Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 28 View Image Gallery
  • Orchid Lodge - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1000353 - photo 1

Orchid Lodge

(Ref. 1000353)

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • clean (14)
  • lodge (13)
  • our (11)
  • everything (10)
  • stay (10)
  • lovely (10)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "6 out of 7 nights disturbed sleep caused by events at Rushpool Hall - even though described as tranquil on their website."

    Poor response to complaints. Couldn’t use any of the grounds as events were on. Not really ideal for dogs as no off lead area. Would not recommend.

    We are so sorry you did not enjoy any of your week here. If you had rang the help number in the welcome pack or sykes even you could have moved to a another lodge. Dogs are allowed off the lead in our woods -not in lodge park due to peacocks and other dogs staying of course. Our woods are ideal for them to roam free under your control of course. Easy way its to stick to the path,wedding guests mix in hotel car parks and front lawn but you have right of way - again stick to the paths shown . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley3.1Aug 2023

  • "We are very experienced property renters of over 30 years."

    These are very nice lodges, clean and comfortable. Next time we'd book one with a proper patio, patio doors etc. The bathroom door lock is broken and my husband locked himself in, I got him out with a coin. The signage on the estate needs improvement, its a sharp turn and needs 'Lodges + arrow' affixed to the corners. Towel supply needs to be made clear. We brought our own [car space] and did not need them. Apart from that, we would return.

    So pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back to our premier lodges on the opposite side - some are bookable through Sykes and some are not but we can give you details if required . We have always included towels and will check with Sykes if they have told you differently. Signage to the lodge park and your lodge is well detailed in the welcome pack and as we are not allowed to put boards up on the neighbouring hotels drive way. Maintenance have checked the bathroom door lock and found it to be ok -we will keep an eye on it though so thank you for letting us know your problems with it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by C4.4Jun 2023

  • "We have stayed in the lodges before and have always found them clean and ..."

    We have stayed in the lodges before and have always found them clean and comfortable and the welcome pack a nice gesture, it is quite at night and you get a good night's sleep and it's a short drive into Saltburn and the retail Park is a short drive away and you can get everything you need there, I would recommend the lodges for a good holiday in Saltburn

    Thank you so much for your kind words we really appreciate you taking the time. Look forward hopefully to seeing you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2023

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

    The outside of the property really doesnt do it justice! The kitchen and bathroom were very new, and everything was spotlessly clean. There was everything we needed in the lodge it was very well equipped. Would definately stay again.

    Many thanks for your lovely words we will pass your comments onto the staff - it makes it so worthwhile to be thanked. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0May 2023

  • "Great accommodation."

    Clean, modern and well presented with a lovely and very thoughtful welcome basket. The location is good although, as covered in other reviews, it’s a shame there isn’t a footpath in to Saltburn. Local taxis as detailed in the welcome pack are reasonably priced for travelling to and from Saltburn although you need to pre book certainly for the return trip if it’s a weekend evening. We had a lovely short stay and would certainly stay here again if back in the area.

    wow thank you for your fantastic review hope to see you again very soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Apr 2023

  • "Very pea’s full nice surroundings would recommend for a holiday"

    Glad you enjoyed your stay with us - yes its a secret paradise and so close to Saltburn and Skelton's facilities Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Apr 2023

  • "Lovely location direct footpath to Saltburn Would be the only bonus to this ..."

    Lovely location direct footpath to Saltburn Would be the only bonus to this accommodation Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Sep 2022

  • "Orchid lodge is one of the best places i have stayed."

    There was plenty of room great facilities, great location and extremely clean really enjoyed our stay thank you

    Thank you for your amazing review - and your kind comments which we will pass on to the staff. Many thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Duane5.0Aug 2022

  • "Beautiful Lodge in Beautiful place, very clean and comfortable, WiFi hit and ..."

    Beautiful Lodge in Beautiful place, very clean and comfortable, WiFi hit and miss, but we managed, know area well so days out brilliant, recommend to anybody, the shower was to die for, brilliant at end of hard day sightseeing and comfy bed to drop into, thank you

    Many thanks for your kind review - the wifi is regularly monitored and sometimes its down to BT works but glad it didnt spoil your stay with us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carmel4.7Aug 2022

  • "Fantastic Lodge as it was last year."

    Welcome pack was brilliant and the elderberry wine was amazing I ordered 6 bottles from the supplier to take home. The only negative comment I have is that the WiFi connection was rubbish kept dropping out especially on the television.

    So pleased you enjoyed your stay and the wine! Yes there have been some issues with WIFI recently in our area as a whole. Our IT company monitors the strength and ensures we get the best that is available - remembering that fibre optic isnt available in our rural location as yet - but heres hoping it wont be too long though. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.1Jul 2022

  • "Lovely cottage clean and comfortable beautiful surroundings only disappointment was went to use hob Monday morning got food in pan hob wouldn't work rang number in folder lady very helpful told us after ringing bk probably child lock on we tried it wasn't on then 3 different members of staff came out to look through next two to 3 hours nothing still same I said to the lady who i spoke to on phone this should of been checked prior to us arriving which I was told it would of been no way had it been checked !"

    got a text Monday tea time engineer would come out tues if not around to leave keys for them to get in then Tuesday heard again couldn't be fixed they will come and replace wed pm same arrangement as Tuesday we were still there when they came to replace wed afternoon he said wasn't working when he looked Tuesday no child lock was on as could move numbers up and down wouldn't let u do that if child lock was on no power no heat when we arrived back Tuesday night I'd washed up and left tidy for returning but came back to saucepans on side and filled with water in sink after trying get the hob working which was annoying as I'd cleaned up before we went out we feel this 3 days of messing about ppl coming in spoilt our holiday a bit as we didn't expect to rent the cottage for the week which is quite expensive to put up with all this disruption they replaced the hob which we didn't use anyway as my food would of not lasted till then had to cook in grill Tuesday ate out rest of week anyway so do feel we had 3 days messing about for nothing really but is a lovely place just think they need to check properly before new guests arrive as no way was checked 3 different members of cleaning team came no one could work the hob so they would of known if it wasn't working on Friday change over if they would of turned it on

    We are sorry to receive your review, we have no control over an "electrical circuit board " blowing unexpectedly on the hob in your Lodge. We thought we were as helpful and non intrusive as we possibly could be. The hobs are in fact checked each week and just because it worked on the Friday is no 100% guarantee that it would work on Monday due to the complex circuit boards modern day electrical goods have - it can happen at any time - just like a fuse on a kettle can blow - we cant predict when that will happen. You did comment to us on the Monday that the hob not working would not be a problem as you had brought mainly salads and the grill / oven would be satisfactory to cook your sausages should we not be able to fix the hob soon. We also reassured you that the fault would not be blamed/charged to you as you had thought when you first reported it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Jun 2022

  • "Dog friendly, yes."

    Dog safe,no. Fenced off to a point round the back but need to be on a lead just to pop out for a wee.Our dog is 14 and knows not to wander but a puppy/younger dog would soon escape.As it was a lovely warm weekend we had the door propped open others may not be able to do that.

    Reviewed by Yvonne3.8May 2022

  • "This property is very spacious and there is everything that you would need for a great holiday stay."

    The welcome pack was great treats for the dog and treats for the humans . The grounds are well maintained and lovely walks around Rushpool Hall. Amazing seafood restaurant nearby to eat great food and supermarkets very close . Ideal place to stay to visit many English Heritage and National Trust places and coastal towns like Robin Hood Bay, Whitby and Staithes. 10 out of 10 ..

    Thank you for your kind review we really appreciate it Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Apr 2022

  • "Orchid Lodge and the grounds of Rushpool Hall exceeded expectations."

    The lodge was equipped with everything imaginable for a comfortable stay and it was spotlessly clean which is a must for us. In our experience, dog friendly accommodation on offer can often appear tired and not of a high standard that we expect. However, this is certainly not the case here. We will definitely holiday here again!

    Thank you for your review we really appreciate it and so pleased you took time to wander around our amazing woodland area- so peaceful and the wildlife in it is a treat. Hope to see you again very soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pamela5.0Apr 2022

  • "Beautiful setting and for nature lovers an ideal setting in a compact woodland site, peacocks freely roaming the site and quite happy to be fed by hand plus other wildlife, the lodge was clean and well equipped and any services we needed were easily reached by the very good information pack we received."

    We found no reason not to absolutely recommend this place and we will definitely be returning to holiday again.

    Many thanks for your kind review , we would love to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leslie5.0Apr 2022

  • "Lovely clean lodge, great location for exploring the area, place has everything you need for a comfortable safe, WI-FI a little hit and miss but apart from that fabulous stay."

    Reviewed by Jayne4.7Dec 2021

  • "Orchid is a superbly appointed accommodation, recently completely remodelled to a very high standard."

    It is really generous for 2 people with the separate dining room, huge primary bedroom and lovely bathroom. The kitchen has everything that you could need to self cater. We had an issue with the valve on the gas canister so we didn't have any hot water / heating one evening and this was fixed very promptly the next morning. The grounds of Rushpool Hall are lovely to walk around and there are large supermarkets (Asda, Aldi & B&M) just 3 minutes drive away. As other people have said it is a shame that there is no footpath into Saltburn which is a lovely beach walk to Marske and maybe there would be room for a small hot tub on the side patio? :)

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Oct 2021

  • "Our stay with you was up to your usual high standards."

    Highly recommended. Thank you

    Reviewed by Victor5.0Oct 2021

  • "Beautiful location,lodge was spotlessly clean and the welcome hamper was very much appreciated."

    We had a lovely relaxing holiday and will definitely return

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Sep 2021

  • "The lodge was in an ideal location for sightseeing and only a 5 minute drive into Saltburn."

    Very clean and perfect for a dog friendly holiday.

    Reviewed by Emma4.7Jul 2021

  • "What a hidden gem!"

    ! I have just returned from a week there and this hideaway has it all!! The surroundings are very peaceful and quiet whilst only being a 15 minute walk to the beach in Saltburn. The lodge itself is extremely well equipped, immaculately clean and extremely comfortable for 2 and our little dog. Would highly recommend and will definitely return in the future.

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2021

  • "This is our second visit to Orchid Lodge and we wouldn't hesitate to visit again."

    There was a welcome pack that included biscuits, a bottle of local wine - and dog treats, which was a nice touch.

    Reviewed by Steven5.0May 2021

  • "Loved everything, perfect!"

    Reviewed by Sham5.0May 2021

  • "The accommodation was just perfect for us."

    Everything had been thought of and there was a lovely welcome pack waiting for us when we arrived. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider booking here again.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Apr 2021

  • "It was a relaxing stay in tranquil beautiful setting with everything you needed in the lodge for comfort and enjoyment."

    Will definitely be coming back and we extended the stay by 6 days.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Dec 2019

  • "Not really, just that everything was as described Thank you"

    Reviewed by Rhys4.7Oct 2019

  • "Just quick little break."

    . peaceful..and relaxing.. Just what was needed.. Thank You..

    Reviewed by Naheem5.0Aug 2019

  • "Lodge was beautiful set in nice location enjoyed the area"

    Reviewed by George5.0Aug 2019

  • "Beautiful surroundings very tranquil and full of wildlife with lovely walks"

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Apr 2019

  • "The website not up to date."

    It implied there was a direct path to the beach, however this wasnt the case. Also mostly clean apart from under the bed wasnt great and plastic covering not comfy. I would like to mention that all staff i came into contact with were fantastic.

    Reviewed by Rachel3.8Apr 2019

Show more Hide all


  • All ground-floor
  • One double bedroom
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen area, dining area and sitting area
  • Dining room
  • External utility
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer
  • 2 x TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen inc. in rent
  • Parking for 1 vehicle only
  • Private patio with furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub within 0.5 miles
  • 5 minute drive to the nearest supermarket
  • Note: Due to the peacocks and wildlife, please ensure dogs are kept on a lead and children are supervised
  • Please note a second dog can potentially be agreed if confirmed with Sykes and the Owner first
  • Please call the office before booking if you require a second dog
  • Please note , Rushpool Hall is a private residence and not open to the public
  • Please Note - The owner only accepts a minimum of a 3 night stay
  • Electric vehicles must not be charged up via the Lodge sockets, there is a charging station located less than 1/2 mile away
  • Please note: As of 14-09-2022 we will no longer be able to accept a Sunday check in day, any booking that is booked after this date that checks in on a Sunday will be subject to cancellation
  • Please note: This property does not allow for any booking to be made 72 hours prior to arrival, any booking that is booked after this date that checks in on a Sunday will be subject to cancellation.

The property

A delightful lodge surrounded by manicured woodland and tranquil grounds.

The contemporary interior is bright and airy and comes with a stylish shower room, a double bedroom and an open-plan living room.

Perfect for couples, it provides an excellent base for touring the North York Moors, cycling and beach combing.

Wake up to the chance of peacocks at your door and enjoy a morning coffee whilst listening to the bird song.

Note: this property can be booked with Ref. 13015, 24296,24297, 946463, 1000352, 1000354, together sleeping up to 18 people.

Rushpool Holiday Lodges

These attractive lodges are situated on a small complex, in the magnificent grounds of Rushpool Estate, in the picturesque valley of Saltburn-by-the-Sea. Set in an elevated position to take in the breath-taking views, the lodges offer first class accommodation for those wanting a tranquil environment, but with easy access to the many attractions in the area. Each lodge has been stylishly furnished and decorated, providing a luxurious feel, with contemporary kitchens and bathrooms. The open-plan living areas are contemporary and warming and each lodge has a private patio, where you can sit, relax and enjoy the wildlife. Guests have access to fifty acres of parkland and ancient woodland, where peacocks roam free and many varieties of birds can be spotted. There are independent shops, tea rooms and restaurants in this delightful, unspoilt coastal resort, where time seems to have stood still! Further down the coast lie the pretty villages of Staithes and Runswick Bay, where the fishermen’s cottages tumble down towards the sea, whilst the popular bustling town of Whitby lies a little further and is well worth visiting, with its famous Abbey and renowned fish and chips. With the spectacular North York Moors to explore and the beautiful and dramatic coastline to discover, you will want to return again and again.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Redcar 5 miles; Guisborough 5 miles; Staithes 9 miles; Whitby 19 miles.

The Victorian seaside resort of Saltburn-by-the-Sea is well named owing to the sweeping sandy beaches and spectacular coastline of glacial boulder clays. Located at the northern tip of the North York Moors, this small town has an elegant charm about it with a dramatic steep curving roadway which leads from the town centre to the beach. With its long pier and unique cliff lift, this pretty seaside resort appeals to people of all ages wishing to combine the coast with the moors. The refurbished town centre has excellent amenities with a variety of independent shops, tea rooms and restaurants. Enjoy the wide vistas from the elevated promenade or visit the Valley Gardens for a relaxing stroll.

27/09/2022 - Owner CANNOT accept bookings within 3 days of departure until further notice.

Please Note - The owner only accepts a minimum of a 3 night stay.

Please note - a second dog can potentially be agreed if confirmed with Sykes and the Owner first. Please call the office before booking if you require a second dog.

Dogs MUST be on a lead in the lodge park / woods at all times to protect the other animals and wildlife

Please note - Rushpool Hall is a private residence and not open to the public.

Electric vehicles must not be charged up via the Lodge sockets, there is a charging station located less than 1/2 mile away.

Customers must inquire before bringing cats.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas