In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 8 minutes ago

32 people have recently viewed this property

8 Church Street

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995178)

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor accommodation
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews

20 Customer Reviews

  • "House was dirty (i have already had discussions with the office in Salcombe and a small goodwill payment was forthcoming which I accepted)."

    Also outside space was un-usable - covered in green moss throughout and with really dirty outside furniture.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so sorry to read that the property was presented unsatisfactorily upon your arrival - we are pleased that our Salcombe team were of great help to provide remedy. We have passed on your concerns with the garden area to both the owner and our maintenance team who have a rota in place to ensure this is both presentable and usable for future bookings. We are sorry for this but hope that you were still able to have an enjoyable stay here in Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SophieJul 2021

  • "Clean, comfortable, well located cottage."

    Outside space was nothing like picture. Could do with a major clean and tidy up.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you were able to enjoy your stay here in Salcombe. We are only sorry you weren’t able to enjoy the outside area this property has to offer. Your concerns have been passed onto our maintenance team and we aim to rectify this issue. Despite this, we hope your holidays was a nice break away! Property Owner

    Reviewed by StuartJun 2021

  • "Kitchen cupboards could smell a bit damp."

    Parking was difficult in the car park, maybe just a busy week. Nice accommodation, nice location, well organised.

    Reviewed by JonathanOct 2020

  • "Particularly impressed with the local support - window blind not working properly, courtyard furniture not clean and unable to get the central heating working !"

    Reported issues in person to the local office and by the time we walked back to the property (about 5mins) 3 support staff arrived to rectify the problems !! Impressive !

    Reviewed by BarrySep 2020

  • "The cottage is in a fabulous location we could walk everywhere."

    It was great that it accepts dogs. It has plenty of room albeit with the lounge being up steep steps which would not be ideal for some. However...it is tired and needs a refresh. More than that I could feel the springs in the bed digging into me so didn’t get a great night’s sleep. The shower room door was broken and there was black mould in corners. There was a permanently damp smell in the kitchen ( and this was on a sunny week). There are so few properties that are affordable in your portfolio so I wouldn’t want wholesale change as it would price it out of many peoples’ ability to pay. And that was another thing. The attitude of your staff to someone staying in one of your lower priced properties (but still over £100 a night out of season!!) is not great. They were insistent that there wouldn’t be a parking permit with THAT property. And I had to be equally insistent that there was when I wasn’t initially given it. And when we complained that we couldn’t find a seagull bag for our rubbish were told by local staff it was there. It wasn’t. Everything was a bit too much trouble though I get the impression if we had been spending more they might have cared more. We are still customers. The guy I spoke to in Chester however was lovely, friendly and helpful! It is a shame. We love Salcombe and have been coming for 30 years. But don’t Know whether we will return with coast and country. We shall see. I would like a reply to this please. As for publishing. Ha. We’ll see whether you do!

    Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at 8 Church Street. The owners of this property are very proactive and spend a lot of time during the winter months updating and improving their property. The shower enclosure was due to be replaced earlier this year but this has been delayed until November due to the lockdown. Please be assured that we do not treat customers in accordance with the property in which they are staying and we do our upmost to ensure that all customers have a positive experience with us and of course, enjoy their holiday so it is disappointing to hear that there was a mistake made when you arrived to collect the keys/parking permit. The seagull sack was replaced during your stay, these can often go missing unfortunately and we have to replace them a couple of times a year. All feedback written by our guests is published on the website unless they decide otherwise; the reviews aren't removed. I hope that despite these issues, you were able to enjoy your stay in Salcombe and that we can welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RosSep 2020

  • "Cottage could do with updating/modernizing Shower Was really difficult to use and not powerful at all"

    Reviewed by LauraSep 2020

  • "The property was clean, the 'attic' sitting room was really comfortable and cosy with lovely views."

    The location is good just a few steps from the town and the car park. However, the shower was a disappointment with extremely poor water flow (a booster pump could easily solve this) and somewhere to put bathing toiletries other than the floor (it cannot be assumed everyone uses products in plastic bottles) would be useful. Obviously the horrible weather played a part, but we found the kitchen rather dismal and cancelled an arrangement with some friends to come to dinner. The pans are poor quality and we couldn't use the kitchen knives as the paint was peeling off them. The weather also deterred us from a trip across the yard to use the 'utility room'.

    Reviewed by KennethOct 2019

  • "Fantastic town"

    Reviewed by SimonSep 2019

  • "All in all very good location and standard of accommodation."

    If there was any improvement at all perhaps a little updating of the property as it is quite dated, but this definitely didn't stop us enjoying the stay.

    Reviewed by JonathanMay 2019

  • "We had previously stayed in this property 20 years ago."

    Although there had been some changes new beds and lounge furniture it was basically the same. However we only changed properties 20 years ago as we needed something bigger. This property is well situated and had everything we needed. There was plenty of hot water and its location is excellent. We would be happy to stay here again.

    Reviewed by CarolMay 2019

  • "8 Church Street is a lovely place to stay - very homely, very clean, plenty of space, very well equipped and in a fabulous location."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our week and will be back! Our only suggestion would be to possibly make more of the small yard, yes it's in shade but we felt it could possibly be improved so it could be more usable - maybe a small area of fake grass or shingle or decking (plastic so not slippy) with the table and chairs on and paint or cover the walls to make it feel more loved as the house obviously is.

    Reviewed by HeatherApr 2019

  • "Easy to book and staff are friendly."

    The cottage we stayed in was amazing and very clean and tidy. We are actually going to book again for later this year same place

    Reviewed by VerityApr 2019

  • "Lovely location, lovely cottage, has everything you need."

    Only drawback is kitchen on ground floor and lounge on the top floor - don't forget to take everything up with you. Views are great though. Has everything you need and central for the wander into town.

    Jun 2018

  • "Excellent location."

    House very clean and well equipped. Utility area with hanging space and outside tap very useful for wetsuits and clothes drying. Airing cupboard a bonus too. Only (slight) negatives: carpet a little tired; stairs up to the attic sitting room are very steep - fine for us but could be a struggle for the very young or old.

    Mrs Rebecca Lloyd JamesSep 2017

  • "A good compromise for cost, facilities and position."

    We had no transport so position pretty good for the bus nd situation meant not too many hills to go up and down for shops, harbor etc. Very pretty top sitting room with views. Bedrooms reasonable. Would have benefitted perhaps from having a comfortable chair in the kitchen when cooking as sitting room too far when preparing meals. Pleasantly surprised at end of first week when bed-changers appeared - haven't experienced this in self-catering before. Management of replacement dishwasher also done with minimum disruption to us. Bathroom and shower room also made good use of space and the airing cupboard in the bathroom a bonus. Utility room also useful and kept noise of washing machine to a minimum. Back yard a bit dark, making kitchen dark. perhaps insert some light reflecting feature to brighten things up such as paint walls white or add old CDs to catch light.

    Sep 2016

  • "Great little house, very close the Centre of Salcombe and Boat Park."

    Jul 2016

  • "Great view from the attic lounge though a long way down the stairs to the kitchen"

    CJun 2016

  • "Excellent"

    Mrs A J SmithSep 2015

  • "The property was pretty well situated for all our needs and size wise was good."

    What was of concern was the fact that the property appears to be suffering from severe damp problems in the downstairs bedroom, leaving it smelling damp and unpleasant at times. The smell also seems to permeate upstairs into the double bedroom. The outside light switch gave one of our children a small shock so clearly needs to be tested and the drain in the shower room shower was blocked. We sorted this out ourselves by purchasing some crystals and clearing the drain. What would also be a real bonus would be to have a tumble dryer. The weather was a little poor at times and it was therefore difficult to dry anything.

    Mrs T Randall-MayAug 2015

  • "Good location, well equipped and very clean."

    Nov 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

The property

8 Church Street is a centrally located, attractive and well-equipped semi-detached cottage, providing comfortable holiday accommodation arranged over three levels.

The property has lovely views over Salcombe harbour and the surrounding countryside and is ideally situated within a two-minute walk of the pretty waterfront with its array of shops, pubs and restaurants. This comfortable cottage offers three bedrooms, one with a King-size bed, one with a double and the other with full-size bunk beds, and two bath/shower rooms, and provides an ideal base to explore Salcombe and the South Hams.

The ground floor kitchen affords a spacious area to enjoy family meals and is well-equipped with appliances including dishwasher and fridge freezer.

The second floor sitting room is equipped with entertainment equipment and it is from here that you will take in the stunning views of Salcombe Estuary and the surrounding area.

The property will accept one small well-behaved dog, and enjoys outside seating and small bistro style table and chairs.

Parking pass for one car is provided - for the long stay car park in Salcombe as well as many other locations within the South Hams (subject to restrictions).

Baby friendly facilities are also provided.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king 1 x double with sink 1 x set of 2' 6 bunks
  • Two bathrooms: one with bath, wash-hand basin, w.c, shaver point; one shower room with shower, wash-hand basin, w.c, shaver point
  • Dining/Kitchen
  • Lounge
  • Utility room
  • Small Courtyard.
  • Gas central heating
  • Fridge/freezer, washing machine, oven, dishwasher, microwave, toaster kettle
  • Nespresso coffee machine (pods not included)
  • DAB radio in kitchen
  • Wifi available
  • Parking pass for one car is provided - for the long stay car park in Salcombe (subject to restrictions)
  • Small courtyard with table and chairs and a gate leading to Church Street
  • Linen and towels provided, however tenants will need to provide their own tea towels

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

One small dog will be accepted.
Please note that there is a £25 charge per pet.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it