Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 12 minutes ago

13 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 11 View Image Gallery
  • 12 St Hilda's - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1015801 - photo 1
close

12 St Hilda's

(Ref. 1015801)

Whitby, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 13 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (30)
  • family (21)
  • property (20)
  • location (18)
  • beautiful (18)
  • all (16)

56 Customer Reviews

  • "This was the most amazing house we have stayed in and was a fantastic location for a 50th birthday celebration with 3 generations."

    The pool table was very popular, comfy beds and a great pizza shop down the road. Loved the cafe at the bottom of the road and saw a band in one of the local pubs.

    We are delighted that you had such a great experience at St Hilda's. We work very hard to provide a special and memorable experience and it is fabulous when it is appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Jan 2024

  • "Hello, Firstly, I would like to start by saying how much overall my family and I did enjoy our stay at St Hilda’s."

    It is a lovely property, a fantastic size for all the family to enjoy, clean and in an excellent location. We were celebrating one of my father’s big birthdays and it was a wonderful few days away. Unfortunately the problem with the boiler was a let down. The heating was not reliable at at times the house was so very cold, given we stayed in December. The heating didn’t come on at all the first evening/night we were there, nor the next morning which was uncomfortable given we had 5 children in the house who are up early. The boiler issues impacted the hot water severely also. On a morning, we only had enough hot water for two showers which as you can appreciate for a house of this size isn’t adequate. Additionally, on the evening, we only had enough water to draw one bath mending all 5 children had to bathe in one sitting. This was less than ideal in a house of such luxury. The maintenance team came quickly and showed us how to top up the boiler to get pressure and therefore water and heating. However this was half way through out 3 night/4 days and it remained a problem that we had no timed facilities, particularly with the number of children. St Hilda’s is a beautiful home and is a luxury property, absolutely. Unfortunately our stay wasn’t luxury due to the boiler which was disappointing. Regarding the publication of this review, this is more for the owners to receive however I wasn’t sure how else to do this so have completed this form.

    We are pleased you had a wonderful few days away and how much overall you enjoyed your stay at St Hilda's and that you found it a lovely property, a fantastic size for all the family to enjoy, clean and in an excellent location. We are sorry to hear that you had a problem with the boiler but also glad to hear how the maintenance team came quickly and ensured you had hot water and heating. We have the boiler serviced on a regular basis and have had it fully repaired since your visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah3.4Dec 2023

  • "Fabulous holiday home."

    Celebrated special birthday here with all my family, it was an amazing weekend. 12 St Hilda’s exceeded all my expectations and I will certainly recommend this property.

    Thank you for your feedback we are delighted you had an amazing weekend and found our holiday home fabulous. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Dec 2023

  • "This property is stunning."

    Perfect layout, excellent location. The kids and adults loved the games room! We all enjoyed our stay at St Hilda’s. Just one thing to mention - the drainage pipe from the top floor bathroom needs repairing. It was like Niagara Falls whenever the plug was pulled from the bath. My partner got soaked walking in to the back door. It floods the outside area. Could be dangerous if it gets icy.

    We are delighted that you found the property stunning and enjoyed the layout and location, in particular the games room. We are sorry to hear about the drainage pipe from the top floor bathroom needing to be repaired and thank you for letting us know we will arrange for it to be fixed as soon as possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicole4.7Dec 2023

  • "Amazing stay."

    We have stayed before and will But nothing that took away from overall experience!! Perfect for large family gatherings and hosting

    Reviewed by Anthony4.7Aug 2023

  • "This beautiful house did not disappoint."

    Stayed with 10 other ladies celebrating big birthdays. Very spacious and absolutely everything you need in the cupboards. Gorgeous welcome hamper was an extra lovely touch. Location was amazing too. Would highly recommend and can’t wait to return. Thank you to the owners for sharing your beautiful property.

    Reviewed by Nicola4.7May 2023

  • "The house surpassed the photos on website and a great base."

    We just had a issue with the top oven that would spark when using as microwave. Turned out the metal shelf that was in the oven shouldn't have been so was making it spark. The maintenance team were very quick in responding and help sort.

    We are delighted that you found the house a great base. Sorry you had a problem with the combi-oven and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We had only replaced it the week before your visit and will arrange instructions advising to remove the metal shelf before using on the microwave setting. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0May 2023

  • "The property is wonderful and in a perfect location."

    It is large enough to cope with a family of different generations. The parking for 4 cars, the pool and football tables, are a real bonus. The kitchen is so well stocked, there is everything you could possibly need. We had a wonderful holiday, thankyou.

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Apr 2023

  • "Beautiful property."

    Perfect for all the family.

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Apr 2023

  • "What a beautiful house."

    We all really enjoyed our stay from youngest to oldest. We sometimes had a problem with the door locks. We think some of the keys are getting abit worn. Might be worth getting some new ones cut. Only a minor problem and didn't detract from our stay at all. Think we'll be back.

    We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and many thanks for letting us know you had problems with the keys, we have replaced the front door key and hopefully this will resolve the issue Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol4.7Mar 2023

  • "Great week away for Christmas with friends."

    The house is plenty big enough for us not to get under each other, Games room a fun added bonus. Well equity house. Pleasant stay.

    Reviewed by Kelly4.1Dec 2022

  • "What a huge roomy house."

    Fabulous week spent at 12 St Hildas. Only improvement I would suggest is an extra bathroom on the middle floor and a loo in the basement. The recent decoration and refurbishment has really given the house back its shine. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Vivien5.0Dec 2022

  • "We had a fabulous time at at St Hilda's thank you so much."

    It easily swallowed us as a family and had space for the future as the children grow. The view of the abbey was a bonus from some of the upstairs windows and we loved the proximity to pannet park.

    Reviewed by Rosa5.0Dec 2022

  • "Absolutely beautiful house, a pleasure to stay there and what a lovely way to spend a special birthday for one of our group."

    We had a little problem with the water which was attended to very quickly. Thank you. Christine

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Dec 2022

  • "This was my 3rd visit to St Hildas, and everything was perfect."

    I was a little concerned having read a couple of other reviews, but I trusted in my previous experiences and wasn't disappointed. The property managers were lovely to communicate with, the house was immaculately clean throughout, and so warm and cosy. The pool table in the basement was new, the playroom on ground floor had had a fab makeover, and all the guests commented on how comfortable the beds were. The kitchen is so well equipped, and there was a lovely welcome pack on the table when we arrived. Will be back again.

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Nov 2022

  • "Key collection process was confusing as owner didn’t respond to my call ref getting the keys."

    I had to ultimately get from the local office who had a spare set. It was also unclear where to leave them so I just posted back through the office door. Not sure what would have happened if I hadn’t thought to try the office! The house is beautiful but it was very dusty and the kitchen sink needed a good scrub. That aside we had an amazing time and we would stay again.

    Reviewed by Amanda3.4Nov 2022

  • "This was an important extended family holiday for us with lots of us coming together, and it was important that the house worked well for all generations."

    We loved 12 St Hilda’s - such a beautiful home offering so much space and comfortable, beautifully decorated bedrooms. The house is extremely well equipped and we were able to relax and enjoy each other’s company for the week. It’s also in a great location for exploring Whitby. When we arrived, the heating wasn’t working but YCC sorted that immediately, dispatching a plumber to repair the problem. Thanks also to YCC for their recommendation of a Chef for a very special evening meal - Ben prepared and served the most delicious meal for 13. Such a treat!

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0Nov 2022

  • "Lovely holiday home ideal for a group of 11, with 2 children."

    Slight problem with pool table in downstairs family room, no bounce in any of the four cushions and numerous tears/rips. Slight spoiler for the competitive amongst us

    We were sorry to hear that the state of the pool table spoilt your visit. The planned repair, recovering and replacement of cushions was attempted on the 19th August but as the table had been glued re-conditioning could not be undertaken. We are in the process of replacing it with a re-conditioned table. Again apologies that this impacted on your visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann4.4Aug 2022

  • "In other properties we have rented they have organised the recycling for the property rather than relying on the council system in that area so that at the end of the stay the property manager has taken away the rubbish for the new letting."

    Our recycling was full upon our arrival and we had to take our recycling up to the recycling centre which to our amazement was closed. We had to leave our bottles etc in a box which we didn’t think was very good. As recycling is only collected every other week I think this is an area that needs addressing in this house. 13 people create a lot of recycling!

    Reviewed by Victoria5.0Aug 2022

  • "Beautiful very big house in a fantastic location."

    Only downside is the size and age of the property makes it cold when the temperature drops and the heating was not set to come on a night but in the middle of the day only - so after a very cold night we had to ask to overide the settings; would have been good if the settings were left to manage the cold nights not to avoid the heating ever coming on!

    Reviewed by Laurence3.8May 2022

  • "Beautiful house, and perfectly set up for big parties to stay for a short or long break."

    Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Apr 2022

  • "Second visit to this lovely spacious property which is ideal for family gatherings."

    On this occasion we had a couple of little problems-initially on arrival the heating and hot water were not functioning-this however was rectified very quickly by Pip the hosts rep; the cleanliness of the ovens need to be reviewed as black smoke omitted when initially trying to bake piazzas. We were informed by the letting company that work was being currently carried out in the property in different rooms and this would account for the large amounts of dust in certain areas. Overall this is a magnificent spacious property in an ideal location in the beautiful town of Whitby. We were blessed with fine sunny weather and used the excellent front garden facilities. The parking for 4 vehicles and games room are a definite bonus for this property. Although there were a couple of little problems this would not prevent us coming back.

    We are sorry that you did not find the property as clean as our usual high standards. Following a couple of busy summers and linked to restrictions from Covid we have undertaken both maintenance and decorating work in a number of the bathrooms, the main stairway and front TV room this winter. The black smoke on the oven related to degreaser residue which should have been fully cleaned prior to your visit. We are glad you found the property spacious, and particularly enjoyed the parking and games room and that these little problems have not put you off coming back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.1Mar 2022

  • "A beautiful property in a lovely setting."

    Unfortunately for us too short a time to enjoy it more. A lovely weekend however.Thank you. We would love to try to get there again at some point in the future.

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Feb 2022

  • "St Hilda's house was absolutely fabulous."

    All rooms spacious very well appointed. We had a lovely family gathering. We would definitely recommend to others...

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Dec 2021

  • "This is our second stay at this lovely property and we thoroughly enjoyed it, however we would like to offer some constructive feedback to improve the experience even more."

    I don't think the cleaning regime matches up to the premium rental fee and that along with light bulbs not working and a torn cloth on the pool table just detracts slightly from the experience. The kitchen is well equipped but to say the accommodation is for 12, some items such as wine glasses / flutes etc are inadequate. The other thing that would help guests in winter would be some clear and obvious instruction as to how the heating and hot water works. The only other observation is that the bedding and mattresses in the childrens room are the same as our previous stay 6 years ago are in urgent need of replacing.

    We are glad you found the property lovely and enjoyed your most recent visit. We appreciate all feedback and act upon it. We are disappointed to hear that the cleanliness was not up to our usual high standard and we will follow this up with the housekeeper as well as to why a number of bulbs has not been replaced. Post Covid we have had a very busy season and are aware that the one day turnaround does not allow all issues, such as the torn cloth on the pool table to be dealt with but we do have a few maintenance weeks planned. We had re-stocked wine glasses in October during our last visit but guests do not always inform us and/or replace such items after breakages so can only apologise for shortages. We will arrange for clear instructions in relation to the heating and hot water. We have replaced like for like bedding in the bunk room but will review for wear and tear as it is not all 6 years old. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen3.8Nov 2021

  • "This has to be the best place to stay in Whitby - a beautiful Georgian house, lots of room, great facilities."

    I'd be happy to return.

    Reviewed by Dean5.0Oct 2021

  • "This lovely house is very spacious, well equipped and is really comfortable."

    There is plenty of room for 8 adults, and the basement room was well used. It is convenient for the town, and the parking spaces were very useful. We really enjoyed our week.

    Reviewed by Shelagh5.0Oct 2021

  • "A most wonderful house."

    The perfect base for exploring the area. We hope to be back

    Reviewed by Luke5.0Sep 2021

  • "Although this is an impressive property in a good Location we feel for the price we paid it lacked the wow factor."

    We feel it is looking a little tired . There has obviously been a plumbing problem in the ensuite bathroom which is evident from the large water damage in the family room ceiling. There is also a very unpleasant smell from the drain in that room.Also don't think the hot water cylinder is man enough for amount of people bathing,as several times people had cold showers.

    We are sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your recent visit to 12 St Hildas Terrace and as always we are grateful for feedback both good and bad. Thank you for spending your time in raising these issues I can confirm that ourselves, cleaners, housekeeper and agents are working hard during these difficult times to allow our property to be shared with guests, so that they do not face the disappointment of having their holiday cancelled. As the demand for the property has been unusually high during the Covid period we have not been able to perform some maintenance work that we would normally do between bookings, particularly as some jobs cannot get completed in the daily turnaround between guests on a Saturday. This specifically relates to repairing the water damage in the back sitting room. We felt, rightly or wrongly it was better not to close the property to undertake such maintenance work, leading to us cancelling often long awaited holidays. Whilst not ideal the issue does not prevent the property being made available. We are sorry you felt that the property was looking tired as we arrange for a decorator to undertake work each year on a rotational basis as the whole property cannot be painted annually. The back sitting room was decorated in April this year prior to the main season starting. Unfortunately a leak from the shower room in the master bedroom subsequently damaged the ceiling. As the repair will involve re-plastering, papering and painting it is scheduled after the busy period, we do not feel it is unsightly enough for us to cancel bookings which we know would lead to disappointment. We do not restrict either the length of time guests use the central heating and/or hot water, but in a large property of this size hot water has to be heated and stored so we appreciate that it cannot cope with all guests showering at the same time but if the hot water is left on the tank refill time is reasonable and sufficient if there is a little spacing of showers. We are sorry that you did not raise any of the issues with the agents during your visit as they possibly could have helped by arranging a drain cleaning company to help resolve the unpleasant smell and arranged for the hot water to have been left on for more continuous periods. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Judith3.8Aug 2021

  • "Great location ."

    ... fabulous garden and brill to have parking on site We will def be back

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Jun 2021

  • "We had a wonderful time."

    The house has everything you could possibly need and was fantastically comfortable. The location was perfect. Just what we needed in these very strange coronavirus times.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Oct 2020

  • "The house was fabulous, until a storm blew up and then there were copious drafts and we could not get the house warm enough."

    We had a skylight leak which the local team fixed promptly, despite the foul weather. We expect drafts in an old house.... The TV in the back sitting room was antique and not fit for purpose; it needs to be changed immediately. We loved the games room, however the stairs down to the games room are tricky and not suitable for older people and toddlers, hence the need to fix the upstairs TV. We loved the location and the bright and sunny aspect to the front of the house. It would have been a perfect house for our extended family, but thanks to the current stupid Covid rules, we had to split the family over the week, despite the fact that we'd all met each other countless times recently. We know that's not your doing, but our frustration must evident.

    Thank you for your review and we are pleased to note that despite the current restraints, restrictions and an errant storm you have managed to enjoy this beautiful property. We note your comments regarding the television in the sitting room to the rear of the property and confirm that this has now been replaced. Thank you for your feedback in this respect. We do hope we can welcome you back at a more relaxed and less restricted time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Thomas4.4Sep 2020

  • "Lovely place but don’t feel ‘deep clean’ is happening."

    Flys behind curtains on the carpet, lots of black hairs in kids room, showers could all do with a deep clean they’ve become mouldy and need a good scrub with something to get the mildew off. Quite a few things broken, light in bathroom upstairs, tv in master bedroom doesn’t pick up any channels. There was a bad drain smell in the master bedroom I think from the shower. The bannister downstairs is very wobbly too. I also think the playroom could do with updating and modernising. With a toddler and a crawling baby we spent a lot of time in this room and it’s very drab. The tv is so old we couldn’t put our fire stick in it as it didn’t have hdmi sockets and the picture was dreadful!! The basement is great but it’s hard to get young kids down such steep stairs, so perhaps give the playroom a lick of paint, update the sofas, get rid of the empty bookshelves and put a decent TV in there it would be a beautiful room that a family could use while tea is being cooked. On the positive side the beds are all fantastically comfy, the showers are big and the water is good pressure and heat. The kids room is huge and such a good space. We really did enjoy our stay just needs a few things fixing for us to come back again. And I did try to ring about some of the issues but was on hold to the Sykes call centre do gave up as it was taking too much time!

    Thank you for your review and we are pleased to note you have enjoyed your stay by the coast. We also appreciate your positive comments about the property. We are sorry that in this instance cleanliness was not up to the usual high standards. We have found this year that following Covid 19 guests are spending longer in the property and leaving it in a worse state than normal and taking into account PPE and additional cleaning tasks it has been very challenging to meet our usual standard in all areas. The house is a period property and so some items such as the bannister and decoration of the play room are in keeping. Usually the empty book shelves and playroom are full of toys, DVDs, board games and Wii games. Again because of Covid 19 all such items have had to be removed. We will consider upgrading the TV. However, it is also often used as a room of sanctuary for adults away from children who generally use the downstairs games room. Once again thank you for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire2.8Sep 2020

  • "Lovely large house perfectly situated for a walk into Whitby."

    Plenty of parking for four large cars. All of the rooms were beautiful with high quality furnishings and bedding. The kitchen was a bit of a squash for thirteen of us. We received a lovely welcome pack full of Yorkshire goodies. A very nice place to stay and would definitely stay again or recommend.

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Jan 2020

  • "We have booked through Yorkshire costal cottages many times over the last 15 years."

    We know the office staff well and it was extremely frustrating having to deal with the new telephone system which means you can’t talk directly to the Whitby staff.

    We are sorry you found it difficult to access the Whitby office staff and have passed the feedback onto the office. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Dec 2019

  • "The house was amazing and huge."

    We enjoyed the location of the house being 5 mins from Whitby town centre.

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Nov 2019

  • "Absolutely amazing property!"

    There was so much space and the downstairs games room was just fantastic. The owners have put so many lovely extra touches in, like the children’s toys, wetsuits and the dogs beds. We’ve already booked for next year and can’t wait to go back. The only issue, and it’s not really an issue as the owners have no way of knowing when it’s let out so I’m sure they’ll appreciate the feedback is that some of the mattresses could do with replacing, in particular the master bedroom. Would highly recommend this place and really can’t wait to return ☺️

    Reviewed by Alison4.4Jul 2019

  • "Beautiful property, loved it!"

    This was our family alternative Christmas. Fantastic despite the weather. We would love to come back.

    Hodgkinson PartyMay 2019

  • "Would definitely come back."

    Great house and lovely location. We experienced some issues with a lock which had failed but Yorkshire Coastal Cottages provided quick assistance so nothing to complain about. All perfect!

    Brown PartyMar 2019

  • "Lovely property, everything we needed."

    Barton PartyMar 2019

  • "This has been an ideal base for our celebratory family weekend in Whitby."

    The location is great and the property is perfect for both adults and children. Spacious accommodation, beds comfortable and games room a real bonus.

    Milne PartyFeb 2019

  • "Amazing house - space, location, equipment, cleanliness."

    We would love to come back, thank you. All excellent and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

    Graham PartyJan 2019

  • "One of the best holiday properties we've stayed in - truly superb!"

    The Telford FamilyNov -0001

  • "Overall our experience was excellent."

    We were very kindly allowed to check in earlier which made it less stressful for us as our wedding day was the next day. The house is gorgeous and very well equipped, all our guests loved it - especially the children! We have never been in a house so well equipped before! We definitely want to stay in this house again.

    The Stevensons FamilyNov -0001

  • "This must be one of the best properties in Whitby, already booked again for next year."

    The perfect house in the perfect location! Thank you for excellent customer service and a beautiful welcome hamper.

    The Shield FamilyNov -0001

  • "Well worth it's 5 Star Gold status, the ultimate luxury property in Whitby!"

    The Smithson And Cromer-Hart PartyNov -0001

  • "A superb holiday property, ideal for our family get together and the 50th party for the twins Alex and Andrew."

    Excellent accommodation with lovely quality beds and the downstairs cinema room was wonderful.

    The Tranter FamilyNov -0001

  • "A fabulous family house, three generations of our have stayed in this unique house."

    The Eccles And Timmer PartyNov -0001

  • "Many thanks."

    All the family had a perfect 3 day break at 12 St Hilda's - a superb venue for a family gathering - with the good weather being a bonus. I am on your e mailing list so will definetly be using you again - very impressed with the service and quality of accommodation.

    M DixonNov -0001

  • "We have had a fabulous time celebrating a 60th birthday and enjoying this wonderful home."

    From small children to grown-ups, there has been something for everyone! Including great memories.

    The Morrows And Rounds PartyNov -0001

  • "Had the best family weekend, celebrating my brother's 40th birthday."

    Perfect house, we would love to live here!! We will be back!

    The Easton, Richardson, Whiting And Wakeman PartyNov -0001

  • "Had a great family holiday, stunning house and superb location."

    The kids loved playing hide and seek in the house with all the wonderful toys here! We will return.

    The Jackson And Spencer FamilyNov -0001

  • "Enjoyed celebrating Granddad's 70th birthday in a beautiful and comfortable surrounding."

    The house and it's furnishings/decor are just beautiful.

    The Mills FamilyNov -0001

  • "Such a beautiful home full of nooks and crannies for everyone."

    It felt like we'd walked into someones home - just perfect for a family gathering of far flung family members! Thank you so much.

    Daniel FrostNov -0001

  • "Stunning property, ideally located, the basement games room was perfect for our teenagers in the group."

    We will certainly book again.

    The Robinson PartyNov -0001

  • "A 5 Star gem, it was awesome - will definitely book again."

    The Hannock FamilyNov -0001

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Yorkshire Coastal Cottages collection.
Over 120 carefully selected properties in Yorkshire

Summary

  • Over four floors. Five bedrooms: 1 x first floor king-size double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x first floor super king-size double, 1 x first floor family bedroom with 2 bunks and 1 x single, 2 x second floor doubles. First floor shower room, second floor bathroom with bath, wet room area with shower, basin & WC. Ground floor cloakroom, first floor cloakroom. Kitchen with dining area. Utility room. Two ground floor sitting rooms, both with open fire. Lower ground floor TV, plus games area.
  • Gas central heating, with open fires in ground floor sitting rooms. Double fan oven with hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, additional fridge/freezer (in utility), dishwasher, coffee machine, washer/dryer (in utility), 1 x TV, DVD, Nintendo Wii (in sitting room)
  • 59” TV, DVD, sound system (ground floor), WiFi. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. Cot and highchair available on request. Off road parking for 4 cars (rear of property), plus roadside parking to the front of property. To the front is a laid lawn with a flagstone path. Rear is an enclosed flagstone courtyard. 2 pets welcome at a charge of £30 per pet per stay. Local amenities 5 mins’ walk.

The property

Opulent, Grade II listed Georgian residence on the prestigious St Hilda’s Terrace, opposite pretty Pannett Park – a 5 minute stroll from Whitby’s fine heritage. This elegant property, set over three floors and suitable for up to 13 guests, is the perfect choice for families and friends seeking a truly special place to get away together in spacious and refined surroundings.

Tastefully decorated throughout, and with many original features, 12 St Hilda’s has a charm all of its own, with the added bonus of an impressively spacious TV and games’ room, it is sure to impress. As soon as you open the door, you will feel instantly wowed by the large reception hall and curved staircase.

From here, discover an immaculate drawing room with open fire and bay fronted windows that flood the space with natural light, overlooking the property’s garden.

A second, comfortable reception room, cosy with open fire, is available for you to enjoy – with a range of books, toys and games to help younger guests feel instantly at home.

Mealtimes are a delight in the stylish kitchen with dining area; luxurious touches include granite worktops and a Nespresso coffee machine.

An excellent space to cook or share a lazy breakfast.

Or, for a special occasion, kick back, relax and let us organise a chef to come and prepare a wonderful, celebratory repast.

On the lower ground floor an impressive TV room beckons with a 60″ LED Smart TV, Smart 3D Blu-ray DVD player, 120 watt soundbar system with Bluetooth and Subwoofer together with a games room that includes a pool table and a football table – perfect for entertaining teenagers or the young at heart! Moving upstairs, to the first floor, a gorgeous master bedroom awaits, including a Super King size bed, original fireplace and a stylish en-suite shower room with a shower, WC and hand wash basin.

There is a second double bedroom with a Super King size bed as well as a characterful family bedroom with two sets of bunk beds and a single bed.

This floor also has a shower room plus a separate WC with hand wash basin.

The second floor accommodation does not disappoint.

Here you will find two tranquil double bedrooms, each with a view over elegant Pannett Park, towards the North Yorks Moors.

Escape for a while and unwind in the sumptuous roll top bath; drink in spectacular views across to the harbour and Whitby’s iconic Abbey.

A wet room area, WC and hand wash basin complete the fabulous main bathroom. An enclosed walled garden with a lawn and borders to the front with a terrace, including table and chairs for al fresco dining, make a favourable first impression.

You will also be pleased to find a good size courtyard to the rear, amiably decorated with potted plants and a bench. Private parking for four cars is provided for your convenience. The property is perfectly situated for discovering all Whitby has to offer, with its abundance of independent shops, fine dining and seafood restaurants.

The sandy beaches, cobbled Old Town and spectacular Abbey are sure to delight.

Challenge yourselves to conquer the famous 199 steps leading up to St Mary’s Church and you will be richly rewarded with stunning views of the picturesque harbour.

If you’re feeling light-hearted enjoy some old-fashioned fun on the penny slot machines! Slightly further afield awaits the breathtakingly beautiful North York Moors, as well as many miles of exquisite Yorkshire coastline to explore. 12 St Hilda’s is a true gem of a property, the perfect place for making happy memories together.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £500.

View on map

About the location

WHITBY

Robin Hood's Bay 5.5 miles; Scarborough 19.3 miles; Pickering 23 miles; Guisborough 21.5 miles.

The seaside town and port of Whitby lies at the mouth of the River Esk in the Scarborough district of North Yorkshire. Ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire, the local area hosts an array of activities so you can be sure to get the best out of both the countryside and the coast. From the nearby North York Moors to its Blue Flag beaches, there's something here for everyone. Amongst its many attractions, Whitby holds a charming atmosphere, home to winding streets and hidden alleys, where you can find a wide selection of eateries and shops scattered amongst them. Take a trip to the picturesque harbour and lighthouse to watch the sun set or get involved in some whale watching or a coastal cruise to watch the creatures up close. Climb the famous 199 steps to the Whitby Abbey to immerse yourself with history, or visit the Captain Cook Memorial Museum presenting historical and ethnographic exhibition about Cook himself. Close to the Robin Hood's Bay, rich in heritage, wonders and scenic spots, and in easy reach of the bustling towns of Scarborough and Middlesbrough, Whitby is a prime location for exploring all of the delights that Yorkshire has to offer.

View more holiday cottages in Whitby

Note : Wifi is available at this property
Note: Pets are welcome at a charge of £30 per pet per stay
Note: Back entrance accessed by 5 steps, front entrance accessed by 15 steps.
Note : Please be aware that a starter pack of logs/kindling is only supplied between October and March.
NOTE: From 1st September 2024 the bed configuration will change from bunk beds to two single zip-link beds. The property will only sleep 12.
Note: Kitchen table will extend to seat 12.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas