In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • Beech Hill Lodge (Beech Hill 9) at Fallbarrow Park - Lake District - 926888 - photo 1

Beech Hill Lodge (Beech Hill 9) at Fallbarrow Park

(Ref. 926888)

Fallbarrow Holiday Park, Bowness-on-Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lodge (40)
  • location (21)
  • comfortable (19)
  • our (17)
  • great (17)
  • lovely (17)

63 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautifully located, quiet, spacious, close to the lake and the town which had everything we needed."

    Very comfortable and clean lodge with big decking area which sadly we didn't get to use due to the rain. Despite our conversation, a plumber didn't attend to fix the non flushing toilet, we kept putting the clips back on inside to enable it to flush but looking at previous reviews this is an ongoing issue. More cutlery and crockery are needed as 6 plates/forks etc isn't enough if some are in the dishwasher. Poor Wifi.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.1Jul 2024

  • "Lodge was in a great location in the park, it was very comfortable and very well equipped, had a great stay and would definitely recommend."

    Lovely to hear you had a great stay. You are very welcome to return. Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Arlene5.0Jun 2024

  • "Hello. The lodge is in urgent need of serious maintenance the hall toilet malfunctioned 3 times putting it out of action eventually repaired professionally the most serious was the bannister hand rail leading down the steps from the very slippery decking the post was completely rotted away my wife is registered disabled and felt very unsteady and unsafe when using theses steps."

    The interior photos of this lodge are completely misleading the web page advertising this lodge show completely different images to the actual interior The dining chairs have no fire safety warning on the underside of the seat because the covers under the chairs are literally ripped apart. I complained about all of this and more, to Lake District Lodge Holidays but have had no response. On a more positive note the actual site and its surroundings are very lovely and pleasant. We enjoyed the holiday but felt the holiday lodge was our greatest let down and should not be advertised as it is on Lake District Lodge Holidays web page without a true representation of its upto date features.

    We are disappointed and somewhat surprised with your feedback. The toilet which is one of two was working on your arrival and the minor issue with the flushing of the toilet which has recently been replaced as part of the upgrading of the bathrooms was fixed by the plumber who arrived within 30 minutes of your message to us. The dining chairs have all been replaced and are compliant with fire standards. We mentioned to you the banister rail had come loose due to the prolonged recent wet weather and that this was booked in with the decking fitters for repair asap. The interior photos are slightly different as we have replaced and upgraded the sofas dining table and chairs and both bathrooms all of which should enhance a guests stay at the lodge. We find your review very unfortunate in light of the previous recent very positive feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Trevor2.8Jun 2024

  • "Beautiful lodge."

    Very clean and well maintained. Slightly uphill from the reception, Entertainment centre and restaurant. And down hill to the lake . Both short walks so ideal position. The lodge had everything you need for a nice short break .( apart from a hairdryer, luckily I had taken my own). Nice big towels . Tea towels .washing up liquid. Iron and ironing board . High chair and travel cot ( we took a mattress for the cot ,and sheets ) . Nice big decking area ( but very slippery due to weather ) no gate but I think a large sheet of wood would be a good idea just to stop your dog or baby getting out ,. Would recommend.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by G5.0Mar 2024

  • "We have stayed in this property before as it meets all our requirements."

    Unfortunately on this occasion we had a few problems with the smart tv. I did report this to sykes on the first day of our holiday and i did get a prompt reponse. The owner followed up on the call as promised and the problem appeared to be sorted. However this only lasted for about 3 hours and the connection went down again. I didnt bother to report this again at the time as we managed with just the terrestrial tv and i didnt want to constantly pester the owner. I just wanted to make you aware so you are able to sort out a long term solution for the comfort of future guests.

    Thank you for your feedback. Had you kept in touch with us we would have been able to resolve your difficulties. The Wi-Fi at Fallbarrow reliably supports the Smart TV Apps. Had you contacted us we would have been able to guide you through the log in procedure or arranged on site assistance via Fallbarrow staff. We have since checked the TV system and there is no problem. We are always available to help our guests with any issues. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Feb 2024

  • "Unable to stay at this property due to overwhelming smell of cleaning products or heavy duty air freshener which made our eyes stream and a really bad taste to the back of throats, so if it was that bad for us think about the dog that just couldn't settle."

    We left the door open to try and release this odour but has the heating kick in just got worst. without this problem the property would have been great. We left and return nxt day to collect our belongings which had the smell in our car. we inform sykes monday but nothing was done to help, Bar emails back and forth PS we never ask for a refund we didn't want someone esle holiday ruined.

    Thank you for your feedback. The previous guests departed on the day of your arrival and the lodge was thoroughly cleaned around midday. Due to the thorough cleaning, the use of various products can be evident. No spray or plug in air fresheners are used by the cleaners or owners in the lodge. You did not contact us on your arrival to inform us of any issues. If you had, we would have suggested you turn down the thermostat and open the many windows in the lodge for a short period of time. We are confident that this would have resolved the issue. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.8Dec 2023

  • "Second time at this beautiful property."

    Great location on the park. Ive no doubt that we will be back

    Really pleased you enjoyed your second stay. We try very hard to make sure our guests enjoy staying in the lodge. Look forward to seeing you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adam5.0Oct 2023

  • "A comfortable and well maintained lodge"

    Thank you for your great feedback. We hope you enjoy your second stay in November. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Sep 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay and would recommend the site , accommodation and helpful staff at sykes , we will definitely be using sykes next year."

    Thank you for your great. We hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dorothy5.0Jul 2023

  • "We have stayed at Fallborrow for over 30 years but this was the first time in this lodge."

    Very well appointed with comfortable beds, clean modern bathrooms and well equipped kitchen. Had noticed previous reviews about lack of gate but this posed no problem for our dog. Parking a little tight for 2 cars but was not an issue. Overall a good choice for us.

    Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay our little dog loves the park beech hill 9 was excellent ..."

    We had a lovely stay our little dog loves the park beech hill 9 was excellent clean tidy just what we wanted nice pleasant walks early morning and late at night with our dog

    Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jun 2023

  • "We were very impressed with the lodge overall."

    Little touches like plenty of rubbish bags, dishwasher tablets & hand soap being provided made our stay much more pleasant. The lodge is well decorated, nice clean linen, lovely new sofas, nice fresh smell when we entered. Only down sides were toilet seat in ensuite needs refitting, under sofa's needed sweeping out & need a pan to use with the sweeping brush. Loved the Vogue magazines in the rack & would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Carrie4.7Apr 2023

  • "Very nice lodge in a great location."

    Few things to point out: The kettle was very temperamental and kept switching off whilst boiling. Toilet seat in en-suite is loose and the wrong size for the toilet.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay . The Dualit kettle was checked on your departure and found to be in full working order. Again, as regards the toilet seat, this is correctly sized. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ryan4.7Feb 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay in this lodge and one of our favourites we have stayed in."

    The beds were very comfortable, the sofa was lovely and you could tell it was new. Unfortunately we would not be able to stay again with dogs as there is no gates on the decking which would make it impossible to come in warmer weather as we couldn’t enjoy the decking and views. It made it very hard when packing and unpacking the car keeping the dogs indoors. It’s a shame as you will lose business not having one, we would have definitely been back. It is stated in the information but we didn’t notice when we first booked. Also there is a brush but no dustpan and I tried to hoover but the Dyson is so heavy and hard to use I gave up. But apart from those little things we had a perfect new year thank you

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay over the New Year. When we replaced the decking, we widened the steps substantially to give better access to the lodge. This made it easier to get from a car into the lodge whilst carrying luggage etc. Unfortunately this resulted in it not being possible to have a properly working gate. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Dec 2022

  • "Beech hill lodge was brilliant, fantastic location for town, pier,etc."

    Beautiful peaceful surroundings. Only things i would change are putting a gate up especially in the summer. We used garden furniture to make sure the dogs were safe which was great for the time of year. An instruction/welcome file would also be helpful but we did manage to work things out. This will not stop us booking again, looking forward to coming back to Beech hill soon

    Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. The guest information folder is now in the lodge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fiona4.7Oct 2022

  • "The only complaint I could possibly raise is it would have been nice to have a."

    Information pack so us oldies could operate the tv/dishwasher. And heating we were lucky having our law with us the only recommendation they would like to see is a few strips of non slip carpet by front door when trees drop leaves and dew down it gets very slippy but saying all this we're just working out when we can come back it was the best we have stayed in for the last 3 years

    We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your feedback. As regards the Information Pack, this appears to have “disappeared “. I am now in the process of preparing another copy(with a spare!). We look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dereck5.0Oct 2022

  • "We have rented lodges over the last six years but this lodge was the most disappointing, needs a lot of TLC inside and out, we paid first class price for second class accommodation."

    We are very sorry, albeit surprised, that you were disappointed with the lodge. 2 weeks before your stay, new and upgraded leather sofas were added. We take the comfort and enjoyment of our guests very seriously. The lodge is always cleaned and maintained to a high standard. Unfortunately you did not contact either us or Sykes during your stay to explain any issues which were causing you concern. This did not give us any opportunity to resolve. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charles2.2Sep 2022

  • "The beds gave us both sore backs and shoulders."

    The TV in the master bedroom has a weird picture so we think its broken. Apart from that it was lovely.

    We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday. We are surprised to hear your feedback as regards the beds as we have never received any negative feedback before re the comfort of any of the beds. Neither have we experienced any discomfort when we have stayed at the lodge ourselves. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin4.4Aug 2022

  • "Great location."

    Beautiful lodge. Whilst the outdoor space was great, it would have been useful to have a gate to secure the area as we were staying with a toddler and a dog, I believe the photos did show a gate at this lodge, but certainly didn’t spoil our holiday.

    We are pleased you enjoyed the lodge and its fabulous location. The website does state: “Please Note: The decking area is not secured by a gate”. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jayne5.0Jul 2022

  • "The lodge is described as child/dog friendly, but there is no gate on the decking."

    There is a gate in the picture. We were not happy, as we have a golden retriever puppy. We booked this lodge as it was dog friendly and had a gate, so we could let him out on the decking. We texted the owner, to ask for help. We had a missed call from them, as we were walking the dog. They did not leave a message and made no attempt to contact us. They knew we were not happy. We ended up having to use some of the patio furniture to block the gap, so he could come out on the decking. This meant we did not have enough seats for us all to sit on the decking. We paid so much for this particular lodge, so we could all sit out together. The front door is quite difficult to lock. We ended up having to only use the patio doors when we went out. The couches are not comfortable at all. We had read other reviews saying this, but assumed the owners would have done something about it, as there were a lot of complaints. We found a wine glass with lipstick from previous guests. The cutlery wasn't very clean. We read a previous review saying they had received a welcome pack of food. This is not the case - you do get cleaning items, soap and shower gel. The decking is in desperate need of power washing, and the roof really needs cleaned. The lodge is a nice size. The main bedroom is very big. All of the beds are comfortable. The dining table is a lovely size. There are plenty of kitchen utensils etc for use. WiFi was never a problem. Initial contact was good, plenty of communication right up until arrival. Keys were easy to access. Just very disappointed with contact when we arrived, as owners did not seem to be interested at all.

    The decking was replaced last year with widened steps for easy access to the decking. We do not state that the decking is totally secure. We did try to call you as soon as we received your text in order that we could discuss the options , but you did not call us back. We assumed therefore that you had resolved the issue. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda2.5Jul 2022

  • "The lodge is on a nice park near the centre of Bowness."

    I do agree with other reviews that the sofas in the lounge are well past their best and very uncomfortable, definitely need replacing. The rest of the accommodation was okay and well equipped.

    Reviewed by Karen3.1Jun 2022

  • "Nicely positioned for town and views."

    Clean comfortable and quiet. We had a lovely 4 days . Will be back.

    We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. The lodge is in an ideal location, a few minutes walk to the lake and facilities on the park and a few minutes more into the centre of Bowness. We looked forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda3.8May 2022

  • "We’ve stayed 4 times and really like the property, there are a few things that I think would benefit from being looked into to keep it attractive - toilet cistern in en suite needs replacing as it doesn’t fill."

    - couches are not comfortable. Would benefit from better support. We always bring cushions to improve the comfort of these. - bbq tools require replacing.

    Thank you Paul for taking time to give this helpful feedback and high score. We look all the time at how we can keep the lodge in optimum condition. Over your 4 visits you will no doubt have seen this. We always aim to achieve the highest standards for our guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.4Apr 2022

  • "Was disappointed to have no internet access at the property throughout our stay which is obviously listed in the brochure."

    On the night before our departure, the heating system went off, so we had no hot water or heating. The fault was a F1 problem (low water pressure) with the boiler…I tried to reset the boiler but it did not work. We contacted the emergency numbers provided but it didn’t help us on our departure day.

    Thank you for your feedback. However, we were never contacted by you at any point during the week regarding either the internet or boiler issue. In the event there is a problem at the lodge, the Park support staff are on hand to provide necessary assistance. If you had called us we could have contacted them to assist with the issue.. We visited the lodge yesterday for our regular check and the boiler was fully working - both hot water and heating. As regards the internet this can be accessed via the Park Owners Wi Fi connection. Details of which are in the Guest Information Pack, as is our contact number. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John3.4Mar 2022

  • "Had a lovely xmas break in this lodge, the lodge was clean and comfortable, welcome pack was appreciated i have been in many lodges in the lakes and this the first lodge that has a welcome pack in ie milk, bread,chocolate biscuits, mini cheeses, cheese crackers, box of yorkshire tea bags, coffee pods, well done to the owners, and i will be returning to this beautiful lodge."

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Dec 2021

  • "Great lodge!"

    Perfect location for town, great park facilities and everything the Lakes have to offer on the doorstep. First Class

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Oct 2021

  • "The living room sofas were very uncomfortable and could do with replacing"

    Reviewed by Keith4.4Sep 2021

  • "This booking was originally made for April 2020, the booking had to be moved due to COVID restrictions but at no point was I offered a refund, in fact I had to pay another £600 to move it."

    I will not use Sykes again because of this

    Hello Mr Deeble April bookings are cheaper than those for August. We are pleased that you enjoyed the lodge and we appreciate the high ratings given. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ben5.0Aug 2021

  • "Absolutely loved our stay at the cottage."

    Whilst there we looked to book for the following year but already fully booked at times we could go. The cottage was comfortable, warm, clean and provided everything we needed. The cleaning bits left on the sink was a nice touch. Beds were super comfy and would defo book again. If had to provide any feedback of points which could have added to our experience then perhaps a bag of ice provided in the freezer, the remote control for the tv in the lounge was not working which meant we generally watched one channel but not a major issue. Did mean to lick up some batteries but forgot. The decking outside was in need of a good jet wash with all the trees around but not a major point again. Overall loved the cottage and well positioned on the site with a small glimpse of the lake abs very convenient for Bowness!

    Reviewed by Nadeem5.0Aug 2021

  • "We spent a week at this lovely lodge accommodation at Fallbarrow Park in Bowness."

    The lodge was clean and provided everything we needed. The beds are extremely comfortable and the quality bedlinen was appreciated as were the toiletries. There is a large verandah with outdoor seating and a barbecue. I would be happy to recommend this lodge.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0May 2021

  • "We found the sofa and also the dining chairs very uncomfortable."

    The staff at the clubhouse were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Reviewed by Julie4.1May 2021

  • "Excellent location."

    . Good facilities and clean property

    Reviewed by Sandeep5.0Dec 2020

  • "Great location, very quiet spot ideal for a relaxing break with all the amenities of Bowness a short walk away."

    We really enjoy staying in this lodge.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Sep 2020

  • "Lovely site and great lodge, some ceiling lights in living area, guest bedroom not working, drop down lights in kitchen area and outside of main entrance not working."

    Apart from that we all had a lovely time in the lodge and exploring the site. Great location looking forward to our next visit soon.

    Reviewed by David4.7Sep 2020

  • "The amenities in the park were very good, the staff were very helpful and pleasant."

    Reviewed by Sandra4.4Sep 2020

  • "High quality accommodation but a little irritating in places."

    Some light bulbs had gone, the water pressure in the showers was non existent, the front door lock was really hard to lock from the inside, in fact the whole place just needed a bit of TLC, which I guess would come at the end of the season? The (very sparse) instruction folder, in the lounge, was sadly lacking with regard the operation of the fire in the lounge and the central heating and any useful information about the area or good ideas of where to go etc. Wi-fi on site is appalling so do not rely on it. You can see about 5 square feet of the lake through the trees, so i suppose the lake views claim is valid, albeit tongue in cheek. A nice touch with the sanitiser and dishwasher tablets provided and very comfortable beds, overall highly recommended. Ideally located with a 2 minute walk into Bowness

    Reviewed by Martyn4.4Sep 2020

  • "Excellent Lodge, clean and comfortable, loved the BBQ and decking area."

    Well equipped, Excellent location on the site, we felt very Covid safe in the Cafe and Bar on site and in the restaurants and bars in Bowness, which is only a short stroll away, however the public have decided that Covid no longer exists while they’re on holiday so be prepared for no social distancing whilst walking around Bowness, but the shops, bars and restaurants are following the rules as far as we could see. We will definitely book the lodge again.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Aug 2020

  • "Words and pictures do not do this lodge justice."

    ...its simply perfect in every way. Our experience from start to finish was first class, with the accommodation pristine and equip with everything you'd need. The location offers you a glimpse of the lake from the decking, with the shores of the lake 5 mins walk away, where we were able to launch our small boat from the private jetty. The Park itself is extremely well kept and all staff were friendly and helpful whilst taking the necessary Covid-19 precautions. Bowness town is a 5 minute walk away and had a great range of shops, restaurants and bars. My family and I have made some great memories and this location and lodge were a great base to do so.

    Reviewed by James5.0Aug 2020

  • "Welcome pack folder needs to be more visible in the lodge."

    Only found it on last day as it was in a drawer under a table. Need better system for checking out / key drop when leaving. Long queues in reception with only 1 person ever serving.

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Jul 2020

  • "Beautiful site and perfect location on windermere, very easy and quick walk to town."

    Very friendly staff on site. Lodge in excellent location on site, great outside decking and can just see lake from deck. Brand new bbq looks great! Parking is tight but we got 2 suv's in without problem. Very comfortable beds and bedding, very nice that toiletries, towels, loo roll, washing up stuff etc are supplied. Dishwasher was broken (note from owners advised waiting replacement). Lodge starting to look a little bit tired in a few spots, laminate just starting to lift in kitchen area, lighting not all working. A small bit of tlc just needed to bring the lodge back to top notch.

    Reviewed by Gordon4.7Jul 2020

  • "Absolutely fabulous !"

    !! Will definitely book again!

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Feb 2020

  • "Lovely lodge, beautiful setting."

    Would recommend and return.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Dec 2019

  • "Absolutely stunning lodge with everything you need , couldn’t of asked for a better place ."

    All ready booked for next year

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Dec 2019

  • "Wonderful place to stay, beautiful lodge in a quiet part of the park, honestly ..."

    Wonderful place to stay, beautiful lodge in a quiet part of the park, honestly couldn't rate it highly enough will be going back for my third time next year A*****

    Reviewed by Pamela5.0Sep 2019

  • "Kitchen was really well equiped, The whole lodge was very clean."

    Great powerful hot shower. The location was fantastic, less than a 5 min walk into Bowness on Windermere. We were also able to launch our kayak direct onto the lake from the site.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Jun 2019

  • "The boiler in the lodge was not working when we arrived due to no water in the system."

    When we rang the owner he talked us through filling the system up which we did and then water started coming out the bottom of the boiler. He did not seemed fazed by this and I believe it has been happening for a while. The owner said the plumber would be out on Monday (we arrived on a Saturday) we were there for a week and no sign of a plumber or anymore contact with the owner. We had to top the boiler up every couple of days. We had no issues with this but other guests may find this a challenge every other day. The lodge its self was very clean and well equipped.

    Thank you for your feedback. As discussed during our telephone conversation, a plumber attended to the boiler on the Monday as described and rectified the problem. We are pleased that you otherwise found the lodge well equipped and hope you enjoyed your break. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debbie3.8Jun 2019

  • "The cabin was fantastic, the location was wonderful."

    We could not have wished for anything better. I will deffinately be booking again.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0May 2019

  • "Lovely cottage with partial view of the lake from the living room."

    Comfortable rooms, good shower/bathroom facilities, all within a few minutes' walk to the centre of Bowness. Had a leak from the dishwasher despite having not used it once, called the owner who saw to it immediately and sent someone over to fix a problem with one of the drain pipes. Slight inconvenience caused but good to see they tended to the problem promptly. Only improvement needed is the standard of cleaning, particularly the floor and the kitchen/living room area. The coffee table and sofas were dirty with sticky marks on them, the floor rug is filthy and just serves to collect dirt and dust and both the kitchen worktops and abinet handles were dirty. Floor looks dirty and I'd expect it to be washed and sanitised in between bookings. The hoover was so filthy that I simply could not use it! Not a 4 star standard of cleanliness but it could be with the right standards applied!

    Our aim is to make sure every guest has a wonderful time staying in the lodge and enjoying the fabulous location. We are sorry to hear the standard of cleaning fell short of our usual very high standards on this occasion. We thank you for bringing it to our notice Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kresna3.4Apr 2019

  • "We were put into the wrong lodge."

    We had to pack up everything and move lodges the following morning. Someone had been into the first lodge whilst we were out, complete invasion of our privacy, I was horrified. 2nd Lodge, BH9, had a dirty sock and crisps under one sofa and the skirting boards were filthy, hadn't seen a duster in months. We also had a puddle of water in the living area, we think it was a leak from the radiator. No foil for grilling. Not the weekend we were expecting to be honest.

    Reviewed by Denise3.1Dec 2018

  • "Fantastic lodge in a great location, couldn’t fault, will definitely return"

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Nov 2018

  • "Nice lodge ."

    Comfotable . Safe place . Exellent place for relaxation . We enjoyed our stay in the lodge and we will come back again and will recommend to friends . Thank you for this lovely place .

    Reviewed by Fatemah5.0Nov 2018

  • "Bare minimum of crockery & cutlery for 5 people, there were only 2 of us so no ..."

    Bare minimum of crockery & cutlery for 5 people, there were only 2 of us so no problem and description states parking for 2 cars, this is Ok providing neither are larger than Ford Focus size

    Reviewed by Anne4.7Sep 2018

  • "Absolutely, wonderful place to stay, highly recommend it to anyone, that good I am going back this year 5*****"

    Reviewed by Pamela5.0Sep 2018

  • "Holiday Lodge was excellent and in a great location."

    .... Facilities on the holiday Park were average.... Wi-fi at the property was intermittent.... Too expensive overall compared to other Sykes cottages that we have stayed in...

    Reviewed by Gillian4.7Sep 2018

  • "The bed in the main room is very small, it is not enough for couple."

    Some time the weather is hot so i think you need to provide AC or at least fan in the cottage

    Thank you for your feedback. I am surprised you found any of the beds small for your use. The main bedroom has a full size double and the second and third bedrooms full size single beds. Given normal Lake District weather we have not previously had requests for air conditioning etc Many thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Saad3.8Jun 2018

  • "Fantastic lodge next to Lake Windermere, and within a few minutes walk into Bowness."

    The Lodge was spotlessly clean and had everything we could possibly have needed. The living / dining area was spacious enough for 5 adults and the bedrooms were extremely comfy, and the TV's in each bedroom were a great bonus. We had a slight problem with the heating, but after a quick phone call to the owner this was rectified promptly, even on Christmas Eve! We had a lovely break and would highly recommend Beech Lodge to anyone planning a visit to the Lake District.

    Reviewed by Alison4.8Dec 2017

  • "The lodge was nice and comfortable its location was great just a few minutes walk into town."

    The TV was a bit hard to watch as it kept freezing due to the weather. Unfortunately the British weather did its worst and after 4 days of constant rain we called it a day and went home early but had no complaints at all about the lodge or it setting.

    Reviewed by Jason4.6Nov 2017

  • "Really lovely lodge in an ideal location"

    Reviewed by Marie5.0Oct 2017

  • "A comfortable lodge on a quiet holiday park."

    Easy walk into Bowness and convenient for the lake ferries and good walking.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Oct 2017

  • "Stunning location, lodge was very well equipped and was extremely comfortable."

    Very short walk into Bowness which was perfect for what we needed, nice quiet park and the lake was just stunning. We had a fabulous time it was a shame we couldn't stay longer.

    Reviewed by Samantha4.8Dec 2016

  • "Great lodge on a great site."

    Thank you.

    Reviewed by Peter4.8Oct 2016

  • "My wife and I have been looking for this type of location for years and although having stayed in this area before, we were not aware of this holiday park and its superb location."

    The property at Beech Hill Lodge was excellent, very comfortable and had everything we required with a high quality of extras (i.e. not cheap cutlery and items which you would not have at home). Apart from the property the location allowed us to relax and enjoy a stress free holiday. The fact that we did not require to drive every day and were only a 5 minute walk into town for all the facilities was excellent. Also the location of the park on the shore of Lake Windermere was lovely and you could enjoy a nice walk without actually leaving the park. Overall the property and park were excellent and we will most likely return in the future.

    Reviewed by Henry4.8Oct 2016

  • "The lodge is lovely and in a prime location close enough to Bowness to walk but ..."

    The lodge is lovely and in a prime location close enough to Bowness to walk but far enough away to avoid the noise of any traffic

    Reviewed by Michael4.8May 2016

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with dressing room and en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath with 926888shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire.
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, TVs with Freeview, DVD, Blu-ray, CD/radio, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available in property
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Front and side decking with furniture and BBQ
  • No smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 mins walk
  • Note: Lodge accessed by 3 steps
  • 2 well behaved dogs welcome
  • Please Note: The decking area is not secured by a gate.

The property

Bowness-on-Windermere 0.3 miles.

A superb luxuriously-presented lodge on the popular Fallbarrow Holiday Park, just a short walk from the bustling lakeside town of Bowness-on-Windermere.

This attractive lodge sits in a secluded location, making it a perfect choice for a relaxing family break, and has glimpses of Lake Windermere through the trees.

This immaculate lodge has a double bedroom with an en-suite shower room and a dressing room, along with a twin room and a single, all with TVs.

There is a superb family bathroom with a bath, and a bright open plan living area with distant views to Lake Windermere.

Outside, there is decking with furniture to the front and side – perfect for an alfresco breakfast.

Facilities on this fantastic site include a restaurant, pub with beer garden, a shop and deli, as well as a children's play area.

The colourful village of Bowness is just a 5-minute stroll from the park and has a host of shops and boutiques, restaurants and bars to enjoy, plus some lovely family attractions including the World of Beatrix Potter.

The Windermere Steamers depart from an area known as the Glebe, where you can jump on board and cruise up the lake to Ambleside or down to Lakeside.

For a great day out visit Brockhole, the Lake District visitor centre, just 10 minutes’ drive away, where there is a treetop adventure course and delightful gardens to explore – pack a picnic and enjoy these idyllic surroundings.

At the end of the day, this lovely lodge will be waiting to welcome you back.

View on map

About the location


Windermere Train Station 1.5 miles: Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 7 miles.

The vibrant twin towns of Bowness and Windermere hold enduring appeal for visitors to the Lake District National Park, with each providing a range of nearby attractions, amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. A variety of boat trips and boat hire are available from Windermere Lake Cruises in Bowness to Brockhole, Ambleside and Lakeside (at the southern end of the lake where the Lakeside Aquarium and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway are situated). The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction and the Old Laundry Theatre are 1.5 miles away. Orrest Head, where Alfred Wainwright was inspired to write his series of iconic guidebooks, is a 30-minute walk to enjoy the spectacular panorama of far-reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells. Brockhole, which offers high wire tree top experiences, is three miles away, and the historic villages of Grasmere, Ambleside and Troutbeck are a short drive away. There is also a variety of watersports on offer for the more energetic at marine centres along the lake. The area is ideally situated for exploring all that this region has to offer, whether by foot, bike, car, railway or bus; and is within easy reach of attractions such as the spectacular Langdales, Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top House at Far Sawrey, Coniston, Grizedale Forest Park, with its delightful walks and famous outdoor sculptures, mountain biking and 'Go-Ape' adventure park, Ullswater, Kendal, Keswick, stone circles, Roman forts and England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

View more holiday cottages in Bowness-on-windermere

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas