- Hot tub
- Off road parking
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
43 Customer Reviews
"Lovely, comfortable property in a quiet village."
We made the most of the nice weather, including the hot tub and garden. The latter was a good size for our two dogs. Highly recommend.
"Really nice property."
Garden added to it and large enough place for 6. Definitely recommend and love to go back.
"Really pleased with out accommodation and was perfect for us 5 ladies ."
There was enough space, plenty of crockery pots & pans for self catering. It was lovely and warm, and we didn’t have to alter the heating .Lots of extras if you had forgotten bits, like washing up liquid and dishwasher tabs etc. The hot tub was very clean with chlorine dispenser in tub, the hot tub was emptied & cleaned very early on our departure day. We used a taxi service into Penrith and had a fantastic meal at the tapas restaurant, we had a wonderful spa day at Whinfell forest centre parcs. We were pleased with our stay , thank you, Saddleback Barn .
"We loved our stay here."
Tried sleeping in the mezzanine bedroom but couldn't get up out of the bed so moved into the double room. Really comfortable and hot tub was lovely. Our pet Charlie was so relaxed, he loved his holiday, definitely thinking of rebooking
"Saddleback barn was a perfect cosy place to stay for our family break of 4 adults, 1 young child, an infant ant 2 dogs."
There is a large grassy garden for the dogs and children to run around and a nice paved area with table and hot tub witch is cleaned twice weekly by an external company. The barn was clean, and warm. Showering facilities across 3 bathrooms and Large bath sheets provided. It is set back off the road so a little tricky to find (look out for the green and black bins which are kept streetwise) but wa as great base for exploring the Notth lakes.
"Don't waste your time or money, thus barn is dirty and poorly maintained."
How sykes rate it as 4 star I will never know. Black mold growing on the bathroom walls, unsafe electric fittings in the bathrooms. Cracked tiles and missing grout, dead ants in the shower door seal. Stains on all the carpets and walls. Dirty pots and utensils in the kitchen cupboards, not even all the kitchen doors are the same, the place is a joke. We normally do 3/4 cottage a year in the UK, this one is definitely not as advertised or priced. It's in needs off some TLC and work carrying out. Unfortunately I dose not give me the option to upload the pictures I have taken. Please just don't do it!
Thank you for your feedback I am sorry that you have had to report issues with the property. This very out of character for Saddleback Barn and we are surprised by this. Sykes have rated the property as a 4 tick. As owners, we are on hand to help Customers during their stay and if we were contacted, they would have been able to help you during the holiday. This property is a very popular cottage with us and has been fully booked since April. During January, we will visit the cottage and complete routine maintenance which happens every 12 months We are sorry you have had to leave these comments however had this been reported, we would have resolved as quickly as we could. Property Owner
"Ideal for 4 ladies of a certain age!"
We had a bedroom each. . The sofa looked quite worn but soooo comfortable. Would have been a squash with more than four adults. We visited the local Sun Inn down the road and enjoyed delicious and reasonable meals for our four nights. Well recommended. The accommodation is well placed for the North Lakes and Keswick is a beautiful market town on Derwentwater. Everything we needed at Saddleback - a most pleasant stay thank you
"Was apprehensive about the cleanliness of the property by some past comments but we found it clean when we arrived."
In a lovely quiet spot not far from penrith. Ideally placed for visiting the lakes the pub in the village is well worth a visit. Would return and stay in the cottage again
"I was a bit cautious after reading previous comments but on arrival we found the property to be very clean."
It was comfortable, well equipped and the hot tub was lovely. It is in a quiet village which has good access to the lakes. We found some excellent local pubs and restaurants for food. I had not realised from the description/photos that in one room the bed was on a mezzanine with a very low ceiling, no problem for us but might be for older guests.
"After reading some bad reviews post booking the cottage, we had reservations."
However, we were very pleasantly surprised to find the place spotless and perfectly well equipped for our weekend stay. The cottage is set in a beautiful little village with a great pub, just 10 mins drive from Penrith. Highly recommend.
"On opening the door of saddleback barn we were hit with the stench of dogs, not what you wanted."
The living room and stairs hadn't been hoovered, the settee was filthy not as seen on website, also the hot tub was great other than we would have thought it would have been cleaned/water changed for change of guests but this was not the case. On the Monday morning about 7 00am the hot tub man drained and filled tub and re-set it up so unbeknown to us we were sitting in someone else's water ☹️
Thank you for your feedback. It is a shame that you did not contact anybody during your stay. The owners are very keen that all guests have a lovely stay and are happy to resolve any issues a guest may have to ensure a great holiday. Property Owner
"Was very disappointed to find the cottage not cleaned when we arrived."
Especially in a pandemic and your nervous. Wasn't happy that I had to clean the place when we arrived..
"Stayed before next door lovely place would definitely recommend."
"Relaxing 3 night break with home comforts added bonus of a hot tub and local pub ..."
Relaxing 3 night break with home comforts added bonus of a hot tub and local pub Sun Inn (very friendly) makes all the difference Would definitely recommend and return to Saddleback Barn
"We enjoyed our stay ."
Only 2 things 1 hot tub cover was broke so was really hard to get back on. needed 2 men to lift it back on .i was with 2 kids and a woman. 2 the sette was very dirty . Up stairs was realky nice
"Great location and the hot tub was great BUT there were some maintenance issues which need addressed."
Curtain poles broken, no bulbs in lamps, tables with wobbly legs and broken plant pots at door. Maybe all small things but things like this make a difference. It would have been great to be able to use the hot tub all day and night if we had wished but heater appeared to be on a timer. The Cottage is perfectly situated and was nice and clean but the little things Mentioned would have made it a lot better.
"Cottage functional but smells badly of cooked food and overbearing smell if heating oil throughout."
Not a large as photos would suggest.
"We really enjoyed our holiday at Saddleback Barn."
The cottage was lovely, well equipped and good space for a short holiday. The only downfall for us was that the living room smelt of dogs, we understand that it's dog friendly but we had to go out and buy some airfreshner as we couldn't ignore the smell. Other than that we had a comfortable and pleasant stay.
"The barn was lovely which met our expectation and needs it is situated in a ..."
The barn was lovely which met our expectation and needs it is situated in a lovely village on the edge of the lakes close to Penrith
".Feel the cottage is very over priced for the condition we came across - £1150 for 3nights. On arrival no welcome pack , no toilet rolls or bin bags, rubbish bin overflowing, would have thought they were basics"
. Downstairs very grubby - sofa and carpet , under the sofa full of leftover rubbish from previous guests . Fly strips left already full of flies ! Kitchen clean ,kitchen door does not open .Beds and bathroom clean although bits still broken (mentioned in past reviews) Sticky cup marks on bedside tables in double bedroom. Garden a good size although grass has not been cut for at least 3 weeks -would have been a problem if we had wanted to play on it with children.Hot tub was fabulous . Very disappointed as had booked with Sykes last year and had fabulous accommodation. When we booked reviews were good but clearly been a problem which has not been addressed despite current reviews
"Beautiful country cottage, huge enclosed garden, hot tub was absolutely amazing!"
!!!!! Beds and towels were nice and clean, Location was ideal. Would recommend as Everything you need in a holiday home. However some repairs and general maintenance is required. Toilet seat broken in utility room/bathroom. Shower rail needs re attaching in middle bathroom, cracked broken tiles on attick bathroom onsuite floor, unfortunately due to time of year we were inundated with swarms of flys, had to purchase fly paper and change them ourselves as they were full to bursting and flys dropping of on to sofa, floor and TV stand. Carpet needs a deep clean as heavily stained, plenty of crockery however literally just shoved in cupboards everywhere and some were dirty. Couldn't use some draws in twin room as had no handles on 3 of them to open. Double bed needs re tightening was very wobbly and creeky, mattresses in twin room were very poor quality, couldn't use bbq as was absolutely filthy. no tea towels, no cleaning detergent eg, provide a dish washer but no pods. Had to go and purchace wash up liquid, bleach, a dishcloth, tea towel, fly spray, fly paper, and bin bags. On our arrival there was a sack full of dirty linen and towels just left on top of stairs, we had no use for highchair however it was left full of sticky jam dried in food that was covered in flys! overall needs attention to detail in cleanliness and minor repairs. Also no re cycling facilities. Internet connection was indeed PERFECT! Would rate it as 7 out if 10!
"Very nice accomodation."
We had a lovely week of weather however found the place infested with flies with most of them coming from the patio outside and they seemed to like the carpet in the living room. Garden is huge but couldn't really use it because the grass hadn't been cut for a while. All in all we would probably book again but feel it needs a few quid spending on cleaning, hard flooring in living room and bit of regular maintenance in the garden.
"Great cottage, just needed a little bit of work (the shower riser bar was falling off the wall in the main bathroom) but on the whole, ideal for us."
"The barn is delightfully situated and convenient for Penrith and the lakes."
The hot tub was sheer magic on a warm sunny evening Very comfy beds and good quality bed linen and towels but the low beamed en suite bedroom would be challenging for anyone tall or not particularly agile. We would have benefitted from a stairgate to keep our dog and one year old from tackling the stairs. Ideal venue for a family group .
"We had a great time for a laid back stag doo in the lakes."
Loved how remote it was but yet so close to Penrith, less than a 10min drive to the station. We spent most the weekend in the hot tub which was fantastic, extra bonus was the BBQ that wasn't expected. Only thing to call out is there was ants in the kitchen, wasn't sure where they were coming from. Also the middle bathroom, the drain in thr bath seemed to be blocked. Small issues however and didn't impact our weekend at all.
+ good location to explore North Lakes pub nearby is nice/good beer garden hot tub is fab after a long day walking - Downstairs space is quite small - 2 adults + 2 dogs was ok oil boiler - instructions for use arent entirely accurate, you need to make sure the plug that connects the boiler to the thermostat is on - this is not in the instructions windows in top bedroom dont open - can get v stuffy up there
"It says pets welcome but when you get there you can only use the living room that should be pointed out at the start"
"On the whole a lovely cottage."
Very well equipped if a little dated. Hot tub was fantastic! Owners were very prompt and helpful in responding to a couple of issues, how to work the central heating being one; when working was incredibly warm and cosy! Owners do not live nearby and employ people for general maintenance etc, in my opinion the cottage could have been left cleaner and facilities for recycling should be made available.
"The cottage was bigger than we expected, with plenty of room, clean, tidy and everything you would need for a great break."
We liked the position within the Lake District as well, close to Pooley Bridge on Ullswater - which is the best lake in our opinion. Hadrians Wall was within driving distance. Locally, Penrith has all the facilities you need, and the local pub was excellent for drinks, food and darts!
"The barn was quite pleasant & had most of the things we needed, although I do feel it could do with a new carpet in the living room as this had quite heavy stains on it."
"Cottage was not as spacious as I’d like, hot rob was a luxury that I’ll look for again in a cottage ."
"Saddleback barn is a lovely cottage."
It comfortably accommodated 6 adults. Very clean. The kitchen was well equipped, fresh towels. The Sun Inn pub is a very short walk away, offering lovely food and atmosphere. We will definitely be come again to Saddleback Barn
"Good location and excellent food at nearby Sun Inn"
"Furniture a little shabby."
Grass was not cut despite asking the owner.
"Position of the cottage was great, nice quiet village with lovely pub 2mins away"
"The cottage was perfect for our needs and very clean, it had all we needed for a girly weekend and would highly recommend it."
It had washer/dryer & dishwasher which made our trip nice and easy and the Hot tub was great. The garden is a sun trap so if you are lucky enough to get the weather it is well worth a visit. We booked in to the Sun Inn for our evening meal which is literally a 2 minute walk from the cottage, the food was very good, home cooked and quite reasonably priced however the management could do with some customer service training!
"When we arrived and entered the barn it was absolutely lovely."
So fresh and clean. During our stay we got married and we couldn't have picked a better place to get ready in for our special day. We even met the landlord who was very kind and friendly. We would definitely recommend and stay here again.
"Loved this place, hot tub was great, garden ideal for our dogs."
Shame pub in the village does not allow dogs. Close to Penrith, would recommend and would go back.
"Fantastic accommodation, very comfortable and exactly as described in description."
Hot tub great asset to the accommodation Local pub did not welcome dogs but the beehive did and they even had a doggie menu.
"We all had a very pleasant stay at Saddleback Barn."
It is well equipped for a lovely self catering holiday in comfort. The hot tub is a lovely addition to the property & is a welcome wind down to a long day out walking around the lakes. The bed in the master bedroom is on a low level which does not come across in the photos this was not a problem for us but it might not be suitable if you have back issues etc. Overall a lovely place in a lovely little village with a lovely little pub called the Sun Inn who looked after us well over the week. I am more than happy to recommend this as a holiday to anyone.
"A super location,and a comfortable well equipped holiday home."
The hot tub was immaculate and maintained throughout the week. The wifi is a little hit miss or maybe! Thoroughy enjoyed our stay.
"There where a couple of things such as the hot tub wasn't sure when it had been ..."
There where a couple of things such as the hot tub wasn't sure when it had been cleaned ,down stairs toilet seat was broken and dog waste in the garden but nothing too serious was overall pleased with the our stay
"We had a great weekend , the cottage is decorated to a high standard and in a great location ."
The hot tub was amazing although it was not ready when we arrived on Friday and we were unable to use it properly until the Saturday , which was a little disappointing .
- Over three floors
- Four bedrooms: 1 x second floor mezzanine king-size double with en-suite bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC, 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x single
- Bathroom with bath, shower over, hand-held shower, basin and WC
- Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
- Dining room
- Sitting room.
- Oil central heating
- Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Travel cot and highchair
- Off road parking for 2 cars.Lawned garden with patio and hot tub
- Two well-behaved pets welcome
- Sorry, no smoking
- Shop 3 miles, pub 5 mins walk
- Note: Limited head room and beams in king size-double bedroom and en-suite
- Note: Steps down to lawn from patio
- Note: Hot tub must NOT be used after 10pm
Penrith 3 miles.
A superb, mid-terrace, barn conversion with a hot tub in the quiet village of Newton Reigny which is on the popular coast to coast cycle route.
Just 3 miles from Penrith, and the M6 motorway, but located on the northerly edge of the Lake District National Park with views over the fields to Blencathra, Saddleback Barn is ideally placed for exploring Cumbria, with Pooley Bridge on the shores of Ullswater just 8 miles away.
This excellent cottage provides stylish accommodation, perfect for friends or family wishing to enjoy a relaxing break in Cumbria with a hot tub to make an extra special holiday.
Inside, there is a kitchen, dining room with exterior door leading to a patio and double doors leading to the sitting room.
In the sitting room there is a comfortable reclining corner sofa and patio doors leading out to the patio and lawned area.
There are three bedrooms on the first floor, with a king-size double bedroom on the second floor mezzanine with a superb en-suite bathroom with a feature roll top bath and views out to Blencathra.
There is a family bathroom, a ground floor shower room and utility, and outside there is a gravelled area at the front, whilst at the rear is a spacious patio and lawned garden to enjoy.
The village of Newton Reigny has an inn within walking distance and the town of Penrith has a host of individual shops to enjoy.
Being located close to the National Park there are numerous walks to enjoy in the Lake District, and a visit to Pooley Bridge on the shores of Ullswater is essential.
This charming lakeside village has some lovely tea rooms and the Ullswater Steamer which will take you down the lake to Glenridding in the heart of Patterdale.
The historic county town of Carlisle is 20 miles away and has the fascinating museum of military life set within the city’s castle.
Whilst exploring this part of Cumbria a trip over to Hadrian’s Wall is also a great day out.
With so much to see and do this wonderful cottage will be a great base at any time of the year.
Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.
About the location
Keswick 17 miles; Carlisle 20 miles.
The bustling market town of Penrith, once the capital of Cumbria, enjoys a central position between the Lake District and North Pennines and is ideally placed for taking in all that the region has to offer. Renowned for its wealth of specialist shops, the sandstone buildings of Penrith hide intriguing yards, lanes and alleyways, with a myriad of attractive cottages, gardens and little shops. With a wide choice of excellent pubs, hotels, restaurants and entertainment, Penrith also offers a museum, and Millennium Trails round the historic city streets. Within easy reach of the town is Rheged – an innovative visitor centre with shops, restaurants, exhibitions and a giant cinema screen showing educational and informative films. Brougham Castle (The Windsor of the North), Long Meg and her daughters (the 3rd largest stone circle in England) and the historic city of Carlisle are all a short drive away, as is the stunning scenery of both the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales.
Please be advised the Hot tub must NOT be used after 10pm due to location
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute