Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

16 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • Hillcrest - Northumberland - 1121953 - photo 1
close

Hillcrest

(Ref. 1121953)

Seahouses, Northumberland Show on map

4.3

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (12)
  • location (10)
  • seahouses (10)
  • great (10)
  • clean (9)
  • lovely (9)

26 Customer Reviews

  • "Once inside the cottage it was very nice warm and cozy with nice fixtures and fittings, however getting into the cottage was something else."

    The key safe is next to the front door, but the front door did not open, no matter what you did to it, this was the start, as we wanted to go into the cottage to work out where parking at the rear was, expecting to find a road or back lane, only to realise it was a public car park. This needs to be explained better. Now we have parked the car we were faced with a large bank of muddy grass which we then had to carry our bags up to the cottage, this was not ideal and I feel that if you were not great on your feet you would really struggle, remembering that this is the only access to the cottage, as the front door does not open ! The gate had a broken latch and the bolt to open it was on the inside of the gate, I personally could not reach the bolt, but luckily my husband could! There is a Brocken concrete block that I assume your supposed to stand on to reach the bolt again not great. Taking the door situation into account going out in the evening was not great as you were walking over muddy grass in your good shoes and on one evening I did actually slip over

    Sorry to hear about your stay at Hillcrest .the front door had swollen with all the wet weather we have had. If only you had telephoned the letting agents you booked with.someone from the maintenance team would have sorted it straight away they're only a few doors away. Yes it's a public car park out the back of the property, I supply a permit for your use and from the car park there are three or four paved foot paths to the main street at the front also Hillcrest has a gate to the side with access to the front there's no need to use the rear garden gate.Once again I'm sorry to hear about your experience but what can I say IF ONLY YOU PHONED the sticking door would have been fixed in no time, that's what the maintenance team are there for so our guests have a trouble free enjoyable stay .thanks for your feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fiona3.1Jan 2024

  • "A lovely cottage on which to base our holiday in Northumberland."

    Thank you for your feedback and your right about it being agreat base to explore Northumberland. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Nov 2023

  • "A wonderful property , very comfortable and well looked after , we were only there 2 nights but would happily of stayed a lot longer."

    Everything you could want is just about on the doorstop , with a very short walk to the coast . I would happily reccommend Hillcrest to family and friends and would readily go back there in the future .

    Thank you for your great feedback I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hillcrest. But 2 nights is not enough to see all our wonderful Northumbrian coast come back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0Oct 2023

  • "Beautiful property in a great location."

    We enjoyed the proximity to Seahouse's pubs and restaurants. The property was very clean and nicely decorated and furnished. With three of us staying, we managed well, but six might be a struggle with the kitchen facilities and utensils. The fully enclosed garden was great for our dog too - very secure.

    Thank you for your feedback, not sure that i can enlarge the kitchen but I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tom4.7Sep 2023

  • "Fantastic. We had a lovely week at Hillcrest."

    The house was very clean and comfortable and so convenient for the local amenities. Seahouses is a great little harbour town with plenty of eating out options. Two local dog friendly pubs with great food. Indian and Italian restaurants with takeaway options plus fish and chips galore. So many places to visit nearby including Bamburgh Castle, Lindisfarne, Alnwick to name a few. A bit of a drive to Beamish but well worth a visit. Lovely to get back to Hillcrest and relax. The parking permit was very welcome and also allowed us to park in many car parks in surrounding towns. Highly recommended.

    Thankyou for your kind review I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay come back soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Sep 2023

  • "Fabulous break in a great property."

    Great location, within walking distance to the amenities of Seahouses. Comfy, clean, spacious, light and airy house with the added bonus of a secure enclosed garden for the dog! Also the parking permit for the carpark right behind the back gate was handy and allowed us to use many other carparks in the area too. I'm afraid we didn't use the kitchen much as there were too many good eating places and takeaways in town, but it did seem very well equipped! I'd certainly stay here again.

    thank you for your feedback and come back soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline4.4Sep 2023

  • "We’ve stayed in many Northumbria Coast & Country Cottages but this was one was disappointing."

    First impressions were not great. Parking was an issue - as parking for this property is in a public car park and as it was a bank hol weekend - we struggled. Once at the property the grass area was overgrown and evidence of previous dogs found, both general rubbish and recycling bins overflowing attracting lots of flies. The front door was extremely stiff and required some force to open and close. Previous holidaymakers had obviously also found this to be a problem as the inside handle wasn’t secure and missing screws. Throughout the week the bathroom sink started the block, shower doors very difficult to open and close and the washing machine was pouring out water. The bunk beds don’t have proper mattresses- both more like futon mattresses which is fine for a few nights but both my kids found them uncomfortable. Feedback for owners- please get single mattresses and an hair dryer! All issues reported but due to the bank holiday weekend the local agency wasn’t open until Wednesday. Even without the above issues we wouldn’t stay in this particular property again as the parking was a constant problem and being so close to Seahouses it was quite noisy. The local Northumbria coast & cottages agents were very helpful and tried to fix the washing machine & front door but it was a shame I had to call in 3x times

    Sorry about your disappointing stay in Seahouses but really if you are planning a stay at a coastal resort on the busiest Bank holiday of the year what can i say IT'S GOING TO BE BUSY The letting agent's have an emergency out of hours number to use at weekends and Bank holidays. Apologies for the grass not being cut before your arrival mix-up with gardeners but I believe it was cut a couple of days later.All our other guest are happy with the parking right outside the back gate plus the ability to take the disc permit to use in many of Northumberlands car parks for free.As for the bunkbed mattresses they are the ones that came with the bunks and you are the first to have an issue with them. Hair dryer has disappeared sorry about that didn't know but it's replaced now . Once again I'm sorry about your disappointing stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny3.1Aug 2023

  • "We loved the location of the property but unfortunately the neighbours at number56 were very inconsiderate of others making lots of noise throughout the night partucularly loud from midnight till 230am children screaming and grown adults shouting, singing and encouraging the children to scream."

    This happened 4 out of our 7 nights waking us each night which was disapointing. The property itself was very spacious and clean but the outhouse building where the freezer and washing machine was leaking badly during the heavy rain meaning the celin was bubbling and leakong through. I feel this needs repairing as its damp and mouldy. Our stay was lovely and we would return again but felt very let down but the noisy neighbours .

    Thank you for your feedback I'm sorry about the inconsiderate people staying next door some people are just like that, most of the time the owners only use it themselves.The work on the old out building in in hand so hopefully if you return it should be all done cheers Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephanie4.1Jul 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay at Hillcrest very much."

    It was perfectly located, just a stone’s throw from the centre of Seahouses. The only thing that was missing was a mirror in the second bedroom, as I had to keep going into the first bedroom to dry my hair. Also the tap in the kitchen needs fixing as that is dripping. We do hope to return sometime in the future.

    Mirror and tap problem fixed thanks for your feedback pleased you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jill5.0Jul 2023

  • "The house us lovley and clean, a great place to stay."

    Maybe a little attention is needed outside .The lawn only cut on Monday but had not been cut for a while mould in the out house and the bench is dangerous probably needs removing . all in all great

    Thanks for your feedback we had a mix-up with the gardeners and the out building is on the to do list Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dennis3.8Jun 2023

  • "Property was lovely - just needs dripping tap in kitchen fixed and moveable shower head was broken when we arrived."

    Other than that, a lovely property and we may well stay there again.

    hi its all fixed now thanks for bringing it to our attention pleased you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jackie4.4Jun 2023

  • "Perfect location & parking facility."

    Lovely well equipped cottage, Wi-Fi was good. Only issue was a dripping kitchen tap & hand held shower holder wouldn’t stay in place. Would definitely stay again & highly recommend

    Thanks for your feedback and we'll sort the issues asap Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare4.4May 2023

  • "Stayed at hillcrest seahouses it was absolutely beautiful very clean and right ..."

    Stayed at hillcrest seahouses it was absolutely beautiful very clean and right in the centre of seahouses but very quiet loved garden am definitely going book to go next year with our dog would highly recommend it

    Thankyou for your kind feedback, pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in the heart of things."

    Clean and comfortable. Well situated for the town of Seahouses and a very handy base for setting off sightseeing the beautiful Northumberland coast and countryside

    Come back soon thanks for your kind feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Apr 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay but found dirty used cotton buds in the bathroom & 1 Of the bedrooms, also the only 2logs for the burner had already already been used as the were burnt I was told in the booking that their would be a starter pack of logs."

    Pleased you enjoyed your stay sorry about the cotton bud I'll speak to the cleaning team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan3.4Apr 2023

  • "Excellent location and very comfortable stay - we thoroughly enjoyed it."

    A couple of points for feedback: Annoying having the freezer outside and it felt a bit grotty. I sent my husband out there each time we needed something! For a holiday let I think it would be better having the fridge in the kitchen replaced with one with a freezer compartment at the top. More info should be provided about the parking so you know what to do on arrival. It was great having the parking permit but not clear where to park / unload from the arrival information email. Mirror needed in all bedrooms, especially for families with teenagers like us! A very comfortable property which I would recommend and we had a thoroughly enjoyable week.

    Thank you for your feedback it's all noted Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine3.8Apr 2023

  • "Lovely property in the heart of seahouses."

    Excellent facilities - warm and cosy cottage - would recommend and would re-visit if ever holidaying here in the future.

    Thanks for your feedback come back soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Mar 2023

  • "Fantastic family friendly property with lots of space - great location."

    There is plenty of equipment in the kitchen as well which is really handy would definitely stop here again

    Apr 2022

  • "Another fab holiday at Hillcrest cottage."

    Excellent location and very comfortable, especially the bed. We will be back again.

    Feb 2022

  • "A beautiful cottage in a great location in Seahouses."

    Small walk to the beach for dog walking. Found it quite central to be able to explore more places in Northumberland without having to drive miles. Would recommend staying there

    Jul 2021

  • "Hillcrest is Avery comfortable holiday home and right in the centre of Seahouses."

    Its the second time we have stopped here and would definitely recommend to others.

    Jun 2021

  • "Excellent location, clean, modern and spacious, ideally located in the village for everything."

    Dec 2019

  • "This was our 2nd visit to Hillcrest and once again we were impressed."

    It is a perfect cottage in my opinion! We will definitely be coming back soon, thank you

    Nov 2019

  • "A lovely well maintained terraced property."

    Very well situated in Seahouses, very close to restaurants & shops

    Oct 2019

  • "Fantastic refurbished property in a great location, for our family and dog and we would definitely return."

    Aug 2019

  • "The house is tastefully decorated and has tv's in 4 rooms."

    It is a clean, modern and comfortable property, central to all the facilities in the village. Some lovely walks from the doorstep. The large car park at the back of the property made parking relatively easy.

    Aug 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Northumbria Coast and Country Cottages collection.
The number 1 choice and best value holiday cottages from the Northumberland specialists. Discover our beautiful county with us.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size zip-link with TV (can be set up as a twin on request), 1 x double with TV, 1 x bunk
  • Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Oil heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, induction hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine
  • 3 x TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available on request
  • Parking permit for 1 car supplied (main public car park) situated behind the property
  • Large enclosed garden with decking and furniture
  • Two well behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 miles, pub 0.2 miles
  • Note: Some steps down to gravel area in garden

The property

A terraced stone-built property resting in the seaside town of Seahouses, beautifully fitted and within easy reach of local amenities, Hillcrest is the ideal base for a family looking to explore Northumberland.

Be welcomed into an airy open-plan living area where white walls complement tasteful furniture and wooden flooring.

Why not settle down in one of the black leather sofas and enjoy a good book beside a traditional fireplace housing a woodburning stove?

Cook up a storm in a lovely kitchen outfitted in contemporary grey and with many home-from-home amenities, and you can enjoy dining together at the bar or the stylish dining table, beside which you will find another sofa and double glass doors opening up onto a garden, encouraging you to dine alfresco in the fresh air.

Three bedrooms nestle within this lovely property, including a super-king-size which can be set up as a twin on request, and also has a TV and an en-suite, a double with a TV and a bunk bed, ideal for children.

There is also a contemporary bathroom where you can enjoy a relaxing soak amongst the bubbles.

Seahouses is a lovely coastal town with a high street offering a selection of tasty eateries and independent shops, and you will also find a picturesque harbour and fantastic sandy beach.

Explore the coast further with Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours or you can indulge in the scenery of Northumberland a little further from the property at Annstead Dunes Nature Reserve.

Head over to the historic town of Bamburgh and enjoy the impressive castle or visit the amazing Holy Island where there are many must-see sites including Lindisfarne Priory and castle.

Explore the wonders of Northumberland with a stay at Hillcrest.

View on map

About the location

SEAHOUSES

Beadnell 1.8 miles; Bamburgh 3.5 miles; Alnwick 14.8 miles.

A bustling, pretty fishing village with an attractive harbour, situated on the beautiful Northumbrian coast in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Seahouses offers a variety of shops and a good selection of inns, pubs and eating places. Nearby are miles and miles of splendid sandy beaches and the opportunity to visit the bird sanctuary or seal colony on the famous Farne Islands with boat trips running daily from Seahouses, is not to be missed. There are numerous castles and great houses to explore, such as the magnificent castles at Bamburgh, Cragside, and Alnwick (home of the Duke of Northumberland), to mention just a few. Golf, fishing and riding are also available locally.

Note: If you wish the king-size to be set up as a twin please let us know
Note: Parking is in council run car park behind property

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas