In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 56 minutes ago

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • 53 Burniston Road - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 996330 - photo 1

53 Burniston Road

(Ref. 996330)

Scarborough, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (25)
  • location (23)
  • bed (21)
  • great (20)
  • clean (17)
  • lovely (16)

46 Customer Reviews

  • "Fantastic property with all of the facilities promised."

    Clean throughout, really helped for us to celebrate the new year as a family in 1 place. Thank you so much for our little welcome pack. All the best for the future. We will certainly look to be booking this again for our next scarborough trip.

    We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and further more Happy New Year. My vision when we set out using our home for this, was that families and friends could come together and enjoy the space meeting up and coming together. Thank you for amazing feed back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jack5.0Dec 2023

  • "Lovely stay."

    ..really clean and everything we needed and more ...Will definitely book again .

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Dec 2023

  • "We all loved the house it was spotless and there was everything we needed."

    The bedrooms were very spacious and comfortable. The house was in a great location and the bus from town stopped outside the property. I would highly recommend this house it was like a home from home.

    Thanks for the amazing feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Oct 2023

  • "Thank you to Kevin and Helen on providing a wonderful home from home, you can tell they care about attention to detail."

    Definitely a fantastic location, really peaceful and tranquil plus the home more or less has everything you need, bus stop and great friendly pub just opposite the house. Downside, cleaners seem to be slacking, very dusty and blinds needed a good clean. It did smell of dog which the owners have tried to address but that's due to other inconsiderate people staying not the owners. No bin liners, washing up liquid and only 2 toilet rolls so we had to buy our own. Would of appreciated a welcome pack considering the price but would definitely consider staying again.

    Thanks for the feedback both positive and negative. We passed your comments to our cleaning agency as there should have been a cleaning pack with items like washing up liquid, toilet rolls, bin bags etc. Also your comments about dusty areas. It is a big house to clean but it should be done properly. Thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vicki4.4Oct 2023

  • "A beautiful home on the outskirts of Scarborough with great bus connections,the welcome hamper was really appreciated Honest review."

    . disappointed as the loft bed sheets had not been changed,body hair on bedding and makeup stains on duvet cover,Ugh!!! had to buy clean linen.Dirty ,rusty pots,pans,grillpan in cupboard and oven.Chipped/well worn plates and mugs.Front bedroom wardrobe door off runner as was on previous holiday in 2020. Back bedroom bed needs a mattress topper as really hard .All the bathroom sinks and showers are extremely slow draining, probably blocked. On a positive note we had a great family reunion,thank you

    I can only apologise regarding the bedding as I too would have felt the same way. However, if you had contacted Sykes in regards to this, we would have put it right for you. I have contacted the cleaners regarding this and they assure me that it would have been clean bedding but for some reason it was not. We will take up the issue with the cleaning company further. Regards pots and pans, on our last inspection there were no issues so if something has changed, we have not been made aware but we will correct this. I am very disappointed that you have chosen to publish your feedback without giving us the opportunity to correct and resolve some of the issues you had encountered as none of this has been raised before. All it takes is for a guest to contact Sykes Holiday Cottages and they contact us and we will do all we can to resolve issues. Any previous issues have always been very quickly resolved as you will see in previous guest comments. We will be able to visit the house within coming week and replacements will be made to all that is needed. I am sorry that you have found these issues especially as you are a returning guest but please remember that we can only resolve if you let us know at the time. We take pride in providing a good standard of holiday accommodation so your damming review is a huge disappointment to us and especially that you felt the need to publish without allowing us an opportunity to correct any issues. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline1.6Sep 2023

  • "Fantastic house we had a ball , plenty of space for a big family , beds are extremely comfy We will be back"

    Thanks for the positive feedback and we are very pleased to read that you will be back again. Thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joeanne4.7Sep 2023

  • "We were very happy with the house, so convenient for shops, pub, water park, and most helpful for us, the bus stop right outside the property."

    Enjoyed it so much, we have already booked it again for next year.

    Thank you so much for the positive feed back. We love it when guest enjoy there stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Aug 2023

  • "There seems to be a problem getting the general waste bin emptied."

    We put it out on the right day but it wasn't emptied. We noticed that it has an orange lid, unlike the bins at the other houses nearby, and concluded that orange lid means it is treated as commercial waste. The bin was pretty full when we arrived, and was completely full when we left, in fact we had to leave a bag of rubbish (which we double-bagged for extra protection) in the garage. I think we are not the first people to encounter this problem - either the house should have an ordinary general waste bin like the other houses, or there should be a regular commercial waste collection. Other than that, we had a lovely holiday!

    Pleased you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the bin situation, we pay for a commercial collection service so that guests don't need to worry about the collection and they come into the garden to make the collection. I have checked on both occasions and it would appear that it is being collected but the level of waste maybe high. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria3.1Aug 2023

  • "Lovi g room had dust all over shelves and top of fire surround."

    En-suite shower had red hair blocking the shower drain which we had to remove before it could be used. Clumps of dust in corner of loft room. Baking tray in oven had dirty foil on top.of it.

    We are sorry that you found these issues with the house and we have contacted the cleaning company and passed on your findings. It is at times like this I wish we could make regular checks ourselves but distance makes this impossible. We hope that you still enjoyed your holiday and thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter2.8Aug 2023

  • "In general a very nice place to stay."

    Well equipped kitchen. Good selection of games and books for children (we had brought our own anyway). Handy location. We did not go to Alpamere (across the road) as we thought the cost was prohibitive. Can recommend the food and service in the Tunny Catch (also across the road). The information pack is a bit sparse. Would have been good to have some info on local buses for example. We had done some research before we came about buses to Whitby but there wasn't any info about other buses into Scarborough. What info there was could be confusing. The vacuum cleaner had a note on it saying if you use it empty it. It had obviously been used and not emptied. The bins outside were very full when we arrived, and, despite putting them out when instructed they were not emptied (except for the garden waste bin) so are subsequently more full now. I hope the bins are emptied this week or the next occupants will have difficulty getting anything in them. The garden seats were all over the garden but the pack said they should be put away. But we are told to leave the place as we find it! The downstairs toilet accessed via the garage has a sink but no working tap. That was somewhat inconvenient, especially with young children. On a personal note, although the rest of my family found the sofas and chair comfortable, I have arthritis and issues with my back and could not sit on them. I spent the entire week sitting on a dining chair which wasn't very relaxing. One other small suggestion - curtains in the bedrooms, especially those front facing bedrooms. The blinds are fine but didn't do much with the road noise (it is a main road out of Scarborough). Having said all of the above it was a lovely house and would recommend it for location.

    Reviewed by Janet3.8Jul 2023

  • "Great location, house well equipped."

    We had an issue where the fridge freezer broke down. Kevin the owner fetched a new fridge freezer the same day. The only negative we have during our stay is the mattresses are very uncomfortable and the blinds let the light in very early in the morning. We tend to be early rises anyway but from about 5.30 the room is light. We would definitely book this property again.

    Reviewed by Terry4.4Jun 2023

  • "The location of this house is excellent, only a few minutes walk to Peasolm Park and to the beach."

    The entrance to the drive is tight but as the picture shows there's plenty of room to park. The house itself was large, spacious and clean, though a lot of dust on the shelves inside wardrobes. We couldn't get the TV to work until the second day as the tv itself had no signal at all and the cable to the bt box was curled up behind a sideboard which obviously took us a while to find but once found was fine. There are also TVs in two of the bedrooms which I don't believe is mentioned in the description. We had two problems, the shower in the ensuite was virtually blocked so you had to shower before the water filled the tray and it took forever to drain, then if you tried to rinse the shower after it emptied it obviously just filled up again quickly. The shower itself was excellent. We did try and contact Sykes with no success at all. Also, the fridge in the garage did not get cold despite the setting you put it on so we had to throw out all the food we put in it: unopened milk curdled and a trifle went mouldy one day after opening it (all were well within their dates) so we threw the rest of our food out so just used the small fridge in the kitchen which didn't have a good suction on the door. All of these things can be easily rectified but all in all we had an amazing holiday and didn't want to leave. We would definitely stay there again, its a lovely house, just needs some attention.

    Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. With regards to your feedback. We apologies about the fridge freezer the following guest did manage to contact Sykes and had it fixed the same day with a replacement fridge freezer. although we haven't had the means to remove the old one from the garage as yet but shouldn't cause a problem as its in the garage. With regards to the shower on the top floor. It does seem at the time that it is filling up but normally it clears. The problem is that it some how created an air lock with it being at the top of the house and takes some time to clear away. There is a plunger in the bathroom to aid with this but I will defiantly ask the cleaners to see if they can put a product in the drain to check it isn't blocked. I will also mention to the cleaning company that you have had an issue with dust. With regards to the TV. It has to be put on AV 3 with the tv remote as all programs and streaming comes via the BT vision box. Thank you for you valued feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne3.4Jun 2023

  • "The house was very clean as usual."

    Unusually there as a drawer full of underwear and socks in the back bedroom that someone had left. We also had to empty the Dishwasher and the fridge. Few problems with the TV which were soon fixed.

    Reviewed by Jacqui4.7May 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay but feel tired inside and out and need some work not up to Sykes usual sanded"

    Reviewed by Brian3.8Apr 2023

  • "We found the house extremely clean, warm and spacious."

    The house is well situated, 5 minutes walk to the beach and a bus stop outside with buses that take you to South Bay. A previous criticism was that the shower on the top floor got too hot and burned which is true but we discovered that this only occurs if water was being run elsewhere in the house. A very minor criticism, (as there was eight of us) there were not enough large cooking pans (only one) as we do all our own cooking. Fortunately, I did take mine with me. Also there was a cafetiere but this was only a one person size. The cutlery needs to be upgraded to something higher quality. There was no hairdryer found and unfortunately I didn't take one. Overall the house was a big hit and one we would like to revisit.

    It sounds like you made the most of everything on the doorstep of Burniston Road and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments, Yes you are correct about the shower and it is due to it being electric and the water pressure being used else where in the house does effect it. Your other comments, we will defiantly try to make some of these improvements when we next visit the house. We hope you do visit again. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rowena5.0Apr 2023

  • "Thanks for a great stay, clean, welcoming and perfect location."

    We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and Thank you for your review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Apr 2023

  • "We have just enjoyed a wonderful 3 generation holiday."

    The location was perfect and the size of the property generous( especially the bedrooms). The house is well equipped and comfortable although some items needed a good dust. For us, with two year old twins and a baby, this was a very relaxing house to stay in !

    We are so glad you had a great time with your family and you found everything well equipped. We do always take on board guest feedback so that we can speak to the cleaning company about any dust you found, we are very sorry that this happened and will be taking steps to address it,thank you very much for letting us know, it is much appreciated as were your excellent comfort facilities and maintenance scores. Sykes have also reached out to you for more information about where you saw dust, but have regrettably not received a response. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathryn4.4Feb 2023

  • "The location of the house was great."

    If the house had been cleaned properly and a few repairs done ie broken bath panel and lock on back door difficult to open it would have been great.

    We can confirm that the bath panel has been replaced and new lino has also been put down in the bathroom. We are also liaising with the cleaning company and we are sorry if there was an issue during your stay. The back door issue has also been resolved. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William3.4Sep 2022

  • "This lovely house is in a very good location, near the beach, swimming pool, bus stops park etc."

    We had a comfortable stay there, our party was six adults a five year old a baby and a dog, we all had plenty of space the bedrooms are lovely. Could do with some new pillows but apart from that very nice. A nice garden that we did,nt actually use because we were out most of the time. Just a little note to the owners, I always take my own hoover when the dog comes on hols with us and when I had a quick hoover round on the second day the dust bucket was full to the top. There was a layer of dust on the shelves and furniture. Maybe you should check your cleaners. Also we had a look to see what bins our neighbors had put out and put ours out but unfortunately they were not emptied. Perhaps a little more info as to what one to put out when. Other than that we had a great stay and would love to come again.

    We are pleased your family had a great time. We are also happy to reassure that the pillows and hoover have been replaced and it should now be emptied regularly. There is info at the property about which bin is for recycling and one for waste and binmen are supposed to come into the garden for waste collection, I am sorry if on this occasion this did not happen. We're glad it didn't spoil your stay and we would love you to visit us again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James4.1Aug 2022

  • "Just a little TLC needed here and there."

    appreciate it must be difficult to keep up to speed during a busy season.

    Many thanks for your comments and understanding and we are pleased that you gave us top cleanliness scores, and we are constantly improving the property. Many thanks for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Judith4.4Aug 2022

  • "The weather really helped us have a great stay as we were able to enjoy the outdoor space at every opportunity."

    First thing in the morning with coffee right up to sunset with a glass of wine. The patio was covered which protected us from the one and only shower of rain but also sheltered us from the beating sun. The garden is lovely and completely closed off meaning our dog could roam around free without us worrying if he could escape. Our one and only complaint was that one of the previous inconsiderate and irresponsible tenants did not clean up after their dog each day so there was at least a weeks worth of dog doo covering the lawn when we arrived. Unfortunately the cleaners did not notice this so we spent the first half hour picking it up. This was reported to both Sykes and the owners for which we received an apology. This did not spoil our stay. The beds and sofas were comfy. All the bedrooms were bright and airy. One of which even had a sink which was handy for our friend who didn’t get to choose the en-suite. The kitchen was well equipped and we were able to prepare our own meals each evening with ease. We were able to connect our streaming stick and game console to the TV so we had plenty of evening entertainment. The downstairs loo in the garage was handy as it meant we didn’t have to go upstairs every time. The house is just a 10 min walk to Peasholm Park or across the road down to the beach. Both are great for walking the dog. Overall we had a great stay and this will be our first choice next time we return to Scarborough.

    Thank you for your lovely comments and yes absolutely if we are made aware of an issue we will do everything possible to right it as fast as possible. We are sorry the oversight had occurred. We're glad you found the property bright airy and comfy and we look forward to you visiting again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robin4.7Jun 2022

  • "The holiday home is lovely and spacious in a good location."

    We enjoyed the local parks, beach and town, all within walking distance. The kitchen had everything we could have needed. The additional fridge freezer in the garage was very useful. The garden is safe and secure. We particularly enjoyed the en-suite loft room as the primary guests. Maintenance is however a significant issue. The sofas (stink) in the lounge as well as some if the dining chairs (falling apart) urgently need to be replaced. The oven needs a deep clean, although there is a liner, guests before us had saturated this and underneath this in oil, thus smoking out the entire house when in use and creating a fire hazard. The shower in the family bathroom is unusable, the holder and temperature gauge broken (stuck on constant scalding). The shower tray in the en-suite is also blocked. The mattresses also are probably the worst we have ever slept on. We do usually clean before we leave but the hoover also has no suction.

    Thank you for your feedback, We can confirm that the dining chairs have been replaced, the sofas and oven have been cleaned thoroughly, thank you for letting us know. The hoover has been replaced as has the shower and we have consulted with a plumber about the shower drainage - it may occasionally be slightly slow but is operational. We would like to reassure you that the mattresses are of good quality and have been checked with no issue found, we do appreciate however that mattresses can be personal preference. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise3.8Jun 2022

  • "This is a spacious property in a great location with Peasholm park, the open air theatre and Alpamarle water park all within easy walking distance and the bus stop just outside."

    For us with young children we found it good that it is adequately furnished but without to many things we were scared would get broken. A few niggles, the shower gets very hot and I couldn't adjust it, couldn't get freesat though the BT vision gave us all we needed and we couldn't get the hockey puck to work. One on the list to revisit in the future.

    Thank you for your feedback and great comfort, facilities and cleanliness scores. We can confirm we have replaced the shower. The property is indeed ideally located for local facilities and public transport and we look forward to you coming back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stuart4.7May 2022

  • "Everything at the property was as expected and met our expectations except for the "Ground-floor cloakroom with basin and WC" and "Utility"."

    We were very disappointed with the Ground-floor cloakroom with basin and WC" as having 2 young grandchildren with us we expected this would be beneficial. However the toilet was through the garage via a heavy fire proof door and not suitable for young children and the basin was no longer to be used as regulations did not allow water as the gas boiler was located there. The Utility was actually the garage and had no washing facilities in it, it did have the large Fridge/Freezer and Washing Machine. The location itself was excellent with easy access to all the North Bay facilities and sea shore. We had a very enjoyable extended family holiday here.

    Thank you for your comments, it is a utility area in the garage rather than a bespoke utility room but we do find guests enjoy the extra amenity. We will of course look at the advert wording regarding the cloakroom, thank you and we are glad you still enjoyed your stay and thank you for the top comfort and cleanliness scores as we do strive to maintain the property for guest comfort. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.1Apr 2022

  • "The house is lovely and close to the beach but there was a very overpowering ..."

    The house is lovely and close to the beach but there was a very overpowering smell in the living room witch was impossible to get rid off even when I bought some fabric freshener, also sofa is very uncomfortable and stinky, even bed in master bathroom was lumpy so had to move to loft bedroom witch was better but apart from that we enjoyed our holiday

    Thank you for your feed back and now we are able to respond to your comments I would just like to apologies for the smell. We have now had chance to give all the soft furnishings in the living room a good deep clean with an industrial cleaner and this has fixed the issue. We have also placed polite notices to anyone visiting with a dog that they should not be allowed on furniture and they should be dried before entering the carpeted areas. It is unfortunate that some dog owners had not done this in the first place and therefore impacted on your stay. With regards to the mattresses we have made a check on these and they have all been rotated. They are all still relatively new mattresses and having stayed over the winter on some occasions our selves and haven't encountered an issue however we do apologies for your encounter. We are pleased you still enjoyed your holiday. Best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma3.1Oct 2021

  • "The property was acceptable and generally well kept."

    The beds were comfortable and clean. The location was good. I knew when I booked the property that it was dog friendly, but the sofas and living room had a distinct wet dog smell. It really was not pleasant. I feel that the sofas and carpet should be regularly professionally cleaned to combat that issue. I would definitely not book a dog friendly property in the future but acknowledge that maybe it’s normal for this to be an issue where dogs are allowed.

    Thank you for your feed back and now we are able to respond to your comments I would just like to apologies for the smell. We have now had chance to give all the soft furnishings in the living room a good deep clean with an industrial cleaner and this has fixed the issue. We have also placed polite notices to anyone visiting with a dog that they should not be allowed on furniture and they should be dried before entering the carpeted areas. It is unfortunate that some dog owners had not done this in the first place and therefore impacted on your stay. We really do apologies for this. Best wishes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debby3.8Oct 2021

  • "The accommodations was perfectly located close to the beach and local attractions."

    Great experience

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Apr 2021

  • "Lovely house in a great location."

    Reviewed by Chris4.7Dec 2020

  • "There was a really bad fishy odour in the back bedroom of the first floor."

    We had to leave the window open each day to make it bearable which was disappointing. The en-suite shower and family bathroom sink are very slow draining. Some oven gloves in the kitchen would be helpful. Otherwise really good accommodation for our family

    Reviewed by Lis3.4Oct 2020

  • "Very covid safe, lots of care taken."

    Back garden safely enclosed for children & dogs. Great location with regular buses right outside. Lovely neighbours too!

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Oct 2020

  • "Brilliant location to explore surrounding area"

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2020

  • "The venue was perfect, exactly as described and very clean."

    It was much better than we could have hoped for. Very well equipped and perfect for our golfing holiday. Thank you. The only dissapointment is the significant price increase booking for next year, and not offered our £40 discount for the voucher sent to us to build loyalty

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Sep 2020

  • "House is not child friendly as there was a open fireplace with stones on the grate which a toddler can get hold off."

    The living room smells of wet animals and the furniture was really dirty in the living room,A note had been left on one of the dinning chairs (damage do not use ) This should have been removed and replaced with a chair ASAP as was not enough chairs for us all to sit round the table to eat .And I think a tumble dryer would be great to have at the house

    Reviewed by Susan3.4Aug 2020

  • "The first floor bedroom blinds in all three rooms were inadequate."

    Would be better with roller blinds. Lot's of traffic noise from the very busy road late into the night. The garage area where the toilet and refrigerator were was very untidy. No means of operating the tap in the toilet although there was a hand sanitizer outside the toilet. The lawn area in the back garden was more like a meadow, (grass required cutting). The BBQ was not as expected, obviously built to take a tray and a grill. These were long gone. Big piece of glass stored in the rear garden. Not safe with children about. Not enough current information about local bus timetables etc. The recycle bin was full from previous occupants, the bin also had incorrect items inside, (used nappies etc.). I placed the excess recyclable items in a bin bag for collection with the bin. This was not taken it is now in the bin to add to the next occupants waste. Maybe more information about recycling would help. It was a very nice house, lovely beds, nice bedrooms. Pity the maintenance has let it down.

    Reviewed by John3.1Aug 2020

  • "Some places had quite a lot of dust ,under beds on blinds and under tv other ..."

    Some places had quite a lot of dust ,under beds on blinds and under tv other than needing a good deep clean on and under surfaces house was great perfect location and very comfortable hand sanatiser at door was good idea

    Reviewed by Lorna4.4Jul 2020

  • "Lovely house, very clean."

    Big garden, patio area is a real sun trap in the late afternoon. Lovely big rooms and very comfy beds. Everything we needed in the house, only thing we couldn't find was a cutting board in the kitchen. Great location, especially with the pub over the road that allows dogs in the bar area. Will definitely be staying there again.

    Reviewed by Lindsey5.0Jul 2020

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday."

    The house is in a prime location, and is a lovely lay out. Kitchen is well appointed, and the extra fridge is very handy. Bathrooms clean and great sizes. We had a great time. Our only disappointment was that despite calling before the holiday to arrange the beds in two rooms being split into twins this wasn't done. So we had to have two adults and two children in one room, which was a squeeze to say the least and did not make for restful sleep, so that non couple adults wouldn't have to share a bed.

    Reviewed by Gemma4.7Feb 2020

  • "We needed a base for the family to visit an elderly relative who is in a care home 10 mins walk from Burniston Road."

    We know Scarborough and visit regularly. The house provided us with a warm, home from home base whilst visiting and enjoying the area. The house was warm and well equipped.

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Feb 2020

  • "Very happy with our stay at 53 Burniston Road."

    Experienced some difficulty with sink taps in bedroom above garage. Maybe this should have been mentioned by previous holiday makers. Would be easily remedied by your handyman replacing worn tap washers.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jan 2020

  • "Sometimes problems occur - life isn't perfect."

    When we arrived at our cottage the heating and hot water had failed. Sykes and the owner responded quickly and temporary repairs were made to the boiler. The owner didn't want us to be worrying about further problems over Christmas so arranged to have a new boiler installed the next day, with little disruption to us. We then had no further problems. This on top of a generous welcome pack and a beautifully decorated house made our Christmas a good one. This was going the extra mile. Thank you Kev and Helen and Sykes.

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Dec 2019

  • "Property is excellent but equally appreciated good pub and food opposite and ..."

    Property is excellent but equally appreciated good pub and food opposite and easy walk through local parks down to the sea

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Nov 2019

  • "Great location lovely property would definately go back couple of small things ..."

    Great location lovely property would definately go back couple of small things to be considered can opener and grater in kitchen and different curtains in bedroom on front due to main road

    Reviewed by Cliff4.7Oct 2019

  • "Had to buy a stair gate."

    A lovely house with lots of room and ver comfortable. Very clean and keen cleaners ready on the dot of 10am to make it lovely for the next visitors.

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0Oct 2019

  • "Great location, a home from home !"

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Sep 2019

  • "Lovely and clean, beds are big and comfortable and the location is great for exploring the area."

    Not many homes have this much parking space, so it's ideal for a large family in a couple of cars. There were a few bits and pieces that needed fixing the week we were there - if these were sorted, it would be a perfect stay.

    Reviewed by Marie4.7Sep 2019

  • "Comfy beds and nice towels, pillows and bedding."

    Great extras like dishwasher powder and cling film. Great location for. North bay Plenty of bathroom facilities for the 8 of us. Enclosed garden for dog. Only suggestion which is personal preference it would be nice to have tv in all bedrooms.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Jul 2019

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Four bedrooms; 1 x second-floor double (zip/link beds, can be made into twins on request) with an en-suite, with a walk-in shower, basin and WC, 2 x double (zip/link beds, can be made into twins on request), 1 x double with double stacker bed available
  • Bathroom with corner bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen with electric oven, gas hob
  • Dishwasher, washing machine, fridge in kitchen, plus an American fridge/freezer in garage
  • Lounge which flows through to a dining room.
  • Fast stable wifi and TV with BT Vision box which has Amazon Prime Video, Netflix apps etc
  • Guests will need their own accounts to log in to apps and please do remember to log out before departure
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Gas central heating, fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Rear enclosed garden with decked patio, table and chairs
  • One pet welcome, with a second on request
  • Off-road parking with 3 spaces and indoor storage space for golf, angling or water sports equipment
  • The property is opposite Alpamare water park with wave pool, water slides and wellness spa
  • You can be at North Bay Beach and Peasholm Park within minutes
  • The nearby public transport links are also excellent for guests who aren't driving
  • There is a railway station 0.3 miles away
  • There is a bus stop nearby for the Transdev Coastliner route to Whitby
  • The Coastliner also runs to Yorkshire's Food Capital Malton, then on to York
  • The open theatre which hosts musical events is within walking distance
  • The property is perfect for families,sports guests,nature and animal lovers,birdwatchers and history buffs
  • Sealife is less than a mile away with a seal sanctuary, otters and penguins etc
  • Flamingoland is also within easy reach
  • Bempton Cliffs is an RSPB nature reserve with viewing platforms to watch the Puffins, Gannets and Guillemots (seasonal)
  • The Sports Village is only a 10 minute drive with football pitch, gym, virtual cycling and sports hall for table tennis,badminton and netball
  • Surf and Kayaking lessons are also available locally The sustrans national cycling route runs through Scarborough and even to Rievaulx Abbey with the Cleveland Way popular for walkers
  • Scarborough Castle is nearby and Flamborough has the oldest operational lighthouse in the UK
  • The stately home Castle Howard where Brideshead Revisited was filmed, is only 31 miles away
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Local surf shop
  • Pub and shop within 0.1 mile

The property

Boasting a superb position within the popular seaside resort of Scarborough is this well-presented property, 53 Burniston Road.

This wonderful retreat has been designed to offer a traditional coastal getaway for a family of all ages and tastes, with a well-equipped base to come back to each evening.

The contemporary-styled accommodation comes with four spacious bedrooms, offering a flexible sleeping arrangement to suit any group.

The master bedroom rests on the second-floor and boasts a stylish en-suite, complete with a walk-in shower, basin and WC, whilst on the first-floor you will find a standard double and two double bedrooms with zip/link beds.

After an action-packed afternoon, look forward to spending your down time within the sitting room, where you can curl up on the plush sofas with your loved ones to plan the days ahead or tune into the TV to catch up on all of your favourite TV shows.

Beyond here, is the formal dining area where you and your family can settle down to tuck into a delicious home-cooked meal that was prepared within the amply equipped kitchen, where the designated chef of the group will be delighted to find all the necessities you will need to cater for yourselves.

To the outside, you will find a well-kept garden area, where you can enjoy a spot of al fresco dining whilst catching the last glimpses of sunshine during the summer months.

If you can tear yourself away from this home from home, venture into the centre of Scarborough, where you will find a selection of restaurants, pubs and takeaways to satisfy all requirements, as well as a selection of shops for picking up the essentials.

Moreover, Scarborough houses a selection of attractions to keep a family of all ages entertained.

For younger guests, there is the SEA LIFE aquarium, Luna Park and the long stretches of sand of North Bay and South Bay.

For adults, there is a wonderful golf course with sea views, the medieval castle and prison and the Scarborough Spa.

53 Burniston Road is a refreshing base for a traditional coastal getaway.

View on map

About the location


Pickering 17 miles; Whitby 20 miles; York 40 miles.

Popular since Victorian times, the vibrant seaside town of Scarborough retains many of its original fine buildings, parks and gardens, as well as its historic castle which overlooks the town. North Bay and South Bay provide two superb stretches of beautiful, golden sandy beaches, popular with families and small children. There are a number of child friendly activities and many excellent visitor attractions for grown-ups too, including the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Scarborough Open Air Theatre for live music. Scarborough is a great location for outdoor activities, with golf courses, lovely coastal walks along the Cleveland Way, stunning cycle routes such as the old railway to Whitby, beautiful sailing and championship quality surfing. Add to this all the usual seaside entertainment and bustling promenades located close to the beach and Scarborough is the destination with something for everyone. Ideally situated for touring the coastline and the moors, Scarborough is an ideal base for a fun-filled break.

View more holiday cottages in Scarborough

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas