- Hot tub
- Off road parking
- Ground floor accommodation
- Ground floor bedroom
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
41 Customer Reviews
"We contacted Sykes on day two of our short stay relating to the fact the hot tub wasn’t working."
No one came back to us. The accommodation has the potential to be lovely but is sadly in a poor state of repair: Lightbulbs missing General state of disrepair Fixtures and fittings are very tired Dishwasher is damaged All woodwork inside and out needs repair/refreshing As stated the hot tub isn’t a functioning hot tub it’s basically a warm bath Master bed is very worn and creaky, clearly been poorly repaired with metal hinges Overall, left very disappointed
Thank you so much for leaving us your thoughts and experiences after your stay with us at 2 Lake View, Simon. Our maintenance team work very hard in between guest stays to ensure that we try and keep on top of as much of the maintenance as we can. On this occasion I feel that this was not carried out properly for your arrival, for which I apologise. It is also very disappointing to read your comments regarding the hot tub, our hot tub contractors check our hot tubs for us on a daily basis and it is very important that they are following this protocol. As the hot tubs are checked daily, any issues should have been rectified very quickly for you. I have passed on the feedback to the supervisor so they can speak with their team to ensure this does not happen again. Our returning guests are extremely valuable and I would not want this disappointing experience to deter you from revisiting us again, so I really do hope that you will look and stay with us again so we can guarantee our standards which we are working so hard on. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"This is our 2nd stay at 2 Lakeview and it was absolutely perfect in every way."
Beautiful lodge in a stunning location, the site is very peaceful and well maintained. We would definitely recommend Stonerush lakes, you won't be disappointed.
Thank you so much for letting us know how much you loved your stay at 2 Lake View and also for your recommendation! I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had a peaceful, relaxing break and enjoyed the gorgeous surroundings. Please hurry back to see us soon! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
Clean, comfortable and well equipped. A perfect base for our stay. The decking could use some TLC and the flooring was a bit saggy/creaky in places in the hallway but this had no impact on our stay whatsoever. Great communication regarding the property and had dinner twice in the old mill which was lovely with friendly/welcoming staff. Second time to Stonerush Lakes and definitely won't be the last.
Thank you for your wonderful feedback Lawrence, I am so happy to hear you had a fantastic stay at 2 Lake View. Thank you for letting me know about the decking and hallway floor, I will make sure that our maintenance are made aware, so this issue can be rectified. So glad to hear you were able to come across and sample the delicious menu in the restaurant and that you are planning to return to see us again in the future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"The staff were absolutely lovely, very approachable, friendly, and helpful."
They made us feel very welcome
It was such a pleasure to meet you Wendy and make your stay one to remember! Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we all hope you will be back very soon to stay with us again. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"We Had a lovely weekend celebrating my fiancée birthday there cottage was clean and we found it very relaxing with the beautiful surroundings."
Excellent staff more than helpful especially Sally. Thanks again for an Amazing weekend x
I am absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us Nige and that you lovely fiancée had a fantastic birthday! I hope you will both be back to visit us again in the very near future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"Lovely lodge but could do with a little freshen up and dining chairs very uncomfortable."
Thank you for your feedback Gemma, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts and really do welcome any ideas for improvements. I am so happy that you enjoyed your holiday and thought your lodge was lovely. I have passed on your suggestions to freshen up the lodge, also your concerns about the dining chairs. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"The park itself is lovely and so quiet."
Couldn’t fault it. The old mill restaurant/bar was also lovely. Had a takeaway the first evening we arrived . Food was amazing. The lodge was very run down and tired. Beds are horrific. I spent 2 nights on the sofa and 2 nights in a single bed. Absolutely shocking mattresses on all 3 beds. The fridge kept freezing so ended up throwing food away every day. The shower tray kept filling up with water so you were standing in dirty water. We ended up using the shower that was over the bath . Marks all over the walls. The hot tub was absolutely lovely. The peace and quiet was amazing The old mill was lovely Would I stay again yes but not in no 2 lake view The lodge just needs some TLC
"Accommodation is great however it is beginning to look tired in places and could do with a bit of attention, although nothing was bad enough to spoil the holiday and I would stay again."
To be fair a lot of things are the fault of guests, coasters and table mats are provided so there’s no excuse for cup or hot pan marks all over the table but clearly some people have no respect for others property. One thing I would advise is take an oven glove as not one supplied … The on site restaurant was fantastic !
Thank you for such a great review we are glad you enjoyed the lodge, we do try and schedule a refresh during the quieter times. It is difficult when some guests are not so considerate as others whilst staying. We are glad you would stay again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner
Thank you Property Owner
"Happy with the lodge, could do with a higher up clean with spider webs in corners."
The parking space has a lip which caused my car to ground which may not be an issue for suvs but a concern for normal cars. Hot tub was perfect, at a good temperature on arrival. Would highly recommend to my friends. Perfect location with most visited places no more than an hour's drive away. Although you can do most things in Looe just down the road.
Thank you for your recommendation, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to explore the area. There is extra parking nearly opposite the lodge for guests. Property Owner
"Excellent stay which far exceeded our expectations."
My husband who is an avid foreign holiday kind of guy, said that he would return here without hesitation. We’ve just booked again at the sister site. Facilities are great - washing machine etc very handy with kids. Hot tub was lovely and warm and well used by all! Pub on site was really friendly and welcoming. Everyone had a lovely time and was sad to leave. Only negatives which were minor was that the heating and hot water were a little temperamental but we managed to figure it out and mattresses were a little worn and a very tiny issue was the cord on the hoover, for the size of the property or because I’m spoilt at home with a a long cord, I could only hover in small sections
Thank you for such a great review and are glad you an excellent stay and would return. Property Owner
"Bathroom needs mirror."
No blind in kitchen. Decking around hot tub rotten and dangerous. No guide for alarm clock/radio which woke us at 2am until turned off at mains (both guides in bedside drawer were for different machine!) Nice position etc but some side lighting in the living areas wouldn't go amiss for out of season rentals.
Thank you for your feedback. The site have confirmed that the lodge is closed off this week for maintenance when the decking area will be repaired and a new kitchen blind will be fitted Property Owner
"Its a brilliant property but really needs some sort of light by the hot tub and the main bed was slightly uncomfortable and I would recommend a kind size bed as it’s quit a large room!"
The restaurant on site is lovely the food is amazing
Thank you for you comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the suggestions we will look in to this. Property Owner
"This is the 4th lodge we have stayed in at stonerush lakes and this one is far below the standards I expected."
When we arrived the hot tub was not up to heat and we had to wait until the next day to be able to use it. There was a sign on the living room door lock saying that it was waiting to be replaced and basically we couldn’t use it easily. There was a suspicious amount of marks on the wall next to the toilet, dirty cups and glasses and a tray filled with dirty oil in the oven. The dishwasher was bringing dirty food back up the pipes and the kitchen plinth kept falling down showing some mice traps underneath. We tried to complain when we got there but the reception was closed and the emails bounced back , we were unable to call as we had no phone signal. The following day we spoke to a nice lady who offered to send the cleaners back for another clean , when we came back it looked as though the only thing to have been cleaned was the oven tray. We were offered one drink as an apology and when I complained on return I was offered a small offer of good will which I only accepted as to try and claw something back from the holiday but this was not reasonable baring in mind the issues we encountered. I understand that things can go wrong but the important thing is how things are dealt with and in my opinion the response was extremely poor. A real shame as we loved stonerush lakes up until this point but this has left a bitter taste.
Thank you for your comments, we take on board the cleanliness was not ideal but this has now been addressed by putting in place a new spot check system to achieve the high standards required. Property Owner
"We had a lovely stay at 2 Lake View, we had a few niggles with our stay but it didn't put us off."
1. There was no welcome/information pack with details on how to get on the WiFi etc, I understand Covid means things have been removed but a laminated sheet would work as it could be cleaned. 2. The main bed was very uncomfortable and could do with some support in the middle!! 3. The utensils were very limited and the large knife looked like it had been used to chop logs it was that bent! No fish slice or tongs which would have been useful. 4. The hot tub is very private but also very dark at night when you are getting out of it and trying to cover it over, some discreet lighting would be beneficial as there were some areas of the deck which dipped around the tub that you didn't want to stand on. 5. If using the log burner make sure the logs you take with you are quite thin as the opening is small and there was nothing to cut them down with. We did like the complementary milk, starter pack with the tea, coffee etc in it, nice touch Will definitely book again but will try another lodge, the location of the park was just beautiful!
"We really enjoyed our stay at Lake View, it was clean and warm."
Very well equipped with superb views over the valley and part of the lake. We would greatly recommend the Old Mill Restaurant which is on site. We did have a problem with the hot tub on the first afternoon/evening but it was rectified by the morning. We absolutely loved it. We only had a couple of concerns which were that there was no outside light by the hot tub which we thought could be a bit of a danger. Also when I tried to get hold of someone for the hot tub (which said only in emergency to phone a number, which I really didn't think it was), but did anyway, or email Charteroaks. Although someone did get back to me pretty much straightaway I would have liked to have someone answer the phone or a reception area. But it really isn't a complaint just a suggestion.
"The wood burner and hot tub were excellent"
"Lovely quiet surroundings , great bar staff & chef cooking lovely meals ."
"Perfect location to access nearby towns & beaches."
Restaurant onsite serving delicious food. Lodge was immaculately clean & spacious & included all essentials. Loved the hot tub! Will definitely be booking again.
"This was a lovely area and the staff were very friendly, great base for Cornwall and dog friendly."
"Accommodation was wonderful - Great location and a great base to explore north ..."
Accommodation was wonderful - Great location and a great base to explore north or south coast from - Easy access back to the A38 for this Lovely 'chalet' in a peaceful surrounding - More other similar accommodation than I expected but unless you walk around, you don't see this, so very private - No noise issues, in fact saw very little other visitors Great that you can sit in the hot tub and almost believe you are in the Lake District with so many trees around Easy walks with the dog on site, but this was just for an early stroll or evening stroll as the rest of the time he was with us on various costal walks etc Would recommend this accommodation to others and would use it ourselves again another time
"We loved the lodge , it was gorgeous and view and surroundings were beautiful!"
It was modern and cosy and clean! Loved watching the wildlife and star gazing from the hot tub! It was a bit off the beaten track but we were happy to go off exploring Cornwall. The only negative was that we lost our WiFi connection on the third day and we rang the office several times and nothing was done and as we were having to spend 3 of the 7 days indoors due to terential rain we could of done with the WiFi to use are tablets and phone people ! But luckily the sun shone on the other days and we had a fantastic holiday!
"Lovely and quiet lodge, really enjoyed having a hot tub!"
Warm and cosy with everything we needed. Including a cafetière
"The Location was perfect, a really quite site with great screening between ..."
The Location was perfect, a really quite site with great screening between lodges allowing good privacy, would have preferred to have had better pathways around the lakes for walking, and better on site road side lighting when walking back from the old Mill to lodge would have been beneficial
"Overall disappointed with cleanliness especially during these exceptional times with Covid."
Double duvet badly stained, no mattress protecter on double bed. Lumps of grey fluff & white animal hair under furniture & chair legs. No linen bag provided. A remarkable deterioration since our visit back in March. On the positive side we had a lovely meal on Sunday for my 65th birthday & social distancing & sanitisation was very good in the Old Mill restaurant. The piece & tranquillity of Stonerush Lakes was unspoilt & thoroughly enjoyed albeit the weather wasn’t too kind.
"Truly a beautiful place to stay, everything we wanted and needed was supplied."
The lodge was readily heated for our arrival which was lovely yo walk into. Bedrooms were spacious and the beds were so comfortable to sleep in.. had the perfrct nights rest. Its such a peaceful place to walk around and visiting the lake with the carp.. wow they are huge and always wanting a feed
"THE LODGE WAS NOT HAS CLEAN HAS PREVIOUS LODGES VISITED."
COBWEBS IN THE KITCHEN. DINING TABLE WAS DIRTY. NOT HOOVERED PROPERLY. RUBBISH IN THE KITCHEN BIN, INCLUDING CIGARETTE BUTTS, AND LOTS OF CIGARETTE BUTTS ALL OVER THE OUTSIDE AREA WHICH IS A BIT SURPRISING WHEN ITS A NO SMOKING SITE.LODGE WAS NOT HAS WELL KITTED OUT AS OTHER LODGES THEREFORE CONSTANTLY HAD TO PUT DISHWASHER ON.
Thank you for your feedback. The owner of the property lives a considerable distance away from the site itself and relies on the Charteroak cleaners and maintenance to ensure the property is of a high standard for all guests, she was very disappointing to see your comments. Cleanliness issues have been address with the cleaning team on site and more spot checks have been put in place to ensure a thorougher job will be done going forward. The owner has also advised that a new mattress has been added, along with blinds in the kitchen, and decking furniture has been replaced for guests comfort. We are sorry that your stay didn't go to plan, if we had been made aware of the cleanliness issues during your stay we could have arranged for a re clean for you to make your stay more enjoyable, I'm sorry we didn't get the opportunity to do this. Thank you once again for you time and comments. Property Owner
"The only thing I would say i would suggest to change is the check in time."
Dont say 4pm if its not going to be 4pm. We arrived at 16.45 and had to wait another 15/20 mind so the girls could finish cleaning the cabin. Which we Were quite annoyed as it didn't leave a good first impression and we had travelled down since the early part of the morning and explored abut of Looe to make sure we where arriving after the check in time. Other than that it was brilliant! The cabin was lovely and spacious and very clean. The hot tub was my daughters favourite part. We loved the location and loved waking up to the peaceful scenery around us. The site could maybe benefit from a on site shop as the nearest shop it a few miles away. For the amount of cabins on site I'm suprised there wasny one, even for just milk. We would definitely return as we have very much enjoyed it.
"No light bulbs in the lamps in any bedroom."
Blind missing in kitchen. Power cable missing on radio in bedroom Have stayed in another lodge here and had dressing gowns and slippers for hot tub but nothing in this lodge. Annoying as I purposely didn’t pack that. The lodges provided for the log burner didn’t fit in. Which is annoying or I would have brought some when I went to the shop but didn’t think I needed to test if they fitted
"Only minor maintenance issues ie redecoration of bathroom required and various ..."
Only minor maintenance issues ie redecoration of bathroom required and various “touch ups throughout” and the blind to kitchen window is still missing (noticed this in reviews from earlier this year)
"Lovely lodge with great facilities in a fabulous setting."
TLC of the place could probably be improved a bit, for example there was no window blind in the kitchen and a couple if bulbs were out, also damp in the shower room. We didnt advise of the issues at the time because quite simply we didnt feel we should have to do this. These things should already be picked up or identified between customer visits. Nonetheless everything else was spot on and it didnt prevent us from really enjoying the lodge and having a wonderful holiday
"Absolute gem, quite, great views, plenty of space and creature comforts in the cabin for all, our pet dog Bella felt at home straight away."
"Beautiful location and equally beautiful site."
Read a few comments about this property but having stayed it's just nit picking. Nobody will redecorate a place before the next family come six hours later and nowhere I have ever stayed is without fault. It's a VERY quiet, comfortable and well maintained site, cleverly planted to give the maximum privacy with the minimum loss of sun from the south facing verandahs. Restaurant/ take away DEFINATELY worth a visit or two and staff very welcoming. You can wait on the comfy sofas with your dog and enjoy a drink while waiting for your take away too. Hot tubs clean and maintained daily. Wouldn't hesitate to return and would definitely recommend.
"The lodge needs a good clean and general updating."
Broken garden furniture, Broken glass on floor, cobwebs hanging from the ceiling.
"Lovely stay in a very tranquil setting."
Well equipped property and hot tub definitely a bonus! Would have appreciated the option of a late check out. Would definitely return and recommend to others.
"On the whole the place was fantastic very much enjoyed the peace and quiet."
. the log cabin was amazing. except for the patio windows needed a good cleaning and the hot tub was noisy through the night on a couple of nights, but other than that the experience was enjoyed we would book again...
"Our honeymoon with our 4 year old daughter and little dog in tow."
What a beautiful, peaceful place. We saw rabbits, buzzards, squirrels, all manner of wildlife set against the backdrop of the picturesque valley. Equidistant from both Looe and Polperro this was the perfect escape for us as a family. The lodge was well equipped and clean and the hot tub was a firm favourite everyday. Twice in our weeks stay we didn’t even venture out of the lodge we just enjoyed just ‘being’. The fact that it was also dog friendly was a huge plus for us and our little mate was in her element. We also ate at the Old Mill on-site twice and it was lovely. Thankyou Sykes cottages!
"Absolutely beautiful quiet location,had a lovely 7 night stay in May at the Lakeview 2 lodge."
Grounds and site was stunning,lodge itself was in need of some upgrades,was clean and had everything you could need,it was just looking very worn in parts. Overall though a nice relaxing break
"It was everything and more we wanted, only problem was the dishwasher never fully cleaned the dishes, there were always marks, stains etc left even if there were only a small load in the dishwasher it wasn’t always very clean when it had finished."
I would suggest someone to take a look at it. Other than that I would 1000% stay here again!
"Lack of attention to detail : (1) Table lamp bulb u/s, no spares."
(2) Wall clock u/s, no battery, (3) No cleaning products ie washing up liquid, bucket, mop etc. (4) On arrival TV inoperative, DVD stuck in machine. Removed DVD, no TV signal, aerial fly lead broken, repaired fly lead and retuned TV. (5) Both patio door handles and locks require attention, difficult to open/lock. (6) No sink plugs in kitchen. (7) Kitchen blind missing, (8) both toilet seats loose, (9) several marks on bedroom carpets, (10) Torch on coat hook near front door, nice idea but not batteries.
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. As you are aware, we have brought this to the owners attention who has now rectified these issues. Thank you again for your valued feedback. We would love to see you again in the future. Property Owner
"Lovely place to go if you want to be away from everything!"
On arrival we were amazed at how beautiful stonerush lakes were. The cabins looked fantastic and did not disappoint. They could have done with an update inside with curtains not fully fitting the windows in the main bedroom, shower leaking as the seal was broken at the bottom. Having a private hot tub was fab... but again could have been stronger than what it was! As for the local area... well nothing is local! The nearest pub is a good 15 minute drive away with the coast being around 20, so we found ourselves driving around a lot more than we would have liked for a holiday! Staff onsite were really friendly and helpful about where to go and what to do! As for dog friendly... its brilliant you can take the dogs in the lodges but unfortunately there was no where on site to take them for a walk off lead as the area that was meant for this had over grown!
- Two bedrooms: 1 x double with dressing table, 1 x twin
- Bathroom with shower off taps, basin and WC
- Shower room with shower, basin and WC
- Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove.
- Gas central heating with woodburning stove
- Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher
- TV with Freeview, DVD, fibre optic broadband
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Guests need to bring their own woodburner fuel
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Travel cot (no mattress) and highchair available to hire
- Off road parking for 1 car
- Decked terrace with furniture and hot tub
- One well-behaved pet welcome
- Sorry, no smoking
- Shop 4 miles, pub/restaurant on-site 5 mins walk
- Check-in 4pm, check-out 10am
- Note: One step into the property from the parking space
- Note: The charging of electric vehicles is not permitted
- Note: Due to balcony terrace and lakes on-site, children need to be supervised at all times
- Note: BBQ’s are not to be brought to the site
- Note: Pets to be kept on a lead at all times on site
- Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.
A superb lodge situated on the Stonerush Lakes site, two miles from the Cornish village of Lanreath.
This wonderful lodge sleeps up to four guests, so is ideal for a couple or small family, with plenty to see and do in the area.
Boasting countryside views, this lodge has a light and airy open-plan living area with a well-equipped kitchen area, dining area and sitting area with a warming woodburning stove, which is perfect for those chilly nights.
Catch some well-earned rest in the airy double bedroom with dressing table or the second bedroom which features twin beds.
A bathroom and shower room complete the accommodation.
Outside is a large decked terrace from where you can enjoy a drink or a spot of alfresco dining whilst enjoying the countryside views.
Also on the decked terrace is a hot tub, from where you can let the hustle and bustle of everyday life drift away.
Set at the heart of Stonerush Lakes and within an easy walk of your lodge lies the Old Mill Lakeside Bar and Restaurant offering a charming venue for a delicious meal or a relaxing drink by the wood burning stove or out on the deck overlooking Miller’s Island.
Within easy reach is the village of Lanreath which has a shop, pub and church if you fancy a short explore.
Also close by are the seaside villages of Looe and Polperro, which are worth a visit, as is the world famous Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan.
2 Lake View is an excellent base for your Cornwall adventure whatever you decide to do.
Nestled on the outskirts of the pretty rural village of Lanreath, are these beautiful modern lodges. The properties have undergone extensive renovation to provide a wonderful holiday experience for couples, friends and families alike, where you can enjoy a peaceful and tranquil stay in the heart of the Cornish countryside. Each property benefits from homely sitting rooms where you can curl up with your loved ones and spend the evening catching up with your favourite TV shows, cook up delicious home-cooked meals in the well-equipped kitchens and have those family gatherings at the dining table over a well-deserved glass of champagne. Discover a range of well-presented bedrooms, with modern beds so you can get some much needed rest for the day's ahead, whilst also offering plenty of modern furniture for your personal items. Outside, there are private garden areas where you can enjoy a spot of alfresco dining with a refreshing drink of an evening, some of which boast hot tubs for that spot of luxury and views across the lakes. Within walking distance of your property lies the Old Mill lakeside bar and restaurant, the perfect opportunity to grab some lunch or an evening meal and enjoy those stunning views across the lake out towards Miller's Island on the outdoor decking area, or keep warm by the woodburning stove. Stonerush Lakes is also nestled around four lakes which feed a meandering stream and offer some of the most picturesque views only a stone's throw away! You are within driving distance of the bustling seaside town of Looe to access some of its most beautiful views across the seaside and plenty of tourist attractions. East Looe Beach is perfect for spending your afternoons sunbathing on the golden sands, swimming in the shallow waters, or taking the opportunity to get involved with Cornwall's favourite sport of surfing! Discover Looe Valley Vineyard for some wine tasting, Looe Island - hugely popular for its nature reserve and abundance of wildlife. The South West Coastal Path is also within reach and is ideal for those keen walkers and cyclists to enjoy the best of both country and coastal sites. Take a tour of the nearby towns of Looe, Polperro and Fowey for a variety of historical sites and amenities nearby. Stonerush Lakes provides an excellent base for those seeking to tour this wonderful part of the Cornish countryside.
Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.
About the location
Pelynt 2 miles; Looe 5 miles; Polperro 6 miles.
Lanreath is a village in southeast Cornwall, five miles west of Looe. Lanreath is rural in character with a local shop and Post Office as well as a parish church. There are a number of ghost stories associated with Lanreath. The best-known features a ghost in black driving a coach pulled by a headless horse. Nearby Pelynt is home to a parish church, a number of local shops and pubs, especially the Jubilee Inn, which was an original farmhouse dating back to the 16th Century. Looe is Cornwall’s second largest fishing port and hence there is always a lively maritime bustle around the quay area of East Looe, which is connected to the quieter West Looe by a seven arched 19th century bridge over the River Looe. The sandy Looe beach adjoins the pier and is very popular with families because of its safe shallow swimming and vast expanse of sand. Polperro is a little further away and is a historic fishing village nestling at the head of a long valley leading down to the sea. With plenty of areas to visit, Lanreath is a quiet, pleasant place offering easy access to the coast, the moors, National Trust properties and Cornwall's famous gardens.
Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute