Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 45 View Image Gallery
  • The Old Tywyn Post Office - North Wales - 1084320 - photo 1
close

The Old Tywyn Post Office

(Ref. 1084320)

Deganwy, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (13)
  • house (8)
  • lovely (8)
  • property (6)
  • great (6)
  • equipped (6)

17 Customer Reviews

  • "The property itself is very nice."

    The view is lovely. Unfortunately our holiday was spoiled through the heating being controlled externally by the landlord. The heating went off a lot during the day and all night. Due to the cold spell we had whilst we were there, I asked for a slightly higher heat (23) and the facility to have it on overnight if I needed, as I am up a lot at night being over 65. I was given a monologue on how the heating worked and told 22 degrees was as high as it went! Such a shame really. I would not return now on principle, when you consider how much you pay to stay here, they should be a little more considerate.

    I am suprised by this. The heating was 100% not touched or adjusted by the anyone externally. Prior to your arrival, the system only had one schedule and that was to set the required temperature lower at night (as in most properties as people get hot). I explained the only change that was made was this setting was removed to allow it to always stay as set to whatever the guests choose. (It has now been left like that) When I was asked, I looked at the heating and the house was 18 degrees heading towards 22 as selected. The guest asked “could it not be set higher than 22 so we can get a quick fix “. I simply explained setting it even higher doesn’t get it there quicker and the display shows the estimate of how long it thinks it will take to reach the chosen temperature. After this first day communication there was no further contact and I assumed you were happy with the changes made. Interestingly looking at the Nest heating logs the heating was changed and hard set it to 22 after that day and was setting it lower. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gill3.4Mar 2024

  • "Lovely holiday home and very well equipped."

    Views and position were great. Would stay again.

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Mar 2024

  • "Beautiful house with amazing views."

    It’s home from home very comfortable. Plenty to do within a few miles.

    Reviewed by Christina5.0Feb 2024

  • "We have just got back from this beautiful house."

    And It’s just like it suppose to be. The views are beautiful from the balcony. It’s been done so lovely inside. The kitchen is spacious and clean. Lovely dining area. The linen on the beds smells lovely and homely too! A pub just across the road. Lovely walks. You really could not ask for a better location.

    Reviewed by Kay5.0Oct 2023

  • "A lovely modern property with a fantastic setting."

    Views are just wonderful. The cars had a good rest as their are so many places to walk to from the front door. Property owner responded very quickly and was most helpful with any queries we raised.

    Reviewed by Mike4.7Sep 2023

  • "Very comfortable house with great views over to Conwy."

    Andrew was very helpful when we struggled initially with the keypad. Great base for exploring Conwy and the surrounding area.

    Reviewed by Diane4.4Sep 2023

  • "A lovely property with amazing views and a week of fabulous weather."

    Really enjoyed our holiday.

    Reviewed by Joan4.4Sep 2023

  • "A very nice property with plenty of room."

    The view from the lounge is fantastic. Very comfortably furnished and well equipped. A great location for exploring the local area, our highlight was a climb up Snowdon / Yr Wyddfa.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Aug 2023

  • "Absolutely lovely place to stay close to all amenities, house was perfect for my size family,"

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Jul 2023

  • "A fabulous property very well equipped and extremely comfortable and well thought out and comes with amazing views over the estuary towards Conwy ,the ground floor bedroom and living space was ideal for my mum who’s getting on it bit ( maybe a kettle and a couple of mugs down there would be a welcome addition)."

    The Old Post Offices position makes it ideal to explore North Wales Portmeirion and Bodnant Gardens are well worth visiting ,it’s an easy walk to either Conwy or Llandudno taking the coastal path if you don’t fancy driving ,pub across the road serves good food and there’s co op a few minutes up the road , we would not hesitate to book again the next time we choose Wales for our holiday

    Reviewed by Lynn4.4Jun 2023

  • "Very comfortable, stunning location."

    Highly recommend it!

    Reviewed by Catharine5.0May 2023

  • "Super upside down house, well equipped and wonderful views."

    Handy shop and pub across the road. Roadside parking but always found a space. Would have give 5 star review but we did have an issue with the heating. Upstairs two bedrooms and main living area/kitchen lovely and cosy unfortunately as there were five of us we needed to use the downstairs bedroom/ensuite and this was cold and unable to get warm as thermostat fixed in warm area of the house. Would come again.

    Reviewed by Vivienne4.7May 2023

  • "Beautiful house with stunning views upstairs."

    Lots of the fixtures are done to a very high spec, including the bathroom. Kitchen was fairly well equipped but only had one champagne glass, two eggcups and the frying pan needs replacing. Very wobbly chair legs in the conservatory too. The main issue is regulating the heating. The thermostat is in the hottest room of the house so therefore hard to get heating anywhere else in the house until that room cools down in the evening. But they really are very small negatives compared to everything that was good. Loved it and may well be back.

    Thank you for your stay/feedback. We have replaced the missing items you mentioned and tightened up the chair legs. We have since replaced our housekeeping team and asked them to keep a record of items between guest visits to ensure we don't lose glasses etc. In the main room upstairs where the thermostat is, there is also a kickplate heater which works off the central heating. If this is left on it will heat up the main room quicker. When we next get downtime with the property we will look to see if the system can be split to allow a separate thermostat downstairs. Our phone numbers are in the Welcome Pack on arrival. Please don't hesitate to call us if you find any problems / missing items, and we will address them asap. Thank You Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.4Apr 2023

  • "Beautiful spotless house the most amazing views once again we had a lovely week mostly recuperating after illness."

    only criticism just need to be warmer

    Thank you for your feedback and thank you for staying with us a second time. There is a Nest thermostat in the Kitchen which you turn to set to your required temperature. We also have instructions in the Welcome Book if needed. However we do appreciate it is a large house to heat and in the winter months it doesn’t take much for all the heat to be lost from the property. Especially if any of the large balcony doors are opened. We will check over all the radiators to ensure they are all getting hot and see if if they need balancing out across the rooms Thank you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christina5.0Feb 2023

  • "Great property with fantastic views from both floors."

    A great modern house with plenty of communal places for a family to gather. 2 lounges and a conservatory.3 toilets and 2 fridge freezers really help a family who like to cook. Some tupperware would help those whom cook store leftovers in the fridges though. Bedroom downstairs is good for the less mobile but the enquire or separate toilet will not accommodate a wheelchair though. 3 balconies to enjoy the fab views. Great selection of boxed games and a table football that turns into a pool table/air hockey game is great for the children. Fab pub over the road very family friendly with great food if you want a night off and a co op 2 mins up the road and a lidl 5 mins walk away. Lots of great walks and a fab castle to explore and even a pottery painting cafe not far from the castle. A fab house with hosts who check in to make sure all is OK. I highly recommend this place you will not be disappointed.

    Reviewed by Donna5.0Dec 2022

  • "Excellent accommodation and location with great views."

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Nov 2022

  • "Beautiful well equipped holiday home, spotlessly clean!"

    Great views across the water owner very helpful. This has to be one of the best homes we have stayed in and we can’t wait to return! Tricia, Kenny and leanne cooper.

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Sep 2022

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size with Sky TV (upstairs), 1 x double (upstairs), 1 x ground-floor double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC; There is also an additional 1 x ground-floor double sofa bed in the main area
  • Bathroom with freestanding bath, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Ground-floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • First-floor kitchen/sitting room with seafront balcony
  • Utility
  • First-floor dining room/conservatory
  • Gas central heating
  • Double oven, induction hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher
  • 3 x TV's with Sky TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Free roadside parking
  • Garden with patio, decking, seating and barbecue
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop, pub, fish & chips 0.1 miles, beach 0.8 miles
  • Note: This property has a sofa bed to accommodate a 7th and 8th guest.

The property

Nestled in the bustling town of Deganwy on the banks of the River Conwy in North Wales, is this fantastic three-bedroom, detached house, The Old Tywyn Post Office.

Formerly the town's Post Office, the property has been converted to a very high-standard and enjoys stunning sea views out towards Deganwy Marina and Conwy Castle, making The Old Tywyn Post Office a fabulous dwelling for a group or family of up to eight.

Enter the ground floor, where you will find a handy utility room housing a washer/dryer, double fridge, and a large entertainment space with stunning views out towards Conwy Castle, complete with beverage area and wall-mounted TV, perfect for when you want to watch your own shows!

There is an additional downstairs room with WC / sink.

You will also find an enclosed patio to the side of the house.

The ground floor also enjoys a well-presented double bedroom with its own en-suite shower room, perfect for those with limited mobility.

Climb the stairs up to the first floor, where you can impress your guests with delicious meals conjured up in the well-equipped kitchen, featuring a handy dishwasher, fridge and separate freezer and a convenient wine fridge, ready to enjoy in the light and airy conservatory/dining room over a bottle of wine.

If the weather is nice, why not fire up the barbecue on the wraparound balcony and dine alfresco with breath-taking views out towards Conwy and Deganwy Marina.

After dinner, relax in the sitting room and select a much-loved film from the TV as the evening’s entertainment.

When sleep calls, choose from two further bedrooms, a king-size with TV and walk-in wardrobe / dresser and a double bedroom, both with plenty of storage for your belongings and lovely views.

In the morning, wake-up tired eyes with an indulgent soak in the beautiful freestanding bath or a refreshing walk in shower before heading out to explore.

Wander into the local town, where you can beachcomb the long, sandy and shingle Deganwy Beach, also well-known for its great watersports opportunities on the River Conwy, visit the fascinating remains of the 13th-century Deganwy Castle, stroll along the Deganwy Promenade with an ice cream in hand or tuck-in to fresh fish and chips from the popular Harbour View Chip Shop & Café.

Within the town, you will also find the welcoming eateries of Nikki Ips Restaurant Wine Bar & Café, Paysanne, and Castle View, just across the road, perfect for those evenings when you don’t feel like cooking.

Cross the National Trust Suspension Bridge over to the historic town of Conwy, where you can tour the Cadw Heritage site of the 13th-century Conwy Castle, soak up the views from the historic town walls, visit the historic home of Plas Mawr or the charming 16th-century cottage known as The Smallest House In Great Britain at only 1.8 metres wide!

You can also test out your swing at the excellent Conwy Caernarvonshire Golf Club, spend a day bathing or paddle the shores of Conwy Morfa Beach or spotting the local wildlife at the Pensychnant Conservation Centre.

Continue onto Llandudno, home to two beautiful beaches, the Great Orme Summit, Venue Cymru and Angel Bay where you can spot the resident grey seals bathing on the rocks.

All this and more awaits at The Old Tywyn Post Office.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location

DEGANWY

Conwy 2 miles; Llandudno 3.5 miles.

The town of Deganwy, on the banks of the River Conwy at the mouth of the Estuary, is a very popular holiday destination. Deganwy has a marina, a small selection of shops, pubs and restaurants, and retains the ruins of Deganwy Castle, built in 1082 but later demolished. There is an abundance of activities to suit all interests on offer in this area; from sea fishing, walking and climbing in the Snowdonia range to enjoying the castles, mines, beaches and gardens of this beautiful stretch of the North Wales Coast. Deganwy is only a few miles from the holiday resorts of Conwy and Llandudno; Conwy boasts a medieval castle, town walls and a marina, plus winding streets which offer something for shoppers and diners alike. Llandudno was very popular during the Victorian era, and this is evident in the architecture and the very impressive promenade. The town also has a pier with family attractions, a theatre and for the more adventurous, a dry ski slope! Between Deganwy, Llandudno and Conwy, this area has so much to offer the entire family.

View more holiday cottages in Deganwy

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute