Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 16 View Image Gallery
  • Woodedge - Somerset & Wiltshire - 999220 - photo 1


(Ref. 999220)

Porlock, Somerset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 3 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (37)
  • location (21)
  • lovely (20)
  • garden (16)
  • stay (14)
  • our (14)

48 Customer Reviews

  • "Cute little cottage in a lovely location really enjoyed our stay."

    Garden could do with a little TLC.

    Reviewed by Gillian3.8Jun 2024

  • "Unfortunately we feel the spiral staircase was dangerous!"

    We are just into our 60’s and found it a difficult feature to deal with. Our dogs did not like the stairs and had to be carried up/down which lead to me sleeping on the sofa keeping the most nervous one company. We arrived on the Friday but cut our holiday short and left on the Sunday…..

    Reviewed by Lisa3.8Jun 2024

  • "Property is very small and had we not had good weather to sit outside we would have found it very claustrophobic."

    Really should only be one bedroom upstairs to make it comfortable. Couldn’t swing a cat in either of the two bedrooms. I’d remove the wardrobe and drawers from main bedroom at least. Double bed seemed very small. Would be good to try to get two double sofa’s downstairs for more comfort although it would be tight but could do away with table and chairs. Bathroom was good with nice shower although wash basin was blocked and drained very slowly. Location fantastic and will go back but stay at a different property.

    Reviewed by Andrew3.1May 2024

  • "A very sweet cottage, not big and kitchen in living room and smaller 2nd room."

    Perfect for a couple and for having a dog. We found it clean and well kept and fitted our needs. The only problem was we were not used to an electric cooker so had no idea how to work it. We were out most of the time as so much to do in the area so not much cooking was done. Sadly places to eat are very limited in the evening so make sure you book as they stop cooking by 8pm

    Reviewed by Anderida5.0May 2024

  • "Setting & location perfect."

    Very enjoyable visit Directions could be a little better as we didn't really understand where the left fork was going to be and it feels like you may be going up a lane you might get stuck in. I would clarify that left fork is at a junction where straight ahead is signed dead end and that the lane opens up at the cottages Can you make it clear that there are no toiletries, the only soap in the cottage was hand soap that had been watered down The Washing up bowl is strange and leaks The switches in the airing cupboard are confusing, labels would be great The Immersion hesater could do with proper insulation Recycling info needs updating The shower is a bit confusing and has a display that is a bit wonky and buttons we didn't understand A Dining table light would be useful Not big grumbles but room for improvement Thanks

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We have added the google pin feature, which can be used when searching Woodedge, for directions. We have since updated the property welcome book with current recycling and other information. We will look at some point to replace the immersion heater, and have taken your other comments on board, so we will look to improve further. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julian4.1May 2024

  • "We noticed that numerous faults pointed out by previous occupants, in the guest book,."

    Had not been rectified. The cooker was so dirty..we refused to use it, general lack of care and maintenance was apparent in cottage and garden. Such a shame.. a lovely quaint cottage, superb deserves better. We were so disappointed as the Sykes cottage that we rented in Llandwrog was superb.

    Thank you for leaving your feedback. We have since since rectified the cleanliness issues at Woodedge, with all cleaning being raised to a much higher standard. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan2.8May 2024

  • "A warm and cosy place with good facilities and comfortable beds."

    However, we had to wash cutlery, china and glass before use and found pages of comments about cleanliness in the Visitors' book. We also felt a better supply of tea, coffee, sugar, milk, loo rolls etc would give less of an impression of meanness. We would have appreciated a small bottle of milk in the fridge ready for our arrival. Another lamp or two in the downstairs room would be welcome as would the replacement of the two very large pieces of furniture in the double bedroom with something smaller that would enhance rather than dominate. But overall a lovely cottage in a beautiful peaceful spot.

    Thank you for your feedback. We have resolved all of the cleanliness issues in the property since your visit in April. Thank you for your kind comments and suggestions, we will take these into consideration. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Judith4.1Apr 2024

  • "Love cottage."

    Very clean and it was absolutely amazing place to stay. Definitely recommend coming again to this cottage again.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Apr 2024

  • "The property was dirty."

    The saucepans, crockery and cutlery was unclean and required washing before it could be used. Bedroom floors were dirty and there were cobwebs. The property is very tired in need of an overhaul. The outside light was like a strobe so could not be used. The location of the cottage is very good and the property has the potential to be very nice with some TLC.

    We are very sorry to hear that you encountered some cleanliness issues at the property. Had we been made aware of these issues at the time of your stay, we would have arranged for our housekeeper to attend to address those issues during your stay. The property has recently had some work carried out with the installation of a new bathroom and ongoing improvements are taking place. Outside there are working solar path lights. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin1.9Apr 2024

  • "The cottage was lovely , a lot smaller than the impression from the photo, the ..."

    The cottage was lovely , a lot smaller than the impression from the photo, the phone numbers for contact were never answered or messages replied to which is concerning

    Reviewed by Anne2.5Mar 2024

  • "Gorgeous little cottage!"

    Absolutely perfect for our getaway! We had the best time- so relaxed - and enjoyed some lovely local walks. I would highly recommend Woodedge and will definitely be coming back!

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Nov 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage with character, and nestled in a beautiful location."

    Very comfortable bedrooms, well equipped kitchen, clean modern bathroom. Would love to return in better weather and enjoy the garden too

    Reviewed by Nicholas4.7Oct 2023

  • "Overall the cottage and the surrounding area is bang on plenty of picturesque ..."

    Overall the cottage and the surrounding area is bang on plenty of picturesque places all around, the dogs were glad to get home after all the walking they did,we thoroughly enjoyed it

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Oct 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay in Woodedge."

    Such a great position and it was so comfortable. Beautifully furnished and clean upon arrival. The garden was well maintained for a rental property. We will definitely be booking again. One thing that would have been useful would be a note or list of exactly what was expected upon leaving in terms of cleaning, changing bed linen and towels etc. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by Christopher4.4Sep 2023

  • "Generally not very clean , especially utensils,mould on table mats and bottom of blind, lounge rug stained and trip hazard, TV balanced across nest of tables, trip hazard to bathroom tiles, garden not cared for and did not want to remove cover to patio furniture fear of damaged,food waste bin half full of mouldy food not bagged, several concerns have been mentioned before according to visitors book , do you as agents ever concern yourself with repeated problems , the holiday was salvaged by the location , we would not return to this property given the repeated issues ,what good is feedback if not constructive and acted upon."

    We consider all options when booking in future.

    Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback. We are surprised to see you found the property had these issues, especially as all our previous feedback mentions how clean the property has been left for all our guests. Please be assured we have brought this to our Housekeepers attention to ensure all future guests find Woodedge perfect for their stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John1.6Aug 2023

  • "Woodedge is a beautiful, small, bijoux cottage nestled near the top of a small valley on the southern edge of Porlock."

    The level of comfort, cleanliness and facilities were all excellent. The cottage is very well equipped with everything needed to cook at home. There was a good selection of DVDs and books plus the smart TV gives access to your own subscribed channels - Netflix, Disney+, etc. The location is perfect for anyone travelling with dogs (like us) as there is a large recreation ground with separate, enclosed exercise area just a few minutes walk from the cottage. The centre of Porlock, with several pubs and a useful selection of shops is less than 10 minutes walk. There are many beautiful walks right from the front door - up Ley Hill on the edge of Exmoor, the coastal path provides easy access to quaint little Porlock Weir or longer walks on Exmoor or along the coastal path. All in all, a great place to stay.

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Aug 2023

  • "Beautiful little cottage with all you could need for a stay."

    Plenty of cutlery, pans etc. Lovely new shower - beds very comfortable. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Teresa5.0Aug 2023

  • "Nice cottage but did feel a bit cramped for three people particularly when eating, if outside not usable due to weather."

    Ideal for two. Very comfortable beds and great shower. Great location and good dog walking routes on offer. Excellent facilities in Porlock.

    Reviewed by Eamonn3.8Jul 2023

  • "A very comfortable cottage in a great location."

    You're into woodland walks along the coast within a minute of leaving the front door. The sound of the stream running to the front of the property is a constant presence and helped get me off to sleep. I would definitely return for another stay.

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2023

  • "Charming little cottage and lovely location!"

    The damp smell is quite strong and was a bit of an issue for my husband with allergies to dust/damp, but once we managed to get some firewood and had the log burner on it helped masked it a bit. Facilities decent, it would have been nice to have some firewood etc left for us but not a huge deal. Bed is rather small but the pillows were very comfy. Overall a nice little cottage for a couple of nights.

    Thank you so much for providing some feedback following your stay. Following a recent visit to Woodedge from our Quality Assurance Manager, the owner assures us that they will be addressing all of the points raised in recent feedback comments. To date all of the kitchen utensils have been replaced along with providing a new kettle, cleanliness is being addressed and there are plans to refurbish the bathroom and fit a new walk in shower in March. Please rest assured we are working closely with the owner to maximise this property's' potential. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Dec 2022

  • "It was disgusting there was a rug which was filthy and smelt so bad we had to take it out."

    The loose tile which everyone in reviews going back years referred to at the foot of stairs was still not mended and is a safety hazard.No washing up liquid or toilet rolls, no heating in the bathroom, no working vacuum cleaner.We left early because it was so grim.Whoever is looking after this cottage should be fired.

    We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Woodedge. It was unfortunate that you did not contact us whilst you were at the property, this would have enabled us to have rectified any issues you encountered during your stay. We have spoken with the owner who has confirmed the loose tile will be fixed, the vacuum cleaner is a self charge one and may likely have needed charging. Self catering properties are not obliged to provide washing up liquid/loo rolls etc. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia1.6Nov 2022

  • "A lovely cottage in a beautiful area."

    No problems. Think the bath panel could do with replacement but a minor detail . The outside area needs some attention to the flagged areas. Just general tidying and it would enhance the look of the approach to the cottage. Overall we were very happy and had a lovely break in this outstanding area. Thanks

    Reviewed by John4.7Oct 2022

  • "The cottage and setting were beautiful however there were a few disappointing aspects which I would like to feedback."

    Terrible smell of damp especially coming from the downstairs cupboard, I appreciate this is an old cottage. Cleanliness was poor I had to re was the kitchen equipment, cobwebs and dust everywhere. The oven was covered in grease and the oven gloves filthy. The bed was described as a double however I feel it was a very small double. The bathroom was in need of updating, the bath panel was falling off and covered in old sealant. The shower head was split and got worse over the week so water sprayed into your face rather than from above.

    Reviewed by Katherine2.5Aug 2022

  • "Lovely cottage , good location ."

    well equips , could do with new shower and new Bath panel otherwise absolutely fine, we've had a love stay x

    Reviewed by Judy4.1Jul 2022

  • "We found the house extremely comfortable and an absolute delight."

    We were fortunate with the weather and were able to sit out in the garden at lunch time and enjoy the peace in the amazing setting. A fabulous place that we will return to please !

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Apr 2022

  • "Our stay in this cottage was fantastic, it is very well equipped and spotless."

    The enclosed garden makes it such a stress free stay for dog owners and the setting is idyllic, from the fact you have to cross the stream via your own bridge to enter the property to the footpaths from your doorstep. The village is a 5 minute walk from the property with 3 pubs(all very dig friendly) and a choice of eateries as well as local shops for supplies. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Apr 2022

  • "A delightful cottage in a perfect location."

    The photos don't do it justice. The highlight was the wood-burning stove. Bring plenty of wood, as none is provided.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Feb 2022

  • "No means of fire escape from upstairs due to jammed hinges; loose floor tile trip hazard."

    Very grubby and dirty- hair in fridge and sink, not vacuumed so dog hair everywhere. We wouldn't recommend.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are pleased to see that you have subsequently discussed this further with the customer team. The owner of Woodedge has confirmed that a power cut unfortunately affected the standard of cleaning that was performed on the changeover on this occasion. They are also planning to redecorate and renovate the property at the end of January with your feedback in mind. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Isabell1.3Dec 2021

  • "We got to our cottage at six ish with no wood for fire even though it said there would be fire not cleaned out cooker we couldn’t work no information about it after about four phone calls someone came out the next day in the evening."

    The tile at the bottom of the stair still wasn’t fixed and neither was the toilet seat we knew they could hoover before we got there and neither could we as hoover not working. Got there on the 22nd and came home on the 25th so not a good time

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry, you have didn't have the holiday you expected and you left early . There had been power cuts in the area, and this would have contributed to the lack of hoovering, but not to the lack of fire wood etc. We are now working with the Owner to address the issues of concern. Helpful Holiday Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katie2.2Dec 2021

  • "Woodedge Cottage is a quaint cottage in an idyllic setting."

    The village of Porlock and surrounding area is lovely, with many walks both on the coast and Exmoor. There are many interesting places to visit. Although Woodedge Cottage was well equipped, cozy and comfortable it could do with a little TLC by the owner. It was disappointing to read in the visitors book that many of the issues had been unattended to for months; namely the broken toilet seat, loose tile at the bottom of the stair, wobbly table, untidy garden. We could not find the charger for the hoover and were unable to hoover on our departure. If the cottage was tidied up it would be a perfect location for a couple to holiday in Porlock.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we're sorry to hear you experienced these issues. We are delighted to advise that the garden has now been tidied up and had a complete makeover and we plan to add new outside seating in the new year. The toilet seat has been replaced, a new charger has been purchased for the hoover and the loose tile will be attended to as soon as possible. The cottage will also have a complete repaint during the winter months. We are glad that you found the property to be cosy and comfortable and we are pleased to have finally been able to give the cottage some TLC. Unfortunately, Covid has prevented us from attending to some of these issues throughout the year as we would normally have done. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil3.1Nov 2021

  • "I found booking and communications excellent We were very pleased with the accommodation and location Overall the service and accommodation was very good - a little home from home."

    The only thing I would raise, and it is really a very, very minor thing, The black bin was full when we arrived making it a little difficult to get rid of our rubbish. Although I know how difficult it is to get a property ready between guests

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Aug 2021

  • "Garden furniture could be improved as the picnic table is not comfortable so you can’t really sit outside."

    There is no recycling box. Shower is a bit hit and miss. Nice cottage but it is very tiny.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback, as mentioned below, following a visit from our quality Assurance team all points you have raised have been discussed with the owner of the property and will be rectified at his soonest convenience. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria3.1Jul 2021

  • "Extremely noisy hot water timer."

    Whilst the cottage generally ok, we thought garden was very poor and untidy

    Thank you for your feedback, following a visit from our Quality Assurance team we have advised the owner of your comments and asked that the garden is tidied. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Macdonald3.4Jul 2021

  • "Let down by the garden"

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. Please accept our apologies, we have been unable to attend to the garden as we usually would due to the recent lockdown. We have taken your comment on board and have arranged for a gardener to visit the property as soon as possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicholas3.8May 2021

  • "Lovely little cottage, really well equipped and in a beautiful location."

    Reviewed by Caroline4.7Oct 2020

  • "The information in the specification did not point out that the property was not suitable for elderly, pregnant or with a small child - the spiral staircase was steep and narrow not suitable for carrying suitcases upstairs (we left our cases down stairs and lived out of them) State of the art cooker was erratic turning itself off at any time."

    The key safe was jammed on arrival - had to wait an hour for help to arrive (key too large for box). Tv was tuned into Wales for several programmes which prevented us watching some of our favorite programmes.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We are sorry that you were not happy with the spiral staircase, it is mentioned in the property description and shown in the photograph, however we have added an extra note to this effect. We do receive Welsh TV from across the sea which is Wales because of the Exmoor hills. Unfortunately we are unable to re-tune it. The cooker has been fixed and the key safe replaced after it became jammed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David2.8Sep 2020

  • "Nothing you should be aware of, the cottage met my expectations."

    It was clean. Fab cooking pots and pans. A spatula and a pastry brush would have been fab but not essential. We did a bit of gardening. A truly beautiful cottage to stay in. I will be back x

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Sep 2020

  • "Lovely cottage but it would have been nice if the garden was cleared of a lot of weeds and rubbish."

    Didn’t feel inviting to sit out there. Key box was open when we arrived and once closed would not open. Appeared jammed. Gate needs attention. I did point out these issues to the agent.

    Reviewed by Jean3.8Sep 2020

  • "This is a really lovely little cottage - perfect for a walking holiday with footpaths galore from the front door so no need to drive."

    It is in a beautiful setting and only a 10 minute walk into town. We really enjoyed our stay here and loved the town of Porlock and Porlock Weir. The cottage was clean and tidy and quiet - no rowdy holiday makers! It was a perfect place to relax.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Aug 2020

  • "The cottage was as described, but there was dirty utentsils in the kitchen, the rug in the lounge had plenty of dog hair, and dead insects in it, and our daughter defiantely ended up with some bite marks on her stomach from lying on the rug, or worse the bed."

    It would not take alot of effort to clean away the cobwebs, and deep clean the rug, especially after guests with dogs have stayed. Shame about the cleanliness. Perhaps also guests can be told where the wood is, so they can use it on the wood burner, if they want, rather than leaving on the lounge, where a dampy must smell lingers. Otherwise the cottage was as described, location was good, easy 10 minute walk to the village and many walks around the cottage. Very lovely part of the UK.

    Reviewed by Indira2.8Aug 2020

  • "Lovely little cottage, in a quiet location but withi walking distance of Porlock centre."

    Ideal for couple with a dog.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Jul 2020

  • "The cottage was warm and comfortable but I had a few issues over maintenance."

    The main one was the gutters had not been cleared of debris and in the heavy rain during my stay, the gutter over the front door leaked badly resulting in water running down the inside of the door and soaking the flooring. This appeared to have happened before. The owner/manager was made aware. The courtyard garden was untidy and neglected (as per the site photo) which was a shame as it let the cottage down. It would have been good to have some instructions for the cooker as it was tricky to operate, which other visitors had noted in the visitors book. Despite this I enjoyed my stay in Porlock.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your stay at Woodedge. We have spoken with the owner who is already arranging to have the gutters cleared, this will in turn stop the leak to the door. Plans are in place to tidy the garden once the weather improves. Despite the points raised we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in The Westcountry. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marilyn3.8Feb 2020

  • "Woodedge is a cosy compact cottage in a lovely location just outside of Porlock village."

    Whilst being compact, it was roomy enough for the two of us and a couple of Staffies. The garden was secure (once I'd screwed the gate catch back on), and the cottage well equipped. We arrived on a cold, wet Saturday, but were disappointed to find the wood stove "starter kit" detailed in the cottage information didn't exist, the stove was full the brim with ash from previous use, and that contrary to the write up online, 'fuel' (ie logs etc) wasn't included despite being advertised as so. Overall though, you'll feel comfortable here.

    Reviewed by Nick4.1Nov 2019

  • "Woodedge Cottage is a modern well fitted out cottage in a quiet part of the village of Porlock."

    There is good access to the village five minutes walk down the road, or the woods and walks just to the west. The layout of both the downstairs and upstairs is confined with not much room for a party bigger than two. Downstairs you step directly into the lounge with only a doormat for changing boots or, as in our case, drying dogs. There is a gap under the stairs which became useful as a storage for boots and bags. Upstairs is a good double room, small single and the small bathroom, with a decent shower and no shortage of hot water that we noticed. The material state of the cottage is good with a modern fitted out kitchen which is essential for a self-catering holiday. There is a dining table and chairs provided, but we did not use them. The television and internet connection worked well for all of our stay. Throughout it is well decorated and clean, with good beds and some cupboards for clothing in the main room. Outside the garden has a picnic style table to sit at but the whole front area would benefit from a makeover or just a good trim and tidy as plants were starting to intrude on the seating and path. Parking is available nearby in a few places.

    Reviewed by Richard4.1Sep 2019

  • "Everything was explained clearly on booking had no issues when we arrived and no need to contact anyone for advise , would do it again."


    Reviewed by Philip5.0Aug 2019

  • "The cottage was as advertised and exactly as described ."

    Communications were also excellent and we had no trouble finding the location and entry into the cottage. We had a wonderful time there and the cottage was in a wonderful location surrounded by beautiful countryside and just a short walk to all the facilities in Porlock. The sound of the nearby steam was sublime. We will definitely return ………………….. good work Sykes . Andy Gierus .

    Reviewed by Andrzej5.0Jun 2019

  • "Lovely little cottage in a beautiful location, with easy access to plenty of things to do."

    Everything we needed for a short break in Exmoor.

    Reviewed by Eliza4.7Jun 2019

  • "We really dislike writing such a bad review but we have no choice."

    The dreadful smell of damp throughout, when we left to go out, the smell hit us when we returned.The lounge was very dreary, the stall was awful, it couldn't be used as it had hard lumps all over but dipped in the middle, very basic. The so called garden was actually a yard, a mess, even if it did have proper garden furniture, which it didn't, we would not have sat out there. The upstairs was much nicer, the main bedroom was lovely, but still the smell of damp. We would not like anybody else to stay there in its condition. We were so pleased to leave, a complete waste of money, we have never wanted a holiday to come to an end, very upsetting.Jean and George Chivers.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at Woodedge. We've spoken with the owner who visited the property following your stay, they have reported that they were unable to find any evidence of damp in the property, neither could they detect a smell of damp. They have purchased a diffuser and damp box to monitor this in the future. The garden is true to form from the pictures on the website. The stool has now been removed from the property. We are pleased to hear that despite the points raised you enjoyed your stay at Woodedge. The feedback we receive for Woodedge is overwhelmingly positive and we are confident that any issues highlighted are a one off. Property Owner

    Reviewed by George2.2May 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with walk in shower, WC, basin
  • Ground floor open plan living space with seating area, kitchen area and dining area with folding table
  • Electric fires, underfloor heating with wood burning stove
  • Microwave, fridge, WiFI, TV with DVD, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • The property has a wrought iron spiral staircase
  • Parking is usually available in shared layby nearby
  • Enclosed garden
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Small enclosed public play area located opposite
  • Pub less than 1 mile from property

The property

This mid-terrace cottage is situated in the woodland valley of Hawkcombe, half a mile from Porlock.

It is much loved accommodation for walkers or anyone looking to explore Exmoor.

Step up to the traditional stable doors into the neat open plan living space with small wood burning stove, TV, kitchen area and folding dining table and chairs.

Head up the wonderful narrow wrought iron spiral stairs to your two cosy bedrooms sharing a bathroom.

At the front, take the little footbridge over a stream to your peaceful enclosed garden where you can enjoy meals at the picnic table.

This is brilliant walking country, with the dramatic coastline and the heather hills of Exmoor to explore, or maybe ride from the local stables or take on some challenging mountain biking.

For shopping and eating, Porlock has a range of shops, restaurants and pubs, Minehead is a fabulous seaside town with all the fun nostalgic resort entertainments you could wish for.

Woodedge is a dear little cottage for enjoying the stunning scenery.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Minehead 5.5 miles; Lynton 11 miles.

Porlock is a quaint village, popular with tourists due its character, proximity to the lovely North Somerset coastline and situation within the Exmoor National Park. There are plenty of little gift shops along with pubs, cafes and restaurants to be found and only two miles away, the picturesque harbour of Porlock Weir offers wonderful views across the Bristol Channel. The Porlock Hill takes travelers up a steep, winding road out of the village to the Exmoor Hills, where walkers, horse riders and cyclists will love the open space, where ponies and red deer roam the moors. In 2011, Exmoor was designated as Europe’s first International Dark Skies Reserve, and so this is an excellent base for a romantic evening spent gazing at the stars, where a clear night unveils an abundance of interesting constellations to the naked eye. Porlock offers the choice of sea fishing from the weir, and the reservoirs and rivers of Exmoor are only a short, scenic drive away. Golfers can stay in Porlock and enjoy one of the several courses on the edges of Exmoor, with the nearest only seven miles away. The medieval village of Dunster, where the castle dominates the skyline, makes a great day out, or take a ride on the West Somerset steam train along the coast to the little harbour village of Watchet. A fabulous village location with lots of outdoor pursuits to interest every visitor.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas