Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Crab Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1090655 - photo 1
close

Crab Cottage

(Ref. 1090655)

Sandsend, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (28)
  • location (15)
  • lovely (13)
  • beautiful (12)
  • stay (11)
  • great (11)

36 Customer Reviews

  • "This is the second time of staying at Crab Cottage."

    It is a gorgeous, comfortable, cosy & well equipped cottage. It is in such a peaceful location. Slept very well in the comfortable beds. Could I possibly suggest a bread bin which would come in very handy. I look forward very much to returning again

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Mar 2024

  • "Loveky, we couldn’t find a pen to complete the book, but a lovely time had by all and such a beautiful house and in such a beautiful setting."

    The heating and hot water broke down but was quickly fixed in a few hours.

    Hi Kieron, thank you for your kind feedback. We are thrilled you had a lovely time. I am sorry to hear you had issues with the heating and hot water, but also glad to hear these issues were quickly resolved! We hope we can welcome you back in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kieron5.0Feb 2024

  • "What a great stay."

    The cottage is perfect location and very relaxing! We cooked every night and only thing we couldn’t find was a measuring jug - everything else was perfect. Washing machine was a god send as it was wet! Jacuzzi bath was amazing. Bathrooms are beautiful. Can’t fault the cottage at all. Location was amazing. Kids loved playing out in. The garden and the beck at the front watching tides come in and out. Walked from our door step every day for hikes. Perfect!

    Thank you for your feedback Rachel, it is greatly appreciated. We will be sure to provide a measuring jug, and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Feb 2024

  • "General furniture a bit uncomfortable Shower in the en-suite leaked making floor ..."

    General furniture a bit uncomfortable Shower in the en-suite leaked making floor very wet Shower in main bathroom also leaked glass door seals In very poor condition There was a water leak in main bedroom when it rained heavily somewhere near sky light Windows impossible to open and where very drafty Both front door and back foot very drafty Lighting out the back very poor making steps very dangerous

    Reviewed by Adrian2.8Dec 2023

  • "Lovely cottage here stayed twice perfect location and lovely and warm and cosy ..."

    Lovely cottage here stayed twice perfect location and lovely and warm and cosy The only thing was we decided to cook one night and there was not one single knife capable of cutting through even a fillet of beef or a crusty loaf and for a luxury cottage that was disappointing But it was still a great stay

    Reviewed by Diane4.1Nov 2023

  • "The cottage is really great, we loved it and we will be back."

    The cottage has a real quality too it, we were very pleased with all aspects of the stay,

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Nov 2023

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Crab Cottage."

    When we arrived and opened the door the cottage felt so cosy and welcoming. The hamper was a nice touch with premium products. We had everything we needed for our stay - it was very well equipped. The property was clean and the decor very tasteful. The car parking spaces near the property are brilliant too as parking in some of the cottages in Sandsend is non existent. We will definitely return as it was good value for money. Thanks for a lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by Angela4.7Nov 2023

  • "What a beautiful home."

    So tastefully appointed, lovely and warm and a thoughtful, locally-sourced welcome hamper. Looking forward to a repeat visit!

    Reviewed by Sophie4.7Oct 2023

  • "We have stayed in sandsend many times wonder location, beautiful cottage thankyou"

    Reviewed by Alveen4.4Oct 2023

  • "Information book out of date."

    Steps up to the house not mentioned. Difficult if one was infirm. Decor of house slightly shabby. No spare bin bags or battery in the torch which was required when taking the dog out at night.

    Reviewed by Jude2.5Sep 2023

  • "The cottage needs a handrail outside together with a gate."

    The steps are very high. This could be done whilst the cottage was occupied. The lighting very dark, especially in the dining room. The settee and chairs very uncomfortable. The windows do not open. The outside space at the front needs flagging , and 2 new benches

    Reviewed by Marjorie2.2Sep 2023

  • "Exterior furniture, front and back, very poor standard."

    Just needs replacing regularly. Overgrown plants and weeds. Weather was super, but couldn’t enjoy either outside space. Summer house looked dirty, weeds growing up the doors and view blocked by overgrown plants. Front and back doors of the cottage are worn out. Showers have mould issues. I think Crab Cottage may be the victim of its own success. Owners must be careful, it’s maintenance is running away with itself.

    Reviewed by Michael2.5May 2023

  • "Yet again another perfect stay in this beautiful cottage."

    Location is perfect multiple seafront café/restaurant. Pub and lovely chippy. Would defiantly recommend

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0May 2023

  • "Biggest disappointment on arriving at the cottage was the general standard of maintenance of garden areas and summer house."

    Due to overgrown vegetation there was no view when sitting in the summer house and it felt quite dirty. I would say that some of the cottage was tired, with the beam in the sitting room water stained. The back door was particularly hard to open with only one in our party able to open it. Even though heating wasn't required the radiator in the main bathroom was red hot making the bathroom unbearable. The height of the skylights here made them only accessible using a chair. We had to hoover the carpet in the ensuite bedroom on arrival as it had some sort of ash on carpet area just adjacent to ensuite.The wardrobe? space in the double bedrooms was very limited due to height restrictions. The skylights in bedrooms had no blinds making it particularly bright very, very early in the mornings. There were no salt and pepper dishes available and two of the four crab mugs were chipped.

    We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Crab Cottage as much as you would have liked. We have gardeners attend regularly, but we have now arranged for more garden maintenance to be done following your comments. The summer house is cleaned at the start of the season and guests are requested to leave it as it is found. We will monitor this. The back door lock will be changed to make it easier to use. We will address the issue with the bathroom radiator with our plumber. We have made the owner aware of your comments, and they are planning on carrying out a week of maintenance work to rectify any wear and tear issues. We have also contacted you privately. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret2.2May 2023

  • "We enjoyed the cottage very much."

    A comfortable cottage all round with super beds. Loved the aga too. Uncomfy sofas and chairs in sitting room! Fabulous position for getting to the beach which has great facilities. Good parking with cottage. The main bathroom has a bad shower leak under shower door. Wasted towels trying to mop up and the floors could do with a good clean downstairs. Just a little concerned about how easy it would be in case of fire to leave the property via windows. They are locked And the key is inaccessible for a quick get out. Otherwise a super stay and we wish it was ours. We are in love with Sandsend.

    Reviewed by Patricia3.8Apr 2023

  • "The location of Crab cottage was perfect; walking distance into Whitby along the beach or the bus took 8 minutes and the beach was minutes away."

    The cafes and The Hart pub all did lovely food. There were some lovely walks from the cottage. The furnishings in the cottage were good quality as well. The hamper which was there when we arrived was a lovely touch, especially as the village shop has closed and the nearest local store is in Lythe which is up a very steep hill. However, the maintenance of the cottage needs to be improved. The Aga was not hot enough to cook meals and the cooker in the utility didn’t work. If we had wanted to cook a meal we would have been at a loss other than using the microwave. There were no blinds in the dorma windows in the bedrooms . Many of the windows and doors were difficult to open , the garden was not suitable for young children or the elderly as it was very steep and slippy. The summer house was a nice touch but the fridge and the kettle etc were filthy and it needed a good clean. We love Sandsend and would recommend the location , we had a lovely holiday inspite of the few niggles with general maintenance of the cottage. However, given the cost of the cottage better upkeep is required.

    Reviewed by Sarah2.5Mar 2023

  • "Excellent cottage."

    Clean and spotless. Comfortable and warm.

    Reviewed by Christina5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had a great time in a lovely cottage."

    Cottage was well equipped with everything we needed and it has some really nice finishing touches. All the beds are really comfy so a relaxing break was had by all. It’s a superb location in gorgeous surroundings. A few minor points to consider, that didn’t spoil our stay;- A blind was broken in rear bedroom and one of the whirlpool jets in the bathroom kept falling out. There is no blue recycling bin so we had to bring lots of waste home in the car with us Yorkshire coastal cottages called and left a message on Saturday morning at 10.30am to ask to send a plumber to the property at 11am for a ‘maintenance check’. I would expect routine maintenance to be scheduled between bookings and us not to be disrupted trying to find a phone signal in the middle of a short stay, so the request was politely declined. Many thanks

    Reviewed by James3.8Feb 2023

  • "Beautiful warm cottage with comfortable beds."

    Clean and well equipped in an excellent location. I will definitely be returning ☺️

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Dec 2022

  • "Fabulous cottage, it was perfect for our family pre Christmas holiday."

    The cottage is very well appointed, has all the amenities you require, lots of car parking space for 3 cars, a beautiful garden and it was very warm through an extremely cold week in Sandsend. Customer service was great and we want to rebook for next year too. 5*'s.

    Reviewed by James5.0Dec 2022

  • "This was a very comfortable cottage."

    We were worried it would be a bit chilly in there as it’s old but it was beautifully warm in every single room. It is in a beautiful position very clean everything you could wish for it was really lovely and we were very very pleased with it.

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Nov 2022

  • "Crab Cottage is a lovely, comfortable warm cottage perfectly located for exploring the coast around Whitby."

    Booking with Sykes was hassle free and we had great communication from them in the run up to our holiday.

    Reviewed by Cheryl4.7Oct 2022

  • "Fantastic property and location no problems will be booking again."

    Congratulations to the owners one of the best we have stopped in over the last 30 years.

    Reviewed by Marc5.0Aug 2022

  • "This is a beautiful cottage with a quirky seaside decor."

    Very comfortable with a traditional feel but all mod cons. We loved it! The location is superb. Surrounded by other lovely little cottages in a pretty valley, just a minute’s walk to the beach. The parking spaces were a huge benefit. We hadn’t been to Sandsend before but we will definitely be back, hopefully to Crab Cottage if it’s not fully booked. Wonderful holiday!

    Reviewed by Cora5.0Jul 2022

  • "Crab Cottage is a fantastic place to stay, packed with touches of luxury, particularly the bathrooms and the Summerhouse."

    The location could not be better and we have very much enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Mark3.8Jun 2022

  • "Absolutely beautiful cottage, very well placed with stunning views."

    Nice touch with the hamper on arrival. Very well equipped. We loved it so much we have booked again

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0May 2022

  • "Crab Cottage was a beautiful place to stay."

    Very homely and an excellent location too. Would love to go back. Nice welcome hamper too thank you.

    Reviewed by Penny5.0May 2022

  • "The cottage is fabulous."

    The facilities are great and the garden and summerhouse overlooking the beach was lovely. We loved the kitchen, using the aga, cooking whilst enjoying company of the family using the dining table to play board games until meals were served. The whirlpool bath was a big hit with some of us at the end of energetic days hiking the many footpaths from the house. There was so much to do and a good local shop,cafe and restaurant. We were surprised how good the bus service is too. Everyone wants to come back.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Apr 2022

  • "The cottage was clean and welcoming with a very good parking space which was absolutely necessary given the amount of other cars over the busy Easter period."

    There was a wonderful welcome pack. The boiler did stop working but was rectified very quickly by the engineer. Both the bench area at the front and the sea views from the garden at the back were great for relaxing. The cottage was well equipped and we really enjoyed our stay in this idyllic location.

    Reviewed by Vivienne4.4Apr 2022

  • "The rooms were wonderful but could do with blinds over the skylights as the rooms were very bright as soon as daylight came."

    Minor problems

    Reviewed by Janice5.0Mar 2022

  • "Really lovely cottage in Sandsend."

    Very comfortable and beautifully decorated. We did have a problem with the hot water and heating stopping working which was promptly fixed within a day.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Mar 2022

  • "Did say a see view from the summer house but the trees we’re overgrown,otherwise everything was lovely"

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Feb 2022

  • "Its the 3rd time we've stayed at that particular cottage and we couldn't be happier with everything."

    Excellent in every regard, in a great location. We hope to do it again very soon.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Jan 2022

  • "A truly wonderful cottage in a great location."

    The only complaint is that it is so well insulated and with underfloor heating we daren’t try out the log burner - we would have literally roasted! We also had to turn off the AGA and open the windows even with outside temperatures of only 7.5 degrees. We had great weather so managed long walks on the beach with the dog and with a welcome coffee in the Sandside Cafe to finish. All in all a very relaxing week thank you

    Reviewed by David5.0Jan 2022

  • "We enjoyed the most fabulous family holiday, in a perfect setting, for good walking, access to shops, pubs etc The house comfortably worked for 6 adults, although the twin bedroom was more suited to children."

    Reviewed by Anne4.7Jan 2022

  • "We have just returned from an amazing 3 night stay at Crab Cottage."

    The Cottage is absolutely gorgeous. We were delighted to be welcomed by Christmas decorations and a beautiful welcome pack. The house was absolutely spotless. The decor is so tasteful and well thought out. We have 3 young children and a dog. There was plenty of space and the cottage felt so homely and cosy. The garden is breathtaking. So quaint with amazing views. The allocated parking area is perfect and easily enough space for 2 cats if needed. One minute walk from the gorgeous beach at Sandsend. We cannot rate this stunning cottage highly enough and we would certainly love to return. It’s a little haven on the gorgeous Yorkshire coast. Thank you for letting us enjoy this special place.

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Dec 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Yorkshire Coastal Cottages collection.
Over 120 carefully selected properties in Yorkshire

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x double and 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Utility
  • Snug with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating, underfloor heating throughout the ground floor and woodburning stove
  • Gas AGA, electric hob, 2 x microwave, fridge, washing machine and dishwasher
  • Smart TV, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking available for 3 cars in a designated space to the left on the lane as you turn in off the main road
  • Front gravelled area and large rear garden with patio and lawned area
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 0.4 miles
  • Note: Phone signal may be intermittent
  • Note: Check-in at 16.00, check-out by 10.00

The property

Sitting amidst the beauty of the North York Moors National Park and benefitting from captivating coastal views, Crab Cottage makes a wondrous base for a getaway to this desirable destination of the Yorkshire Coast, the village of Sandsend.

Be charmed by the stone-fronted exterior, with small a front patio to bask in the sun on the bench as you soak in the quaint setting locally known as The Valley.

Step inside to discover the delightful décor, with a splash of sea blue to reflect your coastal setting, and brimming with character with its beamed ceilings and hardwood floors.

Locate the open-plan living space, where you can unwind on an armchair and enjoy meals together at the stylish dining table in the heart of the room.

Rustle up heart-warming dishes in the capacious kitchen area, boasting an AGA cooker and supplimentry electric induction hob, to cater to your culinary desires.

Escape to the intimate setting of the snug room, gently heated by a toasty woodburning stove; here you can lounge on the sumptuous corner sofa and perch your cup of tea on the quirky coffee table.

A self-catered stay has never been easier with the handy utility room hosting a washing machine to keep your holiday wardrobe fresh and a dishwasher to keep the place neat and tidy!

As the sun begins to set over the sea, retire upstairs to the first floor to rest and rejuvenate in the stunning bathroom, either indulge in a leisurely soak in the tub or enjoy a refreshing rinse in the shower.

When sleep calls, choose between three adorned bedrooms, white-washed with bold feature walls, including a double with en-suite shower room, a double and a lovely twin bedroom, all with matching furniture to house your belongings.

In the morning, enjoy a steaming cup of coffee in the large garden to wake-up with a salty-sea breeze and admire the scenery.

Sandsend is a pet-friendly holiday location with a glorious beach welcoming your canine companion, as well as plenty of amenities for your self-catering stay, including a local shop and eateries.

When you're not embarking on a journey into the natural beauty of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park, take a trip to Whitby where history-lovers can visit the gothic ruins of Whitby Abbey, whilst climbing the 199 Steps provides spectacular panoramic views, or take to the family-friendly sandy beach for picnics and sandcastle building.

Staithes is an unmissable seaside village resting on a hillside dropping down to the quaint narrow streets with picture-perfect coastal views; follow winding cobbled streets dotted with 18th-century cottages, trek paths along the Yorkshire cliff tops and go hunting through rock pools on the small sandy beach.

For a historic, postcard-perfect fishing village, travel to Robin Hood's Bay with narrow alleyways full of character, quaint shops and tasty tearooms, alongside the Bay's museum hosting local history and heritage.

Crab Cottage is the perfect base from which to explore the coast and countryside of Yorkshire with your loved ones.

Link to Crab Cottage Virtual Tour: https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=TTSi4P4smax

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SANDSEND

Whitby 2.5 miles.

Lying on Yorkshire's spectacular Heritage Coastline, Sandsend is the ideal place for a family holiday with its award winning, wide sweeping beaches, rock pools and dramatic cliffs. Indeed this part of the coastline is known locally as the Dinosaur Coast because of the many fossils found here. In the season, beachside stalls offer everything from light snacks and drinks to boats, buckets and spades! Children will enjoy damming the little beck where it crosses the beach to form a freshwater lagoon - great (and safe) for paddling and boating! For the more energetic the village sits on the lovely long distance Cleveland Way Trail, which offers great off-road cycling along the disused coastal railway as well as breathtaking clifftop walks. The National Trust now own the nearby headland, Sandsend Ness, where there is a delightful nature trail in the old quarry pits. A special place offering something for everyone!

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas