Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outSave up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Larger Image
  • Bunbury - Peak District - 4301 - photo 1
close

Bunbury

Farley Near Alton Towers, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales (Ref. 4301)

4.5

Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 10

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

24 Customer Reviews

  • "The property was amazing!"

    Literally five minutes walk from the gates of Alton Towers, enough space for everyone and fully equipped to enjoy your stay. We had an amazing weekend and the village where it is was beautiful. Really would (and have already) recommended this property. We would revisit in a heartbeat!

    Reviewed by NaomiMay 2022

  • "Great location for theme park!"

    Couldn't fault it. Only issue was I enquired about hiring travel cot to save us taking one and had no reply

    Reviewed by StephanieOct 2021

  • "Great location for Alton towers and other local attractions such as Dovedale and peak wildlife park."

    Was like a home from home, large garden/lawn, lovely big dining table, most kitchen utensils/tableware etc provided, no teapot however host did provide one when requested. Lovely and light with sky lights in upstairs bedrooms, rooms a good size and bathrooms. Great to have a washing machine and easy to use. Beds and towels clean(although towels were a little worn). Would suggest beds are replaced one is clearly broken and unusable (not required for our stay), others clearly repaired. Upstairs double was not supportive for us and had move mattress to floor (inconvenient for week long stay, maybe ok for a few nights, but understand this is a personal thing). Large sofa which easily accommodates amount of people able to stay however all separate parts so would move easily when using. Wasn’t as clean as could have been, sweet found on floor in living room upon arrival, and false eyelash by sofa. Bathroom cabinet downstairs had marks inside from previous use from toothbrushes. Also no mention of air filtration system which was a bit noisy in upstairs bedrooms and a surprise when switches accidentally pushed, maybe provide information on this in welcome book as we didn’t really understand what it was or how it worked when we first arrived. Also could do with bins in bathrooms. We would return if we were planning to stay in this area again as it was so easy to get around and ideal for the theme park, just wish they had a proper pedestrian entrance.

    Reviewed by RichardSep 2021

  • "The mattresses on the beds need replacing as they dip in the middle and are uncomfortable."

    The hot water/shower system needs up grading as it’s not man enough for 8 people and showers etc. Whilst the water was hot there is not enough pressure in the system despite the plumber taking a look.

    Reviewed by HeidiAug 2021

  • "Had a lovely stay at the cottage."

    My teenager and his friend spent nearly every day at the theme park only a few minutes walk away while the rest of us took the Toddler on excursions in the surrounding areas. Beautiful home for the week. Especially loved the barn door so could let the breeze in whilst keeping the Toddler safe inside.

    Reviewed by HollyAug 2021

  • "These Cottages really are excellent, very spacious and well appointed."

    Good outdoor area and could not be closer to Alton Towers. They are actually closer to the entrance than the parks own accommodation.

    Reviewed by KrisJul 2021

  • "Had to contact the owner a couple of times over the weekend about a couple of minor issues but both times we got a very speedy reply."

    Excellent house, would recommend.

    Reviewed by VickyJun 2021

  • "The only issue we had was we couldn't work the stairgate so it made life a bit difficult with the kids."

    Also a piece of velcro missing in one of the rooms for the velux blackout blinds which wasn't ideal and the rooms upstairs were really warm at night. But we really enjoyed the cottage and really enjoyed our stay. Was very well equipped in the kitchen as well - more so than any other holiday cottages I have stayed at before.

    Reviewed by KateMay 2021

  • "What a fantastic find, only minutes away from Alton Towers main entrance."

    The owner Sarah was very helpful allowing us to check in hours early. Only one slight error in the listing which states towels will be provided but none were. It didn’t worry us too much as we are all divers and took our own just in case. The mooing cows have it a real country feel. We will definitely be back.

    Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We had to make some temporary changes due to the pandemic, but we're pleased to say towels are now provided for all guests. We're glad you had such a lovely stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DenisSep 2020

  • "A horrendously loud noise came from the boiler and woke my 5 month old up with a fright every tine someone turned the hot tap on."

    8 of us were showing and washing up before her bed and nap times! The beds were broken on arrival, there were no towels provided.

    Thank you for your feedback. We have stopped providing towels at the moment due to Covid 19 and asked Customers to bring their own with them. These can still be provided if needed. We were made aware of the issue on the Wednesday of your stay. We asked a plumber to attend the next day which they did. The occasional noise was resolved by a new valve being fitted and has not been a problem for guests since Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PeterAug 2020

  • "We had an amazing short stay here ."

    Wish we stayed longer . Absolutely lovely land lady too.

    Thanks for your lovely comments, we're so pleased you had such a fantastic holiday. We hope to see you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by SabinaJul 2020

  • "The only thing to complain about is when using any hot water, either the water tank or pipes would make a horrendous noise!"

    So couldn't have showers and washes without deafening everyone else!

    Thanks for your comments. We have replaced a valve in the boiler to fix the noise you've mentioned. We're sorry this impacted your stay, but we're glad you enjoyed everything else during your holiday with us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JanetJul 2020

  • "Sarah was brilliant and the cottage was perfect for a weekend spent at Alton Towers !"

    ! great property very clean and very well equipped, everything we needed was supplied and more !!!

    Reviewed by RobNov 2019

  • "As soon as you enter the home, there is a warmth about the place."

    It is very well looked after clean and has everything you require for a stay. So close to Alton Towers entrance. We tried to book a room at the Alton Towers hotel but unfortunately it was full, we then found this as an alternative. Initially disappointed at not staying in the hotel our sadness turned to joy as in the end this certainly became a better option all round. Spacious, more independence no worries about noise from neighbours in room next door and still close to the park. I would definitely put this as my first choice of accommodation when going to Alton Towers.

    Reviewed by MiguelOct 2019

  • "The location of the cottage was ideal for visiting Alton Towers, we had 2 pushchairs with us and there was no issues getting to and from the cottage to the park."

    Would recommend and return again. Thanks for a great stay

    Reviewed by JulieJul 2019

  • "Was a really nice place to stay over the weekend while we were at Alton towers, The place was far better then the pictures shown on site, would recommend this property to anyone going to alton towers for the weekend or anywhere else for that matter, great weekend."

    Reviewed by MichaelMar 2019

  • "We stayed at this cottage as we wanted to visit Alton Towers and see the surrounding area."

    I would highly recommend staying here again as it is only a short walk to the theme park and is very spacious and accommodating. I was comfortable staying here and I can't wait to do it again next year.

    Reviewed by CharlotteMar 2019

  • "We loved the location of this house."

    It was very cosy with the woodburner. Sadly a few things were getting tatty, especially the kettle that didn't work properly & had definitely seen better days!

    Reviewed by AdeleOct 2018

  • "Fantastic location for those visiting Alton Towers, walking distance to the entrance."

    Brilliant location to explore the Peak District. Court yard area outside was lovely for the little ones playing. Owner very friendly and helpful. Lovely comfortable accommodation.

    Reviewed by MarieAug 2018

  • "Really lovely place with good facilities."

    The only faults I have is that half of the DVDs were empty, they only supplied 3 toilet rolls for 10 people and there were left over BBQs in the garden area from the previous people but other than that it was a wonderful cottage in a peaceful area and I would definitely stay again!

    Reviewed by HollyJul 2018

  • "Due to the snow we we're put in a cottage next to the one we booked but we was told it was exactly the same as the others."

    We was unable to connect to the wifi as the router was for all three cottages. Beautiful cottage in a perfect location! Would love to come back.

    Reviewed by AmandaMar 2018

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Plenty of space for our whole party. Had a lovely fire every evening.

    Reviewed by RomaneyFeb 2018

  • "Property was perfectly placed for Alton Towers."

    Might be time for a little decoration.

    Reviewed by AngelaOct 2016

  • "Had such a lovely weekend staying at Bunbury Cottage."

    Location was absolutely perfect for the reason we were visiting which was for Alton Towers! It really couldn't be in a better location. The bathrooms were very clean and modern and the bedrooms were comfortable. However, the kitchen was the only downside. The kitchen wasn't particularly clean. The kitchen utensils that we needed to cook and eat with (e.g. spatulas, knifes, forks, baking trays, chopping boards) needed re washing as some things did have food still on that hadn't been washed properly. Also, the drinking glasses weren't very clean either, most of them needed re washing too. I think it could just do with some new equipment in the kitchen for cooking as things were looking a bit used. This would not stop me booking again as the cottage is a very lovely place to stay. Perfect for a larger group of people... It was the only one I could find in the area to fit a larger group. We all had a great time and everyone said they would definitely return!! Thanks again!! :) :) x

    Reviewed by GraceOct 2016

Show more

Summary

  • Four bedrooms: 1 x ground floor double with TV, 1 x double with TV, double sofa bed and en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC, 2 x twin
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with well-equipped kitchen, dining area and sitting area, woodburner and double doors to patio
  • Electric central heating
  • Power and starter pack for woodburner included in rent
  • Electric cooker, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer, dishwasher, 3 x TVs with Freeview
  • Cot and highchair provided, stair gates can be supplied on request
  • Towels and bed linen provided
  • WiFi
  • Private patio with garden furniture
  • Shared use of large lawned area.Off road parking for 3 cars.Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 3 miles, pub 1 mile
  • Note: No stag or hen parties or similar at this property
  • Note: Check-in time 4pm
  • Note: Property is a five-minute walk from the pay gates of Alton Towers enabling guests to pop in and out of the park

The property

An attractive, semi-detached cottage situated in a private courtyard location in the small, historic Staffordshire village of Farley, just a 5-minute walk from Alton Towers.

This comfortable holiday cottage offers ideal holiday accommodation for eight people.The well-equipped kitchen offers a great space to cook up a feast for the rest of your party, while the character woodburner, stylish bedrooms, one with en-suite facilities, and Vileroy and Bosch bathrooms ensure you can relax in sheer comfort in this fantastic cottage.

Just a five minute walk away you can enjoy the exciting rides, beautiful gardens and superb water park of Alton Towers, while the Peak District beckons with the lovely market town of Ashbourne and Chatsworth House within easy reach and an array of activities, such as horse riding, golf and walking on offer in the area.

A great base for an Alton Towers cottage holiday.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

FARLEY NEAR ALTON TOWERS

Ashbourne 12 miles.

The historic village of Farley consists of a small scattering of traditional cottages and farms adjacent to the Alton Towers estate. Britain's number one theme park, Alton Towers has rides and attractions aimed at everyone, including fabulous white knuckle rides, Toyland for the younger guests, boating on the lake, magnificent gardens and rides on the cable car. Nearby, the lovely market town of Ashbourne, with its eccentric street plan and narrow cobbled alleys, features an array of delightful antique stores and a choice of good pubs and restaurants. Attractions like Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, Dovedale, and the fantastic Derbyshire Villages Ilam, Hartington and Tissington - famous for the well dressings - are also within easy reach.

Region Information

Note: Property is within ten minutes walk from the pay gates of Alton Towers enabling guests to pop in and out of the park.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas