Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 0 minutes ago

1 customer booked Chestnut Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • Chestnut Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1068539 - photo 1
close

Chestnut Cottage

(Ref. 1068539)

Filey, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (21)
  • lovely (11)
  • clean (9)
  • comfortable (8)
  • stay (8)
  • all (8)

26 Customer Reviews

  • "It was a lovely cottage in a good location."

    The owner was friendly ad happy to help with anything.

    Reviewed by Teresa3.8Feb 2024

  • "Had a lovely long weekend stay, the cottage was really nice and comfortable in a great location."

    The owners provided a lovely welcome pack with milk and eggs from the farm, property had excellent facilities, modern kitchen and lovely bedrooms and nice comfortable lounge. Will definitely visit again

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Aug 2023

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chestnut Cottage."

    It was clean and comfortable. All the essentials and more were available for use. It is in a great location, a centre point to travel around to local towns and beaches. The cottage is an ideal place to relax & chill and we would highly recommend it.

    Reviewed by Christina5.0Jul 2023

  • "Comfortable cottage in peaceful location."

    Ideally situated for the coast or the Dales. Very clean with everything we needed. The welcome pack was much appreciated and the owner called on us on the first evening to check we were settling in well.

    Reviewed by Stella4.7May 2023

  • "Lovely cosy cottage with countryside views, but close enough to main roads to explore the area."

    Fantastic bathroom love the new shower. Well equipped kitchen has all you need, but a freezer for us would have been really useful. Many thanks to Lucy for the welcome pack, especially the fresh eggs from the "girls" on site! Highly recommended cottage. Dave and Ann, Biscuit our dog.

    Reviewed by David J4.1Apr 2023

  • "The cottage was bright and big enough rooms."

    And the log burner was good. There was dog dirt all over when we arrived so had all that to clean up which was terrible. The beds were cot beds which wastnt described and were useless. There were no towels which we had to ask for . We saw no body at all to welcome us. The cottage was freezing and when heating on didn’t get hot. The radiators didn’t warm up. Bathroom shower was great. Quite noisy from next door. Out of date biscuits and chair in lounge almost falling apart. Wouldn’t stay again sorry.

    Thank you for your feedback. In view of the content, I would have been more than happy to attend to any issues you found. Regrettably, you did not make us aware during your stay so we could not assist you. I can confirm that the beds are 2, small singles as shown on the listing and that we have not had any comments previously about them being cot beds. I do apologise for you not finding any towels when you arrived but I did deliver them in person to you and welcomed you to Chestnut Cottage. I am concerned that you found the cottage to be freezing as I could not not find any problem with the heating and ran it for 2 hours after your departure. Biscuits were not provided at the cottage and I am unable to find a chair that was almost falling apart. I am not aware of any dog dirt on site, but again, if you had made us aware you were unhappy, we would have done everything possible to rectify things for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon2.8Apr 2023

  • "Owners were friendly and very helpful."

    We loved our stay. Cottage is well catered and has good access to all the main places you need, while being far enough away for peace and quiet. It was very clean and comfortable. We would love to return.

    Reviewed by Aydn5.0Mar 2023

  • "The cottage was ideally located for exploring the local area being fairly close to Filey & Scarborough and providing easy access to the Yorkshire Wolds & the North York Moors."

    The facilities were good on the whole although the tap design on the shower made it difficult to get the temperature right but the water pressure was good.

    Thank you for the feedback, we have refurbished the bathroom, including replacing the taps as part of this. Hopefully new guests will enjoy the new facilities! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian3.8Oct 2022

  • "The bathroom was a major issue."

    Regardless how many air fresheners you put in the cottage, the damp musky smell still remains. The shower is a disaster area, black mould was evident and the bath panel was rotted through. Immediate attention is needed. The rest of the cottage was fine, although the bucket outside by the seating that was half full of cigarette butts was absolutely disgusting. I feel as a long term customer, Sykes Holidays are letting standards slip Geoff

    Thank you for the feedback. Had you reported any issues we would have responded straight away. Sorry you were unhappy on this occasion. Whilst we didn't see any evidence of mould or blackness but have taken the broader feedback and fully refurbished the bathroom in January 2023, hopefully guests will enjoy the new facilities! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoff3.8Sep 2022

  • "We had a very pleasant stay at Chestnut Cottage."

    It was well situated in a secluded setting. The cottage was cosy but there was a musty, damp smell in the bathroom which needs attention. The outside area too could do with some TLC as it is a bit unkempt and not that pleasant to sit out and relax.

    Reviewed by Carol4.4Aug 2022

  • "Nice cottage, lots of potential."

    Had the basics required and nice furnishings, but it was a shame that there was no private garden or area for us and our little dog outside. There was very ‘old’ seating placed outside the front door, but it would mean literally sitting in the driveway with the car and being in full view of the property adjacent and walkers by. There were no cleaning materials provided, we had to buy everything ourselves including toilet roll! Lots of dead wasps and an old sock found under the sofa on arrival, so it wasn’t as clean as should have been. Once cleaned properly ourselves and we could finally settle, we had a pleasant, undisturbed stay. Nice and quiet once inside!

    Reviewed by Helen3.4Aug 2022

  • "The property was ideally located, quiet and peaceful."

    The let down was the lack of a garden, the owners need to create the area opposite into a nice place to sit in the day or evening. The area is very overgrown, but with a little effort it would enhance the property.

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Jul 2022

  • "Cottage is spotlessly clean with a modern decor and comfortable furnishings."

    All essential equipment is provided and the cottage is a nice size and in a great location at the end of the village! Suggestions rather than criticism: 1 Shower is very difficult to operate as controls are hard to reach due to the restrictions of the shower splash guard against the sink 2 Outside equipment is extremely basic and no privacy from owners garden or public path which on the photos looks like the cottage drive! 3 Ample parking for at least 6 cars yet you have to park outside the gate! 4 No secure area for children to play…not a problem for us! 5 Small bedroom should have only one bed and a wardrobe as no where to hang clothes in either room!

    Reviewed by Norman4.7Jul 2022

  • "Lovely quaint cottage, facilities spot on, 3DTV was a pleasant surprise."

    As was the eggs, bread and jam as a welcome pack

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2022

  • "Chestnut cottage was such a lovely place to stay and had everything you needed."

    We will definitely look to return again in the near future and would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Liza5.0Jun 2022

  • "The entrance is 40 yards down Church Lane, not 500 yards."

    The door to the main bedroom needs a shoulder charge to open it. The Velux window in the twin bedroom is inaccessible and there is no blind to block the daylight. The bath panel needs attention, water damage? It is very difficult to have a shower, the taps have no grip when wet and no fine adjustment, there is no lock on the door, all a bit dated. The runner in the passage should be non-slip, it's dangerous. There was no home-made jam that the blackboard promised, the kitchen clock wasn't working. The milk, bread and biscuits were appreciated. I would have been disappointed if I'd paid full price.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry not everything was as you expected on this visit. We have replaced the batteries in the kitchen clock and removed the hallway rug. We have checked the main bedroom door for opening ease and will be reviewing the bathroom. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gerard3.4May 2022

  • "Thank you for a nice time."

    Good facilities ,comfortable ,warm,. Set in nice country side. Sheep rabbits barn owl’s from the windows. Handy to seaside resort’s and countryside. Phillip.

    Reviewed by Phillip5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely cosy clean cottage with amazing views."

    . looking forward to our next visit. Definitely recommend

    Reviewed by Aunkar5.0Mar 2022

  • "Single room was a bit cramped with 2 beds in it."

    On the website it showed 1 bed if this had been the case it would have been ample room

    Reviewed by Lin4.1Nov 2021

  • "We had a very peaceful and comfortable stay in Chestnut Cottage."

    All the facilities we needed were available and the owners were very approachable. The beds were very comfy. The only thing the bedrooms lacked was clothes hanging space. It is a great location for exploring the North York Moors area with lovely walks on the doorstep. The internet was unstable but the owners are already looking into this. I would highly recommend this property for a very comfortable stay.

    Reviewed by Michele5.0Nov 2021

  • "Thank you ,Your Cottage is lovely It was warm and very clean and well equipped."

    ,It was very quiet and we slept well.I enjoyed the dark sky and the surrounding wild life.It is in a perfect position for Bournemouth and Filey and there were local walks to exercise the dog.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Oct 2021

  • "A beautiful cosy cottage ideal base for exploring North Yorkshire"

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Aug 2021

  • "A lovely, spacious cottage in the countryside, only a few miles from Scarborough and Filey."

    With all modern facilities and comfortable furnishings. The owners, who live next door, are very friendly too, and provide an evening meal on certain nights if you wish. We tried this and it was professionally presented, and delicious. The cottage was clean and tidy and even included a selection of DVDs and board games to play.

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Aug 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday at Chestnut cottage the host, Lucy was very helpful,friendly and cooked a beautiful meal for us."

    A very good location where we could explore Yorkshire A week is not a enough so much to see and do we will be back !

    Reviewed by David5.0Jul 2021

  • "I am happy with this experience and I will surely return to this lovely cottage."

    Reviewed by Kamal5.0Jun 2021

  • "The photos do not do the property justice!"

    !

    Reviewed by Russell5.0May 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x twin
  • A fold up bed is available upon request
  • Newly Renovated Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available
  • Off-road parking
  • Front area with seating
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.7 miles, pub 0.8 miles

The property

Sherburn 4.2 miles.

Attached to the owner's home and resting in the rural village of Willerby in North Yorkshire, Chestnut Cottage offers homely accommodation for up to four guests.

Near to the likes of Scarborough and Filey, the property is perfect for adventures along the coast and countryside.

The property has been furnished in a contemporary style with a living/dining room boasting soft grey carpets and a plush grey sofa, with a Smart TV to enjoy and dining table in the corner.

Discover a well-equipped kitchen, complete with a dishwasher, with plenty of space for preparing delicious home-cooked meals and a pretty outlook from the windows.

Freshen up in the family bathroom, home to a bath with an overhead shower, before settling down in either of the two delightful bedrooms, with the master bedroom home to a king-size and the second offering two single beds, each with ample storage and lovely décor.

Enjoy a morning coffee with your canine companion by your side out on the front gravelled area where you'll find a table and chairs, perfect for summer mornings.

Not far from the property is the Sally Middlewood Farm Bakery & Tea Room where you can purchase lovely fresh produce for your self-catering needs and essentials like milk, or dine in the café for a hearty breakfast or an afternoon treat, with the village of Sherburn lying a little further along the main road offering a handful more amenities.

Plenty of fun things to do can be found in the area with The Great Ryedale Maze in Sherburn itself, and the North Yorkshire Water Park where you can take on the challenge of the huge inflatable floating obstacle course and a number of other activities, or enjoy a spot of peaceful fishing on Wykeham Lakes Fishery.

Venture over to Filey to enjoy a day on the coast, exploring Filey Brigg and Filey Beach, or visiting Filey Bird Garden and Animal Park, home to tropical birds and meerkats!

Head up to Scarborough for some more seaside fun on either of the town's beaches, visit Scarborough Castle, the Rotunda Museum and SEA LIFE Scarborough, or hire some bikes and hop on the Cinder Track taking you up to Whitby, there's so much to choose from!

The North York Moors National Park is bursting with fantastic walking and cycling areas along with adventurous opportunities like Go Ape Dalby in Dalby Forest.

Enjoy a fantastic break to the North Yorkshire countryside at Chestnut Cottage.

View on map

About the location

FILEY

Scarborough 7.7 miles; Bridlington 10.5 miles.

Set in the magnificent Filey Bay, Filey is a traditional English seaside resort with a friendly atmosphere, offering a restful holiday, making it an ideal place to stay for walkers and wildlife watchers at any time of the year. Filey Brigg is a low headland that protects Filey Bay and provides good bird watching and seawatching opportunities all year round. The 400 ft high Bempton Cliffs (RSPB Reserve) to the south of Filey Bay are home to over 250,000 seabirds in the summer. The town itself seems almost caught in a time warp, retaining much of its character with individual shops, narrow paths and ginnels and there is a slipway where local fishermen keep their boats, plus delightful beach chalets that can be hired through the summer months. The bay is edged with two promenades and there are various gardens, where brass bands play on a Sunday afternoon. This small town is family orientated and there are loads of family activities such as Alpamare UK waterpark, Filey Bird Garden and Animal Park and the Filey Dams Nature Reserve, a wetland reserve where all kinds of common and rare birdlife can be seen. A short drive brings you to the busier town of Scarborough where you will find great beaches, a castle, the Rotunda Museum and the acclaimed Sea Life Centre. Other towns worth visiting close to Filey include Bridlington, Whitby, Hornsea and Saltburn, which all demonstrate the vibrancy of this picturesque North Yorkshire region.

View more holiday cottages in Filey

Please Note: There has been a recent bathroom renovation at this property and the bath in the image supplied is no longer present - the bathroom has a shower only. New images are pending.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas