Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 43 View Image Gallery
  • Tayview - Scottish Lowlands - 1087080 - photo 1


Ground Floor2nd Floor1st Floor

1st Floor




(Ref. 1087080)

Killin, Perthshire, Angus & Fife Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 18 Guests

  • 10 Bedrooms

  • 5 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • our (13)
  • house (12)
  • property (11)
  • well (11)
  • large (10)
  • all (10)

24 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautiful property, perfect for all ages ."

    . we spent the weekend here, ages ranged from 5 to 82.. property was spotless and had everything we needed.. hot tub was an added bonus. Large play park next to the property which was ideal for family games .. would definitely recommend. No negatives at all .. 5 stars

    Reviewed by Angela5.0May 2024

  • "The house was very good in terms of having a lot of bedrooms, bathrooms 2 sitting rooms, a large kitchen / diner, a very handy Utility / boot room and a hot tub."

    ...this was great for the large family group we had. Also the location in the Village was very good as a base to explore Killin and the local area more widely. However,....while there were lots of positives at Tayview, we did find some negative things which impacted our stay - noteably the very noisy boiler in one of the first floor bedrooms which made being in there to sleep or relax difficult. Also very noisy is the oven in the kitchen which "sings" when being used. We also felt that the house overall was in need generally of some TLC to help to justify the charge levied for its use.

    Hi Geroge, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I'm glad that you all enjoyed the large number of bedrooms, the space, the extra living room and lovely large open plan kitchen and dining room. I'm also pleased that you found the location a great place to explore. I'm sorry to hear that you found the hot water tank noisy - along with the oven fan. We've not had a complaint before about the HW tank but we know about a fault that developed with the oven fan...and have an engineer scheduled to fix it. I also went round the house on Tuesday (4 days after your stay) with our decorator and have agreed a redecoration for May. Our team tried calling and emailing you; both before your stay and during your stay (to see how things were for you) but they consistently got no reply. I see from our records that you didn't contact us during your stay regarding the noise from either the fan or the HW tank. As previous guests have noted, we work hard to check in with all guests, to ensure everything is perfect....and in the rare cases of issues, we try our best to resolve these at the point of discovery, so it is a shame that we weren't made aware of these issues until your review, or we would have done our best to remedy them. I hope you were still able to enjoy the nearby loch, the mountain views (from the hot tub!) and the kind generosity of the locals. Unfortunately you have left no feedback on why you scored down the listing accuracy, the cleanliness...or the comfort, so I'm unable to address those scores. Certainly we have consistently glowing reviews from other guests on the cleanliness, comfort and extra touches that we put in for guests, so I'm very sorry that you didn't feel Tayview lived up to your expectations. You are welcome to come back again, to see how we have addressed the issues that you've raised. Best wishes, Jimmy. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geroge3.4Apr 2024

  • "We needed a sizeable property to allow fifteen of us to get together for our family celebration and Tayview suited us perfectly."

    The large open-plan kitchen/diner enabled us to bring in a chef and his team to prepare a special birthday dinner. The house was warm and comfortable and spotlessly clean. Killin is superbly located for walks and hikes and even a game of golf on the little jewel of a course on the edge of the village. We came from North, East and West and the village was central for all of us. A great weekend for young and old!

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Mar 2024

  • "A fabulous place to stay."

    All bedrooms are spacious, well appointed and the house was very clean. Kitchen is very well-equipped with everything you need to cater for a large group. We had no problems with hot water, heating or wi-fi. I wouldn't hesitate to return to this beautiful property. Our visit in February was blessed with dry sunny weather and Killin is a lovely place to explore.

    Hi Julie, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We're delighted to hear that your stay was an overwhelming success on all fronts and glad you really appreciated the kitchen and ancils; when we redeveloped the kitchen a few years ago, we tried to design it with large groups in mind - hence features like the TWO dishwashers. We're also pleased to hear you had great weather and got out and about - Killin is picture-postcard perfect! We'd love to have you guys back, so do please bear us in mind for future holidays. Many thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Feb 2024

  • "We had a fab weekend."

    The property was perfect in every way particularly the ample supply of glasses and kitchen equipment.

    Hi Ronald, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It's great to hear heat-warming feedback like yours; it makes all the hard work we put into Tayview worthwhile. Thanks for your kind words. We'd love you to consider us when you book your next holiday! Many thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ronald5.0Feb 2024

  • "Our stay at Tayview was truly amazing."

    The property was incredibly comfortable, spacious and very well equipped. The 9 x bedrooms that were all configured to king size doubles gave everyone thier own privacy, ample space and comfort. (All the rooms can be configured into twins if that is required.) I booked the property to spend with the whole family and invited friends to join us on the Saturday night to celebrate my 60th Birthday. The spacious kitchen / dining area ensured the party was a huge success. The hottub made for a wonderfully relaxing experience for everyone and the games room and games console ensured the children were kept amused. The nearby co-op provided everything we wanted with regard to food and drinks and was only a 6 minute stroll from the lodge. I would recommend Tayview to anyone looking for a spacious, relaxing getaway with family or friends. It was Absolutely Amazing

    Hi Nicholas, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I think that is one of the best comments we've had for years - thanks for nailing exactly what we strive for. We are truly chuffed that you had a FANTASTIC 60th birthday celebration and were able to fit so many of your family in to celebrate with you. It is clear that you loved Killin - and we'd be thrilled to have you back for any other birthday celebrations...or just a well-deserved break! Many thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicholas5.0Jan 2024

  • "Beautiful house we had 16 people in our party with ages from 73 to 2 years and the house was equipped for everyone."

    The house had everything we needed so cosy too for an old house. Situated well within the town too, lively and quiet did not hear a sound despite it being the run up to hogmanay. We all just felt so at home there best holiday home we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many all over the UK and abroad. This one is our favourite its a gem and the facilities are just what was needed for our large party. We would come back again the Town is lovely and the shops and people are so welcoming. The fireworks at the bridge on 31st were an added bonus and we only had a 5 minute walk to see them. The hottub was a bonus too the garden and parking was spot on too. We had a great stay and we have no bad things to say whatsoever to say. Lovely cosy home that we lived visiting and would go back to in the future. The management team and the owner Jimmy were so helpful that nothing was any trouble. Car charging point also an added luxury as one of our cars is electric. Everything has been thought of in this property with highest quality of furnishings and furniture. The beds were the best very comfortable everyone got a good sleep. The owner and his team do a brilliant job and this property should be awarded 10 out of 10 for every category.

    Hi Gillian, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Wow!...what a stunning review - and it means a huge amount to the whole team. However, you guys were also amazing and your response to our challenges on the day of your arrival (issues beyond our control) was incredibly considerate and you made the change-over team feel so much better, so a HUGE thanks to you all. We are so pleased that you had a stellar time and we'd LOVE to have you all back, so do bear us in mind for your next break. Many thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Dec 2023

  • "In-house instructions not good."

    Only managed to operate one TV and on that one we could only find BBC iPlayer. No instructions provided for the EV charger.

    Hi John, Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay; I'm sorry things didn't meet your expectations. The in-house instructions is entirely my fault: we're currently updating them, so there was only an old (less informative) version in the house. I will commit to getting the updated version back in the house by next week. Thanks for raising this. We have asked our maintenance team to specifically check the TVs, as there should always be an App homepage from where you can launch all the usual Apps such as Netflix, I-player, Prime, Disney+ etc. As mentioned below, we don't usually need to send out information on the EV charging point, as it is a 'plug and play' set up, meaning that under normal conditions, you don't need the App to charge. We provide the EV point as a free extra option for guests. I hope you were still able to enjoy the house more generally, the location, views and spending time with friends/family. I apologise that your expectations weren't met. Many thanks, Jimmy Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.1Nov 2023

  • "Lovely house, central location which we enjoyed but we did have a few issues."

    The information about the car charging point should have been sent earlier to allow registration on the app. We just couldn't get it to work despite registering and following instructions on the app, which was a major problem as I have an electric car and needed to charge it to get home. . Also we couldn't watch normal TV despite spending a lot of time trying to follow the instructions. Poor lighting at hot tub was a safety concern. No microwave dishes available. Contacting someone was a problem. I sent 3 emails and phone 3 times about the charger. First response attachment wasn't included so I had to email again. Sly did finally phone me on Sunday to discuss problems by which time it was really too late. We had found an alternative means of charging my car. Anyway, comfy accommodation, great that we could have single beds but issues did spoil our break.

    Hi Lindsay, Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback, it helps us ensure we continue to improve our provision to other guests. Apologies it has taken me a couple of weeks to check feedback. I'm glad you liked the house, the changeable bed config options and found the place comfy. We don't usually need to send out information on the EV charging point, as it is a 'plug and play' set up, meaning that under normal conditions, you don't need the App to charge. We provide the EV point as a free extra option for guests. I'm not sure why the EV point wasn't working as normal but we are actively looking into it, so thanks for flagging this with us. We are always happy for guests to slow charge on a cable to a house socket, should the EV point not work. The TVs are both smart TVs, and provided you had wifi, they should both have had a working App homepage, where you can log into your various App accounts. There are no terrestrial channels on these TVs...I apologise if that's what you were expecting. There is an external floodlight on the gable end of the house that covers the hot tub. All our crockery is microwaveable, along with the Pyrex dishes provided. Although we have 7 days a week contact, our team member that was covering the weekend was ill; unfortunately by the time Sly was able to cover for his unwell team-mate, you were preparing to depart. I'm very sorry that your experience wasn't as you had hoped; we are usually commended on how responsive we are to guests' needs - but on this occasion we clearly didn't meet expectations, for which I'm very sorry. I hope you will give us the chance to show you how well the place is usually run . Many thanks, Jimmy Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lindsay3.8Nov 2023

  • "We were a party of 14 for a family birthday and we had an amazing time!"

    The house is well equipped and maintained and would recommend. We had a wee issue with the car charger but owners helped straight away.

    Hi Clare, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We're very pleased to hear that you all had an amazing time - that is our aim, so it is very rewarding to hear that we're getting it right! Do please bear us in mind for your next break, we'd very happily have you guys back again anytime! Many thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Oct 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay in tayview."

    The house was perfect for our needs. The only slight disappointment (for the younger members of the group) was that the Xbox wasn’t working (out of batteries). Regards, Teresa

    Reviewed by Teresa4.7Oct 2023

  • "Excellent property in a fab location."

    Was very well equipped and spacious for our family gathering.

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely spacious property, in an ideal position for visiting Loch Lomond and the West coast of Scotland."

    Set in a lovely village with excellent restaurants and cafes. Bedrooms all well sized, kitchen fully equipped, plenty of parking. Had a great time..

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Aug 2023

  • "This was an excellent house for our family gathering of 5 adults and 7 children."

    The house is very well stocked with plenty of crockery and utensils and the big bonus was having 2 dishwashers. The only criticism I had was that there was no tumble dryer. With 7 kids, it was difficult to dry clothes when it was too wet to hang out on the clothes line. I would certsinly recommend this house for a large family gathering.

    Reviewed by Mairi Ann5.0Jul 2023

  • "Absolutely excellent accommodation."

    Ideal for a large group and everything has been well thought out. Can’t fault it.

    Reviewed by Roger5.0May 2023

  • "Excellent holiday home for our family reunion."

    The hot tub was a bonus and enjoyed by some of us. Thought given regarding facilities needed by such a large group eg 2 large fridges, 2 dishwashers. Maintenence guy came quickly to look at the shower which wasn't working properly. Car ev charging was another bonus (but the isolater switch needed resetting after charging...not a problem but may need looking at). We had an excellent holiday, wanted for nothing in an ideal house. Thank you

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Apr 2023

  • "We stayed at the house with 7 couples and there was plenty of space for all."

    Bedrooms all spacious and comfortable. It was a shame the hot tub wasn't hot when we arrived and had to wait until the following day to use. I would say the cleanliness was disappointing.. I cleaned our ensuite on arrival and some areas were covered in think dust.

    Reviewed by Katie4.1Apr 2023

  • "A great time had by all."

    ....16 of us ages 5 to 80!

    Reviewed by Gillian4.1Mar 2023

  • "A lovely property which is perfect for large groups."

    The property is well equipped with everything you need to have a relaxed stay for a big room. The bedrooms were all spacious and clean and the kitchen dining area was perfect for us to cook and eat together. A great property in a really well situated part of the town.

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Dec 2022

  • "Comfortable, cosy stay for a group of 10 friends."

    The property was well-equipped for catering for a large group. The number of bedrooms offered good options for beds, along with plenty of bathrooms. The hot tub was an added bonus! Would recommend.

    Reviewed by Annabelle4.4Nov 2022

  • "Tayview was our chosen location to celebrate Dad’s 80th birthday."

    The accommodation was perfect and the scenery was amazing. Kids and adults all loved some hot tub fun after a day of walking and exploring the gorgeous countryside. We all enjoyed our stay and are saving up to return

    Hi Gaynor, We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and everyone loved the hot tub, as well as having a wonderful celebration of your Dad's 80th birthday! Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We sure hope to see you again soon! Many thanks, Dianne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gaynor5.0Sep 2022

  • "Well maintained property."

    We enjoyed our stay .Dianne was very helpful for any queries. Clear instructions to access property , good access to local amenities. Overall , I would recommend this property

    Reviewed by Mohammad5.0May 2022

  • "It was a absolute suprise to enter this house."

    Every room was spacius en big. Nice big beds en nice bathrooms. Nice garden with a jacuzzi that we first did not no about. Big kitchen. Two sitting rooms so the children could have their one room to play. Overal a fantastic stay.

    Hi Ricky, We're very pleased to hear you had such a fun stay and glad that you enjoyed the brand new giant jacuzzi. Thank you for your kind feedback - we hope you'll come back again soon. Many thanks, Jimmy. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ricky5.0Apr 2022

  • "This house was ideal for my family of 14."

    Its been well thought through with the lovely kitchen/diner being ideal. Two dish washers and two big fridges were really useful. While neither lounge is really big enough for 14, the benefit of the two meant that one group could watch a film while others did something else. Good central location and beautifully clean and tidy. Does what it says on the blurb. Excellent. Regards, Rob

    Jan 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Across three floors
  • Nine bedrooms: 1x ground floor bedroom (zip/link, can be twin or super king on request)
  • 6x 1st floor bedrooms (zip/link, can be twin or super king on request) including the Master bedroom with en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • 2x top floor bedrooms (zip/link, can be twin or super king on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Second-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner with woodburning stove
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Snug
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Oil central heating
  • Range cooker, microwave, 2 x fridge, freezer, washing machine, 2 x dishwasher, 2 x cafetieres
  • 2 x smart TV's (you will need your own log ins for the Apps), Speakers, Xbox, WiFi, selection of books, table football
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 6 cars
  • EV charging port is also available at the property
  • Enclosed, multi-level garden with lawn, patio, hot tub and furniture
  • Towels are provided but please bring extra towels for the hot tub
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Maximum 2 dogs allowed at the property
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: The second floor has sloped ceilings, please take care
  • Note: Catering service and activities can be arranged by prior arrangement with owner
  • Please Note: Front door is not in use (access is via side door on the drive)
  • Please note: Sorry, no stag or hen parties
  • Please note: If we haven't received your preferred bed configuration 2 weeks before your stay, beds will be made into the standard configurations (x2 super King and the rest twins)
  • Note: Hot tub hours between 9am-9.30pm only please
  • Note: If booking over Christmas or New Year, please note that this property won’t allow check-outs on the 26th Dec or 1st Jan
  • Please note: There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £1000 for the property

The property

Tayview is a large, Victorian townhouse resting in the centre of Killin, Perth.

With nine bedrooms across three floors and five bathrooms, along with excellent amenities and attractions within easy reach, this cottage is ideal for big family gatherings to celebrate a special occasion.

Off-road parking offers space for six cars for a fuss-free arrival; a spacious utility welcomes you to kick-off muddy boots, hang up coats and throw your walking gear straight into the washing machine!

Move through the property to find a light-filled kitchen/diner with an ornate bay window and a large dining table to host dinner parties with all 18 guests.

Open your favourite bottle and toast to your retreat, whilst the group's chef rustles up culinary delights in the well-equipped kitchen area; a beautiful range cooker and two dishwashers ensure an easy self-catering stay, whilst plenty of fridge and freezer space can also be found in the utility.

Tayview offers plenty of room to socialise together or take refuge for some peace and quiet; snuggle up on the sofas in the sitting room to watch TV or retreat to the snug to catch up on your favourite shows, a TV with an Xbox, table football and bean bags will keep them happy throughout your holiday!

During warmer months, the enclosed, multi-level garden is a lovely spot to lay down a blanket for a family picnic with views of the surrounding mountains or savour a tipple under the stars at the outdoor seating.

Getting ready for the day ahead, there'll be no bathroom queues thanks to a total of five bathrooms, one of which is an en-suite, along with a bathroom, shower room, ground-floor shower room and second-floor shower room for bubble baths or quick rinses.

All eight bedrooms offer zip/link feature offering twins or super kings in each room for flexible sleeping arrangements, including a ground-floor to suit elderly guests or those with limited mobility, six super king on the first floor, and a second-floor super king; unpack your belongings and make yourself at home in your bedroom of choice!

When it's time to venture out, the outdoorsy members of the family will relish the nearby walking and cycling paths right on your doorstep, including the Lochan Lairig Cheile hiking area, Sron A’ Chlachain and Colin Burt Wildlife Reserve.

Find plenty of water sports such as kayaking and canoeing or bring your swim cap to brace the refreshing waters of Loch Tay; if that's not your style, the village of Killin has plenty of amenities and attractions for those looking to relax and soak up local history!

The village is home to plenty of historic sites and scenic delights, such as the Falls Of Dochart, Kinnell Stone Circle and Clan Mcnabb Burial Grounds, whilst plenty of shops, traditional pubs and restaurants are a short journey away from Tayview.

You'll be staying within the Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park, a vast and wild expanse of mountains, lakes and countryside to see the spectacular landscapes of Scotland for yourself.

If you wish to travel further afield and cover more of Scotland's vibrant scenery and towns, Killin is a well-located, central base for travelling around; Pitlochry and Aberfeldy lie to the north east, the popular city of Perth to the east, whilst Fort William is a scenic town to the west, well-worth visiting!

Gather your loved ones for a memorable stay at Tayview.

EPC Rating: Band E

Note: If booking over Christmas or New Year, please note that this property won’t allow check-outs on the 26th Dec or 1st Jan

EPC Rating: Band E

Short-term Holiday Let Licence No: ST-00395-F

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £1000.

View on map

About the location


Aberfeldy 22 miles; Pitlochry 36 miles; Perth 44 miles.

The village of Killin, on the edge of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, in the area of Breadalbane, sits across the stunning Falls of Dochart and has been settled since ancient times. Cup markings on rocks and stone circles tell of an ancient race that inhabited this area. Christianity came to Breadalbane in the 8th century with St Fillan with the Mill bearing his name and St Fillan’s Day held on the 3rd Tuesday in January. The village is strongly associated with two renowned clans, Clan Campbell and Clan MacNab. Finlarig Castle, to the north of the village, was the Campbell stronghold and the MacNabs have their ancient burial ground of Inchbuie near the bridge over the falls. Killin today is a popular tourist destination, due in no small part to the use of the falls in various films and television programmes. The village today has a varied selection of shops, bars and restaurants and watersports are available on nearby Loch Tay. Ideal for walking, Killin has Ben Lawers, the highest of the surrounding Bens, to the north and Ben More and Stobinian to the west.

This property accepts a maximum of 2 Dogs and there is a single £35 pet supplement per holiday.
Please note: Sorry, no stag or hen parties.

Please note: If we haven't received your preferred bed configuration 2 weeks before your stay, beds will be made into the standard configurations (x2 super King and the rest twins)

Note: Hot tub hours between 9am-9.30pm only please.

Note: If booking over Christmas or New Year, please note that this property won’t allow check-outs on the 26th Dec or 1st Jan

Please note: There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £1000 for the property.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas