class with lots of home comforts. Good selection of toys for the grandchildren to play with, from games to PS3, a great time was had by all. The views are amazing and what a lovely place to sit outside and eat a meal and have a drink. The indoor pool, changing room and facilities were first class. It was lovely for the grandchildren to be able to play with their inflatable toys in a safe environment. The only small recommendations we would have would be a chair for the dressing table in the main bedroom to dry your hair. The seating area above the pool with the imitation grass has a fabulous view but occasionally we had a small electrical static discharge after playing ball games and then touching the surrounding metal fence, this could be solved by earthing said fence. These are very small recommendations and do not let these comments put you off. We had a fabulous 3 generation holiday and would highly recommend this barn.

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Jul 2021

  • "Gwelfor Barn is a beautiful holiday house, lots of space and excellent facilities , unfortunately the swimming pool wasn’t working from Friday until Wednesday afternoon so I had very disappointed grandchildren."

    Sykes were very helpful and did all they could to rectify the problem as did the owner, not their fault but made a big impact on our holiday. Would definitely recommend Gwelfor Barn to any multi generation holidaymakers.

    Reviewed by Pauline4.7Jul 2021

  • "The house is in a beautiful location with fabulous views."

    It was an ideal place for our multi generational family to celebrate our Golden Wedding. Plenty of room to spread out and all the facilities and equipment you could wish for. Everything had been thought of to make life easier. The little ones enjoyed the toys and books provided and the pool was a great bonus and used daily. Sitting outside in the sunshine on the terrace with a drink in hand admiring the views was perfect after a busy day exploring this lovely area. The only negative was the lack of blackout curtains in the bedrooms, especially the children's twin room but all in all a near perfect holiday creating many lasting memories of a happy family time together after so long.

    Reviewed by Glenis4.7Jul 2021

  • "Fabulous property with super views."

    We all loved the swimming pool and the whole family from babies to grandparents had a wonderful time.

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Jun 2021

  • "Had an amazeing time at gwalfor barn , where do I start the house is spacious and has everything you need and more , the Internet is best ive used , the outdoor space is great and very usable with views to die for , then there's the heated pool my grandchildren loved it a great asset if its raining ."

    Reviewed by Tom5.0Jun 2021

  • "GWELFOUR BARN IS PICTURED AS A DETACHED PROPERTY AND IT IS TERRACED,IT IS LISTED AS DOG FRIENDLY YET IT IS NOT THE INSTRUCTIONS ARE NOT CLEAR FOR WHAT TO DO WITH RUBBISH, THERE IS NO SIGNAGE TO ADVISE THE DOGS TO KEEP OFF THE NETTING AREA."

    THERE SHOULD BE SOME SORT OF FENCING TO SEPERATE THE NETTING FROM THE FAKE GRASS . THE PICTURES CLEARLY SHOW A DECKING AREA AND THIS DOES NOT EXSIST. THE NEGHBORS ARE RUDE AND VERY UNFRIENLY THIS HOLIDAY WAS NOT WHAT I PAID FOR TOTALLY DISSAPOINTED AND SYKES CONTINUALLY IGNORE MY CALLS AND EMAILS

    The property is Pet friendly and Dogs can walk over the solar pads. The rubbish collection is clear and instructions are in the book. The decking now has astro turf on it. You could not meet nicer neighbours. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul2.5Jun 2021

  • "Gwelfor Barn is absolutely fantastic."

    The whole family had a wonderful holiday, and we certainly didn't want to leave. It is spacious, clean and has fantastic views from the lounge window. It is well designed, and the little welcome touches around the place really made is feel instantly at home. It is a little bit away from shops etc., but the views and walks around the place make up for that. Sykes kept us well informed on every aspect of our holiday, and we have already book another venue with them for next year.

    Reviewed by Irene5.0May 2021

  • "Only real complaint is the master bedroom could do with curtains or blinds on the large window."

    Otherwise the property was excellent and the location was great and the pool was a real plus.

    Reviewed by Andy4.7Apr 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 700 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • 5 bedrooms: 3 x King Size Bed, 2 x Single Bed, 1 x Double Bed, 4 bedrooms have en-suite
  • 1 x Bathroom with: Bath, Hand Basin, Shower, Towel Rail, Wc, Bidet
  • 1 x Bathroom with: Hand Basin, Shower, Wc
  • 1 x Bathroom with: Bath, Hand Basin, Shower, Wc
  • 1 x Bathroom with: Bath, Hand Basin, Shower, Wc
  • 1 x Bathroom with: Shower, Hand Basin, Wc.
  • 1 x Cloakroom
  • 1 x Living Kitchen Dining
  • 1 x Kitchen
  • 1 x Living Dining
  • 1 x Utilities
  • 1 x Snug
  • Ground-source heating and woodburning stove (logs provided)
  • Electric oven, induction hob, microwave, American fridge/freezer with ice machine, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer
  • 3 x Smart TV, PlayStation 3
  • Superfast fibre direct to house WiFi up to 300mbps
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and high chair available
  • Ample off-road parking
  • Electric car charging point Type 2
  • Large decked area with table and chairs, as well as access to a private meadow
  • Three well-behaved dogs welcome (1 lab sized crate at property advise if req'd)
  • Please bring your own pool towels
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Shop 1.3 miles, pub 3.7 miles
  • Annex: Electric oven, induction hob, microwave and TV with Freeview
  • Note: Check-in time is 4pm

The property

Beaumaris 3.6 miles. Gwelfor Barn is an outstanding Eco barn conversion in one of the most breath-taking positions in the south-eastern corner of Anglesey and offers an exceptional self-catering experience with captivating countryside and sea views. Part of 3 Barns sleeping up to 10 guests, Gwelfor Barn is a great find for groups of friends and families seeking to explore this majestic part of Wales, to use as a base to celebrate a special occasion or to simply relax and enjoy the boutique interior of this property, making a truly tranquil retreat to enjoy all year around.

After admiring your surroundings, step into the sitting/dining room, where the tall floor-to-ceiling triple glazed feature window allows natural light to flood into the space, providing stunning sea views from the comfort of the sofa, with the woodburning stove crackling in the background.

Flick on the 4k Smart TV for more relaxed evenings or regroup with all your loved ones at the formal dining table, where meals, drinks, board games and general catch-up time can be enjoyed.

From here you will discover the kitchen, where a range of quality appliances have been wonderfully arranged in a contemporary assortment, inviting you in to rustle up home-cooked meals, as well as a central island unit providing ample preparation space.

Younger guests of the group will be delighted by the snug, which is located just off the kitchen and boasts another Smart TV with the added luxury of a PlayStation 3.

Concluding the ground floor are three immaculate bedrooms, comprising of an impressive Super king-size bedroom with en-suite bathroom, a King size double bedroom with an en-suite shower room and a twin bedroom, each one enjoying plush furnishings and beds draped in white linens, so sleeping is sure to come easy here.

Continuing to impress, the master suite can be found up the staircase, boasting a sumptuous Super king-size bed and en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower and separate bath, allowing you to choose how best to prepare for your day.

Grandparents or those seeking peace away from the rest of the main group will be delighted by the annexe-style wing of the house, which contains an open-plan living room with a kitchen area, a dining area and a sitting area, and is completed by a king-size bedroom with an en-suite.

During balmy evenings, take your beverage outdoors onto the huge decked area to admire the sea views and catch the final glimpses of sunshine, or allow your canine companions to stretch their legs on the private meadow, which sits to the front of the property and direct access to the coastal path.

Arguably the most impressive feature of this property is the superb UV indoor heated swimming pool, where hours of family-fun is guaranteed, providing a great way to while away a couple of hours on a rainy day.

If you can tear yourself away from this wonderful abode, head into the nearby seaside town of Beaumaris, where you will find a range of places to eat, from tapas to takeaways, and fine dining restaurants to traditional pub grub, you are certain to find something to suit all tastes here, as well as shops for picking up any essentials. Immerse yourself in the local history by visiting Beaumaris Castle before heading to the shoreline, where you will find opportunities for boat trips and fishing.

Alternatively, travel along the coast northwards to spend time at Red Wharf Bay, an extensive area of fine sand covering nearly 10 square miles, where you are promised an abundance of birdlife, such as purple sandpipers, curlew and shelduck. Other attractions within this part of Wales include traveling to the beautiful Newborough Beach and Newborough Forest with walking and cycling trails, visiting the railway station at Llanfairpwllgwyngyll and getting a picture with the famous village name sign, or crossing the bridge to explore the majestic wonder of the Snowdonia National Park. Bring your loved ones to Gwelfor Barn to share an unforgettable holiday in Anglesey.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £500.

View on map

About the location

LLANGOED

Beaumaris 3 miles.

The village of Llangoed is situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in the beautiful east corner of the Isle of Anglesey, offering a shop and Post Office. Nearby is the fascinating and attractive town of Beaumaris, boasting a 13th century castle, Georgian and early Victorian houses and shops, a number of excellent tea rooms, restaurants and stylish shops, and a delicatessen. Visit the town’s old courthouse and Victorian gaol, or the pier where you can fish for crabs or catch a boat to see the birds on Puffin Island. From the pier and promenade there are spectacular views across the Menai Straits and Snowdonia. Nearby Penmon Priory, founded in the 6th Century by Saint Seiriol and with its Holy Well and Dovecote, is just a short walk away on the coastal footpath.

Note: No Hen/Stag or similar type gatherings or pool parties
Note: This property has a £500 Good Housekeeping Bond
Note: Access to the pool is from the outside no internal access