Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

15 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 52 View Image Gallery
  • Ship Inn - North Wales - 22861 - photo 1


3rd Floor1st FloorGround Floor

Ground Floor



Ship Inn

(Ref. 22861)

Old Colwyn, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 34 Guests

  • 12 Bedrooms

  • 7 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (19)
  • all (17)
  • family (17)
  • bed (17)
  • great (15)
  • large (13)

39 Customer Reviews

  • "Booked for a family reunion for my husbands 60th."

    The place is perfect for catering for large parties. 2 Friges, 2 Freezers, 2 dishwasher (god send) and 2 sinks. As many choices of bedrooms as you wish. Mattresses were a little hard for my liking but that is personal preference. It was so nice to have space for everyone and the games tables were used constantly. There was laughter all round the whole time ot was great. Now for the bad.... the place needs a really deep clean and general spruce up. Cobwebs in living room and the floors were grubby and I'm not a massive clean freak really. I really do think that you should get a reputable cleaning company to go in and do a deep dive. Apart from that it was good.

    Hi Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry we let you down on the cleaning front. I have been in to do the required deep clean. I am glad our inadequacies did not impact on the laughter Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon2.8Jan 2024

  • "Had the best time the house is amazing, only thing I would say is we were a group mostly made up of ladies and there was only 1 toilet that had a bin in it so that made things a bit difficult for us, but everything else was excellent."

    The cafe round the corner was very accommodating for such a large group and we loved how close it was to Aldi and other shops, we also highly recommend visiting Conwy Castle if you get the chance as it was stunning!! Will definitely come back if we're ever in need of a big space again

    Hi Isabelle Thank you for your lovely review. I shall nip out to the January sales and pick up some bins right now! Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Isabelle5.0Oct 2023

  • "We had a great family long weekend at The Ship Inn, but sadly were very very disappointed with the cleanliness and maintenance of the property."

    On arrival the cleaners were still there, we were informed the previous guests had left it in an absolute mess. The place was dirty and grubby. Spoke to Ceri (housekeeping) who explained there should have been 3 cleaners but there was only 2. She was very apologetic and going to come the following day and hoover throughout the building, and sort out the areas that needed attention. (I actually cancelled the following day as all 29 of us were going to be in the house, so would have been very difficult to clean around us.) The staircase has obviously not been cleaned for quite some time, thick with dust. Surfaces in rooms tacky. All the cockery needed washing before using. None of the furniture had been moved for cleaning, filthy under sofas in lounge. There was a very strong smell of cannabis in one of the bedrooms, obviously not the owners fault, however the window is painted closed so could not be opened to air the room. The laundry room was full of dirty laundry, some in bags, some dirty towels strewn across the top of the washer and dryer. Ceri contacted the laundry person. The dirty laundry was removed sometime on our 2nd day. The furniture in the lounge is all old, uncomfortable, in poor condition and generally not fit for purpose, all needs replacing. The garage where the ping ping table is located is damp and musty smelling. The freezers both need defrosting. The house needs decorating and updating. The kitchen and dining area are great, spacious and well equipped. The number of bathroom/toilets is great. (Drainage issue in one bathroom). The bedrooms on the whole are fine, (drawers all broken in one room) The larger rooms, including the en suite and the dormitory, other than cleanliness, are fabulous. The furniture in the small upstairs lounge comfortable and pleasant to look at. The entertainment aspect of the house is brilliant, made the holiday. The whole family were able to be involved, and all were in constant use. Pool table, shuffleboard (had to request "sand" which was delivered on our 2nd day), ping ping-pong table, all added to our family fun. The location could not be better. Parking a godsend. Outside space small but pleasant. All in all we had a great time, it is a fabulous house but needs to be better cared for.

    I can only apologise. I have been out of the country over the summer and we seem to have had a disastrous August in my absence. I will ensure The Ship is top of my list of priorities. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynn2.2Aug 2023

  • "For the price paid the amount of issues we encountered were ridiculous."

    -Used sanitary towel found in one of the rooms ( when the cleaner arrived they picked it up in a bag and didn’t clean the area with anything ) -Top floor hall light didn’t work - Most showers weren’t draining properly - Broken glass coffee pot on arrival - Fleas in a few of the sofas - Dirty floors on arrival - Dust in the rooms. ( 4 poster bedroom has a thick dust blanket under the bed as well as a filthy headboard ) - Unsealed jacuzzi tub leading to a huge water leak coming through the electrics and lights in the kitchen dining area. This also lead to no lights working in the house downstairs for the entire last evening - Broken toilet flushers - Beds were singles pushed together with uncomfortable middle zipper - Oven would take a long to light and didn’t stay on for long enough so it had to be relit multiple times to be able to feed people. A simple meal that should take roughly 30 minutes ending up taking over 1 hour. - Leaking roofs and damp walls - ‘ Ping Pong room ‘ was un noticeable until found on the last couple of days. Once found it was absolutely disgusting with bugs, dirty chairs, broken walls , wood and rubbish on the floor. - Many windows painted shut not allowing ventilation , some cracked and have tape covering the cracks. - The 2nd living room upstairs has a large window that is easily opened with a sofa directly underneath it. Even with parental guidance this is incredibly dangerous. - fire escape was blocked by stacked chairs so only 1 exit from the ground floor. - No welcome pack with written emergency details - Small bath towels are provided but are more suitable as hand towels or hose towels so be sure to take your own. If not be sure to clean the towels first.

    Again I can only apologise. I have been away over the summer and the team appear to have taken their eye of the ball. The Ship will be top of my priority list. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chloe1.9Jul 2023

  • "Arrived to a flood over electrics with no urgency to fix it , beds made up wrong , kitchen cupboard door falling off , two fridges both both with broken shelves n doors and full of ice , one dishwasher not working , tumble dryer not working , various windows not opening as painted shut with dirty windows and net curtains , broken pool cues stained pool table , various cables missing for electrics, smell of damp through the house , just messages of we’ll sort it when we can , rotten bench that broke when sat on in the garden , a curtain rail that fell off in children’s room and just a general feeling of grubbiness throughout the house , dated and odd bed sheets n curtains throughout and the sofas in the lounge smelled and were covered in bits , all this with no reply or offer of compensation !"


    Reviewed by Jamie1.3Jul 2023

  • "We came and stayed with a group of 26 adults with Learning disabilities, we have had a wonderful time."

    We had a coach stay with us but no coach parking facilities. Maybe that wall could be taken down and make usage of that space, we will definitely be back Thank you

    Hi Samantha, Thank you so much for your kind words. We don’t get a huge call for coaches to be fair but certainly one to think about! We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha4.1Jun 2023

  • "A great place for a large group, we really enjoyed it and very central for lots of days out."

    Could do with a couple of fans as it gets hot in living room with so many of us.

    Hi Jane, Thank you for taking the time to say lovely things about our property. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane3.8May 2023

  • "Absolutely fantastic time had by all."

    The house was amazing, so much more than we expected, so central for everything. We were there to celebrate our son's 40th Birthday with all the family, and some very close friends, we had the best time ever and the little people in our group ( kids and grandchildren ) had a fantastic time , especially with all the indoors games provided. Can't praise this place, the organisation and the attention to detail enough. Highly recommend the Ship if you are considering a stay vacation or a long weekend, as we did, it was brilliant, even our dog Buddy had an absolute ball. Thanks to all concerned.

    Hi Alison, Well that’s cheered me up no end! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind-hearted review. We look forward to welcoming you back to any of our properties in the future. Mark and the team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison5.0May 2023

  • "We had an amazing time here."

    The house was great for a large group of 25 with teenagers and young children. It was clean and well stocked with everything we needed including bedding, cutlery etc. plenty of space for everyone and it wasn’t so perfect that we were worried about the kids making a mess. The only thing we noticed was the oven wasn’t great for cooking for so many. Would definitely return and recommend to others .

    Hi Louise Thank you for such a lovely review. It is appreciated. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Apr 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our stay, this place has room for plenty of people anywhere is a pool table ."

    They have Netflix and lots of books. A great place to stay for large families or friends. Not too far from the beach, mountain zoo and several public houses, chip shop Aldi’s CO/OP. And you can bring your dogs xx

    Thank you for your great feedback Le-an, it’s always lovely to hear when guests have had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the facilities. Please do return, we hope to welcome you back soon, Mark. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Le-an4.4Jan 2023

  • "Stayed with a group of 30 friends to celebrate a 40th."

    The property is much bigger than it looks in the pictures and was absolutely perfect for our group. Great facilities - everyone seemed happy with their beds and the games and entertainment were great and spot on location, convenient for shops, pubs, takeout and hiking in Snowdonia. Owner was responsive, friendly and helpful. Highly recommend and would stay again!

    Hi Jennifer, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Nov 2022

  • "Disappointed with some of the facilities offered, found one of the bar stools to be loose and very dangerous, would rather not have had a stool than a damaged one, pool table was proped up on books and very out of level meaning it was practically unusable, I later levelled this but feel if something is provided it should be useable, karaoke machine doesn't work neither did the projector, as with the stool I would rather not have them than have broken ones."

    Couch in the living area is falling to pieces and the one in the pool area looks like a dog bed, nothing a quick hoover wouldn't fix. Cooker and extractor are questionable to say the least and judging by the amount of smoke in the house when cooking I can only assume the fire alarm does not work

    I am sorry the Ship did not live up to your expectations. It would have been helpful had we been made aware of these issues at the time as we hadn’t had any prior complaints on these issues. Apologies. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Antony2.2Nov 2022

  • "Great sized place, and good for family get together."

    Old Colwyn had some real nice old style cafes and pubs. Feel the house needs some TLC, and maintenance, for instance having to light oven with matches, and loose taps etc. Overall good for what we wanted

    Hi Phillip, Thank you for your feedback. Sometimes in a house this size things can go amis. We did know about the stove obviously and that’s why we left the matches out. As anyone with a gas cooker can attest if they aren’t cleaned properly after use the ignition can take a while to ‘dry out’. It soon returned so all good now. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip3.4Oct 2022

  • "There were 14 of us left today after spending a week at the ship inn complaints reported from day one, family had to clean the fridges out before being able to put our food into them, no hand towels in any of the bathrooms, months maybe years of stour on floors, radiators, skirting boards etc."

    Stripped beds as requested before leaving and the stained mattresses were disgusting and bed bugs, we will definitely not be staying at any of the owners properties again. On a plus note the location was good not far to travel to other areas and plenty bars/takeaways, asda and co-op close to property and the local pub the sun Inn made us all very welcome, but definitely pick different property to stay in.

    Thank you for your feedback We were contacted by you on arrival and immediately asked our housekeeper to go to the property to see you. She has worked for us for many years and receives excellent feedback from Customers. I have been holiday letting for many years and trust her work as I expect high standards at this property. Myself and my team are on hand for any issues and will be at the property straight away She arrived at the property and rectified the issues you raised plus provided you with more towels for your party I am sorry about the leak. The maintenance team went straight around and resolved this as it was a block in the waste pipe which was caused by the previous customers overflowing the jacuzzi bath We don't have any bed bugs at the property and the photo you provided us does not show bed bugs being present. We have completed a full check of this and made sure that all bedding is in perfect condition I am sorry that you felt you had to leave this feedback. We want all our customers to enjoy their holiday and are on hand to help with any issues during your stay. I have contacted the guests who stayed immediately after your break and they have had no issues Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol1.3Sep 2022

  • "Had a great family holiday ages ranged from 17 months up to 89, house well equipped but needs updating."

    Hi Rosalind, Thank you so much for your feedback. As you can appreciate for a property the size of The Ship we have a continual process of update and maintenance which has adapted somewhat in the age of covid. Thank you for your custom. Mark and the team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosalind3.8May 2022

  • "A house of two halves the bathrooms,and kitchen area is very good ,lots of equipment."

    The beds are clean and comfortable but the room itself lacks any comfort bare floor boards,no rugs mirror, waste paper bin only one coat hanger in a wardrobe which could not be used because it was full of a large quilt.The parking area was great but in need of a tidy up and what is called the garden needs a lot of attention to make it a pleasant area to sit in . T he ship is a work in progress that still has a way to go.

    Hi Hillary, Thank you so much for acknowledging the quality of the communal facilities and bedrooms on offer at The Ship inn. We very deliberately don’t use carpet or rugs as the majority of our guests are there to celebrate and appreciate the ‘easy-care’ nature of our furnishings. I will speak to the cleaning team to move the hangers back! Mark and the team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hilary2.5May 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

    Problems , such as a leaking sink , were dealt with straight away. All good.

    Hi Avril, Thank you so much for your kind words. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Avril5.0Apr 2022

  • "Absolutely huge place so you can congregate or find your own space."

    Lovely little town with a good bus service to other local towns. Rooms are all comfortable and a decent size, plenty of bathrooms and the four poster with ensuite is fantastic.

    Hi Lester, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. It is appreciated. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lester4.7Mar 2022

  • "The Ship Inn was perfect for our large family get together."

    Everything we needed was provided(and more). There were a few things eg,we had to buy a new cable for the projector as it was broken, there weren't any board games as advertised but these didnt affect our stay. My only criticism is that the bed linen and towels could do with being renewed. All in all we had a lovely stay and would recommend this property for large gatherings.

    Hi Alison Sorry for the late reply. The Sykes feedback feature is new to me (i am such a ludite, although hopefully a reforming one!). Thank you for sorting the cable. I do like it when groups travel with their own tech experts :) Yes we are aware that the COVID cleaning routines with higher temperatures and longer washes has taken its toll on our Clarissa Hulse patterned bedding more than it might on simple white stuff and we are indeed replacing these bit by bit as budgets allow. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you bck to any of our Huge Holiday Homes in the future! Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison4.1Dec 2021

  • "The ship in was a really good place to stay."

    ..Bedding not up to standard no protectors on pillows or quilts mattress stained....some rooms upstairs very very cold no heating! Bedding looked old and tatty...downstairs amazing for family get together and warm...two of the sofas very stained...

    Hi Maureen, Thanks for your feedback. We took out pillow and duvet covers during Covid as they were made largely redundant (everything needed to be steamed anyway). We have cleaned up the sofas and changed the cleaning team. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maureen3.8Nov 2021

  • "Communication with owner was excellent."

    everything we needed was in the place, very spacious and clean. Was nice to see some games around, pool table, shuttle board ect Location was good, very near 2 shops and the beach, would definitely recomend.

    Helen, Thank you for your kind words. COVID has made things incredibly difficult to routinely provide the service levels we would expect and we are thrilled we delivered for you. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Oct 2021

  • "This was perfect for us - 12 people including five parents, three 18-yr olds, three 15-yr olds, a 13-ur old and 4 dogs."

    The pool and football tables were incredibly popular, the beds incredibly comfortable, the showers were a great pressure and temperature every time and we had everything we could need for entertainment, great home-cooked meals and space for people wanting a bit of time to themselves as well as socialising all together. We go away together every year (since the 18yr olds were very little) and this has been the best base for us yet!

    Reviewed by Liz4.7Jul 2021

  • "Lovely big house, rented it for our 50th wedding anniversary all of our family were with us for the whole weekend."

    Some parts of the house needs a bit of TLC, overall very good

    Reviewed by Michael4.1Mar 2020

  • "The ship inn was perfect for our large family to wake up together on Christmas morning, something we have never done as the family have grown in size."

    The location was perfect for not having to use the car as shops, pubs and beach were practically on the doorstep. (The children enjoyed the beach Christmas morning!) We had a couple of maintenance issues which were quickly resolved. I would definitely do this again but it wouldn't be for a long time as it's taken almost two years to plan this to make sure everyone could make it at the same time...even then there were four members missing!

    Reviewed by Sheila5.0Dec 2019

  • "Had the best time celebrating my 50th with Family and Friends."

    The house is very comfortable with plenty of space so that people can relax. The main lounge games and kitchen area were fabulous and everyone was able to have fun and catch up without feeling on top of each other. My husband and I had the en-suite room (being the birthday girl) But everyone reported that the showers were all lovely in the other bathrooms, of which there were plenty. Would highly recommended a stay at the Ship Inn if you want a comfortable, kicked back get together where you can feel at home - so glad I booked here. Many thanks

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Nov 2019

  • "Great place for large party groups ."

    Tons of space. Only downside is that the bedroom downstairs were cold.

    Reviewed by Kerri4.7Nov 2019

  • "The Ship Inn was an amazing place to enjoy our family party."

    We were celebrating my Dad's 80th birthday with thirty relations aged from eight months to eighty years . Kerry was so amazing getting the building ready for us on the Friday. The facilities were fantastic with the whole family having space to chill out. The children loved the building because there were so many rooms to explore. Thank you Mark for the use of the Ship inn we will be back

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Apr 2019

  • "The house was amazing."

    The facilities were fantastic, with a special mention going to the showers. Sometimes you stay in a hotel with less than adequate water pressure and there's really nothing you can do about it. These showers were like bathing under a waterfall, and are definitely up there with the best showers I have used. Hot water was a plenty, the house was constantly warm, even in February, and there was nothing you could want for in the kitchen utensils department. We were cooking large meals for the children with ease. A wonderful house in a wonderful location. Would definitely stay there again!

    Reviewed by Wayne5.0Feb 2019

  • "The house was fantastic & had all we needed for a great weekend."

    Huge space, comfy beds, all the utensils etc you need in the kitchen. The dormitory is amazing, the kids loved it! Close to pubs & shops etc. Spot on & definitely recommended for a large family or group of friends celebrating. Fab place.......

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Jan 2019

  • "I booked ship inn for my husbands 50th surprise family gathering."

    My family and I were so pleased with the accommodation and all the amenities that are here. There were all different age groups within the family and it kept everyone happy. I will would defiantly recommend to anyone, and I would certainly book again. Thank you

    Reviewed by Stephanie5.0Nov 2018

  • "The Ship Inn exceeded all expectations it was clean,comfortable and centrally located."

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Nov 2018

  • "Cookers need updating, knobs melting and falling off."

    Sofas definitely need updating as one is broken and one is very very lumpy, then there is a half a chair to sit on i.e no bottom cushion/seat on it. Most definitely need side tables in sofa area. Everything else is brilliant.

    Reviewed by Sandie3.8Sep 2018

  • "The house had everything we needed for a large family break from comfortable beds, lots of bathrooms and games to keep everyone entertained."

    The kitchen was well equipped however some of the dishes and pans had been put away dirty meaning we had to wash everything before use to ensure we were using clean dishes. Also some of the furniture in the living room were in poor condition and requires fixing or replacing.

    Reviewed by Claire3.8Sep 2018

  • "Fabulous place , perfect for our big group."

    Never been to a house before that actually had enough crockery, equipment and the capability of catering for the size of the group it stated . Also there was plenty of seating and enough chairs to all sit and eat together at the dining room table (23 of us) Great little cafe called Gillian’s that cooked breakfast for us all. Co op 2 minutes walk. Beach 10 minutes. Bus stop to Llandudno outside the front door. We have already rebooked another 2 weeks and will probably book more .

    Reviewed by Sallyanne5.0May 2018

  • "We all had a great time at the ship inn ."

    The property was as we expected it to be spacious comfortable and well equipped. just a couple of very minor points which we should bring to your attention . There is no wii provided and the wifi kept dropping out in an annoying manner. The cooker needs some attention to repair two or three knobs to operate the gas hobs . Knob loose to door near bottom of stairs . Floor boards on first floor landing loose . On a plus side the shuffle board game was a great asset. There was always loads of hot water for great showers or baths. The kitchen was very well equipped . All the beds were comfortable and spacious . Would I book this accommodation again ? Yes without any hesitation its a great location with easy walking access to the beach and close to the north wales express way giving quick access to Llandudno and Conway . We all enjoyed the Fforest Coaster , surf snowdonia and Velocity Zip world . We had a great day at Penrhyn Castle the children enjoyed the egg hunt in the grounds .We visited Conway castle and the smallest house did crazy golf at Rhos Fynach as well as spending some time on the beach playing cricket ,football making sand castles and flying kites . We also visited Llandudno pier . Local butchers across road from ship inn worth trying great meats and sausages . . Chips Ahoy worth trying for great fish and chips .Co op 50yds away very useful for milk ,bread etc .

    Reviewed by Peter4.1Mar 2018

  • "We really loved the configuration of the house."

    Having the games (pool, table football etc) in the same area as living etc meant that everyone joined in and mixed together. The beds were very comfortable but the furniture in the bedrooms had seen better days. The wardrobe in my room (5th floor) was literally falling apart. Also having bedside lamps would have been helpful. Generally though this was a great house for the needs of our party.

    Reviewed by Marie4.8Dec 2017

  • "Brilliant for family parties"

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Apr 2017

  • "The house was really spacious and the facilities were good."

    It was good to have so many toilets and showers available, and the two dishwashers and two fridge freezers were invaluable. The car park was smaller than advertised and there was a lot of rubbish and weeds in it, and the games room in the outbuilding smelt so bad I couldn't stay in there long enough for a game of table tennis! Several of the inside doors did not shut properly as the doorknobs were in bad repair. However, the location was good and the owner/manager was helpful and friendly.

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Aug 2016

  • "It was lovely to have enough space to be able to all get together to eat and socialise as a big family group."

    Super things to do in the surrounding area.

    Reviewed by Indira4.4Aug 2016

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Eleven bedrooms and one dormitory room (all king-size doubles are zip/link, can be twin on request)
  • Ground Floor: 2 x king-size doubles, 1 x twin with adjustable electric beds, 2 x shower rooms with shower, basin and WC
  • First Floor: 2 x king-size doubles, 1 x Super King Four Poster with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x dormitory room with 4 adult bunks, a 6ft zip/link bed and 4 pull-out trundle beds (sleeps 12), 1 x bathroom with Jacuzzi bath, separate shower, basin and WC, 1 x shower room with shower, basin & WC
  • Second Floor: 5 x king-size double, 2 x shower rooms with shower, basin and WC, 1 x separate WC
  • Kitchen with dining area (seats 24) plus breakfast bar (seats 4)
  • Utility
  • Sitting room (seats 16) with cinema projector, woodburning stove and sofa bed
  • First floor sitting room (seats 7) with sofa bed
  • Games area with pool table.
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric range double oven, 5-ring gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezers, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwashers
  • 2 x 3D TVs with full Sky multi-room, cinema projector, DVD, CD/radio, WiFi, selection of toys and games
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Two cots and three highchairs on request
  • Off road parking for 20 cars
  • Bike storage
  • Patio garden with furniture and BBQ
  • Four well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops and pubs 1 min walk
  • Beach 5 mins walk, golf club 5 mins walk
  • Note: Check in time is 4pm
  • Note: This property sleeps a maximum of 34 people
  • Please note: Only Friday checks ins are accepted when booking online
  • Monday check ins are generally welcome with sufficient notice and other check in days may be available with the owner’s prior approval
  • If your bookings doesn’t start on a Friday, please contact Sykes to enquire.

The property

Cleverly converted from a traditional Victorian town centre inn, this is a stunning holiday property in a fantastic coastal location just 5 minutes' walk from the beach, in the heart of Old Colwyn on the beautiful North Wales coast.

Set over 3 floors, The Ship Inn has been designed with clever finishing touches to create a feeling of warmth and intimacy, and the stylish modern furniture allows you to relax and socialise in comfort; ideal for a family celebration or for a group of friends to get together on the North Wales coast.

There are a total of twelve bedrooms at this large Welsh cottage, ten of which have king-size beds, which can be converted into twin rooms on request, along with a ground floor twin with adjustable electric beds.

The final bedroom is a very large dormitory room that sleeps twelve people with four quality bunk beds, suitable for adults, a 6ft zip/link bed and a further four trundle beds, making it a fantastic room for kids and teenagers!

One of the bedrooms has en-suite facilities, plus there are a further six family bathrooms, one of which boasts a luxurious Jacuzzi bath.

At this Old Colwyn cottage there are two spacious sitting rooms, both of which have a double sofa bed.

The ground floor sitting room boasts a galleried ceiling, a full wall projector TV screen with surround sound for cinema effect, as well as a warming woodburning stove.

The first floor sitting room provides a superb area to relax, chat, play on the Wii or watch Sky TV, with sports and movies on offer, whilst relaxing on the comfortable corner sofa which even houses a built in fridge!

A games area offers a full-size pool table, whilst the kitchen and dining area is beautifully appointed with a full range of appliances, a large breakfast counter with six bar stools and two large refectory tables.

Outside this large holiday home is a patio garden with barbecue facilities, along with a range of shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Two miles away is the popular resort of Colwyn Bay, whilst just a little further along the coast are the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Great Orme and the historic Conwy Castle.

For the more energetic members of your party, the Snowdonia National Park is on the doorstep with its wide array of outdoor activities including walking, climbing and mountain biking.

This is a superb spacious cottage offering the ideal venue for friends and families to get together and enjoy the delights of North Wales all year round.

View on map

About the location


Colwyn Bay 2 miles; Llandudno 5 miles; Conwy 6 miles.

Old Colwyn is a sleepy seaside town located to the east of the larger coastal resort of Colwyn Bay. A wide promenade winds along the sweeping bay from Old Colwyn to Penrhyn Bay, with access to a long coastal cycle track, three miles of safe sandy beaches and the pier and harbour at Rhos-on-Sea. Nearby attractions include the famous Welsh Mountain Zoo, Eirias Park with its fantastic indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, a number of local golf courses, and a selection of restaurants and pubs in both Old Colwyn and Colwyn Bay. Enjoy interesting day trips to Victorian Llandudno with its excellent shops, the picturesque medieval town of Conwy with its 13th Century castle, Bodnant Gardens and the stunning scenery of Snowdonia and Isle of Anglesey. In fact, Old Colwyn is a perfect location for touring all of North Wales.

Please note: Only Friday checks ins are accepted when booking online. Monday check ins are generally welcome with sufficient notice and other check in days maybe available with the owner’s prior approval. If your bookings doesn’t start on a Friday, please contact Sykes to enquire