Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Hazel Nook in the last 24 hours

1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • Hazel Nook - South Wales - 1055767 - photo 1
close

Hazel Nook

(Ref. 1055767)

Narberth, South Wales & Pembrokeshire Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (15)
  • hut (14)
  • great (11)
  • stay (10)
  • little (9)
  • clean (9)

32 Customer Reviews

  • "Absolutely perfect little place, enjoyed it so much and will be recommend to friends"

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Apr 2024

  • "Overall pretty good"

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Mar 2024

  • "We had a wonderful 3 nights at Hazel nook."

    A lovely base for exploring some of Pembrokshires breathtaking countryside. We highly recommend the Boars head Inn for a nice meal out, the food was incredible.

    Hi Jennifer Thank you so much for your feedback, and for the recommendation for the Boars Head, just ten minutes by car from Narberth. We have enjoyed many a Sunday Roast there, gorgeous food. You have to book well ahead for a roast, as very popular. Hope to welcome you back, we are seeing more and more returning guests since we opened the hut in November 20. Thanks again Paul and Donna Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Dec 2023

  • "Had a great stay at hazel nook,had everything I needed, was clean and tidy."

    Stayed in December and was lovely and warm.

    Hi Oliver We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to let us know. All year round, whatever the season, the hut provides a restful base to explore the delights of Pembrokeshire :) Paul and Donna Property Owner

    Reviewed by Oliver5.0Dec 2023

  • "Enjoyable stay within the shepherds hut ."

    .all the things i needed and enough room ...just needed to be efficient with the space The shower room and toilet was very clean and having a radiator to dry the towels was a good touch Personally i wasnt used to traffic noise but i was only there for a few days Great base for pembroke holiday to explore from

    Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate it when guests take the time to post feedback following their holiday. The hut is certainly bijou, most shepherds huts don't have the extra bedroom, we searched high and low to find one with this added benefit, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay :) A few days is nowhere near enough to fully explore the delights of West Wales, you must re-visit at some point in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Taylor4.1Sep 2023

  • "Fabulous hut, super comfy bed."

    All the bits n bobs you need for a super comfy base to explore the local area, good bit of space in the garden to enjoy the sun. Bathroom not en-suite was perfect and another option for five minutes peace. Cold water in the hut was fine. Fairy washing liquid promotes cold water washing. Recommendations for food were spot on. Defo one to return to. Absolutely loved it. Double thumbs up from us all.

    Thanks Sue, So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay back in August, I am a little late with responding sorry, missed this one somehow. 'Bathroom not en-suite was perfect and another option for five minutes peace'. There is that about it for sure Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Aug 2023

  • "A little tricky to find at first but couldn’t of been better lovely shepherds ..."

    A little tricky to find at first but couldn’t of been better lovely shepherds hut and dog friendly too we enjoyed our stay so much we stayed a little longer, highly recommended and will be returning

    Hi Andrew We were really glad that you were able to grab two extra nights at the last minute. Thankyou for your review, we really appreciate it when guests take the time to share their holiday experience. Thanks again and we look forward to your return. Paul and Donna :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Jul 2023

  • "Thank you for the welcome goodies, great directions & lovely shower room."

    The guidance for pets was appreciated - loved the area!

    Thank you for your lovely feedback Linda :) We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back any time. Paul and Donna Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely spot for a few days away!"

    Highly recommended

    Thanks for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay, shame the weather was not warmer but still lots to see and do in and around Narberth. We appreciate your feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ben5.0Jun 2023

  • "Absolutely shocking!"

    Tried to get money back but owners had plasters for every sore ! Advert very misleading. It was a grotty old caravan in someone’s back garden! Not suitable for dogs as stated in the advert . Located at the bottom of a very steep hill on a very busy main road , not a short walk from the nearest shops / pubs as stated . You would be risking your life to veer onto the so called path !Infact place was a death trap ! Keep your money ! Stay AWAY!!! The inside of the caravan was dirty ! Walls in the advert we’re freshly painted. These were old photographs as every wall had damp marks on ! Whole place smelt of mould and damp ! I have been diagnosed with asthma, and had to use my ventolin pump on entry ! Floors were dirty , dirty water marks down the kitchen bin ! DISGUSTING

    Hello Paul Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you were not happy with the hut. It is rather niche and not everyone’s ‘cup of tea’. We understand that you were disappointed that you did not get your money back, having changed your mind about staying at the property, almost as soon as you had arrived, it seems. Unfortunately, as you were unable to provide any evidence of your claims ( photos) Sykes were not in a position to refund, and it was far too late to release the dates to other customers. When we were told that you had decided to head home ( approx. 15 mins after your arrival). We asked the cleaner to return to the hut, and take pictures. This was done the same day.The hut was found to be exactly as per usual. Clean, dry, guest ready . As mentioned earlier, for reasons unknown to us, you decided to get in your car and head home ( a fair journey) choosing not to stay. That is a shame but of course your choice. The hut proves to be very popular. It sits in the heart of Narberth, warm, dry, quirky, comfy and clean, available for guests enjoyment all year round, Yours sincerely Paul and Donna Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul1.3Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely birthday break and loved Narbeth, a very pretty town conveniently close to coast and lovely dog walks."

    The shepherds hut was very pretty and comfortable , my only issue was getting up to go to the toilet in the night which is located across the yard ! It is on a very busy main road so noise may trouble some people.

    Thanks for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to explore some of the beautiful country and coastal areas near by. The hut is great as a base, it is one up from canvas (tent) but granted does not have the luxury of an ensuite loo. It is a short walk to the toilet and shower room, which serves the hut exclusively, unlike a communal campsite where the toilet facilities are shared. It is set back from the road, nestled in its own grounds, however it is fair to say traffic noise is present and may be an issue for some. Thank you for your lovely card by the way, appreciated. Paul and Donna Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cressida5.0May 2023

  • "A GREAT EXPERIENCE."

    VERY QUIRKY AND EVERYTHING YOU WOULD NEED. IT'S IN A PERFECT LOCATION, CLOSE TO TENBY, SAUNDERSFOOT AND STACKPOLE. A VERY NEEDED REST FROM WORK AND VERY REASONABLY PRICED.

    Thankyou Jon, so glad you enjoyed your stay, Until I read your comment, I had never heard of Stackpole, we visited it recently and loved it! Barafundle Bay near by is amazing! You know where we are for next year :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jon5.0Apr 2023

  • "We really loved our stay at Hazel Nook!"

    It was cosy and comfortable with the perfect amenities you would need for a short stay, and the toilet and shower facilities were easy to access and comfortable to use. The location was perfect for exploring the local area and the wider coasts of Pembrokeshire. The hosts were really helpful with any query we had about our stay; big thank you! We would love to return :)

    Hi Danielle Thank you so much for your lovely feedback :) Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hazel- Nook. We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime. Paul and Donna Property Owner

    Reviewed by Danielle5.0Apr 2023

  • "Hazel Nook is a perfect little getaway."

    The facilities are excellent and as would be expected with a shepherds hit, the toilet and shower room are a separate facility but not an issue. As I was staying for a few weeks the added bonus was the utility room with washing & drying machines. All in all Hazel Nook is in an excellent location for roaming Pembrokeshire and a credit to its owners.

    Thanks Chris We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, the longest yet! The tumble dryer is no longer in service, as the energy costs are just too high to justify. There is a rotary line in the garden if the weather allows. Failing that, there is a launderette at the top of town. For the benefit of future guests, here are the details: Picton Terrace, Narberth SA67 7AW, Pembrokeshire. (at the top of the one way system, opposite Narberth Tyres) daveridge64@gmail.com 07421 264960 Thanks Again Chris Hope to see you back at some point in the future :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher Samuel5.0Feb 2023

  • "Ideal for a peaceful getaway."

    There is plenty to see and do from the area. The walk up into town can be a little steep, however after reading previous comments I found there was a bridle way not far, a gentle stroll and 40 minutes puts you right into the town. It’s pretty quiet, except for the road, which after the initial few hours you don’t really notice. Whilst you sit and listen to the birds twittering away, and enjoy a slower pace. This is an ideal place for just getting away and switching off for a bit, or a great base for exploring Pembrokeshire. I had a great time. Thank you

    Hello James So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hazel - Nook. Getting away and switching off is a must for us all at times, for sure. We like nothing more than taking our dog, Rosie, down to the beach at Saundersfoot and watching her run along the sand. It is just a twelve minute drive from The Hut to Saundersfoot. Lots of beautiful places to visit as you say. a good base. We really appreciate your comments. Thanks Again Paul and Donna Property Owner

    Reviewed by James4.4Feb 2023

  • "This was the perfect spot to get away from it all."

    The property had plenty of parking, it was very clean and comfortable, it was also convenient for Tenby and surrounding areas. Having washroom separate from the accommodation was unusual but not an issue at all. The owners were friendly and available whenever I had a query. This was a great accommodation for someone like me who stayed on her own.

    Marie, belated thanks for your feedback, missed this sorry. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcome you back anytime :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marie4.1Sep 2022

  • "This is a lovely quirky place to stay, comfortable in the extreme heat as well as when it got cooler."

    Narberth is a visitable town and is in easy reach of lots of visitor attractions, the seaside and countryside footpaths. The hut is just a short, steep uphill walk from the town which we enjoyed for our daily exercise, but we also discovered a lovely, longer walk in the countryside to get there which avoids the busy road.

    Hi Elizabeth Many thanks for your feedback, we agree, the hut is in a great location for visiting lots of lovely coastal places near-by. I am pretty sure the walk you are referring to is the bridle path, I have walked it once or twice and it is really pretty. For the benefit of future guests, you turn right when leaving the hut, right again past the red brick houses, along side the river then turn right again through the country lane. Keep going and you will come to a green sign that says 'Narberth' 1 mile, it is right opposite the Valley Gate clinic (this will be on your left) . follow the road through woodland and it brings you out at the top of town. It is a lovely walk but a good hour I would say. Thanks for reminding me, and thanks again for your lovely comments :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7Aug 2022

  • "Lovely comfortable space, especially the bed."

    Very tastefully decorated and adequately equipped for such a small space. Great location for touring around. Just a small thing, there was a microwave at the property that isn't listed in the advert. I would have packed different food had I known. You might want to add to future listings.

    Reviewed by Laura4.1Jun 2022

  • "Lovely and clean, had everything I needed and the owners were lovely."

    Only 2 concerns for me, the first was I was expecting the yard to be dog secure and it might be for bigger dogs but not for my little one, this meant I couldn't met her out of my sight. The only other thing I struggled with was the traffic noise from the very busy road which woke me every morning. To be fair I live in a very quiet road so may be more sensitive than others. Overall good value for money, I would totally recommend if my issues aren't yours issues.

    Thank you Anne for your honest feedback, appreciated. Daisy (who I had the pleasure of meeting) is a delightful little dog, and you are quite right, it is not wise to let any dog roam freely within the garden area. Guest information includes this important point.We do have two dog tethering spiral stakes placed in the garden, to allow a little freedom for both dogs and owners alike. We are sorry to hear that your holiday was 'marred' somewhat by the traffic noise, understandably, if you are not used to this then it may be an issue. The property description does state that the hut is situated next to a main road and traffic noise is present. For the benefit of future guests, please note, the hut is set back from a busy road, one of the conveniences of this is that it is literally a ten minute walk into the quaint market town of Narberth. For keener walkers, there is the picturesque amble from Narberth town, through Pembrokeshire lowland landscape and Canaston Wood to Blackpool Mill, along the banks of the Cleddau river, leading back to Narberth. If sea-scapes are your thing, then we are only ten miles from the golden sands of Tenby, nearby Saundersfoot. Pembrokeshire is truly beautiful, Come See! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.1May 2022

  • "Hazel Nook is a delightful gypsy caravan with a lovely garden in a beautiful little town."

    In the heart of Pembrokeshire all the delights of the region are easily accessible. Our border collie was extremely happy there. She doesn't normally like being away. The owners were charming and couldn't have been more helpful.

    We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay Alex Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alex4.7Apr 2022

  • "Lovely cosy hut."

    The bed was so comfy. The owner was approachable and friendly. The shower and toilet was immaculate. The added unexpected bonus was the laundry facilities,providing a washing machine,dryer,iron,ironing board.Well worth a visit.

    Thank you so much Sandra for your lovely feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay despite the weather . You are always welcome Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Oct 2021

  • "Thoughtfully equipped and decorated to make a small space very comfortable and homely."

    The garden was a great space for our dog to enjoy.

    Dear Catherine, We just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to leave us some lovely feedback. Often guests will message us personally as owners to say they had a great time but then don't share their view with our agent Sykes Cottages. We understand, the hustle and bustle of life leaves little time to worry about responding to a feedback request, once a holiday is over. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our Shepherds hut. Thanks for sharing! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Sep 2021

  • "We were disappointed that we had no fridge to put milk in not enough things to ..."

    We were disappointed that we had no fridge to put milk in not enough things to cook with no cooker and toilet was too far as I have a bladder problem however we did like the hut and very clean

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you liked the hut and found it very clean. We have noted your comments regarding the lack of facilities. It is unfortunate that you didn't contact us to ask at the time, I would have happily pointed out that the fridge is sitting in the cupboard to the left of the kitchen sink! Next to the hot plate and saucepans, just below the microwave. Not sure how it was missed, shame because that is where your complimentary wine and beer were waiting for you. The listing clearly states that the toilet is not situated in the hut, it is a short walk across the garden ( some twenty steps, depending on shoe size!) We understand that this may pose a problem for some which is why we have never misled any guest to believe the toilet is contained within the hut. Sorry you didn't enjoy your break as much as we had hoped. We appreciate your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Glynn2.8Sep 2021

  • "Having to get the hot plate out to cook a meal then having to juggle the plugs around, I was told the toilet was near the shepherds hut but was next to another cottage."

    Reviewed by Barbara3.4Aug 2021

  • "One thing that my husband and I thought would make things a bit easier was if the different keys to the shepherds hut and the facilities were labelled in someway, as initially we did find it quite time consuming trying to find the right keys to unlock/lock the Shepherds Hut etc, eventually we remembered which key was which, but if they were labelled to begin with that would definitely help."

    Apart from the above, my Husband and I had a wonderful couple of nights/days and thought the location was lovely and was a great base for travelling to other beautiful places in Wales. It was lovely for my Husband and I to be able to get away for a bit just the two of us and everything was just as we were hoping for.

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Jun 2021

  • "Hazel nook is a brilliant cosy little shepherds hut, clean and snug with great facilities."

    I enjoyed an amazing mini break for my partners birthday there, situated close to many attractions and shops in narbeth and also saundersfoot and tenby. Loved the simple old fashioned decor. Loved the fact that there is no tv in sight to spoil the feel of the place. The bathroom door was a little fiddley and if your a taller person, bear in mind to duck under the bedroom door way, I didn't and got a couple of head bumps!! Other than door trouble, i had one of the most amazing times of my life staying at Hazel nook and highly recommend it, wouldn't often say this about a place but will consider going back next year maybe!

    Reviewed by Joshua5.0Jun 2021

  • "There’s no hot water in the van to wash pots."

    I’d have liked some cleaning products . Great base from which to explore the Pembrokeshire coast.

    Reviewed by Nicola3.4Jun 2021

  • "The shepherds hut was good and we enjoyed it."

    What was not so good was the overall cleanliness. We had to clean the hair from the shower plug hole as the water would not go down. I rang the owner the previous day, who told me that the hut was all ready and that we could get in earlier if we wanted to. So we set off at 6.30am to get a good start, only to be told 2 hours into our journey that this was now not the case as the hut was not ready. This meant that we then had to spend 2 hours over the journey in motorway services. This was done only by txt and no phone calls. The holiday itself was good.

    Reviewed by David3.4Jun 2021

  • "We were very pleased with our experience with skye cottages."

    Our holiday shepherds hut was amazing, very cosy and comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay in beautiful surroundings. Thank you. ☺

    Reviewed by David4.4May 2021

  • "Lovely quaint little Shepard’s hut."

    Was welcomed with a small hamper of items. Although garden detailed as being enclosed a few gaps in hedge which out dog found other than that lovely stay. Clean and tidy. Thank you

    Reviewed by Kayleigh4.1Apr 2021

  • "Absolutely perfect base to explore Narberth and West Wales."

    There is a lovely walk that takes you from the Nook around a bridal path and back again. Perfect if you have a dog with you on your stay. The host were so welcoming and were very accommodating. We were initially worried about having to walk across to the bathroom. However, the bathroom was lovely and warm, clean and had everything you could possibly need. We had such a lovely time and would definitely recommend. It was far more central that what we originally thought and a short walk up the hill and we were in the town centre. Lovely local produce and plenty of choice. Thank you so much for a perfect weekend break!

    Reviewed by Naomi5.0Apr 2021

  • "Beautiful little hut , lovely area would definitely stay here again , the owner ..."

    Beautiful little hut , lovely area would definitely stay here again , the owner was fantastic and met any needs , it was cozy and comfy

    Reviewed by Stacey5.0Nov 2020

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • One double bedroom with electric fire
  • External shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire and sofa bed
  • Two electric fires
  • Electric hot plate, fridge and WiFi
  • Complimentary mini welcome hamper with welsh waffles, prosecco and beer
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample off-road parking
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Private enclosed lawn and patio with furniture, charcoal barbecue and storage
  • Sorry, no smoking permitted in the hut
  • Shop 0.4 miles, pub 0.3 miles
  • Note: Although this property is all on the ground floor, there are three steps up to enter the hut
  • Note: There is a sofa bed in the living area to offer a flexible sleeping arrangement
  • Note: The property is situated next to a main road and the sound of traffic is present

The property

Conveniently resting next to the owner's home in an idyllic location in the countryside of Wales, Hazel Nook offers a couple a unique base from which to explore the natural beauty of this blissful area.

A wonderful shepherd's hut found just outside of the excitement of Narberth town, this property makes a wonderful choice for a rural and romantic escape.

Park up right outside of the property before stepping out and soaking in the fresh countryside air, taking a seat on your private patio to make the most of your surroundings, the charcoal barbecue offering alternative dining for the summer months too.

Take the three steps up to find the modest but inviting open-plan living space, the corner seating area making the perfect spot to unwind, as well as doubling into a sofa bed to offer you a flexible sleeping arrangement for those travelling with a friend.

The kitchen area offers a good selection of amenities, with a hot spot, microwave, two ringed electric hot plate, fridge, kettle and toaster, while you can find a good selection of eateries within the local town too.

At the rear of the hut is the lovely double bedroom, with a pretty interior, it makes a wonderful spot to catch up on your rest.

The shower room can be found externally, an extremely spacious spot to prepare for your day ahead, it boasts all of a walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, with a contemporary interior in here too.

The centre of Narberth can be found just a quarter of a mile away, making a lovely route for a brisk uphill stroll in the morning to discover its good range of restaurants to choose from for a delicious breakfast including all of cafés, restaurants and pubs.

Narberth is also home to upmarket boutiques, specialist deli grocers and unique gift shops where you can while away the hours searching for the perfect souvenir, as well as being home to its very own museum where you can learn more about the history of the area through artifacts, an archive of documents and social history, interactive activities and more, while the ruined Norman fortress of Narberth Castle is well-worth visiting too for the perfect picnic spot.

Be sure to visit the Queen's Hall in the town too, a wonderful cultural and arts venue hosting concerts, plays and events catering to a variety of tastes, while you're sure to enjoy a day out in the harbour town of Tenby at any time of the year, home to the sandy stretch of Castle Beach, its own castle ruins, Tenby Museum and Art Gallery and even more rich history, there's so much to explore here.

Visit Saundersfoot with its secluded beaches and charming atmosphere, or venture further afield to find the wonder of the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, the UK's only coastal National Park, it offers a scenic experience like no other.

In easy reach of so much excitement, Hazel Nook is the perfect choice for a pair seeking a fun-filled escape to Wales.

This property can be booked with ref. 1055969 sleeping a total of 6 guests.

View on map

About the location

NARBERTH

Wiseman's Bridge 7 miles; Tenby 10 miles.

The bustling town of Narberth is a delight to discover with its many individual shops, including upmarket boutiques, specialist deli grocers and unique gift shops, and a wide choice of restaurants, bistros and pubs can be found in and around the town. Queen's Hall, Narberth's leading cultural and arts venue hosts a variety of concerts, plays and events, which can be enjoyed throughout the year. Pembrokeshire is home to the UK's only coastal National Park, and the whole of Pembrokeshire beckons with the harbour and seaside resorts of Tenby and Saundersfoot close by, visit secluded sandy beaches, such as the acclaimed Barafundle Bay for a quiet relaxing day, or take in an invigorating walk along the Pembrokeshire Coast National Path. Enjoy a boat trip to Caldey Island and its monastery, or to Skomer, which is renowned for its puffins. For the most adventurous, extreme watersports await, whilst golfers can take the challenge of Tenby's famous links course. Canaston Woods and the Landsker Trail is nearby with many walking routes. A perfect holiday base at any time of year.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas