Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Seadrift in the last 24 hours

1 of 32 View Image Gallery
  • Seadrift - Suffolk & Essex - 1116852 - photo 1







(Ref. 1116852)

Dunwich Near Westleton, Suffolk Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (9)
  • well (7)
  • bed (7)
  • house (7)
  • out (6)
  • clean (5)

15 Customer Reviews

  • "A beautiful well equipped cottage in a superb location."

    Unfortunately, when stripping our bed we discovered we had been sleeping on a disgustingly filthy mattress - hence the low score for cleanliness.

    Reviewed by Diane3.1Apr 2024

  • "Generally a very welcoming holiday house ,clean and a pleasure to go back too ..."

    Generally a very welcoming holiday house ,clean and a pleasure to go back too after a day out ,plenty of kitchen equipment , warm and cosy even though it was huge in size

    Reviewed by Annette5.0Mar 2024

  • "Ran out of hot water every day so I think the boiler timings need adjustment"

    There is a switch in the boiler cupboard to turn it to constant hot water. It’s on the control panel. This would have solved the issue. Please call if ever there is an issue. I would be happy to help. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol3.4Dec 2023

  • "Lovely spacious property with all the facilities needed, and ideally placed for exploring."

    it was a warm house with plenty of hot water. The ovens heated up quickly and everything worked! Nice touch to have the welcome biscuits and coffee pods thank you. The negatives are small... The keysafe was small and fiddly to operate, especially in the dark. The bedrooms upstairs seem lacking in furniture (maybe it accommodates camp beds etc) and would have been nice to have hanging space in the room rather than on the landing. The whole house needs some TLC, it could be an absolutely stunning place - it just feels unloved tat the moment. The paintwork is shabby in certain areas, cracks in walls and the showers need a blinking good clean - the grouting is dark in places and the doors and showerheads have quite a lot of limescale. In the downstairs bathroom the bath panel had come away and was just propped against the bath - no information given that they were aware/work in progress. That aside, we would recommend the house and location - and would keep the details for a future visit.

    I’m so sorry you had some issues. These have been resolved. Thank you for the useful feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephanie4.4Nov 2023

  • "A lovely house, beautiful view, big bedrooms, great open plan living area."

    The only downside was the hot water turning off in the day, it didn’t get turned on before the babies were being bathed.

    Reviewed by Kayleigh4.7Oct 2023

  • "Beautiful location with stunning views and short walk to pub and beach."

    We were unlucky that arrived during storm Babet and every road in was flooded. So took 9 hours to do a 3 hour journey. As we arrived in pitch darkness it was hard to find the house name. Could do with a light over it for late arrivals. However the house itself is stunning downstairs. Would be gorgeous to sit outside in the summer. Very well equipped kitchen and Nespresso coffee machine and pods were very welcome after a horrendous journey. Beds, duvets and pillows absolutely outstanding. No one wanted to get up! Downstairs is beautifully decorated and furnished. The master bedroom en-suite bathroom is looking a bit tired in places and second upstairs bedroom didn’t feel so well decorated as all the others. But I imagine you have to accept a very popular rental to have some of these small issues. But overall would thoroughly recommend for a family or friends gathering. We would definitely come back.

    Reviewed by Kate4.4Oct 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at the cottage."

    It's clean and well equipped. The garden was a bit overgrown when we arrived, the gardener came a couple of days later and cut the grass etc.

    Reviewed by Marguerite5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely property."

    Second stay here (first in the winter) so great to be able to sit on decking and look out across the marshes this time. Really clean, great quality bedding and towels and well equipt kitchen. Great that each room has own bathroom facilities. Downstairs bedroom and ensuite perfect for elderly mum with mobility issues. Parking for at least 3 cars which really needed in Dunwich especially at weekends. Loved it all! Thank you!

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Jun 2023

  • "Very lovely holiday destination enjoyed by us all."

    Very comfortable and well presented. Could do with a bread basket and tray(s). Please thank Jacqui the housekeeper for sorting us out on the Monday when the beds had not been separated as requested. Sleeping arrangements make a big difference when you're in your 80's! Small problem with the key safe - the cover is most awkward to fit back into place. Otherwise a great time had by all. Many thanks.

    Reviewed by Andy5.0Mar 2023

  • "Had a lovely Christmas at Seadrift."

    Thank you for the welcome gifts. We found the house very comfortable and sociable for our group. We loved the sofas and the log burner. It was generally very clean although some of the skirting boards and corners could do with a bit of attention (I do have high expectations for cleanliness!). The large baking trays which we needed for our Christmas dinner were well past their best but the foil kindly left for us sorted that out. Were hoping to book again for next year but sadly not available!

    Reviewed by Helen4.4Dec 2022

  • "A lovely place to stay."

    Very cosy and comfortable. Just short of one or two basics in the kitchen - water jug, pans etc.

    Reviewed by Andy4.7Nov 2022

  • "Beautiful house lovely position walking distance to the beach and Ship Public House."

    We always stay in Southwold so lovely to move along the coast. We will return to lovely Dunwich and Seadrift.

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Nov 2022

  • "This is our 5th visit."

    Disappointed in the state of the gardens . We had lovely weather but there were only six chairs on the patio and we were eight! Wooden patio was lethal, so slippery and needed cleaning Settees not comfortable and so slippery Shower in upstairs shower room excellentb

    There is a regular gardener and pay a retainer to keep him so we will find out what’s happened and why it’s not up to scratch. All decks are slippery when wet but as they age it becomes difficult to maintain. Whilst it’s still usable I’m aware that it’s starting to go over so we have already started the process to replace it with a composite decking that can be regularly jet-washed without damaging it. This will happen jan/feb and couldn’t be managed sooner due to bookings. But it will be done in the off season. The garden table actually seats 10 and the extra chairs/stools are slotted into the 6 that fit round the table. It then all tucks away under the table to keep clean and dry. The settees are leather, very high quality mega expensive sofas. We sorry you didn’t find them comfortable and will look at the slippery sofas Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue3.1Oct 2022

  • "Second visit to this property and once again it was perfect for us- it’s quite difficult to find a property with three double bedrooms with en-suites and this house is well laid out."

    Plenty to see and do close by and the local pubs are very good.

    Reviewed by Tina5.0Oct 2022

  • "Happy to book again for a holiday on Suffolk coast."

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Best of Suffolk collection.
Best of Suffolk is an award-winning, local holiday cottage lettings agency, bringing the experience of a boutique hotel to self-catering cottages in Suffolk.


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor king-size with en-suite with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x ground-floor king-size (zip/link, can be twin on request), 1 x king-size (zip/link, can be twin on request) with en-suite with bath, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x king-size with en-suite with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Utility
  • Oil-fired central heating and woodburning stove
  • Rangemaster oven and grill with electric hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, coffee machine
  • TV with FreeSat, iPod docking station, WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • A travel cot and highchair are available
  • Ample off-road parking
  • Enclosed gardens, patio area, patio furniture, barbecue
  • One well-behaved dog welcome downstairs
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.7 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: If you wish to bring a dog please inform us at time of booking
  • Note: If you wish a travel cot and highchair to be available please request at time of booking
  • Note: Sorry, no unaccompanied teenagers
  • Note: This property cannot accept Sunday arrivals

The property

Westleton 2.7 miles.

Resting in beautifully maintained gardens, Seadrift near Westleton in Suffolk, is spacious and well-presented, and is perfect for a large family or small gathering of family and friends.

Boasting uninterrupted views of the sea, the property benefits from a light and airy open-plan living space helping to create a warm and welcoming ambience for its guests.

The sitting area is extensive with ample seating, tasteful soft furnishings, a selection of books and games and a wonderful woodburning stove, all adding up to make a space that’s perfect for gathering together.

The well-fitted kitchen has everything needed for creating delicious food for the whole family and the fantastic range cooker will keep even the most professional of chefs happy.

When it’s dinner time, the good-sized dining area is all set up ready for long and enjoyable meals together, and there is also space to eat outside in the well-maintained gardens which overlook adjoining fields and give captivating views towards the sea.

When it’s time for bed, make your way to any of the four stylish bedrooms, with two on the ground-floor; all are light and airy with the master benefiting from a Juliet balcony designed to maximise those all-important views.

Seadrift enjoys a superb setting between Aldeburgh and Southwold, towns which are both well worth a visit.

Close to the house are picturesque marshes where guests often see tantalising glimpses of bitterns and marsh harriers.

If you like birdwatching, then RSPB Minsmere is well worth a visit as well as Dunwich Heath.

Attractions for the whole family to enjoy include Framlingham Castle, Sutton Hoo, Africa Alive Zoological Reserve, Go Ape Thetford and Easton Farm Park.

For a holiday that promises amazing views, beautiful interiors and a wonderful location, Seadrift has it all.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Saxmundham 6 miles; Southwold 9 miles; Aldeburgh 15 miles.

Westleton is an idyllic village near the Suffolk coast, nestled between Southwold and Aldeburg and offers all the attributes you could hope for in a Suffolk village, with a village green complete with pond and ducks. The village is easily accessible from the local train station at Darsham approximately two miles away. The village has a store, a bookshop where you can also enjoy a tea or coffee whilst browsing, an old fashioned garage, as well as two pubs, The White Horse Inn and The Westleton Crown, one of Suffolk’s best traditional inns where the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, William and Kate held their first wedding anniversary. Every August, Westleton hosts the infamous Barrel Rolling Fair where contestants have to roll barrels down the Village Green using a pole, and the men have to roll the barrel back up the hill too. Barrels are supplied and all are welcome to join in! The local Emmerdale Farm Shop and Butchery as well as a tea shop is approximately a mile away. The area is a haven for nature lovers with Westleton Heath National Nature Reserve, Dunwich Forest, Dunwich Beach with its famous fish and chip shop located on the beach, and the RSPB Minsmere, all close by. The town of Saxmundham, 6 miles away, is located on the River Fromus, in the heart of Suffolk’s Heritage Coast and is well serviced with independent shops, supermarkets and a train station, as well as art galleries, a weekly market and a farmers’ market.

Note: If you wish to bring a dog please inform us at time of booking.
Note: If you wish a travel cot and highchair to be available please request at time of booking.
Note: Sorry, no unaccompanied teenagers.
Note: Either or both of the king-size (zip/link) beds can be a 2'6" twins on request.
Note: This property cannot accept Sunday arrivals

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute