Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Barnacle Cove - Northumberland - 1122274 - photo 1
close

Barnacle Cove

(Ref. 1122274)

Beadnell, Northumberland Show on map

4.2

Sykes rating

  • 7 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (12)
  • views (11)
  • no (11)
  • lovely (11)
  • sea (9)
  • our (9)

25 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautiful location and an amazing house had a great weekend!"

    P.S. Lovely touch the bottle of wine, coffee, tea, sugar and miniature toiletries - Thanks!

    Mar 2024

  • "What a beautiful house, we have loved our stay."

    The location and views are perfect, gorgeous beach such a short walk away, just what we needed for a lovely chilled week. Loved our little welcome pack for our arrival too. We would love to come back!

    Mar 2024

  • "We had a fantastic Christmas week at Barnacle Cove."

    Our party consisted of 5 adults, 1 teen, 1 toddler and a dog. Barnacle Cove had something for us all. The house was clean and warm, with some lovely Christmas decorations up to give it that Christmassy feel. Plenty of parking for all our cars and a secure garden for the dog. The beds were lovely and comfortable and the bath was fabulous after a cold and blustery walk on the beach. The kitchen was well equipment although we struggled with the oven as there were no instructions. We also struggled with the fire as it took us two days to work out how to switch it on. Instructions for both would have been helpful. The games room was an absolute bonus that I wasn’t expecting. The dog chewed up the ping pong balls I’m afraid but we did replace them. My favourite spot was sitting in the bedroom window reading and watching the waves. We enjoyed walks on the beach a days in Seahouses and Bamburgh Castle. Alnwick was great, we loved Barter Books and the Light trail at the gardens. We ate and drank at The Landing which was expensive but nice. There was a window in the extension that wouldn’t shut properly and as it was so windy it did howl a bit. We will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Hazel4.7Dec 2023

  • "The property, location and facilities were fabulous."

    I would definitely stay again and recommend this property to others. We were disappointed on arrival as we were excited to start our holiday so turned up at 4pm as per the instructions, only to find that the cleaners were in the property and remained cleaning the property for a further 45mins! They were even sat down in the lounge when we arrived. However, this did not take anything away from the rest of our stay.

    Reviewed by Hannah4.7Sep 2023

  • "Absolutely gorgeous home and gorgeous venue."

    Would be good to have mentioned the building work next door as it could have hampered the stay. However, the builders were lovely and so polite and kept the noise to a minimum without being asked. Fantastic stay in an amazing location.

    Reviewed by Debs5.0Aug 2023

  • "The location is very good."

    The cooker was temperamental and some instructions may have been helpful. The place needs reading lights in the bedrooms , for people that read anyway.

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4Jul 2023

  • "Lovely place to stay, ideal to explore the Northumberland coast."

    Very comfortable property, loved the views.

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7Jun 2023

  • "This is out third stay at Barnacle Cove."

    Lovely location superb views and mostly excellent facilities.We had a major issue with the cooker during our two week stay and it was not repaired until late on the Wednesday of our second week.Now i appreciate things break and it takes time to fix but what really disappointed us was that we were not informed about the problem before hand.Numerous phone calls and even calling into the local office twice (the staff were friendly and tried to help) indicated that they were already aware of the problem but it took a week before an alternative was eventually supplied and frankly it was not up to the job for our large family.There are building works next door but we were never inconvenienced and did not detract from our stay. Dont let our experience put you off this really is a lovely property and has everything you need for a great holiday. You have a superb beach within a five minutes walk, lovely restaurants and is an ideal base for exploring wonderful Northumbria Richard

    Reviewed by Richard4.1Jun 2023

  • "This is a lovely house, with fantastic sea views."

    Unfortunately the house next door is undergoing a total refurbishment with builders working six days a week. This is likely to continue for many months and can be noisy during the day. It is not mentioned in the listing. The oven did not work and whilst someone came out, it was not fixed during our stay. We spoke with the management company during and after our stay, however did not receive a follow up call and were told that neither they, nor the owner take responsibility for any noise or building work, a point we were told is recorded in their lengthy terms and conditions. The downstairs bedroom could do with a good clean. If the issues were resolved we would highly recommend this house, however feel let down with our experience.

    Reviewed by Brenda3.8Jun 2023

  • "Overall the property is very very good with fantastic views from the front of the house."

    You can spend many an hour just looking out to sea. The kitchen is very well equipped, and the wine and biscuits are a lovely touch.We found the downstairs bedroom and shower room to be very dark and although we had some very sunny days they were never as it shows in the advertisement plus the toilet had to be flushed 2-3 times to clear the waste, Also we were not made aware of the on going building work next door when we booked although the builder was a great guy keeping any noise to a minimum. All that said we would return tomorrow, must be one of the best in Beadnell.

    Reviewed by Alan4.1Jun 2023

  • "House was not clean - never informed of The Building works next door when we booked even though you were aware of the noise problem outside table was."

    Not fit for purpose- reported maintenance issue on day one - 4 days to fix ! Worst stay ever

    Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We take great pride in our property and we have had several years of letting it out without issue, so we are really sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. In respect of cleaning, we haven’t had an issue with this previously, but we discussed this with our cleaner and we have put in place some inspections before guests arrive. The building works were only evident in March and we apologise that you weren’t informed. We do understand the work to be nearing completion now and we have asked the builders to ensure they work in working hours and keep noise to a minimum. Whilst we know that there were a couple of things raised with the maintenance team at the start of your stay we understood this to have been resolved quickly. Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon1.3May 2023

  • "No mention of building going on next door!"

    Would also recommend parking at the front.

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Mar 2023

  • "Enjoyed our stay in this lovely home."

    Spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The downstairs games room was a nice surprise - body board and beach stuff also provided - we simply stuck to the table tennis. Can't beat the view from the front and particularly enjoyed watching the sea whoosh over the sea wall. Long walks along the beach and coastline and then back to a warm base ( heating was so easy to use ) with a good TV ( with sky ) to rest legs, make a meal ( well warm up a ready made one ), pour a glass of wine and watch some films. Ideal place for mature couple through to family with youngsters or any combination.

    Thank you Margaret for your comments. The Wine will be on us next time as from Mid April Tea coffee fresh Milk and some biscuits will be provided on arrival along with bottle of wine to enjoy as you wish, also some welcome toiletries for each bathroom until you all get settled. Many thanks Brett and Sara Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Mar 2023

  • "None of the electrics working when we arrived No welcome pack ( even tea bags / coffee would have been good) Description should say that there are a lot of stairs to the front ( and only ) door No information on how to work the appliances Description should include details of pool table, table tennis , kids darts etc."

    Should have details of where the fuse boxes were Should have been a torch ( I spent half an hour in the dark trying to find the fuse box using the light on my mobile phone) No washing up liquid Excellent views and great listening to the waves. Living area very good and the separate areas meant that guests could have their own space.

    Thank you, Unfortunately we were notified that the electric had tripped due to a faulty strip light by the cleaners on the afternoon of your arrival. The Agents we're called and isolated the problem within 2 hours so my thanks goes to them. There are 2 lanterns in the cupboard to the left of the sink, I will make sure this is in the information provided but I would always advice that the agents are called when there is any issues of the such you experienced so a qualified technician can be sent. There should be washing up liquid provided and is kept below the sink, I'm sorry if this was not the case. From Mid April Tea coffee fresh Milk and some biscuits will be provided on arrival along with bottle of wine to enjoy as you wish, also some welcome toiletries for each bathroom until you all get settled. Yes the Games room is a bit of a Aladin's cave and can provide hours of entertainment for all ages especially the table football. The Views are something else. Many Thanks The owners Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.1Mar 2023

  • "This property is ideally sited overlooking a beautiful part of the Northumberland coastline."

    We found the propery spacious, well appointed, comfortable and warm despite the low external temperatures. The views from the Lounge and bedroom were amazing. There were a few things we felt could be improved, this was the first holiday cottage with no milk etc. after 500 mile journey it would have been good. Secondly the steps at the rear are painted totally black making them difficult to negotiate in the dark, a white 25mm. strip of road marking paint on the edge of the steps would have much improved things. Thirdly there was no instructions for the heating, the manual provided was inaccurate! finally there was no DVD player again the first time we have found this to be the case. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cottage and would fully recommend it for all except those with mobility problems.

    Thank you John I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. A welcome pack is something we were considering but have not been asked previously. So from mid April Tea coffee fresh Milk and some biscuits will be provided on arrival along with bottle of wine to enjoy as you wish, also some welcome toiletries for each bathroom until you all get settled. The instruction for heating is provided by the qr code but its quite simple just adjust the nest thermostat in the hall to the desired temperature. I will check with agents that this is clear. We no longer have the DVD as we now provide Sky TV with streamed Films and Netflix which you can watch your favourite movies along with Sky sports, No need to sign in its all on a click of a button. Many Thanks Brett and Sara Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Mar 2023

  • "Beautiful house with fantastic views out to sea, hours of enjoyment watching the waves!"

    Very well equipped house; the most comfortable beds; we would highly recommend the property.

    Oct 2021

  • "The property is spacious with comfy rooms throughout."

    Ideal for our needs of a family and grandparents staying. Overlooking the sea was lovely

    Jul 2021

  • "A wonderful property, with lots to do."

    Relaxing, with fabulous views. Ideal location for travelling around and near the beach.

    Jul 2019

  • "This was our 2nd time at Barnacle Cove."

    Very happy to come back!

    Jul 2019

  • "The property is really well situated with unbelievable views."

    Lovely property with plenty of room for a family. The games room was a bonus!

    May 2019

  • "The property had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable."

    The view is spectacular!

    Jul 2018

  • "Barnacle Cove exceeded my expectations."

    The sea view was wonderful and its proximity to the beach perfect.

    May 2018

  • "First class property with a fantastic view of the sea."

    Very well decorated and clean. A credit to the owners.

    Apr 2018

  • "A very comfortable property with a very efficient heating system - absolutely essential with gales from the east and a chill factor of -8."

    The view from the front windows was remarkable at high tide.

    Mar 2018

  • "Clean and nicely furnished."

    The beds were extremely comfortable with good quality bedding. Fantastic sea views. Have already booked to go back next year.

    Nov 2017

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Northumbria Coast and Country Cottages collection.
The number 1 choice and best value holiday cottages from the Northumberland specialists. Discover our beautiful county with us.

Summary

  • Set over three storeys
  • Four bedrooms: 1 x second-floor king-size, 1 x ground-floor double, 1 x second-floor twin, 1 x second-floor single
  • Second-floor bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Second-floor kitchen/diner with sunroom
  • Second-floor sitting room with gas fire
  • Sky TV(Glass) with Sport and Film options available (subject to restriction due to certification) Netflix also available.Oil central heating with gas fire
  • Electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available on request
  • Off-road parking for 3 cars
  • Enclosed front garden with lawn
  • 2 well behaved dogs welcome
  • Starter pack included
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.4 miles, pub 0.8 miles
  • Note: This property is set over three floors and may not be suitable for those with mobility issues

The property

With stunning views across Beadnell’s beaches and the ocean beyond, Barnacle Cove is an ideal getaway for a family or group of adults looking to explore Northumberland.

Park off-road and ascend to the first-floor, where the living area of this property is located, and be welcomed into a spacious sitting area where a gas fire lets out a welcoming glow from the stone fireplace as you settle down with a coffee in one of the sofas, enjoying the natural light and seaside views, captured through large windows.

When mealtimes call, the excellent kitchen/diner has a selection of amenities on offer for you, as well as a dining table, and there is also the option of a sun room with extra furniture, where an eye-catching green wood panelled ceiling and walls add unique features to this property.

On the second floor you will find a stylish bathroom as well as three of the four bedrooms, including a king-size bedroom with stunning sea views from the large windows, a twin and single bedroom perfect for children, and on the ground floor you will find a stylish double with wood panelled walls, along with a shower room, and from the ground floor you can access the enclosed font garden.

The wonders of Northumberland begin on your doorstep, with the beautiful coast of Beadnell offering walks in the salty air and sandy bays, or there is the picturesque rocky beach at Ebb’s Nook.

Beadnell has a selection of eateries for you to enjoy, as well as a convenience store, and if you travel a little further from the property you will be able to embark on scenic walks through Northumberland’s Coast AONB and the Dunstanburgh Castle Walk.

Make a family holiday to remember with a stay at the scenic Barnacle Cove.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

BEADNELL

Seahouses 1.5 miles; Bamburgh 5 miles.

This attractive and peaceful harbour village is situated beside one of the most beautiful stretches of Northumberland’s Heritage Coastline - Beadnell Bay. Established in Saxon times, Beadnell was once an important fishing village and a smuggler's haven. Nowadays, it is still a fishing village, but is equally popular with holidaymakers who come to enjoy its pretty harbour and, of course, the nearby sandy beaches. The village has a shop, two pubs and a café serving food. Popular Seahouses is just over a mile away and has shops, a supermarket and restaurants, and it also offers boat trips from the harbour to the magnificent Farne Islands - a haven for bird watchers. Bamburgh is close by, whilst the market town of Alnwick with its Castle and Gardens, shops, pubs and restaurants is a short drive away.

View more holiday cottages in Beadnell

Note: property is set over three floors with exterior steps; may not be suitable for those with mobility issues.
Two well behaved dogs allowed
This property only accepts Friday and Monday check-in's.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season