Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 37 View Image Gallery
  • Hutchinson House - Yorkshire Dales - 1038592 - photo 1

Hutchinson House

(Ref. 1038592)

Richmond, Yorkshire Dales - North Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (12)
  • bed (10)
  • stay (10)
  • location (10)
  • cottage (9)
  • good (8)

19 Customer Reviews

  • "We had such a fantastic, comfortable stay at Hutchinson House."

    The house was spotlessly clean and the furnishings and bedding were high quality. The house was located within easy walking distance to the town centre. We would recommend a drink at the cricket club across the road. As they rightly say on a sunny day it's the best beer garden in Richmond! There's also some fantastic restaurants in town. We would definitely recommend Hutchinson House for a family stay.

    Reviewed by Kathryn4.7May 2024

  • "Good location but in need of some deep cleaning and general maintenance."

    We only stayed Monday to Friday (two couples and two dogs) loved area, plenty of walks, lovely very reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance. We only breakfasted in the cottage, after dinner returned for tv and relax.

    Reviewed by Stephen2.2Apr 2024

  • "Very convenient for Central Richmond and all it has to offer and also access by foot to good riverside walks."

    It is a lovely property and as the instruction book advises the house warms up well and seems to retain heat. ( Thick walls helps with this ) The exception is that the kitchen radiator cannot be turned on. It's okay if cooking with the cooker or you have to leave the sitting room door open. However, that then cools down the sitting room. Thankfully, the weather turned very cold only the day we departed. We found the furniture and beds comfortable. (Even the one settee that was well used and dipped. That became my spot) More wine glasses would be advisable, only three when we arrived and one broke in the dishwasher. We bought two more. Some microwave dishes, potato peeler would be good otherwise utensils were well catered for. There was dish washing tabs available but no washing machine tabs. I know it is self catering but often there are some available at cottages we rent. The welcome pack on arrival was good thank you. We were mixed family and friends staying so not having locks or a bolt in the toilet/shower rooms is not good. We had to make signs for the doors and tell folk that if the doors were closed it was in use. Re parking, we off loaded the cars at the gate with warning lights on. We paid £15 to park the car for a week in Nunns Close Car Park. Very close to the property. (£15.20 if you use Ring Go App ) A good week was had.

    Hi Ray, thanks very much for taking the time to review Hutchinson House. We're delighted you had a good week and thank you for drawing the items you have to our attention so we can further improve guest experience. We have now had a plumber visit and rectify the problem with the kitchen radiator (a faulty pin in the TRV valve apparently!) while another potato peeler has been added to the kitchen draw and more wine glasses have been ordered. We also apologise for any inconvenience the absence of bolts on the bathroom doors may have caused. Your point regarding mixed groups is valid and we now have bolts on order that will be fitted to both bathrooms on receipt. Once again, your comments are really appreciated and we really hope to host you again in Richmond in the future. Kind regards, Ali and Philippa Brown. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ray4.1Feb 2024

  • "Beautiful holiday cottage in a perfect location for exploring Richmond and surround areas."

    Cottage was very well equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay, and the very generous welcome basket was much appreciated by both the humans and the doggos. Very clean and cosy would definitely recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in Richmond and we hope to return in the future

    Hi Nicola, thanks for taking the time to comment, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation - it's lovely to hear you enjoyed our home and all members of the party were happy! We hope you'll return soon. Thank you again and kind regards, Ali and Philippa Brown. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Oct 2023

  • "The property was really beautiful on the inside."

    Very clean and cozy.

    Hello Giles, Thanks so much for your feedback - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Ali Brown (Owner). Property Owner

    Reviewed by Giles3.8Oct 2023

  • "The cottage was lovely but the settees were so uncomfortable to sit on, the fillings on the seat cushions need replacing."

    We also found that bulbs weren't working in some of the lights. the front door inside plate had a screw missing so made opening and locking the door required a bit of jiggling around. Items were missing from both the welcome pack and the doggie pack (just needed to be replenished). When we emptied the kitchen bin, underneath were mouldy teabags, which showed the bin hadn't been washed for a while. A little attention to housekeeping is required

    Hi Catherine, Thanks very much for your feedback on our home. We're so sorry you found our sofas uncomfortable. The cushions are feather down filled and do need plumping regularly on that basis - we love them though I understand they may not be to everyone's taste. We've just completed a weekend of maintenance at Hutchinson House, during which we replaced bulbs in the two lights that weren't working and repaired and secured the plate of the front door handle. With regard to the residual items you found in the kitchen bin, this is of course completely unacceptable and I apologise profusely. We are in the process of a change in our housekeeping arrangements and will be managing changeovers personally for the immediate future to ensure the high standards we expect. Thanks very much again for taking the time to comment. Ali Brown (Owner) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine2.8Sep 2023

  • "Had a long weekend break with friends."

    The location of this place is perfect very close to the town centre and all its amenities and the car park is a one minute walk from the property. We met a man doing some work at the property who was very helpful and could be contacted if needed. The property had everything we needed and more besides including a very nice welcome pack with tea, coffee, snacks etc. Bedrooms and bathrooms spotlessly clean, our only negatives were that the living and kitchen areas and the windows need a very good clean and the sofas are dirty and uncomfortable but this did not spoil our stay in anyway and can easily be sorted and we would consider returning at some point in the future.

    Hi Yvonne, With apologies for the delay, we really appreciate your comments and are delighted you found Hutchinson House to be well equipped and located. Since your stay we've made a change to our cleaning arrangements, including increasing the frequency the windows are cleaned with a full exterior clean completed today, 19/10/23. We're pleased your stay was unaffected and do really hope you will come back and stay with us again. Thanks so much again for your feedback. Ali Brown (Owner). Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yvonne4.1Sep 2023

  • "The cottage generally is fantastic!"

    The location is perfect and with the car park at the rear for only £15 a week it is really good. The only downside was the cleanliness - there were dead bugs on the carpets, had not been hoovered and could do with being replaced ideally. The sofas were stained and very uncomfortable to sit on, all of the roman blinds were broken and need replacing. These are minor things and if sorted out it would be totally perfect. If I was asked I would certainly recommend this cottage as it was in a great location. Richmond is lovely and close to other areas to visit.

    Reviewed by Jason3.1Jul 2023

  • "We were a party of 4 adults and 2 dogs."

    The house provided everything we needed. We loved this beautiful house and the small garden is safe, comfortable and private. The sunshade for the garden table was missing but replaced as soon as we requested - much appreciated as we had such fabulous weather. There was a supply of everything we needed to get started: tea, coffee, milk, loo rolls etc. plus a lovely welcome pack for us and the doggos. The location is perfect - a few minutes walk into town. There is a cricket club with bar just opposite and a small and useful shop/gas station across the road with very friendly staff. Parking nearby must be paid for but costs only £15 per week. There was plenty of cutlery and crockery but the cooking pots and utensils were a bit random - perhaps it would be a good idea to take stock and replace missing items. We will definitely return and would confidently recommend this holiday home.

    Reviewed by Angie4.4Jun 2023

  • "We all really enjoyed our stay."

    The cottage is well equipped and comfortable. We all slept well in the comfy beds. It is well placed, only a short walk to the Market Place in Richmond with it’s lovely shops, pubs and cafes. Thank you for the lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Feb 2023

  • "Lovely house but really disappointed with the cleanliness."

    One of our party was brave enough to tackle the downstairs shower which wasn’t draining - whoever cleaned the shower prior to our arrival must have known this was a problem. Floors weren’t clean and surfaces were dirty. Stained bedding. Such a shame as a lovely house in Richmond.

    We are sorrythat you didn't find the cleaning to be of the standard expected. Rest assured your comments were passed on to the housekeeping team at the time to ensure that our high standards are maintained more consitently. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise2.5Feb 2023

  • "Lovely place to stay with good amenities."

    Well appointed to town and facilities.

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Dec 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, well equipped."

    Very comfortable beds and great size bathroom with lovely bath. However, the first of our party to arrive couldn’t find it. There was a huge sign on the outer gate telling you not to go that way for another cottage, but the sign for Hutchinson House was covered in ivy. (We uncovered it) It is lovely tucked down the path, however could do with warning as not lit and slippy (we all arrived separately in the dark and it was raining unfortunately). Could do with a towel putting in downstairs loo! Apart from these things a lovely stay in a beautiful part of the country, we would go back to Hutchinson House. Not moaning just giving hopefully constructive feedback - thank you

    Reviewed by Beverley3.8Dec 2022

  • "Stayed here from 11th to 18th November 2022, lovely holiday cottage, just what we where looking for, quirky, spacious, clean, lovely location."

    Would highly recommend this cottage as its right in the town center, loads of shops, cafes, bars, museums, walks you name it it's here. Cannot understand the negative review from October this year as we found everything as described, and even met the caretaker on site on arrival, cannot fault it, and would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by Robin4.1Nov 2022

  • "A beautiful cottage."

    Great location, car park around back £15 for week. Quaint front garden. On arrival before we had even unpacked I had to ring Sykes to say it had not been cleaned very well. Stain on bedding, bathroom mirrors you could not see through, dirty cutlery and kitchen cupboards, mould in a casserole dish, this was to name a few. Welcome pack of half open jar of coffee and teabags, a packet of choc nuts all but 3 eaten out of them! Thank goodness no one had a nut allergy!!!! 2 bags of crisps and miniature marmalade! Skye’s got the caretakers daughter to come and do a re clean, even she agreed that this was not up to standards and did a quick clean upstairs, this was now about 5pm ish, we appreciated her coming and gave her £20 for having to try and rectify someone’s else’s cleaning, if she had done all the cleaning that wanted doing she would have been there a good 4hours. I cleaned the cutlery and draw, wiped all the kitchen down, found half used garlic behind trays, food left in end cupboard ( which I left) there was cake in bedroom draws, sweet wrappers under bed, coat hangers and someone’s knee bandage on book case in lounge!! The list is endless, I have photos to prove all this too. Good grief this property wasn’t cheap to stay in. The owners have lovingly restored this cottage and put good quality furniture in, what a shame for it not to be maintained the way it should be. Before I left I hoovered lounge and kitchen took photos to prove I left it looking nice. Hopefully the cleaner will hoover all corners that’s not been done in months! What a shame. Would have been nice for Skye’s to have told the owners of our grumbles on that Saturday, but they said we complained the day before departure, that was our second email. The caretaker also should have come to see it too, his daughter even took photos. Very disappointed how we have been treated.

    Hi Gina, Thankyou very much for the detailed feedback you’re provided here and we’re genuinely sorry for how you found our home on arrival. We were informed of your dissatisfaction immediately, though understood from our housekeepers and Sykes Cottages the issues raised had been rectified and that in providing a tip for the team you were happy with the resolution, the rest of your holiday was unaffected and you enjoyed the remainder of your stay. As the vast majority of our previous reviews show, we expect the highest standards from our housekeeping team and I’d like to assure you that each aspect is being addressed with them in order that those standards are maintained. Thanks once again and we really hope to host you again in the future. With best regards, Ali and Philippa Brown, owners of Hutchinson House. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gina3.4Oct 2022

  • "We stayed at Hutchinson House from 14th October for a week."

    Went as a family with it being our new grandsons first holiday age 11 weeks. Two grandparents, mummy daddy a 7 year old and 11 week old and plenty of room for us all. Richmond itself was great walks by the river and evenings testing out local amenities. The dining room was great for playing board games as a family. We will return as a family in the summer. Thanks very much Kay.

    Reviewed by Kay5.0Oct 2022

  • "An ideal location, brief walk to town centre, and the riverside walks beyond."

    Lovely front garden, which was very pleasant to sit in for coffee and drinks, enclosed and private. Kitchen very well equipped with new cooker and microwave and a much appreciated welcome pack for all the guests including the dog. The beds were very comfortable and both bathrooms had very good showers with the addition of a bath upstairs to relax in after the walks. Our only small criticism was some of the kitchen cupboards and drawers were a little dirty, and the front garden a little overgrown but I would definitely recommend a stay at this property and hopefully we will be back soon.

    Reviewed by Carol4.7Jul 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Hutchinson House and the location couldn’t have been better with the play-park and town centre very close by."

    Thank you very much for the generous welcome pack(s) and we thought the bedroom and living areas were spot on. The only issue we incurred was the oven not working and displaying the error message ‘stop’. We noticed this had been reported in the ‘fix it’ book. It made cooking dinner for our son a little troublesome, and one of the pans we went to use had not been properly cleaned. We were grateful for the wide selection of local restaurants who offered takeaway, but this did add a more to our spending than we’d anticipated. I suggest getting the oven fixed so as not to waste food future guests come prepared with or to disrupt their stay. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Kara4.7Jun 2022

  • "Great cottage, stunning location."

    Loved the well stocked kitchen and seperate dinning room. Ideal setting for the Jubilee weekend

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer and dishwasher
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking on first-come, first-served basis and car park nearby
  • Front garden with patio and furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles
  • Please note: This property can only accept short breaks starting on Fridays and Mondays for a minimum of 3 nights

The property

Nestled in the historic market town of Richmond, North Yorkshire sits this charming holiday home, Hutchinson House.

Adorned throughout with exposed beamed ceilings and offering a toasty woodburning stove, this pet-friendly dwelling is ideal for family and friends, as well as their pooch.

On arrival, be greeted by a front garden with a patio area to enjoy a cup of tea in the morning sunshine as your pet stretches their legs.

Step inside to find the sitting room, where you can kick back and relax on the sofa and catch-up on your favourite shows on the Smart TV.

Moving through the property, locate the farm-style kitchen, which houses an electric oven, gas hob and microwave to prepare heart-warming meals.

When food is ready, gather in the dining room to tuck-in as you recount the day's adventures and why not uncork a bottle of fizz?

After a day exploring the wonders of North Yorkshire, take advantage of the utility room with a washer/dryer to freshen your clothes and enjoy a rinse in the ground floor shower room.

As the evening draws to a close, retire upstairs and choose between two doubles and a twin bedroom, all tastefully furnished with ample storage space.

In the morning, start the day off right with a soothing soak in the family bathroom or have a hot rinse under the shower.

Just paces away from your holiday home, you will find an array of cafes and bars to treat yourself to breakfast out; afterwards explore the scenic River Swale Waterfalls.

To unveil the past of the town, there is the Richmondshire Museum and Richmond Castle, which benefits from sweeping views over the Yorkshire Dales.

Visit the market town of Barnard Castle, home to an ancient castle, The Bowes Museum to marvel at exquisite art, as well as an expansive golf course to test your swing.

The town of Darlington is also within easy reach, where you can tour Head of Steam Darlington Railway Museum for traditional trains, stroll around Thornton hall gardens and dine out with a great selection of restaurants to choose from.

For a much-needed break, escape to Hutchinson House.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Barnard Castle 10 miles; Leyburn 12 miles.

Situated at the entrance to Swaledale, the ancient market town of Richmond stands on a prominent hilltop site to the north of the River Swale. Its cobbled streets and narrow alleys or 'wynds' enshrine over nine centuries of busy history and unique character. The town grew up around its castle, a Norman fortress dating back to 1071, famously situated high above the river - indeed the name Richmond is derived from 'Riche-mont' meaning 'strong hill'. Today there are wonderful walks to be enjoyed such as the Castle Walk - a dramatic terrace walk beneath the castle walls - or alternatively walk alongside the River Swale where there are parks, safe paddling areas and small waterfalls to enjoy. Within the town, narrow streets and alleys radiate from the cobbled Market Place (which has a weekly market and monthly farmers’ market) and there are numerous shops, pubs and restaurants to enjoy. The town flourished in the 18th and 19th centuries and the resulting elegant Georgian architecture lines many of the old streets. The Georgian Theatre is one of the oldest surviving theatres in the country with visitors enjoying its regular productions all year round.

View more holiday cottages in Richmond

Please note: This property can only accept short breaks starting on Fridays and Mondays for a minimum of 3 nights

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas