Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Ceol-na-Mara - Scottish Highlands - 1105859 - photo 1


(Ref. 1105859)

Newport near Dunbeath, Northern Highlands & Cairngorms National Park Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (9)
  • lovely (8)
  • hot (7)
  • hot tub (7)
  • garden (7)
  • tub (7)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a great week at Ceòl na Mara."

    The cottage is cosy and comfortable, with gorgeous views. We loved the hottub and the nature garden, and found some amazing local areas to explore. Mòran taing

    We’re so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such lovely feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen Anne5.0Jul 2024

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage."

    Pros/cons - warm and cosy feel to the property. Location is good but couldn’t walk the dogs immediately from the property. Mattress is very soft but will did actually sleep well. Garden is walled (low wall though and only suitable for well behaved dogs). The garden was bursting with flowers which was really pretty and enjoyable. The hot tub was excellent and a real pleasure even if the weather was poor it was still worth going in as it was so hot. The kitchen is good but we felt a few things would really help. There was no salt and pepper, or any general bits like oil, sugar, cleaning spray, no collider. Also one toilet roll for the week was a little stingy, no bathroom products like shower gel or shampoo, no matches to light the fire. The fire place flu needs a bit of attention I think? The property was nice but would have felt like a bit of a tight squeeze for 4 people. We were there as a couple. I think in future an outside space to really be able to sit on like a mini patio would be very welcome. The table and chairs for outside wouldn’t really accommodate 4 people. On the whole the property was comfortable, clean and very suitable for a lovely stay in the area. Thank you so much.

    We’re absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for the very helpful feedback too, especially about the kitchen items. The ones you listed are usually all there, so we’ll certainly get those sorted and we’re sorry they had gone missing. The woodburner is due it’s yearly check shortly so we will most certainly mention the flue to get double checked. Thank you once again and we certainly hope to welcome you back to the cottage again soon! Abi & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Floris4.7Jun 2024

  • "Promotional Pictures are flattering!"

    Property starting to look a bit tired now. Struggled to get in at front, lucky back was left unlocked? Quite a few minor defects and deficiencies in the inventory, not getting passed back to whoever is managing the property? Inadequate storage if you were a party of 4, 1 small dwarf wardrobe in main bedroom, no hanging space in twin. Garden looks unkempt and gives a bad first impression! (There is a fine line between letting go wild, and neglected???) Part of derelict roof in garden? Random dumpy bag, discarded guttering, plastic bucket etc. Weeds up to the back door. The Hot Tub cover bar is broken, and keeps breaking, broken bits of strap everywhere? Woodburner door seal is hanging off and flue pipe leaks? All this is quite livable of course, but if you are charging a Premium rate, you should maintain it to a Premium Product Standard? Stop banking/spending the profits in Kent and put some back in to the asset at Caithness??? (Out of sight, out of mind???) Stealing the extra hour at check out is a step too far, with 4pm check in that is already a day of your holiday lost? To get up early and rush around to be out for 9am is not a great feel or way to end a relaxing holiday, especially when the "cleaners" have already arrived and are moving in at 5 to 9??? So you have to get packed and tidy the day before another day impacted! (There is no evidence that 7 hours is being spent prepping that property prior to check-in???) Cannot argue with all the Rosey tinted reviews in the guest book, the area, the views, the wildlife, the peace and quiet. Fantastic, second to none. But you did not provide that, nature did? Yes Disappointed, could have been so much better, probably cost less than a weeks rental to put the little things right?

    Thank you very much for your feedback and giving us such extensive detail. It's incredibly important to us that we do all we can to provide our guests with a wonderful experience so that they can have an enjoyable holiday, so it's very disappointing to us to read all the points you have made. We are very sorry that the cottage was not up to your expectations. We are staying for a month soon and will enjoy putting everything right as best as we can. We've owned the cottage since 2022 and have so far completely stripped back the double room to the original stone work, with new plaster-boarding and decorating. I'm sure you can appreciate that this takes time and is also very expensive. We intend to do the same to the kitchen next year and are busy saving up. We do not charge a premium rate as a result and are guided completely by what Sykes feel we should set our rates to. Please bear in mind that not every holiday cottage owner makes a profit, we never do. We love it and intend to look after it as best we can over many years to come. We also donate a week stay (and cover all cleaning costs) to charity every year so disadvantaged families can enjoy a well deserved holiday on us. Should we ever start making a profit one day, the funds will go straight back into our much loved cottage. Until then we are working extremely hard back in Kent to raise the funds we need to restore it. We're so pleased that we have had many guests tell us they have had such a wonderful stay, indeed the 5 separate guests who stayed the weeks before you scored it 100/100. We're hopeful that our guests can see we are working incredibly hard to restore the cottage to the best of our ability. Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter2.2May 2024

  • "Fabulous property, clean and warm with all the amenities needed for a relaxing break."

    Plenty to do and see in the area. Lovely restaurant with sea views nearby. Great contact from the owner. Can’t wait to go back

    We’re delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday at Ceol-na-Mara! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review. Was so nice to chat to you too! Hope to welcome you back to the cottage again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane5.0May 2024

  • "What an amazing base for a Highland holiday - the views (from any window) were fantastic - rabbits running around the garden and incredible views of the sea to the front- especially at sunrise."

    The cottage was cosy and the hot tub after a long day of hiking was a godsend. The log burner is great and neighbours are lovely. Breathtaking mountains and beaches are all very close, and driving on the A9 in any direction is beautiful. Brora beach was great for seal spotting, and herds of deer were spotted while hiking in the mountains. The drive north from Helmsdale is a great one and Melvich beach is worth a visit. We loved our stay at Ceol-na-Mara and fell in love with the Highlands, thank you very much for sharing it with us- my only issue was that we didn’t book a two-week stay.

    Thank you so much for leaving us such an amazing review Mr Wilkins, we so appreciate it! We’re absolutely over the moon to hear how much you have enjoyed your holiday and we certainly hope to welcome you back again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samuel5.0Apr 2024

  • "My friend and I had a wonderful time at Ceol na Mara."

    It was clean, comfortable and peaceful. Everything we needed was there. My wee dog also had a fantastic time running around the huge garden. The only thing -which is entirely out of your control - we weren't able to use the hot tub quite as often as we would have liked due to the weather. A permanent covering of some description would be great. I did bring a gazebo but sadly it was a bit too windy for it. We are hoping to come back in the future.... hopefully the weather will be more accommodating! Thank you for having us in your gorgeous wee cottage

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such great feedback Elizabeth, we’re so so pleased to hear that you and your friend (and your lovely dog!) had such a nice break. We hope to welcome you back again soon! We’ll certainly look into what we can do in terms of a permanent covering for the hot tub. Thank you once again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Apr 2024

  • "This place is amazing, absolutely loved every part."

    ... It was a surprise for my partners 40th Birthday & she was so made up with every part of the stay.

    Thank you so so much for leaving us such kind comments, we so appreciate it! We’re absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much at Ceol-na-Mara and that you have such special memories now from celebrating your partners birthday. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon. Abi & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Dec 2023

  • "Lovely secluded location, well equipped cottage although additional large towels for the hot tub would have been appreciated and standard terrestrial TV too but the smart TV and Netflix account, together with our own Amazon prime TV did allow adequate entertainment, necessary in winter season with early dark afternoons."

    Coffee pod machine was an added bonus as was the large enclosed garden enjoyed by out 4 legged friend. We did have to contact Sykes Cottages as both normal and recycling bins were full to overflowing when we arrived and despite putting these out for early collection on the Monday, they were not emptied leaving us an issue with disposing of our own waste, we thought it seemed bins had nor been emptied for the last few lets ? We are still awaiting Sykes to comment

    Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us such kind comments about the cottage, we’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly apologise about the bin collections and please do be rest assured that this has now been resolved. Abi & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charles4.1Nov 2023

  • "We had a fantastic time at Ceol Na Mara."

    The cottage is lovely and has everything you need. So isolated and peaceful here with amazing views over the sea and plenty of beautiful harbours and beaches to visit along the coast. The hot tub is an added bonus to relax in at the end of the day. Overall a wonderful time was had by all and the property is a credit to Abi and Mikes hard work. Thank you Andy Rach and Girls Devon

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such lovely feedback Andy, we so appreciate it! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope to welcome you back again soon! Abi & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Aug 2023

  • "The property was basic but had a lovely character."

    The views were superb. The garden and hot tub were enjoyable. It is a great place to sit and relax and plenty to do nearby. Loved walking round all the harbours and learning about the area. Lovely spot to enjoy the sun sparkling on the sea.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Abi & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra4.4Jun 2023

  • "Me and my partner had a lovely stay in the cottage, we would absolutely stay again."

    Personally I think there should be a big brush and possibly a mop left in the cottage itself. Thank you for letting us stay

    Thank you so much Gabriella to you and your partner for your kind words. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and will return! We will absolutely purchase a mop and large brush for guest use, that’s really helpful feedback. Abi & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gabriella3.8May 2023

  • "Lovely Clean & Comfy cottage, really relaxing and peaceful, loved staying at Ceol-na-Mara"

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review; we’re really grateful. It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Abi & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jan 2023

  • "An absolutely fabulous cottage."

    No surprises. Delightfully presented, it's not perfect as the owners state, but we had the most relaxing holiday we've had as a family for a long time (even though the weather was pretty interesting

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review Dawn, we really appreciate it! As you spotted in our ‘Welcome Folder’ message, we know we don’t have things perfect just yet, but we’re so so pleased you and your family got to have such a relaxing and well deserved holiday at Ceol-na-Mara. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Abi & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dawn3.8Oct 2022

  • "Loved our stay!"

    ! Comfortable and relaxing will definitely be back the silence was bliss.

    We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to the cottage soon! Best Regards from Abi & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ross5.0Sep 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Single-storey
  • Two double bedrooms
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • The property is both child and pet friendly.
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer
  • TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off-road parking for 3 cars
  • Enclosed rear garden with lawn and hot tub
  • One well-behaved pet welcome, dog bed, blanket, bowels and a towel can be provided
  • Please be advised that dogs are not allowed on soft furnishings
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 4.1 miles, pub 4.5 miles
  • Note: This property is accessed by a single-track road
  • Please note, the owners are happy to accept short breaks but require one week's notice
  • If notice is shorter than this, please contact Sykes Cottages as it may still be possible to facilitate.

The property

Dunbeath 4.5 miles.

This delightful two-bedroom cottage in Newport near Dunbeath and Helmsdale, is an idyllic getaway for families or couples.

With wonderful sea-views, a traditional décor and a woodburning stove you'll feel right at home, and there's an enclosed garden with a hot tub for you to reax in.

Arrive at Ceol-na-Mara by a single-track road before being greeted by off-road parking and splendid coastal sights.

Enter the living/dining room, with plush sofas and a TV for some downtime, as well as a telescope for enjoying the amazing views on offer, you may even catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights if you’re lucky!

Savour mealtimes together at the dining table or if the sun is shining, why not have an alfresco affair in the large garden?

The kitchen is well-equipped with an electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer to keep your clothes fresh.

After a day of exploring, unwind in the bathroom with a soak in the bath or a rinse under the overhead shower.

There are two well-appointed double bedrooms to choose from, both benefitting from sea views, so you can curl up with a hot chocolate and escape into a good book.

Ceol-na-Mara is located in the sheltered village of Berriedale, home to a beautiful beach, the stunning Berriedale Viewpoint, and National Trust land, where you can enjoy scenic walks through nature.

The cottage also benefits from being just half a mile off the renowned NC500, where you can soak up incomparable scenery for just over 500 miles, before returning to the comfort of Ceol-na-Mara.

Visit the village of Dunbeath for all your amenities, as well as the beautiful Dunbeath Castle and the Dunbeath Heritage Museum, which is perfect for history buffs.

The picturesque and historic Highland village of Helmsdale is the perfect place to relax and take in the stunning scenery.

Timespan Museum is a great place to learn about the history of the area and the Emigrants Monument is a moving tribute to those who left Scotland in search of a better life.

Within the village you will also find lovely shops, welcoming pubs and restaurants, a picturesque harbour, and the Helmsdale War Memorial Clocktower.

Venture further afield to John o’Groats, with attractions such as the John O'Groats Signpost and Duncansby Head Lighthouse, there is something for everyone to enjoy.

For a remote setting in the Scottish Highlands, choose Ceol-na-Mara.

EPC Rating: Band F

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Helmsdale 15 miles; John o'Groats 37 miles.

Dunbeath is situated on the south east side of Caithness and is famous for being the birthplace of the famous author Neil Gunn who based many of his novels on and around the Dunbeath area. Rich in history, this area boasts numerous Iron Age Brochs, plus at one time Dunbeath was a booming fishing village with up to a 100 boats operating from the harbour, whilst today it offers a shop, pub and an excellent community museum located in the old village school. The A9 gives easy access along this rugged and dramatic coastline and the larger village of Helmsdale lies to the south just a short drive away, whilst to the north are numerous pretty coastal villages with John O'Groats being just 37 miles away.

Please note, the owners are happy to accept short breaks but require one week's notice. If notice is shorter than this, please contact Sykes Cottages as it may still be possible to facilitate.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas