Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 48 View Image Gallery
  • Greystead Institute - Northumberland - 1056271 - photo 1

Greystead Institute

(Ref. 1056271)

Bellingham, Northumberland Show on map


  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (13)
  • lovely (12)
  • everything (11)
  • comfortable (10)
  • stay (10)
  • beautiful (10)

29 Customer Reviews

  • "We spent two weeks in this beautiful cottage and beautiful surroundings."

    Inside everything was new and very clean. Beds especially were very comfortable. Showers were amazing. Heating was an issue as someone had pushed a floor lamp in front of the thermostat which the shade had hidden from view and set to zero. Once we discovered the thermostat the heating was substantial. Regarding the log fire we found it difficult to use as there were two sets of conflicting instructions. One in visitors book and one in log basket. Since we were staying for two weeks more than one tea towel would have been appreciated. We would definitely recommend this property. We had a lovely peaceful holiday and have booked again for a week next March. Thank you very much.

    Reviewed by Sue4.7Oct 2023

  • "Overall this is a well furnished and unique property."

    Very impressed with kitchen design and equipment. Beds very comfortable and bathrooms very functional and clean. We mastered the log burning stove but it was hard to prevent the smell of smoke which was everywhere. Could have benefited from a roll of kitchen paper and either a bigger shower mat, or a second one, to reduce the risk of slipping when leaving the shower. All in all we had a great holiday at this property in the Northumberland National Park.

    Reviewed by Ron4.7Oct 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at the institute, it really is a delightful property, in a beautiful rural country setting, and for the money paid it represents outstanding value compared to other similar properties."

    Thank you for a lovely week at the institute.

    we are so glad you liked the property and had a lovely time in Tarset. every year we try and add features to the property and listen to our guests feedback, to help improve the accommodation at Greystead. Its also lovely to have returning guests and hope to have you back in the future. Greystead Institute Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Sep 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Greystead."

    When we arrived everything was tidy and spotless, warm and inviting. There was a welcome pack and bottle of wine waiting for us, which i thought was a nice touch. The cupboards were well stocked, the oven and stove top not difficult to figure out. There was also a good sized fridge with lots of room for food, and two good size freezer drawers. The house kept at the perfect temperature all week (we had a few cold rainy days and some sunny days) which we all thought rather amazing how well the underfloor heating worked. The beds were very comfy and although we used our own towels, it was nice that towels and some loo rolls were provided. There was no phone signal there, but it wasn't a problem as the internet worked well all week. We visited a lot of Hadrian's wall most days and the reservoir, i highly recommend Oceans Fish and Chips in Haltwhistle if anyone is out that way, it was amazing. Overall we had a great time and a lovely stay in Greystead Institute, i would highly recommend it.

    What lovely feedback. Thank you so much. We as owners of Greystead are so blessed to own such a lovely property and share with Guests. The property is located in a beautiful area and although its not for everyone 9 out of 10 people love it. This is why we are always improving the facilities at Greystead. Feedback is always welcome good or bad we aim to improve. Greystead Institute Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Sep 2023

  • "A beautiful and well equipped holiday let in an idyllic location."

    Everything you could hope for was provided, fittings and furnishings were of a high quality and everything was spotless. A comfy bed and a great shower made sure the basics were taken care of. The views from the large window and the dining room reminded you just where you were. In a land of hills and sheep. Location was great too. Bellingham was just 5 minutes away - perfect for the basics and a couple of good cafes. 3 really good pubs within 3-4 miles made sure we were well fed and watered and the many walks and bike rides in the area meant we enjoyed burning off all those calories. There were only 2 downsides worth mentioning - the lack of any mobile phone signal meant relying on the broadband/wifi for calls unfortunately this was not reliable. Secondly the first floor bedroom was warm, not an issue - it was August after all, but the proximity to the road meant traffic noise could be an issue through the night.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback Greystead is in a lovely setting and sometimes depending on what network your on, making a call is best outside the back. we find it relaxing not using the phone however we understand the signal can be slow. WiFi is always best and we are hoping for cable soon. ref the road, it depends on the time of year and the log lorries coming through the villages. we stay at the property and never notice the noise. we are always looking to improve our services, so again thank you and hopefully this hasn't put you off staying again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Grenville5.0Aug 2023

  • "Beautifully presented."

    Well equipped. Lovely rural location. Great walking/cycling. Steep spiral staircase to upstairs bedroom/en-suite and high sided bath might not suit everyone though!

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Aug 2023

  • "We had no mobile phone reception in the cottage at all!"

    There needs to be a landline installed for emergencies. Broadband was also unreliable.

    Reviewed by Libby3.4Jul 2023

  • "Clean, lots of useful equipment and advice provided, great location (eg delightful walk to Kielder Water via Falstone over the suspension bridge, near to the quick and easy EV charger in Bellingham)."

    Watching the young owls learning to fly was memorable and amusing.

    Reviewed by Dan5.0Jul 2023

  • "Amazing cottage in a beautiful location, perfect for visiting Keildor Water."

    Tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Facilities brilliant and comfortable beds, very important. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to visit the area. An amazing holiday with family. Loved sharing it with the owls!

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Greystead. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jun 2023

  • "This is a place to keep quiet about because it is so soo good don't want to ..."

    This is a place to keep quiet about because it is so soo good don't want to share so we can book this place again and again placed in the right place to go everywhere excellent for everything

    We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Greystead and its always lovely to have return guests. Thank you for your feedback and kind words. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Jun 2023

  • "Apart from a shortage of teaspoons and side plates this was a lovely and well ..."

    Apart from a shortage of teaspoons and side plates this was a lovely and well thought out holiday cottage with everything you need including Alexa and a lovely tennis court

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.7May 2023

  • "We stayed at the Greystead Institute in May."

    What can I say but Wow. We had an amazing stay there. The cottage is immaculate. The facilities excellent and the views were stunning. We spend most of the time we were in the cottage looking out of the conservatory at the views and lambs. The lambs were very entertaining. Bellingham is a lovely village and has a fantastic butchers , village fruit and veg shop and co op that selling just about everything. There are a few pubs you can eat and have a drink outside with your four legged friends. The cottage is in a wonderful location to Kielder forest and the coast. So much to see and do you will not be disappointed. Thank you for the welcome pack the Prosecco was a lovely touch. We will definitely be returning .

    Thank you very much for your feedback. Its so nice to have returning guests, so hope to see you again soon and thank you for recommending the local shops and pubs and Kielder. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole5.0May 2023

  • "Beautiful property, spotlessly clean, we enjoyed everything."

    Surrounded by sheep fields and lots to do if you want to visit the area. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Cheryl4.7Apr 2023

  • "Fantastic accommodation, everything we needed and more, five stars for sure."

    Location great, ideal for doggy walks and good location to travel to other areas. Lots to see and do locally. Bellingham has good shops, good pubs to eat in, we had sunday carvery at the cheviot, and it was excellent, and a good Chinese takeaway. Had a fantastic evening meal at the pheasant inn, five minute drive in the kielder direction, couldn't find any fault in the three courses, the lamb was superb! Tennis court was a nice bonus, welcome pack was great, visitors information pack was very helpful. Only possible drawback was tv didnt work on free view, however didn't bother us as we brought our own amazon stick with our own apps on it, which worked and connected fine with the WiFi. To finish, I highly recommend this property, you won't find better in the area at the price, and we plan to go back soon, although I suspect it will get fully booked up quickly. Thanks for a great place to stay.

    Thank you very much for your feedback and so happy you had a lovely time and visited the local shops/Pubs. The TV can be a little temperamental as two remote control units and takes a little to get use too. The Amazon fire stick is a good idea and this will be put in by the end of April. Hope to have you back in the near future. Greystead Institute Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Mar 2023

  • "Lovely property and amazing area to explore."

    Thanks so much.

    Thank you for you Feedback. Its very important to us that our Guests like to return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Feb 2023

  • "Really clean comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms and kitchen area."

    An expansive living area too and a spacious dining room conservatory. All furnishings were very clean and comfortable. I used the wood burner on the first night, but the heating comes on around 17:00 and that is very powerful so the wood burner was overkill. If you want to use the wood burner, it takes a while to get going but it's very effective once it does. I took extra kindling and fire lighters which came in handy. I just used the heating alone on the second night and even had to turn it down. It was very quiet and peaceful. The only other property in sight is the big house on the other side of the tennis court. You are fairly close to the road but I couldn't hear any road noise at all. There is a comprehensive information pack on the desk adjacent to the big window so make sure you consult this regarding any of the facilities. The big window faces south (maybe SW). This gives you a lot of light through the day and there are no curtains or blinds. This might be a problem for some. It just overlooks the hills though.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback and so glad you appreciated the beautiful views around Greystead. We can never get the heating quite right as some guests are either to Hot or to Cold. We did leave the boiler cupboard open however the controls kept getting changed and the we then experienced bad feedback as the heating was coming on at different times. The underfloor heating in both rooms are set to come on when the temperature drops and the Log burner is lovely in the cold evenings. Always good to have feedback, as we can adjust to our future guests. Greystead Institute Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Feb 2023

  • "Or main issue was the heating."

    The accommodation could not be heated satisfactorily due to the size of it, the timers were not satisfactory for the time of year and freezing conditions, it was particularly cold weather, even with the log burner, which we were very glad of. After two days of our stay we found the key to the boiler on the drive. We also found that the under floor heating in the conservatory and hallway did not come on so our pre Christmas Meal was not as comfortable and cosy. I have asthma and the cold air was extreme during the nights which was also a major factor, hence uncomfortable sleeping conditions. Had we had our stay in the summer it would have been a different matter.

    Reviewed by Gill4.4Dec 2022

  • "A spectacular property."

    We were a bit worried about the property being warm enough as it has such high ceilings. But we were pleasantly surprised. Everything in this beautiful place is of the highest standard. It's very private and the area all around was covered in frost So it was very Christmasy and had some fantastic drives out. Definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Bryan5.0Dec 2022

  • "Had an amazing stay here."

    Lovely views of the countryside. Owners made us feel welcome when we arrived. Completely enclosed so our dog was completely safe. Would happily return again.

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so glad you had a lovely time at Greystead and hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shaun5.0Oct 2022

  • "If you’re looking for a relaxing, quiet holiday with excellent walks near by then this is it."

    Reviewed by Alwyn5.0Oct 2022

  • "Greystead Institute is a beautiful well equipped cottage in a stunning setting."

    It was clean comfortable and well placed for lots of walking opportunities with our Siberian Husky. There are also many surrounding attractions like Keilder forest for mtn biking or walking. Housestead Roman Fort, Hadrians Wall and other Roman attractions are also close by to keep you occupied. We really enjoyed the dark skies and stunning sun rises viewed from the cottage. Thank you for a relaxing home from home experience.

    Thank you very much for your feedback. Its so important to us, that our guests have a fab time at Greystead and the surrounding countryside. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Viv5.0Sep 2022

  • "This property is one of the best I’ve ever stayed in!"

    Spotlessly clean everywhere, high quality furnishings and decoration throughout. This place is just as good as the pictures suggest! Your only neighbours are the wonderful sheep grazing in the field which provide a lovely backdrop to the countryside ambience. Reading another review I noticed they said there was noise from the road.. we were closer to a main road than I imagined and at first when we arrived, I thought it was noisy (mainly very loud motorbikes) however… once inside the Institute the noise was minimal and practically non existent if you had the tv or music on. Even sitting out on a night at the back was absolutely fine I certainly couldn’t complain. The kitchen itself provided every utensil/piece of crockery you could need. Everything was on hand. Beds were very comfortable in fact I have no complaints of any sort! The Blackcock Inn at Falstone is a must for Sunday dinner and it’s dog friendly. The food was delicious and the staff extremely friendly. We visited Kielder which was a highlight, beautiful walks (aided by a sunny warm day) which the dog loved! You don’t have to go far out of the Institute to find a walk and beautiful scenery. I will definitely be returning to the Institute again!

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We love staying at Greystead and try to have everything to hand for our guests and try to maintain the property on every visit we make. We can't take all the credit as we have some fantastic people that clean and look after the property along with maintaining the grounds. We hope to have you visit again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katie5.0Sep 2022

  • "Really enjoyed the stay great holiday lovely lovely amazing perfect place."

    Thank you

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2022

  • "One of the reasons we booked Greystead institute was on the photographs when we booked it there was four sun loungers shown ."

    We went for a relaxing holiday and we thought it would have been perfect with Sun loungers. Unfortunately when we arrived there was not any thing comfortable to sit on in the garden which did spoil our holiday to a large degree as due to my health condition our holidays are for us to just relax and enjoy the wonderful countryside..

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. Very confused. Please if you can send us images as per your feedback. I have spoken with Sykes and double checked the images on their website and not showing any Sun Loungers? We took over the property this year and you may have seen images from Before we went live. If we have missed something please share. Its a shame you scored us on something we can't find. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stanley3.8Jul 2022

  • "We had an amazing time at Greystead Institute."

    The property is stunning with beautiful surroundings. It is very comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen, plenty of logs for the fire and extra usb connection points for charging phones. Really relaxing place to stay. We loved it!

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We are always looking at improving Greystead, so our guests enjoy their stay. The cleaning company we use monitors the guest book and also feeds information back to us with regards to any changes the think we need to make. Mr & Mrs G Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Jun 2022

  • "Beautiful property in a beautiful location."

    Nothing more we could have asked for, every need was catered for. Would highly recommend. Will certainly return again. Perfect week - Mandy and Gary

    Thank you both for your lovely feedback. We love staying at Greystead too and try and give our guests everything that we would expect to find when staying. We are always pleased to see returning guests Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mandy5.0Jun 2022

  • "Excellent holiday retreat."

    Would definately stay again. A number of enjoyable walks were close by and the river walks in particular were delightful with plenty of wild life to enjoy. The tennis court for the energetic was a bonus as it is for the sole use of the guests. The conservatory gave us much pleasure in the evenings where we could watch the antics of the lambs in the field close by. Wonderful relaxing two weeks.

    Reviewed by George5.0May 2022

  • "Loved this property."

    Lovely spacious light filled property overlooking fields with spring lambs. Good beds,towels,linen and outrageously powerful shower. Very comfortable. Didn't care for the proximity to the tennis court. Sadly it is not mine but if it was I would develop a mixed woodland with pond etc. Huge potential. Car access is a tad difficult off the road - short drive and narrow access - but managed. B road outside the property can get busy with motor bikes and other vehicles. As a cyclist I found the motor bikes the main difficulty on the road. Didn't mind the power cut on our last night as we were packing. We had torches just in case! Overall, we loved the Institute and would book again.

    Thank you for your feedback, The road outside can be busy one day and quite the next. The beautiful countryside around Greystead is a bikers dream. As owners we stay in the property a few weeks a year and listen to our guests feedback, changing anything we can to make future guests enjoy their stay as we do. To have guests come back means we are getting things right. Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Garry5.0May 2022

  • "Absolutely perfect, from the moment of walking in to the property over the "and relax" doormat we all felt at home."

    The property is a stunning conversion in a wonderful location and has everything you need. The use of the tennis court was a great bonus. We loved the walks and cycling nearby and being surrounded by newly born lambs. Would 100% recommend!

    Hi Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy you had a lovely time at Greystead and hope you return again one day. Regards Greystead Institute Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Apr 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Greystead Institute has been awarded 5 Stars by Visit England for 01/06/2022 - 30/05/2023
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite freestanding bath, shower over, basin and WC, 1 x ground-floor double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Utility
  • Conservatory
  • Oil central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • USB hubs around the property to charge your devices
  • Alexa in the property
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire/stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair available
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed rear patio with furniture, use of owners' all-weather tennis court
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking or Vaping in the property
  • Shop 4.7 miles, pub 2.4 miles
  • Note: Check-in from 3pm, check-out by 9:30am

The property

Greystead Institute is a fabulously converted Victorian church hall, nestled in beautiful Northumberland countryside close to Kielder Water and Forest Park.

With the charming town of Bellingham nearby, and positioned right in the heart of Northumberland National Park, choose to send some quality time with your family or friends in this luxurious new conversion of a charming historic building.

Step into the slate-tiled entrance hall, kick off your walking boots and hang up your coats before moving through to the fabulous open-plan living space, which boasts the original feature fireplace and Victorian pine floor, exposed beams, and a stunning new oak spiral staircase specially commissioned for the room.

The beautifully appointed and newly designed kitchen with central island features granite worktops.

Relax with your loved ones in the large sitting area before the woodburning stove, which brings warmth to a cool wintry evening, along with the heritage-style radiators emitting plenty of additional heat and enjoy the superb hill views from the full-height recreated Victorian window.

Head into the dining room in the Conservatory next door for a late afternoon feast with the family, where you can enjoy the unspoilt countryside views beyond the enclosed patio through the floor-to-ceiling windows or enjoy winter warmth though the slate tiles with underfloor heating.

Feel as though nature is seeping through as you open the French doors and allow a fresh summer breeze through during those warmer months.

At the end of an evening of board games, TV or late-night chats reminiscing on days gone by, retire to the king-sized master bedroom on the first floor or catch your rest in the ground level double; each comes with its own beautiful en-suite tiled in stylish black and white, one with Victorian-style bath.

The nearest local pub to the cottage is just over 2 miles away, while a plethora of amenities await in the thriving market town of Bellingham.

Home to the biggest man-made lake in Northern Europe and the largest working forest in the country, Kielder Water and Forest Park offers a wonderful day out for all tastes and ages, with its dark, star-filled skies and vast landscapes beckoning you to explore.

Its lovely observatory, fishing opportunities, wildlife spotting, mountain biking and a wealth of walking trails will have you entertained for hours.

As well as all this, you also have Hadrian's Wall, the sweeping Northumberland Heritage Coast, the Scottish Borders and the market town of Hexham.

Choose Greystead Institute for your next holiday in a fascinating part of the UK.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


  • Kielder Water 7 miles
  • Hadrian's Wall 12 miles
  • Corbridge 18 miles
  • Hexham 19 miles

Known as the ‘capital’ of the North Tyne Valley, this delightful town of natural stone houses nestles close to the banks of the River North Tyne. Said to be sited on a Roman station, the charming market town has much of interest, including a 12th century church, heritage centre and 30ft waterfall, just to the north. It’s also on the edge of the Northumberland National Park and is just a short drive from Hadrian’s Wall and Kielder Water and Forest. Suitable for year-round holidays, this unspoilt area with its fishing, horse riding, abundant wildlife and superb walking country is a nature lover’s dream. There is a superb golf course close by and the area has abundant historical sites, stately homes and famous gardens.

View more holiday cottages in Bellingham