Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • 16 Westgate South - Scottish Lowlands - 1067606 - photo 1
close

16 Westgate South

(Ref. 1067606)

Crail, Perthshire, Angus & Fife Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (19)
  • lovely (12)
  • clean (11)
  • no (11)
  • everything (10)
  • bed (10)

26 Customer Reviews

  • "Loved the cottage and the quaint fishing village of Crail."

    We were initially apprehensive having seen a previous review where the standard of cleanliness in the cottage was reported as very poor, but on arrival the cottage was very clean; beds were all freshly made up, bathroom wax spotless with clean towels and, kitchen very clean and well equipped. All kitchen appliances worked and heating came on and off when it got too cold! Only complaint was that the TV for later in the evening was unwatchable as the booster switch/box for the signal was simply not working. Otherwise an excellent week away in a beautiful location. Not sure how accurate the listing of adult bunks is as although we didn’t use the bunk room - it seemed quite a tight fit and the bunk beds had children’s type bedding on them.

    Many thanks for your feedback. A TV aerial engineer has been to the cottage to address the signal issue. It has been very windy and sometimes the aerial can be pushed slightly out of alignment. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen4.4Apr 2024

  • "See complaint No."

    COR-364178-CF The housekeeping of the cottage was poor to say the least. Stained carpet, dirt crumbs, old clothing under the sofa cushions. Dirty cutlery and crumbs on drawers. Old food in cupboard. Finger or toe nails on bedroom floor. Poor or no TV signal. Wall light not working. Patio had slimy boards with rubbish on it and weeds. Poor offer of compensation. We should really get our money back as we had to cut the holiday short because of the conditions.

    We are very sorry to hear that you had issues with the cottage during your stay. The TV aerial can sometimes be pushed out of alignment during winter storms. A TV aerial engineer has now been out to the cottage to fix this.The wall light you mentioned has been replaced with a new fitting. We have discussed the cleanliness issues raised with our cleaner. We normally get positive reviews from other guests in this respect, so we apologize that it wasn’t to our normal standards on this occasion. It is a shame that the issues weren’t raised upon arrival, as we would have rectified them immediately. We were not made aware until after you had finished your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin1.9Feb 2024

  • "Had everything we needed for a perfect week stay."

    Very clean, exactly what we had hoped for. Very cosy cottage and we will definitely be back!

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Dec 2023

  • "I stayed in Crail most of my childhood and visit fairly often."

    I was delighted to see this property so booked it for our honeymoon 20/11/23 for the week. The property was exactly what we envisaged. Cozy, well equipped and a nice Tunnocks surprise!! The shower was better than some 5* hotels. We were really sad to leave as the weather was beautiful and dry Clear blue skies and the May Isle visible every day. We can't wait to come and see you again!!

    Reviewed by Johanna4.7Nov 2023

  • "Characterful cottage."

    Comfortable. Great location

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2023

  • "Had a fantastic week in the cottage."

    It was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen had everything required and the views were outstanding.The cottage was just as described, full of lovely touches. Would love to come back again.

    Reviewed by Anne Marie5.0Jul 2023

  • "Great cottage and great location."

    Lots to do around the area. Cottage had everything you need and was very clean.

    Reviewed by Tony5.0Jun 2023

  • "A beautiful cottage located perfectly within Crail with amazing views of the harbour."

    Everything you could possibly need is available. Stunning decor and very comfy beds, especially needed after lots of walking! Lots of local amenities on your doorstop. The butchers and bakers were wonderful. The fife coastal path can take you up to Anstruther and is one of the “easier” walks with flatter terrain. Make sure to try out the ice cream as a well deserved treat from the fish and chip shop once you reach Anstruther. A fabulous bus service on your doorstep which can take you up to St Andrews and as far as Leven. Cambo gardens and St Andrews aquarium are a big hit! If you get to the aquarium by 12 you can watch the seals and meerkats feeding time which was fascinating. Take the time to explore Crails pretty little side streets and scrumptious cafes with the best cakes! Can’t wait to go back already! You will have the most relaxing time is the perfect cottage.

    Reviewed by Paula5.0Apr 2023

  • "I have already published a review about the cottage on VRBO, which was excellent."

    But I would like to comment on your service at Sykes. Twice I needed to contact Sykes, once to ask a favour and once when we accidentally locked ourselves out of the cottage. Both times the colleagues responded immediately, were extremely friendly, understanding, and efficient, and went out of their way to help by contacting the owner and making sure everything worked out. Regrettably, I do not have their names to thank them personally. I would rent via Sykes again without hesitation. I hope to do so. Thanks!

    Reviewed by Scott5.0Mar 2023

  • "Thank you. We really enjoyed our stay!"

    The cottage is perfect in every way, we didn’t want to leave, The cottage has excellent facilities and fantastic sea views. Crail is a very picturesque fishing village, one of many along the Fife coast. We enjoyed interesting walks along the Fife Coastal path and made use of the excellent bus service. We also visited Scotland’s Secret Bunker, Cambo Gardens and St. Andrews.

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Mar 2023

  • "A lovely, cosy wee cottage."

    Ideally situated in Crail. The cottage had everything we needed except we couldn't find a potato masher.....not a great problem. The only real gripe we have is not finding any information in the folder concerning bin days, re-cycling or instructions on how to use the oven, dish-washer etc. Other than that, perfect.

    Many thanks for your feedback. The stray potato masher has now been replaced. Information regarding bin colors and re-cycling is included on the cottage information sheet. Manuals for the appliances are included in the information folder. Thanks again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.1Feb 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage right at the top of the hens ladder that leads straight to the harbour & beach."

    Lovely place ❤️

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Dec 2022

  • "The place was lovely with amazing views."

    My family and I all really enjoyed our stay

    Reviewed by Scott5.0Sep 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay in Crail."

    The village had lots of lovely shops, cafes and restaurants and the coastline is stunning. The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed.

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0May 2022

  • "A lovely cottage, very comfortable, two nice sofas, I would like to live there."

    The village of Crail is beautiful. Just a few niggles, a lack of space to store food in the kitchen and clothes in the bedroom. We also struggled with the shower, turn it on to what we thought was the maximum point and it kept running cold, the maximum point was not the maximum point, make sure you turn it past the first tight spot. Over all we loved it, very nicely decorated, no parking but we had no problems find a spot out on the road.

    Many thanks for your feedback. We have now replaced the shower, and also the shower enclosure. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan4.1May 2022

  • "First class"

    Reviewed by Dennis4.7May 2022

  • "This house was just perfect for us and having an outside area to sit in the sun was a lovely bonus."

    We had everything we needed and there is a great fish and chip shop just along the street - best chips ever.

    Reviewed by Gertrude5.0Mar 2022

  • "Really lovely cottage very clean and comfortable."

    Only downside was the downstairs bathroom but appreciate this was the only place it could be. Tried but could not open back gate ,nevertheless no problem caused great view of the sea and harbour from the rest of the building. Please replace towels within larger ones !!!!

    Reviewed by Elizabeth Irene4.7Mar 2022

  • "Lovely property with a modern and well fitted out kitchen."

    Unfortunately, the cleanliness of the grill and oven pans was not acceptable and we had to purchase appropriate cleaning materials. Overall a great week in a very nice cottage. We locked ourselves out of the property one evening and support from Sykes was superb .... solved within 30 minutes!

    Many thanks for your feedback. Our cleaner have been made aware. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William4.7Mar 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay in Crail."

    The cottage was really clean, well equipped and comfortable. We loved the presentation of the cottage and it’s beautiful situation. A perfect base for walking lots of stretches of the Fife coastal path - the number 95 bus was great for getting back to our starting point. Would return again - loved Crail as a base too. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Jan 2022

  • "Fantastic cottage with sea views from the kitchen and bedroom."

    Great location with everything you need on your doorstep.

    Reviewed by David5.0Dec 2021

  • "The shower stall needs a proper clean."

    The double bed sags. There is black mould on the bedroom windows. The sofas need replacing. The living room door is wedged wide open by the carpet resulting in drafts from the front door. The door in the second bedroom can't be closed because of the bunk bed frame. Would I go back? Lovely village and great location but would want standards improved.

    Thank you for your feedback. As a result would like to confirm that the two Sofas, the double bed and the double bed mattress have all been replaced with new ones. The lounge door has also been refitted. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne3.1Oct 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday and the accommodation was more than adequate and amazingly well fitted out even to the extent of 2 pairs of binoculars, games puzzles etc."

    However I have one point I would like to raise and that although the cottage was very clean and well appointed some of the towels and bed linen had a slight odour as though they had not been washed in a high enough temperature or had been folded up and put into the linen cupboard before they were properly dry and aired. The location couldn't have been better for us, a very short walk to the harbour and a very good bus service as well. We would definitely go back.

    Reviewed by Jeanette5.0Sep 2021

  • "Small bedroom was so small that the door would not close because it hit the bunk beds."

    The storage space in the small bedroom was almost non existent. The gas fire in the living room did not work which was a big disappointment as the weather was chilly a few of the nights. The sofas were well past their best. There was no lamp in the living room only the main lights. The kitchen knives were blunt and there were very few glasses and plates. The iron was black on the sole. The shower unit needed a good clean and you had to pass through the living room and kitchen to get to the bedroom.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were not entirely satisfied with the property but have noticed discrepancies with some of your comments. The door can be closed without hitting the bunk beds as this has been checked; had someone moved them? The old gas fire is now decorative only which is why it is not listed. The property has new central heating throughout. There are no lamps advertised in the listing but all the lights do work and we have not had any other complaints about the sofas. The cutlery and knives were all new at the start of the season and there should be 6 of everything but I will get the cleaner to check these and also the shower and iron. The cleaner normally does an excellent job. Please note, you can actually access the bedroom from the hallway also. I hope you enjoyed your holiday otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hugh2.5Aug 2021

  • "Lovely little cottage that was a great location to explore Fife."

    Crail is a beautiful habour village too. The cottage had everything we needed and we had a pleasant stay. Would have been useful to have some hooks in the children's bedroom for clothes as there isn't much storage. The shed was great for storing our bikes and our 5 year old daughter appreciated the kids books, bucket & spade and games to available too. The cottage was also very clean on arrival.

    Reviewed by Mike3.8Aug 2021

  • "Enjoyed our stay."

    On the whole clean but dirty glass in bathroom. Also says there are dishwasher tablets - only a container with empty wrapper and no other tablets. Would be helpful to label the bins to know what goes in each. Also only mentioned fridge but large freezer so would be good to mention this.

    Reviewed by Brenda3.8Jun 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x adult bunk
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room
  • Gas central heating
  • Oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher TV, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available on request
  • Roadside parking
  • Enclosed patio with furniture
  • Secure bike storage
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 0.1 miles

The property

Resting in the heart of Crail, this well-presented stone-built cottage is the ideal base to enjoy a rural getaway in Scotland.

16 Westgate South is a charming two-bed cottage, boasting stunning sea views, and over looking a beautiful sandy beach, ideal for a romantic retreat or family adventure.

On entering the property, you are welcomed by a homely living room where you can spend your evenings cosied up on the sofa with a good book or huddled around the coffee table enjoying a board game with your loved ones.

Moving through the cottage to the contemporary kitchen, where you can rustle up an evening meal after a day exploring the rugged Scottish coastline or why not pour yourself a glass of wine and head outside to the small patio area, where you can admire views of the sea.

Climb the staircase to the first floor and be charmed by the two bedrooms; a well-presented master bedroom with double bed and magnificent coastal views and a room with bunk beds, providing a great place for the kids to rest their eyes.

Explore your surroundings and take a stroll along the cobbled streets of Crail and down to the miniature harbour, where you can enjoy freshly caught seafood or just soak up the views.

Just a five minute walk takes you to the beautiful sandy beach and the Crail coastal path viewpoint.

Whilst staying at the cottage you are perfectly situated to easily explore some of the best sights of Fife; take a scenic boat trip to the Isle of May, enjoy a peaceful picnic at Clatto Reservoir or step back in time and explore the ruins of Lochore Castle.

Home to a historic university, St Andrews is just a short drive away from Crail, where you’ll find an array of activities to keep the whole family entertained including the St Andrews Castle and the British Golf Museum.

If you’re looking for a dose of the great outdoors, hike a section of the scenic Fife Coastal Path, taking you past dramatic cliffs, along golden sandy beaches and through quaint fishing villages.

This well-presented cottage provides the perfect base for a coastal break in Scotland.

EPC Rating: Band D

EPC Rating: Band D

View on map

About the location

CRAIL

St. Andrews 9.9 miles; Dundee 23.5 miles.

A picturesque coastal town in Fife on the east coast of Scotland. Crail is an excellently stocked town with pretty much everything that you could ask for including a golf course, a racing track, two art galleries, a Heritage Centre with a museum, the welcoming restaurant of The Shoregate, shops and pubs, and the historic, stunning harbour. From here you can easily reach the beautiful seaside town of St. Andrews, where you will find a magnificent cathedral, an impressive castle, the beautiful St Andrews Botanic Garden, the St Andrews Museum, a glorious beach, an excellent golf course, and a fantastic selection of eateries including Aikmans Bar & Bistro, Dolls House, and Forgan’s, or for fine dining options, Grange Inn, Haar and Seafood Ristorante. Further afield, you’ll find the coastal city of Dundee, home the V&E Dundee, Dundee Museum of Transport, the Michelin Star restaurants of Tayberry and Collinsons, the HMS Unicorn, and the Dundee Science Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Crail

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas