In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

11 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • Edmunds Cottage - Yorkshire Dales - 971968 - photo 1
  • Edmunds Cottage - (Ref. 971968)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





Edmunds Cottage

(Ref. 971968)

Crakehall near Bedale, Yorkshire Dales - South Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (68)
  • lovely (45)
  • hot (43)
  • tub (41)
  • hot tub (41)
  • great (29)

84 Customer Reviews

  • "Edmunds cottage was perfect for us."

    In the welcome basket we had everything that was listed: bread eggs kitkats crisps bacon milk tea coffee. Kitchen had pots pans cutlery cups and glasses and even plastic stuff for drinks in the hottub. Back garden is enclosed (sort of) but be careful if you have a small dog as the fence behind the bushes and trees has big gaps. And it backs onto a busy fast main road. We let our dog out the front garden as theres no way out unless you open the gate. Hottub was on when we got there. There are 2 hose pipes next to the hottub (top one is the hot one) for when you want to top up the water. Bedrooms were immaculate and super comfy. We didnt need the hoover mop or iron but they were there if we needed them. Edmunds house was most definitely the perfect home away from home for us. The bay horse inn opens at 5pm and it isnt open on mondays. They have a bingo night and quiz night every sat and sun though and the food is lovely! (Fish pie was massive) everyone we encountered was lovely and greeted you with a smile. Parking was fine for us. The house/tunnel is about 50metres from the pub, just before the end of the road (by the busy bend) neighbours were fine with us parking out front to empty the car and then moving it. Its a narrow side road so be careful when parking. There are signs where not to park so its pretty self explanatory when you see it. Crakehall was perfect for us. We visited catterick races (20 mins drive) and we did aysgarth falls (30 mins drive and £4 parking for 2 hours) and hackfall walk (25 min drive free parking) We would most definitely stay here again if the opportunity came up and we needed somewhere lovely to stay. 5/5 x

    Reviewed by Abbie5.0Apr 2024

  • "Had an amazing stay here lovely peaceful place, directions for us were a little ..."

    Had an amazing stay here lovely peaceful place, directions for us were a little confusing thankfully a lady was passing by and offered help, Cottage is stunning very cosy and you will find everything you need here

    Reviewed by Samantha4.7Apr 2024

  • "The property was lovely and clean , the only thing we thought would be beneficial was a cover over the hotub incase it rains so that you can use the hotub whatever the weather."

    Very helpful guide left in the cottage.

    Reviewed by Tina3.8Apr 2024

  • "Lovely cottage it was my first holiday staying in a cottage its like home from home ,you get a draft from the front door,nothing to moan about as the door as a curtain,few area's in the cottage needed more attention on cleaniness overall these were small issues,hot tub was amazing overall experience its a beautiful charming cottage our stay was comfortable with beautiful surroundings."

    Reviewed by Michelle4.4Mar 2024

  • "The cottage was lovely and had everything we needed."

    Perfect for the 4 of us and our dog. The only issue which wasn’t a major problem was us not able to park nearby not an issue as we were coming and going daily just when we were loading and unloading the car on day of arrival & departure, other than that can’t fault it.

    Reviewed by Claire4.4Feb 2024

  • "Electric fire didn’t work and text the emergency number and no one replied all ..."

    Electric fire didn’t work and text the emergency number and no one replied all week Also no washing machine which was a pain with 2 kids for a week

    Thanks for your feedback Asia, we have checked and the fire is in working order. We did receive a text shortly before your check out but unfortunately this was not seen until after your check out. Unfortunately we cannot fit a washing machine into the kitchen, we do not advertise the property as having a washing machine. It sounds like everything else was to your satisfaction and we hope you had a lovely stay with us at Edmunds Cottage :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Asia3.8Jan 2024

  • "Stayed here at new year."

    One of the best NYE I have ever had!

    Reviewed by Tracy5.0Dec 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage that's was comfortable and clean."

    The Hot Tub was great! Superb location with lots to do in the surrounding areas.

    Reviewed by Ryan4.7Dec 2023

  • "It was such a beautiful place to stay!"

    Cosy, clean and exactly as described!! We stayed for an extended weekend to celebrate a birthday, and took advantage of near by attractions and the small village. One slight negative would be the lack of buses or any taxis to use for nighttime. We really struggled being able to go into town for bonfire as no taxis are available and the bus only comes once a week hahah Other than that we would definitely go again though!!

    Reviewed by Molly5.0Nov 2023

  • "Such a lovely and cosy cottage I would highly recommend, it is ideally situated ..."

    Such a lovely and cosy cottage I would highly recommend, it is ideally situated with only a short drive to explore the dales, the beds where comfortable and the hot tub was a great size for a family of 4 we will definitely be going back again in the near future x

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Oct 2023

  • "Cute cottage, very clean with all the facilities you could want or need."

    Hot tub was perfect. Lovely village location with great walks around and perfect set up for the doggo too. Thanks

    Reviewed by Corrie5.0Oct 2023

  • "Really lovely cottage and a great location."

    There’s no parking at the cottage itself but a clear explanation was given on where to park and it was a stones throw from the cottage. There are the odd bits of paint that could do with re-doing and there was a slight bit of mould in the bottom corner of the shower screen, but that’s me being really picky and it certainly wouldn’t stop me visiting again. Welcome pack was great and the hot tub was so relaxing after a busy day.

    Reviewed by Kirstie4.7Oct 2023

  • "Lovely cottage with all you need only downside was bathroom smelled a little musty but was clean."

    Hot tub great and location good for visiting attractions. Big downside was parking away from cottage, we had quite a few bags and food and unloading and loading at beginning and end of stay would have been a real problem had the maintenance man not moved his van for us.however we had z great time staying in the cottage.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Sep 2023

  • "Edmunds cottage is situated in a lovely village with many interesting place's within a short drive."

    The cottage is comfortable and has everything you need for a truly relaxing stay. The village pub is close by and serves great traditional food. The welcome pack was particularly good. Don't go shopping as we did until after you've seen it! The hot tub was lovely and very private. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2023

  • "Edmunds cottage was really nice, well located and everything was to a high standard."

    Couple of of observations, loading the luggage into the cottage was OK, but we had to temporarily park the car next to the entry gates. Also some of he instructions for the equipment were not obviously available (hot tub, electric hob). Bay Horse Inn was ok, but we liked the Greyhound pub more.

    Reviewed by Julian4.7Sep 2023

  • "Everything was just lovely and cottage was very accurately displayed on website."

    Myself, my husband, my sister and our dog, Amber, all had a great time. Welcome basket was much appreciated and a nice touch. Enjoyed the use of the hot tub and the secure back garden. Missed having a parking space, but very minor detail ,and managed to park easily where advised.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Sep 2023

  • "The property is lovely and cosy, very clean and the hamper very welcome."

    Our only issue is the noise from the road. It's right next to a very busy, main road with lots of lorries and farm machinery from early morning. Sitting in the garden was lovely, apart from the traffic. After 6pm it is fine, but between 6am and 6pm very noisy.

    Reviewed by Catherine4.7Aug 2023

  • "What a wonderful holiday cottage."

    Beautiful. Comfortable. Cosy. Just what our family needed. Hot tub was fantastic also. Would definitely come again. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovey picturesque cottage."

    The cottage catered for our mini great and felt a home from home. Loved the hot tub! Quiet location so great nights sleep and thoughtful welcome pack. Tastefully decorated just needs a bit of upkeep. Fresh coat of paint and few stains here and there.

    Reviewed by Natalie4.4Jul 2023

  • "We had a fantastic family stay the property was as described and exceeded expectations."

    We had everything we needed and more, the property was clean and at a great standard, we would definitely recommend to friends and stay again. The location is also great in a beautiful little spot.

    Reviewed by Natalia5.0Jul 2023

  • "Great location and cottage, hot tub was fab and cottage clean and had everything we needed."

    Only down fall was lack of parking outside the property.

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Jun 2023

  • "Beautiful cosy cottage with everything that you need, in a lovely quiet village ."

    The nearby pub had lovely traditional food . Would definitely recommend if you want a relaxing break with a hot tub.

    Reviewed by K5.0May 2023

  • "Had a great stay, hot tub was amazing!"

    Beds were so comfy, kitchen was well equipped and it's in a great area. Would definitely come back another time

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7May 2023

  • "We had a lovely short break at Edmunds Cottage, with lots of things to do around ..."

    We had a lovely short break at Edmunds Cottage, with lots of things to do around the surrounding area, we couldn’t fit everything in, the cottage itself was perfect with comfy beds and hot tub, would recommend

    Reviewed by Spencer5.0May 2023

  • "We stayed Monday to Wednesday brought our children and dogs it was lovely all ..."

    We stayed Monday to Wednesday brought our children and dogs it was lovely all round would definitely come back for longer next time

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Apr 2023

  • "We loved the cottage but had a issue with the hot tub rang and left a message and text but got no response"

    Reviewed by Christopher I5.0Apr 2023

  • "The property was everything we could have hoped for."

    It was relaxing, clean and cosy. The welcome pack was a great additional touch and extra effort was made for a gluten free pack as I am coeliac. The whole stay was perfect and we will definitely be returning, thank-you!

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Apr 2023

  • "Lovely cosy cottage."

    Enjoyed our stay. Private hot tub which was lovely to use to relax during the holiday. Unfortunately the cottage was too low in height in certain areas especially if you’re 6’ 2”. There is a really sharp dangerous piece of wood on the staircase that hangs low that would be safer to cut down. Loved our stay and will possibly look to stay in one of the other cottages attached. Owners have worked hard with the properties lovely inside and out. Definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Mar 2023

  • "Absolutely gorgeous cottage!"

    Would happily stay again, thank you!

    Reviewed by Robyn5.0Feb 2023

  • "Cute cottage on the outside , very clean but very dull and dingy on the inside ..."

    Cute cottage on the outside , very clean but very dull and dingy on the inside although the sofas look quite new and the carpet was very new the lighting is awful downstairs & the whole feel inside is depressing,the bed was very comfortable and the shower was very powerful with lovely hot water , really enjoyed the hot tub, we stayed January so dark nights , the jets on the hot tub drowned out some of the traffic noise while they were on but most definitely not a garden to chill & relax in as the road nose is really bad , the cottage is in a great location for visiting this part of the country, a nice enough base to stay for the cost during low season , definitely not worth high season prices , wouldn’t stay again but would stay in the area again

    Reviewed by Margaret4.1Jan 2023

  • "Loved our 3 night break, would have been nice for some coat hangers somewhere, probably above the radiator in the kitchen."

    We had some awfully wet weather. Really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jan 2023

  • "In the second room on the bed base there is a metal piece that when putting items into the cupboard has scrapped her leg marking it ."

    Reviewed by Carolyn5.0Jan 2023

  • "Lovely cottage very clean and comfortable, great having fenced garden so the dog could go out while we relaxed in the hot tub."

    Very well equipped kitchen and a lovely hamper on arrival would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Dec 2022

  • "Had such an amazing stay here."

    Very cozy and comfortable, well equipped. Location was perfect close enough to the a1 to go anywhere but also felt like you were away from all the hustle and bustle of the main roads Hot tub was a lovely addition. Honestly couldn’t fault it and will definitely be staying again. Thank you

    Reviewed by Annaleigh5.0Dec 2022

  • "Beautiful cosy cottage which was very clean and although we didn’t have heating for part of a day, the maintenance on this was superb."

    Thank you, highly recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by Parmjeet5.0Oct 2022

  • "Upon arrival we received a lovely little welcome pack containing milk, butter, biscuits, bacon and bread."

    The cottage was so cosy and clean and the hot tub was amazing after long days exploring the surrounding towns. The cottage had everything we needed and we will definitely be returning.

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Oct 2022

  • "A delightful cottage, had everything you needed and more."

    A lovely welcome hamper on our arrival. The bonus was a hot tub, which was a delight to get into after a day’s exploring. Hayley couldn’t have been more helpful.

    Reviewed by Kathleen5.0Jun 2022

  • "The cottage was beautiful, the hot tub was brilliant."

    The cleanliness was really high standard and it was very homely. It was very private and quiet and really suited our desire for a relaxing getaway. Would love to go back again.

    Reviewed by Hayley5.0Jun 2022

  • "Despite a few early problems we enjoyed our holiday at Edmonds."

    I would have signs up saying keep dogs on a lead in the communal area. However, the owner's response to the issues was swift and considerate. They looked after us and saved the holiday!

    Reviewed by Miranda4.7May 2022

  • "Edmunds Cottage is superb."

    The Owner has ensured that everything you could possibly need is there. The cottage is tastefully decorated and very cosy. The bed was extremely comfortable. The enclosed garden was a suntrap and the Hot Tub was excellent, lovely and relaxing after a long walk. The Welcome Hamper was a lovely touch. We couldn't have wished for a nicer place to stay. The local, was very friendly, nice pub food and a good selection of beers.

    Reviewed by Brian5.0May 2022

  • "It would be great to have a washing machine and also some garden seats and table ( rather than bench seat)."

    2 single beds rather than a double for the 2nd bedroom would be good for children and families. It was a lovely cosy and well furnished cottage in a beautiful village. Loved the hot tub!

    Reviewed by Jenny4.7Apr 2022

  • "We had a fantastic stay at Edmunds cottage."

    The standard was of a very high standard and warm & homely. A lot of thought had been put into the soft furnishings comfortable sofas & the bed was amazing we both slept like logs & refreshed for the day ahead. The location was ideal as it was near many places of interest. I would definitely recommend the cottage to friends & family and will definitely be booking again.

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Mar 2022

  • "Fantastic cottage."

    All really well laid out for privacy for hot tub area. Welcome package and the basics like handwashing soap etc make all the difference.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Feb 2022

  • "A perfectly formed little cottage, it made the absolute best use of the space available."

    We had a lovely time and the welcome pack was such a nice way to start our stay. It was quite a wet week in February but we had a great time playing games in the very comfy cottage and also really enjoyed the hot tub!

    Reviewed by Mikala5.0Feb 2022

  • "Edmunds cottage was warm, well equipped, and well located."

    We stayed for a week and were really impressed with the cottage and really enjoyed our stay! Great crakehall is a lovely place to stay with lots of nearby walks and a good pub. Highly recommend!

    Reviewed by Joseph5.0Jan 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage, lovely village."

    Everything we needed was catered for for a relaxing stay. Book of things to do was great idea we went to a few places of interest.

    Reviewed by Carolyn5.0Jan 2022

  • "Cottage great however advertised with a parking space but the notice in the ..."

    Cottage great however advertised with a parking space but the notice in the cottage states no parking and to park near the local pub some 200 yards away

    Reviewed by Nathan4.7Dec 2021

  • "Fantastic property in ideal location for our short break."

    Cottage was very comfortable and warm. Hot tub welcome pleasure after a long day walking. Will be booking again

    Reviewed by Nicholas5.0Nov 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday the cottage was clean and well equipped, we did feel however that the bed in the large bedroom could have been a king size as wasn't overly comfortable."

    The location was very good for all the places we wanted to visit. The village was really friendly as were the people in the local pub very welcoming food was excellent. The down side was the very very busy road which runs right through the village (not mentioned in the description of the cottage location). After a day out it would have been nice to sit in the lovely little garden with a glass of wine and a book but because of the noise this wasn't possible! However the hot tub did drown out the noise a little (pardon the pun). But we were there for only a week the residents have to put up with it all the time!!! The welcome hamper was a lovely little touch and greatly appreciated. Overall we enjoyed our stay just a couple of little niggles.

    Reviewed by Leslie3.1Sep 2021

  • "My sister and I booked Edmonds cottage for a week to take our 91 year old father who has arthritis and walks with a stick and due to covid has been confined to his home for nearly 18 months."

    On arrival we were disappointed to find that the property was situated on a blind bend on a very noisy road with only two parking spaces which were both occupied (first come first served basis as explained in the listing) and unfortunately the road up to the village green had "No Parking" signs all along it, the nearest parking we could find was 2-300 yards away which is not suitable for the elderly and infirm (non of which were explained in the listing). On entering the cottage it appeared comfortable and cosy, however over the next 24 hours lots of problems became apparent, there was no hot water (we had to reset the boiler), the bottom drawer of the freezer was frozen solid which implied it hadn't been cleaned nor defrosted in months and the seal on the fridge door didn't always work. The kitchen window was covered with ivy on the outside (as were the landing and bathroom windows) which meant we couldn't open them as all sorts of insects would have flown or crawled in, all the windows were dirty on the outside and we had to wedge most of them open if we wanted to let in some fresh air. We could see daylight through a gap of 1 inch under the front door and the back door also had a gap we could see daylight under although it had a draught excluder fitted it was still draughty (not ideal in rain/bad weather or the cold). The bathroom was very modern although the sealant around the shower screen was grimy and needed replacing, the toilet cistern was continuously filling for the first two days so we had to have maintenance come out to replace a broken part. The first time we used the hot tub it became apparent that it had not been emptied and refilled prior to our arrival as we could see froth (not just bubbles) and brown scum floating on the surface. A couple of evenings were quite cold and due to the draughts under both doors we needed the heating on for my father and discovered the temperature control didn't work, we called the owner who told us she couldn't get anyone out until the next morning, maintenance came the following morning and replaced the thermostat. The TV reception was very intermittent due to their local transmitter having been on fire a few months previous (not the owners fault but a heads up would have prompted us to take my Laptop so my father could have watched TV in the evenings. Rant over!!!! However most of these problems had been mentioned in the visitors comments book in the cottage as far back as 2018 and could have been rectified long ago especially since they were closed throughout Lockdown.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are very saddened by your comments made, we tried to resolve all complaints made by yourself to make your stay as lovely as possible. Maintenance was sent out promptly to replace a broken toilet part and thermostat. The hot tub is emptied, cleaned and refilled for every new guest and checked throughout guests stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrea1.9Sep 2021

  • "Cottage is beautiful the only suggestion is mattresses need to be replaced more frequently"

    Thank you for your feedback, we have now replaced both beds and mattresses :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cheryl4.7Sep 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay, the cottage was clean and well equipped."

    The perfect size for two couples and a dog. We would have liked to have more towels, perhaps some for hot tub use and separate for showers, aside from this we have no complains and would definitely return!!

    Reviewed by Hannah4.7Jul 2021

  • "Lovely little cottage in the most beautiful village."

    Everything was clean and tidy, great amenities. Bedale was a 5 minute drive away- an absolutely stunning town. Would definitely recommend!

    Reviewed by Charlotte5.0May 2021

  • "Edmunds Cottage is overrated, it has been renovated well and has some lovely lamps , bed linen is good quality."

    Hot tub good but unsure it is emptied between visits as stated. Carpets and rug are filthy, large brown stain at the bottom of the stairs. Furniture needs replacing especially the cream settee. Bathroom needs a deep clean and flooring replaced. Smells of dogs which is strong in the morning. Heating needs sorting as goes off early evening and comes on as you go to bed. Looks superficially good and could be great with a bit of elbow grease and a carpet cleaner.

    Reviewed by Anne-marie2.8May 2021

  • "We loved the welcome package of local produce."

    Reviewed by Kristianne5.0Apr 2021

  • "The cottage was cosy, warm and very lush."

    There was everything we needed just like home from home. Beautifully decorated throughout and an absolute joy to spend New Year there.

    Reviewed by Carl5.0Dec 2020

  • "Brilliant cottage for a relaxing week."

    Would definitely recommend!

    Reviewed by Juliette5.0Dec 2020

  • "A warm welcoming cottage, with everything that you need to enjoy a great break away."

    Such a lovely village, in great surroundings.

    Reviewed by Millie5.0Sep 2020

  • "A lovely comfortable cottage."

    The welcome pack of bread, butter, bacon, milk and biscuits was a nice touch. The only recommendation we would make would be a canopy over the hot tub so that it can be used in the rain.

    Reviewed by Kelly5.0Aug 2020

  • "Mostly ok. Had issues with combi-boiler, went off a couple of times & had to be reset."

    No instructions anywhere for hot tub use which meant we had a whole evening without the use of our hot tub. Overall (apart from the above) it was a nice relaxing few days & we would definitely return.

    Reviewed by John3.8Aug 2020

  • "The cottage was fabulous, clean, comfortable and well equipped."

    Highlight for us was the privacy of the hot tub , also the adjacent cottages hot tub locations , well thought out during planning . There was no fixed parking for our cottage, however once the car was unpacked we found a suitable parking spot very close by . Perfect weekend away

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Aug 2020

  • "Great cottage, has everything you need for a weekend away"

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Jul 2020

  • "Me and my boyfriend had the best weekend here."

    The cottage was so cosy and had all facilities we needed. We loved the hot tub too! The only thing we would say is could the check out time be slightly later than 10am as we were rushing on the Sunday morning to get packed up. Overall a lovely weekend, we didn’t want it to end.

    Reviewed by Kirstie5.0Feb 2020

  • "Lovely cottage, very cosy."

    Comfy beds and we had everything we needed. The hot tub was fab and always a great temperature. Just had one issue with the heating but it was sorted immediately. We would stay again.

    Reviewed by Justine4.7Feb 2020

  • "What a lovely little break away we had."

    All 4 of us really enjoyed staying in your beautiful little cottage. The welcome pack was a really lovely touch which enabled us to have a cup of tea upon arrival after a 4 hour journey! The cottage was warm and the hot tub was running ready for us. After reading through previous reviews and feedback, you can tell that the owners do look at this and take out the feedback as I have noticed that curtains have been put by the doors to exclude draughts and board games have been left in the cupboards. We will definitely be booking your wonderful little cottage again, a real gem. Loved every second and didn’t want to come home. Thank you for having us.

    Reviewed by Jemma5.0Feb 2020

  • "We really enjoyed our time at Edmunds Cottage."

    It was perfect for 4 of us staying there between Christmas and New Year, we especially enjoyed spending time in the cosy living room and relaxing in the hot tub in the evening! Great location, we would definitely stay again!

    Reviewed by Aaron5.0Dec 2019

  • "Love Edmunds Cottage."

    My dog Hugo and I had a wonderful week here and can't wait to come back.

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Nov 2019

  • "The fridge should close when you push it, drove me crazy when it beeped all the time."

    Few things missing from the kitchen like a colander and dish washer tablets, and a board game or two wouldn't have gone a miss. Nice to have Smart TV's in both rooms, and the hot tub was lovely. Little noisy from the road, but once you hear the jets on it was fine. Overall nice little cottage, we will be back.

    Reviewed by Alix4.7Nov 2019

  • "Lovely cottage in a nice little village, the welcome pack was really nice cant fault!"

    Maybe leave a pen with the visitors book as we unable to right a message as we didn’t have one

    Reviewed by Jake5.0Oct 2019

  • "The cottage is lovely, tastefully decorated and the hot tub a bonus."

    It's a bit noisy being on a busy road but not too bad.

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely and clean it had everything we needed , the welcome pack was also a lovely touch ."

    The furniture and linen etc was of good quality . We will definitely be back to your charming little cute cottage ❤️

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Aug 2019

  • "We had a lovely stay at Edmunds Cottage."

    We are a family of four and there was room for us all. We had a great weekend in the cottage. The cottage is beautiful and was a pleasure to stay in. The village is pretty, with a nice local pub for food and drink. Bedale is only 5 mins away. We visited local attractions and it was good to come back and chill in the cottage. The cottage is well equipped and cosy. We took our 8 month old cockerpoo, Maisey, who also enjoyed her stay. The garden is open so we kept Maisey on her lead. There are lots of walks close by, a park, rivers and open countryside to enjoy.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0May 2019

  • "Cute cottage in pretty village very comfy beds,main sofa very creaky, good televisions and access to netflix great."

    Great situation for access to M1 and surrounding area downside not noticed noisy road siituation and no easy access for unloading car and packing.

    Reviewed by Janice4.7May 2019

  • "Holiday was lovely beautiful area and local people very friendly."

    Definitely go back

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Apr 2019

  • "Cottage was decorated and furnished to a high standard, excellent facilities and well thought through."

    The welcome basket was a huge plus and a great touch. The cottage felt very homely which was nice. Village was nice and quiet and local pub was great. The only minor downside is the listing states that one well behaved pet was welcome. We took our 11 month old cocker spaniel and the garden wasn’t enclosed so he could access the neighbouring cottage gardens which were occupied. There were also gaps in the bushes where he could get to the road which meant we couldn’t let him out at all. In the grand scheme of things it wasn’t a huge problem but just a note for future guests. Other than that very minor thing had a great time and we came home engaged! Thank you for a lovely stay - we will be back.

    Reviewed by Jodie4.1Mar 2019

  • "Parking is a short walk from the property, but safe."

    The village pub is a short walk and very friendly with good food and ale. We ate there both nights.

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2019

  • "This property is not suitable in the winter time."

    The cottage was extremely drafty due to the gaps under the doors. It had been noted in the visitors book that previous clients had also experienced this problem in October. The fire needs new bulbs and the hand rail at the top of the stairs is unsuitable for people who have stability issues. Parking is on a first come first serve basis and there is only room for 2 cars. We had to park 100 yards next to the pub. This was inconvenient due to my husband's disability. This cottage is clean, modern and comfortable.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jan 2019

  • "Entrance door sticks - needs to be fixed."

    Also, it's not weatherproof - cold air draughts around obvious gaps - again needs to be fixed. NO HEATING on when we arrived - thermostat set at 9°C only, not good given our arrival anticipated, and on a cold winter day - I've reset thermostat now to keep us constantly warm. Other entrance door (hid by Xmas tree) is as bad as main one for ill-fitting and draughts - the place is not "maintained to high standard" at all... Bathroom would be greatly improved by more and brighter lighting, larger and wall-mounted mirror, heated towel rail, and an extractor fan. It's a shame that Edmunds Cottage was lacking in all of the ways I've mentioned, because such improvements would greatly enhance comfort (particularly at this time of the year), shouldn't be costly to complete, and would enable me to give 5-star review, given all of its obvious charms otherwise.

    Reviewed by Paul4.1Dec 2018

  • "Nice relaxing feel to the cottage with a lovely welcome pack a nice touch"

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Nov 2018

  • "Very nice cottage in a lovely village - Comfortable, tidy and clean - Dog ..."

    Very nice cottage in a lovely village - Comfortable, tidy and clean - Dog friendly - Plenty to explore in the area - 5 min access of the A1 - Thoroughly enjoyed our break

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Oct 2018

  • "The photos on your website are accurate, but they don't make clear you can't see it from the road."

    To be fair I did get an email with more directions but I was actually driving to the cottage at the time so missed it. Please can you sort out the fridge door. It bleeps to tell you it's open but the catch has failed and it bleeps incessantly. As there isn't a kitchen door this did affect the whole downstairs. Also it was disappointing to be told when booking there was some on site parking, and then went an update a couple of weeks later that there wasn't. I will say that the cottage was clean and well appointed. There were some old dvds and cigarette papers on the top shelf of the wardrobe in the master bedroom. Perhaps your cleaner couldn't see them!

    Reviewed by Ian4.4Jun 2018

  • "Cottage was booked with off road parking; on arrival told had to park up in the village."

    also booked as peaceful and tranquil but it is right by a very busy A.684,We were there on hottest week of the year and the windows don't open. overall disappointing.

    Reviewed by John3.1Jun 2018

  • "This cottage is right in the village and only a two minute walk to the good local pub."

    It’s a recently renovated property, in a small complex of other rentals and was very clean. The kitchen is well equipped and modern and we had a lovely welcome hamper of some essentials. We were sent good directions by the owner prior to arrival but the parking was a bit of a pain as had to leave the car across the surprisingly busy road, if we could get a space, or further up the road in the village. Even though we directed not to park by the cottage gates, we did note that some cottages appeared to park there? The little garden had a picnic table to sit out of an evening or with a cup of tea in the morning, the only downside is it is overlooking the busy road through the town. The bedrooms were well appointed with good clean bedding and large wardrobes and drawer units for clothing. We found the bed itself was a little hard and resorted to sleeping on top of the quilt from the second bed to make it more comfortable. There was a second TV in the main bedroom, a DVD player and a hairdryer. The bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water for showers or baths. Some of the sash windows need catches to be fitted to enable them to be kept open, (we used an old book or a shampoo bottle). Overall we enjoyed our stay at this small little cottage, and it was great that we could bring out dog with us.

    Reviewed by DEBORAH4.1Jun 2018

  • "We had a really enjoyable stay at Edmunds Cottage."

    The cottage itself is very nicely furnished to a high standard and all the little touches made it so much more a true home from home.

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0May 2018

Show more Hide all


  • Two double bedrooms
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room.
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Roadside parking on first come, first served basis
  • Rear lawned garden and private fenced hot tub
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub 5 minute walk
  • Shop 2.2 miles.

The property

This lovely cottage lies in the village of Crakehall near Leyburn in the lower Yorkshire Dales.

Its beautiful decor and tranquil location make it the perfect place for those wanting a peaceful getaway in lovely surrounds.

The living accommodation consists of a spacious lounge with sofas arranged around an electric imitation woodburner and a large Smart TV.

The kitchen, in keeping with the tasteful aesthetic of the property, is modern and decorated in neutral colours with a dining space overlooking the garden with hot tub.

Upstairs there is a large family bathroom and two double rooms.

The master bedroom can be warmed by an electric imitation wood burner and features exposed beams as well as a Smart TV.

Outside is a lawn area with furniture, overlooking the bridge and river.

Note: This property can be booked with properties 971966 and 971967, together they can sleep 13 people.

St Edmunds Cottages

Nestled in the peaceful village of Crakehall in the lower Yorkshire Dales, these cottages offer a serene destination for a relaxing break. From the outside, these pretty properties are aesthetically pleasing with stone frontages, window frames painted a tasteful mint green, and well-kept gardens with views over Bedale Beck. Inside, the cottages are a well-balanced mix of contemporary design and period features, with modern kitchens and bathrooms intermingling with exposed beams and original windows. The décor is neutral throughout with elegant splashes of colour complementing certain rooms. Despite the rural location, the properties are well connected with each offering WiFi and top-of-the-range Smart TVs. The village of Crakehall is regarded by many as one of the prettiest in the Yorkshire Dales, featuring a 5-acre green surrounded by Sycamore and lime trees, populated by stone-built cottages, some of which dating back as far as the 1600’s. It is split into two by a tributary of the River Swale, Bedale Beck, forming Little Crakehall and Great Crakehall. The complex of holiday cottages and their gardens overlook both the bridge and the beck, as well as the A684 road, which provides part of the Tour de Yorkshire route. The village is close to the market town of Bedale with its selection of shops and pubs, as well as museum and weekly market. If walking is more your thing there are plenty of picturesque walking routes in the vicinity, especially in the beautiful valleys of the Yorkshire Dales.

View on map

About the location


Bedale 2 miles: Leyburn 8 miles.

The charming small, rural village of Crakehall consists of two parts - Little Crakehall and Great Crakehall. Crakehall is set around a large central green with a delightful local pub, set just a couple of miles from Bedale. The small market town of Bedale is steeped in history, some of which can be found in the local museum. The town also offers a weekly market, interesting churches, various craft and antique shops, cafes, and pubs, which provide local beers and home cooked food. There are many lovely walks for all abilities in this beautiful area, as well as delightful villages to explore. Also within easy reach are many other attractions, including the Constable Burton Hall Gardens with extensive parkland and woodland walks, the Forbidden Corner with its underground passages to explore, the lovely Georgian town of Richmond with its fine castle ruins and the Wensleydale railway line, an authentic heritage railway.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas