- Off road parking
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Washing machine
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
25 Customer Reviews
"Lovely cottage in a lovely location."
"My previous experience of Sykes Cottages has been of well maintained homes where visitors have been made to feel welcome."
They met high standards which meant I would happily recommend friends to use Sykes. However at the Maltings, finding incontinence pads in drawer of bedside table in main bedroom was more than shocking. The kitchen blind cannot be closed despite message in visitors' book five months ago asking this to be fixed. The large cobwebs in the hall ceiling made us wonder when Sykes last inspected this property and when it was last cleaned! Beautiful feature wallpapers and comfortable beds merely paper over the cracks. A holiday to remember for the wrong reasons, Phillipa
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you had housekeeping issues. Please be assured all the issues have been addressed and a new housekeeping team has been employed. We do take on board all feedback If you had contacted myself or Sykes I would have been more than happy to get a full re clean for you. The property has been refurbished and I am in the process of organising new photographs to be taken. Property Owner
"Really enjoyed our stay at this lovely roomy house in a great location and would recommend it."
Only points to note are that the kitchen table and floor needed a bit of a clean when we arrived. I am not over fussy where cleanliness is concerned, but not sure how this had been missed as the rest of the house was clean. I made sure I cleaned round before I left. Also I couldn't work the grill despite looking up cooker instructions online, but didn't contact the owner as not that inconvenient. Finally, as others have pointed out, the sofas in the lounge were not very comfy, but the bed we slept in was really comfy. These slight niggles did not spoil our enjoyment of the property.
"We have stayed their same time last year, so we knew what to expect."
The only problem is the red sofa in the lounge, very much past its sell by date, gives you back ache and very uncomfortable. Great location, ample room to park outside.
"Lovely spacious house, only 8 mins to the beach which was certainly a bonus for us with children."
Freshwater is a lovely area, a nice beach for swimming and safe for kids of all ages. A fantastic base for visiting the IOW, we visited many seaside towns and areas of interest such as The Needles which is nearby and also visited Osborne House, the home of Queen Victoria and Albert. The outside area of the house is a nice touch with table a comfy chairs, many mornings we sat outside with a hot drink or a book and felt the warmth of the sun. You can park the car at the front of the house which is easy to get in an out of, the bedrooms are good sizes and the en suite a bonus. a lovely kitchen and living room too, and we were a party of 6 and we fitted there comfortably. Tennyson Down is a nearby walk, with fantastic views at the top and when you get to the bottom you can can go to the piano cafe and have a deserved drink! The owner Sue is friendly and I expect if you have any problems she would sort them out, no problem. We recommend the cottage, accommodation and the area.
"We are returning customers and were very happy with our holiday."
The house is ideally situated and Mrs White was very helpful when we first arrived. We have stayed here three times now and have already booked a fourth visit. It is an ideal family house not far from the beach and local amenities. The parking is vastly improved with the new drive space at the front of the house. We can’t wait to come again.
"The location was good and the house lovely."
However it could have done with a good spring clean.....layers of dust visible on skirting boards, cobwebs hanging from ceilings etc. Also, the cooker didn’t have anything on its dials, so choosing the correct temperature for the oven was impossible.....no booklet about the cooker so that didn’t help. There was no information folder about the property to explain the Wi-fi code, how the heating worked etc, which is unusual. Overall, this didn’t ruin our stay we just feel these few negative points could be fed back and addressed. Kind Regards Kay
"The cottage was in an excellent position and can be thoroughly recommended especially for walkers."
The information provided by Sykes was not entirely accurate regarding the Covid precautions taken e.g. books, DVDs and games were still available. We were due a refund as the original dates had to be cancelled because of the Covid pandemic, and the dates we changed to were cheaper. However, a credit note rather than a refund was given, and it has not been possible to get a reply from Sykes Cottages to get the refund in cash. I have spent ages on hold and also written to Head Office to no avail.
"Really nice, spacious cottage, generally clean and everything in good working order"
"I paid in full for this holiday and due to covid 19 we could not go."
After 3 emails countless unanswered phone calls a letter to the CEO at head office unanswered they would not give me a refund. I am now trying to get it back from insurance. I would never book with this company again. I will never recommend them. I am sure due to greed and self interest they will not publish this feedback.
"Very spacious and lovely garden excellent"
"Property was a nice size however the cleanliness left a lot to be desired."
Dirty spoons in drawers, cups, glasses, pots and pans. cobwebs everywhere and considering it was supposed to have a deeper clean due to COVID-19 it was basically disgusting to the point we spent the first 2 hours of our holiday cleaning. The dishwasher does not work and needs replacing. BBQ was buried in the cupboard and not really available to use. overall very disappointed which is a shame as we had looked forward to the holiday due to lock down.
"We had a very comfortable stay during a week that was very wet and windy."
"We have rented two houses from sykes cottages and both have exceeded or expectations."
The house we rented on the Isle of Man was beautiful great location and every facility we needed in a lovely location. There were 6 of us 4 adults and two children for a wedding we were going to. The week we had was home from home. We can without doubt book the maltings again. Thank you so much for a wonderful place to stay and made our visit brilliant.
"On arrival we found the place clean."
Unfortunately, watching, many things were dirty. The house must be cleaned completely. The photos are old and therefore misleading. The dishwasher is very small (1/2). The washing machine is very big (9kg). The parking space is very convenient.
"Excellent serice via the web booking with Sykes."
Easy parking at the property and a good location to travel from for the rest of the island.
"The house is a fantastic base for exploring the IoW."
It was clean, tidy and has everything you could need for a home away from home. The pictures don't do it justice as it was a lot larger than we expected. There is also a driveway out front for 2 cars which has been recently built. There were some nice touches too, like fresh bread, butter, milk, marmalade and ham. The location was great too especially if you like walking. Freshwater Bay and the Coastal path are less than 10 minutes down the road and a short walk brings you to Tennyson Down. Keeping walking west along the coastal path for about an hour and you'll get to the Needles. East takes you to the fabulous sandy beach of Compton beach. Colwell Bay (also sandy) is also a short 5 drive away or a 45 min walk. Add to this, local convenience stores and a great little coffee shop less than 2 minutes walk you have all you need for a great holiday. Highly recommended!
"We had a brilliant week in Freshwater, and absolutely loved the Maltings."
It is a lovely, spacious house, and good parking. We only had one minor problem regarding the heating, which the lovely owner, Sue, sorted out for us immediately. We will certainly put the Maltings at the top of our list when we return to IOW.
"A lovely cottage."
I would happily go back.
"A lovely position and a spacious property with comfortable beds and two bathrooms."
Being really close to the sea and with easy parking was useful. In the kitchen were only 5 mugs (no cups and saucers) so we had to wash up often and just as well there were only 4 of us. There is no dish drainer or small,sharp knife for peeling and only one tea towel (for a week!). The bacon and eggs, milk, bread and marmalade plus lots of extras like dishwasher tablets and toilet rolls were excellent. Overall, we had a lovely week and found both the house and the area quiet and welcoming. Appreciated the toaster and wi-fi. Used Google earth to help find - look out for the telegraph pole right on the track!
"The cottage was very spacious and within easy walking distance of the bay."
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We also appreciated the welcome pack.
"From the moment we stepped into our holiday cottage we werehaving a wonderful, relaxing, and warm time!"
The Maltings has very recently been remodeled and updated and everything in it exceeded our expectations for a holiday cottage. The owner popped in one point to make sure all was well and we had a lovely chat. Would totally recommend The Maltings!
"As usual so lovely and particularly enjoyable."
Only this time the WiFi does not work all week at all, and there was no toaster for us. Little things matter.
"Just simply perfect for our needs."
"A well equipped cottage and wonderful for a family to stay."
As houses are not numbered in these parts, it helps to take a look at the Google streetview beforehand to get a feel of the road, the location of the property and the side road on the left of the property that leads to the car park in the rear.
- Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with TV and en-suite bath, shower over, basin, WC and heated towel rail, 1 x double, 1 x twin
- Ground floor large walk in shower, basin and WC
- Fitted kitchen with dining area
- Sitting room with gas coal-effect fire and French doors to front decked area
- Note: There are steps leading to the en-suite.
- Gas central heating with coal-effect gas fire
- Gas oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, video, CD/radio, selection of books and games
- 1 cot
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Beach towels provided
- Travel cot and highchair on request
- Off road parking for 1 car, 2nd space available for 1 additional small car
- Enclosed front decked area with furniture and charcoal BBQ
- Sorry, no pets and no smoking
- Shops 3 mins walk, pub 1.4 miles
- Beach 5 mins walk.
This attractive 19th century mock Tudor cottage is conveniently located within a six minute walk of the stunning cove at Freshwater Bay on the wonderful Isle of Wight.
This Freshwater cottage has been traditionally furnished throughout to provide comfortable and spacious accommodation for families and friends who wish to enjoy a relaxing holiday together by the sea.
This welcoming Freshwater cottage is set over two floors and offers a large kitchen, a warm and sunny sitting room with French doors, two bathrooms and three comfortable bedrooms.
Outside there is off road parking at the rear of this Freshwater cottage, whilst at the front there is a good-sized, enclosed decked area with table, chairs and a barbecue, making this an ideal place for dining alfresco.
The charming village of Freshwater offers many attractions, including dinosaur footprint hunting at Compton Bay, the Afton Marsh Local Nature Reserve, walks along Tennyson Down, hang gliding, fishing and golf.
The beautiful streets of Yarmouth, with their many boutique shops, art galleries, superb pubs and restaurants, are close by, plus further afield is the wild and rocky coastline at St Catherine's Down.
This delightful Freshwater cottage is bound to please at any time of the year.
About the location
Yarmouth 3 miles; Cowes 16 miles; Fishbourne 16 miles; Ryde 18 miles.
Freshwater is situated at the western tip of the Isle of Wight and consists of a main town and Freshwater Bay. The town offers a good selection of quaint shops, while the white cliffs, rolling downland and delightful beaches at Freshwater Bay attract visitors all year round. The renowned Freshwater Bay Golf Club, which overlooks the English Channel, offers a superb day out for golfers of all abilities, while the area is a haven for walkers, cyclists and bird watchers, with many wonderful walks to be enjoyed over the Afton and Tennyson Downs. Visit the Dimbola Photographic Museum in Freshwater Bay, Needles Pleasure Park with its coloured sand cliffs, or, a little further afield, the premier yachting centre of Cowes. With the seaside town of Yarmouth close by, with its sandy beaches, pier, shops, eateries and impressive Tudor castle, this is an ideal base for an enjoyable holiday.
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute