Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • 1 Burns Yard - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1058803 - photo 1

1 Burns Yard

(Ref. 1058803)

Whitby, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (17)
  • lovely (16)
  • whitby (13)
  • clean (13)
  • our (13)
  • well (12)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "This was our third stay at 1 Burns Yard."

    It is conveniently located for all the attractions in Whitby and very well equipped, clean and comfortable.

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Apr 2024

  • "Lovely little cottage ideal location loved it I shall be returning thanks for a great stay"

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Mar 2024

  • "Excellent location and had a great holiday here."

    We will definitely stay again. We'll equipped cottage (bottle of fresh milk in the fridge was a lovely touch, as we're the tray of teas & coffees). Only personal preference here (as it wasn't a big enough deal to make a phone call lol). There's no heating at the entrance door, which made it colder and a smell of damp (especially because we kept our shoes/boots here). I purchased a £3 air plug-in which made it smell great.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Feb 2024

  • "The cottage was a great base for my break ."

    Quite comfortable and had everything for my holiday . There were visual damp patches on the stairwell though the cottage was very warm . There was also a stale sour smell in the entrance stairwell Overall though I would recommend . Lovely little place.

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend. The property is very central and an ideal base to explore Whitby. Our winter Maintenance is about to start. The stairwell will be re decorated over the next few weeks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane3.8Nov 2023

  • "The positives…."

    . situated brilliantly for everything around Whitby. The carpets around the property felt plush. Everything you could need in a kitchen. Heating system easy to use. Communication with owner excellent. The negatives… Seats in lounge were uncomfortable and one of them wasn’t the cleanest. One of the sockets in the living room not working. The bathroom wasn’t cleaned fully. The toilet had fluff behind it and a wooden toilet seat is unsanitary. The shower head was dirty so we didn’t use that. We had to clean the bath and tiles before use because it wasn’t cleaned properly. The radiator in the bathroom didn’t work. The toilet roll holder broke on first use and fell off the wall. The mattress was uncomfortable and the bed frame needs tightening as just breathing makes it move. If you’re allergic to birds, definitely avoid this place. The pigeons love to use the alleyway as a toilet and we slipped on the poo a few times. The cutlery etc was all tinged with a taste of bleach so had to wash before use.

    Thank you for your feedback, im saddened to find out you didn't enjoy your stay. Im disappointed you didn't contact either myself or Sykes at the beginning of your stay and give us the chance to sort things out, unfortunately for somethings we are unaware of issues until a guest calls it out and they can be resolved quickly and easily. We are limited to the sofas we have, the have to be small and lighter weight to get them up the stair. We tested the plug and it does work. We don't usually have issues with cleanliness but I have spoken to the cleaner. The offending fluff has been removed, as has the limescale on the shower head (you could have used the shower). The toilet roll holder could not be fixed in time for your arrival, it's fixed now. We have limited time on change over days. Whether a wooden toilet seat is insanitary is a matter of opinion, we have changed it in response to your feedback. The heating system was serviced in summer. The radiators have not been used up until now and the one in the bathroom had air in and just needed bleeding. The bed frame has been tightened, the mattress is new and good quality. Pigeons and seagulls are a constant in Whitby, it's a shared yard, they do not roost on the property. We regularly clean the yard. I feel that you have been very harsh with your score and a little communication could have seen all issues resolved. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa1.9Oct 2023

  • "This was our second stay at 1 Burns Yard."

    The location is brilliant and the cottage is clean, comfortable and very well equipped. We have already booked to stay again in spring 2024

    Hi, thank you for your feedback and for booking again for next year Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Sep 2023

  • "From booking the communication with the owner was excellent regarding parking our motorbike, on arrival the house was immaculate with every attention to detail."

    The location was perfect and soooo quiet at night. I slept really well in the comfortable bed, the lounge was an afternoon suntrap which after early morning walks was lovely rest watching numerous DVDs left by the owner, then heading out for another stroll around the local streets. I had some amazing meals in the White Horse and Griffin and the Marine Inn...amazing seafood. I've been going to Whitby since being a child and this was by far one of my best experiences.

    Apologies for the delay in responding to your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay at burns yard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kerrie5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely cottage, very clean, left milk, teabags and coffee sachets for our arrival{thankyou}."

    the only reason i dropped it down a star is because of the workmen next door banging all day, not actually there fault though. Would not recommend if anyone as any disabilities though, it as three flight of stairs so would not be viable. Ideal location in the middle of the town, handy for everywhere. make sure you check you are parked in the right place, it is a w scratch card, my husband parked on a w disc location so got fined £25, we googled it and said you can park at St Hilda's but there is a terrace and a street, we parked there as the ones near the hotel was all full, our mistake though. I would recommend staying there though as it is lovely, we really only slept there and drank tea and coffee and had breakfast there, but well worth the money we paid.

    Thank you for providing feedback it’s appreciated. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the noise next door, we have spoken to the owner who explained he had been fitting a new bathroom, something we have no control over. Many thanks Judith Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paula5.0Jul 2023

  • "A lovely apartment right in the centre of town."

    The landing window even looks out across at the Abbey ! Judith gave us very clear instructions on parking and how to find the address which was very helpful. Well stocked kitchen with everything you'd need, tea towels, cutlery, washing up liquid etc. We enjoyed a lovely week exploring the Cleveland way using the cheap local buses, visited the Abbey and of course enjoyed Whitby fish and chips ! Thanks

    Thank you for the great feedback, so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Whitby and the Cleveland way, thank you for the lovely note too Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0May 2023

  • "Excellent position to explore Whitby and surrounding area."

    Parking arrangements good when figured out. Apartment was well kept. Really enjoyed visit---- going to find a place with less stairs now

    Hi, really pleased you enjoyed your visit, thankyou for taking the time to post the feedback. For anyone reading this review, this is a property with three flights of stairs (as per the description on the website). Parking scratch cards are provided for W zones around Whitby which is on a 1st come 1st served basis and the owner is always available should guests have any queries when arriving at the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter4.4May 2023

  • "The cottage was in a fantastic location, close to all amenities!"

    Really tucked away, quiet and with easy loading access; a real plus in Whitby! Really enjoyed our stay and will be back! Have already recommended the cottage to friends! Only thing that would make this an even better stay would be a more comfy settee or seating! Thank you, Hazel Litle

    Thank you for your feedback, it’s appreciated. I take on board your feedback about the sofas, unfortunately due to the layout of the property it was difficult to find a sofa that would fit and wasn’t too heavy. Hope we do see you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Isabelle4.7Apr 2023

  • "Absolutely loved staying at 1 burns yard."

    Stayed for a week from 14th April and didn't want to leave. I'm a regular visitor to Whitby and found the property and location perfect for what we needed. Judith the owner was very helpful and informative and she even left a pint of milk in the fridge for our arrival which was a lovely touch! The towels and bedding where spotless and everything was lovely and clean. The view of the abbey from the landing window was amazing

    Thank you for your great feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Apr 2023

  • "Our stay from the 7th April 2023 to the 14th April 2023 was exactly as expected!"

    The accommodation was clean and tidy upon arrival, the welcome gifts of tea and coffee was lovely, and the parking permits readily available was handy. The location of the accommodation was central to everything in Whitby, the beach was a matter of 5 minutes away and the main centre was less than 30 seconds from our door. If I was to include one negative in this stay, that would be the lack of freezer but other than that it was a lovely place to stay and I would recommend anyone to stay here.

    Reviewed by Lewis4.7Apr 2023

  • "The property is exactly as described, and is very clean and well looked after, and a helpful owner."

    Very good location for all Whitby has to offer. The only negative factor was that the next door house was being renovated, which meant there was banging and other noise most of the day. Not a problem whilst the weather was good as we were out all day, but when the weather closed in it was bot relaxing during the day so we cut our break short, leaving on Wednesday afternoon rather than Friday morning.

    Thank you for your feedback, your positive comments about the property are very much appreciated. I’m sorry about the noise next door. I was not aware the work was being carried out, however, we all have work that needs to be done from time to time and the nature of the buildings in Whitby means everyone is close to everyone else. I would urge all guests to contact us while at the property so we can do our best to resolve any issues rather than letting us know after they have left. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alistair5.0Mar 2023

  • "The only thing wrong."

    Was the paint on walls rubbed off on clothing.The place had the best kitchen cutlery,pots and pans etc that ive come across in all the places ive stopped.Good location.Near walking distance to market shops and beaches.Thank you for a nice stay.Liam and Janice.

    Reviewed by Liam5.0Mar 2023

  • "Enjoyed a lovely stay in 1 Burns Yard which gave us everything we needed; from the central location (but quiet and relaxing) to being fully equipped."

    The parking permits and refreshments tray were a lovely extra touch. Loved it so much we've already booked again for next year.

    Denise, thank you for your great feedback it is really aprpreciated so pleased you have booked for next year Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise4.7Sep 2022

  • "Well equipped, clean, comfortable and a great location."

    Owner informative and helpful. We have had a lovely week thank you.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jul 2022

  • "The holiday cottage was everything we could have hoped for!"

    ! Very tidy, spacious, and well kept, lovely central location with a view of the abbey from the top window. The cottage was a 1 min walk from lovely coffee shops, pubs, shops, and the harbour front where there is loads to do, but the property itself was very quiet. Can’t recommend this property enough!!

    Jessica, Thank you for taking the time to give such great feedback it’s very much appreciated. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay in Whitby, hope you visit again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0Jul 2022

  • "Hi Judith, we had a wonderful break at burns yard close to all amenities & the weather was great, and to be opposite my favourite shop ,the Whitby Deli just a joy ."

    The cottage definitely comfortable & had everything we needed although on 3 floors it may not be for everyone , we would be happy to return to burns yard. Many thanks. Vicki Conaghan.

    Reviewed by Vicki5.0Apr 2022

  • "Product was exactly as described and had everything we needed for our stay."

    There were two of us and our small dog and we found the location and facilities of the property to be perfect. The view of The Abbey from the landing window is an incredible extra!

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, it’s really appreciated thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Apr 2022

  • "It was in a great location, near all the best pubs and shops, the property was beautifully clean and we were left with teas and coffees etc."

    which is always a nice extra, it was also nicely decorated throughout, some real thought gone into it. However my main issue was the bed, it was incredibly uncomfortable and made a creak at the slightest of movements, the comfort of the living room wasn't great either, the sofas were very small so wasn't particularly a place you wanted to spend much time. Overall though for the price it was a good little getaway for a few days!

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, good to hear you liked the location and found the property was clean and thoughtfully decorated. With regard to the bed, we can certainly look to stop it creaking, however, the mattress is new and it’s difficult to meet everyone’s preference for a hard or soft mattress. I’m sorry you found the living room uncomfortable. The sofas are small due to the narrow, steep stairs but there are two, two seater sofas, one for each guest. Im glad that overall you enjoyed your break. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rowan3.8Feb 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely and clean but the stairs really took it out on us I'm all aches and pains since arriving home"

    Thank you for providing feedback, I’m sorry to hear you have aches and pains however, the property details do say the accommodation is over 3 floors and could be unsuitable for those less mobile. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joan3.8Dec 2021

  • "Place is so comfortable, no issues at all."

    Also been mentioned about the stairs. Only that. We enjoyed everyday. I would recommended. Whitby is place to go see the coast and the history. I think few days not enough , you need more than a week. When you go to old Abbey, the view was beautiful. I lost the count of the steps they say 199 but when you go if you are fit not more than 4 minutes. Whitby even this time of year was busy. But we will go back again.

    Reviewed by Esra4.7Nov 2021

  • "The place is superb, right in the middle of everything, it also had everything we needed for the two weeks we was there, the only critique I would give top the owners as this is quite important for longer stays, the seating in the living room is not comfortable one bit (sorry) a nice comfy sofa would do a huge trick, we ended up sitting on the floor haha."

    .. lastly you have a fridge but no freezer, this was really tricky when staying there for the length we did. Just a small something to house those things that you want to have for more than a few days would be really helpful. But again, those are minor things for long stays just to give it that full homely feeling, other than that absolutely loved it.

    Hi, thank you for your feedback, it’s appreciated, we will certainly look to include a freezer box when the fridge needs replacing. We struggled to find a sofa which would fit up the two flights of narrow stairs and opted for one from IKEA. I’m sorry to hear you found it uncomfortable Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gary4.4Sep 2021

  • "The towels and bedding were lovely and fresh and clean smelling all week the apartment was spotless."

    A small freezer would have been useful. The only criticism would have been the walkway and entrance could have been cleaner maybe the alleyway whitewashed and the walk way jet washed .

    Reviewed by Carol4.7Jul 2021

  • "We recently visited 1 Burns Yard and had a wonderful stay."

    The property was exceptionally clean and met our high standards of cleanliness. The property is well equipped and has everything that you will need. The linen and towels were lovely too and there were mattress and pillow protectors used; the mattress was new. We took our little dog, who felt very settled and at home. If you struggle with stairs then this would not be the property for you, as there are forty stairs from the hallway up to the third floor. 1 Burns Yard is situated in a central location and literally a few minutes walk from the harbour. There are also some good pubs, a stylish wine bar and restaurants on the doorstep. Judith, our host was very friendly and professional. The only negative we had was that the lead up to the property needed sweeping and jet washing, the wheelie bins were over flowing with garbage which was off-putting. However, this is a shared pathway to four or five properties on Burns Yard and so all residents/property owners have a role to play in keeping the pathway maintained. To this end, we will definitely book this property again without hesitation and would recommend it to our family and friends.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Jul 2021

  • "We have stayed in Whitby previously in the town centre so know the area quite well."

    The accomodation was just off Flowergate via a passageway into a very quiet area. If you dont like stairs then this property is not for you. However, this was not an issue for us and did not detract from our stay. Very comfortable, well equiped, very central and very quiet. Overall a very pleasant 3 days and very good value for money.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2021

  • "I think for the price of the cottage there should have been some toiletries and breakfast supplied."

    Reviewed by Glenn4.7Jul 2021

  • "In my opinion, Whitby's/Scarborough Couucil can put in more effort to clean the town (Whitby)."

    It left me with a feeling of "run down" compared to Robin Hood's bay and Scarborough.

    Reviewed by Niel4.7Jun 2021

  • "My partner and I had such a wonderful break at this beautiful cottage this week."

    It was lovely and cosy, perfect location, and our dog felt at home too! Judith the host was amazing with us too. We’ve already recommended this place to our friends and family!

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Jun 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, very well placed in centre of town."

    Would definitely recommend it.

    Reviewed by Clive5.0Jun 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Across three floors
  • One third-floor double bedroom
  • Third floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • First-floor kitchen/diner
  • Second-floor sitting room
  • Gas heating
  • Gas hob, electric oven, microwave, fridge, washing machine, TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking scratch card provided for duration of stay, valid in W zones around Whitby.Parking in W zones is on a first come first served basis One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles
  • Beach 0.4 miles
  • Note: Limited head height in places, please take caution
  • Note: Due to style of cottage, stairs can be steep, may not be suitable for the less mobile

The property

Tucked away down one of Whitby’s narrow alleyways in the centre of Whitby town, you will find 1 Burns Yard.

Set across three floors, this apartment offers up a wonderful base from which a couple can enjoy Whitby and tour the breath-taking North Yorkshire coast and countryside.

Climb the staircase up to the first floor and be welcomed by a well-equipped kitchen hosting all the essential appliances needed to cook up a storm.

Joining this space is a large dining table, providing the perfect spot for enjoying local produce and indulging in a bottle of your favourite wine.

Retire for the evening to the cosy second-floor sitting room, snuggling up on the sofa as you flick on the flat-screen TV and unwind with an enthralling movie.

When you begin to feel yourself tire, whisk yourself off to the third floor and discover a warm and restful double bedroom, served by a light and airy bathroom hosting both a spacious tub and shower.

When ready to explore the historical town of Whitby, be sure to stroll the vast sugary sands of Whitby Beach enjoying views of the North Sea, before taking the 199 steps up to the Church of St Mary and Gothic remains of Whitby Abbey, said to be the inspiration of Bram Stokers 18th-century novel Dracula.

Wine and dine in some of the finest local restaurants dotted in and around the town, or spend your evening on an eerie tour with the Dracula Experience.

Spot the iconic Whalebone Arch as you tuck in to a mouth-watering Portion of fish and chips, or head to the village of Robin Hood's Bay to see the National Trust owned Old Coastguard Station and Robin Hood's Bay Museum.

Further afield, the resort town of Scarborough boasts many great attractions including Scarborough Castle and Terror Tower, as well as Scarborough North Bay Railway and SEA LIFE aquarium.

Make the most of precious time with your loved one on a holiday at 1 Burns Yard

View on map

About the location


Robin Hood's Bay 5.5 miles; Scarborough 19.3 miles; Pickering 23 miles; Guisborough 21.5 miles.

The seaside town and port of Whitby lies at the mouth of the River Esk in the Scarborough district of North Yorkshire. Ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire, the local area hosts an array of activities so you can be sure to get the best out of both the countryside and the coast. From the nearby North York Moors to its Blue Flag beaches, there's something here for everyone. Amongst its many attractions, Whitby holds a charming atmosphere, home to winding streets and hidden alleys, where you can find a wide selection of eateries and shops scattered amongst them. Take a trip to the picturesque harbour and lighthouse to watch the sun set or get involved in some whale watching or a coastal cruise to watch the creatures up close. Climb the famous 199 steps to the Whitby Abbey to immerse yourself with history, or visit the Captain Cook Memorial Museum presenting historical and ethnographic exhibition about Cook himself. Close to the Robin Hood's Bay, rich in heritage, wonders and scenic spots, and in easy reach of the bustling towns of Scarborough and Middlesbrough, Whitby is a prime location for exploring all of the delights that Yorkshire has to offer.

View more holiday cottages in Whitby