In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Scottish Lowlands 19 minutes ago

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Sea Spray - Scottish Lowlands - 977789 - photo 1
close

Sea Spray

(Ref. 977789)

Eyemouth, Scottish Borders Show on map

4.3

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • sea (27)
  • lovely (24)
  • location (23)
  • cottage (22)
  • great (19)
  • comfortable (19)

61 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely stay, property had everything needed for a comfortable stay."

    Loved the proximity to the beach. Pub and amusement arcade across the road but never heard anything from them at all. Co-op over the road, handy in case you need anything last minute and nice bakery along the road yum.

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Oct 2023

  • "The property was comfortable and warm, and conveniently located."

    I enjoyed my stay. I didn't find the property guide until partway through the week - it was hidden in the middle of a pile of stuff on the bookshelves. I didn't need to use the washing machine, but it was only after reading reviews from previous guests that I discovered where it was. Having hunted high and low for a dustpan and brush, I decided to look in the outside storage room to see if they might be in same location as washing machine. Success, of sorts. Also discovered the ironing board, having previously found 2 irons in the house. As other reviewers have said, the shower was a bit hit or miss as to whether you got water or not. Didn't attempt/wish to use TV, but no idea where the instructions for that might have been. Found the cooker instructions eventually.

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7Oct 2023

  • "Lovely, well equipped property."

    Comfortable beds & equally comfortable lounge with amazing sea view. Lovely modern bathroom with walk-in shower & all very clean. In close proximity to amenities - Co-op, beach, amusement arcade, harbour and various pubs & restaurants. We initially worried about the road & traffic noise as car park directly across road but we needn't have as it was very quiet. Small private back yard is an added bonus if you want to spend some time just chilling with a book or something. We would definitely make a return visit if in Eyemouth in the future.

    Thank you for your comments, it’s quirky and interesting, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kenneth5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in beautiful location."

    Just perfect

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Sep 2023

  • "Cottage was clean and comfortable and in an ideal location."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only negative was no bins you had to dispose of your rubbish in the public bins outside it was a bit of a chore; We parked in the car park opposite and had no problems. The Co-op is very handy and the bakery was a tempting stop everyday. We ordered some lovely crab rolls from the fish merchant down by the harbour. We also sampled the fish & chips and ice cream from Giacopazzi and it did not disappoint.

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Aug 2023

  • "This is a quirky cottage on the main street in Eyemouth with a view of the water across the car park."

    Central location with free parking across the street. We enjoyed having an outdoor area to sit but missed having a useable indoor dining option. The property was in need of a good declutter and deep clean. Many personal items left in cupboards and under kitchen sink. We had to wash any kitchen items before use due to food debris left top and bottom on items. Heavy feather duvets on beds were too hot for summer. The cottage has a lot of potential and a good clean up and clear out would go a long way.

    Thank you I note your comments, yes it’s my home so I always leave as much as possible, and I like plenty of things around the house, I have had it for about 20 years, my collections it’s quirky I agree Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ashley3.4Aug 2023

  • "Have a fantastic time at Seaspray ."

    It’s clean , it’s VERY comfortable beds gives you a great nights sleep .All you have to take is clothes and toiletries as everything you need is there . Every year we go Steve the owner has added new , the new cooker is fab as are the new seats . The only thing that is disappointing is that I have to leave . So yes cottage fantastic and area is fantastic. You can dine in or eat out plenty of choice . The locals are pretty fantastic too . All great

    Hi Liz pleased you had a lovely time, Thank you Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Jul 2023

  • "Excellent host provided quirky excellently equipped cottage."

    Everything you could need down to smallest detail. Great position next to promenade with sea view through car park but can still see boats. Answered a question promptly. Comfortable beds and nice bedding. Yard a god send for eating outside and for dog. Locally many places dog friendly and beach excellent. We would return and would strongly recommend it and have done to family and friends already

    Thank you Carol Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely accomodation."

    Very comfortable bedrooms and walking distance to shops, pubs and seafront..

    Reviewed by Rosemary5.0May 2023

  • "Cooker could have been a bit cleaner and microwave had a brown stain on bottom edge"

    Really sorry I did clean it myself only 2 weeks ago, I have decided to buy new cooker, thank you for your comment Property Owner

    Reviewed by William4.7Apr 2023

  • "Lovely location, easy to find."

    Everything we needed and host was helpful via text and fast to respond when we needed a few things. Heating fast to heat up the place and lovely and warm when we arrived. Key easy to find by front door in box with code. Bathroom was clean and nice, shower was decent. No bath, (no problem) - be great to have up to date photos on the listing. Lots of towels, most helpful. Beds not super comfy (either of them) and duvets very thick and bedding sweaty. We slept OK. We were so knackered from such a long drive up we needed to!! Couches / recliners in the lounge also not that comfy after about half an hour and knock your knees trying to sit at the lounge / dining table, not ideal - functional though! There is a large chest freezer in a shed accessed from the garden, which was most helpful for our frozen dog food! Thanks so much for this. Would be great to let folks know this in advance, (so we wouldn't have had to have bothered you!) as we had thought there was no freezer at first. This is a lovely option. Garden was really nice and totally dog friendly which was main reason we booked here. Super close to the sea and beach which was worth the extra drive. We had thought this was a house - it's actually on one level all ground floor split over 2 house fronts. Interesting and nice property. Finally, thank you so so very much for the late checkout this was hugely and very much appreciated. Sorry its taken so long to leave a review. Eyemouth was a lovely little town and we would book again if ever bak in the area. Thank you .

    Reviewed by Clare4.7Mar 2023

  • "A really stay."

    We were made to feel very welcome. Cottage was very comfortable and close to the beach. The Co-op supermarket was very convenient, but the other shops, especially the fish merchant at the harbour, were very good as well. I wasn't sure about the car park opposite the cottage and whether we could park there over the advertised time so moved the car along to the nearby 48 hour one.

    Yes it says that on the car park but there has never been a problem it free to park, Thank you lm pleased you had a nice stay Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Feb 2023

  • "Had lovely break very warm and comfortable."

    Good value for money, would go again, .

    Reviewed by Chris3.8Nov 2022

  • "The cottage was perfect for our holiday."

    It provided all you need for a comfortable stay. The location is ideal for the beach and seafront. It was also a good place to start on a short or longer walk along the coastal path. It was a good place to set out on a number bike routes both on and off-road. I would highly recommend this holiday cottage!

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Oct 2022

  • "Very dissapointing for a Sykes property."

    As someone who used Sykes for 4 yrs or so to market our own holiday property we booked this break on the back of our previous experience. Standards must be slipping

    Hello Mr Furguson I’m sorry you didn’t like my home, what suggestions do you have, until yours I’ve had good reviews, Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cameron1.6Oct 2022

  • "We had a lovely time in Eyemouth and Sea Spray was in a great location - really central but still quiet."

    We stayed in the back bedroom which was very peaceful and had the comfier bed, the front bedroom looks good but the bed was not. The photos on the website are completely out of date and need to be updated to give an accurate impression of the house. The shower room has been modernised and is gorgeous now (although the water feels like little daggers on your back and a shower caddy would be a handy addition). I appreciate that you are only left 'starters', but a full roll of towel roll would have been good. The kitchen was as expected and well equipped, although for us some oven tongs would have been useful (just a personal preference) as well as a 4 slice toaster. Some more bin bags would have been good too. We enjoyed the private courtyard (as did our dog) but feel it could benefit from a new table, as the one there is dropping rust everywhere. The bench and 2 chairs were comfy and well used though. We did enjoy our stay and would recommend Sea Spray, but feel with just a few relatively inexpensive additions it could be even better. The final thing we'd suggest is to update the house folder with more house and village information. . Steve, the owner did make contact with us which was nice and if we'd had any major problems I'd have felt fine with reaching out to him. Eyemouth is a great wee place (super dog friendly) with lots of nice walks, a fabulous beach, great pubs and restaurants and a well stocked co-op. Everything you need is close by

    Reviewed by Janet3.8Aug 2022

  • "Seventh year at seaspray !"

    Do I love it ? Yes . The cottage had a lot of renovations this year . Love the new shower room , new carpets , much better couch . The cottage is everything you could ask for with a private enclosed back yard ( sun trap ) . If you did have any problems then Steve the owner is very approachable and he does care . Cottage is clean , it is located beautifully and it’s very special . Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7Jul 2022

  • "We had a lovely time at the cottage, clean and welcoming and the outside space is a sun trap."

    Easy access to the beach and restaurants without having to go too far. Would definitely recommend this cottage and will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jul 2022

  • "Nice little cottage with private back courtyard was ideally situated."

    Had to be in touch re finding password for WiFi as although it was pinned to board it wasn't obvious so maybe make it clearer. Lovely sitting with a cuppa watching the changing sea from the sitting room. Cosy, quiet place. Ideal for totally relaxing. Handily positioned for exploring local area and coastal walks. Will definitely be back.

    Thank you Linda Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jul 2022

  • "The apartment is very comfortable, with new carpets in most rooms and a very warm and comfortable bed, and is very well equipped throughout."

    (although I would suggest the addition of a wee baking tray for heating pizza etc). I loved the fact that this property hasn't been bought as a holiday let, but has been a loved family home, which you can tell from the books and ornaments around the house. The views from the sitting room are stunning when the waves are smashing off the rocks and it gets almost hypnotic watching them. The enclosed back garden is extremely private and great for some morning coffee in quiet, which I really appreciated as the road the apartment sits on is quite busy (although with windows closed there's barely any road noise) I was a bit concerned about the car park on arrival (there's 2 pubs and an amusements around the car park) however, this concern was unfounded as there was barely any noise from any of the establishments and the car was totally fine the entire time. The drain in the shower runs quite slow when the shower is running - likely due to the age of the p

    Reviewed by June4.7Jun 2022

  • "Well situated for anyone with mobility problems."

    Pleasant surprise to be able to see the sea from the lounge window. Patio was a little sun trap and quite sheltered. Comfortable seating for 3 elderly adults which was ok for us but not if there had been a 4th person. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

    Reviewed by Shena5.0Jun 2022

  • "The reproaches of a certain shabbiness in some older reviews no longer apply: the house is now clean, cosy and well equipped."

    The living room is a bit small for four, but that is more than compensated for by the back yard, which is secluded, pleasant and quiet: you hear bird calls more than anything. With Eyemouth also being a fine place in a handy location, you have all you need for a good holiday. We'd happily rent this house again.

    Hello Diane Thank you for the feed back, as you mentioned I did a lot of updates last winter, I wasn’t sure about the seating in the lounge, I will re look at it this winter time, perhaps one more arm chair Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane5.0May 2022

  • "Cosy home from home, kinda old school in a nice way."

    The enclosed garden area was a wee suntrap and a great space for our dog to play safely. Kitchen is very well stocked with everything ! Good location for days out.

    Reviewed by David3.8May 2022

  • "Been to this property 3 times now, had an upgrade since before pandemic."

    Pleasantly surprised by upgrade to bathroom, and rest of flat brightened up. Lovely!! Back courtyard lovely!! Loved it. So comfy and so close to all amenities, straight across road from promenade! Will definitely recommend this place.

    Thank you Pleased you liked my upgrade Property Owner

    Reviewed by William5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely apartment- nice location, good communication with owner - only downside ..."

    Lovely apartment- nice location, good communication with owner - only downside was problems with the TV due to Ariel issues but only a minor point - would recommend this cottage

    Hi Alan Thanks I had a new lead fitted Thank you for letting me know Steve Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan3.8Apr 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely, the view amazing and interesting."

    The courtyard was so peaceful to sit in and the owner was very helpful. There was everything we needed in the cottage. Seating wasn't very comfortable in the lounge but we were mainly out anyway. I would book again and recommend Seaspray

    Reviewed by Kim4.7Mar 2022

  • "Love the changes the owner has made to the cottage."

    Its lovely and cosy and right in the heart of the town.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Mar 2022

  • "Lovely apartment in a great location."

    Ideal for what we needed and great for our dog for the beach.

    Hello Samantha I’m pleased you had a nice time, I have a concern as you mentioned cleanliness wasn’t up to the mark, I’m really interested in knowing why, what can I do better please, it’s that a couple of days earlier I had a full clean, deep clean thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha4.1Mar 2022

  • "The cottage was clean and very comfortable, it was great to sit and watch the sea from the living room."

    Great location for everything will definitely look to go again in the future.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Nov 2021

  • "Lovely warm cottage, short walk across the car park to the sands, fantastic location for dog owners."

    additional outside toilet was useful, short walk to Co Op which was open "all" hours, small town, busy harbour with seals, good pubs, everything a holiday maker wants. good energetic coastal walks, in both directions, and stunning scenery in the unspoilt Scottish Borders.

    Reviewed by Helen4.1Oct 2021

  • "Eyemouth is an excellent centre for a thoroughly relaxing holiday with Seaspray as a perfect hub to access all amenities and leisure activities with a sea view thrown in."

    Reviewed by Kathleen4.7Oct 2021

  • "Fantastic time again."

    the house is perfect for us and will definitely be back again. Has everything you need and more. Perfect location central for everything.

    Reviewed by Leanne5.0Oct 2021

  • "Sea spay had no upgrades in the two years it was closed, it is still basic Accomodation, and does not warrant the price hike for next year."

    We have chosen a much better cottage for next year with Sykes

    Reviewed by Jack2.2Sep 2021

  • "On arrival at 4pm the key codes that were provided didn’t work, as it happens one of the cleaners were still in the property so they let us in."

    The property was disappointing, it was not up to a standard that I expected from Sykes. It needs a deep clean, and refurbishing. There was dust on the wardrobe shelves, lamp shades, kitchen benches were sticky. There was no outside dustbin, we were asked to dispose of our rubbish in a public bin by the bus stop! Or take to the council recycling centre. We enjoyed Eyemouth and visited lots of local places and would return to the area.

    Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Seaspray. We are sorry to hear there was a problem on arrival with the faulty keybox, this was replaced as soon as we were made aware fo the issue. A deep clean had been conducted the week before you arrived at the property, if you had let us know about this when we contacted you recommeding different walks in the area, as well as nice restaturants we would ahve been move than happy to arrange for the cleaner to reattend. Seagulls are big problem in Eyemouth, which is why we do not have a outside bin, however, as the public bins get emptied everyday we do recommend you disposing of household rubbish in these bins and taking your recycling to the centre just down the road. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Eyemouth as much as we do. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan1.3Aug 2021

  • "Location is excellent, only paces from the food shop and the beach."

    The cottage is roomy for two and the enclosed courtyard is a big plus as it is a sun trap and can be used for private eating al fresco. Eyemouth is interesting and the range of clifftop walks is enormous. Other attractions are within easy range for a visit ( Berwick, Dunbar St Albs) All in all we had an excellent holiday.

    Reviewed by Graham4.4Aug 2021

  • "Great Holiday again at Sea Spray."

    Located opposite the beach and close to the town centre and harbour. Ideal for a couple or small family. Flat was clean and cosy. I was our second visit so we new what to expect. Don't miss the scampi at the Tavern in the car park.

    Reviewed by David4.4Jul 2021

  • "We have stayed here a few times before,beautiful little place,close to everything you needs."

    Owner was very helpful,highly recommend

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Jul 2021

  • "Seaspray is a lovely holiday home it has everything you need ."

    The beds are great , shower is powerful and easy to use . I personally love this holiday home as it’s right next to beach and always so very cosy , I love the back walled garden as it is a sun trap and very private . Steve the owner is such a lovely man as he is always interested in how you feel ( got to meet him in person this year which was nice ) . Every year we come down he has added something or had a bit of decorating done . People say it’s dated but just adds to characture. I have been here six years now and already booked for next year . I LOVE IT . Only thing I dislike is having to leave . Thankyou Steve , I’m glad I found your lovely home .

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7Jul 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sea Spray 18 June - 2 July."

    The accommodation was clean and very comfortable. The yard area is a lovely sun-trap and a great place for reading or just sitting quietly. We kept the plants watered and fed the blackbird. Eyemouth itself is a lovely place. All amenities are in easy walking distance and the area offered some lovely walks. We enjoyed visiting areas further afield, such as Berwick and Lindisfarne Island. My husband had need to use the facilities of the local Health Centre and they were very kind and helpful. We do intend to visit Eyemouth in the future, and hopefully Sea Spray will be made available to us again.

    Reviewed by Lynne4.7Jun 2021

  • "Very squeaky bed in front bedroom."

    Didn't expect to have to wash crockery, glasses and cutlery before being able to use them.

    Reviewed by Brian4.1Jun 2021

  • "There was everything we needed."

    The location is great... the sea is over the road! Eyemouth is a great place for a visit. Very interesting museum at the tourist information centre. Fab pubs to eat. Heather's at the golf club is great. Also...... there is an amazing charity shop!

    Reviewed by Sue5.0May 2021

  • "Loved my stay at Spray Cottage."

    Quirky cottage with lots of character.

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Oct 2020

  • "This is the second time we have stayed in this house and we both really enjoyed it."

    we took the dog with us this time and he loved it being out in the back garden all the time. Really nice house and beautiful setting. Steve the owner was very helpful when we had a slight problem with the heating he couldn't have done any more for us. we will definitely be back again.

    Reviewed by Leanne5.0Sep 2020

  • "The property was ideally located in the town, just across the road and a car park to a children’s play area, the sea, a couple of pubs."

    The Co-op and shops were also within about 100m. The property had everything you would probably need on holiday or at least it did for us - a family of 2 adults and 2 children. This location was ideal for sight seeing the beautiful areas of Northumberland and parts of Scotland.

    Reviewed by Shayne4.4Aug 2020

  • "I’d describe sea spray as functional rather than relaxing."

    It’s an old house with thick walls, which leaves it pleasantly cool during hot weather. The front double room looks like it has been recently redone, with a new bed, and it’s extremely comfortable - We slept really really well. The shower is hot and powerful, and the bathroom itself was very clean, but very dated. It’s in a great location, with the beach and Co-op Just across the road, and you are minutes from the Berwickshire Coastal Path. There is a private yard which is a sun trap, although the table and chairs looked like they could have done with a wipe over (seagulls), and the chairs being put back around the table rather than just left where the previous users had left them, which (although it could have been an oversight) for me summed up the lack of attention to presentation that you get here. Another review mentioned unlovedness, and I can see what they meant, but having been in touch with the owner, that’s clearly not the case. It’s a personal view, but sea spray has the feel of a grandparents house which hasn’t been updated at all since they left it, same 1970s wardrobes, same ancient cooker with the markings rubbed off, same feeling of not quite as clean as it should be. So if you are after a comfortable bed, a hot shower, and you are out walking or working the rest of the time, then this place is perfect. if however you like to relax in a holiday apartment, because they are usually nicer than your own home, then perhaps look carefully before booking.

    Thank you for your feedback regarding Sea Spray. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely time and we are sorry to hear that the property was not to your taste. As this property is 200 years old, we have kept the decor in line with this era with a few updates here and there. This is what makes Sea Spray so unique. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynn3.1Aug 2020

  • "Great Location 2 minutes from beach."

    Clean accommodation with all you need for your seaside holiday. Restaurants and supermarket nearby to this well located cottage. Cottage Apartment all ground floor with a small outside area which was a bonus. We had a minor problem with drainage from the shower which was quickly sorted by the owner. Recommended for both couples and families. Check out both the Tavern opposite and Heathers (great views) restaurant for great fresh seafood.

    Reviewed by David4.4Jul 2020

  • "1) Smell of gas in courtyard whenever the boiler first kicked in 2) Pictures ..."

    1) Smell of gas in courtyard whenever the boiler first kicked in 2) Pictures show a double and a twin-bedded room - they are both doubles

    Thank you for your feedback. The boiler has just been serviced to meet health and safety regulations and is in good working order. The bedrooms have been reconfigured and awaiting new photographs Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian2.8Jul 2020

  • "Had a great time was a nice relaxing holiday weather was windy the waves crashing in at Eyemouth was breath taking."

    Loved every moment of it. it was like that for most of the week so relaxing as always.

    Reviewed by William5.0Nov 2019

  • "Great spot with seaviews,very cosy,would book again"

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Oct 2019

  • "We bought things for the holiday home to make our holiday easier for ourselves (laundry basket, pegs, shower mat) The home just had an air of unloved ness."

    General maintenance not kept up. Once we got rid of the cobwebs & gave the bathroom a very good clean we were very happy. Excellent base for visiting loads of lovely places. We will be booking again for next year.

    Reviewed by Jack3.1Sep 2019

  • "The house was very comfortable and very well equipped."

    We particularly appreciated the very efficient and easily managed heating system. Very minor criticisms - the shower was slow to dain (presumably a temporary problem) and we had trouble findingthe wifi code! The small table and benches were adequate for two of us - maybe a push for four. These small points did not detract from a very pleasant stay.

    Reviewed by Robert C5.0Aug 2019

  • "A nice cottage near the beach and eyemouth the perfect base for exploring."

    Reviewed by Richard Thomas4.7Aug 2019

  • "Sea spray is a great wee place for your summer break , it has all that you need for your stay , bedding and towels supplied but take a couple of your own for beach / dog ."

    Cooker , fridge , microwave well equipped kitchen . Very comfy beds and private court yard to chill out in which is a sun trap . Maybe needs some fresh paint done but it is not bad , maybe because we have been going for four years . Great for mum who has walking stroller as it is on the flat with just a wee step to get in and one for court yard . I personally love coming here as it does supply your needs the area is lovely, beach just yards away and people are so friendly. A lovely touch at end when owner gets in touch to make sure you had a good time . That is why we keep returning. Owner got a different sofa in which is much better than old one and new dinner table plus new rugs . Thanks Steve for the improvements. Give it a try it’s so great I’m sure you will be pleasantly surprised . It will be our holiday for years to come

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7Aug 2019

  • "Lovely beach-side ground floor apartment."

    Wifi was dodgy and it wasn't the cleanest place - sofa was uncomfortable too. But had everything we needed and both dog and child enjoyed it.

    Reviewed by Nicole4.7Jul 2019

  • "The cottage decoration and facilities were a little worn."

    But there was everything we needed to be comfortable whilst there. What could be helpful would be a contact number for the owner in case of a problem with anything breaking down. The location is absolutely amazing, with shops of all kinds with in easy walking distance. The walls along the coast we can highly recommend, as are the local pubs where the locals are very friendly and welcoming. All in all we had a great time at SeaSpray in Eyemouth and will hopefully be back.

    Reviewed by Lance3.8Apr 2019

  • "Nice accommodation in a very central location."

    Reviewed by Ken3.8Mar 2019

  • "This was a wonderful place to stay for a winter holiday - very comfortable and cosy with a great location."

    The property was well equipped, lovely and warm when we returned from long walks on nearby windswept beaches. Beds were very comfortable and the local facilities excellent (Co-op store two minutes walk with late night opening; brilliant fish and chip shop and restaurant next door to it). Despite the town centre location it was very quiet - the only sounds we could hear at night were the waves breaking on the beach. Sea Spray was also very dog-friendly with an enclosed back yard and a sandy beach literally a minute's walk from the front door. The location is superb: Eyemouth is a great place from which to explore the coastal walks and beaches - we'd especially recommend Pease Bay, the Coastal Path to Coldingham and the beach at Bamburgh Castle but there are many more. We'll certainly recommend Seaspray and will return!

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jan 2019

  • "The area is lovely which we knew as have been before."

    The holiday let was disappointing to say the least and is in dire need of deep cleaning and a lick of paint. I always thought the places were vetted by the agents but I’m not so sure now. My husband was working in the area and I went with him but just stayed 5 days then returned home. If we had not paid four weeks up front we would have looked for different accommodation. It is a shame really as the let is perfectly situated for beach area and local shops and could be ideal. I actually spent 3 hours on the Monday morning giving the bathroom a good clean so at least that room is ok now. The rest is shabby ☹️

    Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we are very disappointed that one of our properties has let us down and not provided you with the experience that we had hoped for. We have contacted the property owner regarding the points you have raised. I can see the issues have been raised with our Customer Relations Team and we have come to a satisfactorily resolution with you on this matter. We do apologise once again for any inconvenience on your holiday and hope you continue to book with us in the future. Our lines are open 7 days a week from 9am until 7pm. Property Owner

    Reviewed by C1.6Oct 2018

  • "The house is very basic although most required items available."

    The location within Eyemouth is superb. It would benefit from brightening up with a lick of paint. The bed has only a single cheep mattress, a "topper" would help. There was no brush / dustpan, vacuum etc available. We like to keep things clean & tidy, but couldn't.

    Reviewed by Brian3.8Jul 2018

  • "The description of this property is false, it is not a cottage it is an apartment with another larger apartment above."

    It’s photo has been cropped to cut off the top flat, surely against Trade description act? To say ‘charming ‘when it is furnished with mainly old furniture, the armchair ‘s springs had gone and it was very poorly maintained. The boiler failed so we had no hot water for anything including a shower, the phone numbers for help from the owners weren’t answered, we left a message then contacted Sykes. Although two advisers tried to help no one rang back with any information. A handyman eventually turned up to reset the boiler, something he seems to do regularly, he also freed a jammed back door lock. We also had problems with the shower not draining. The parking was described as off road, it is actually the public car park across the road by the large amusement arcade and pub. Not a pleasant place to stay when celebrating an anniversary and disappointing as we have stayed in so many lovely Sykes properties without problems and with kind ,generous owners.

    Reviewed by June1.9Jul 2018

  • "We found that there was no microwave or DVD player."

    Plenty of DVD s but nowhere to play them. Both things were stated on site.

    Reviewed by Evelyn3.1May 2018

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 2 x double beds Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Lounge/diner
  • External utility.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot
  • Free public car park located opposite the apartment
  • Enclosed courtyard to the rear
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 4 mins walk
  • Note: Although all ground floor, there is a step up into the double bedroom
  • Note: The nearby car parks free parking.

The property

In the town of Eyemouth you will discover this traditional apartment, in a lovely location with walks towards the magnificent harbour and beautiful views of the sea.The character of the property boasts a full interior that can be enjoyed by couples or a small family.

The property is one of the oldest in the town of Eyemouth facing the sea.

Has not changed within the last 220 years, so it has an old charm, accept for modern central heating.

The lounge is home to a rose coloured sofa and armchair, with a small dining table situated in the corner of the room.

From morning through to evening, this is a nice spot to relax with a good book, in the peace and quiet away from it all.

The kitchen is well-equipped, complete with a range of appliances, as well as an outlook over the courtyard which welcomes the characterful outside in.

Two bedrooms promise a good night's sleep; two doubles, both neutrally designed and complimenting the theme of the cottage, with a shower room close by.

Spend a moment in the courtyard during your leisure time or why not try out the excellent golfing facilities nearby, with a clifftop course in town, along with walks, cycling, bird watching and visits to castles and country houses, all within a short driving distance.

Eyemouth has a selection of pubs and restaurants serving fine food and award-winning Fish and chips, Eyemouth has a superb dive centre with excellent opportunities to Experience all within 200 metres.

An under water nature reserve for those with experience.

Close by there are opportunities to water surf and hire sea kayaking equipment.

For those who like sea fishing there are not only regular trips from the harbour also there are regular fast rib trips weather permitting, so lots of things to experience In Eyemouth and the surrounding area.

Visit Coldingham Priory, Paxton House, Manderston House, Floors Castle and the magnificent walled town of Berwick-upon-Tweed for an exciting day out.

A wonderful base for touring South Scotland.

View on map

About the location

EYEMOUTH

St Abbs 4.5 miles; Chirnside 7.7 miles; Berwick upon Tweed 8 miles; Duns 11 miles.

Situated on the East Coast, just over the Scottish Border, and only eight miles north of Berwick-upon-Tweed, Eyemouth has been a bustling fishing port for centuries, and there are a number of local fishmongers still supplied from local fishing boats today. Narrow cobbled streets preserve the ancient character of this delightful coastal town, and there's a number of visitor attractions outlining the history of the area. Visit Gunsgreen House and learn some of the history of the town and the smuggling that once took place, or enjoy the Eyemouth Museum, fishing heritage centre and art galleries on offer. There are excellent golfing facilities available, with a clifftop course in town and a number of other courses in the area, while walks, cycling, bird watching and visits to castles and country houses are all within a short driving distance. Visit Coldingham Priory, Paxton House, Manderston House, Floors Castle and the magnificent walled town of Berwick-upon-Tweed for an exciting day out. Both Edinburgh and Newcastle upon Tyne are reached in an hour, making Eyemouth a wonderful base for touring South Scotland, and the North of England.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas