Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 12 View Image Gallery
  • Blacksmiths Cottage - Lake District - 972346 - photo 1
close

Blacksmiths Cottage

(Ref. 972346)

Pooley Bridge, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (47)
  • lovely (26)
  • location (25)
  • comfortable (23)
  • well (18)
  • bed (17)

53 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely cottage."

    ..nice location with pleasant outlook... private parking space to rear ...One draw back no freezer compartment which when self catering is important ...Outside patio area by French doors we feel is in need of some maintenance .

    Reviewed by Ray4.7Jun 2024

  • "What a fabulous little cottage in a delightful village."

    This cosy cottage had everything we needed and the location was perfect to explore the beautiful Lake District. The cottage is full of charm and although it doesn’t have central heating, it didn’t take very long to light the wood burner which added to the charm of our holiday. Plenty of quality eating places in the village if we didn’t want to cook. There was a welcome pack when we arrived and we would definitely stay there again.

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We look forward to hosting you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Apr 2024

  • "A good property in a good location."

    Yes I would take a holiday there again however not early in the year as the downstairs heating is inadequate. the fire that is supposed to give the background heating is not up to the job, so when coming downstairs in the morning the cold came up to meet you. Yes there is a log burner but in the week I was there you would have had to have that burning during night. Shame really

    Reviewed by David4.4Mar 2024

  • "Another great week in this lovely cosy cottage in the heart of the village with everything you need and a generous welcome pack upon arrival."

    The new 3pm arrival time is also a definite bonus. Thank you again, we will return!

    Reviewed by Nigel4.7Nov 2023

  • "Excellent cottage."

    Really comfortable, cosy and thoughtfully presented. Perfect for a relaxing break and the area around is stunning.

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Nov 2023

  • "A really delightful cottage."

    Everything about the cottage was perfect for us. The bed was incredibly comfortable (we will endeavour to obtain the same mattress for our own bed), the shower was amazing and the kitchen and living area well appointed. We loved the location too. Our holiday ended fat too quickly but we hope to be back soon.

    Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Oct 2023

  • "Our second visit, everything as we remembered it, a very nice base for Ullswater, quiet yet close to pubs/shops (5 mins walk on pavement)."

    Ideal.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed everything that the property and area have to offer. Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Sep 2023

  • "Nice cottage."

    Good location. Plenty of walks from the door.

    Reviewed by Marie5.0Sep 2023

  • "A lovely cottage well presented, very practical and spacious for two."

    The bedroom is huge, there is space to put a touch of luxury with a freestanding bath in the front part of the room. The bus services is excellent and only £2 per person at the moment. We went up the lake by open top double decker bus and back by the steamer. Some recycling facilities would be helpful. We took ours to the recycling at the other end of the village. Thanks for a lovely stay and welcome pack.

    Thank you for your lovely comments and using the local recycling bins Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Jul 2023

  • "Very comfortable and well equipped, good to be able to light the wood burner on chilly evenings."

    Kitchen well equipped, although it would have been even better to have had a small freezer section in the fridge, at least for ice making! The outside terrace and path was very uneven. The wooden patio furniture needs to be maintained, a chair bottom strut was broken ( we thought seat cushions could have been stored in the little shed and would have made this more comfortable). Bath sheets for the week would be better than bath towels. The welcome pack was much appreciated.

    Reviewed by Christopher4.4Jul 2023

  • "The cottage is very nice, well appointed and in a lovely location."

    The owners have gone to a lot of expense and effort in producing such a lovely cottage with some very nice touches. A real bonus having the allocated parking space at the back. There were a few niggling issues but this didn’t stop us having a great week there and we would return: Smart TV - the remote control was problematic Microwave - the inside didn’t look good. Heating - wasn’t expecting to need this but some evenings a bit cool. Don’t like log fires so tried to use the electric heater in the lounge - didn’t work. So brought down the free standing one in the bedroom which was a bit of an effort. Mould around upstairs windows - not excessive but just doesn’t look nice.

    The “mould” around windows is not mould. It is the black sealant within the double glazed units. The downstairs electric stove is a radiator set to a maximum of 19C. The extra heating is provided by a very efficient log burner for which there is a plentiful supply of logs and kindling. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Blacksmiths and hope you visit again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rex5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Very comfortable and spacious for two.

    Reviewed by Bob5.0Apr 2023

  • "Very conveniently located cottage with one parking space."

    There is a large bed in a similarly large bedroom which is very comfortable and has double aspect views. The downside, it has no heating except a portable electric radiator which works well when on.The bathroom is very modern and nicely presented with electric heated towel rail and underfloor heating.The shower is excellent but just has a “ rainfall” head and no hand held part which would be useful, and there is no shelf for toiletries except the floor. The kitchen is small but has everything one needs, good supply of crockery utensils etc.The downside, it has a very uneven old stone floor that has been painted. A good welcome pack was supplied including tea, coffee, wine, biscuits etc..very nice. The lounge / dining area was very comfortable for two people, including a small dining table and two chairs. Nice view out the back of a field with sheep and lambs. The TV was ok but the remote a bit suspect. The downside was heating, just a small, rather ineffective, electric radiator. The main heating was a log burning stove which, of course, needed lighting each evening...it was easy to light with supplied firefighters and just sufficient kindling and logs to last the week. All in all, we had a very relaxing week, we love Pooley Bridge..and would recommend Blacksmiths Cottage especially for a Summer visit.

    Thank you for your feedback. Blacksmiths Cottage is a 16th Century stone built building and unfortunately limited to the type of heating that can be installed, hence underfloor heating a log burner downstairs. We endeavour to make our customers stay as comfortable as possible and are glad that you had a relaxing week in our lovely cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan3.4Apr 2023

  • "Heating for the downstairs was totally inadequate for cold weather, log burner (which you have to feed every few mins) and a heater."

    When we arrived on Saturday the whole cottage was like an ice box, didn’t seem welcoming at all. We sent an email to Sykes regarding this on the Tuesday of our visit which has still not been answered! I suggest you read that for further information.

    I am very sorry you felt this way. No one else this winter has found the cottage cold. The Morso Squirrel wood burner has been much admired and appreciated by many previous guests. The rate at which it burns depends on you regulating the air flow which is very simple to do. Also there was a large supply of logs provided . The radiator in the lounge is no longer a night store so it works all day if necessary providing background heating to 19C. As to you not getting a response from Lakes Cottages to your email, they do not accept emails so you would need to contact them by messaging on your customer portal. You also had our “owner” contact telephone number. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Moira3.8Mar 2023

  • "A lovely cottage in a lovely location."

    Cosy and clean with everything needed for a short stay of up to two people. The large bedroom and large bathroom were particularly appreciated as was the off street private parking. The log fire was great on a cold winters evening. I would definitely book this cottage again if ever we decided to stay in Pooley Bridge in the future.

    Thank you for your positive response. The weather was particularly cold during your stay and we are delighted you found Blacksmiths “cosy” Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roland4.7Jan 2023

  • "Lovely cosy, clean cottage perfectly situated in Pooley Bridge with parking, very comfortable and although a very small kitchen perfectly adequate for two, comfortable bed, spacious bedroom and lovely shower room, looking forward to returning."

    Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to hosting you again sometime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Jan 2023

  • "A delightful and historic cottage which immediately felt like home."

    It has been updated to provide a good shower room and kitchen area, but this has not detracted from its period charm with some lovely pieces of old furniture and prints enhancing the living area. Located close to the centre of Pooley Bridge yet in a quiet location, off road parking behind the cottage was an added benefit. It was a perfect base for our week and we look forward to returning before too long.

    Thank you so much. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Oct 2022

  • "Fab cottage for 2 very cosy and well equipped."

    Parking was good and local pubs first class for food will be booking again soon

    Thank you so much. We are pleased you found the parking easily and found the cottage cosy. We look forward to hosting you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Sep 2022

  • "Well- situated, clean and comfortable cottage with its own parking place."

    Our only constructive suggestion is that where the private parking is situated is shared with the holiday guests before arrival.

    Reviewed by Dorothy4.7Sep 2022

  • "A lovely cottage in a fantastic location."

    Close to town and all facilities. A great position for Ullswater and surrounding mountains and lakes. The cottage was perfect for us. Clean, comfortable and cosy. Couldn’t wish for better and would highly recommend.

    Thank you so much for your kind remarks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Edna5.0Jul 2022

  • "The only small problem we had was finding the cottage when we got there , so we found some where to park up and walked to find it , when we found it we realize that the Elm's B&B and the bistro was one and the same place , but the sign for the B&B was on the small side so easily miss from the road ."

    Reviewed by Martyn5.0Jul 2022

  • "The property is lovely with everything you need."

    Despite looking tiny from the outside, the open plan lounge is spacious and lovely and light with windows on 3 sides, kitchen area is quite small but adequate for 2 people. There isn't a freezer but we managed fine without one. The bedroom and en-suite is large and bright with double aspect windows, large comfy bed and plenty room for clothes etc. Large shower. May be worth a mention to less mobile guests would be the narrow staircase and uneven stone floor in the kitchen are a bit unnerving at first but didn't cause us any major problems. We love the cottage and would return in an instant. A very nice welcome pack was very much appreciated too.

    Reviewed by Philip3.8Jun 2022

  • "The cottage was spotless and very comfortable and a good size for two people."

    We arrived in the village in mid afternoon when a cheeky peep through the window revealed that the cottage was ready early. The private parking next to the cottage was important as Pooley Bridge is a popular area and soon fills with visitors. Inside the cottage, the generous welcome pack was appreciated and added to the positive first impressions. We had weather varying from hot sunshine through to snow and hail through which the cottage stayed cosy, sometimes helped by the log burner. The shower and comfortable bed easily accommodated a taller visitor. Guests, unsteady on their feet, may struggle with the flagstone kitchen floor and steep, narrow stairs which are in keeping with the age of the property. There plenty of walks that can start from the cottage door and some pubs, small shops and a good restaurant close by for when you get back.

    Reviewed by K4.7Mar 2022

  • "Beautifully appointed cottage within a couple of minute walk to numerous pubs and eateries."

    Nicely decorated, fabulous log burning stove with plenty of wood. Comfortable bed and lovely big shower. We will definitely go back.

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Feb 2022

  • "A lovely cottage, ideal for two with easy access to village facilities."

    The cottage was extremely well equipped with everything you might need.

    Thank you so much. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and good weather for January Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jan 2022

  • "I mentioned in the guest book, we were very comfortable, lovely cottage and brilliant location for walks."

    Just 2 things, a need for matching Prosecco glasses and a new, flat frying pan.

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Nov 2021

  • "Excellent clean, warm, homely cottage with all items (plus the extra gifts) that anyone would need, together with the most comfortable bed and superb shower."

    We have been before a couple of times (when there were two bedrooms) but we prefer it now with the larger bedroom, modern bathroom and kitchen. Many thanks.

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Nov 2021

  • "Great Cottage - well maintained and a few extra touches."

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Nov 2021

  • "Absolutely loved our stay."

    It is so nice to go somewhere that delivers exactly what it offers. A very comfy bed, great shower, in fact…..quality everything. If it had been summer, the garden would have been a real bonus - we still took photos !! It was a chilly week but we kept warm and toasty with the log burner. Great advice on key management and covid. It’s the perfect location for walking (we didn’t move the car all week). We cooked and ate at the cottage most nights - everything we needed was there and thanks for the Wi-fi/ smart TV as we could attach our Fire Stick. The local pubs and cafes are also great and public transport and really works here. FANTASTIC holiday.

    Reviewed by Gail5.0Oct 2021

  • "Lovely cottage in the perfect location."

    Every detail thought of for a comfortable stay.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Oct 2021

  • "Traditional rather than ultra modern furnishings, in keeping with the age and style of property - no bad thing as it was very comfortable, and a particularly comfortable bed."

    A beautiful location, ideally placed for steamer trips on Ullswater (5 mins walk to pier) and eating out (cottage backs on to one restaurant and is less than 5 mins walk to 3 other pubs/restaurants). Many local walks from the front door.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Oct 2021

  • "Fabulous cottage, well equipped and comfortable."

    Only minus is, as many have said before, no freezer. How about a counter top ice maker?

    Reviewed by Neil4.4Sep 2021

  • "Please make the instruction booklets more obviously available!"

    You have already had comments about the frig; we were warned there was no freezer, but a small one in the cupboard under the stairs would be useful for ice cream as well as ice cubes! Thanks for the linen basket in the bathroom - nice touch!

    Reviewed by John3.1Aug 2021

  • "The Cottage was beautiful, we will return there asap."

    Perfect location in the Village.

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Aug 2021

  • "The cottage was in a brilliant location, set slightly back from the busy Main Street of the village but still close enough so that the shops, pubs and bridge are only a two minute walk away."

    Having rear private parking was important as Pooley Bridge was very busy during half-term. The cottage itself has many positives; the bed was very comfy, it has a lovely side garden, and the cottage is traditionally decorated without feeling old. The views over the field from the bedroom window were lovely to wake up to as well. There are plenty of walks to do and locations to visit on the doorstep, and even more if you’re willing to drive slightly further afield. We noticed in the guestbook that others had commented about there being no freezer in the kitchen; I agree this is an issue, especially as the fridge is also quite small. Also, whilst the large shower was lovely, not having a bath would be an issue for some and it did seem that with a different design the room would have accommodated a bath and shower. We had a really lovely weeks stays in the cottage, I’m a frequent visitor to the Lake District and can’t think of a better located self-catering option. I would certainly book the cottage again for future visits.

    Reviewed by Daniel4.1May 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, excellent position but of course the superb weather helped."

    With our concern of renting a cottage with the background of C19, we were very impressed with the overall cleanliness and procedures in place to protect guests. We could not say the same of some of the local pubs. Would recommend Grandmas garden restaurant by the bridge, who had all the protective measures in place.

    Reviewed by John4.7Sep 2020

  • "A lot has already been said about Blacksmiths Cottage, It is certainly a lovely property and in a lovely location."

    At first I was a little unsure about the parking but need not worry, the car is off the road at the rear of the property and on a private drive. My only minor comment is the cooker needs replacing, all the markings have been rubbed out, making it difficult to see. Other than that the cottage is very comfortable and in close proximity to pubs, restaurant and shops and with Pooley Bridge reopening an easy way to tour the lakes. We would certainly return to this property in the future.

    Reviewed by Trevor4.7Sep 2020

  • "Great location and wonderful surroundings"

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Feb 2020

  • "Wonderful cottage for 2 in Pooley Bridge, it has everything you need."

    Great location, close to all the amenities of the village and access to walks from your doorstep! A great christmas week , the cottage was very festive with a lovely real christmas tree and lovely christmas treats to make us feel very welcome! Thank you... We will be back!

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Dec 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage well equipped and furnished pretty garden."

    No complaints at all

    Reviewed by Tina5.0Sep 2019

  • "Very comfortable and well equipped cottage in an excellent location."

    Just on the edge of Pooley Bridge with good local shops and helpful shopkeepers. Only a 10/15 minute walk to catch the steamer on Ullswater. We went on two steamer trips; one in the daytime, embarking at Glenridding and enjoying a relaxing lunch at The Inn on the Lake and then an evening trip, complete with fish and chip supper and accompanied by a guitarist. A treat not to have to get in the car! Lovely walks, both around Pooley Bridge and Ullswater and stunning scenery within easy reach. A lovely relaxing week - we even enjoyed a log fire two evenings, feeling warm and cosy watching the rain outside!

    Reviewed by Tim5.0Aug 2019

  • "It's a lovely, spacious cottage, perfect for two people."

    We were very happy with the location - just on the edge of Pooley Bridge, so that everything there was within a 5 minute walk and the back of the cottage had views on to open countryside.

    Reviewed by M S5.0Jul 2019

  • "Clean, comfortable and in a great location."

    We had a lovely week.

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Apr 2019

  • "Lovely Cottage, very clean and tidy."

    Good location in the middle of Pooley Bridge. We would definitely recommend it

    Reviewed by Nigel4.4Mar 2019

  • "What a truly lovely place to stay made even more special for Christmas with a beautifully decorated tree!"

    A comfortable, clean and cosy cottage in a good village with great access to the Lakes. The only minor negative was we found the bed a bit uncomfortable....but not enough to stop us from looking forward to coming back soon!!

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7Dec 2018

  • "To be fair this is more a positive review on Blacksmiths Cottage rather than on Sykes Cottages."

    Because this was our 4th visit we did not first read any reviews or descriptions. As well as being in a beautiful location, the cottage is a delight to stay in, being a wonderful base for splendid walks and a peaceful, cosy place to rest on returning. In our view it is the best place to stay in Cumbria. This was the first time we had to call the owner, Nick, as we managed to blow the circuit breaker. Even though he was out of the country, Nick responded very promptly and sorted things out - thanks again, Nick! Because of a commitment on Remembrance Sunday we had originally booked a short break at the cottage but after thinking about it we called Sykes and asked to change the booking to a full week so that we would not have to worry about our time of arrival. It was only later we realised that we had been charged more in total than we would have been had we booked a full week in the first place. I can understand an argument about administration charges but at a quiet time of the year, with such a simple change, it seems a bit of a shame that the opportunity was taken to charge extra.

    Reviewed by A4.7Nov 2018

  • "Perfect cottage for a short break in the lake district."

    My partner and I stayed here and found it comfortable, conveniently placed and overall very pleasant. There are some lovely pubs nearby and Pooley Bridge allows for relatively easy access to the rest of the lakes.

    Reviewed by Angus5.0Oct 2018

  • "The cottage was ideal for the two of us."

    Once my husband stopped banging his head on the low doorways and stubbing his toe on the lumpy stone kitchen floor all was good. We ate out all the time so the kettle and toaster was all we needed in the kitchen. Beautiful setting and the locals were typically northern friendly. The fact we were blessed with fabulous weather was a definite plus. Plenty to see and do on the doorstep can recomend the motor museum (excellent restaurant) and the pencil museum, both worth a visit.

    Reviewed by Wendy3.8Sep 2018

  • "Charming, well equipped cottage."

    Well placed to explore the lakes. Fabulous walks from the front door. A quiet and tranquil location.

    Reviewed by Debra5.0Sep 2018

  • "It was easy to book through Sykes as always."

    The cottage was very well situated in the village of Pooley Bridge. The parking arrangements were easy to find and access. The cottage was clean and comfortable with a lovely little garden to sit out in. The bedroom was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The only issue was the noise from the water heater which was situated in a cupboard next to the bed and fired up at around 6 each morning! We did get more used to it as the week went on but it was still noisy. Having said that I would still stay there again.

    Reviewed by J A3.8Aug 2018

  • "Cottage much smaller than the photos suggested."

    A broken blind in the kitchen. Dials on the cooker couldn't be seen. Windows were dirty. Shower had no area to put shampoo etc... Just had a plastic bowl on the ground. No work space in the kitchen. Very small TV.

    Reviewed by Michele1.9Jun 2018

  • "Pooley Bridge is the best location for Ullswater & Blacksmiths Cottage is the perfect location in the village."

    The cottage has everything provided, just stock up the fridge & enjoy the accommodation. Great shower & comfortable bed. Sat most early evenings on the little patio until the sun went down. Theres 3 pubs within 5 minutes walking distance & a lovely tea room that serves fantastic food. We don't mind dogs and they're welcome everywhere; we even saw a sign "Dogs & Muddy Boots Welcome". We spent a day on the Steamer visiting Geln Ridding & Aira Falls. We walked to Arthur's Pyke and Howtown on separate days. We visited Carlisle, Ambleside, Windermere & Grasmere. We drove through Kirkstone Pass. We sampled local brewed cider & lagers. We ate the hugest portions of fish and chips. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Blacksmiths Cottage. First Class Holiday.

    Reviewed by Terence5.0May 2018

  • "The cottage was well equipped for two people, comfortable and full of character."

    It is on the edge of a very good village, with three good pubs, a cafe and some useful grocery and general shops. An ideal base for exploring the Lake District. Sykes Cottages usually provide a welcome pack - there was not a comprehensive folder in Blacksmith’s Cottage and this was missed! We would also have appreciated some notification about parking arrangements in our booking confirmation as these are not immediately obvious - I had to phone the owner when we arrived. The weather was very cold and although one expects temperature to be relatively low in an old house, a more efficient wood burner would be helpful. These remarks intended to be ‘constructive criticism’ to help develop the experience for future guests.

    Reviewed by Wendy4.4Mar 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • 1 x King Size traditional bedroom on the first floor
  • Beautifully appointed bedroom with views of the fells
  • Bathroom with underfloor heating, double shower cubicle, hand basin and WC
  • 1 x King Size traditional bedroom on the first floor
  • Beautifully appointed bedroom with views of the fells
  • Bathroom with underfloor heating, double shower cubicle, hand basin and WC
  • Wood burning stove with initial supply of wood provided
  • A further supply of logs is available in the green log bin beside the patio doors
  • Dining area and lounge with beamed ceiling and TV
  • Kitchen with an electric oven and hob, larder fridge (no freezer), microwave and dishwasher
  • Wi-Fi available
  • Off-road parking
  • Private garden with view of fells and adjoining fields and an outdoor dining area
  • Bed linen and towels provided.Please note that unfortunately this property is not suitable for infants.

The property

A charming and romantic 17th-century cottage located in the heart of the Lake District.

Situated in the centre of Pooley Bridge on the northeastern edge of Ullswater, this cosy cottage is within five minutes' drive of local attractions including the Dalemain Mansion and Historic Gardens. The cottage has a wood-burning stove, an open rural outlook to the rear along with a private garden to enjoy and a patio and outdoor dining area. Blacksmiths Cottage has been luxuriously appointed with designer fabrics and antique country style furniture.

The property maintains many of its original features and will transport visitors back in time as they relax in the lounge in front of the cosy wood-burning stove.

The lounge and dining area is comfortable and cosy and the kitchen is well set up with fridge, dishwasher, oven, hob and microwave.

There is one bedroom with a king-size bed on the first floor and the bathroom has a double shower cubicle. The private garden where you step down from the lounge to a patio and outdoor dining area with fantastic Lakeland views.

Pooley Bridge is a popular destination for tourists with ample fantastic hiking on the doorstep.

Pooley Bridge is very well serviced with local shops, pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance from Blacksmiths Cottage.

There are excellent transport links in Pooley Bridge too, with both buses and ferry links close by.

Enjoy a challenging walk up Helvellyn or Fairfield Peak, or enjoy some more relaxed walks along the lower level lakeside paths.

Within easy walking distance there are also water sports activities, pony trekking and cruises on the lake. The cottage is perfect for couples looking for a quiet Lake District escape where they can relax, unwind and enjoy the stunning scenery of the northern Lakes.

Please note that unfortunately this property is not suitable for infants.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

POOLEY BRIDGE

Penrith 6 miles.

The picturesque village of Pooley Bridge sits on the northerly edge of Lake Ullswater in the Lake District National Park. The name Pooley came to be due to the forming of a large pool, which was left by the fast flowing River Eamont, and the word Bridge was later added when a bridge, which is now 250 years old, was built over the river. Pooley Bridge has many traditional inns and tempting tea rooms, plus the Ullswater Steamers depart from the village, from where a tranquil cruise down the lake to the villages of Glenridding and Howtown can be enjoyed. There are numerous walks with breathtaking views nearby, plus a short walk up to Dunmallard Hill reveals fascinating Iron-Age remains, whilst the towns of Penrith and Keswick are within driving distance. Pooley Bridge is an ideal base for a cottage holiday stay in the stunning Lake District.

View more holiday cottages in Pooley Bridge

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas