Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • 2 Primrose Cottage - South Wales - 1014940 - photo 1

2 Primrose Cottage

(Ref. 1014940)

Saundersfoot, South Wales & Pembrokeshire Show on map


  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (15)
  • property (13)
  • garden (13)
  • clean (12)
  • lovely (12)
  • again (11)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "Feedback and images requested by Sykes Cottage already provided no response to date most complaints in the reviews are still very much valid and have not been rectified, a lovely house with so much potential but cleanliness, safety and maintenance is clearly not a priority for Landlord or letting agency."

    Sorry you were unhappy with your stay. we take health and safety seriously and are up to date with all electrical checks and have recent certificates as,required by sykes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leonard1.9Sep 2023

  • "Fabulous house, i love the beach theme throughout."

    Good location. Only 15 min walk to the beach and the shops down hill. Really lovely stay. Definitely would like to go back again in the future.

    thanks for your positive feedback. glad you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola4.7Aug 2023

  • "The inside is satisfactory and more or less mirrors the description of the property,,the outside is a mess spent 2 hours on first day of out stay weeding & cleaning the green slime on windows patio table and window frames !"

    !! Obviously hasn’t been cleaned in years if ever .

    we appreciate your feedback however we recently had a gardener to tidy the hedges and cleaned the patio. The table outside will require a wipe due to weather conditions and is put away during winter. We also painted the window frames recently. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wayne2.5Aug 2023

  • "Great location but property in dedperate need of a deep clean and redecoration."

    Bathroom mould and dirty carpet on stairs particularly need looking at. Airer in garden has dropped to bits and there's no alternative clothes airer in the house which made drying wet swimwear a nightmare

    Thanks for your comments. We will be refreshing the walls when the property is empty ,sorry to hear your not happy with our seaside themed art as it is as stated on the pictures in the listing and home from home when i stay. The carpet is clean and as a pet friendly let we are not replacing it currently. We are unaware of any problems with the garden washing line and will check it and finally the bathroon is relatively new with no mould. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate2.5Aug 2023

  • "We enjoyed a great week in Saundersfoot at Primrose Cottage even though the weather was a bit mixed."

    The house was quite cosy and we really liked the quirky seaside art around the place. The garden seemed secure enough for our dog to wander. It's nicely laid out and with some serious pruning it could be delightful. We left a note in the Guest Book of three short-to-long dogs walks from the front door (1) to Norwegian Woods, (2) to a woodland and stream walk into Saundersfoot and (3) to Glen Beach. This cottage is a solid 4-star and with a little TLC is could easily be a 5-star. We agree with a whole string of guests' comments in the book: that the frying pan and saucepans urgently need replacing and the bathroom floor desperately needs new vinyl. There is an excellent collection of books, games and DVDs. We would have preferred the DVD/TV to be in the living room instead of one bedroom. We would certainly consider coming to stay again. Thank you.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay at primrose cottage . Glad you enjoyed the games and dvds. These are left as well as the the choice of smart tv in the living room it has a dvd player on the side. We will be replacing items when we get down soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rob4.7Jul 2023

  • "We had a fantastic week at this property and fell in love with Saundersfoot, Wiseman's Bridge and the surrounding area."

    The property itself was fine for our needs especially as we had our dog with us. The coffee, milk and Welsh cakes were very welcome after our 5 hour journey to get there. The garden is usable but really does need some time and money spending on it as it's a bit overgrown to say the least. The hydrangeas at the front are beautiful but definitely need cutting back as they are a hindrance when entering and leaving the property. These are minor things that could be fixed quite easily but would make a big difference. The shower is a bit of a pain as it's directly over the non tap end of the bath (the sloped end) which made it difficult to stand up under the shower but we managed. The recycling was a bit confusing and there were no black or orange bin bags under the sink as stated in the recycling instructions. We did our best under the circumstances. Having said all of the above, we would return here as we felt it was a good price for the location and we had a fantastic week. Thank you :0)

    Thank you for your feedback . So glad to hear you had a lovely week in Saundersfoot. We have taken your comments on board and hope you return in the future. We are waiting on the gardener at present as we haven't been able to get down over the summer but i love the hydrangeas and the colours over summer. The shower is over the bath and the bathroom is relatively new and with room the shower can only be where it is at present. The bath is lovely to relax in. The rubbish now just goes in the main black bin after our waste disposal takes it weekly and should be a leaflet in the kitchen cupboard but will check. We try to charge fairly so glad you were happy with the price. Caren Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare3.4Jul 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay."

    The accommodation is in a great location, spacious and comfortable with everything you need for a weeks stay. The welcome pack of coffee, Welsh Cakes and chocolate is a nice touch after a long journey. The property could be cleaner, however more touchable surfaces were fine and to be honest as the property is pet friendly, perfect is not expected and can just be stressful! One thing I would say is the hover head doesn’t attach to the hover properly and this should be fixed to help guests with the cleaning as again it’s a pet friendly property so can get hairy. The garden is a lovely space but does need a good tidy up. Again not a massive issue as it’s a short walk to town so this enclosed space is just fine to let dogs out when needed. Overall we would stay again as the property is good value for the area and has everything needed for a holiday with pets.

    Thank you for your response. Glad you and your dogs had a lovely stay and enjoyed the garden we are waiting on the gardener to trim down the hydrangeas at the top of the garden. We try to accommodate and make sure the property is throughly cleaned as it is pet friendly. I am.always happy when we visit witj our pets. Thanks again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.4Jul 2023

  • "House requires a good thorough clean and upgrade."

    Carpets need replacing, kitchen updating..windows need cleaning outside. Rear garden area is a disgrace and unusable. Patio furniture needs replacing once the patio is usable!!

    Thanks for your comments however after you complained that the cottage wasn't detached or in the right location at the start of your holiday it was to be expected! We throughly disagree with all your above and refer to the previous recent comments from our recent guests . The garden is patio and requires very little attention and our gardener is trimming the hedge this week. The carpets are cleaned regularly as it is a pet friendly let as you know from taking your own pet . In future i suggest you read the description and look at the pictures so you know what to expect! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen1.9Jun 2023

  • "Lovely property."

    Very comfy beds.Garden could do with a bit of a trim back.Frying pan needs replacing.Loved the quiet location.Would definitely come back.

    Thanks firyour comments. Our gardener is going this week to trim the hedges. Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosemary4.7May 2023

  • "Had a lovely relaxing week at Primrose Cottage."

    Quiet location just a mile from Saundersfoot village. Warm and comfortable with everything you could need to hand. Looking forward to our next stay in a few weeks time

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Mar 2023

  • "Few niggles garden in need of work entrance to kitchen floor front door lock apart fabulous"

    Reviewed by Trevor4.7Oct 2022

  • "We got confused with the bins on what to put in to them."

    Your neighbours are very nice we got on with them all. We all really enjoyed our selves a lot especially our 2 dogs Joey & Willow, they loved having a garden to play in. We would love to come back to stay with you again.

    Thank you for your review . So pleased you enjoyed your stay and your dogs enjoyed the garden. Hope to see you return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Craig5.0Aug 2022

  • "Not sure how this was rated 4 star!"

    Not even a pint of milk or teabag on arrival. No basics provided, ie washing up liquid, salt pepper etc. lipstick on mugs in cupboard. Whole place in need of refurbishment or at least a decent clean. Outside area was very unkempt, weeds, green patio, overgrown. Mats front and back were clogged with dirt. Saundersfoot is a lovely area, but I would look elsewhere for a more comfortable stay.

    Sorry to hear you were dissapointed. We always leave milk and essentials as well as the cupboard with wash essentials so I've spoken to our cleaners who assured me they have. The garden has had a tidy recently and an overhaul of the cupboards and the mats were checked. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip2.5Aug 2022

  • "Everything was as described."

    Just needs an updating of the information pack, as recycling and rubbish disposal information as contradictory. Even struggled to find bin day information on the council website. Also the laundry information was contradictory as some information said to leave bedding and towels in the bath, the other said in the bags provided however, there were no bags provided. All it needs is a simple updating of information. A lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Christine3.8Jun 2022

  • "We used the property as a base mainly so fortunately we were only there in the evenings."

    The house was disappointing for the price. It definitely needs an injection of love and time to bring it up to an acceptable standard. The house was tidy but not clean - there was sand on the floor from previous occupants and it is generally a little grubby around the edges. The flooring in the kitchen is broken, there is mould on the frame at the patio door, the stair carpet is threadbare in parts, the carpets are stained, the bathroom flooring is poorly fitted, old and grubby. The garden was strewn with garden rubbish and was completely overgrown, so much so that the laurel hedging is extending across half of the patio window. There were instructions to strip the bedding and put in bags provided - but there were no bags. The check-in time of 5pm and check-out time of 9am took a huge chunk out of two days - supposedly for extended cleaning because of COVID but this was not apparent. It wouldn’t take much to bring it up to an acceptable standard…I wouldn’t stay again unless these points were addressed.

    Reviewed by Jayne3.1May 2022

  • "Lovely little house in a quiet cul de sac with friendly neighbours ."

    Cottage was clean and good wifi as be aware in certain parts of the house no phone signal. Saundersfoot a hidden gem on the Pembroke coast line , be aware very steep walk down to town so pushing prams etc back up a hard job but parking in town free after 6.

    Reviewed by Caroline4.7May 2022

  • "Excellent location."

    Disappointed that we had to shop for essentials such as loo roll when we arrived. Hand soap needed topping up. Would have brought it if we had known. Clarity needed in which bags to place laundry as we could not find any bags apart from bin bags which we used. We enjoyed our relaxing stay and would stay at the cottage again.

    Sorry there were no essentials on arrival. We have been in-between contracts and will look into this. Thank you for the feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jen3.8Apr 2022

  • "The property was in a great location and ideal for a Saundersfoot staycation."

    It was clean, tidy and had ample space. HOWEVER, we booked the dog friendly accommodation because it seemed safe and secure for a dog. This was not the case, we were phoned on the day of our arrival by the owners stating that the garden gate was broken and they had only just been made aware of the issue and informed us that we could prop items against it to prevent our dog escaping. They stated that the workmen would be coming Monday (during our stay) to fix the issue. They seemed nice enough on the phone and these things happen so all I asked for was to be told roughly when the workmen were coming to fix the gate and to be kept updated with any changes. On arrival, the gate was completely off it’s hinges so rather than lean things against it we essentially had to block off the area with bins etc. We then looked in the visitors book only to find the broken gate had already been mentioned as an issue by visitors months previously. On Monday when it was supposed to be fixed and us informed of a time for the same, we received no contact and nobody arrived. Spent the whole time at the accommodation watching the dog between the unsecured fence, rubble in the garden etc. Very disappointed as just wanted to relax knowing the dog was safe. The house was let down by the garden and lack of communication from the owners.

    Thank you for your feedback. We did try to sort a new gate during your stay and was sadly let dien by the owrson soposed to be doing it. He asssures us he is doing it this week. It happened during the bad storm recently and as soon as we were aware we hsbe made guests aware of it. I had guests stay that said they managed easily to prop the gate up and their dogs were safe. We did communicate with you and are sorry you feel we didn't. Thanl you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia3.4Apr 2022

  • "Wonderful long weekend break."

    Cottage well equipped, clean & tidy. The Area was very quiet which was great for a good nights sleep with no interruptions. Would recommend to a small family. Looking to book again in the warmer weather.

    Thanks fir your feedback. Much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Mar 2022

  • "Kitchen utensils need updating bathroom radiator is leaking."

    The double bed mattress needs replacing . It’s a lovely little holiday let and I would use it again but it just needs a little TLC xx I wouldn’t recommend this cottage to anyone with walking difficulties as the walk down to the village is very steep and would be quite hard for a family with a pushchair it does take longer than 19 min x

    Thank you for your feedback . The radiator wasn't leaking and i have no knowledge of any leaks. We hope you enjoyed your stay . We are in receipt of new cleaners and a changeover but i appreciate your feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire3.1Feb 2022

  • "The accommodation was not at all clean."

    I have already spoken to one of your agents about it and indeed he owners. We had to just get on with it as obviously had no other option but to stay, definitely overpriced and we will most definitely will not be returning to this holiday let. Saundersfoot itself was amazing as ever! We are regular visitors to the area, it was just the filthy accommodation that let it down for us. If I were letting out that property I would be embarrassed as to the state we found it. In fact we left Friday night instead of Saturday because we couldn’t bear to stay there any longer. I informed the owners of this.

    Reviewed by Marie1.6Aug 2021

  • "When we arrived we were unable to gain access as the number to the key safe had been changed and we hadn't been notified."

    The contact number was a recorded message and if it hadn't been for a neighbour who knew who to contact we would have been stranded..

    Reviewed by Joan4.7Jun 2021

  • "Really comfortable little cottage with an enclosed garden which is really handy if you have a small child or a dog."

    It's about a 15 minute walk to the town/beach. Super clean on arrival. Well appointed, but a broom would be handy- there's only a dustpan and brush.

    Reviewed by Catherine4.4May 2021

  • "This property failed to meet expectations from the minute we arrived at the door."

    In our view this property failed to meet the description given by Sykes and did not warrant a "4 tick" rating. We raised these issues with Sykes on arrival and it was agreed that we would send in photographs and written feedback when we arrived home. (There was a water leak in the kitchen on arrival and the owner sent round a plumber - fine, we appreciate these things happen) We sent our feedback to Sykes 2 weeks ago. Sadly no personalised response from Sykes. We have now chased and it transpires that our complaint had been closed!!! What!!!! We are continuing to pursue with Sykes. This is so disappointing because as regular Sykes users we have never had any problems with the quality of rentals or with their booking process. We had simply expected a prompt resolution of this matter.

    Reviewed by Lesley1.3May 2021

  • "Spent a wonderful week at 2 Oak Hill Drive, Saundersfoot, Property is clean and comfortable and is situated in a lovely quiet area but with easy access to beaches and amenities."

    Would have no hesitation booking a return visit.

    Reviewed by Catherine M5.0May 2021

  • "This is a lovely holiday house, it is as listed and it is not far from town/the beach."

    It's easy to go into saundersfoot and to also explore wisemans bridge and tenby. The only disappointment was that the shower still did not work. We had thought when booking it that it would have been rectified as it has been highlighted as a problem previously. If the shower had been working we wouldn't be able to fault the house and would want to return again, but a shower that works for less than a minute really isnt adequate.

    Reviewed by M4.4Nov 2020

  • "Hello. We have had a enjoyable week in Saundersfoot and visit to Tenby."

    We loved the area. The cottage was just perfect for us and Buster the dog, We found the cottage clean and safe due to the difficult times we are in. We see that the gardens could do with a lot of tender loving care. The outside seating area needs improvement. We also had problems with the shower as it worked when it decided too. But overall we enjoyed our stay in south west Wales.

    Reviewed by Sandra4.7Sep 2020

  • "Shower didn’t work properly."

    Garden in need of some serious work. At £1200 for a week I would never book a property again. Daylight robbery for what the property was like to stay in.

    Reviewed by Nigel2.5Aug 2020

  • "Lovely accommodation."

    You'd never know it was a dog friendly holiday let. It was spotless.

    Reviewed by Leona5.0Feb 2020

  • "We stayed at this property 3 weeks ago and it was a great location with everything you could need near by."

    Although the property is located on a cul-de-sac it was extremely quiet and having been there for bonfire night, not many fireworks. There is one parking space outside the property but it did state in the welcome pack that parking is based on a first come first served basis. The house was warm and comfortable but we did find a few issues. The double bedroom carpet had stains on it and the mattress protector was heavily stained brown and upon further inspection found the fitted sheet to have similar stains although not as much. Because of this I had to remove them both and buy a new fitted sheet to sleep on. In the twin bedroom you were unable to use the bedside lamp unless you used the extension lead from the Double bedroom to plug it in which meant you could not use the tv As we had to move the bedside table to gain access to the plug socket by moving one of the beds, we found a big orange mark on the floor under the table and the same colour splash marks up the skirting board. My Mum found the fitted sheet on one of the single beds did not fit properly so when she got in to bed the sheet rode up and was uncomfortable to sleep on and the duvet seemed to small as it did not fit over the sides of the bed, and because we went in the winter my Mum found it difficult to keep warm. The hot water only seemed to be available at a set time in the morning and on an evening so if you decided to have a bath or shower later in the evening the water was lukewarm so it would have been handy to know the cut off times.The shower head can be difficult to use if you are a tall person like myself as I found it to be too low down on the wall. We found there was no mop or bucket to be able to clean the floors downstairs so when it had been raining the floors got wet which made it easy to slip for both ourselves and our dogs. Unfortunately because of the issues we found we would not stay at this property again.

    We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at our cottage. On your arrival you rang us regarding the wifi code which is clearly stated on the wifi board located in the hallway. I tried to ring you back to see if you had sorted it out but you didnt answer,i left you a voicemail asking if everything was satisfactory for you. The listing states that there is a parking space for one car on a first come first served basis but we have never had a problem with parking and no other guests have said that they have had a problem with parking. Our cleaning company do an exceptional job and our guest books reflects how clean the cottage is. The hot water works fine and the shower is electric so you shouldn't have run out of hot water whilst using it. The bathroom was recently refurbished before we purchased the cottage. My husband is over 6ft tall and manages perfectly fine in the shower. The carpets are the ones that were in the property when we bought it and are clean apart from the odd stain. They are being replaced for next year. The mattress wasnt stained,we stayed the week before you and stripped all beds down ready for the cleaners and no marks were seen. The single beds have single quilts and single bedding which is all newly bought. If your mum was cold then there was a spare quilt on the other bed which she could have used. The extension lead is located under the bed in drawer. We have taken on board the lack of a mop and bucket and this now rectified, there are floor wipes under the kitchen sink which we replenished the week before. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne2.5Nov 2019

  • "First never had a complaint about any cottage rented from you !"

    !! First when we arrived noticed in the porch entrance roof was a wasp in the rotting wood which we had to pass when entering an leaveing property, rang both mobile numbers was asked to leave a message ! no phone signal !! Found settee in lounge uncomfortable ! seemed as though large back cushions were missing . cooker two burners not working an ignition button cover missing !! oven still worked with wall switch turned off !! also shower could do to be re positioned . location great very nice neighbour ,easy walk down to town !! last but not least smoke alarm broken on landing .

    I’m sorry you wasn’t happy during your stay at our cottage. We take on board your comments. Firstly our porch roof is not rotting but i’m sorry the wasp disturbed you. We will sort that problem out. If we didn’t get your phone calls its because we were out of the country, however sykes are there to answer any calls and help you with any problems. The new leather settee was recently bought to replace the old uncomfy bed settee and is very comfortable and has additional cushions. We recently purchased this cottage and fitted new smoke alarms which we checked and will test regulary. Finally the cooker was in full working order but again we will make sure it is fully functioning. The bathroom has been replaced and is brand new however thank you for bringing this to our attention. Sadly our neighbors are not part of our package. Many thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoffrey3.4Aug 2019

Show more


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with TV, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Fitted kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, 2 x TVs with Freeview, CD/radio, small selection of books, games and DVDs
  • All fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Enclosed rear patio garden with garden furniture
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops, pubs and beach 12 mins walk
  • Note: Tiered garden so young children to be supervised

The property

A very well presented, semi-detached Saundersfoot holiday cottage, located in a quiet cul-de-sac just a 20 minute downhill stroll, but a steep hill returning, from the centre of this vibrant seaside village.

Offering accommodation for four people and with an outstanding sandy beach and sheltered harbour close by, this Saundersfoot cottage makes a great base for a family holiday in South Wales.

Your Saundersfoot cottage has a well-equipped kitchen and a charming, light and airy sitting room with dining table, where meals can be enjoyed in comfort.

Two bedrooms and a family bathroom complete your holiday accommodation, while outside your Saundersfoot cottage is a secluded patio garden where you can sit out and relax on a warm summer's evening, perhaps with a pre-dinner drink.

The village of Saundersfoot is close by and offers an array of tempting tea rooms, restaurants and pubs, where you can enjoy everything from a cup of tea or a pint to a full three course meal, before enjoying the walk back to your lovely Saundersfoot holiday cottage.

Saundersfoot also boasts a vast sandy beach and offers water sports and boat trips, while nearby Tenby is home to further beaches, a museum and cinema, and also offers boat trips to Caldey Island, there is also a dog beach nearby and the majority of pubs and cafes are dog friendly.

Enjoy some of the more isolated beaches along the renowned coastal path, visit St. Govan's Chapel or discover one of the many theme parks all within an easy drive of your Pembrokeshire holiday home.

You are sure to have a wonderful holiday in this beautiful part of Wales, at this charming Saundersfoot cottage.

View on map

About the location


Tenby 3 miles.

The bustling fishing village of Saundersfoot is idyllically situated at the foot of a wooded valley on the beautiful Pembrokeshire Coast, 3 miles from Tenby. The village offers an abundance of shops, pubs and restaurants whilst the attractive harbour provides sailing and fishing opportunities. The stunning, sandy Blue Flag beaches present a wonderful spot for relaxed bathing, whilst walkers are well catered for with the 186 mile Pembrokeshire Coast Path commencing at nearby Amroth. Visit the quaint seaside resort of Tenby, with its ancient walls, award-winning beaches and boat trips to the monastic Island of Caldey. With the amazing vintage funfair at Folly Farm, Blue Stone and the white knuckle rides at Oakwood Theme Park within easy reach, this is a fantastic base for a memorable holiday.

View more holiday cottages in Saundersfoot

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter