Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Sea Beach Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • Sea Beach Cottage - Kent & Sussex - 1127983 - photo 1

Sea Beach Cottage

(Ref. 1127983)

Eastbourne, Sussex Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (6)
  • house (5)
  • all (5)
  • beach (4)
  • sea (4)
  • outside (4)

7 Customer Reviews

  • "Fronting an unkempt and littered street this is a compact, comfortable old cottage in an excellent position for the seafront and town."

    Suggested improvements to small details that we think could have significantly enhanced our experience : 1. Ensure ALL electrics in working order prior to hand-over! 2. Replace poor quality towelling. 3. Provide more basics for cleaning and washing in the kitchen and bathroom. 4. Empty the vacuum cleaner before customers arrive. 5. Provide more than one rubbish bag! 6. Provide cooking basics such as oil, seasoning, foil, cling film. 7. More crockery would reduce energy usage for the compact sized dishwasher. 8. Provide a guest feedback register to help identify maintenance needs easily after each turn-over.

    Reviewed by Edwina3.4Nov 2023

  • "Sea Beach cottage has a brilliant location only yards from the pier, beach and all local amenities."

    Neil the owner is very helpful and goes out of his way to help you. He is readily at hand by phone throughout the visit as well. The cottage is homely, warm and cosy and the kitchen is very well equipped with modern appliances and well stocked for self caterers like ourselves. This IS a very old cottage and Neil is in the process of further updating and replenishing it and in time it will be of the very highest standard but it is still currently a work in progress. From the outside it is pretty and welcoming and we had a really pleasant stay here - although we are looking forward to returning again once the refurbishments have all been carried out. Neil is a hard working owner and there are lots of nice touches in the decor including some nice art work on the walls. He is a caring man. Parking is not easy but there is a very secure NCP CAR PARK fairly close by that offers secure parking at a charge or you can grab a space on the road outside - when it becomes free - and then leave your car in situ for the duration of your stay! - Alternatively leave the car at home and go by train as the station is in walking distance - say 20 mins away. We recommend this cottage which is ideal for up to a maximum of 4 adults or a standard family. Children will also love the location - which is probably its outstanding advantage over very very few similar places in Eastbourne! It really is a seafront location and handy for ALL amenities. At the moment it is not “Bijou luxury” - but it is a lovely place to wind down in an enjoy the pleasures of delightful Eastbourne . Thank you Neil for a lovely and attentive week! KR

    Reviewed by Arthur O Keith5.0Oct 2023

  • "Everyone we needed was in the cottage, we managed to find a parking slot but this could prove difficult if moved daily, as very few came available."

    Unloading car could be difficult if no spaces. House in need of some tlc, as smelt damp and on examation could see why. Settees uncomfortable, as so low. On a positive note, the fantastic weather made up for a lovely weekend and its proximity was fantastic. Owner responded quickly to queries.

    Reviewed by Christine4.1Oct 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay in Eastbourne."

    Very sweet little house, the owner is also very friendly and accomodating. Would definitely return to stay for another vacation. Home is well equipped, and perfect for a family of 4. (This is an old town house, so do not expect very high levels of luxury. The home is lovely, but old homes have their upkeep. This is part of the charme.)

    Reviewed by Deen4.7Aug 2023

  • "Neil was quick to help us with a problem with one of the single beds after our first night."

    He also let me know that the decorators would be coming on Sunday to paint the outside and he hoped this wouldn’t be a problem. I replied that it was ok with us. However, in the end the decorators were working at the cottage all week starting at. 8 in the morning. I have absolutely no complaints about the decorators. They were friendly, courteous and did their best not to disturb us. But they started at 8 in the morning and had to do some quite noisy work which was a bit disturbing for those sleeping in the front bedroom. They had a scaffold up which meant there was a decorator scraping and painting at the upstairs window. Again I have no complaint about the decorators. They had a job to do. However, I think it would have been courteous if Neil had let us know that they would be there all week. Also they asked to use the toilet because they couldn’t get access to next door, Sea Beach House, which they normally are able to use. My complaint is that Neil should have let us know that our holiday would be compromised for the whole week. Not just one day.

    Reviewed by Ruth3.1Jul 2023

  • "Positives Location."

    Close to shops, stones throw from the beach. This section of beach is dog friendly. Bus and train very easy walking distance. Upstairs and downstairs showers. Lots of takeaways and restaurants within walking distance Negatives. Arrived and nowhere to park. On road parking very limited and narrow. House frontage very dilapidated and dirty. Paint peeling off doors and windows, window frames rotten. Did not bode well for what’s inside. Got a text with a different key code to the email. This was wrong, then had to trawl through emails to find correct code. House inside was very dirty, dusty, cobwebs, washing up still in dishwasher. Said to take off shoes indoors, floor was so sticky we decided not to! Paint peeling off walls, and plaster falling down behind the wallpaper leaving little piles all around the skirting boards. Freezer compartment in fridge drastically needs defrosting plus looks like a popsicle had exploded in there, looking like a murder scene. All furniture, including double bed are very tired and uncomfortable. Gap completely all round front door, so quite noisy and drafty. Also not very secure. Not sure when shower drains were last emptied, but the water was up to my ankles when I had finished my shower, had a look under the drain, disgusting, not putting my hand down there! Cord on sash window upstairs broken so unable to open window, in this heat this was not good, plus which I guess is a fire hazard. Back yard! A very small square of broken concrete full of weeds, not very inviting, and due to house location directly onto footpath, no outside private space. On departure we got the hoover out and it was full! Not only that the brushes didn’t work, only suction, so no wonder the house was in such a state! This property is in need of a massive renovation, and general overhaul. Although the beach near the cottage is dog friendly, we struggled to find a restaurant that allowed dogs in and not being allowed to leave dogs unattended in the property struggled to find somewhere to eat out in the evening, luckily the weather was good so we managed to eat outside, although some places did not even allow that with dogs. Sorry for tirade but this was not a cheap property and we were left disappointed and feel you should know what to expect.

    Reviewed by Steven1.6Jul 2023

  • "Sea Beach Cottage Ref 1127983 June 4thth 2023 2 star rating."

    First the Positive The house is as you see on line. Nice equipment lounge kitchen bath & bed rooms etc. Perfect position 50 yds. from beach 10 min walk to pier & 15min walk to town centre. Negative I gave two star rating. Kitchen 13amp socket came off the wall after unplugging our coffee machine Air filter over cooker brown grease stains (well over due for both cleaning & changing) Container for cutlery to drain by sink had rusted away at the bottom. Not sure if the windows have been cleaned this year but the sea gulls have found them. The wooden floor throughout the ground floor was sticky, when you walked on it you feel & hear your feet / slippers peeling of it. The waste bin had green mildew / grease all around the top. The outside table & four chairs you can forget apart from again had not been cleaned at all, they were filthy they on within four walls probably 6ft x15ft Front Bedroom Could not open window as the sash cord had snapped. General comment The house at first glance looked ok but after unpacking ect you noticed the house was far from clean. It had been wiped over but not CLEANED. The whole house is in urgent need of a DEEP CLEAN General maintenance is far from adequate Contact I did contact the No in information book spoke to a man Neil. He said he was in London & would try to get somebody round to fix things. My response was thank you but I am on holiday and would not be staying in waiting around for somebody to come around. I have no idea if Neil was the owner A Sykes maintenance man or what. We spoke a couple of times during the week but we were leaving on the Friday & he said that it would all be fixed after we had gone. If the house had been clean & well maintained I would have given it a five star rating. George

    First as the new owner of this cottage I would like to thank you for your two star rating considering all your issues. As you arrived on a Sunday I couldn't get an electrician when you explained you were not able to use the loose socket. You also explained you were not prepared to stay in for an electrician as you were on holiday. The electrician was therefor unable to fix the socket until you left. Because of the inconvenience I offered a £50 refund which was accepted. I think obviously I wasn't a maintenance man! The air filter and utensil holder have been replaced. Yes sea gulls can be a problem for windows and outside chairs both cleaned regularly. The front bedroom window does open. There is a three hour clean carried out after every stay and the wooden floors are treated with Pledge wooden floor cleaner and had only just been cleaned before your arrival which explains why they felt sticky. I hope you still had a great stay at the cottage and please see the comments from guests that stayed there just before your stay: HS. "Would highly recommend this property. Lovely little house, in a brilliant location, will most definitely be rebooking here." 26/05/2023 AP. "Thank you so much for our stay. It was lovely and the cottage was absolutely outstanding. We will be back again soon." Best wishes Neil Property Owner

    Reviewed by George2.8Jun 2023

Show more Hide all


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite with walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with electric fire
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven and grill, ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Unallocated free roadside parking or paying car park nearby
  • Enclosed rear courtyard
  • 4 complimentary beach chairs available
  • Two small well behaved dogs are welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 0.1 miles, beach 0.1 miles

The property

Occupying arguably one of the best addresses in Eastbourne, East Sussex, Sea Beach Cottage enjoys a superb setting overlooking the seafront in Eastbourne and is the perfect location for a family holiday.

Step into the property off the bustling street on the front at Eastbourne and you find yourself in a warm and welcoming sitting room which has an inviting seating area with a TV and an electric stove-effect fire, where you can imagine curling up together to relax after a tiring day on the beach.

When tummies start to rumble, make your way into the attractive kitchen/diner which is fully equipped with everything required for creating delicious cuisine for the whole family.

Take a seat at the rustic dining table and look forward to tucking into leisurely meals together, or if the Eastbourne weather is kind, step outside into the enclosed courtyard and enjoy time alfresco.

At bedtime, guests can choose from the master suite which includes a double bedroom with storage and an en-suite shower room, or a good-sized twin with stunning sea views.

A family bathroom completes the property.

Not only does Sea Beach Cottage offer beautifully presented accommodation, but it is also set in the heart of Eastbourne with its iconic seafront, where you can walk for miles along gorgeous beaches or check out the pier offering an array of traditional seaside activities.

Why not treat yourself to some good old-fashioned fish and chips?

Timeout magazine described Eastbourne as 'best UK place to visit in 2023'!

Eastbourne has so much to offer with museums, art galleries, antique shops, bars, restaurants, and shops, making it the ideal spot for whiling away a few hours.

The town is also home to several famous men and women’s tennis tournaments and there are a number of popular golf courses in the region too.

Head out for the day to attractions such as Drusillas Animal Park, Treasure Island Theme Park, Knockhatch Adventure Park and Herstmonceux Castle, or venture to nearby towns such as Hailsham, Lewes, Seaford, Battle and Brighton, where you are guaranteed a fantastic family day out.

A trip to Sea Beach Cottage promises to be a trip to remember.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Seaford 9.5 miles; Battle 16.5 miles; Lewes 17 miles; Hastings 17.5 miles; Brighton 24 miles.

Eastbourne is the perfect location for a seaside holiday and has been since Queen Victoria was on the throne. With its mild climate and easy access from London, this lovely coastal town has increased its appeal throughout the centuries. With 5 miles of award-winning shingle beaches to stroll along, you can enjoy the sea air even if you aren't quite ready for a swim. Eastbourne's historic pier, built in around 1866, offers entertainment all day and well into the night with its amusement arcade, cafes, shops, and nightclub, and from here you can even take a speed boat ride around the bay. After a day of visiting the museums, art galleries or numerous antiques shops in the town, why not sit and watch the waves roll by as you enjoy afternoon tea in Victorian Tea Rooms on the pier? Golfers are spoilt for choice with four golf courses close by, and tennis is also a popular sporting choice with the AEGON International women’s and men’s tournaments taking place in June prior to Wimbledon. There is even an Eastbourne Extreme weekend, with demonstrations in mountain biking, skateboarding, sailing, windsurfing and many other sports, so if you are energetic and willing, get down there and join the fun! For those who prefer to be entertained, take your seats in one of the four major theatres that Eastbourne is home to, offering all types of entertainment from traditional seaside shows and musicals to classical ballets and opera. If you are lucky enough to be here in August, bring a picnic and be prepared for Airbourne, an international flying event which passes over the sea. If you fancy a day away from the beach, there are many other places to visit in Eastbourne, including Treasure Island for warm, sunny days or the Drusillas Park Zoo. So, if you are looking for a holiday spot with something for everyone, look no further than Eastbourne.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas