Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 32 View Image Gallery
  • Dunster Cottage - Lake District - 1099508 - photo 1

Dunster Cottage

(Ref. 1099508)

Billington near Whalley, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (6)
  • first (5)
  • lovely (4)
  • room (4)
  • all (4)
  • bed (4)

7 Customer Reviews

  • "Dunster is a lovely spacious cottage with exceptional decor , first class amenities with beautiful scenery from all the rooms especially the sun room with floor to ceiling windows It was a great base from which to explore the Ribble Valley and Forest of Bowland."

    This a magnificent part of the country which rivals both the Peak District and the Yorkshire Dales Its something of a foodies heaven with brilliant country inns in unspoiled villages and magical riverside locations Given the quality of Dunster Cottage the rental charge is extremely good value

    Thank you very much for your kind review, your comments on Dunster Cottage are very much appreciated. I'm also very happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Ribble Valley, it is indeed a beautiful part of the country. Thank you again. Kind regards Sharon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Mar 2024

  • "First impression - what a lovely place to stay."

    Second impression - nothing is complete / work in progress. If I wanted to stay at a place where a lot of jobs needed completing we could of stayed at home and saved ourselves some money. Such a shame really, and frustrating. It took a lot of the joy and excitement of staying away out of the holiday. The fire in the lounge got to work the first night, but couldn't get it to work again. No lock on bathroom door. No lock on WC door. Bath had a hole in it. Latch on door in main bedroom unsecured - never been screwed in. Painting on skirting boards incomplete. Hole in kitchen ceiling. Lock plate on utility door not screwed in. Trickle vent missing on window in sun room. Coffee machine missing? instructions for machines are in folder, but no machines. Light switch in garage not secured. Cables and junction box protruding from wall - twin socket to be installed? Lights not recessed into ceiling in garage. Aerial cable sticking out from wall in lounge to the RHS of sideboard needs outlet plate and cable terminating. Plaster missing from wall. Radiator missing in bathroom. Excess paint on bathroom window in bathroom requires removing. Light switch in main bedroom requires further investigation, possible loose connection, light flickers if you tap the light switch. Circular table in lounge needs screws tightening up. Curtains in bedrooms are so thin you have to change in the cupboard or with the lights off. Handles on lounge sideboard are not secured. Drawer not assembled correctly in kitchen diner sideboard. Cleanliness / hygiene - oh dear. Cobwebs from walls / ceilings in most rooms (more than a weeks worth). Bread crumbs left in bread bin. Crumbs / debris in cutlery drawer. Sock left in washing machine. Bar of soap left under bath along with some resin repair. Cobwebs under sink unit in bathroom. Carpet not vacuumed behind painting resting against wall. Cobwebs / dirt under unit in sun-room. Shelf above cooker dusty. Floor under cooker dirty. Skirting boards dusty. Vacuuming required under sideboard in lounge. Rust rings on bathroom tiled floor. Dishwasher requires rinse aid and salt. And saving the best for last... when we were checking that we had removed all our items found a sanitary towel behind chest of drawers in main bedroom. The thing is if you took a week out to get all these issues done it would be an amazing place to stay. Things that I would classify as a must are shaver socket in the bathroom for electric toothbrushes / shaver. A few USB sockets around the cottage.

    Thank you for your review and as you can imagine, we are very disappointed to hear that your stay at Dunster Cottage was not as we would have liked. The issues you have raised regarding cleanliness were of great concern to us and wish you had of contacted us at the time to give us the opportunity to resolve the issues and make your stay more comfortable. Moving forward we have now employed a new cleaning company and we hope you can accept our sincere apologises. Best wishes Sharon & Peter Property Owner

    Reviewed by Craig2.5Oct 2023

  • "We throughly enjoyed our stay at Dunster Cottage."

    Superb accommodation in a wonderful setting. Appreciated the heating being on when arrived late evening after a long journey. Cottage is in first class condition and is very comfortable. Excellent views across the valley. Shops in Whalley very useful . All together a wonderful holiday . Only comment is that the bathroom could do with a heating source. Would certainly return.

    Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Dunster Cottage. Also, thank you for your comment regarding the bathroom, we have taken this onboard and are having a radiator fitted. Thank you again. Kind regards Sharon & Peter Property Owner

    Reviewed by Frederick4.7Oct 2023

  • "Central heating was good."

    Needed to be as the gas fire was not working. View from the glass room was good, however it was open both ways. No curtains or blinds. Radiator was leaking when the heating was on. Kitchen was VERY well equipped, but we could not get hot water from the hot tap. Again no curtains. Living room was good, but no curtains either Bathroom was dark and damp. There wasn't any heating. Piping was there, but no radiator. Shower excellent. Main bedroom was large. Walk in wardrobe was very good Lighting was very poor. Both "bedside" lights were controlled by 1 switch. Pendant lights are not practical for bedside lights. The centre light was a bit low for me. I soon learnt that I needed to walk around it. Outside. We could not use it due to the rain every day. The "Off road parking " is only good if you have a small car and a very good handbrake. It is very steep. The cottage is isolated and there is a nasty bend in the road leading to it which takes some navigating and if another car comes up from the main road around the blind bend there is a problem. Overall the cottage has been modernised to a good standard, however some of the improvements do not work. It looks good at first, but too many little niggles for us.

    Reviewed by Kenneth3.1Sep 2023

  • "Superb property, warm and welcoming with comfy bed and a wonderful outlook from the sun room of sheep peacefully grazing !"

    , what's not to love, we will definitely return

    Dear Sallie, thank you very much for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and yes there is something rather calming about watching sheep grazing in the field! Thank you again Regards Peter and Sharon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sallie5.0Sep 2023

  • "Had a Wonderful Break at this beautiful Cottage, modern but still kept it in a cottage style, beautifully decorated and surrounded with lovely views, spotlessly clean, everything you need for a self catering holiday is accommodated for, down to instructions how to use appliances, great base to stay and visit surrounding areas."

    We arrived late at night and was touched to see milk in the fridge for us along with tea, coffee and sugar, along with biscuits and a bottle of wine, after a long drive it was lovely to relax with the goodies till we bought goods in the next day, was also surprised to see toilet roll, hand wash, washing up liquid and tablets, detergent and softener provided, absolutely brilliant host who thought of everything, will definitely stay here again.

    Hello Sharon, thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed your stay at the house and also enjoyed the Welcome pack! You really looked after Dunster Cottage during your stay and would welcome you back anytime. Kind regards Sharon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Sep 2023

  • "Wow.. what can I say"

    ?! From the moment we first opened the door to Dunster Cottage, we were blown away. The photos are both an accurate representation of this lovely cottage, whilst also not doing it justice! We absolutely loved our stay and wish it could have been for longer - warning though… it has actually made me quite depressed coming back home! I want my home to be styled in this same exact way! The owner left a really thoughtful welcome pack which put a smile on our faces, and her communication was really friendly, personable and helpful. Maybe the only thing I might suggest is a second bedside table in the master bedroom? I cannot say one bad thing about this property though and have already recommended it to lots of family and friends. We walked to the lovely, little town every day and were lucky enough to be there when the artisan market was running. The town had everything we needed for our trip. The view from Dunster Cottage is beautiful and peaceful… it was truly delightful to just sit and look out at it. We travelled to Scafell Pike during our stay - the trip took us almost 3 hours. We also travelled to Blackpool and Preston which were a lot easier journeys - we visited Boulderuk, Level, Blackpool pre-illuminations and Sandcastle Waterpark during our stay - I would recommend them all. We have a 12 and a 14 year old and they were kept entertained and happy! I have given Skye Cottage a lower score because despite Saturday being circled on the calendar on the app showing as the ‘check-in’ date, we were booked in from the Sunday - I messaged to see if we could just move our trip forward by one day which would have meant that the property would have been available for someone else to book for three days between us and the next visitors, but Skye Cottage said they would charge us an additional £128 just for the change of date. We stuck with our original date - Sunday to Thursday and had the best time. I just thought it was important to raise this as an issue about Skye Cottage - this has no reflection of Dunster Cottage, its owner and did not negatively impact our stay there in any way. Thanks Dunster cottage.. we hope to be back soon!!!

    Dear Suze, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay in the Ribble Valley, you certainly packed a lot in!! You left the house lovely and clean, Dunster Cottage would be more than happy to host you again!!!! It also means a lot that you would highly recommend it. Thank you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Aug 2023

Show more Hide all


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with roll-top, claw foot bath, hand-held shower, walk-in shower, basin, and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with gas log effect stove
  • Sun room
  • Gas central heating
  • Gas Range oven and hob, microwave, American-style fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, and hairdryer
  • 55” Smart TV, WiFi and a selection of books
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car on private driveway with additional roadside parking for 1 car
  • Garden with patio and furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.8 miles, pub 0.9 miles
  • Note: There is a step up to the utility
  • Please note: This property accepts stays with a minimum duration of 4 nights.

The property

Whalley 1.1 miles.

Perched on the edge of Billington, Lancashire, is Dunster Cottage, a stylish retreat with stunning views of the rolling hills that surround it.

This delightful cottage is the perfect destination for couples, families and friends looking for a tranquil retreat.

Upon arrival, you'll see the private off-road parking where you can take a moment to appreciate the fresh country air, before venturing inside to your new home-from-home.

Step into the spacious kitchen/diner, the perfect place to rustle up your own culinary creations; this room also offers an island with seating for two and a dining table for six, ideal for a family dinner.

Heading into the sitting room, you can relax on the comfy L-shape sofa with the glow of the gas fire and a film on the Smart TV.

Upstairs you'll find two spacious bedrooms; the first a crisp king-size room and the second a twin, perfect for children or friends, and each with plenty of storage for your belongings.

As well as this, you will also discover a bathroom with a walk-in shower and a luxurious roll-top bath for your evening soak.

On a sunny day, make sure to take a seat in the sun room to admire the view of Pendle Hill, with a cup of tea in-hand.

Billington is home to a handy village shop for stocking up, while just a short drive away is the historic chocolate-box, Ribble Valley village of Whalley, home to the Whalley Abbey, thought to have been founded in 1296 by the Austin Canons.

Take a wander through the village, stopping off for a coffee and a stroll around the shops, or perhaps sample local delicacies at one of the nearby eateries, or take a drive to the market town of Clitheroe, for a selection of boutiques and independent shops, before stopping off at the iconic Clitheroe Castle.

Head further afield to explore Ribble Valley; a rural piece of paradise renowned for its landscape, moorland and rolling hills.

Enjoy a bike ride along the Lancaster Canal, or take a leisurely stroll along the Ribble Way, taking in the stunning views of the valley.

Take a break from the everyday hustle and bustle and explore the wonders of this scenic area with a stay at Dunster Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Clitheroe 3 miles; Ribble Valley 10 miles.

This charming, large village sits in between the scenic Pendle Hill and the Forest of Bowland AONB in the Ribble Valley, Lancashire. Whalley displays a number of examples of remarkable architecture including the Whalley Viaduct and the 14th century abbey ruins with its stunning gatehouse. In terms of amenities, enjoy a selection of shops and pubs, a golf club also lies on the outskirts of the village, whilst the Stonyhurst College, one of the top private schools in the county is close by. Within driving distance there are plenty of attractive market towns to be explored with their charming shops, pubs and architecture; Clitheroe and Burnley are two of the closest and more popular. The west coast at Blackpool is also within driving distance should you fancy a traditional day trip to the seaside.

Please note: This property accepts stays with a minimum duration of 4 nights.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas