Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Annstead House - Northumberland - 1121986 - photo 1
close

Annstead House

(Ref. 1121986)

Seahouses, Northumberland Show on map

4.3

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (10)
  • well (10)
  • no (9)
  • house (9)
  • our (9)
  • comfortable (8)

21 Customer Reviews

  • "Unfortunately we where very disappointed, the drain in the shower downstairs was blocked to the point the bathroom flooded , husband had to unblock the drain as we couldn’t get hold of anyone at the local office or Sykes themselves ( 48 hrs later Sykes phoned us back )."

    There no washing machine and took two days for Sykes to arrange for clean towels as we had to use towels to mop up water as there was no mop. Then our daughter complained about the upstairs double bed husband had a look and the frame was broken and had been for sometime once again getting to speak to someone was impossible so husband bought screws and glue and mended it ! ( obviously no one informed anyone prior the frame was broken ) Still waiting for Sykes to contact us to discuss our stay despite being assured customer relations would call us back. What is needed is a direct number for the office in seahouses as otherwise you are left waiting for Sykes to contact them resulting in it taking days for anything to get sorted.

    Reviewed by Christopher1.3Feb 2024

  • "Lovely little cottage, comfortable and clean."

    It has all the facilities that you need, however we did have a problem with the washing machine not draining and showing error messages but contact with the holiday site rectified this. Secure garden and comfortable conservatory. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Kenneth4.7Jan 2024

  • "Lovely property - very convenient."

    We walked to Bamburgh and back and then Beadnell and back. It was warm and cosy and welcoming when we got back from our walks. The garden was dog proof so we could relax when the dog was outside. It had everything we needed. It might be useful to leave an accessible vacuum cleaner - having a dog I always like to carry out a quick hoover before I leave anywhere. I did find the brush and dustpan and brush! Would definitely consider a return visit.

    Apologies for the lack of hoover, I had to borrow it over Christmas and did not have time to put it back. Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated. Anne & Phil Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hefina5.0Jan 2024

  • "The property was well presented, very clean, with everything you could need for a good holiday."

    All amenities were a short walk away and we found Annstead house a good base for exploring the area.

    Thank you for your great feedback! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Nov 2023

  • "The house is very well placed easy to find."

    The kitchen is well equiped house has plenty of space.the washing machine is overdue replacement does not work very well .have stayed here previously in 2021 paid £655 this year it was £805 which given fuel costs i understand next year it would be £1125 which seems quite alot.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you found the house spacious, well equipped and presented. Thank you for advising about the washing machine which has now been replaced. Price wise - thank you for your understanding over fuel costs, sadly we are not able to connect to gas so have to use oil which is expensive. Our property is managed entirely by Sykes, who set the prices, I am surprised it is so high and will ask them to check. Best regards Anne & Phil Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steven3.8Oct 2023

  • "We enjoyed our comfortable stay here, a family of 4 plus 2 grandparents."

    It was useful having the conservatory which gave extra relaxing space. The house is well situated and close to all amenities and harbour.

    Thank you for your great feedback Anne & Phil Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Oct 2023

  • "A very comfortable house, in a peaceful location, with lots of room for everyone."

    Very well equipped kitchen, comfy beds, and a large garden. Only a very short walk from the shops, pubs, and best of all, the beaches. We were blessed with fabulous weather, so spent most of our time either outside, or in the very spacious conservatory. A parasol on the patio, some BBQ tools, and perhaps a small BBQ would have been very useful, but other than that, we have nothing to complain about. We loved our time in Seahouses, it's a great place, and a perfect location to go exploring from.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Sep 2023

  • "Annstead House is a modern house in a fabulous location."

    The accommodation is great and the beds are very comfy. We particularly appreciated the hob and oven, which appeared new and were incredibly efficient. There were a couple of ‘quirks’… The walk-in shower (which is brilliantly powerful) floods easily. The fist time we used it, the drain appeared blocked (presumably sand) and the whole bathroom was one big puddle. The fact that this obviously happens would account for the faint odour of urine constantly in that bathroom. We put bleach down the drain and a lemon toilet block in the loo, which solved the problem - although the shower needed redoing again during our second week. The slope to the drain is quite shallow. Having the air-con unit was great, but it was a shame that the towel rails in the bathrooms were on the central heating loop. That meant we couldn’t dry towels without the heating on (which we didn’t want) so we relied on using the conservatory during the day when it was too hot to sit in. The other thing that it is worth mentioning, is the washing machine. It has obviously been well used and had the door slammed often - it does work, but you have to keep trying to get the door latch to lock successfully for the program to click in. These are only fairly minor things that it would just be easier to be aware of before you go, but as I said, it is a great location, very quiet and comfortable and we had a lovely fortnight.

    Reviewed by Gill4.4Aug 2023

  • "Lovely accommodation, ideally situated as a base to explore the beautiful coastline."

    Reviewed by Adam5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely property with a well kept garden that was perfect for the dogs."

    Would definitely book again as long as price is kept to a reasonable rate.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jul 2023

  • "We will not be returning to Annstead House, next years increase of £230 is over 25% increase and extortionate."

    David Robinson A very disappointed customer

    Hello David Thank you for your feedback, as our valued clients, we do appreciate your honesty and rely on you to be our 'eyes on the ground' when it comes to our property. Northumberland Coast & Country Cottages act wholly as our agents so they are responsible for the pricing on our account, and, whilst the cost of living has certainly driven prices up, including our mortgage and bills, I am surprised they have increased fees by so much. They do publish fees on the portal but to be fair we leave it to them as they are the experts. We are not rich landlords and rely on our holiday let income for our day to day living - we really do not want to price anyone out of enjoying our beautiful home. We will have a conversation with the agency and try to understand the situation, and I will ask them to contact you direct. We do hope this did not affect your holiday and wish you the very best. Anne & Phil, Owners, Annstead House. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.4Jul 2023

  • "We love Annstead house itself and it's location, which is why we booked for 2 weeks this year instead of 1 like the last 2 years."

    On arrival, no welcome pack, that was just the first let down. There were a few other small issues which were rectified after having a chat with the lovely ladies in the Seahouses Northumbria cottages office. However, mid stay, when I was changing the bedding, I saw that the mattress protector was disgustingly stained from previous occupants. I immediately took it off and replaced it with clean linen sent with replacement linen for the bed we were using. This should have been spotted and removed before our arrival. Why it was left on in that state is beyond belief. Question---- How long are they left on . Why aren't they automatically changed with the rest of the bed linen. Also, the crockery needs replacing. What a disappointment this years holiday was.

    Hello Mrs W (The website prevents us from using your surname) We sincerely apologise for the issues you have had during your holiday this year. We take huge pride in our property and we are horrified you have had this experience in our beautiful home. We lives many miles away and Annstead is wholly managed by Northumberland Coast & Country Cottages on our behalf - everything from the cleaning to the welcome packs, pricing, bookings and communication with you, it is all run by them and we are at a loss to explain what has happened during your stay as their service is normally exceptional. Thank you for your honest feedback, which we value highly - we are not 'rich landlords' and rely heavily on this holiday let income for our day to day living so you, our valued clients, operate as our 'eyes on the ground.' We have communicated with representatives from both NCCC and Sykes in an attempt to prevent this from happening again, and hope this will not put you off holidaying with us in the future. With very best regards Anne & Phil, owners, Annstead House. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynn3.1Jun 2023

  • "Lovely place to stay."

    Very clean, everything we needed for our comfort, within easy walking distance of Seahouses and perfect location to enjoy such a beautiful area. A big thank you to the owners for providing such a high standard of accommodation.

    Reviewed by Stephanie5.0May 2023

  • "I had to contact the maintenance people 3 times."

    One of the bathroom sinks wouldn't empty properly. The main refuse dustbin was full to the brim and wasn't due to be emptied for another 10 days. The fridge was completely iced up even though it was on the lowest setting. I took some carrots out of the fridge and they were completely frozen. The kitchen bin lid wasn't working properly when we arrived and broke completely by the end of our stay.

    Reviewed by Denise4.4Mar 2023

  • "Excellent property for a holiday comfortable and well equipped ,the kitchen had just about everything you needed."

    The beds were probably the most comfortable we have had in a holiday cottage. Annstead house is very well situated and ideal if you have dogs or children with its secure garden ,we will be coming back so all in all highly recommended.

    Nov 2021

  • "Lovely, well kept house in a quiet cul de sac with 3 adult sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, cosy conservatory, comfortable lounge/diner ,roomy kitchen and parking for one good sized car on the drive and one smaller one on the side drive (mind the oddly and inconveniently placed lamppost!"

    ) Having 2 dogs with us, it was nice to have a small but secure, dog friendly rear garden and be so close to one of the many beach paths .Also very close to one of the very dog friendly eating places at The Links and handy for The coop and high street. Being annual travellers to the Seahouses area, we enjoyed our stay at Annstead house so much, we immediately booked it again for next year!

    Sep 2021

  • "Absolutely go gorgeous."

    So quite but only 5 mins from either a brach or the main street. Very clean and perfect for dogs or someone who has a mobility problem as all facilities on ground level

    Jul 2021

  • "Lovely quite setting, not far from the shops, boat trips and sandy beach."

    Perfect if you are sharing with friends and/or family. Hope to go back again

    Jul 2021

  • "Excellent property in good location for all amenities."

    Comfortable and everything we needed for a lovely holiday.

    May 2021

  • "A very well equipped and comfortable family base"

    Aug 2020

  • "Absolutely fantastic property- superb quiet location very close to shops, harbour and amazing beaches in both directions."

    Very well equipped quality accommodation for x 6 people and 2 dogs (super dogfriendly!!)

    Feb 2020

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Northumbria Coast and Country Cottages collection.
The number 1 choice and best value holiday cottages from the Northumberland specialists. Discover our beautiful county with us.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor king-size with TV and en-suite with wet room walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x king-size zip-link (can be set up as a twin on request), 1 x double
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting/dining room
  • Conservatory sitting room
  • Oil heating
  • Electric oven, induction hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • 2 x TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed front and rear garden with lawn and furniture
  • Two well behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 0.3 miles
  • Note: Dog bowls and covers for furniture provided

The property

An immaculate detached holiday home resting in the quaint seaside village of Seahouses, Annstead House is ideal for a group of adults or a family looking to explore the wonders of the Northumberland coast.

Park off road and unpack with ease into this fantastic holiday home, settling down in one of the leather sofas of the sitting/dining room and enjoying a hot beverage as you plan the day ahead of you, and for relaxed afternoons spent with a good book, there is an excellent second sitting room in the conservatory, overlooking the garden where quaint dining furniture makes alfresco dining a must.

The kitchen is amply fitted, all amenities stashed neatly away into contemporary cupboards, so why not cook up a storm made from local produce and enjoy your masterpiece in the dining area?

Freshen up in the shower room before cosying up for the night in one of the three bedrooms, a ground-floor king-size with a TV and handy en-suite, a king-size zip-link bed that can be set up as a twin on request and a double bedroom.

Seahouses is a wonderful coastal village with local shops, pubs, cafes and a convenience store within easy reach of the property, so why not enjoy a family meal out with a glass of your favourite beverage?

Seahouses has a stunning sandy beach, and two more beaches, North Sunderland Beach and Bell’s Point, are close by, however if you wish to explore the coast further then boat tours are available from Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours.

Travel a little further from the town and you will find the historic town of Bamburgh where there will be more tasty eateries as well as the spectacular Bamburgh Castle for you to visit, and beyond that the incredible Holy Island.

Make a seaside holiday to remember with a stay at Annstead House.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

SEAHOUSES

Beadnell 1.8 miles; Bamburgh 3.5 miles; Alnwick 14.8 miles.

A bustling, pretty fishing village with an attractive harbour, situated on the beautiful Northumbrian coast in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Seahouses offers a variety of shops and a good selection of inns, pubs and eating places. Nearby are miles and miles of splendid sandy beaches and the opportunity to visit the bird sanctuary or seal colony on the famous Farne Islands with boat trips running daily from Seahouses, is not to be missed. There are numerous castles and great houses to explore, such as the magnificent castles at Bamburgh, Cragside, and Alnwick (home of the Duke of Northumberland), to mention just a few. Golf, fishing and riding are also available locally.

The bed in bedroom 2 is a king-size zip-link as standard, if you require this to be twin beds, please contact us.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas