- Electric vehicle charging
- Hot tub
- Off road parking
- Open fire
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Washing machine
- Games Room
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
16 Customer Reviews
"Property is in a lovely location and configuration worked well for our group."
Some minor maintenance issues that we left detail of for the management company (details that they may not have discovered eg cooler hood light not working, corkscrew not working and a need for a new set of kitchen knives). Hopefully these have been rectified for future guests. We had a really enjoyable and comfortable stay and would like to return.
"We had a fantastic stay."
The house was everything we thought it would be & more. Have gone to a lot of trouble to make it homely. Very clean & very well equipped. If I had to say anything negative it would be an information book of what is around the area, supermarkets near by etc. also could of had a better Christmas tree & certainly in the lounge as well as dining room, but that’s personal choice, certainly not a reflection on the house. Will certainly return & hopefully in the summer months
"An excellent property in a beautiful village, however, sadly let down by the state of cleanliness and attention to detail."
On arrival it was obvious hoovering had not been done properly. The large black beam up the stairs to the attic room was covered in thick dust, as were numerous windowsills about the property. The vacuum didnt work and was left half filled with dust. There were no logs or kindling for the fire when there should have been! (Listing) A hearth set would have been appreciated but there was none provided. The ironing board was broken and could not stand up. There were no soaps in all the hand wash dispensers in any of the three bathrooms. We contacted NCCC by phone to complain about the lack of wood/soap and vacuum cleaner ( REF NO COR-351518-CF Dated 10/11/23) A lady arrived the following morning with a replacement vacuum, some wood and kindling and soap. She also gave us a bottle of wine to accompany her profuse appologies which was much appreciated. Clearly the cleaning company is not doing its job properly, including supervision. This seems to be a common issue with this property reading others past reviews! On a more positive note we found the property warm and comfortable with ample room for 7 of us and overall was well equipped. The hot tub was a definite bonus in the cold weather and was well maintained. Next doors dog fouled on the driveway in front of our cars, we cleaned it up, this has happened before according to previous reviews. We would still however recommend this lovely house and area as a place to holiday.
Thank you for your feedback. Firstly we are so pleased you had a great time and it’s great to hear you would recommend treetops. We have had intermittent issues with the hoover and have now changed it. We have also changed our cleaner and we have put steps in place to resolve the remaining issues. Glad you enjoyed the property and the hot tub. Property Owner
"Oozes quality in every respect."
Only issue was that the toaster did not work.
Thanks so much for the great feedback! Sorry the toaster wasn't working. It has now been replaced. Property Owner
"The holiday property was very spacious, ideally suited us for locational visits, comfortable and relaxing Facilities were good but we found the vacuum cleaner was not working, contacted Sykes who arranged for caretaker to visit, he did and loaned us one of his own."
Cleanliness of property not found to be the greatest cobwebs in our room and dust on shelves in kitchen, wooden floors although looked clean my socks and children's feet from walking on them were not too clean Attic room the floor in front of shower very unsteady There was a lovely selection of books, the seating was most comfortable and the hot tub used by the family was checked regularly and the service person friendly and acknowledged Overall we had a wonderful holiday and would stay at Treetops again
Thank you for leaving us your feedback – we are really pleased that you had a good time at Treetops and would return. We have resolved the issue with the flooring in the bathroom and we are really disappointed to see your feedback on cleaning. We have seen some huge improvements in the cleaning feedback, and we will address the concerns you have raised. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner
"We had a lovely time at Treetops, it was clean, tidy and very well equipped."
The property and area are stunning. We noticed previous reviews mentioned the top floor bed creaks, it really does, to the point it disturbs your sleep. It is only on one side, along the wooden frame and maybe could be rectified by putting a strip of wood between the frame and the floor, all along that side. We had an issue with the neighbour not cleaning up after their dog. We now understand a previous review stating the neighbours need a sign telling them to clear up after their dogs. The dog did its business in front of Treetops drive, right in front of our cars. We found this out the hard way, when someone stepped in it and took it inside the property on their shoes. We then had to check the front of the property for poop every day and clean up after their dog as well as our own, who we only allowed to do their business in the small grassy area at the side of the property and always cleaned up immediately. Apart from these 2 issues, our stay at Treetops was fantastic! We loved everything else about the property and highly recommend booking a stay here.
Thanks so much for the feedback! Its extremely useful. The bed has been fixed and we have had a word about the dog! The owners next door are really understanding and keeping an eye out. Property Owner
"We loved the size and space of the property and was great for our family."
Just a couple of niggles which could easily be put right. The surrounding area was great including great cafe and pub.
"It was awful."
Very dirty, not safe and a long list of maintenance issues. Can not believe we spent way over 2k on this house. We have never been so disappointed with a holiday house. So many previous guests have written in the guest book with the same comments but nothing has been done.We will be looking to leave reviews online somewhere that other potential guests can see so that no one wastes their own money in the future like we did.
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are incredibly disappointed to read about your experience and we know that you have been in touch with the NCCC office to resolve the concerns. We have owned this property for several years and have normally received great feedback about it and based on your experience we have taken steps to bring forward our end of summer season deep clean and ensure that all of the maintenance related queries have been resolved. Safety is also paramount to us. The gate you refer to is used for dog’s to remain safely in the areas away from bedrooms. This has been fixed. Property Owner
"Lovely property in a great location sadly in need of a good clean inside and out"
"Treetops cottage is very spacious and well maintained."
Lovely quiet area with a great pub in walking distance. My only negative comment is that it would have been nice to have something to wash up with like a cloth and some washing up liquid and maybe a dishwasher tablet or two until we could buy some. We have found that these are usually in a welcome pack but this cottage doesn’t supply one.This would not stop me booking again as I am now aware and would bring some with me.
Thanks very much for your feedback. We do normally provide a welcome pack so sorry this wasn't available. We have addressed this via Sykes. Very glad you enjoyed your stay! Property Owner
"Beautiful property in a stunning location."
Everything we needed was provided from champagne flutes to a book case full of books. It was an unexpected pleasure to find the house had been decorated for Christmas too. I’m sure we will be back.
"Amazing property on gorgeous setting hot tub was fab worked like a dream Something for all the family highly recommend"
"What an amazing property."
So much space and the hot tub was fantastic. Beautiful location for visiting other areas.
"Amazing property in lovely location!"
Really felt at home and comfortable. We all enjoyed the hot tub, pool room and the kids having their own space / TV games room. Felton is lovely with excellent pub (Northumberland Arms) and cafe. Great walks for dog too! Will be back!
"): Treetops is an excellent property in a lovely village."
The house is modern and very large, with plenty of room for everyone to have their own space. Everything seems to have been thought of in what is provided. The house is secluded but also situated very near to the centre of Felton, with The Northumberland Arms (excellent food) and The Running Fox bakery/cafe (also excellent) both 5 minutes walk away. We were there as a family of six and would all definitely recommend Treetops without any reservation.
"Accommodation excellent, hot tub worth the extra, good location for the whole area and local village."
This property is part of the Northumbria Coast and Country Cottages collection.
The number 1 choice and best value holiday cottages from the Northumberland specialists. Discover our beautiful county with us.
- Over three floors
- Four bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size (zip/link, can be twin on request) with en-suite with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x double, 1 x super-king-size (zip/link, can be twin on request), 1 x second-floor king-size with TV with en-suite with bath, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
- Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
- Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
- First-floor open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
- First-floor utility
- First- floor snug
- First-floor sunroom
- Games room
- Gas central heating
- Gas oven, grill and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
- 4 x TVs, Xbox, Sonos speaker, WiFi
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Travel cot and highchair available on request
- Private parking for 4 cars with electric car charging point
- Wraparound gardens, lawns, patio area, patio furniture, hot tub, storage for bikes
- Three well-behaved dogs welcome
- Sorry, no smoking
- Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.2 miles
- Note: Stairs up to first-floor may be difficult for those with limited mobility so please bear this in mind when booking
- Note: If you wish the super-king-size to be made up as a twin please let us know
- Note: Generous starter pack of logs provided with additional logs available in shops locally
- Note: Hot tub available for an additional supplement
- EV charging point available
- Note: Check-in time 5pm and check-out 9:30am
Resting in the peaceful village of Felton near Warkworth in Northumberland, Treetops is an outstanding three-storey property which offers spacious and immaculately presented accommodation, ideal for a large family on holiday or a gathering of family and friends.
Inside, the house is incredibly spacious and light and airy, helping to create a real feeling of grandeur and with so many rooms to choose from, whether you want to all gather in one space or want to get away from each other, it’s all covered at Treetops.
The open-plan living area on the first-floor is simply stunning with a cool sitting area set in front of a stylish, contemporary woodburning stove, an impressive fully fitted kitchen which is suitably extensive and will definitely keep the designated chef happy with all its facilities.
Leading off from the kitchen is a large, rustic dining table for everyone to gather and enjoy long, sociable meals together.
Alternative spaces to socialise include a snug, a sunroom and a games room complete with a 3-in-1 games table, perfect for kids (and big kids!) to get away from it all.
The wraparound gardens are a particular feature and lend themselves to spending lots of time alfresco with loads of space to explore and an attractive patio area where guests can chill out and relax.
A hot tub adds a truly glamorous finishing touch to the outside space and you can imagine spending many happy hours here just sitting back, relaxing and soaking up the views over the gardens.
This is what happy holiday memories are made of.
When it’s time for bed, all four bedrooms are superbly appointed with the choice of two super-king-sizes, a king-size and a double.
All offer a calming sanctuary where you can rest your weary heads and wake up refreshed and raring to go.
The pretty village of Felton is within a short walk and the castle at Alnwick is also close by as well as those all-important beaches.
Warkworth is known for being home to the dramatic ruins of a 12th century castle.
Its link to the past continues with the village’s selection of antique shops and galleries and it also has a beach and a golf course.
Attractions in the area worth visiting include Hadrian’s Wall, Bamburgh Castle, Holy Island, the Farne Islands and Alnwick Gardens.
Other beaches nearby worth packing a bucket and spade for include Alnmouth, Cresswell, Embleton and Newton Haven.
Time spent at Treetops is time well spent so make sure you book a visit to guarantee making happy holiday memories.
Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.
About the location
Alnwick 9.8 miles; Morpeth 10.8 miles.
The delightful villages of West Thirston and Felton are set in rural Northumberland, between Morpeth to the South and Alnwick to the North. The village has a shop with a post office, coffee shop, pub and restaurant with a beer garden. Just eight miles to the East is the sea-side port of Amble, hosting a variety of restaurants and eateries including the famous Spurelli’s Ice-cream parlour. To the West is the jewel in the crown of National Trust properties, Cragside, former home of Lord Armstrong and the first home to be powered by hydro-electricity. There is so much to see, do and experience in AONB Northumberland: miles of unspoilt beaches, coastline, countryside walks and cycling, historic castles, quaint fishing villages, market towns and other famous historical sites. Altogether a superb location for exploring Northumberland and its stunning heritage coastline.
Note: Stairs up to first-floor may be difficult for those with limited mobility so please bear this in mind when booking.
Note: If you wish the super-king-size to be made up as a twin please let us know.
Note: Starter pack of fuel provided with additional fuel available locally.
Note: Hot tub and EV charging point available for an additional supplement
Please note: Additional Hot Tub Supplement needs to be selected - £160 per week
Note: Check-in time 5pm and check-out 9:30am
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute