Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 30 View Image Gallery
  • The Garden Apartment - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1102715 - photo 1
close

The Garden Apartment

(Ref. 1102715)

Aislaby, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.2

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (20)
  • apartment (18)
  • garden (17)
  • views (16)
  • location (15)
  • great (13)

35 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely clean property offering sublime Yorkshire dales views Excellent location for all attractions"

    Reviewed by Janice5.0Jul 2024

  • "We love the property we love the scenery we couldn't fault it and its our second ..."

    We love the property we love the scenery we couldn't fault it and its our second time staying there and we hope to come back next year

    Thank you Karen for the fantastic feedback we really appreciate it and we look forward to you coming back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jul 2024

  • "Really disappointed with Accomodation and Sykes cottages."

    Garden was so overgrown we couldn't use the footpath, had to cut some plants away to use steps. Patio had weeds on it, furniture outside was green, metal cover over heater flu was rusted to the point some had dis-appeared and left sharp edges (at knee height on patio). Windows filthy, dirt in shower, headboards loose and banging (no comments) had to put pillow behind. Complained to Sykes and got told I should have complained whilst on my holiday and haven't heard from them since (10 days) have photographic proof, paid a lot of money and am very disappointed with property but annoyed and let down by Sykes

    Hello we appreciate all feedback and we would have tried to rectify any problems with the property as quickly as possible if you had let us know durning your stay. In fact we have changed the metal cover this was done on the 28th June - all other comments have been noted and will be looked into Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve1.9Jun 2024

  • "The property was lovely with amazing views."

    We were in the garden apartment and there was another level above us. There was everything you needed. It was nice and clean. On the negative side the people above kept coming down to the garden so it was not private. Plus you could hear them partying late into the night. If you have mobility problems access could be a problem, to get down the steps was difficult and the gravel path needs more gravel as there was pooling after the rain. The village is beautiful with a pub and a bus stop which has regular buses to Whitby or Middlesbrough. All in all it was a lovely stay and we would definitely visit again.

    We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you back at the Garden Apartment. We are sorry that the guest upstairs were too loud we do ask them to keep noise down and we do ask guests upstairs to be mindful of the Garden apartment guests as we do advertise it as a shared garden so we do apologise if that damped your stay at all. Thank you for letting us know about the path as we will get that fixed. We look forward to having you back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sheila5.0Apr 2024

  • "Well prepared and clean, The Garden Apartment provided a comfortable place for our short break."

    It has everything you would need, is in an excellent location to explore the area and has incredible views. Please be aware that there can be some awareness that guests are staying in the upper floors of the main house and the grounds are shared between the two properties. This close relationship would make it an ideal option for a large family/friends holiday. I noticed that a previous guest had mentioned some space restrictions within the parking area…rest assured that there is ample room, both to manoeuvre and to park. I mentioned to the owner as we were leaving that it would be more welcoming to have the heating on prior to a guest’s arrival as it was cold on ours and therefore took time for the heating to warm the apartment. The owner agreed and had already made arrangements to remedy the issue by ordering a remote heating management system. This will benefit future guests staying during cooler periods of the year. The Garden Apartment would make a lovely home for a holiday, spacious and ideal for 2 people or a couple with young children although it would be quite snug for 4 adults.

    Thank you so much for the lovely review ! The remote heating has been put in place ❤️ Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol3.8Mar 2024

  • "The property was great, we had been to Ainslaby hall ten years earlier and knew it would be ."

    I booked the hall and apartment together to accommodate all of the growing family, one one card, yet Sykes charged me two booking fees . I rang up to complain and was told they were two seperate bookings . Have now obtained owners details to book direct to them and will not again go through Sykes .

    Reviewed by Jean3.8Sep 2023

  • "Could be better signed from the top of the drive."

    The parking area needs a good clean up as it gives the wrong impression as once you are down the steps the view is stunning. The garden is a bit tired and needs tidying. We arrived early and Estella rushed around to accommodate us and she is very approachable. The welcome pack was much appreciated. The garden apartment is in a picturesque village with a lovely pub.

    Thank you for the feedback , we are working on trying to get a sign up at the top for The Garden Apartment and are aware the parking area , especially the bins area needs attention. We are working on this as best as we possibly can. Glad you enjoyed the Pub. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maria3.4Sep 2023

  • "We found everything in order and settled in straight away ."

    We particularly liked the garden and view from the back window overlooking the valley which was inspiring. The village itself was relaxing and the local pub provided an ideal place to eat and socialise . Should we visit the area again then we would welcome the opportunity to book this property again . Only recommendation would be to identify the property address on the roadside wall as we had to visit the pub to find it on arrival .

    Thank you so much for the lovely feedback as the owner we are getting signs made to make it clearer to people on the road where the property is located Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony4.7Aug 2023

  • "This is our second visit to The Appartment, we came around the same time last year."

    The accomodation is great and the location very relaxing. We met the host on a number of occasions and she was very polite and helpful. I would recomend The Apartment as a place to stay.

    Thank you Paul for the glowing feedback and choosing to visit with us a second time , hopefully we will be seeing you next year ! It was a pleasure to host you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Aug 2023

  • "Firstly, I would like to say that the apartment is lovely, private, cosy and with a lovely view."

    On the down side there was a shortage of crockery and cutlery in the Apartment which meant that the dishwasher needed to be operated more than once a day. The towels were small and thin, in particular the bath towels which were clearly far too small to be bath towels. However, the parking was a serious concern for us as the location was occupied on arrival by 2 lorry horse boxes for at least half of the week, and by 1 lorry horse box for the rest - one was removed “for 2 or 3 days”. Thus there was no space for manoevering the cars which therefore had to be reversed either in or out of the long drive and onto a potentially dangerous road with a sharp bend nearby. There was no safe parking on the road. We were told on arrival that nothing could be done about the horse boxes. In addition to this, I was obliged to cut short a long afternoon walk as I was asked to return (on foot) and remove my car from the drive to allow exit for a large tractor with a bucket on the front and a large hay spreader on the back. There was a distinct lack of respect for the parking availability which was not prewarned within the description. We felt that we were in the way, The week was considerably spoilt by this experience.

    Reviewed by Pearl3.1Jul 2023

  • "Thank you for providing a lovely place to stay."

    The view is outstanding and such a peaceful setting. We had days out in Runswick Bay, Whitby and Staithes - all amazing places. Had a lovely meal at the Forge - very friendly and delicious food. Really enjoyed our time here.

    Liz Ramsay + Wynne ArcherJul 2023

  • "Lovely welcome pack - bread, eggs, milk and biscuits."

    Fabulous garden views. Easy bus trip into Whitby, several beaches, walks on the moors and the steam railway close by. Beautifully situated and Estella was a welcoming and helpful hostess. Many Thanks.

    Stella, Dave And Genie (the Dog)Jun 2023

  • "We were there as a large party occupying both properties and it was fantastic, can't fault anything"

    We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0May 2023

  • "Fabulous location , garden and views enjoyed having breakfast outside every ..."

    Fabulous location , garden and views enjoyed having breakfast outside every morning Excellent for our dog Great having two en suite showers for accessibility Just one issue with the door lock into the kitchen Very hard to unlock and lock , had to leave it open all night once

    Reviewed by Dawn4.4Apr 2023

  • "Thank you for your kind hospitality."

    We had a great time in your comfortable apartment with the stunning views. We hope to come back some day.

    Mr B De Munck MortierApr 2023

  • "What a lovely apartment in a beautiful setting."

    We've had a a fantastic week & the weather has been perfect! Spent a beautiful day in Runswick Bay & a lovely day at Robin Hoods Bay. Saltburn- by - the- sea definitely worth a visit too- lovely beach, garden walks and pretty little town Had a fabulous meal at Sneaton Castle- definitely worth going and reasonably priced- it felt very special. Great quiz night at the local pub- The Forge. North York Moors Railway a treat- book compartments for the full "Harry Potter" experience- cheaper too than booking individual seats if there are 3 r more of you. Thank you for a lovely week, we'll defiantly be back

    Paul, Tina, CatherineApr 2023

  • "Comfortable Apartment with great views and magnificent cedar."

    We were blesses with some of the best days in the whole year so far. We would recommend the fish and chips from Esk Fisheries and our kind and attentive hostess.

    Iris, DavidApr 2023

  • "Can I just say what a beautiful & comfortable apartment this is, we had a lovely time the views are amazing I couldn't ask for anything else."

    The apartment has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Also Thank you to the cleaner for doing a brilliant job

    The Lister FamilyApr 2023

  • "A short break at this lovely location."

    Nice and clean and warm. Everything we needed was provided. Like the map for short walks on the doorstep, great to take the dog. Views are just beautiful from the kitchen window. Many Thanks.

    Laura And DonMar 2023

  • "A short break at this lovely location."

    Nice and clean and warm. All the things we needed were provided, like the map for little short walks on our doorstep, great to take the dog! Viewsw are just beautiful from the kitchen window!

    Laura & DonMar 2023

  • "Great place to stay - easy, relaxed with wonderful views - 3 deer in the garden this morning."

    Lovely walks in/around village plus an efficient bus service. You are so lucky! Thank you both.

    Jan And Sheila.Feb 2023

  • "A lovely apartment with spectacular views."

    Highly recommend the Witching Post at Egton.

    Damon, Jamie, Keith, Kath And EddieJan 2023

  • "Fabulous stay at The Garden Apartment."

    Beautiful garden and awesome location. The host was great and resolved a minor issue very quickly. Highly recommended. Locally, The Forge serves lovely food.

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Dec 2022

  • "More signage would be better i."

    E. "The Garden Apartment " would have helped at the top road. Owner very helpful, dog lovers appreciated, excellent pub for food. Excellent bus service. We had a lovely week, a nice place to wind down. Will book again for next year.

    Reviewed by Meegan4.1Oct 2022

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay in the Garden Apartment."

    Our hostess was very attentive, and the apartment itself was very comfortable, warm and well equipped. The views of the moor were spectacular and for the majority of the of our stay we had bright sunny weather. We would recommend (for people who do not know the area) a trip to Pickering to see the wonderful medieval wall paintings in the parish church, Robin Hoods Bay for the interesting lanes and fossil hunting on the beach and Whitby itself. Iris and David The above you may publish. However, we would like to apologise to Wendy for forgetting the food in a cupboard!

    Reviewed by Iris5.0Sep 2022

  • "The outside of the property where we were told to park had rubbish laying around, as for inside the ensuite in the twin room smelt damp but if you put the fan on it just blow the damp air into the bedroom."

    The kitchen knives were not sharp enough cut meat up for cooking, the tv we could not get BBC 1or2. I know it was end of season but the place just felt tired. On the first night the people above us had a party and with no soundproofing it's not good. The views were good and pub does good food.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, we do leave our number in the guest book so we would have appreciated you let us know if you had any problems during your stay. Unfortunately, there is not a lot we can do about soundproofing with the above Hall due to the property being bulit in the 1940s. We do ask our guests upstairs, to keep the noise to a minimum, but there is not a lot we can do, about the guests above. Thank you for making us aware about the Tv, if you let us know we could have tried to rectify this issue for you during your stay. We will look at replacing the kitchen knives and we do update the property each year to keep it fresh. We live very nearby so we could have attended the property Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael3.1Sep 2022

  • "The place and apartment lovely but very bad showers the hosts were very nice people"

    Thank you for your feedback, we would of appreciate you mentioning the shower to us as you had numerous of opportunity. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Sep 2022

  • "The instructions to arrive at the apartment described the property as ‘1 Main Road’."

    There was a 2 and a 3, but no 1. The property was actually a large hall, but this was not made clear, which made arrival rather confusing! The apartment was comfortable and well equipped, and the view from the garden outside was fantastic. A very peaceful and relaxing location with easy access to the many attractions of the moors and coast.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We have tried to update the key collection details to make finding the property a bit easier and less confusing for future guests Property Owner

    Reviewed by Juliet3.8Aug 2022

  • "A lovely apartment with spectacular views."

    Highly recommend 'The Witching Post' Pub in Egton

    Damon, Janine, Keith, Kath & EddieJul 2022

  • "Perfect location to discover Whitby and the region."

    Great garden: ideal for children. Property functional for a family of 4. During the busy summer period in Whitby, great to be outside the tourist "madness" in a much calmer village and surrounding.

    BertrandMay 2022

  • "Lovely location for exploring the North York Moors and the coast (Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay etc."

    ). It's a fairly small space with 2 bedrooms (both with ensuite) and a shared living / kitchen space, but it was clean, in good condition and the garden and the views beyond made it a great spot to enjoy some end of day sunshine. Would happily come again.

    Andrew

  • "Lovely quiet location clean and tidy and Wendy and Estella are very welcoming and friendly"

    Lynn

  • "Just the right size for two adults a teenager and a dog."

    Both rooms en suite which is handy! Garden and location lovely (garden would be fab in the summer). Great for frog walks and a dog freindly pub a few mins walk serving great food (The Forge - best to book). Whitby a few minutes drive, Sandsend recommended for dog walking out of season.

    Janet

  • "The location was only a short drive from whitby , the village is beautiful & the views were amazing , beds were comfortable the apartment was clean & spacious we will definitely book again!"

    Hardisty

  • "Well equipped, clean and comfortable."

    everything worked. Well appointed kitchen. Good location for walking the Cleveland Way. Beautiful outlook onto the garden and valley below. Good to have its own private parking.Light and Bright.

    Alan

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Yorkshire Coastal Cottages collection.
Over 120 carefully selected properties in Yorkshire

Summary

  • Ground-floor apartment
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x twin with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and sitting area
  • Central heating
  • Electric oven, induction hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, Tassimo coffee, washing machine, dishwasher
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • A highchair and cot are available
  • Rear shared garden with lawn, gravel, furniture and pond with grate
  • One small well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.1 miles, pub 0.2 miles
  • Note: Although the garden pond is grated, please ensure children are supervised at all times
  • Note: We ask the guests respect each other’s privacy regarding the very large garden

The property

Nestled in the charming village of Aislaby near Whitby 3.3 miles away in North Yorkshire, is this fantastic ground-floor apartment, The Garden Apartment.

Enjoying a fabulous location within the North York Moors National Park with easy access to the coast and surrounded by vibrant gardens and countryside, The Garden Apartment is a superb pet-friendly dwelling for couples or a family of four and their canine companion.

Leave your vehicle in one of two off-road parking spaces, before being greeted by a large shared garden (with the Hall above 1096234 ) with expansive lawns, and a private patio area with dining furniture and seating, a perfect spot for indulging in alfresco dining or sipping on your G&T as you admire the views.

Step into the light and airy open-plan living space, where you can look forward to whipping up delicious meals for your loved ones, ready to enjoy at the dining table for four over a bottle of celebratory fizz.

After dinner, snuggle up on the sofas and select a much-loved film from the Smart TV to watch as the evening’s entertainment.

When sleep calls, choose from two well-appointed bedrooms, a double and a twin, both featuring their own en-suite shower rooms where you can freshen up at the end of the day, or prepare for your adventures in style.

Explore your surroundings, where you will find the welcoming Forge Inn right on your doorstep, here you can treat your loved ones to a well-deserved meal after a day of exploring.

For a wider selection of amenities, head into Whitby, where you can stock up on essentials at the convenience stores, delve into history at the Whitby Museum, embark on the Dracula Experience, climb the 199 Steps for panoramic views or visit the remarkable Whitby Abbey.

Spend the day bathing on the golden sands of the beach, paddle the shores, learn to surf, or hook your catch of the day along the West Pier.

For a truly memorable day out, why not hop aboard a whale watching cruise where you can spot the marine life that frequents the shores?

Take advantage of your exceptional location, where a plethora of scenic walking and cycling trails await, including the famous Cleveland Way, The Wainstones, Ingleby Incline and the North York Moors Railway.

From Whitby, you can follow The Cinder Track down to Scarborough, home to its own glorious beaches and an impressive castle, as well as the amusement parks of Luna and Alpamare, an excellent golf club, a sea life centre and the historic Rotunda Museum.

Further afield, you’ll find Pickering, which can be easily accessed via car or the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, where you can visit the fascinating Pickering Castle, picnic in Pickering Community Wood or refuel at The Sun and Willogate Bistro.

The choice is all yours with a stay at The Garden Apartment.

Note: This property can be booked with Ref. 1096234, together sleeping up to 14 guests.

View on map

About the location

AISLABY

Aislaby 1 mile; Sleights 1 mile; Whitby 3 miles; Sandsend 5 miles.

The village of Aislaby is located in the beautiful rolling countryside of the Esk Valley, overlooking Sleights and just three miles from Whitby. A small rural village, quiet and secluded, Aislaby is a thriving community of pretty sandstone cottages clustered around a main street and a thriving community served by the old church and Forge Inn. By cycling, walking, or driving in the surrounding area, guests can visit Egton's famous church of St Hedda with its painted ceiling, walk through the beautiful Arncliffe Woods, discover the historic North Yorkshire Moors Railway at Grosmont, or explore the old mill on the banks of the River Esk. The location is also ideal for exploring the spectacular North York Moors and the many small fishing villages and resort towns of this beautiful coastline. Nearby Whitby, once the home of Captain James Cook, is a charming, atmospheric town of winding streets and hidden alleys, with a picturesque harbour, safe sandy beaches, a broad range of eateries and award-winning fish and chips, and of course the Abbey, which inspired Bram Stoker, reached by the famous 199 steps. For culture lovers, a day trip to the city of York, with its famous minster, the Jorvik Viking Centre, and National Railway Museum will be a fantastic addition to your break.

View more holiday cottages in Aislaby

Note: Please be mindful of children around the pond. Note: The shared garden is also used by the Hall above ( 1096234 ) Aislaby Hall can be booked in conjuction with The Garden Apartment together sleeping up to 14 guests. One well-behaved dog is welcome. Please be aware there are 5 small steps between the car park of the property and the property itself and the garden.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas