Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 2 minutes ago

12 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 42 View Image Gallery
  • Columbus Retreat - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1118965 - photo 1

Columbus Retreat

(Ref. 1118965)

Scarborough, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 16 Guests

  • 8 Bedrooms

  • 8 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • es (8)
  • clean (5)
  • stay (4)
  • table (4)
  • hot (4)
  • all (4)

8 Customer Reviews

  • "Overall the layout and facilities were very good."

    Plenty of room for everyone and we had a great weekend. The boys loved the pool table. Due to weather we didn’t make much use of outside space but looked clean and tidy. The only thing we had a slight issue with was that there were some ‘essentials’ that were missing - bin liners, dishwasher tablets, laundry stuff, hand soap, tea towel and very very little washing up liquid. We were not informed ahead of time these were not provided which would have been nice to know. Again overall we all had a lovely weekend.

    Hi Mrs Patton, I am glad you and the family had a lovely weekend. I’m also delighted the boys enjoyed the pool take. That's always a crowd-pleaser. I am sorry for the slight issue of miscommunication. We will look at how we communicate through Sykes. Thank you Felix Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jo3.8Sep 2023

  • "Nice big house beds very comfortable and well equipt."

    If anything it was missing a couple more outdoor seats as the table seats 8 and only other seating was indoor. The garden area was in need of a tidy from weeds and the bush was overgrown. Flower bed seemed to be placed a bit random and broke up the yard space, but no biggie. We alerted caretaker to a couple of thing which were fixed quickly. We were disappointed that the hot tub was not up to temperature (38°) from the clean until saturday afternoon. The power cuts out at 8pm so it does not reach required heat overnight. Big toaster in cupboard didnt work although a 2 slice was provided and then the boiler cut out one night. But as I say these were dealt with quickly.

    Reviewed by Hazel4.7Sep 2023

  • "Great place to stay, just missing basic things I."

    E tea towels, oven gloves, bin liners,soap ,spare toilet paper and no welcome pack.

    Dear Michelle, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay at our property. We are pleased to hear that you found the property to be a great place to stay and enjoyed your overall experience, and we appreciate your kind words. As you were aware, we had pulled all stops to get the property ready for you in a very short window after the state the previous guests left the property, but despite all our efforts, you were missing some basic items, and we're genuinely sorry. We wish you'd have brought it up during any of the number of conversations during your stay, and we would have gladly resolved it on the same day. Thank you again for your feedback. We value your input and are committed to providing our guests with the best possible experience. Many thanks Management Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle3.8Aug 2023

  • "Excellent location - amazing Turkish restaurant at top of the street Property clean but tired"

    Reviewed by Mandy2.8Jul 2023

  • "This property was ideal for our purpose."

    We had a family get together of grandparents, sons and daughters, in-laws and grandchildren. Not all stayed all the time due to work commitments. The rooms were lovely, well prepared and all en-suite which made a big difference. The kitchen was well equiped and served us well. The hot tub, pool table and table tennis was well used by all. Another bonus was the off road parking for five cars especially as we coincided with several open air theatre concerts making the on road parking difficult. The highlight was the dining room. A lovely room beautifully laid out with seating for sixteen people. Our Sunday night dinner with all the family was very special as some had come from Scotland and London. Having somewhere like this to stay in made our trip to Scarborough so memorable even though we got soaked in a thunderstorm! The service support team were extremely helpful with a very minor issue, quickly dealt with and were readily available if you needed them.

    Dear Brian, Having you and the family stay with us was an absolute pleasure. We're happy to hear that you found the kitchen well-stocked and made full use of the facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again. Many thanks, Management Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Jun 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay, 11 adults and four children."

    A few niggles, the beds were too soft. There were no outside bins for rubbish, the hot water was dangerous as it came through at a scalding temperature needs to be adjusted the mixer taps were lethal.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.7May 2023

  • "Beautifully decorated and furnished house, spotlessly clean, in a very convenient position in Scarborough."

    We even managed to squeeze 5 cars on the forecourt which was a bonus. But it was let down by the inadequate kitchen provision. Ovens and hob were great, but there were no serving dishes, only one large sharp knife, and the cutlery and crockery were barely enough for our party of 12 let alone the potential compliment of 16. The coffee maker was a single cup espresso machine, so we ended up buying a cafetiere as it took so long to make coffees in the morning one at a time. There were also absolutely no house instructions that we could find - information on recycling, rubbish collection, how to leave things at the end of our stay and local amenities were all absent.

    Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your feedback. We are delighted that you appreciated the beautifully decorated and furnished house, its cleanliness, and the convenient location in Scarborough. We also understand the importance of parking and are glad we could accommodate your five cars on the forecourt. We sincerely apologise for the inadequate kitchen provisions you experienced during your stay. Your comments regarding the lack of serving dishes, limited cutlery and crockery have been noted. We strive to provide a comfortable and well-equipped kitchen for our guests, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations. We have taken immediate steps and have replenished the stock in the kitchen. Furthermore, we apologise for the absence of house instructions. The cleaning team had taken it away to update it and forgot to return it. You will now find a more comprehensive handbook which provides valuable local guidance and enhance the overall guest experience. Once again, we appreciate your feedback, as it helps us identify areas for improvement. We hope to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an exceptional stay that exceeds all your expectations. Please do not hesitate to reach out if we can assist you with anything else. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane4.4Apr 2023

  • "Overall this place looks amazing even with the bathrooms that need updating (except the one with the black mould in the shower and the down stairs with no lock on and all the cobwebs and loose seat."

    ) the cleanliness was really bad as there was dust everywhere thick dust under all furniture as well and used tissues and chocolates. Under the bed a pack of tablets and a used plaster in another shower, we also saw a cig butt behind a bedside table. There had a been a banner left up from previous guests, all the bins were over full the fridge had meat blood in the bottom. The tv in snug/ games room and bedroom didn’t work no information about what damage they was already aware of and code to get WiFi. But the most disappointing part was the hot tub as it gets turned off at 8pm every night so the filter isn’t working and the scum and colour of the water was manky it had a pond life odour to it! Lots of rubbish and debris in the shed with the washing machine. We did ring the number from an email and Chris came out right away and seemed to know about a lot of the damage he understood the point we made about how unclean it was and even told us he knew where the chocolates was from and took them. He added chemicals to the hot tub and sed check it after 3 as we could try and use it then. He also got a cleaner to come and clean which she did do the wrong upstairs shower and moved the cobwebs from the downstairs one and then left within 10 minutes. The next day the hot tub was disgusting again and we tried to ring again and got a txt saying to txt him which I did and he came out and sed that maybe the children had weed in the hot tub which no I’m sorry the youngest was 9 and made each of them shower before getting in. The biggest plus to this place was the beds and bedding they are the comfiest we’ve even stayed in. Over all I honestly think we left it cleaner when leaving than when we arrived.

    Reviewed by Karrie2.8Feb 2023

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Eight bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC, 1 x double with basin, TV and en-suite walk-in shower and WC, 2 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x second-floor double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x second-floor triple with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x second-floor twin with en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC, 1 x second-floor single with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room
  • Snug
  • External shed
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric double ovens, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
  • 3 x TVs, WiFi, a selection of books and games, pool table
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available
  • Off-road parking for 5 cars with additional roadside parking available
  • Enclosed rear garden with patio and external shed containing a hot tub
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 mile, pub 0.2 miles, beach 0.4 miles
  • Note: No Hen/Stag Do's or similar
  • Quiet time between 9:30pm - 8am
  • Note: Hot-tub can only be used between 8am - 8pm.

The property

Perched on the coast in Scarborough, North Yorkshire is this large, semi-detached house of 102 Columbus Ravine.

Enjoying three-storey accommodation, 102 Columbus Ravine sleeps up to 16 people and is situated within proximity of a range of fantastic, seaside attractions dotted along The Cleveland Way.

Upon arrival, you'll be pleased to discover five off-road parking spaces, along with additional on-street parking nearby.

After parking up, make your way inside to be welcomed by a sumptuously decorated sitting room, where you can grab a seat on the velvet sofas and unwind with a glass of wine in front of the TV.

A snug can also be found towards the rear of the property, where a corner sofa entices you to unwind in front of another TV.

When it comes to cooking, you’ll find everything you need thanks to the spacious kitchen offering a range of contemporary units with integrated appliances, including a large fridge/freezer and a dishwasher.

Once a tasty dinner has been rustled up, bring it through to the fabulous dining room, where two tables seat 16 people overall; once you've settled down to dinner, why not open a bottle of fizz and raise a toast to this amazing getaway?

As the day winds to a close, venture upstairs to the first floor to find four of the eight beautifully decorated bedrooms, such as a double with an en-suite bathroom, a king-size offering a basin, TV, and an en-suite shower room.

Progress upstairs to the second floor, where the latter four bedrooms await, including a double, single and a triple, all offering en-suite shower rooms, and a twin enjoying an en-suite bathroom.

Behind the property rests an enclosed yard, where a shed boasting a luxurious hot tub can be found; ideal for when you want to soak up after a day at the beach!

Embark on a short walk towards Scarborough's coast, where a range of superb attractions can be found, including the amazing SEA LIFE aquarium, Alpamare UK and Scarborough North Bay Railway; perfect for keeping kids of all ages entertained!

Spend some time unwinding on the beaches, before embarking on a hike along The Cleveland Way to the historic Scarborough Castle and ending the day with a tasty meal at the Scarborough Flyer.

For more coastal fun, head to Whitby, where the iconic 199 Steps and Whitby Abbey await, as well as the picturesque sands of Whitby Beach.

Filey, Bridlington and Ravenscar all rest within easy reach, offering even more seaside fun.

Treat the whole family to a brilliant stay at 102 Columbus Ravine.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £1000.

View on map

About the location


Pickering 17 miles; Whitby 20 miles; York 40 miles.

Popular since Victorian times, the vibrant seaside town of Scarborough retains many of its original fine buildings, parks and gardens, as well as its historic castle which overlooks the town. North Bay and South Bay provide two superb stretches of beautiful, golden sandy beaches, popular with families and small children. There are a number of child friendly activities and many excellent visitor attractions for grown-ups too, including the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Scarborough Open Air Theatre for live music. Scarborough is a great location for outdoor activities, with golf courses, lovely coastal walks along the Cleveland Way, stunning cycle routes such as the old railway to Whitby, beautiful sailing and championship quality surfing. Add to this all the usual seaside entertainment and bustling promenades located close to the beach and Scarborough is the destination with something for everyone. Ideally situated for touring the coastline and the moors, Scarborough is an ideal base for a fun-filled break.

View more holiday cottages in Scarborough

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas