Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • Dobbies Den - Cotswolds - 1133010 - photo 1
close

Dobbies Den

(Ref. 1133010)

Bewdley, Worcestershire Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • garden (10)
  • comfortable (9)
  • lovely (8)
  • our (8)
  • clean (7)
  • cottage (7)

16 Customer Reviews

  • "The dogs loved the garden."

    We found the bathroom being downstairs difficult if we needed to go in the night which is just something to be aware of. We would definitely go back. A couple of sun loungers would have been nice. Thank you

    Reviewed by Anne4.1May 2024

  • "We arrived earlier at the property and knocked at the door."

    As there was no answer we thought the property had been cleaned. We were going to ring the owner immediately and ask as a gesture of goodwill could we put some frozen food in the small icebox as we had been in Ludlow the previous week. We would have left then and returned after the cleaning. The cleaners turned up quite later. We did call the owner on arrival !!! As he wasn't there to see why we had complained, we got the impression he thought we were exaggerating. I did take a photograph. This is the first time we have come across this in all our years of using Sykes Holiday Cottages.The icebox had obviously been left for a couple of weeks and not been defrosted, the door would barely close. it was packed full of ice and blackcurrant spilled in it. The cleaners sorted the icebox and when we got back the fridge was turned off! I'm wondering if it hadn't been brought to the owner's notice, would this had been left again.We then found the kitchen cutlery drawers weren't very clean, the cupboard doors grubby, there was some dirty cutlery. We cleaned them ourselves and cleaned all the cutlery and the dishes. We also wiped the inside of the cupboards. Attention to detail with these cleanliness issues are important. As the owners didn't live nearby it might help if they occasionally came and checked for themselves avoiding negative feedback on important cleanliness issues. The bathroom was cold with one small towel rail. It needs extra heating, particularly in winter. The television kept freezing with a faulty signal. If these issues were addressed then the property would be given more stars. The property was on a very noisy main through road in and out of the town but did not affect our sleep. It eased off in the late evening. There was also a large building site over the road. On the positive side the beds were comfortable and the property was warm. It had a large garden at the back of the property. It was also convenient for a walk into the town. There was a good chip shop a few minutes walk from the property and a nice quiet local pub. If all of these issues were addressed at the property we would return if we were to revisit Bewdley.

    As stated, the check in time is 3pm. You let yourselves in at 12pm with no phone call to ourselves. You then called complaining re the cleanliness of the property and the ice box. We explained that the previous guests checked out at 10am and that it was booked to be cleaned at 1pm. ( 3 cleaners) We apologised re the ice box and would have come down to sort, however it would be done at 1pm. We asked, politely, if you could leave the property so it could be cleaned but you refused. The cleaners had to insist due to insurance as you were still there when they arrived at 1pm and you were asking to clean the property yourself. We let you know when the property was ready which was before 3pm. We do in fact check the property on a regular basis. We listen to customers comments and adjust the property accordingly. The company we use are fantastic. They go above and beyond and we have never had a problem. We have a very high cleanliness rating and it is often commented on favourably in reviews. There are some houses being built in the local area but this has not caused any visual or noise impact concerns to guests at this point. If you had called during your stay regarding the television we would have popped down or talked you through how to sort. We have looked at the radiator and it just needed some adjustments to the heating system. Thank you for your comments, Jo and Todd Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret3.8Apr 2024

  • "Whilst the cottage was cosy and ideally situated for our needs there were a couple of issues… The downstairs Bathroom was extremely cold in comparison to the cottage…A bigger radiator/towel rail would help."

    The glass shower panel water trim needs a good clean or replacing The Garden needs a good tidy TV reception was very poor and picture kept freezing Apart from the above we enjoyed staying at Dobbies Den and ‘The welcome package’ was lovely.

    Thank you so much for the feedback. The garden is checked and done monthly during the winter and is due to be done this week. Unfortunately the crazy amount of rain we have had hasn’t helped. The Tv is on freeview and internet 5g and shouldn’t be slow. Apologies for that. It probably just needs a reset which we will do. We will look into the radiator and sort the trim. We are glad you had a lovely stay and look forward to seeing you again, Jo and Todd Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen4.1Apr 2024

  • "Had a lovely relaxing stay."

    Clean and comfortable. Great location.

    Thank you so much for you review. We hope to see you again, Jo and Todd Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Feb 2024

  • "We had a lovely week at Dobbies Den."

    Ideal location for us, with our family living nearby and some lovely walks on the doorstep. The dogs really enjoyed it! Hope to stay here again in the future.

    So glad you had a lovely stay over New Years Eve. We look forward to seeing you again, Jo and Todd Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tamla4.7Dec 2023

  • "Had a great stay over Christmas."

    The decorations & welcome pack were much appreciated. Property was well equipped and cosy. Beds were really comfy. Garden was enclosed-ideal for dogs & children. Off road parking was big enough for 2 cars. Will definitely be back.

    We are so glad you had a lovely stay over Christmas. We look forward to seeing you again, Jo and Todd Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rose4.7Dec 2023

  • "Really nice furnishing."

    Kitchen had everything we needed and all appliances were spotless. The garden was great for the dog.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope to see you again, Jo and Todd :-) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Josh5.0Nov 2023

  • "We loved our week at this cosy little cottage with our two children and two dogs."

    It’s been beautifully decorated, was very comfortable and clean and has everything we needed (we did miss our dishwasher and washing machine but we coped and it was fine!). The welcome pack was really thoughtful including bread, butter and dog treats. It was also really nice to have hair products and lots of soap and cleaning products. It’s an easy walk into Bewdley and a very easy drive to so many lovely walks. We absolutely loved the Habberley Valley circular walk and the Wyre Forest. The fish and chips from over the road were delicious. The cottage is on a very busy road so if your dogs are prone to rushing out the door you would need to take care. Our dogs loved the big enclosed garden.

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. There is also a fab circular walk down a path to the left of the Safari park entrance which takes you round the back of the safari park, through the Rifle Range and back into Bewdley. Also another (smaller walk) to the right hand side of Catchems End fish and chip shop. You might even see an Elephant on route :-) We hope to see you again, Jo and Todd. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hannah4.4Oct 2023

  • "Dobbie’s Den was very clean, well presented and very comfortable."

    The location is great and very handy for access to local amenities. The large garden was also great for our dog and will definitely be looking to book a week next year ! Many thanks for a great stay !

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again, Jo and Todd Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ronnie5.0Oct 2023

  • "The cottage is located in a great location to explore the surrounding area."

    It's a 15 minute walk to the center of Bewdley. It's cosy and tastefully furnished, with a basic, dog friendly garden. It's situated on a busy main road.

    Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again, Jo and Todd :-) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.4Sep 2023

  • "This was a lovely well equipped comfortable property near to the town centre and close to lots of tourists attractions."

    It was great having off street parking and there was a lovely garden at the back of the house. The main problem we had was getting into the property. The front door was very difficult to open

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. We will take a look at the front door and sort. We hope to see you again, Jo and Todd :-) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jackie4.4Aug 2023

  • "We had a good stay at Dobbies Den ."

    We were disappointed that there was only comfortable seating for 3 adults that being a two seater sofa and 1 comfortable chair our party was 4 adults. Bedrooms were beautiful and comfortable beds . But property is on a very busy road so noisy.We had a issue with tv but was it resolved quickly thanks.

    Thank you so much for your review. We have taken on board your comment re seating and will rectify. Unfortunately there was a road diversion past the property during your stay hence there was a lot more traffic than usual which was unfortunate. We hope to see you again, Jo and Todd :-) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda3.4Aug 2023

  • "Very comfortable,relaxing and clean tidy everything needed was in the cottage ..."

    Very comfortable,relaxing and clean tidy everything needed was in the cottage people where very friendly i would highly recommend this cottage for anyone especially if you are taking your dog all in all absolutely lovely

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you again, Jo and Todd:-) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Aug 2023

  • "This lovely little cottage was spoiled by the unkempt condition of the garden which was nothing like in the pictures."

    Also, although the bathroom was stunning the addition a of grab rail to help get in the bath would have been useful as it is rather high to step over. Another grab rail and a non slip bathmat would be good health and safety features too. Thanks

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry about the garden and hadn't realised how overgrown it had become. We are now having it maintained on a more regular basis. Also we have taken on board your thoughts re the bathroom. We hope to see you again, Jo and Todd :-) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve3.4Jul 2023

  • "A lovely cottage, spotlessly clean rooms, comfortable beds and settee, well equipped kitchen, a welcome pack, excellent shower, soft towels and other homely touches, made our stay there all the more enjoyable."

    The owners were exceedingly helpful when we had a problem with the TV. Their friendly manner and quick response was much appreciated. I would highly recommend this cottage. Jan

    Hi Jan, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you again, Jo and Todd :-) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janice5.0Jun 2023

  • "Beautifully decorated cottage, it was very comfortable we really enjoyed our stay."

    the stairs up to the bedroom were difficult at first but once we got used to them they were fine. We would certainly stay at this gorgeous cottage again we didn't want to go home.

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope you had a wonderful break in Bewdley in the beautiful weather. Property Owner

    Reviewed by June5.0Jun 2023

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Two king-size bedrooms
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over the bath, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge with ice box
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Garden patio with furniture and fire pit
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Please enquire before booking if you wish to take other types of pets
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.7 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Children are welcome but there are no child facilities

The property

This semi-detached cottage lies in the attractive market town of Bewdley, just a short walk from the town centre and many shops, pubs, and restaurants.

Tastefully decorated over two floors, whilst benefitting from off-road parking and a rear enclosed garden, Dobbies Den invites couples and families for a lovely stay in Worcestershire.

Step through the front door into the kitchen/diner, equipped with an electric oven and hob, microwave and fridge with ice box, encouraging home-cooking when you’re not sampling the local restaurants.

Move into the lounge, where you can put your feet, reflecting on the day’s activities, or tuning into the Smart TV.

A patio door leads to the rear garden, where you can relax at the patio furniture or get the fire pit going and entertain each other into the night.

Head upstairs and discover the bedrooms, both featuring king-size beds and a set of drawers for your personal items.

Head out the door and walk a mile over the bridge into the town centre of Bewdley, where you can learn about the local area with a visit to Bewdley Museum, enjoy a picnic in the Jubilee Gardens, or hop on board a vintage steam train as you enjoy a picturesque journey along the Severn Valley Railway.

On your return, there are several fabulous eateries in the town, so treat yourself to a night off cooking and sample some pub grub!

Those who enjoy spending their downtime outdoors with their four-legged friend in tow will be spoilt for choice when selecting a route, with Habberley Valley, Habberley Trail (perfect for both children and dogs), where you can also stop off for a picnic, the Wyre Forest, and Rifle Range Nature Reserve all nearby.

Those keen golfers can tee off at the superb Wharton Park Golf & Country Club, which features an 18-hole championship course and a driving range.

Head to the West Midlands Safari Park and wander around this 150-acre site, discovering a range of animals and a fascinating on-site discovery trail, sure to be loved by the little ones!

Choose Dobbies Den for a special retreat with all the family.

View on map

About the location

BEWDLEY

Stourport-on-Severn 5 miles; Cleobury Mortimer 7 miles.

The attractive market town of Bewdley, once described as "the most perfect Georgian town in Worcestershire", sits on the banks of the River Severn, and is close to the medieval Wyre Forest, with its many walks and cycle trails. Bewdley offers much to delight visitors, with a good choice of pubs, cafes and restaurants along the riverside, many tiny shops, antique and craft galleries, and all surrounded by beautiful countryside with gentle rolling hills, steep wooded valleys and meandering rivers offering many opportunities to discover a rich diversity of wildlife. The area has some of the best attractions in the country, with the Severn Valley Steam Railway, West Midlands Safari Park, numerous National Trust properties and many colourful events throughout the year, including riverside festivals and regattas, open air concerts and family activities. Something for everyone!

View more holiday cottages in Bewdley

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas