Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • Halcyon Annexe - Anglesey - 1040055 - photo 1

Halcyon Annexe

(Ref. 1040055)

Moelfre near Benllech, Anglesey Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (15)
  • location (14)
  • lovely (14)
  • all (13)
  • bath (13)
  • annexe (12)

42 Customer Reviews

  • "Very welcoming property with everything we needed."

    Lots of hot water, plenty of towels and kitchen utensils. Suggest a grab rail over the bath and spare pillows. Lovely garden with patio set for outdoor dining! Great television with dvd and dvds!

    We would like to thank you for your nice feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your holiday. We try to make our guests stay as enjoyable as we can. There should have been some spare pillows on the top shelf in the wardrobe. We will be fitting a grab rail on the wall next to the bath to facilitate getting in and out easier. Many thanks Rita and John Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janis5.0Jun 2024

  • "Health and safety hazards."

    (1) Microwave was situated above head height on top of the fridge freezer - I was afraid to try and use. I mentioned this to the owner and his comment was it was a little tight on space in the kitchen. (2) By the time you open a section of the drop leaf table and open two of the folding chairs housed underneath the table you end up sitting next the rubbish bin and the mop, bucket and sweeping broom which did not seem too healthy to be next to when eating your food (3) It was quite an ordeal to have a shower. The sides of the bath were high and there were no grab rails to hold on to when getting in and out of the bath for a shower. I made do with a wash every other day rather than face the ordeal of getting in and out of the bath steadying on the taps! (4) Half of the wardrobe housed the vacuum cleaner. I won't be going to this property again.

    We would like to thank you for your feedback. We have tried to us the space in the annexe to the best we can. We do act on guests feedback and will put the microwave on the worktop. We will also fit a grab rail on the wall next to the bath to facilitate getting in and out of the bath. I must add the bath is just a standard height. We were under the impression that there was only one guest staying so there should have been no need to get two chairs out in the kitchen. The mop, bucket, sweeping brush and bin don’t have to be there in the way, they can be moved somewhere that is more convenient to your needs. One side of the wardrobe does house the vacuum cleaner but this can also be removed. The wardrobe is quite large and we feel that even half is large enough for two people let alone one for a weeks holiday. We are sorry to hear our property didn’t meet your expectations. Rita and John Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann3.1Jun 2024

  • "This break was like stopping at my nans house for a long weekend."

    Which as you can imagine is nice. It did take us a while to find the property at the back of the main house as the sat nav kept us further day. Any first impression was OK, says what it is k. The tin basically. However if like a lot of property owners they have a management company that sort the cleaning etc for them they really do need to speak them. It is such a shame as it could be a lovely little gem. And before I go any further, no I did not contact the owner or Sykes I sorted some issues out myself so that we could crack on with the break. Firstly, cleaning spray and a face cloth wet left on the bedroom cupboard (no major problem), the kitchen bin was full to the top, as it happens we have a camper so I had some bin bags with me. There is a lovely welcoming gesture of tea coffee and chocolate biscuits. But I had to first scrub the spoons as they were very tarnished. The bedroom had soft clean linen on, but a shame there are large cobwebs on the walls and over the wardrobe, and when I looked it is thick with dust on top. Moving to the bathroom, again a lovely warm atmosphere, but spoilt by cobwebs, black grout and rusty towel rail over the bath,(this seriously wants removing) a good size towels just a little tired. Plenty of hot water. Areas of the property have had lovely thick carpet fitted and a vacuum is supplied which is good. But the skirting is thick with dust and dirty, the living room radiator as had something splashed up it and on the skirting below but has not been cleaned.It was lovely to see an assortment of birds visiting the garden and a lovely seating area for when the weather allows. It might be a benefit if some kind of lightening could be fit up the side of the property as this was very dark when returning at night. When leaving instructions ask you to strip the bed place items in a black bag and the n in an IKEA bag and the same for towels keeping them separate, unfortunately all that was left for us was 1 ikea bag. I have to say I is such a shame that we would not return to this property because the cleaning is not what we would expect because it is a cracking little property in a brilliant location.

    We would like to thank you for your comments and are glad that you liked the property and it’s location. We’re also pleased that you enjoyed the tea, coffee, milk, biscuits and other little goodies that we leave to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We were very surprised to hear about the cleaning problems. When our guests first make initial contact with us about key collection etc. We always tell them that if they have any problems, to don’t hesitate and phone us. If we had been told we could have asked the cleaner to come back. Some pictures would have been useful to send to the cleaning company. We would like to apologise if the cleaning wasn’t upto standard. The cleaners have been spoken to about this. Many thanks Rita and John Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen3.4Apr 2024

  • "Needs a new sink plug in bathroom, no privacy from guests in main house needs, new double mattress as present one has old metal springs,other than that we had a nice holiday."

    Thanks for your feedback we’re glad that you had a nice holiday. Sorry you feel there is no privacy from the main house but we believe it is quite private. Totally self contained with its own, in our opinion, large garden. We were surprised to hear that you didn’t like the mattress as it is not long since it was changed. It was checked on changeover and was found to be ok. If anything is faulty or needs changing we do appreciate our guest telling us. Many thanks Rita and John Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.1Mar 2024

  • "Second stay for us in this holiday cottage, great location, cottage has everything you could need for a comfortable stay."

    Loving the new flooring and carpets and the garden is looking great, those little additions will make make all the difference when sitting outside on a summers evening. Rita and John very friendly and always available if you need anything.

    Reviewed by Debra4.4Mar 2024

  • "Lovely little cottage near beach, kitchen full equipment, very clean, little ..."

    Lovely little cottage near beach, kitchen full equipment, very clean, little cute garden with led lights , I have enjoyed xxx thanks Rita she is very friendly ☺️

    We would like to thank you for your nice comments and are glad that you had an enjoyable break. You are very welcome to come back anytime. Rita and John Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ayshe5.0Mar 2024

  • "Perfect property and location."

    Lashings off hot water after days walking Warm and cosy. Equipped well for cooking.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Nov 2023

  • "Halcyon Annexe is in a quiet area of Moelfre but within 10 minutes walk of the village."

    The village shop was not very well stocked but that could be because it is out of season.The cottage was very clean and had everything we needed.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Oct 2023

  • "Excellent location with off road parking."

    Comfortable with utilities to meet needs

    Reviewed by John3.8Sep 2023

  • "Property needed some maintenance and we had a problem with the leaking toilet which was rectified very quickly by the owners."

    Garden needed attention. It was in a good position to everything. Property did not come up to are standard of cleanliness unfortunately.

    Reviewed by Hedley1.3Sep 2023

  • "Just one small issue, the plug in the wash basin is too large, it does not allow water to remain long enough in basin."

    Reviewed by Alistair4.7Aug 2023

  • "A small but lovely cottage in a wonderful area comfortable well equipped and clean"

    Reviewed by Lynne4.1Jul 2023

  • "Lovely place but tv needs a proper aerial and wifi very intermittent."

    Reviewed by David4.7Jul 2023

  • "Halcyon annexe is a great little holiday place the facilities the garden and everything about it makes you relaxed and Rita & John could not be more helpful."

    Thank you both so much for a great week and there will be more to come Gav & Lorraine rating for us 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

    Reviewed by Gavin4.7Jul 2023

  • "Overall a very nice little place which was great value for us."

    Everything worked really well and it was easy to get into. Nice location to drive to and from, very close to a fantastic fish and chip shop and a few small, rocky beaches. The only gripes is with some small maintenance and parking space issues that need sorting. The toilet leaks a little from the back pipe, which is seeping under one of the tiles. The annexe also backs onto a garage, of which the door blows open as the latch has broken, the same with an electrical box on the house (Halcyon) it backs onto, which is also a holiday home for rent as far as I can tell. Regarding Halcyon itself, it was rented to a large group of workmen at the same time as our stay. The parking space out front was completely filled with vans and their cars, which meant that at times we were completely blocked in. Thankfully they were gracious enough to move if needed, however this could pose a problem to someone else in the same circumstances.

    Reviewed by Alexander4.4Jul 2023

  • "Had a lovely week and the annexe was lovely."

    We had an issue with not being able to use the freezer as it was solid ice thus unable to open the drawers or shut the freezer door. It also made the running of the appliance ineffective and the outer sides were red hot. We spent 2 hours defrosting it and get it running normally. The garden also needs a bit of a tidy as we had to wade through tall grass and weeds to get to the garden furniture. Loved the location and would return.

    Reviewed by Peter3.8Jun 2023

  • "Property as described, well equipped and comfortable, had to request more towels as only provided with 2 bath sheets and 1 hand towel between 2 people, owners were prompt to respond to our request."

    Parking became very tight on Monday evening when 4 transit vans and a trailer arrived because the main house had been let to a bunch of working lads, they were quiet well behaved except the use of language on one night as they went out. Just be aware this could happen to others.

    Reviewed by Debra4.1May 2023

  • "Once we had moved the dining table from the kitchen to the living room the cottage was comfortable."

    There is insufficient space to sit comfortably at the table in the kitchen. On arrival we were greeted with an overpowering odour of disinfectant that made the cottage smell like a medical facility. With windows open this took a day or so to disperse. We did not come to terms with controlling the electric radiators. Full guidance on these should be supplied. The bedroom radiator was set to 24C -far too hot - so we switched it off at the mains for the duration of our stay. The kitchen and bathroom rads seemed to switched on 24 hours a day whilst the living room rad gave no heat at all. The bathroom basin plug was the wrong size so the basin did not hold water for long. Cleanliness of some of the crockery could have been better. I do not like to remove the previous user's coffee grounds from the cafetiere! Neighbouring properties had separate containers for rubbish/recycling. Why does Halcyon Annexe not follow suit? Despite this list of shortcomings (which I hope will be addressed) we did have an enjoyable stay so do not let my criticisms put you off staying here!

    Reviewed by Christopher3.4Apr 2023

  • "Fabulous property for a couple wanting an escape."

    .. lovely private outdoor space, everything you need to be comfortable & relaxed.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Apr 2023

  • "Hubby and I only stayed for 3 nights and we stay in accommodation all over the UK."

    We never leave negative feedback but must say on this occassion we felt we had to Photo of outside of property is not realistic, you are at the back with no real surroundings Impossible to put folding table up to eat in kitchen as photo made the room look a lot bigger so had to eat on our laps in the living room which was not ideal due to the uncomfortable 2 seater and chair. Living room felt neglected and very sparse..had no character. Walk way to bathroom very narrow..not mentioned in the spec. Bed comfortable but again room dark with the extremly darkbrown hard underfoot carpet. This Annex needs a bit of love put into it to make the stay more comfortable

    Reviewed by Michelle3.1Nov 2022

  • "The place was nice, It could have been cleaner in the draws !"

    as it had bits in there from before we arrived. The chairs are comfy enough but could do with bigger ones to lounge in more. The bed is comfy and keeps you very warm at bed time. We would come again

    Reviewed by Sue4.1Oct 2022

  • "Brilliant location, the place was perfect for the two of us,really lovely couple that owned it, couldn't do enough for us, we would definately go there again."

    Reviewed by John5.0Oct 2022

  • "Good communication with owner, and well situated for walking into Moelfre, ..."

    Good communication with owner, and well situated for walking into Moelfre, bungalow close to the chippy and a pub in village, a little garden to sit in and would use bungalow again handy for walking the Anglesey coast and visiting the lifeboats centre

    Reviewed by Carole4.7Aug 2022

  • "Enjoyable holiday."

    Halcyon Annexe would benefit from a sink plug that fits and a steady toilet seat. Only minor but important.

    Reviewed by Marie4.4Jul 2022

  • "The Annexe was exactly as described and well situated in a delightful village with some gorgeous coastal walks and very handy for a shop, a pub and fish and chip shop."

    We found no issues to report back on. Thanks for the lovely week.

    Reviewed by David4.4May 2022

  • "The owners were on site for a day or two."

    Very helpful. Property was neat and cosy, kitchen/dining area a little squashy, lounge, bedroom,bathroom fine and relaxing/eating outside in garden a pleasure(weather permitting ). 5 minute walk to harbour/shingle beach.

    Reviewed by Kate4.4May 2022

  • "Lovely, well located property."

    Clean and tidy. Lots of space for 2 people. Good facilities. Only little niggle was the shower. Pressure low (which was understandable for an annex), but shower head needs to be replaced to allow water to flow - low cost job that could make a lot of difference. Many thanks

    Reviewed by Denise4.7Apr 2022

  • "We had a lovely time at Halcyon Annexe, the location is perfect and the accommodation was pleasant."

    All facilities we could’ve wanted, had no issues with cleanliness or WiFi as mentioned in some other reviews on here. All in all a perfect weekend was had and the hosts couldn’t have been more helpful. Highly recommend staying at Halcyon if you are wanting to explore Anglesey!

    Reviewed by Thomas5.0Apr 2022

  • "The Annexe is tucked behind the larger house and is private and quiet."

    The bathroom lets the property down but is okay for a week. Loved the location and enjoyed sitting out in the garden after a long day.

    Reviewed by Catherine3.4Mar 2022

  • "Lovely warm, clean & comfortable holiday let."

    Off road parking great. Milk & Welsh cakes much appreciated and enjoyed. Thank you. Holiday let is a good location for exploring Anglesey by foot or car. Would recommend this holiday let.

    Reviewed by Brenda5.0Jan 2022

  • "Very cosy and warm, location perfect for coastal walks, owner RITA very friendly on the phone,we enjoy our stay very much."

    Reviewed by David3.8Dec 2021

  • "Wow !!!"

    This little cottage is gorgeous we have no complaints at all, the owners were lovely and very helpful. The cottage was clean and had all the facilities we needed. Myself and my partner can't understand the other reviews they make no sense at all. 1) the cottage was not damp it was very clean no damp on the walls or ceilings in any of the rooms 2) the TV had a great signal if turned the correct way and the dvd player worked fine no problems there, 3) the furniture was comfortable and clean the wardrobe worked perfectly fine and was not on its last legs like another review suggests infact we felt the wardrobe was very good quality and was strong and sturdy 4) tiles on the fire place were fine not falling apart or broken again like another review advises yes they do move if you touch them but what's the need to touch them really? 5) Bathroom very clean towels and hand towels were provided the toilet worked fine everything clean with 1 flush 6) heating there was a heater in every room which kept us lovely and warm highest temperature on the heater was 30 which is more then fine 7) washing machine worked perfectly 8) cleaning equipment was provided so we could maintain the cleanliness 9) the owners left us a breakfast tray with Welsh cakes teas and biscuits which we thought was lovely as they don't have to do that we felt it was a nice personal touch 10) the owners went above and beyond to make us feel welcome they were there when we needed them (we only needed to call for directions) There is so much more I could say this stay at the halcyon annexe was just so lovely relaxing I would highly recommend staying there the location is perfect close by to shops and restaurants The Kinmel Arms is a must go to place the food there is delicious and again the owners were so welcoming, we would love to come again maybe next year and we would definitly stay at the Halcyon Annexe again

    Reviewed by Chloe4.7Nov 2021

  • "The cottage was ok but unlike our last stay gwynus which was like a home this ..."

    The cottage was ok but unlike our last stay gwynus which was like a home this had the basics only a clock with flat battery in it,I changed a light bulb from bedroom lamp to put in log effect on electric fire, put the the toilet seat on properly, could not fix the basin in the bathroom there were three plugs but the fitting was loose on basin and water was leaking under pedastal,half way through our stay recycle bins disappeared but I usually take glass and tins,and paper to benlech library recycle bank but could not take plastic so left in a seperate bag in the yard I can assume that would get thrown away Good points warm most things you need no TVs in bedroom but no aerial points anyway but living room tv worked ok on portable aerial

    Reviewed by Joan4.1Sep 2021

  • "Lovely annexe, ideal for a couple to use as a base."

    Clean, comfortable and everything provided that you could possibly need. Home from home. My partner and I had a wonderful two weeks here and would highly recommend. The owners are lovely and rang us to make sure all was ok.

    Reviewed by Sue4.7Sep 2021

  • "The property was not up to Sykes usual standard."

    There were a number of issues which hopefully have now been resolved.

    Reviewed by Peter1.9Sep 2021

  • "Difficult to find as name on wall was behind bins."

    WiFi was a must for us but did not work. TV signal poor. Chairs very uncomfortable. Arrival pack had lots of past complaints most had not been addressed by owner. Not very well cleaned, you would expect a more thorough clean during a pandemic. Bedroom had damp on the wall. The only good thing was it's location. Very disappointed and would not recommend this place.

    Reviewed by Joyce1.6Aug 2021

  • "The annexe was consistently damp, you couldn't put clothes in the wardrobe as it was dirty and definitely on its last legs."

    Every morning clothes would be damp and need washing. Annexe is of poor standard, shelf in the living room is ready to fall off, the fire place isn't fixed to the wall and is sat on three loose tiles on the floor. The wifi didnt work for the vast majority of the time we where there. Spiders and cobwebs in most corners of the house. In all, extremely poor value for money. Looking at other reviews in the out of date guest book, we are not the only ones with these views.

    Reviewed by Jacob1.6Aug 2021

  • "As previously mentioned by others."

    ... Tv signal intermittent..Wi-Fi once on first day .. DVD player does not work ... Fireplace all loose ..bathroom dirty .. Wardrobe falling apart ... A very basic poorly equipped property Good point !.... Village location

    Reviewed by David2.5Jul 2021

  • "Over priced for basic facilities."

    The original feed for the property showed close to a pebble beach,not someone’s back garden.very limited crockery,shelf under the mirror hanging off wall,no convenient plug for wife to blow dry her hair ,furniture dated .and funcomfortable .wash hand basin wouldn’t hold water and toilet needs to be flushed 3 or 4 times to clear,all in all,accommodation poor,would we recommend,unlikely we decided to leave a day early as we were so disappointed,not worth a 600 mile round trip

    Reviewed by David1.6Jun 2021

  • "We use Sykes regularly and did not feel this property was up to your usual standards."

    It was tired, damp and there were cobwebs in all the rooms. The main house was obviously being renovated and the outside of both properties front and back was scruffy. The property has the potential to be brought bang up to date with a little TLC. All that said, its proximity to facilities in the village was great and Moelfre is beautiful.

    Reviewed by Jean2.5Oct 2020

  • "Bed very hard and bedroom could do with more shelves in the wardrobe for storage."

    Bathroom sink plug doesn't fit leading to all the water draining out before you have finished washing. There were two new plugs but one was the same size and the other was far too big. Bath could have done with a shower/ non-slip bath mat. A feedback/ recommendation book for visitors would have been useful as well. A nice cottage with plenty of parking space. Close to local facilities and village centre. Good base for local walks. All attractions on the island were within reasonable travelling distance. Would highly recommend the harbourside ice cream shop !!!!! Covid 19 rules very well followed and had no problems with this. If we hadn't exhausted the island, we would happily rebook this venue.

    Reviewed by Christopher4.7Sep 2020

  • "Clean and tidy but let down by poor bedding."

    Pillows so old and flat.No Mattress topper which would have covered all the pilled lumps. We were not informed by you that the WiFi was out of commission which John said you should have told us about. We were also not informed that the whole area was a building site so peace and quiet and privacy were lost as workmen working on both houses.

    Reviewed by Vanessa3.8Sep 2020

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor
  • One double bedroom
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with electric fire
  • Electric central heating and electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, washing machine
  • TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available upon request
  • Off-road parking for one car
  • Lawned garden
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Please Note: Property will accept pets from 13th of September 2024
  • Shop 2.5 miles, pub 0.2 miles

The property

Benllech 2.5 miles.

A homely abode resting on the coast of the Isle of Anglesey, Halcyon Annexe is a snug spot to base a romantic retreat to Wales.

Offering glorious coastal walks around Moelfre from its doorstep, this all-ground-floor abode is perfect for those in pursuit of an outdoor adventure.

Begin your exploration of the property in the kitchen/diner, where a good range of appliances await to assist you in all of your culinary requirements, sitting within sleek white units with wooden worktops.

For more formal occasions, the dining table makes the perfect spot to host a celebration, or choose to retreat to the sitting room and snuggle up together in front of the television with your favourite film on the television.

End your day by taking a relaxing soak in the bath, with its white theme bringing a brightness to the room, it makes a great spot to prepare for your day too.

Rest your head on one of the plump pillows of the double bed, making use of the ample storage space to settle down your personal belongings.

Spend a moment on the lawn in the mornings, breathing in the fresh coastal air, before heading out and exploring the wonder up close with a walk along the coast of Moelfre; providing glimpses over the island of Ynys Moelfre, it's an extremely scenic spot to base your holiday, with a selection of pubs and coffee shops to choose from following an afternoon ramble.

With the cottage sitting on the Isle of Anglesey you can expect to find a plethora of beautiful beaches within easy reach, with Benllech being close by and boasting a wide selection of amenities including shops and eateries to cater to a variety of tastes, or discover Red Wharf Bay for a truly tranquil day out.

For a day out with a difference, head to Holy Island where you can catch the ferry over to Ireland for the day, or venture across the Menai Bridge to uncover the excitement of mainland Wales where you can find the beauty of Snowdonia National Park.

Ideally positioned for an idyllic escape to the coast, Halcyon Annexe is a true wonder of a property for your next romantic retreat.

Note: This property can be booked with 1040048 together they can sleep 10 people

Please Note: Property will accept pets from 13th of September 2024

View on map

About the location


Red Wharf Bay 2.5 miles.

Benllech has a beautiful, long and sandy beach, much favoured by families, with a slipway allowing easy access for all. A variety of shops and cafés front the beach, with a picnic area to the side, whilst the village centre offers more shops, pubs, hotels and restaurants. The setting promises to suit every taste, with the village itself ideal for family holidays, whilst the rural setting offers peace and easy access to the coast, rural Anglesey and of course the spectacular mountains of Snowdonia.

View more holiday cottages in Benllech

Please Note: Property will accept pets from 13th of September 2024

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas