Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 56 View Image Gallery
  • Woodend - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1107295 - photo 1
close

Woodend

(Ref. 1107295)

Loftus, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

3.8

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • tub (9)
  • hot (9)
  • hot tub (9)
  • clean (8)
  • lovely (7)
  • area (7)

13 Customer Reviews

  • "The property could benefit from having a better pack of information about the local area and its amenities."

    Also information on how to work the appliances would be helpful. Recycling and bin information would also be helpful.

    Reviewed by Allison3.4Mar 2024

  • "Really lovely house with great furniture and very comfy beds."

    (Lovely quality bedding & towels). We came with our 2 dogs and spent a great few days exploring the area then coming back to this lovely warm home. Could I just suggest a couple of things for the kitchen that I missed? Scissors, & maybe a measuring jug But I would give it 5 stars!!

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Mar 2024

  • "To be honest we were,from reading recent reviews, a little concerned about this holiday but we turned up to a clean, bright, modern cottage."

    The smoke alarm was beeping but within 20 minutes it had been fixed. The kitchen was well provided but could do with a couple of pint glasses. It was odd having no live TV but with all the free ones and Netflix we didn't miss it. The small bedroom window still needs attention. We didn't have any issues with parking the whole week as it's a quiet little road. Outside had been tidied but left with empty planters after the season had finished. There were seat cushions but only quite small ones and a bit lost on the outside sofa. The bottom part of the garden is, as stated, shared access but no-one used it except for taking the bin out for collection on Friday. On 1st use the hot tub had slightly too much chlorine and stung eyes. This dropped after the tub had been open for a couple of hours and wasn't an issue after this. Beds were comfy and bathroom lovely. Just needs some tweeks to make it that bit better.

    Hello, The issue with live TV was a problem in the area and has now been sorted out. We have all new smart TVs within the property. We are addressing some of the tweeks you have mentioned including the hot tub. We are glad you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay. Steven Pritchard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher3.8Sep 2023

  • "Expensive & Disappointing."

    Having viewed the property on the Sykes website, what sold it to us, was the chance to sit outside in the sunshine, next to the beautiful surroundings , with family searing and the use of the hot tub(despite the additional fee charged for this). So having booked the property for a week for potentially five of us, we were so disappointed upon our arrival. The house looked lovely from the exterior. Parking was however limited. The house is ideally located for Whitby and all the local beaches and that was a great plus. The house was generally clean and tidy. However it wasn’t long before we started to find little things that let it down. The toilet seat was loose which required tightening, the small towel holder was hanging on by a thread; the vacuum cleaner holder in the kitchen wasn’t fixed to the wall properly. The beds I found uncomfortable, however my wife found them the opposite . The double beds are two singles pushed together which caused an uncomfortable ridge in the middle. The quilts were extremely thick and heavy, ideal for winter but not for summer. Bed linen was lovely and clean and there were sufficient towels provided. The showers worked well. The shower seal needs a good bleaching as there was green mould evident. The Wi-Fi was pretty awful . It worked okay downstairs but upstairs it was non existent, This was evident of the tvs in each bedroom. You could not get any programs, either ones that are streamed such as Netflix, Amazon or any terrestrial tv. So it was effectively a waste of time having tvs in rooms that you couldn’t use. The main tv in the lounge only has streaming and catch up tv . No terrestrial tv. So unless you subscribe to streaming services you will be even more disappointed. Now we doing go there to watch tv, we wanted to sit outside. Well where do I start with the rear garden area. There was some that rattan furniture but no seat covers. I believed they had been ruined in a previous review and not replaced. So no comfortable seating to use. So the first thing we had to do, was spend time and money visiting local supermarkets etc looking for a couple of sunloungers to use during the week. The table outside is tired, needs sanding down and re varnishing. The rear,area was over grown with weeds, hanging baskets with dead plants or weeds in. There were dead leaves and a dirty floor in and around the hot tub. The hot tub stunk so much of chlorine that it made your eyes water and brought me up in a rash. Nobody attended to the hot tub during the week, unless they came during the day whilst we were out. The chlorine gradually died off to a bearable level mid week. Half the jets didn’t work in the hot tub, which was annoying when you are paying extra for the facility. There wasn’t a lot of privacy when using the hot tub and could easily remedied with a little bamboo screening. So overall the holiday home failed to live up to our expectations. We have used Sykes on numerous occasions and this has been by far the worst we have stayed in. We would love to return to the area but would not return here. So despite a few faults within we thought we could live with

    Hello, Sorry to hear you found your stay disappointing. The issues you have mentioned such as the loose toilet seat have been rectified. Regarding the beds, this is a personal preference as they are of high quality and new. The issues with the TV were an issue within the area and this has now been rectified. The hot tub fitter has also been made aware of the hot tub issue. Steven Pritchard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ashley2.5Aug 2023

  • "This property is ideal for visiting all the local beaches and site seeing."

    The place was ok, but with some easy tweaks could be so much better. The cleaning team need replacing. The property was grubby. Dusty, cobwebs and spiders everywhere. Small bedroom window doesn't close and one of the sofa's springs coming through. The outside space, which is mostly why we picked this over others, hadn't been looked after for a long time. The cushion seating area was wet through, the cushions ruined, and we were unable to use. Virtually all the plants were dead and the paved area covered in debris from the trees, hadn't been swept for months. The hot tub, another reason we picked it, again was grubby and smelt massively of chemicals. Just really disappointed when it was expensive. Sadly wouldn't go again, this said the owner wouldn't have to do too much to make it so much better.

    Hello, Sorry for the issues you found during your stay. The issues with the cleaning have been addressed with our cleaning team and they are aware of these issues for the future. The bedroom window has been sorted and we have reviewed the other issues. Steven Pritchard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise2.8Jul 2023

  • "The location of the property was perfect with a woodland walk opposite as we had our dog with us."

    We had a lovely holiday but with a few ammendments it would make the place much better. The property was clean inside, but one settee had broken springs, their could do with being more glasses in the kitchen, the window in the small bedroom did not close properly and the filter in the hot tub needed changing-it said it was 12 days over due on the control panel.

    Hello, We are glad you enjoyed the local area of Loftus. The issues have been rectified and the hot tub fitter has been to change the filter. We hope you will consider us in the future. Steven Pritchard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debbie3.8Jul 2023

  • "Had a great time at Woodend."

    House was spotlessly clean and the welcome hamper was a nice touch. Loved the garden and hot tub. Ideal location for exploring Whitby, Scarborough, Staithes and Flaming Land. Great dog walks at nearby Stewart Park and Skinningrove beach which is a dog friendly hidden gem.

    Hello, Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed the property and the local area. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Steven Pritchard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare4.7Jul 2023

  • "The house is lovely and well kept and was very clean."

    Unfortunately the previous tenants hadn’t washed the crockery properly and it smelt as if they had been smoking. The garden was a real let down and it could have been so lovely. The pots and hanging baskets were full of dead plants and it needed a good brush.

    Hello, Thank you for your nice comments regarding our property. The plants in the hanging baskets have now been removed, thank you for bringing this to our attention. The cleaning team has been made aware to check these issues in the future. Steven Pritchard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally3.8Jun 2023

  • "Very disappointed."

    The property is not maintained to a satisfactory standard. The outside patio was not clean, with cobwebs all over the furniture, cigarette butts and beer bottle tops and table needed clearing before we could use it. All the plants in the patio were dead. Toilet seat was very loose and bulbs missing from the bedside lamps. One of the sofas was sunken and the springs sticking out underneath. We also discovered that the patio area is shared access to all the adjoining properties. If you’re going to charge nearly a £1000 per week I would expect it to have been maintained to a much better standard. We won’t be using Sykes cottages again. I’ll be checking to see if you publish this feedback.

    Hello, We are sorry to hear of your experience, all of these issues have now been rectified and addressed. Our cleaning team has also been made aware of these issues which will be sorted for the future. Steven Pritchard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andy2.2Jun 2023

  • "Great location with lots of walks close to the house."

    It would have been useful to have a key to the yard to avoid taking the dogs through the house to hose down. Yard had not been cleaned for a while and hot tub overdue for a good clean.

    Hello, We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of this property. Your comments regarding the yard and hot tub have been addressed with our cleaning team. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Steven Pritchard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret3.1Apr 2023

  • "Wonderful. Perfect location, cosy and faultless."

    Lovely 'welcome hamper' and the hot tub is amazing! Perfect base for exploring a beautiful area.

    Hello, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in this property. We hope to welcome you again soon. Steven Pritchard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Georgina5.0Jan 2023

  • "Lovely house and very clean."

    hot tub fab. great welcome pack. The place is situated in an area which you can easily explore the east coast, good central location.

    Hello, Thank you for your lovely review we are very happy you enjoyed your stay in this property. We hope to welcome you again soon Steven Pritchard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Sep 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay."

    A really comfortable cottage with a super hot tub

    Hello, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in this property. We hope to welcome you again soon. Steven Pritchard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alli5.0Jul 2022

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with TV, 1 x double (zip/link, can be twin on request) with TV, 1 x single with TV
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with gas fire
  • Central heating with gas fire and woodburner
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher
  • 4 x TVs, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking
  • Enclosed patio garden and furniture
  • Hot Tub
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles, beach 1.6 miles
  • Note: The first part of the patio garden is private with a right of way access across the rear garden
  • Note: There is a supplemental £75 charge to use the hot tub

The property

Settled in the town of Loftus in North Yorkshire is this peaceful, end-terrace Victorian house, Woodend.

In a prime location for exploring the North York Moors and coast, this pet-friendly abode welcomes families or couples, providing contemporary amenities and a private, enclosed garden overlooking a stream.

Step inside to find a spacious living/dining room where you're sure to spend relaxing afternoons, whether that's watching TV from the plush sofas by the warmth of the gas fire or dining with your loved ones at the table for six.

The well-appointed kitchen is just next door with an electric oven and hob, large fridge/freezer, and dishwasher, so you can cook at home with ease.

Outside, you'll have your own private, enclosed sanctuary which is pet-friendly for dogs to rest their paws, whilst you dine al fresco, snooze on the cushioned furniture set under a gazebo with the sound of the running stream below.

After a busy day exploring the coast, head upstairs to freshen up in the contemporary bathroom with a bath and shower over, before choosing between three beautifully appointed bedrooms, each with ample storage space and a TV.

You'll find two doubles, one zip/link to suit children, friends or a couple, and a single.

A great base for touring North Yorkshire, Loftus has plenty to offer, including The Loftus Club or The Tiger Inn pub, swimming at Loftus Leisure Centre, and a selection of shops.

The picturesque shores of Skinningrove Beach are close by and dog-friendly for walking, playing, swimming and relaxing in the sunshine.

Spend a day in Saltburn-by-the-Sea, home to another beautiful beach and cliffs to explore, as well as fishing along Saltburn Pier, whilst Saltburn Gill Nature Reserve welcomes nature lovers and Saltburn-by-the-Sea Golf Club is sure to please players of all abilities.

Further south along the coast brings you to the bustling seaside town of Whitby; climb the 199 Steps and you'll be rewarded with the ruins of Whitby Abbey and far-reaching views, but if that's not for you, there are plenty of classic amusements along Whitby Beach and local legends at the fascinating Captain Cook Memorial Museum.

For a classic fishing village, be sure to visit Robin Hood's Bay, home to the National Trust's Old Coastguard Station, whilst the North York Moors National Park is waiting to be explored.

You'll find historic ruins such as Mulgrave Castle, timeless villages and towns including Guisborough and the romantic Guisborough Priory, and peaceful sandy coves and walking paths to wander with your trusty canine.

Book an unforgettable staycation with your loved ones in North Yorkshire at Woodend.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

LOFTUS

Saltburn-by-the-Sea 4 miles; Hinderwell 6 miles; Whitby 14 miles.

The village of Loftus lies 14 miles north of Whitby on the east coast of Yorkshire. Originally an old alum mining village, it comprises terraced houses, old stone cottages and a few grand stone dwellings. The long and lively main street hosts a variety of shops, eateries, pubs, banks and an impressive town hall. Lying behind the main street is a leisure centre with an excellent swimming pool. Loftus is well placed for discovering the small coastal villages of Runswick Bay and Staithes, the latter being a popular choice for artists. Four miles to the north is the elegant spa town of Saltburn with its golf club and long pier stretching over the wide sands. The stunning North Yorkshire Moors countryside is on the doorstep and the Jurassic fossil coast lies to the south.

Note: There is a supplemental charge to use the hot tub

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas