Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

11 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • The Cedars - Lake District - 979668 - photo 1
close

The Cedars

(Ref. 979668)

South Lakeland Leisure Village, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (18)
  • lodge (14)
  • well (12)
  • site (11)
  • clean (11)
  • stay (9)

35 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a Very quiet and relaxing stay at Cedars."

    Everything you need is provided. The only issue is having to walk quite a way down to the lodge to get the fob to open the barrier, people with mobility issues would struggle.

    Reviewed by Christine3.8Oct 2023

  • "Lovely well equipped lodge, great location with easy access to the lakes and the west coast."

    Luckily we had the weather on our side which made for an even better holiday. There was plenty to do in the lodge, games, books, Netflix which was an added bonus. The park itself is beautiful, also peaceful. We had a great week and would recommend The Cedars to anyone. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Gill4.7Oct 2023

  • "Nice location all well kept lodge is lovely as well home from home really!"

    Good spot with easy access to both the lakes and Blackpool area. Only downside not the easiest place to find in the dark 1st time and the door is round the side when you arrive and are looking for the key safe but that's minor given its a cracking place to stay!

    Reviewed by Amy4.7Sep 2023

  • "Lovely little lodge on a nice well kept eally quiet park."

    The lodge itself would benefit from a really good clean and the sofas are particularly uncomfortable. This apart the lodge is well worth a visit.

    Reviewed by John3.1Sep 2023

  • "Perfect location."

    Cosy ,quiet place to turn off and simply relax.Nice neighbours next door. Thanks a lot:)

    Thank you Joanne Our neighbours reported that you were a delight to have as a neighbour albeit for a short time Thank you for your feedback it means a lot Warm regard Angela and Gordon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0Aug 2023

  • "What a lovely the place The Cedars was a the leisure park it is on."

    Had everything you could wish for from and Alexa, board games, pots and pans and great facilities loved it will definitely look to go back again

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jun 2023

  • "Excellent stay here at The Cedars."

    Home from Home and the lodge was perfect for our family of four and our dog. Facilities on site were fab too. Only thing was as we arrived when it was dark, it was difficult to find the lodge and reception wasn’t open, so if you will be arriving late on, contact the owner in advance in regards to finding the lodge/accessing the keys for the car park barrier. We managed to sort it but the lodges look very similar in the dark so could be tricky!

    Thank you for your feedback. So glad you had a good time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0May 2023

  • "Amazing 4 days break at the cedars loved every minute of it ."

    The park was so peaceful and very friendly . Will definitely be booking again . Thank you

    Thank you for your feedback. So pleased you had a great time . Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0May 2023

  • "Fantastic accommodation, had everything you could possibly need."

    Had a great time and would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0May 2023

  • "Great holiday lodge, lots of added extras."

    Nice white bedding and large comfy bed. In a quiet spot, plenty of walks. Nice pub / restaurant on site (bit pricy) beautiful meals dogs allowed in certain areas. Swimming pool with steam room £10 day pass, nice and clean good hot showers. Helpful and knowledgeable staff on site reception . The outside eating area overlooks the lake , with great views of people paddle boarding and lots of wildlife.

    Thank you for the great feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Apr 2023

  • "The cabin is so well equipped!"

    I brought far too much stuff with me, normally they are very sparse but this one had everything and more. Also a big surprise that it was decorated for Xmas! That was so lovely (we brought a small Xmas tree just in case) the owners checked on us to see we were warm enough and that we had everything we needed. Very clean and spacious, Netflix for those rainy days and lots of board games too. We will definitely be going back.

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0Dec 2022

  • "A lovely well maintained lodge, the owners make you feel very welcome."

    The rain caused a couple of issues on site but then owners were in touch quickly to reassure us site management we’re dealing with it, which they were so no inconvenience was caused. A great home from home

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Oct 2022

  • "Have booked before and book again p"

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Oct 2022

  • "The lodge is perfectly located for a relaxing peaceful stay."

    It is equipped well for a comfortable stay and was immaculately clean. Only a couple of negatives the Sofa inside is so low and very uncomfortable and the hallway carpets needs replacing as they are fraying, these issues would not stop us booking again infact we have already booked to go back on the 1st September 2023. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Darran4.7Jul 2022

  • "Was a lovely lodge only a couple of minor things when first going in found dirty ..."

    Was a lovely lodge only a couple of minor things when first going in found dirty socks on bathroom floor, dishes still on drainer, fridge had opened milk in and needed a clean and there was still food in freezer apart from that was a lovely quiet location and we had a real good week

    Reviewed by Shirley4.7Jul 2022

  • "There is room for improvement in cleaningness, particularly the oven and carpet."

    Generally speaking, the cleaning is acceptable. But the wifi in the last day was not workable. I cannot find the route to reboot it.

    Thank you for your feedback. Will ensure this isn’t overlooked in the future. Sometimes guests arrive early and may have been forgotten . Property owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fu Kwai3.8May 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay and it was the best equipped we have been to,we would have no hesitation in recommending it."

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s much appreciated Property owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Albert5.0Apr 2022

  • "The Cedars is a lovely lodge."

    Really clean, cosy & comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped & stocked with lots of useful things. The Wi-Fi worked well and we were able to access Netflix. The leaflets box was a good addition for ideas for the local area. The lodge is a well located as a base - we went as far as Alton Towers. The beds were comfy. The bathroom was spacious and the shower had a decent water pressure. The site itself is well maintained. It was quiet when we were there; the restaurant didn’t actually open until our last day but that wasn’t a problem. We didn’t use the leisure facilities on site. Would definitely stay again and would recommend the lodge.

    Thank you for your feedback. Much appreciated Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley4.7Apr 2022

  • "I consider The Cedar as my holiday home."

    Angela will have to put up with me visiting every year.

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.7Apr 2022

  • "This is great place to stay with central heating, a very well equipped kitchen and a full size bath."

    The is much larger than a conventional 'cabin' and is more of a 'park home'.

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Oct 2021

  • "Best equipped accommodation we have stayed at"

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Sep 2021

  • "Lovely little lodge with some lovely homely touches."

    However, was disappointed to find that the place was filthy! In this time of covid, with later check in to allow extra time for cleaning, this place was disgusting. The tiles at the back of the cooker were splatted with fat (presumably from the last guests) the extractor fan looked like it had never been cleaned, under the beds was the last guest’s (or even previous to them) rubbish, which included a used face mask, general rubbish and a used tissue/baby wipe. The place was so filthy we felt we had to leave before the scheduled end of our stay. On stripping the beds before we left (as instructed) there was an awful brown stain on the (washable) mattress topper with brown drip marks next to it. There was black mould around the edge of the bath…. I could go on. On putting in a complaint, the owners of the lodge offered 15% off our next stay there and a free 3 day pass to the swimming pool. Why would we choose to go back there? The owners were not willing to offer anything else and quite frankly, Sykes have let us down too. Have used them many times before but will NOT be using Sykes again.

    Thanks for your feedback, and complaints have been actioned! 1.) Beds have been hoovered underneath - this was an oversight due to guests arriving early. 2.) splattered fat on tiles, yes it's self catering and guests are asked to leave in the same state as found. The tiles are now all clean and we are going to get a glass Perspex so it's easier to clean for guest. 3.) the mould in the bathroom ( picture sent into Sykes ) - took a quick 3 second wipe. 4.) stain on mattress topper - yes no excuse and for this we offered 15% if you booked again which was worth £120 & £56 for 3 day pass was £176.00 which you declined! We are very sorry that you thought the place was filthy but having spoke to our neighbours you left on Thursday, so up until that time before stripping the beds the lodge must have been ok. I don't know what you were expecting as a refund but I believe I acted fairly and sorry if this spoilt your holiday. We did however find a stain on the bed linen and we don't know if it was from your stay or the stay before due to us being very busy and not getting feedback till a week later. Sykes is a respectable company but they were also acting on behalf. It's a shame you won't be coming back again. It's in a fantastic location and the base is excellent for exploring our Lake District. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jean2.8Aug 2021

  • "A lovely cabin, clean and welcoming."

    All facilities are there, and very comfortable. A lovely site, relaxing and peaceful break. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Tracy5.0May 2021

  • "Although the gym and restaurant were closed due to covid restrictions the accommodation was perfect and the owner was delightful."

    Would be nice if there was somewhere to by grocery on site.

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.7Apr 2021

  • "The lodge was very good throughout, comfortable, clean and most importantly a home from home."

    We've stayed at lodges and caravans before and I would say this one is up there with the best. Much more offered in terms of amenities and entertainment for that all too often 'British Rainy Day' :) If you are a small family I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone. You have the lakes on your doorstep no more than 30 minutes to Windermere and the beautiful landscape around Silverdale and Arnside are a similar drive. Handy for the M6 so easy to get to and from the site itself has plenty of options from a restaurant and coffee shop as well as a fully equipped gym. I would highly recommend this to anyone

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2020

  • "The lodge itself was warm, cozy and very homely, with all the little finishings."

    The site was well maintained and looked the part however the fishing was not practical as there were no pegs other than those at the lakeside lodges, the swimming was over priced at £20 for a family of 4 for only an hour swim. The site accros the road was not finished and resembles a building site so not suitable to take kids over for fishing. Site would benefit from a play area and little shop for those forgotten milk moments. Bar was welcoming but again over priced for what it was. Would of liked to return to the lodge but feel the site let it down.

    Reviewed by Kerry4.1Jul 2020

  • "The log cabin was lovely, contactable, clean and so many extras love the homely ..."

    The log cabin was lovely, contactable, clean and so many extras love the homely feel and felt very relaxed staying here was very peaceful which is what we wanted thankyou

    Reviewed by Roxanne4.7Oct 2019

  • "We had to park car at reception and walk to our accommodation to collect our key and fob to open security barrier before we could take our car ion to site there were a few thing that had not been cleaned."

    top of cooker and fridge. also very little storage for our clothes .they had requested we hoover any dog hair but the hoovers filter had not been cleaned for a long time and the smell was awful. we were asked before we arrived if we would like the single beds zipped together thankfully it was not done as we would have found it very difficult to get in and out of bed

    1.) unfortunately with the lodge being privately owned and rented through Sykes, this is the only option to gain access to the lodge to collect keys and barrier fob. Booking through site owners are considerably more in cost. This information on gaining access is on the booking information. 2.) apologies in not doing a final check on cleaning. With owners both working and cleaning, we had little time to change over, and must of missed this check of our list. 3.) The cleaning of filter will be implemented now at every clean. The lodge is very popular and consistently booked out. This is not on our checklist but will be added. 4.) The size of the second room is smaller but does house with ease 2 single beds. We have had no issues with other customers. The beds together makes a king size which given the size of the room fits in with ample room to get in and out of bed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joan2.8Sep 2019

  • "A lovely comfortable chalet great place for touring Lake District will definitely return"

    Reviewed by Alistair5.0Jul 2019

  • "South Lakeside is a lovely site that is ideally situated for Morecombe Bay and the Southern Lake Distract."

    We enjoyed days out in both these areas. We also enjoyed horse riding in the local area. The site is very quiet and pretty, with lots of water fowl on the lake, and rabbits playing on the lawns in the evening. The restaurant is very nice, and we can recommend the Lancashire Hotpot. The lodges are spacious and well appointed, with everything you need for a comfortable stay. We will certainly stay here again, if visiting this area.

    Reviewed by Anne-louise5.0Jun 2019

  • "Very well kept lodge lovely and clean and comfy even had complementary tea and ..."

    Very well kept lodge lovely and clean and comfy even had complementary tea and coffee slippers and dressing gowns grate location for getting out and about to the lakes and Yorkshire dales I would recommend this lodge and location to any one who likes to get out and about

    Reviewed by Daniel5.0May 2019

  • "The Cedars was a lovely and relaxing environment so peaceful it was very clean ..."

    The Cedars was a lovely and relaxing environment so peaceful it was very clean and bright and everything you could want ,thank you

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0May 2019

  • "The cabin was ideally located close to Carnforth and Kendal."

    Very peaceful. Great pub and restaurant onsite. Lovely finishing touches and decor. Even supplied with toiletries etc. Grounds full of wildlife.

    Reviewed by Tiffany5.0Apr 2019

  • "Lovely location spent our time on site."

    If weather had been nicer we would have ventured further. The price to use the leisure facilities is a bit steep and the pool was cold. Our accommodation was lovely and will visit again.

    Reviewed by Laura3.8Apr 2019

  • "The reception from the owners was fantastic."

    The small touches made a massive difference, such as a toiletries pack for each of us, slippers and towels. Having Wi-fi was a huge win for our children age 13 & 9, this coupled with Netflix really did make it home from home

    Reviewed by Rob5.0Feb 2019

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king size bedroom and 1 x twin (zip/link can be double on request)
  • Bathroom with bath and shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with a kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Electric heating, electric fire
  • Gas hob and oven, fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster, kettle, TV, Netflix, Prime, Apple TV for mirror viewing, Alexa, selection of games and DVDs and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Small decking area with furniture
  • Private parking
  • Two well-behaved pets are welcome
  • On-site facilities include shared indoor swimming pool, steam room, gym, beauty therapy suites, laundry facilities, a bar and a restaurant
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.4 miles and pub 11 mins walk
  • Note: Property accessed by 4 steps so may be unsuitable for guests with limited mobility
  • Note: Lake on site, children to be supervised at all times
  • Note: Additional charges for use of leisure facilities as follows, individual adult £10 per day, £26 for 3 days and £50 per week, individual child £6 per day, £16 for 3 days and £30 per week, family pass (up to 2 adults and 3 children) £20 per day, £56 for 3 days and £120 per week, under 4s free of charge. Please note: new carpets are being fitted on the 21st February 2020, which could possibly effect arrival times
  • Please query before making a booking.

The property

The Cedars is wonderful wooden lodge situated on a holiday park in Warton, Lancashire.

Inside the owner has created a smart retreat, with a marvellous open-plan interior, which gives the property an eclectic and charming feel that makes it very memorable and homely.

The lounge area has a comfortable sofa and armchair, where you can relax and unwind after a long day sightseeing.

With the added benefit of the electric fireplace to keep you warm during those chilly nights and the TV to catch up on all your favourite shows.

Take advantage of the provided selection of games and gather around the cosy dining room table to play.

The kitchen has been amply equipped with all the alliances you could possibly need for a weekend in the countryside.

Down the hall are two bedrooms: one double and one twin, with a separate bathroom, with the choice of a bath or shower over.

The bedrooms have lovely bedside tables and lamps, ideal for some late night reading and large windows giving lots of natural night and views across the surrounding lodges in the park.

To the front of the property is a small decking area with a table and chairs provided, a lovely spot to sit out of an early morning and enjoy a nice cup of tea.

You will be spoilt for choice with the on-site leisure facilities which include an indoor swimming pool and gym, as well as a bar and restaurant.

Local attractions include Leighton Hall, a country house and stately home which dates back to the 13th century and is a Grade II listed building.

Hutton Roof Crags is a 900-foot hill which features a nature reserve and woodland, as well as a large area of limestone pavement.

There is so much to see in this area, you don't want to miss it!

The Cedars is an excellent cottage for those family breaks.

View on map

About the location

SOUTH LAKELAND LEISURE VILLAGE

Carnforth 2 miles; Kendal 15 miles; Windermere 20 miles.

Set on a 43 acre site, the South Lakeland Leisure Village is situated just a couple of miles from Carnforth on the border of the Southern Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. This beautiful area combines superb countryside and a coast with a rich and fascinating history dating back to the Domesday Book. The ‘village’, which has been given 5 stars by Visit Britain and has been accredited with David Bellamy Gold conservation awards provide top quality accommodation in the form of Scandinavian log cabins built around a large lake in the centre. The main club, a former 17th century farmhouse, is home to the on-site bar and restaurant, The Water’s Edge, and the village provides top quality leisure facilities with an indoor swimming pool, gym, steam room and beauty therapy suite to name but a few. An excellent location, within easy driving distance of pretty villages, coastal resorts and the national parks of the Lakes and the Dales.

View more holiday cottages in South Lakeland Leisure Village

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas