Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 43 View Image Gallery
  • Lady Pond Retreat - Peak District - 1051369 - photo 1
close

Lady Pond Retreat

(Ref. 1051369)

Bradley near Ashbourne, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map

4.3

Sykes rating

  • 9 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • hot (11)
  • hot tub (10)
  • tub (9)
  • bed (8)
  • stay (7)
  • property (7)

17 Customer Reviews

  • "Thank you for a lovely stay."

    The property was exactly what our group was looking for to get together to celebrate the new year. There was enough parking for our cars, the location was remote and beautiful with lovely views and the large open plan communal area in the house was perfect for 9 people to socialise. We were particularly pleased with the character of the property and the two hot tubs for each stay for upstairs and downstairs guests. Thank you again and we will certainly be back!

    Thanks for your nice review! We’re really happy you had a lovely stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emily4.4Dec 2023

  • "We stayed in this property last year and hopefully we’ll do the same next year, I think that says it all!"

    Thanks Susan for your nice review! We’re really happy you like the property and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Dec 2023

  • "The Hot Tub was not great."

    Communication was atrocious and there was NO SIGNAL at all in the whole place, you had to drive into town to get a single.

    You are only saying the hot tub isn’t great because you splashed water out it below the jet lines and caused it to break! This was repaired at no cost to yourself and ready for the next guests. The property was also left in a terrible condition which was very upsetting! There is a good phone signal on all networks apart from 3 which can be poor. The WiFi is 900mbp full fibre to the premises. We are always on hand to rectify any issues guests may have. Thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rabiya3.8Jun 2023

  • "This is our first ever Vrbo/Sykes and we were pleasantly surprised."

    The rooms were all sized as pictured, so we had plenty of space for 9 and even though you are in the roof - and we were there during the June 2023 heatwave - it did not get hot, as we had a breeze running through with keeping all the windows open, including the one on the landing and sometimes the entry door. The twenty-somethings were dismayed they couldn’t get Wi-Fi until we found the password in the large black welcome folder on the kitchen counter! There are two under counter fridges and freezers, one of each in the kitchen pantry and one of each in the utility room. There are also two microwaves and all the pots, pans and serve ware you would ever need, including plasticware for small children. Lots of vegetable oil, salt and pepper left by previous residents, so don’t buy any and we left ketchup and mayonnaise in the fridge for future guests. Very comfy mattresses and pillows, and bedding and towels were clean and bright white, although towels were a bit scratchy. On leaving day we got chatting with a grounds man that told us the hot tub is emptied and refilled after every guest stay, which was good to know. Only gripe would be the windows need cleaning and there are dust/cobwebs around some windows, beams and up in the apex and the primary wash basin and shower tray drain a bit slow, but none of these points had any impact on the wonderful time we all had and we would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by Paul4.1Jun 2023

  • "Fantastic place to stay!"

    ! Enjoyed every minute. The farm was an added bonus especially for the kids who got to see the calfs. Only downside was the fishing pond - unable to gain access and my eldest was really looking forward to doing a spot of fishing. Overall though the place was clean, fully equipped and very spacious. The hot tub went down a treat too. Would highly recommend. Thank you for letting us stay and enjoy the area of Derbyshire

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7Jun 2023

  • "Had a fantastic stay at the cottage, it was fully equipped with all amenities that we needed."

    Set in a lovely location and the hot tub was brilliant. The beds were particularly comfy which added to a good nights sleep. Would highly recommend and will be looking to visiting again in the future. Overall an enjoyable stay by all of us

    Reviewed by Lynette4.4Apr 2023

  • "A great stay for us girls who have busy mum lives."

    It was just what we needed and we picked the perfect location. Quiet, spacious, clean and affordable. We would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had such a lovely time at the Lady Pond Retreat."

    Its located in a very convenient and peaceful location that's perfect for an unwind from the city. Lots of farms, activities, and treks are very closely located from the accommodation. The property itself is extremely clean, kitted out with everything you'll need i.e. plates, cutlery, dishwasher, washing machine. The beds are comfortable, and lots of bedrooms/bathrooms for a whole family! The hot tub is a lovely bonus feature which makes an amazing place to unwind after a long day. The owner and the property management company are extremely friendly, accommodating, helpful and definitely care about making sure you have the best experience at this retreat. Thank you very much for making our weekend so lovely!

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to read you had such a lovely stay and we would look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Uthman5.0Aug 2022

  • "Hot tub was great fun for both adults and kids."

    Location only 20 mins from Alton towers. Located next to a farm who was nice enough to invite kids in to see calf’s and cows.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to read you had such a lovely stay and we would look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Briony3.8Jul 2022

  • "Overall we had a very nice stay."

    The hot tub looking out over the country side was a highlight. For the price the property is a little tired looking in places. The shower in the bedroom at the end of the corridor was blocked / very slow to drain so we had to be mindful of use. Only mentioning it so it can be looked at for future guests.

    Reviewed by Jack4.1Jul 2022

  • "Lady Pond Retreat is very comfortable and well equipped in all aspects - everyone thought it was a great place."

    We all enjoyed the hot tub too. Really helped having plates, cups and cutlery for little children (might be worth mentioning that in the details - save bringing them with you as we did!). Would not hesitate to recommend this venue.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to read you had such a lovely stay and we would look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yvonne5.0Jun 2022

  • "Overall good had a few queries which the owner replied back so positive there but main issue cleanliness have got a little list."

    A couple were 'dirty' toilet brush left in hall my grandson picked up, the drain in our shower was disgusting weeks worth of 'debris', tables with ring marks on, the sofas had a lot of drink ,food drips, upstairs fridge was dirty don't won't to be negative but the issue is obviously with the company doing the cleaning. A few items of bedding could do with replacing.

    Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry that the property was not found in the condition that we strive for. We are speaking to the cleaners and thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melanie2.8May 2022

  • "An amazing property which lived up to expectations."

    It was perfect for our weekend away with friends. The management were very helpful and answered any questions we had. The facilities were great, a spacious open living space which was perfect for socialising with friends, the rooms were of good size and the 3 bathrooms were an added bonus. There was plenty of storage including 2 fridges and 2 freezers as well as a dishwasher. The jacuzzi topped the property off and was a very nice additional touch. The surrounding area was also beautiful and we were able to walk and explore the area. The only feedback we would give is some of the bed linen and towels were stained and the key for the door made it extremely hard to open the door. Every time we locked it, it then took almost 10 minutes to get it open again, this concerned us as it was the only available exit to the property.

    Reviewed by Kesha4.7Mar 2022

  • "The property was lovely and we had a good holiday."

    Reviewed by Nick3.8Oct 2021

  • "I'm afraid we would like to make a general complaint about our accommodation experience."

    We understand that there was an uplift on the accommodation due to demand, however the standards did not meet the 5 star rating that you give this. The accommodation was poorly equipped with no potato peeler, no large glasses, not enough teaspoons, no binbags, very little toilet roll and no washing up cloths. The shower in one ensuite was broken (I have a photo to show this though can't attach to this, and both ensuites stank of sewerage. The kitchen freezer was unusable as it was completely full of ice and in desperate need of defrosting. The beds had not been made up as requested and as we moved them we realised that one ziplock was broken. It was advertised as having a garden and patio, when in actual fact it just had a think strip of garden on the other side of the drive. This strip was further diminished when builders showed up halfway through our stay to build the new hot tub platform. We had had no prior warning of this. They left power tools out despite our children being outside, and left wet cement to dry one evening without telling us. Which of course the children ended up standing in. We had to listen to building noises from 8am each morning and had a HGV pulling up at regular intervals delivered materials for them. The property details also suggested we had use of a field opposite the accommodation, by the church. This was in use for horses, so not accessible to us. In addition to the above, the key safe code we were given was incorrect. When we rang Sykes to help they did not provide us with the code but stated that the owner would be there shortly. an hour late we rang them again and they were able to give us the code straight away. This was a disappointing start. We require a response to our comments, particularly as previous guests had commented upon the broken ziplock, broken shower and iced-up freezer, yet these hadn't been attended to prior to our arrival.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you did not have the experience you had expected, if we had been made aware of any of the points raised we would of been very happy to assist in any way. We did inform you about the builders, however you had advised that this was not an issue, we would of been happy to reschedule if it was. We had checked the shower upon your departure but could not find any issues, we had noticed a strange smell which had come from the shower trap, which was removed and reinstalled with no issues, if we had been informed we would of been happy to resolve this for you. We have fed back to our cleaning team in regards to leaving toiletries for future guests, thank you for raising this with us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eve2.5Aug 2021

  • "We had a enjoyable family time together but it could have been better."

    It failed to meet expectations for the following reasons: 1) The Internet / Wi-Fi was very unreliable and kept dropping 2) The TV's in the bedroom were unable to connect to the internet 3) The main freezer was full of ice and we were unable to store any food items 4) Unpleasant smell in the bedroom with the en-suite bathroom and unable to close the bathroom door. The shower was also broken and it works only in one direction 5) The fishing lake was inaccessible 6) All bedrooms had winter duvet and was very hot in the night 7) The zip link on the king size bed is broken making it difficult to sleep

    Thank you for your feedback. The owner was surprised to read your comments as you did not contact him during your stay. The internet is fibre to the premises 900 mbps so it shouldn't cut off, however the owner will check this. There are two freezers but the owner will defrost the one you mention if it is full of ice. The cleaners have not mentioned any smell in the property however the owner will check for this whilst he repairs the door. The fishing lake is accessible and the owner again could have assisted you with this. The duvets are 13.5 tog but these could have been changed to a 4.5 tog if you had asked. Thank you again for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Santosh2.5Aug 2021

  • "Great place for a family get together."

    Reviewed by Rosemary4.7Jul 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • First-floor layout
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite, separate bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x family room with king-size (zip/link) and single with en-suite shower room, basin and WC, 1 x king-size (zip/link)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area (seats 10) and sitting area with sofa bed.
  • Biomass heating
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge, freezer, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, 4 x Smart TV with DVD and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • Off-road parking for 3+ cars
  • Garden with 6 seater hot tub, patio and seating
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 3.3 miles, pub 2.4 miles
  • Note: This property is located above Yew Tree Nook (1051373) which sleeps up to 8 guests, together the properties can sleep 17 guests
  • Note: This property has a good housekeeping bond of £200
  • Please Note : All outside noise is to stop at 10.15pm out of respect for the neighbouring properties, the hot tub therefore can not be used after 10.15pm either thank you
  • Note: free carp fishing available on the owner’s private lake which is located directly opposite the property

The property

Ashbourne 3.1 miles.

Lady Pond Retreat is a superb Grade II listed apartment attached to the elegant Bradley Hall, located in the picturesque village of Bradley, Derbyshire with the Peak District on the doorstep.

Holding reams of character, featuring fantastic exposed ceiling beams and brickwork, surrounded by quaint gardens and grounds, including a fishing lake with plenty of carp, it makes an ideal choice for a family or group looking to enjoy Derbyshire.

After climbing the original external stone steps and coming through the front door, find the laundry facilities to the right before continuing up to the first floor to the beautiful apartment.

Be welcomed into the extensive open-plan dining kitchen and living room, immediately admiring the dramatic apex ceiling held up with solid oak beams, and the soft duck egg blue fitted kitchen, presenting a quaint country style, there is plenty of seating here to accommodate all guests.

Carry on past the substantial dining space, before coming to the relaxing sitting area, enjoy gathering the group on a quiet evening to watch a film on the large flatscreen Smart TV with DVD, there is a sofa bed in here to accommodate two guests.

Beyond this area are three lovely bedrooms, consisting of a king-size zip/link bed so it can be twin on request, a king-size room with a spacious en-suite bathroom, complete with separate bath and walk-in shower, and finally a family room hosting a king-size zip/link bed and a single, with an en-suite luxury shower room.

Completing the interior is the family bathroom, home to a shower over bath.

Step outside on a sunny day and spend time in the pretty garden to the side of the property, where a lawn and patio make an excellent spot for some alfresco dining.

Keen anglers will be delighted to know that guests staying at Lady Pond Retreat are welcome to enjoy unlimited access to Bradley Hall estate's fishing lake, well-stocked with large carp and fresh water fish, it lies just a couple of minutes walk from the property.

For any food and essentials, you can find plenty of shops along the cobbled, narrow streets of the neighbouring market town of Ashbourne.

Plenty of attractions and activities can be found in all directions in this part of Derbyshire; head up to Carsington Water and choose from an array of activities including water sports like canoeing, kayaking and windsurfing, or choose to explore on foot or bike taking the trail around the water.

An easy drive can bring you to Alton Towers for a day of exhilarating fun, riding rollercoasters and rides within the elegant grounds.

The scenic Dovedale Valley is also close by and with its impressive limestone ravines, iconic stepping stones, and great range of walking routes for all abilities, you are sure to find something to suit your group.

Lady Pond Retreat is a unique property ideal for a superb stay in Derbyshire.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

ASHBOURNE

Matlock 15.7 miles; Bakewell 16.6 miles; Chatsworth 20.4 miles.

Lying at the southern end of the Peak District, Ashbourne is a perfect example of an English market town - market place with stalls, eccentric street plan, narrow cobbled alleys, coaching inns and almshouses. In its heyday in the 18th-century, the town was a fashionable social centre, and many fine Georgian buildings remain from this period. Today the town still has much to offer in terms of restaurants and inns and is regarded as something of a haven for antique hunters - but don’t expect a bargain! For those who prefer more outdoor pursuits, the Dove and Manifold Valleys are close by and for thrill seekers Alton Towers with its exciting collection of rides and attractions is just a short drive away.

View more holiday cottages in Ashbourne

Please Note : All outside noise is to stop at 10.15pm out of respect for the neighbouring properties, the hot tub therefore can not be used after 10.15pm either thank you.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas