In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Harbour Side - Lake District - 967037 - photo 1

Harbour Side

(Ref. 967037)

Maryport, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 3 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • harbour (30)
  • apartment (23)
  • lovely (21)
  • good (18)
  • flat (18)
  • property (16)

68 Customer Reviews

  • "We have stayed at this property on a number of occasions."

    It is located in an excellent position with views over the harbour and across the Solway. It meets our needs admirably and we will undoubtedly return.

    Reviewed by Patrick5.0Jul 2024

  • "The property is very dated and is in need of a refurbishment eg cracked bathroom sink , shower has mould, kitchen sink stained, kitchen in need of update, window drafts and some double glazing units broken down seals."

    Mismatched furniture that had seen better days. In general badly in need of some investment.

    Thank you for your comments. We will pass these on to our contract cleaners or the owners of the building as appropriate. The flat is part of an award-winning complex from the 1980s and we have tried to keep its period in mind when furnishing it. However we do have some improvements in mind which will be made during the quieter winter months but, all-in-all, our guests prefer comfort to modern minimalism. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John1.6Jun 2024

  • "Excellent apartment, regular home from home will definitely stay again and would highly recommend"

    We were pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit, Julie and John Property Owner

    Reviewed by June5.0Jun 2024

  • "A lovely apartment."

    Clean and well appointed. Close to harbour and short walk to shopping area. Not many shops, a lot closed. Good food at Lifeboat Inn.

    We are pleased you liked the flat and enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back before too long, Julie and John Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ernest5.0Jun 2024

  • "Gem of a property overlooking harbour."

    Slight issue caused by previous guest was swiftly and efficiently resolved after contacting owner who arranged for a handyman to call within 2 hours. Will return

    We are delighted that you appreciated our lovely view and are looking forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0May 2024

  • "We have been several times."

    This speaks for itself.

    We are pleased that you have booked a fifth visit later this summer and are looking forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patrick5.0Mar 2024

  • "Amazing sunsets, I really enjoyed sitting looking out of window, the stairs were a challenge but once up I didn't really venture."

    The views kept me happy. The flat has everything you need so much so booked again for next year. Thank you for the loan of your home x

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0Feb 2024

  • "Absolutely fabulous beautiful apartment in a superb position lovely place access to a lovely beach."

    Many interesting places nearby to visit including the Aquarium on the harbour side. We fell very lucky with the weather sunny but cold everyday (5 day visit). Would love to return in the future. Thank you for a restful few days.

    We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Nov 2023

  • "Property exceeded our expectations on location and views."

    On first appearance a decided Wow. Clean and tidy to a high standard. A property we will seek ro return to. Only down side kitchen cupboards require a declutter. One wardrobe in main bedroom also cluttered, even a table inside.

    We are glad you enjoyed your stay. As you know there are three wardrobes in the main bedroom so we leave two empty for our guests to use and we use the other one to hold games, books and tourist leaflets (on the table!) which we hope are of use to our guests. We will look into that and the kitchen cupboards when we are over next month after the flat has been fully redecorated. We hope to welcome you back to a nicely redecorated flat in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dennis5.0Nov 2023

  • "Our visit to Maryport was lovely ,we had a great week with the weather and loved the homely apartment ."

    I couldn,t fault anything,the owners thought of everything . We came up north as my son moved to the scottish borders so it was great to spend time with him .We love Maryport but wish we could have stayed longer as there are so many places to visit. We visited a place call Allonby 5 miles away ,i would suggest anyone in the area to visit beautiful. Cant wait to return to Maryport. Many thanks Julie and John. Michael and Jennifer Avery.

    Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Sep 2023

  • "The property was everything that it said in the write up prior to our booking."

    This was ideal for us to visit surrounding areas. There is a pub very near by for good priced food and large portions. We would book again with yourselves it was a very pleasant stay.

    Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Aug 2023

  • "The property was nice throughout, if a little dated in the decor."

    The facilities were comprehensive and well-maintained with plenty of consumables provided; such as bin bags, tea towels, cutlery, crockery, cleaning materials, even tea and coffee. The WiFi is reliable and of a good speed. The views from the apartment are lovely. I would disagree that Maryport is 'a bustling shopping centre' since many of the shops were boarded up, and those remaining were mainly fast-food shops. There was very little in the way of souveniers, local products and the like. We would recommend The Lifeboat pub for meals as they were excellent and good value. The harbour area is nice but the Maritme Museum was completely closed. However, the harbour area was very pleasant and the amenities (such as the ice cream shop and aquarium) were very nice and enjoyable to use. We did have an enjoyable week, getting out and about the region, with a comfy home base to come back to. Train services are excellent along the coastal towns - very cheap to get to Whitehaven. In harbour area, there are some really nice walks, along the English Coastal Path to get those steps up!.

    Thank you very much for a very fair assessment of our flat and its surroundings. We aim to provide a comfortable and pleasant environment for our guests. Maryport is, like many similar coastal towns, finding it difficult but there are plans to regenerate it. The Maritime Museum is temporarily closed but will reopen next year in a new venue near the harbour and its old location will become an art gallery. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Jul 2023

  • "We were on another visit."

    Hope that speaks for itself.

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed yet another stay. We have bought soft mattress toppers and will take them to Maryport on our next visit in mid-August. We are grateful to guests for their suggestions. Following a recent one, we have now aquired a pizza oven tray and a microwave lid (both new ideas to us!) which we will also bring in a couple of weeks. We hope to welcome you back to Harbour Side in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patrick4.7Jul 2023

  • "My friend and I had a very enjoyable week at Harbour Side."

    It's location in Maryport is very convenient. I have mobility problems but found that I could walk into the shopping area and to areas where there are seats for sitting. I have not given a top score for comfort because we did find the mattresses hard. This has been reported this to the owners and they have replied that they will provide soft toppings for the mattresses. I was very impressed with the amount of information which the owners provided before our holiday. We hope to return in the future.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found its location convenient. We have bought soft mattress toppers and will take them to Maryport on our next visit in mid-August. We hope to welcome you back to Harbour Side in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cynthia4.7Jul 2023

  • "We loved staying at Harbour side."

    We loved the wharf, sandy beach and the coastal walk, no car needed. Met many lovely people, and enjoyed eating out at the many hotel/pubs.

    We are glad you enjoyed your week, the harbour area, the walking and the eating out! Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming to back to Harbour Side in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Jun 2023

  • "On our arrival the property was nice and clean throughout."

    All appliances worked correctly and the kitchen was very well stocked with crockery etc. The bedrooms had plenty of storage with books and games in the wardrobe which would be useful for a rainy day. Lots of local information aavailable in the lounge.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are are glad you had a week of good weather and did not need the 'rainy day' items! We would be pleased to welcome you back to Harbour Side. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Raymond4.7May 2023

  • "Excellent location and having allocated parking really helps."

    The folders with lots of local and wider Cumbrian information is a great idea and much appreciated. Although we thought that we knew the area we found new places to visit. The Harbour View cafe was a great lunch place to visit and so close. The Cumbrian coast is certainly under visited which is why we visit it often.

    Thank you for your feedback which is very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciate the attractions of the Solway Coast. We hope to welcome you back to Harbour Side on your next visit to the area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pat5.0Apr 2023

  • "I stayed for a week with my daughter in the flat and we were very happy with it."

    The beds were comfortable and the bed linen and towels good and there was space for everything. The flat was clean and well equipped, although, as the owner says, a little retro. We used the central heating, the microwave, the toaster, the oven and the washing machine and all worked perfectly. The bathroom is good and the shower worked perfectly. The flat was very quiet and having a key safe meant it was easy to let ourselves in. We loved the location and enjoyed meals looking out over the harbour. We don’t have a car but it worked for exploring by public transport with the station about fifteen minutes walk away and the bus stops even nearer. Having Lidl close by was very useful and we shopped there every day on the way home. There were a couple of minor maintenance issues – the drawer front on the cutlery drawer and a bit of loose carpet in the hall but otherwise all was in good order. We appreciated the folders with information about the workings of the flat and ideas for places to visit. We would recommend Silloth and Whitehaven and a ride on the coastal railway. We would certainly stay again if we were in the area. The flat offered good value for money.

    Thank you for your comprehensive feedback which is very much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour Side. The drawer front and carpet have been reported to our handiman and should be fixed by the end of the week. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenna4.7Apr 2023

  • "We liked the flat and its location was perfect for us; a short walk to the main town, the harbour and aquarium, the costal path to the Roman museum etc."

    The proximity to local attractions like Wordsworth's Cottage, Cockermouth, and Buttermere.

    Thank you for your feedback which is very much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour Side and appreciated its location. As you say, it is perfect for exploring the local area and for days out to the Lake District, Carlisle and the Scottish Borders. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barry5.0Mar 2023

  • "I found the property rather dated, the chairs and table legs were wobbly, there wasn't enough glasses, the microwave was not fit to use, nor the oven."

    I tried to cook some garlic bread but the temperature control wasn't right, thank god it wasn't meat. Some windows didn't open and the place was really dusty, especially the bed as I have an allergy and it made me ill. Having used the hoover once, it's hardly surprising as there was no suction whatsoever. The shower didn't have much power either. All in all in need of some TLC. Would I recommend this property? No.

    Sorry you had a disappointing few days. We hope that the free Wi-Fi, smart TV and central heating compensated to some extent for the poor weather! As owners, we stayed in the property the week before. We used and found no problem with the microwave, the oven or the hoover, etc. The windows all open but are restricted for safety reasons. There are more than enough wine glasses (6) and water glasses (6), etc. for three people. The shower pressure is dependent on the water pressure in the building and out of our control. We will pass on your comments about the dust to our contract cleaners who normally clean to a high standard. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynda2.5Mar 2023

  • "Second visit and we enjoyed it as much as the first."

    Reviewed by Patrick5.0Mar 2023

  • "Had a great stay good views from the flat of the harbour it’s our second time staying and will definitely return"

    Reviewed by Steven4.4Feb 2023

  • "Lovely posirion on Maryport harbouside."

    The apartment is clean and reasonably comfortable, but it is a little tired in places. The bed is comfortable enough, loads of storage if required and the shower works but is not very powerful, The heating works very well. This is a good apartment to choose as a base for visiting the northern lakes. Maryport town sadly has a lot of empty shops, but we used the various coffee shops which were very good.

    Reviewed by Janette4.4Feb 2023

  • "A very comfortable property in an excellent location."

    Would go back again.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Nov 2022

  • "The property was excellent fully equipped kitchen couldnt of thought of anything else to put in if it was my own."

    The washimg machine was not working but we did not need it. Just slight problem with central heating ubt the flat was warm enough,we do not have central heating in our own home so it was abit of a mystery too us. Just the place for a relaxing break very quiet.

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Oct 2022

  • "Absolutely fantastic apartment exactly as described."

    Communication is first class Could not fault the whole process.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Oct 2022

  • "One of the best I have stayed in, the neighbours were really friendly and helpful."

    I would quite easily make it my home.Soso quiet for a flat. Thank you

    Reviewed by Victor5.0Sep 2022

  • "Fabulous location, pretty much everything we needed was provided."

    A couple more sockets would be an improvement, but that's a "nice to have" not a complaint.

    Reviewed by Monica5.0Sep 2022

  • "First class property in an excellent location."

    There are good local train and bus services for those that want them. We were able to get a Tesco grocery shop delivered to the flat.

    Reviewed by Patrick5.0Jul 2022

  • "Excellent communication and instructions from both Sykes and owner."

    Lovely location easy parking space and lovely well equipped accommodation. Beautiful sunsets from windows and lovely walks in every direction. Excellent base to get out and about. Would stay again if in the area.

    Reviewed by Haydee5.0Jul 2022

  • "We had a fantastic stay in Harbour Side during the Jubilee bank holiday and thoroughly enjoyed getting to know all the local history of Maryport."

    The flat is central to everything and overlooks the harbour which is lovely to sit at the table with a cuppa and look out onto. We cannot fault the flat at all, on arrival it was extremely clean and lovely and warm. Plenty of space and storage, the 2nd bedroom is handy for storing suitcases etc if there are only 2 of you. The owners have thought about everything you need for a home from home feel. Every piece of kitchen equipment was to hand and the bright and cheerful kitchen overlooks the back of the flat and had lovely views of the houses and cottages towards the town centre. There is a new boiler and shower and plenty of hot water. The bathroom is very spacious. Gorgeous large, fluffy white towels too! Double bedroom has plenty of storage and the 2 windows overlook the harbour and lighthouse. The flat feels safe due to a secure key entrance, met a couple of neighbours who were really friendly and welcoming. The owners left lots of information and menus of places to visit and eat out etc. The owners were also excellent with communication and emailed me direct when I booked with all the information that we needed for our stay, this could be downloaded and printed to make your planning easier for your stay. I also contacted the owner about a washing machine issue as it fused on the last evening and again I received a very reassuring reply, there is also a property services contact available to access throughout your stay in case of any issues that arise. We used the information service at the Aquarium (500 yards from flat) and used a Heritage Trail map to walk around Maryport, the Aquarium also has a lovely cafe attached which provides great food from 9-5 each day, highly recommend. The Fish and Chip shop also a definite and we sat and ate ours on the harbour. Everyone in Maryport that we met were also very friendly too and we noticed how clean and well looked after it is. We met a lovely 80 year old man who sits by the lighthouse everyday from 1.30pm with his 2 friends who also grew up in Maryport and all worked in the Pits, he was absolutely fascinating and told us lots of historical facts about Maryport and his family who also live there. Town Centre easy to walk to and also we found a little shortcut opposite Heron shop which took us to BnM and Lidl which also has everything you need. We didn’t use our car whilst there, we left it in our own parking space and walked everywhere to see all the local historical places within the area. The arrival time of 5pm was quite late for us but we parked our car in the public car park behind the flat (£2.60) and went off for a wander, cuppa and ice cream in the harbour. We did notice that a lot of places only take cash, we found a cash point in the town centre at the Cumberland Bank. We are planning to return at some point as we found the entire experience very relaxing. We both definitely recommend a stay in this property. Thank you very much to John and Julie!

    Reviewed by Maria5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cosy beautifully situated property overlooking the harbour in very interesting Marypool."

    Reviewed by Michael5.0May 2022

  • "We both enjoyed the clean well established flat with excellent views over the harbour and beyond across the Solway Firth."

    Reviewed by Barry5.0Apr 2022

  • "Spacious apartment, comfortable and well situated with a lovely view of the harbour."

    Ability to adjust heating thermostat helpful as still cold in March. Parking easy. Lots of useful info. on area. Used buses a lot to get out and about. Allonby and Silloth lovely places to visit.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Mar 2022

  • "John and Julie (owners) supplied us with all information re."

    property prior to our arrival. Harbourside is a very pleasant flat with lovely views over harbour. We contacted office during our stay due to co2 alarm and another car parking in our dedicated parking space and they were very helpful. Perhaps a few more cooking pans in kitchen and a better performance hoover. However, we had a lovely stay at Harbourside and would recommend.

    Reviewed by Maxine4.7Dec 2021

  • "Nice relaxing break and comfortable apartment."

    Reviewed by Anthony4.7Oct 2021

  • "The shower room needs a revamp."

    A modern power shower should be fitted. There should be a light over the sink

    Reviewed by Neil4.4Oct 2021

  • "Wonderful property"

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Oct 2021

  • "Harbour Side was excellent."

    The decor is a little dated but it had everything we needed and more. Very clean and comfortable, friendly and helpful owners and the location could not be more perfect being on the harbour side so able to sit and watch the tides and boats come and go from the living room and with coastal walks minutes away and easy access to the beautiful Lake District.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Sep 2021

  • "A very spacious flat for 2 people and very well situated."

    Lots of information about places to visit/things to do. Very clear with everything you need. Excellent communication from the owners John and Julie. We had a lovely stay and recommend it.

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Aug 2021

  • "A good flat in a great location."

    Well equipped and comfortable with a lovely view over the harbour. Well placed to explore the Solway coast and North Lakes. Very helpful information from the owners before we arrived and in the flat. Would go again.

    Reviewed by Victoria4.7Aug 2021

  • "What a lovely stay."

    The accommodation was larger than expected from the photos online and the lounge could even fit a sofa bed for more guests? The harbour view from both bedrooms and lounge were beautiful. Thank you Julie and John for renting this little gem, we would certainly return.

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Aug 2021

  • "Owner phoned to check everything was okay when we arrived, nice touch."

    Great wee flat able to have breakfast sitting watching the world go by the harbour. Good base for exploring local area.

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Jul 2021

  • "1. The fridge probably needs attention in that it was too cold and, if one was not careful it totally froze any items we put in."

    2. I might suggest that there should be provision for a prior request of a second set of keys left for those renting the holiday property

    Reviewed by John4.7Jun 2021

  • "Second time we have stayed at harbour Side."

    Nice to see that the apartment has been upgraded with new carpets and the new shower has been installed. Will definitely be staying there again and again. Feels very homely it’s nice walking into somewhere warm especially this time of year.

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Oct 2020

  • "Very comfortable flat, good harbour views."

    Would thoroughly recommend.

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2020

  • "My sister and i really liked the flat - the scenery out the window, the nearness to pubs and cafe, the quietness of the locality, the facilities in the flat."

    we had a thoroughly enjoyable fortnight there.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Sep 2020

  • "Very impressed with the apartment."

    Had everything we needed and was very comfortable. Loved having the view over the harbour and over to Scotland. Enjoyed watching the Redshanks and heron when the tide had gone out. Also some lovely sunsets. The owner left a file full of information about the area which was very useful. Thoroughly recommended although maybe we should keep quiet about it or it will be booked up when we want to return

    Reviewed by Carolyn5.0Aug 2020

  • "We had a lovely time at Harbour side."

    The apartment is spacious and well equipped , the view is very pleasant overlooking the fishing harbour. Very little traffic noise, just the sound of seagulls and the occasional fishing boat. Would be very happy to return.

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Aug 2020

  • "Covid 19 Guidances not being practiced The seating in the living room is past ..."

    Covid 19 Guidances not being practiced The seating in the living room is past its best The cleaning was of a sub standard, the whole apartment was quite filthy No non slip mat for shower was missing Crockery (mugs&cups) badly stained No evidence of deep cleaning being carried out Torn cushions Worst of all was your customer service contact, it was non existing and please do not blame the Cornavirus

    Many thanks for your valuable feedback. We are very disappointed that one of our properties has seemingly let us down and not provided you with the experienced that we had hoped for. We will be contacting the owner of this property shortly regarding the points you have raised. We will then be in touch with you to discuss this in more detail. In the meantime If need to contact us then our lines are open 7 days a week from 9am until 7pm. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Aitken2.8Jul 2020

  • "I just used the flat while working at Sellafield which suited me perfectly."

    I booked the flat due to the views of the fishing boats which didn’t disappoint

    Reviewed by Steve & Stephanie4.4Feb 2020

  • "We were so grateful for all the detailed information supplied by the owner."

    This included full details of how to find the apartment, including a detailed map of the Harbour area, where to park, and instructions for locating the keys. Inside we found full details regarding heating and all the appliances. Further, there were folders in the apartment containing information on local places of interest, as well as Cumbria generally. The January weather was betimes atrocious - wet and very windy, when No.30 proved perfect for a 'retreat'. When fine the Harbour area lovely to explore.

    Reviewed by Kenneth5.0Jan 2020

  • "Ideal location for touring, plenty of good pubs and restaurants."

    Very friendly and helpful people. The apartment was well equipped with lovely views over the harbour. In all an excellent stay.

    Reviewed by David5.0Nov 2019

  • "Ideal location for local amenities."

    Felt very comfortable and felt like a home from home.

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Nov 2019

  • "Apartment needs updating and bathroom needs a good clean and shower needs replacing"

    Thank you for your feedback. Should you have made us aware of any issues during your stay, we would have endeavored to rectify these for you immediately. Since your stay, we have inspected the property with our cleaner and found all to be satisfactory. A new shower has been installed and new carpet in the main room Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kenneth1.9Sep 2019

  • "Generally a satisfactory holiday cottage."

    Just a couple of issues. Lack of dishes for oven use. Kitchen utensils needed updating. Settees in lounge could be changed for a firmer sitting experience. Carpet in lounge stained in one area. Otherwise all went well.

    Reviewed by Anthony3.4Jul 2019

  • "The only thing (and it's only minor) was the shower was a bit temperamental ..."

    The only thing (and it's only minor) was the shower was a bit temperamental going from cold to really hot with no resetting of the control

    Reviewed by Roy4.7Jul 2019

  • "This is our second visit to Harbour side, and we felt at ease the minute we walked through the door."

    I would fully recommend this apartment for ay couple needing a complete break from the hectic world...……..

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2019

  • "Harbourside was was very comfortable and sited in maryport in relatively new ..."

    Harbourside was was very comfortable and sited in maryport in relatively new build part of town was a good base for seeing local attractions like Ullswater Ravenglass railway Muncaster castle etc however Maryport itself was bit rundown couple of local pubs the Lifeboat being one did excellent evening meals

    Reviewed by Phil5.0Jun 2019

  • "I’ve put failed to meet expectations because we had problems with the shower, day of arrival shower worked ok, Monday the shower blew out the electrics to the apartment so the caretaker was able to tell my husband where the main fuse box is down the stairs, he also told us that this wasn’t the first time this had happened and that they was having problems to arrange an electrician to come out because of there bookings, but without us knowing the shower had broken down completely because when we went to have another shower Wednesday the shower failed to work meaning we hadn’t had a shower in three days, because Thursday we decided we would have to cut our holiday short, before leaving we called and told the caretaker that the shower had broke down completely and he told us he had arranged for an electrician to come out Friday morning which was no good for us, it’s not really good management knowing that there is a problem with an integral part of the facilities and still hire out the apartment before having it looked at first ."

    Thank you for your feedback. The owners apologise for the problems you had with the shower during your stay. They would like you to know that they had been told previously by a gas/electrics engineer that it was probably due to low water pressure in the building when demand was high. The owners called in a qualified electrician the day after they were told that the shower was not working at all. He has now upgraded the electrics so that future guests will not experience any problems. They hope that the inconvenience caused did not affect your overall stay at Harbour Side. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra3.4Jun 2019

  • "Lovely clean apartment with good facilities in peaceful location, close to amenities."

    Good base to visit lots of attractions either within walking distance or by train or bus. Love the fact that you can have a “car free” week if you wish. Very relaxing! Very good communication with the owner who provided excellent information about the area and its history.

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0May 2019

  • "Harbour Side is a spacious, well appointed first floor apartment with superb views over the harbour at Maryport and beyond to the Galloway coastline."

    Spotlessly clean and comfortable with central heating it is an ideal location for a relaxing break. It is close to all local attractions and a great starting point for walks along the coastal path. Marport has a train station and decent bus service making it a good base travelling further afield in Cumbria.

    Reviewed by Roger5.0May 2019

  • "Maryport was a bit of a strange place to holiday in but we found that there was plenty to do."

    Lots of historical interest, beautiful coastline and good view from the flat. The weather was great and we had a brilliant week.

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0May 2019

  • "Lovely apartment in superb location overlooking wharf and marina."

    Very peaceful and an ideal base to visit the many attractions and local tourist hotspots e.g Wordsworths House, Keswick etc Would highly recommend, and a further visit would not be out of the question. The apartment was a very comfortable and pleasant place to stay

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Mar 2019

  • "We enjoyed our time at Maryport."

    We visited lots of interesting places without having to drive too far. The apartment was very nice with lovely views over the harbour from the living room and both bedrooms. It was clean and comfortable. Our hosts were friendly and kind.

    Reviewed by Gail5.0Sep 2018

  • "Very peaceful, close to all amenities just as expected, ideal for Hose who just want to relax."

    Reviewed by Wendy4.7Sep 2018

  • "Fantastic flat in an ideal situation We really enjoyed our stay."

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Aug 2018

  • "We found the apartment on the Harbour side to be the idea situation for the holiday we were looking for."

    We enjoyed being able to park the car and not having to use it for at least half of the week, and still be able to enjoy walking to different locations around the town. We arrived the day before the Carnival and were able to join in the event, The eating and drinking establishments were abundant and gave very good value for money. Our favourite day out was to Cockermouth only 6miles away where there is a fantastic free museum in the back of the hardware shop, and Jennings Brewery where you were able to sample 3 half pints of the beers free of cost. Another good day out was to Allonby and onto Silouth a really old but spacious village. Overall we had a really good holiday with fantastic (un heard of weather) and we certainly will look to Sykes in the future.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2018

Show more Hide all


  • All first floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x single
  • Shower room with new walk-in shower recently installed, with a basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with electric fire.
  • Gas central heating, electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge, freezer, microwave cooker, kettle, toaster, washing machine, HD Smart TV with DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Sorry, no pets allowed
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 minute walk
  • Note: The flat is a quiet area and not suitable for babies or young children under five.

The property

This well-placed, first floor apartment overlooks the harbour in the charming coastal town of Maryport in Cumbria.

The apartment is part of an award-winning architect-designed development.

For small groups of friends or families seeking a break in this awe-striking region, this is the perfect stay.

The kitchen/diner at Harbour Side boasts a quirky, vintage feel as it offers the necessary appliances along with rustic wooden units and retro-style tiling.

Sit back and relax in the welcoming sitting room, boasting an electric coal-effect fire, a Smart TV, free Wi-Fi and another dining table should you want to admire the view of the harbour over breakfast or a nice meal after a good day out.

This property offers two bedrooms; a double and a single, both are decorated with an immaculate white overtone and they also offer splendid views across the harbour and Solway Firth to the Scottish hills, which make a stunning scene to wake up to.The accommodation concludes with a tasteful, modern shower room with stylish tiling and a recently installed new walk-in shower.

There is reserved off-street parking on-site and a selection of pubs and restaurants within a five minute walk.

A splendid apartment in a superb Cumbria location.

Maryport is situated within the Solway Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and on the edge of two World Heritage Sites - The Lake District and Hadrian's Wall - and, in addition, the Scottish Borders are just a short drive away.

Maryport is a quaint harbour town, established nearly 2000 years ago when the Romans came to Britain, and has continued to flourish to this day.

It has an unexcavated roman fort next to the superb Senhouse Roman Museum.

Modern Maryport is based on a planned Georgian town and boasts a deep-water harbour and modern marina, a bustling shopping centre, the new Wave Centre, a links golf course, fine Georgian houses, the award-winning Lake District Coast Aquarium and a Maritime Museum.

An attractive short walk is around the harbour to the old lighthouse and back across the lifting bridge.

Further afield, the Solway Coast is a superb area for walking and cycling with the Cumbria Coastal Way and Hadrian's Wall Cycle Path running right along the coastline, past the dunes of Mowbray to the seaside towns of Allonby and Silloth.

There are excellent bird watching opportunities in the area and over 50 species of wild flowers can be found, including three native orchids.

View on map

About the location


Cockermouth 7 miles; Keswick 20 miles.

Maryport entered the history books nearly 2000 years ago when the Romans arrived, and has continued to flourish to this day. The town boasts a fine deep water harbour and modern marina, a bustling shopping centre, the new Wave Centre, links golf course, beautiful Georgian houses, award-winning Lake District Coast Aquarium, Maritime Museum and the Senhouse Roman Museum. The Solway Coast is a superb area for walking and cycling along the Cumbria Coastal Way running right along the coastline, and excellent birdwatching opportunities are also available. Within a short drive are the many attractions and glorious landscape of the Lake District, while the Solway Firth is just a stone’s throw. The dramatic coastal route south to Ravenglass and beyond is one of the more scenic and peaceful journeys in the UK, while to the north, Carlisle, Northumbria and the borders of Scotland are just a short drive. The nearby market town of Cockermouth is famous as the birthplace of both William Wordsworth and Fletcher Christian (of Mutiny on the Bounty fame) with Wordsworth's Georgian family home now a popular visitor attraction owned by the National Trust. An historic area, with beautiful scenery and superb walking in the northern lakes around Bassenthwaite Lake, Ennerdale Water, Crummock Water, Buttermere, Loweswater, Wast Water and Derwent Water.

Note: The flat is a quiet area and not suitable for babies or young children under five.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas