Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

7 people have recently viewed Bottomhouse Barn

1 of 13 View Larger Image
  • Bottomhouse Barn - Peak District - 2586 - photo 1

Bottomhouse Barn

Bottomhouse near Ipstones, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales (Ref. 2586)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 15

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets No

  • Show on map


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

30 Customer Reviews

  • "Spent 3 lovely days here for my hen do."

    The accommodation and surrounding area is beautiful. Comfortable, warm, clean and spacious accommodation for me and 14 friends to celebrate. Amazing walks nearby and stunning scenery to enjoy from the hot tub. I didn't meet the hosts as friends arranged everything but they advised me they were friendly and helpful. Thanks for a lovely stay we hope to be back again in the future :)

    Reviewed by JessicaMay 2022

  • "We recently visited for my sisters family hen weekend, and had an amazing time."

    We were given all the information on how everything worked in the barn, and nearby places to eat/visit, very helpful owners. The barn came equipped with everything you could possibly need, was very clean and the hot tub was perfect with stunning views to look out on while relaxing. Would definitely recommend, and would love to return. Thank you for having us!

    Reviewed by KimberleyApr 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Bottomhouse Barn for a hen do weekend!"

    It had everything we needed for our girly trip: plenty of communal space, comfy beds, and a hot tub (which we definitely got our use out of!). Henry took us through everything when we arrived and made sure we were happy. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Reviewed by RebeccaMar 2022

  • "Lovely property, relaxing and clean"

    Reviewed by ChrissyMar 2022

  • "We have just returned home after a lovely stay at Bottomhouse Barn for a ladies weekend away."

    It’s a gorgeous place and very comfortable. Beautiful views (when storms Eunice and Franklin weren’t obscuring the scenery!) with patio doors which look out across the landscape. It was very easy to relax by the wood burning fire and everything was provided to light it. It was warm, cosy and very clean. We would definitely recommend starting here if there’s a large group of you. All the extras were provided such as washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs, bin bags, condiments, and even a bag of ice! Thank you for a relaxing and stress free stay

    Reviewed by AmyFeb 2022

  • "Fantastic stay for my sisters hen party."

    Will defo be returning one day. Henry was so helpful upon arrival with everything so thank you. What a lovely place to stay!

    Reviewed by CharlotteFeb 2022

  • "We have just got back from the Barn celebrating a Hen party."

    The barn is absolutely stunning and the pictures definitely don’t do it justice, Henry was very welcoming and gave me guide on how everything worked. Lots of information in the barn about local places to visit etc, For anyone thinking of visiting definitely follow the instructions on the check in email rather than the sat nav as it is tucked away nicely. The barn was well equipped with towels, tea towels and the basics, washing up liquid etc (no sweeping brush which would be a handy thing to add) overall a brilliant weekend and definitely will be returning to Bottom House Barn.

    Reviewed by HollyJan 2022

  • "We stayed at the barn for 3 nights over New Year."

    The owner was lovely very helpful and left us a gift on arrival. The barn was spacious ideal for our large family and had all the amenities. It’s was very clean.The views were beautiful and we enjoyed a walk into Ipstones. I would definitely recommend x

    Reviewed by JennieDec 2021

  • "Everything was really comfortable and we had a great stay."

    The owners were on hand for any concerns & the property was really well equipped. The only issue that we had was that due to 2 power cuts during our stay the hot tub lost temperature & took time to heat back up & we didn't get to use it as much as we wanted - we weren't offered a partial refund on this facility which was very expensive to hire for a weekend.

    Dear Julie, Thankyou for your lovely comments. We were pleased to note that you all had a great weekend break and loved the cottage. Storm Arwen was indeed challenging and an early white Christmas was unexpected. Staff are always available 24 hours a day to contact should you have any difficulties using the facilities. We hope to see you all again next year. Best wishes. The Owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JulieNov 2021

  • "We had a fabulous stay at Bottomhouse Barn ."

    The barn was perfect for our stay, in a great location and the owners were very helpful . We would love to come back soon !

    Reviewed by KateOct 2021

  • "We had a fantastic break at the Bottomhouse barn and I would highly recommend this accommodation to others."

    We had a brilliant experience and we topped it off by hiring a private chef and private yoga teacher which is was stunning on the grounds.

    Reviewed by AmandaSep 2021

  • "Really lovely place to stay in a very quiet area."

    It was nice that the horses featured in the pictures are actually at the end of the garden and will come and say hi during your stay! The place was well stocked for 15 with enough kitchenware, bedding and towels for everyone and we enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by EmilyJul 2021

  • "Beautiful converted barn."

    Very comfy beds. We loved the hot tub, even when the British weather let us down. Very well equipped kitchen, absolutely everything we needed. Helpful and friendly owner. Thank you

    Reviewed by CarolineAug 2020

  • "Bottom house barn that we visit was wonderful."

    It was in a stunning location with great views and the barn owner was very welcoming and thorough with information on checking in. The barn was comfortable and warm (on a pretty chilli weekend) and the hot tub had great views when relaxing. However unfortunately I cannot say that my experience in using Sykes was positive this booking was as a result of a previous booking being messed up due to some vouchers however again they failed to tell us vital information again including additional costs to use the hot tub and a good house keeping bond and put this down to assuming that customers read all details on line even though we booked over the phone. I cannot say I will be in a rush to book with them again.

    Many thanks for your lovely feedback regarding the property. I can see from our records that we have now spoken to you regarding the Sykes error that was made when you booked over the phone. We are sorry for this human error and I can see that you have accepted a gesture of compensation for this. I do hope that you will book with Sykes again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CharlotteOct 2019

  • "Amazing venue and lovely hosts."

    Couldn't recommend enough.

    Reviewed by SarahSep 2019

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Bottomhouse Barn for my sister's hen weekend, the barn had everything we needed for a really relaxing and enjoyable weekend - we definitely made good use of the hot tub!"

    Henry was great, he met me on arrival and showed me around so I knew how everything worked and left us leaflets of local attractions and takeaways. The beds were so comfy, everywhere was so clean and tidy with plenty of towels for all the girls. The kitchen is really well stocked with plates and cutlery and bowls, and the big fridge, large oven and wine cooler were a godsend for us all. We went to Wild Park Derbyshire on the Saturday and did the laser adventure, only 20 minutes away and really great fun! Alton Towers is also only 6 miles away so a great base for exploring and adventure!! Would highly recommend Bottomhouse Barn for groups, really great find, thank you.

    Reviewed by EmmaJun 2019

  • "We stayed here for my friends hen party in April this year."

    15 of us stayed over and a few more visited during the day and there was plenty of room. It’s a lot bigger than it looks on the photos, very spacious and lovely outdoor space with large seating area inside and out, lovely new hot tub, shame we were unlucky with the weather as we would have definitely made use of this space outside and the hot tub otherwise ... There is everything you need; dishwasher, large fridge freezer, washing machine, drinks fridge. Plenty of crockery and utensils and they even left us some washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets, tea towels and cloths. Plenty of toilet roll and towels provided. It was perfect for what we wanted and will definitely consider revisiting with family some time. Host, Henry was very attentive and showed us how everything worked on our arrival. Plenty of space for parking by the barn too! Would definitely recommend! ThanksXx

    Reviewed by LuciaApr 2019

  • "Had a fantastic hen party at the end of March, the Owner went above and beyond to help us it was lovely and would definitely recommend the Hot Tub hire."

    The only downfall was the pub is advertised within one mile which wasn’t the case but we still made alternative arrangements.

    Reviewed by ClaireMar 2019

  • "We hired Bottomhouse Barn for my best friends hen do and had the most fabulous weekend!"

    Such a beautiful location and well equipped barn. The barn is perfectly set up fo Hen do’s with big open planning living space, a hot tub and a wine cooler. The owner Henry was very accommodating friendly and relaxed which made for a great weekend!

    Reviewed by RosieFeb 2019

  • "We had a fantastic stay at bottomhouse barn for a hen party."

    Beautiful building with plenty of room for the 12 of us - lots of beds, fresh towels, a really modern kitchen with wine cooler, and lovely views and hot tub. Couldn't really ask for more!

    Reviewed by HannahFeb 2019

  • "A fabulous week with the family altogether for Christmas."

    Spacious and ideal for families. The hot tub was great. The owner was helpful and we were greeted with a bottle of wine and some Christmas treats.

    Reviewed by JulieDec 2018

  • "The barn was wonderful and came very well equipped."

    We had a party of 12 for a hen party & the use of the hot tub really was a fantastic addition. I would highly recommend the property.

    Reviewed by MargaretOct 2018

  • "Great location and awesome barn however I do feel the hot tub should be an inclusive feature in the existing price and not an additional option as the price of the barn is a little expensive for a week."

    Reviewed by JeanJul 2018

  • "Henry at Bottomhouse Barn was fantastic."

    He was so helpful and was happy to help out with anything we needed over the course of the weekend. The house is just stunning, finished to a very high standard, incredibly clean, spacious and super comfortable. We booked for a 15 ladies for a relaxing hen do and that’s exactly what we got. The hot tub is a must and the size of the garden, over looking fields and countryside, is perfect for some lazy days. We are already synchronising calendars for a return visit next year. Thank you Henry

    Reviewed by KirstyJun 2018

  • "We booked the Barn for our friends Hen Party, there was a group of twelve of us."

    The Barn is fabulous with everything you could wish for inside to make your stay enjoyable. The one thing I would would suggest to make it whole experience any better is the Hot Tub outside could do with a Gazebo of some kind to cover it in case it rains when you're outside, also one side enclosed to give you some privacy when it's dark.

    Reviewed by HelenJun 2017

  • "As a hen group of 14, we all loved the accommodation."

    We didn't realise how open plan it was from the pictures online so it was an added bonus when we arrived, and it suited what we had planned perfectly bringing everyone together in one big space. Mr Cooper was very welcoming and knowledgeable/informative of the surrounding area, and I received my house keeping deposit as scheduled. The only downside was that there was no Wi-Fi, and the TV signal wasn't great so we struggled to play any music. I will definitely be recommending this cottage to anyone looking for a place to stay.

    Reviewed by LaurenMar 2017

  • "Had a really enjoyable weekend here."

    Lovely place to stay the owner was very helpful would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by MandyFeb 2017

  • "Bottomhouse Barn is amazing, its spotless, in a beautiful location, loads of ..."

    Bottomhouse Barn is amazing, its spotless, in a beautiful location, loads of room and just perfect for a weekend away with the girls

    Reviewed by ClaireJan 2017

  • "The holiday home was amazing."

    Set in a beautiful area. The owners live on site and was at hand if we needed them. Upon arrival a bottle of wine was left and an orientation given. The kitchen was very well equipped and we had everything we needed. Thanks :)

    Reviewed by LauraOct 2016

  • "Everyone really enjoyed our stay, went on some great local walks, would recommend to any family."

    Reviewed by RobertAug 2016

Show more


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x large family with double & 3 single beds with en-suite shower, basin, WC, 1 x 4' double, 1 x large family with double bed & 3 single beds with en-suite shower, basin, WC, 1 x adult bunks, 1 x single sofa bed on spacious landing
  • Large ground floor wet room with shower, basin, WC
  • Large living area with solid oak flooring, quality kitchen, solid oak dining table & chairs (seats 16)
  • Sitting area with woodburner, French windows & spiral staircase
  • Note: One of the family rooms can be accessed via internal steps or external staircase
  • Note: High heels must not be worn on the oak flooring.
  • Electric heating with woodburner
  • Gas range, electric oven, microwave, American-style fridge/freezer, wine cooler, washer, dryer in outside Barn, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, radio/CD
  • Fuel, power & initial supply for woodburner inc. in rent
  • Bed linen & towels inc. in rent
  • Cot & highchair
  • Large, enclosed garden with patio, furniture & gas BBQ
  • Hot tub available at charge of £150 per week or short break, payable direct to owner
  • Off road parking for 6 cars
  • Sorry, no pets & no smoking
  • Shop 2 miles, pub 1.5 miles restaurant 5 mins walk
  • Note: Mobile Phone, Data Roaming and TV reception is good at this property
  • Note: No stag parties allowed at this property
  • Note: Max 15 people including infants
  • Note: This property is unable to accept any wedding parties
  • Note: 4G, Mobile Phone, Data Roaming and TV reception is good at this property
  • No tents & camper vans on site
  • Please note: Electric car recharging battery £10 per day per car, payable on site
  • Please note: The number of people occupying this property should not exceed the number stated on the Holiday Confirmation
  • If you wish to invite additional guests, this must be agreed by the owner in advance
  • Please note: This property doesn't accept any third party agency bookings on behalf of clients.

The property

A stunning, detached, architect-designed 18th century stone barn conversion, is situated on a farm in the countryside, on a large open complex and rests within the rural hamlet of Bottomhouse, on the outskirts of Ipstones.

On the edge of a large courtyard with views across open countryside, this beautifully converted accommodation offers a spacious open plan living area with woodburner, a spiral staircase, old beams, solid oak flooring and a wet room.

With delightful bedrooms, en-suites and a spacious garden with an optional hot tub, guests are assured of a wonderful holiday.

The property is ideally placed for exploring the Peak District National Park, the Churnet Valley and Alton Towers.

Short and long walks abound.

The property offers activities for outside therapy and classes, which is payable direct to the owners, please ask them for more information.

Note: This property is 10 metres from Curlew Barn, Ref. 3596, they can be booked together to sleep 21 people.

Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Leek 6 miles; Ashbourne 9 miles.

The attractive rural village of Ipstones lies on the western fringes of the Peak District in lovely moorland countryside, between the market towns of Leek and Ashbourne. The village offers a post office, village shop and pubs serving food. The surrounding countryside is excellent for walking with miles of woodland trails and moorland hikes to enjoy. Dovedale and the limestone Churnet Valley are on the doorstep and The Manifold Trail is close by. There is easy access to many of the area's attractions including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, Lyme Park (NT) as seen in TV’s Pride & Prejudice, the NT Ilam Estate or Peak Wildlife Park. A great touring base for all the Peak District - and Alton Towers is just a 10 minute drive away.

Region Information

Please note: The number of people occupying this property should not exceed the number stated on the Holiday Confirmation. If you wish to invite additional guests, this must be agreed by the owner in advance.

Note: This property can only be booked together with Curlew Barn and cannot be booked with any other property.

Note: No stag parties allowed at this property.

Hot tub available at charge of £150 per week or short break, payable direct to owner

Please note: Electric car recharging battery £10 per day per car, payable on site.

Please note: This property doesn't accept any third party agency bookings on behalf of clients.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute