In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 0 minutes ago

Black Friday

On Winter & Spring holidays over £600.
Offer ends Monday 29th Nov , 23:59 (GMT).
 Full terms apply.

See terms & voucher code

Group 3 Created with Sketch.

6 people have recently viewed this property

  • Harbour Side - (Ref. 967037)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Harbour Side

Maryport, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 967037)

4.6

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

33 Customer Reviews

  • "Nice relaxing break and comfortable apartment."

    Reviewed by AnthonyOct 2021

  • "The shower room needs a revamp."

    A modern power shower should be fitted. There should be a light over the sink

    Reviewed by NeilOct 2021

  • "Wonderful property"

    Reviewed by RachelOct 2021

  • "Harbour Side was excellent."

    The decor is a little dated but it had everything we needed and more. Very clean and comfortable, friendly and helpful owners and the location could not be more perfect being on the harbour side so able to sit and watch the tides and boats come and go from the living room and with coastal walks minutes away and easy access to the beautiful Lake District.

    Reviewed by SarahSep 2021

  • "A very spacious flat for 2 people and very well situated."

    Lots of information about places to visit/things to do. Very clear with everything you need. Excellent communication from the owners John and Julie. We had a lovely stay and recommend it.

    Reviewed by MelanieAug 2021

  • "A good flat in a great location."

    Well equipped and comfortable with a lovely view over the harbour. Well placed to explore the Solway coast and North Lakes. Very helpful information from the owners before we arrived and in the flat. Would go again.

    Reviewed by Victoria JAug 2021

  • "What a lovely stay."

    The accommodation was larger than expected from the photos online and the lounge could even fit a sofa bed for more guests? The harbour view from both bedrooms and lounge were beautiful. Thank you Julie and John for renting this little gem, we would certainly return.

    Reviewed by LouiseAug 2021

  • "Owner phoned to check everything was okay when we arrived, nice touch."

    Great wee flat able to have breakfast sitting watching the world go by the harbour. Good base for exploring local area.

    Reviewed by CarolineJul 2021

  • "1. The fridge probably needs attention in that it was too cold and, if one was not careful it totally froze any items we put in."

    2. I might suggest that there should be provision for a prior request of a second set of keys left for those renting the holiday property

    Reviewed by JohnJun 2021

  • "Second time we have stayed at harbour Side."

    Nice to see that the apartment has been upgraded with new carpets and the new shower has been installed. Will definitely be staying there again and again. Feels very homely it’s nice walking into somewhere warm especially this time of year.

    Reviewed by DawnOct 2020

  • "Very comfortable flat, good harbour views."

    Would thoroughly recommend.

    Reviewed by RuthOct 2020

  • "My sister and i really liked the flat - the scenery out the window, the nearness to pubs and cafe, the quietness of the locality, the facilities in the flat."

    we had a thoroughly enjoyable fortnight there.

    Reviewed by HelenSep 2020

  • "Very impressed with the apartment."

    Had everything we needed and was very comfortable. Loved having the view over the harbour and over to Scotland. Enjoyed watching the Redshanks and heron when the tide had gone out. Also some lovely sunsets. The owner left a file full of information about the area which was very useful. Thoroughly recommended although maybe we should keep quiet about it or it will be booked up when we want to return

    Reviewed by CarolynAug 2020

  • "We had a lovely time at Harbour side."

    The apartment is spacious and well equipped , the view is very pleasant overlooking the fishing harbour. Very little traffic noise, just the sound of seagulls and the occasional fishing boat. Would be very happy to return.

    Reviewed by RachelAug 2020

  • "Covid 19 Guidances not being practiced ..."

    Covid 19 Guidances not being practiced The seating in the living room is past its best The cleaning was of a sub standard, the whole apartment was quite filthy No non slip mat for shower was missing Crockery (mugs&cups) badly stained No evidence of deep cleaning being carried out Torn cushions Worst of all was your customer service contact, it was non existing and please do not blame the Cornavirus

    Many thanks for your valuable feedback. We are very disappointed that one of our properties has seemingly let us down and not provided you with the experienced that we had hoped for. We will be contacting the owner of this property shortly regarding the points you have raised. We will then be in touch with you to discuss this in more detail. In the meantime If need to contact us then our lines are open 7 days a week from 9am until 7pm. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AitkenJul 2020

  • "I just used the flat while working at Sellafield which suited me perfectly."

    I booked the flat due to the views of the fishing boats which didn’t disappoint

    Reviewed by Steve & StephanieFeb 2020

  • "We were so grateful for all the detailed information supplied by the owner."

    This included full details of how to find the apartment, including a detailed map of the Harbour area, where to park, and instructions for locating the keys. Inside we found full details regarding heating and all the appliances. Further, there were folders in the apartment containing information on local places of interest, as well as Cumbria generally. The January weather was betimes atrocious - wet and very windy, when No.30 proved perfect for a 'retreat'. When fine the Harbour area lovely to explore.

    Reviewed by KennethJan 2020

  • "Ideal location for touring, plenty of good pubs and restaurants."

    Very friendly and helpful people. The apartment was well equipped with lovely views over the harbour. In all an excellent stay.

    Reviewed by DavidNov 2019

  • "Ideal location for local amenities."

    Felt very comfortable and felt like a home from home.

    Reviewed by DawnNov 2019

  • "Apartment needs updating and bathroom needs a good clean and shower needs replacing"

    Thank you for your feedback. Should you have made us aware of any issues during your stay, we would have endeavored to rectify these for you immediately. Since your stay, we have inspected the property with our cleaner and found all to be satisfactory. A new shower has been installed and new carpet in the main room Property Owner

    Reviewed by KennethSep 2019

  • "Generally a satisfactory holiday cottage."

    Just a couple of issues. Lack of dishes for oven use. Kitchen utensils needed updating. Settees in lounge could be changed for a firmer sitting experience. Carpet in lounge stained in one area. Otherwise all went well.

    Reviewed by AnthonyJul 2019

  • "The only thing (and it's only minor) was the shower was a bit temperamental ..."

    The only thing (and it's only minor) was the shower was a bit temperamental going from cold to really hot with no resetting of the control

    Reviewed by RoyJul 2019

  • "This is our second visit to Harbour side, and we felt at ease the minute we walked through the door."

    I would fully recommend this apartment for ay couple needing a complete break from the hectic world...……..

    Reviewed by JohnJul 2019

  • "Harbourside was was very comfortable and sited in maryport in relatively new ..."

    Harbourside was was very comfortable and sited in maryport in relatively new build part of town was a good base for seeing local attractions like Ullswater Ravenglass railway Muncaster castle etc however Maryport itself was bit rundown couple of local pubs the Lifeboat being one did excellent evening meals

    Reviewed by PhilJun 2019

  • "I’ve put failed to meet expectations because we had problems with the shower, day of arrival shower worked ok, Monday the shower blew out the electrics to the apartment so the caretaker was able to tell my husband where the main fuse box is down the stairs, he also told us that this wasn’t the first time this had happened and that they was having problems to arrange an electrician to come out because of there bookings, but without us knowing the shower had broken down completely because when we went to have another shower Wednesday the shower failed to work meaning we hadn’t had a shower in three days, because Thursday we decided we would have to cut our holiday short, before leaving we called and told the caretaker that the shower had broke down completely and he told us he had arranged for an electrician to come out Friday morning which was no good for us, it’s not really good management knowing that there is a problem with an integral part of the facilities and still hire out the apartment before having it looked at first ."

    Thank you for your feedback. The owners apologise for the problems you had with the shower during your stay. They would like you to know that they had been told previously by a gas/electrics engineer that it was probably due to low water pressure in the building when demand was high. The owners called in a qualified electrician the day after they were told that the shower was not working at all. He has now upgraded the electrics so that future guests will not experience any problems. They hope that the inconvenience caused did not affect your overall stay at Harbour Side. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SandraJun 2019

  • "Lovely clean apartment with good facilities in peaceful location, close to amenities."

    Good base to visit lots of attractions either within walking distance or by train or bus. Love the fact that you can have a “car free” week if you wish. Very relaxing! Very good communication with the owner who provided excellent information about the area and its history.

    Reviewed by CatherineMay 2019

  • "Harbour Side is a spacious, well appointed first floor apartment with superb views over the harbour at Maryport and beyond to the Galloway coastline."

    Spotlessly clean and comfortable with central heating it is an ideal location for a relaxing break. It is close to all local attractions and a great starting point for walks along the coastal path. Marport has a train station and decent bus service making it a good base travelling further afield in Cumbria.

    Reviewed by RogerMay 2019

  • "Maryport was a bit of a strange place to holiday in but we found that there was plenty to do."

    Lots of historical interest, beautiful coastline and good view from the flat. The weather was great and we had a brilliant week.

    Reviewed by CatherineMay 2019

  • "Lovely apartment in superb location overlooking wharf and marina."

    Very peaceful and an ideal base to visit the many attractions and local tourist hotspots e.g Wordsworths House, Keswick etc Would highly recommend, and a further visit would not be out of the question. The apartment was a very comfortable and pleasant place to stay

    Reviewed by ChristineMar 2019

  • "We enjoyed our time at Maryport."

    We visited lots of interesting places without having to drive too far. The apartment was very nice with lovely views over the harbour from the living room and both bedrooms. It was clean and comfortable. Our hosts were friendly and kind.

    Reviewed by GailSep 2018

  • "Very peaceful, close to all amenities just as expected, ideal for Hose who just want to relax."

    Reviewed by WendySep 2018

  • "Fantastic flat in an ideal situation We really enjoyed our stay."

    Reviewed by PhilipAug 2018

  • "We found the apartment on the Harbour side to be the idea situation for the holiday we were looking for."

    We enjoyed being able to park the car and not having to use it for at least half of the week, and still be able to enjoy walking to different locations around the town. We arrived the day before the Carnival and were able to join in the event, The eating and drinking establishments were abundant and gave very good value for money. Our favourite day out was to Cockermouth only 6miles away where there is a fantastic free museum in the back of the hardware shop, and Jennings Brewery where you were able to sample 3 half pints of the beers free of cost. Another good day out was to Allonby and onto Silouth a really old but spacious village. Overall we had a really good holiday with fantastic (un heard of weather) and we certainly will look to Sykes in the future.

    Reviewed by JohnJul 2018

Show more

The property

This well-placed, first floor apartment overlooks the harbour in the charming coastal town of Maryport in Cumbria.

The apartment is part of an award-winning architect-designed development.

For small groups of friends or families seeking a break in this awe-striking region, this is the perfect stay.

The kitchen/diner at Harbour Side boasts a quirky, vintage feel as it offers the necessary appliances along with rustic wooden units and retro-style tiling.

Sit back and relax in the welcoming sitting room, boasting an electric coal-effect fire, a Smart TV, free Wi-Fi and another dining table should you want to admire the view of the harbour over breakfast or a nice meal after a good day out.

This property offers two bedrooms; a double and a single, both are decorated with an immaculate white overtone and they also offer splendid views across the harbour and Solway Firth to the Scottish hills, which make a stunning scene to wake up to.The accommodation concludes with a tasteful, modern shower room with stylish tiling and a recently installed new shower. There is reserved off-street parking on-site and a selection of pubs and restaurants within a five minute walk.

A splendid apartment in a superb Cumbria location.

Maryport is situated within the Solway Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and on the edge of two World Heritage Sites - The Lake District and Hadrian's Wall - and, in addition, the Scottish Borders are just a short drive away.

Maryport is a quaint harbour town, established nearly 2000 years ago when the Romans came to Britain, and has continued to flourish to this day.

It has an unexcavated roman fort next to the superb Senhouse Roman Museum.

Modern Maryport is based on a planned Georgian town and boasts a deep-water harbour and modern marina, a bustling shopping centre, the new Wave Centre, a links golf course, fine Georgian houses, the award-winning Lake District Coast Aquarium and a Maritime Museum.

An attractive short walk is around the harbour to the old lighthouse and back across the lifting bridge.

Further afield, the Solway Coast is a superb area for walking and cycling with the Cumbria Coastal Way and Hadrian's Wall Cycle Path running right along the coastline, past the dunes of Mowbray to the seaside towns of Allonby and Silloth.

There are excellent bird watching opportunities in the area and over 50 species of wild flowers can be found, including three native orchids.

Summary

  • All first floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x single
  • Shower room with new shower recently installed, with a basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with electric fire.
  • Gas central heating, electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge, freezer, microwave cooker, kettle, toaster, washer/dryer, HD Smart TV with DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Sorry, no pets allowed
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 minute walk
  • Note: The flat is a quiet area and not suitable for babies or young children under five.

View on map

About the location

MARYPORT

Cockermouth 7 miles; Keswick 20 miles.

Maryport entered the history books nearly 2000 years ago when the Romans arrived, and has continued to flourish to this day. The town boasts a fine deep water harbour and modern marina, a bustling shopping centre, the new Wave Centre, links golf course, beautiful Georgian houses, award-winning Lake District Coast Aquarium, Maritime Museum and the Senhouse Roman Museum. The Solway Coast is a superb area for walking and cycling along the Cumbria Coastal Way running right along the coastline, and excellent birdwatching opportunities are also available. Within a short drive are the many attractions and glorious landscape of the Lake District, while the Solway Firth is just a stone’s throw. The dramatic coastal route south to Ravenglass and beyond is one of the more scenic and peaceful journeys in the UK, while to the north, Carlisle, Northumbria and the borders of Scotland are just a short drive. The nearby market town of Cockermouth is famous as the birthplace of both William Wordsworth and Fletcher Christian (of Mutiny on the Bounty fame) with Wordsworth's Georgian family home now a popular visitor attraction owned by the National Trust. An historic area, with beautiful scenery and superb walking in the northern lakes around Bassenthwaite Lake, Ennerdale Water, Crummock Water, Buttermere, Loweswater, Wast Water and Derwent Water.

Region Information

Note: The flat is a quiet area and not suitable for babies or young children under five.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
close Black Friday. Save £50 on holidays over £600

On Winter & Spring holidays over £600

Offer ends Monday 29th Nov, 23:59 (GMT)

Full terms and conditions

Close

Code has been copied!

Enter your code during checkout

SYKESBF21
Close
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it