In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 16 minutes ago

  • The Perks - (Ref. 977925)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.


1 of 20 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • The Perks - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 977925 - photo 1

The Perks

Scarborough, North York Moors & Coast (Ref. 977925)



Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

27 Customer Reviews

  • "Really enjoyed our stay at the perks ."

    Just a couple of points, the cooker is sloping forward, also the oven doesn’t cook very well unless you put it to the hottest setting.( this could be operator error!) The beds are very soft, some of us would of preferred firmer mattresses. The garden is lovely but needed a good tidy. None of this has stopped us from booking to go back later this year

    Reviewed by SharonMay 2022

  • "The property is in a very poor state, kitchen cupboards full of odd chipped crockery oven trays were disgusting and unusable."

    Lounge furniture is very old,uncomfortable and dirty. Only good thing is location and comfortable beds

    Thank you for your feedback. We have checked the crockery and have disposed of the two chipped plates, leaving more matching items. The oven trays have also been replaced. The lounge seating has been replaced. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PollyNov 2021

  • "Perks was not covid clean 3 hours was taken from our holiday for extra cleaning."

    we arrived at 4.55 pm kitchen floor was still wet no warning sign left. Black grease spots on the floor in front of kitchen units. Food/ drink spilled down the bottom cupboard doors if door handles had been sanitised how was this missed. Opened top cupboard door left of the cooker and biscuit ? crumbs fellout. Oven trays still had bits of food on them which someone else had complained about they were only fit for the bin we bought one to use and left it for the next guest to use..Kitchen table was stained probably food chairs had dust at the back of the seats .remotes not sanitised and bagged which is part of covid cleaning binoculors have a layer of dust on them as most of the window sills .We cleaned the kitchen and sanitised all the handles were not confident this had been done stains easily cleaned off the table and doors.You need to find new cleaners we didn,t bother to phone the owner if cleaners cannot clean properly why fetch them back

    Thank you for your comments. I am sorry there were cleaning problems in the kitchen. Access is from 5.00pm. If you had contacted us, we would have ensured that the problems were rectified as well as becoming aware of any problem. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LindaSep 2021

  • "We have stayed several times here but this was not good at all."

    The house was only minimally cleaned, we found dust and grime everywhere. On check out day we had to leave early, but 2 of our party were catching the train at 2pm so were in no rush to leave. The cleaners still hadn’t shown up at 10.30 when they eventually left, which together with the 2 of them turning up early on check in day and finding no one there therefore getting in early also, answers the question why the place wasn’t cleaned to a decent standard - the cleaners were definitely not doing COVID standard. A shame really as we have enjoyed our holidays here otherwise.

    Reviewed by GeraldineAug 2021

  • "We have stayed in The Perks on numerous occasions now and it never fails to deliver."

    We love the house and the location is amazing. Each time we visit we notice that the owners have made little improvements to the house and the lovely garden. On arrival the house was lovely and clean and tidy, and it’s so useful that all the linen and towels are included for us. The kitchen is really well equipped and there are plenty of things to keep the kids entertained - my 2 year old is obsessed with cars and loved playing with his toys on the little road map carpet that is in the children’s room. A home away from home and an excellent base for a big family looking to enjoy all that Scarborough has to offer.

    Reviewed by KimberleyJul 2021

  • "When we arrived the place was extremely below par in cleanliness."

    It looked like the cleaners, if they turned up wore blindfolds. We sent an email to the owners the next day because we found all the oven trays were not remotely clean (did not eat in accommodation until Sunday morning). We found sweet wrappers on the floor, crumbs in the cracks of the furniture in the living room. There should be a warning sign tape in between the kitchen and conservatory as there is a step. There are cobwebs in the bathroom and the shower tray was grubby. In general throughout the property was caked in dust on the top surfaces. There was evidence that the kitchen floor had been mopped. The toaster wants throwing in a tip as it was useless. The grill kept cutting out and we had to cook sausages in the oven instead. The dvd collection in the cupboard was half empty (empty cases on the shelves). Apparently the cleaners are Sykes approved. We have used Sykes for 10+ years and we have now booked our next years holiday through somebody else due to this bad experience and it is unlikely we will be back. This review will be going on trust pilot shortly

    Thank you for your feedback we are sorry the property was not as you expected. We do take feedback comments seriously and all comments have been addressed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SteveJul 2021

  • "On arrival cleanliness was very poor, we had to hoover throughout and wash the bedding."

    Garden overgrown until penultimate day when gardeners just let themselves in to the rear garden whilst we were at home.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found some cleanliness issues during your stay and would have done our best to address this if you had let us know. We are in touch with the cleaner over this to ensure it does not happen again. The gardener visits every 2 weeks but we do not have set times so he normally just knocks to let guests know he is there but otherwise doe not like to cause any disturbance; sorry for any upset caused. We hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by IanJun 2021

  • "No hot water when we arrived was not covid clean thick layer of dust in sitting ..."

    No hot water when we arrived was not covid clean thick layer of dust in sitting room area furniture very shabby grime round the bathroom taps very bad lighting in the kitchen

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found some cleanliness issues during your stay. We are in touch with the cleaner over this to ensure it does not happen again. The gas engineer was sent around and thhe hot water issue has been addressed but we apologise for any inconvenience caused at the start of your stay. We hope you enjoyed your holiday otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristineJun 2021

  • "Lovely house and garden,fully enclosed so great for dog and 2 1/2 year old."

    All the things you might need. Close to sealife at north of town. 10 min walk to beach. Had a great time.

    Reviewed by NeilJun 2021

  • "Both of my parents are older and they needed their car to get about due to the location."

    For our teenagers and ourselves we would not have needed our car at all. The garden is a delight and fully enclosed for any dog ( if my parents dog didn’t get out - no dog will get out). The heating is excellent. The kitchen has loads of utensils. There’s always parking on the road if you don’t want to use the long drive. We lost a key and the owners could not have been more understanding helping make to upset children feel better.

    Reviewed by KateMay 2021

  • "We have stayed at The Perks before and it was lovely to return to this warm and welcoming home."

    It’s a roomy house ideal for a large family with a secure garden at the rear if you take a dog with you. The house is well equipped very clean and well maintained,It’s well situated just 10 minutes from Scarborough town centre by car ,there is a bus service fairly close by. Locally there are several attractions including a small gauge railway running from the sealife centre to Peasholm park a beautiful oriental themed park well worth a visit. The area has lots of lovely walks some leading down to the beach. There are several large superstores in Scarborough town centre the centre itself is great for a days shopping. Looking forward to returning soon

    Reviewed by PaulineApr 2021

  • "The house was so spacious,clean and very comfortable."

    A lovely calm feeling from the moment we entered, everything you could need was provided, we will definately be booking again if we could give more than 10 stars we would, thank you for making our holiday so memorable.

    Reviewed by JasonOct 2020

  • "Enjoyed holiday very much sitting on decking with sea view was great very ..."

    Enjoyed holiday very much sitting on decking with sea view was great very comfortable like home from home dog loved it Garden was brilliant

    Reviewed by SandraSep 2020

  • "Already booked the same property again for next summer."

    Will keep coming back again and again! Very happy, thank you.

    Reviewed by KimberleyAug 2020

  • "Good large property."

    Garden is excellent.

    Reviewed by SusanAug 2020

  • "A really comfortable holiday home, although the decor is slightly dated, the kitchen facilities and contents were fantastic - enough crockery, cutlery and cooking pots to satisfy the biggest group and having two bathrooms is a great asset."

    Garden is big, plenty of space for dogs or children to play and explore. Certainly enough car parking for three cars along the drive. The location is brilliant, a literal stone throw from the beach (3 1/2 mins walk) so ideal for dogs and children. The 'old Scalby Mill' is a lovely friendly pub same distance away (a bit further home as its up hill) it has a good bar food menu and dogs are allowed. Its a a very short walk to North bay and Peasholme Park. and a nearby bus stop to get to the old town and South Bay, could manage easily for a weekend without a car. However this is also a good base to explore other coastal towns and villages such as Filey, Whitby or Bridlington if you have the time. Certainly well worth a visit.

    Reviewed by SheelaghDec 2019

  • "The house is well appointed for the quieter end of the resort of Scarborough the beach is just five minutes walk, in fact once you have arrived the car can become redundant we hardly used ours, walking the dogs, us and children straight from the front door."

    The garden was a little wet as we were here at Christmas but no doubt in the warmer months it would be super to sit out in and relax. The house is certainly not the most swish modern place available, but very warm and clean just what we required. The kitchen is very well equipped and the house has plenty of comfortable seating to relax and chat or watch T.V, the family room bedroom has a little damp over the window which is caused by the exterior crack above the lintel to the front elevation, but our Grandchildren loved it in their dorm room. We had a fabulous family Christmas week.

    Reviewed by MarkDec 2019

  • "The views from the bedroom windows was fab and it was a nearer walk to the beach than I thought."

    On the downside the garden room roof leaked when it rained and the boiler went out 5 times whilst we were there. We contacted the owner who told us what to do luckily my husband was able to sort it, parts are ordered owner tells us. But there was everything you needed to make a good holiday. The house was very cosy when cold outside and much bigger than we thought. Would go again. Owner very responsive and helpful

    Reviewed by DawnOct 2019

  • "The Perks is really lovely ."

    Its very clean and comfortable with everything you need .the garden is dog proof so two happy dogs .A very short walk to the beach and a lovely little pub just 5 minutes away that does lovely food .we will rebook the perks again

    Reviewed by ValerieMay 2019

  • "The property made the holiday especially with the inclement weather."

    We would definitely consider staying again.

    Reviewed by PaulMay 2019

  • "The house is warm and cosy and there is everything you need."

    View to the bay and castle is stunning. Quiet area close to all amenities Perfect if you are looking for a relaxing holiday with your dogs.

    Reviewed by StephenMar 2019

  • "The accommodation was in walking distance to the beach and pub."

    The only problem that we had was having to keep our dogs on leads as there was only the beach for them to run about on (only this time of year).

    Reviewed by LouiseOct 2018

  • "The location was ideal and the views were stunning."

    Quiet neighborhood and very friendly neighbours .Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by KevinOct 2018

  • "House was everything as described on sykes website clean tidy ,well kept garden,plenty of extra bedding if needed"

    Reviewed by DavidSep 2018

  • "Lovely house."

    Would love to visit again.

    Reviewed by DebraAug 2018

  • "Some minor repairs required in the property,shower head attachment in downstairs bathroom broken,window in upstairs bathroom unable to open due to dodgy catch."

    The pillows were very uncomfortable. Everything else fine,we did have a very enjoyable holiday.

    Reviewed by VanessaJul 2018

  • "What a lovely house, big garden for all the family to enjoy."

    Great location , lots to do in the area.

    Reviewed by MaggieMay 2018

Show more


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x family room with 1 adult bunk and 2 singles and 2 x king-size double
  • Bathroom with hand-held shower and basin
  • Ground floor shower room with basin and WC
  • First floor WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with gas fire
  • Conservatory.
  • Gas central heating, gas fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available on request
  • Off road parking for 3 cars
  • Rear enclosed garden with lawn and patio with furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub 5 minute walk, shop 12 minute walk
  • Gardener attends once a fortnight and the window cleaner attends once a month.

The property

The Perks is a conveniently located, semi-detached house set just a short walk from the popular beach at Scarborough in North Yorkshire.

With the excellent facilities of one of England's oldest seaside resorts right on your doorstep, this is a fine choice for a much-deserved family getaway.

Enter the property into a traditional-style kitchen/diner, a well-equipped room with charming cream units giving it a fresh finish.

Next to this rests a cosy little garden room set with comfortable seating overlooking the splendid garden.

As well as an immaculate white shower room, the ground floor contains a pleasant sitting room warmed by a gas fire and with plenty of seating for the family to gather around for an evening of films and games.

Head upstairs to reveal three comfortable bedrooms; a family room sleeping four people is perfect for the children to enjoy a sleepover whilst a king-size and a double room are perfect for couples.

The interior concludes with a fresh bathroom and a separate WC.

Relish in the refreshing sea breeze from the comfort of your own garden, a lawn and a delightful patio make for a delightful spot to sit and soak up the sun.

A short stroll presents you with the wealth of amenities and activities of Scarborough as it offers traditional seaside entertainment as well as a Sea Life Sanctuary, the Alpamare Waterpark and a golf course.

Nearby are other popular tourist destinations such as Whitby, Pickering and the astounding city of York.

The North York Moors National Park is a haven for lovers of nature and scenery.

Come to The Perks to enjoy spectacular coastline, countryside and a multitude of attractions.

View on map

About the location


Pickering 17 miles; Whitby 20 miles; York 40 miles.

Popular since Victorian times, the vibrant seaside town of Scarborough retains many of its original fine buildings, parks and gardens, as well as its historic castle which overlooks the town. North Bay and South Bay provide two superb stretches of beautiful, golden sandy beaches, popular with families and small children. There are a number of child friendly activities and many excellent visitor attractions for grown-ups too, including the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Scarborough Open Air Theatre for live music. Scarborough is a great location for outdoor activities, with golf courses, lovely coastal walks along the Cleveland Way, stunning cycle routes such as the old railway to Whitby, beautiful sailing and championship quality surfing. Add to this all the usual seaside entertainment and bustling promenades located close to the beach and Scarborough is the destination with something for everyone. Ideally situated for touring the coastline and the moors, Scarborough is an ideal base for a fun-filled break.

View more holiday cottages in Scarborough

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it