In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 16 View Image Gallery
  • Preswylfa - North Wales - 974158 - photo 1
close
  • Preswylfa - (Ref. 974158)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

Preswylfa

(Ref. 974158)

Penmachno, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map

4.2

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (39)
  • lovely (22)
  • great (15)
  • location (14)
  • bed (14)
  • pub (13)

48 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely surprise welcome pack on arrival."

    Kitchen well equipped.Comfort in the evening could be improved,Settee is a little tired.We ourselves prefer a bed mattress with a firmer support.Good enclosed garden.

    we hope you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the welcome pack. we have since replaced the sofas in the lounge, unfortunately we find that peoples comfort levels with regards mattresses is individual preferences but on the whole we have had a positive response to our mattresses. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. neil and gill Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol3.1Sep 2023

  • "Although the cottage was lovely we did have some problems ."

    .. The back door did not open fully,we couldn't get any channels on the TV, the bedding had an awful smell( like it had been left damp too long), there was rain water falling from the chimney lintel and the grouting in the shower was black. As it was raining a lot apart from lighting the wood burner it was difficult to dry coats and shoes.We would have given the cottage a much higher rating if these issues were resolved.

    We are sorry to hear that you had some issues during your stay. The majority of these problems could have been easily rectified if you had contacted us at the time, therefore enhancing your stay with us. We could have advised you on the use of the Freeview remote to access all channels along with prime tv. The instructions should have been in the welcome folder. There is always spare new bedding at the property for every bed in case of any accidents and we have a maintenance contractor on hand if any issues with regard the property needs addressing. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in the area and would advise that if you encounter any issues in future stays that you contact the owners and give us chance to rectify them at the time therefore making your stay more enjoyable. regards gill and neil Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debra3.1Sep 2023

  • "Property is tired and not the cleanest."

    Comfy enough though and good garden for dogs. As a cottage that allows dogs it would be helpful if the information folder noted local dog walks. There is no mention at all of the local pub in the information only a couple of places further afield. The local pub is friendly but is rarely open as its hours are very short and food served is only for a couple of hours friday and saturday so this information may be of benefit to others. I used to rent a cottage out and kept on top of it so it was always fresh so maybe I am a bit picky. There is a lovely stove which is starting to rust when a coat of heat resistent paint can be applied in ten minutes once a year to keep it looking good. Its the little things. Very friendly locals in the area and we enjoyed our stay.

    we welcome your feedback and will pass on your comments to our cleaning company. we will look into dog walks in the local area to include them in the local information. regards gill and neil Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim3.1Sep 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage in a fantastic setting."

    Pub and local shop ideal. The cottage had everything that we needed. Wished we could’ve stayed longer! Thank you

    thank you for your kind comments. Its nice to see that you enjoyed yourself so much at our cottage. regards gill and neil Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Aug 2023

  • "Ideal location for exploring Snowdonia and North Wales."

    Charming and well equipped cottage. The only downside was we felt that it could do with some TLC, a bit shabby in places.

    We appreciate your comments and we are in the process of up grading the furnishings in the near future. regards gill and neil Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dominic4.7Jul 2023

  • "Really enjoyed the break , the property had all facilities for an enjoyable week ."

    Hob was a bit difficult to get use to but after reading the instructions everything was fine. All beds where extremely comfortable, not to sure about the TV stations we ended up downloading Netflix. Pub and local shop only about 100 yards away .The pub we were told only serves food on a Friday and Saturday evening . Would defiantly come back again !

    WE ARE GLAD YOU ENJOYED YOUR STAY AND LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU BACK IN THE FUTURE. Regards Gill and Neil Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rose4.1May 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay at this house."

    The garden was very helpful for our dog. The village was very nice and friendly. The countryside surround spectacular. The bed was very comfortable.

    Reviewed by Sharon4.7May 2023

  • "The house was rather spacious inside."

    Really nice quiet village and excellent location for exploring northern Snowdonia, cader idris and both the north and southern coasts . Had a lovely time , but had to close the windows for several hours during the stay as noise from neighbours doing building work. The house Wi-Fi and the lovely hamper were a great surprise. It is a lovely village to explore and the conwy falls cafe which is just down the road does the most fantastic breakfasts. Many thanks.

    we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed the welcome pack. I am sorry that the building work impacted on your enjoyment of the cottage. We have no control on the activities of our neighbours but hope that they are sensitive to our guests. regards gill and neil Property Owner

    Reviewed by James4.4Apr 2023

  • "We had a lovely week at the cottage."

    Everything we needed for a good break was there. Our only issue was we struggled to open the back door, and the catches on the bedroom doors didn't hold. Plus they were doing work next door which was noisy at times, and did set the dogs off barking. But overall these issues did not affect the time we had in this very pleasant cottage.

    we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We had not been told of any work being done next door. we hope that this did not impact your enjoyment too much. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Mar 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our weeks stay at preswylfa cottage good clean spacious ..."

    We really enjoyed our weeks stay at preswylfa cottage good clean spacious cottage with outstanding views and the welcome pack was great the owners are very friendly and welcoming thanks for a wonderful stay

    thank you for your lovely feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. It was nice to meet you both. regards Gill and Neil Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely."

    The customer service from Sykes was dreadful

    We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your lovely comments. Regards Gill and neil. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Aug 2022

  • "Great cottage."

    Lovely enclosed garden for dogs. Quite spacious inside. Really nice quiet village but pretty central to coast, snowdon, portmeiron. Had a lovely time and would definitely go back. Oh and conwy falls cafe which is just down the road done the most fantastic breakfasts.

    We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your lovely comments. Regards Gill and neil. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jayne4.4Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful area."

    Beds were comfortable and wifi was excellent. Also great to have a very friendly local pub and small shop. Recommended!

    We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your lovely comments. Regards Gill and neil. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Mar 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, everything you need provided."

    Clean and comfortable. Great location very near to Betws-y-Coed. Would definitely recommend it’s a lovely place to stay.

    We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your lovely comments. Regards Gill and neil. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Feb 2022

  • "We’ve booked several cottages over the years and I would say this one was ok but there is definitely room for improvement."

    I think customers should be informed that the TV reception is very poor. We had none all week over Christmas and although there was Netflix, this was a shame. The cottage was very cold on arrival but after putting on the electric fires, the fuse board kept tripping (several times). The kitchen tap dripped constantly and the oven (and extractor fan) had not been cleaned in a while and consequently smoked when turned on! Parking outside the cottage was difficult (a ‘no parking sign, on the gate would be helpful) as neighbours put out bollards outside theirs, forcing you to park 200 yards away. For privacy, it would have been nice to have blinds up at the bathroom window and the window at the top of the stairs. Having said all that, the bed was comfy and the lounge was cosy when the fire was lit.

    Thank you for your feedback, we hope you enjoyed your stay. Tv reception can be intermittent depending on the weather conditions and as a result we have provided Netflix and Amazon so that visitors can access catch up tv and a wide range of other programmes which would not normally be accessible through the normal channels. We have since replaced the tap in the kitchen and measured for a blind. We checked the extractor and have asked the cleaner to check it more frequently. Parking is on street as described ,. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Dec 2021

  • "Lovely cottage in a peaceful little village close to many walks and amenities."

    Clean and tidy with literally everything you can possibly need. Welcoming dogs which is a great plus. Lovely and kind owners easy to reach and promptly responding. Thanks.

    We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage, and hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Valentina5.0Nov 2021

  • "What a lovely, welcoming cottage, had everything you want for a getaway, real fire, garden, nice kitchen and tastefully done throughout."

    Walks from the doorstep and pub & shop 1 min away.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Oct 2021

  • "The cushions on the dining table chairs do not fit and make it awkward to sit at the table."

    I'd say bin them or maybe get something better for the chairs. The property is a typical Welsh cottage in my eyes and is what I would expect, the garden is ideal for dog owners. I would like to suggest some NO PARKING or "Resident of No.2" signs attached to the fence as the property next door is an air BnB and during our stay they had visitors with two cars.

    Reviewed by Kevin4.1Sep 2021

  • "Cottage was exactly as advertised."

    A shame that COVID cleaning didn’t leave enough time for cleaning of cobwebs from ceilings. Apart from that everything was perfect

    Reviewed by Alexandra4.1Sep 2021

  • "This is a lovely cottage in a village where there are lots of opportunities to walk and experience amazing views."

    The cottage was very clean, well organised and compact. It had everything we needed and easily accommodated four adults and a dog. The beds were very comfortable! There is only one bathroom and no room to add another without extending. A washing machine would be helpful or if not, a change of towels mid week. When we arrived, I contacted the owner about the hot water and they replied straight away resolving the issue. We were always able to park outside the cottage which was really helpful. The village has a pub which is good value and a shop for essentials. We would rent this cottage again

    Reviewed by Bernie4.7Aug 2021

  • "On one hand we had a lovely holiday but that was more to do with the surroundings and location."

    I think there probably has been a lot more cleaning done following previous reviews however I think there is still room for improvement. The plus side is it’s a lovely cosy old cottage with a beautiful fireplace and a great garden (even though it rained the whole time) but it is very tired and could do with a lot of tlc (painting, new kitchen/ carpets etc). Being constructive, as an old cottage it is never going to perfect with cobwebs etc but I think the fake flowers etc should be removed as they are just dust gatherers. My opinion is that it’s a 3 tick property not 4 due to the updating needed and expectations would be far lower.

    Reviewed by Joanne2.8Aug 2021

  • "It would be useful to have a drying rack for the washing and more than one tea towel for a week stay."

    Otherwise a lovely village, very cosy but comfortable cottage. A welcome basket was a lovely surprise. We were there in the very hot weather. Thank you.

    Thank you for your feedback, We have taken on board your comments and have requested our cleaning supplier to leave extra tea towels in the future and have now purchased a drying rack for the dishes as per your suggestion. We hope that this will assist our guests in the future. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Preswylfa and hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kasia4.4Jul 2021

  • "We had a enjoyable holiday however the cottage wasn’t as clean as it could be."

    There were cobwebs, dust and the skirting boards needed cleaning in many rooms. Also, the back door wouldn’t fully open where we were greeted with a garden full of dog mess. Generally the cottage requires a good deep clean and a lot of tlc.

    We are sorry you had some housekeeping issues whilst you were at the property. The property has had a thorough deep clean and a new housekeeper has been appointed. The owner worked along side the new housekeeper to bring everything back up to standard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lee2.2Jul 2021

  • "This was a lovely cosy cottage as described but it was filthy dirty and in my ..."

    This was a lovely cosy cottage as described but it was filthy dirty and in my opinion not been cleaned At all and has clearly not had a deep clean in a long time with dust and hair everywhere

    Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry the property was not cleaned sufficiently. We have since had a team in the property and it has been completely cleaned. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will be closely monitoring this moving forward. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynda3.1Jun 2021

  • "The cottage itself was absolutely charming from the minute I laid my eyes on the red door."

    It boasted a cosy living room and well equipped kitchen with an ample sized garden for my energetic pup to run around in - not too harsh on the eyes either with fantastic views surrounding Penmachno. Plenty of room in the cottage for four people and the beds were extremely comfortable, in the absence of radiators, electrics heaters were dotted around in the buildings and not to mention the centrepiece to the living room being the log fire which even in June we could resist lighting one or two evenings. The cottage itself was just a stones throw away from the local pub, which is small granted, but delightful and immediately next to this a corner shop that had plenty to offer from fresh fruit and veg to toiletries. Penmachno itself is a quiet village but you are only a 10 minute drive from Betws-Y-Coed where you will not be short of pubs, shops and restaurants. I’ve had a brilliant week in Snowdonia, my own criticism is that it wasn’t long enough.

    Reviewed by eve5.0Jun 2021

  • "I sent an email of complaint dated 13th June from kirsten@homeinbury."

    Co.uk detailing the unclean and mouldy condition of the property, included some photo evidence. Please refer to the email.

    Reviewed by Kirsten2.5Jun 2021

  • "If that is cleaning to standard then I'm a dutch uncle."

    Very poor cleaning in the bathroom as we are in the middle of a worldwide pandemic it was shockingly disgusting. I could say a lot more about the property but then people might think I was nit picking. Very very DISSAPOINTED guest.

    Reviewed by Keith1.9Jun 2021

  • "Reasonable price, close to all attractions and superb little cosy cottage that was safe and pet friendly!"

    Reviewed by Tracy5.0Apr 2021

  • "Lovely cottage in a great location."

    Suited us two adults and 3 children well. So much to do in the surrounding area, a weekend wasn’t enough!

    Reviewed by Hannah5.0Aug 2020

  • "Welcoming cosy cottage which felt homely."

    Welcome pack was gratefully received and helped us settle in. Garden was so peaceful and had great views. Very friendly pub and shop. Great location for exploring North Wales.

    Reviewed by Claire4.4Aug 2020

  • "Lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful area."

    Friendly pub at end of road. No washing machine which might be a problem for families with children.

    Reviewed by Barbara4.4Dec 2019

  • "Cottage was in a great location to explore multiple areas of wales without traveling too far such as the coast, Bala and Snowdon."

    The cottage was easy to find, clean and cosy, the bed was very comfy and had everything we needed.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Oct 2019

  • "Lovely little cottage in peaceful valley."

    Pub only open some nights and only serving food Friday and Saturday however very friendly when we went. Added bonus for us was the newly open Londis convenience store. A most relaxing and enjoyable stay

    Reviewed by Neil4.4Sep 2019

  • "Everything and better, will return again!"

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Aug 2019

  • "Great cottage and location for exploring Snowdonia and surrounding activities."

    Well equipped cottage with beautiful views first thing in the morning of sheep grazing in the field across the road. Nice welcome gift, parking right outside during our stay, good selection of board games, comfortable beds and good wifi access (which helped as our network was lost once at the cottage) The cottage could benefit from having a washing machine, iron and a small shelf in the shower. However there was a small table top iron board available and we bought our own iron with us. Although I wouldn't want the small recommendations to take anything away from how great this cottage was! Family of four including 6 & 9 year olds who loved it! Would definitely recommend this cottage

    Reviewed by James4.7Aug 2019

  • "We all loved our stay at Preswylfa cottage."

    It was a perfect base for us with stunning views. We felt at home straight away and enjoyed the welcome gift. We are looking forward to returning soon.

    Reviewed by Rachel4.4Aug 2019

  • "The Cottage is well placed for the main hikes in the area Quite location with a friendly pub."

    Good hot shower which is must have after hiking. Kitchen diner worked well, but ate out most of our meals.

    Reviewed by Graeme3.8Jul 2019

  • "Comfy cottage in a central location."

    Everything was provided including heaters in all rooms and means of lighting the wood burning stove which was lovely during the very wet week we had. Some furnishings were a little worn but all quite functional. We appreciated the welcome basket and the boxed games.

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Jun 2019

  • "The cottage looked more spacious on the photos on the site than the reality."

    Its quite dated inside, feels like it needs a good clean and the furniture outside has seen better days.

    Reviewed by Claire1.9May 2019

  • "Wonderful cottage, brilliant extras added in like the logs for the fire for the first night."

    The beds were super comfortable and we all had a brilliant time. Close to zip world and waterfalls. A lovely relaxed break. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Rachael4.4May 2019

  • "Lovely cottage with a lovely homely feel."

    Well thought out by owners in terms of everything you needed was supplied. Great location - will definitely return!

    Reviewed by Carly5.0Apr 2019

  • "I enjoyed most the views from the window."

    And surroundings. Great location to betws y coed. Only negative is the pub not open everyday.

    Reviewed by Brenden5.0Feb 2019

  • "We had a wonderful Christmas in a beautiful setting."

    Parking was at a premium but we managed

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Dec 2018

  • "The cottage was perfect and would be happy to book it again as we have a wonderful break."

    The only thing I would say was just to make guest aware that, during our stay, the pub only served food on a Saturday night and when we arrived on the Tuesday evening approximately 8pm, there was no where local to get some take away food. This was not a real problem, but if we were aware, could have been more prepared.

    Reviewed by Donna5.0Oct 2018

  • "Beautiful quiet cottage close to local attractions."

    Loved the log fire and facilities within the cottage. The perfect getaway from the city life!

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Oct 2018

  • "The cottage is very comfortable and we would be very likely to book again."

    Just two things - there needs to be more pans compatible with the hob cooker as there was only two that would work on it. The mattresses are a little tiredbut a very enjoyable stay was had by all and would definitely recommend. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Fiona4.1Oct 2018

  • "Penmachno, North Wales & Snowdonia (Sykes Ref."

    974158) We stayed here at the beginning of the school summer holidays. The location is good for access to all the attractions of North Wales but you will need a car. The Photos reflect the interior of this compact cottage well. The On road parking is first come first parked and in our week we only once got parked in front of the property, the rest of the time we were 300-500 yards away. Also with other people parked tight in front of the property it is sometimes difficult to squeeze passed to the gate to actually enter the property, Oh and there is no way you can fit 2 cars in front unless you have 2 micro city cars. The Slate patio in the back garden looks good but is pretty uneven so watch your trips and falls. The road at front the house goes up the beautiful Penmachno valley this road turns out to be VERY popular with motocyclists who start going up in groups from about 8AM. This limits your lazy holiday morning lay-in bed time! Great if you’re Harley-Davidson fans as the variety of bikes was spectacular. When we were there we had a leak from the shower room into the lounge this steady drip became a cascading waterfall after BOB the handyman came to fix it on 2 occasions. This stopped us using the only shower, so we left the property early as they seemed unable to fix it. Looking at the repair book this has been a problem for months.

    Thank you for your feedback after your stay at preswylfa. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We are always striving to improve the cottage and find feedback a useful way of doing this. I would like to address the issues raised by your feedback point by point. 1. The property is, as advertised, on a public road and parking is on a first come first served basis therfore no restrictions can be applied by the residents. However, during extremely busy times it may be an issue but during our 5 years at the cottage we have almost always managed to park at or very close to the front door. There is adequate parking for our people carrier and an additional small car at the front of the property and additional parking further down the road for additional cars if required. 2 .The patio is a feature of the property and allows our guests to enjoy the outdoor space fully, however after your feedback we have placed signs up about the uneven surface and have engaged a builder to relay the patio as soon as there is a break in the bookings. 3.Many attractions to the village, especially during weekends, are cruising vintage cars and in the Autumn the Welsh ralley is a great boost to the local economy as well as the local sheep dog trials which are part of the local charm. 4. We were informed of the leak in the shower and asked the plumber to attend as soon as possible, he was there later that day, he repaired the first leak , which was a loose waste pipe, and checked the shower for any other problems ie sealant etc. The next day he was contacted again by you with regards an additional leak from the sealant which had happened overnight. The plumber repaired this problem . The repair book reflected an issue with the shower which had happened months before which again, as could be seen by the reply, was addressed in a timely manner. I hope that these isuues have now been suitably addressed and thank you for bringing them to our attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James2.5Jul 2018

  • "Great cottage in a lovely location."

    Easy to explore around.

    Reviewed by Amy4.1Jun 2018

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x single leading to 1 x twin
  • Shower room with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove.
  • Electric storage heating, woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburner inc. in rent, additional logs can be purchased locally
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot available
  • Roadside parking in front of property
  • Lockable storage
  • Front patio with furniture, rear enclosed lawn
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub 2 minute walk, shop 4 miles
  • Note: Twin room is accessed through the single room only.

The property

This alluring stone cottage sits in a mid-terrace position in the pretty, rural village of Penmachno in the Snowdonia National Park.

Surrounded by the countryside, scenery and opportunities to explore this wonderful landscape, use Preswylfa as a relaxing retreat, or as your base for a family holiday packed with the Penmachno Bike Trail, Go Below caving adventures and a wealth of walks along the river and Gwydir forests on the doorstep.

Be drawn into the property by its vibrant red door and enter into its wonderful kitchen/diner, beautifully combining country cottage features with quirky contemporary twists and homely touches to make you feel welcome from arrival until departure.

On a rainy day, you can put your feet up in the warming sitting room, featuring a magnificent stone fireplace housing a woodburner, as well as a selection of books, games and DVDs to make the most of.

To discover Preswylfa's three splendid bedrooms, take the stairs to the first floor where there is a double and a family-style room with a single room leading onto a twin room, perfect for families coming to stay.

This floors also hosts a modern shower room, graced with stylish tiles and a beautiful vanity unit.

The delights of the property continue to the exterior; the front of the property presents a lovely little terrace - sit here with your morning coffee and watch the world go by.

To the rear lies a well-kept lawn, perfect for your four-legged friends to run and play.

The attractive village of Penmachno boasts a fantastic pub and access to the supreme opportunities and attractions of the Snowdonia National Park.

Outdoor lovers can venture through the breath-taking countryside and mountains, whilst the more adventurous can visit the popular Zip World and Bounce Below at nearby Blaenau Ffestiniog.

The ever-popular town of Betws-y-Coed is only four miles away and provides a wealth of charming amenities as well as a golf club.

Come and stay at Preswylfa for a comfortable countryside retreat.

View on map

About the location

PENMACHNO

Betws-y-Coed 4 miles.

The small, peaceful village of Penmachno is situated in the beautiful Machno Valley, just 4 miles from the popular town of Betws-y-Coed. Surrounded by woodland, magnificent mountains and flowing rivers, the whole area is a haven for walkers, birdwatchers, mountain bikers and climbers, whilst Betws-y-Coed itself offers a good range of shops, pubs and cafes. Here the River Conwy meets its three tributaries, creating a host of cascading waterfalls, river pools and ancient bridges throughout the surrounding countryside, the most famous of which is the magnificent waterfall at Swallow Falls, situated where the River Llugwy meets with a spectacular chasm, creating a sight not to be missed! The beautiful Conwy Falls are also well worth a visit and are situated in the Machno Valley. With all of Snowdonia to explore and North Wales' Heritage Coastlines also within easy reach, this beautiful location has plenty to offer at any time of year.

View more holiday cottages in Penmachno

Owner would prefer a Fri start date