- Ground floor accommodation
- Ground floor bedroom
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Pub/shop < 1 mile
- Games Room
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
32 Customer Reviews
"We had booked this hoping for a comfortable New Year break as we expected the weather to posssibly be an issue we wamted to be comfortable indoors."
Initially we were delighted with the spacious chapel. However there were issues. 1.The electric fire did not turn on. We really only wanted the light as a focal point. 2.The shower in front bedroom did not heat up. 3.Because 'wall' between the 2 double bedrooms was indeed only a wooden adjoining door every snore,movement could be heard. 4. Most importantly the settee collapsed with a leg snapping. It looked like there had been a repair already done on one of the other legs. Also on checking the legs on the accompanying armchair one leg looked to be at the wrong angle. For the price paid I expected better.
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that not everything met your expectations and hope that this didn't stop you enjoying your trip. Whilst we were aware of the problem with the shower and the fire we struggled to get anyone in to fix over the festive season; you should have been notified ahead of your stay, I apologise if this didn't reach you. All the issues you faced have now been fixed and hope that this won't put you off coming to stay at the Chapel in the future. Kind regards Property Owner
"Great place in a fab location."
We truly enjoyed our stay, but think providing feedback would help to make it even better. Some things to improve: Cleanliness of the showers. The shower heads had all gathered mould. Some of the pots and pans need replacing as the coating was coming away and therefore couldn’t be used. The shower in the main bathroom downstairs doesn’t work - Cannot adjust temperature. A broken glass was left on the top of the glass cabinet… Blackout blinds would be great as the current blinds let a lot of light in. The welcome pack was a nice touch but provided for 2 people when the place sleeps 6… Parking nightmare… could the place not share with the other apartment? No recycling bins Things we liked; Space Architecture and quirky design Very comfy beds and pillows Great sound system Kitchen is well equipped Location Board games - nice touch Spa Bath Hope this helps.
Hello, and thank you for your feedback, we take all feedback very seriously and act accordingly. We really hope that this didn't impact your stay in beautiful Beaumaris. Whilst we don't supply recycling bins within the property we do share a service with the property next door which means that the waste is recycled once collected. We recommend that people use the car park on the front, it's very rarely full, even in the summer months. We hope that you come back to stay at the Chapel again in the future. Kind regards Property Owner
"We loved the chapel, it is a beautiful space."
Thank you we had a very comfortable stay. I have included a few small issues that we found during our stay, they did not really bother us and did not impact on our stay but may be helpful to consider. I have included this for the benefit of the property owner but would not want to include this in a public review. We found it difficult to regulate the temperature of the shower in the main bedroom and the toilet was difficult to flush too.
Thank you for your feedback, it's always gratefully accepted to ensure that the Chapel is welcoming for everyone. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you'll come back in the future. Kind regards Property Owner
"A really unique and lovely property which was fantastic for us ."
Great location in Beaumaris .
"We enjoyed our time in Seion Chapel and thought the location was great."
A couple of niggles though one being the shower in the back downstairs bedroom was very hard to turn on but maybe it was our arthritic hands but once on it is a great shower the other was that there were no toilet facilities on the main floor and having two people with disability issues is was hard for them having to go downstairs, however it did not spoil our holiday and everything else about the accommodation was great. I would highly recommend it
"We had a fabulous week at Seion Chapel."
It is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and spacious making it easy for 3 generations to have a great time together. It is also brilliantly located! Thank you for a fabulous holiday!
Stairs were hard for my mum but we managed. The parking wasn’t great but again we managed. Being on the doorstep of the attached hotel, pub and restaurant was brilliant. The food made our stay and the ease of getting my elderly mum out to eat was great. The nearness of the centre with all the cafés and shops was a pleasant surprise. The weather was glorious and the stay was amazing. Thank you
Thank you for the lovely feedback. We're so glad you had a good stay at the Chapel and that your mum was able to get around and enjoy her holiday. Property Owner
"Excellent property, comfortable, clean , close to the town ."
Wi-Fi was a bit iffy some of the time and parking was a small issue but not really a problem. Absolutely loved it !!
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We enjoy spending time at the Chapel and it's great to hear others do too. Property Owner
"Seion Chapel is a really lovely place to stay and in a great location in the town of Beaumaris."
A couple of minor points: The TV/sound system is too complicated having to use 3 remotes (in the right order) just to watch TV, the fire (also remotely controlled) didn’t work, and neither did the washing machine (this was reported). However, those minor points, whilst frustrating, didn’t detract from our enjoyable time in the property.
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time. I apologise that the fire wasn't working for you, we've had a few problems with it and we're trying to find someone to replace it. I appreciate that this is too late for you, but hopefully it will be rectified if you stay again in the future. The washing machine has now been fixed, thank you for letting us know so we could fix for future guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner
"Had a most enjoyable week in this beautiful converted chapel, in a great location."
Tastefully furnished throughout, very well equipped kitchen (managed to cook a Christmas dinner without issue). Christmas tree, decorations and hamper a very nice touch and much appreciated. Slight problem when we arrived which was quickly dealt with. Operating the tv and other technology proved challenging! Unfortunately record player appeared to have no needle so couldn’t play the records. Overall excellent stay and will recommend.
"What a beautiful property."
Seion Chapel had everything we needed for a comfortable and very enjoyable stay. Parking outside is very hit and miss but there is plenty of space on the carpark near the beach which is a short walk away. Lots of lovely shops and pubs were all within a short walk it was a great base for exploring Anglesey. We had a slight problem when we arrived but was quickly sorted after a phone call to Sykes
"A beautiful house situated close to lots of lovely beaches and shops."
It was really nice to have a chance to listen to LPs on a turn table and such a memorable choice. I would highly recommend a stay at Seion Chapel, good value for money.
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner
"We had a great week in Beaumaris staying in Seion Chapel."
The house is lovely and spacious and it’s really well equipped. The decor is contemporary and has some lovely feature. The beds are very comfy. It’s in a great location too, near to the local bakery (which is a daily must)! There are lots of games, including a telescope and the TV / media sound system is amazing. We loved the record player too. The only negative features are that the main rooms are on the ground floor, so are very noisy (next to the road) and the connecting door in between the 2 double rooms isn’t sound proof. It’s very bright too as the original windows are so big. The down side of this is that they sadly don’t open either, so there is a damp smell from the bathroom carpets and they are mouldy. The plumbing also needs addressing. The toilets were very difficult to flush and 2 had a broken seat/lid and the top bathroom toilet overflowed and leaked through the lounge ceiling (luckily my husband managed to fix this). Unfortunately the shower in the 2nd double didn’t turn off easily, so we didn’t use this. Any issues we had were dealt with by Lorraine promptly. 6 of us stayed in the house and we only had 3 bath towels and this was quickly sorted. All in all a great week and would stay again.
Thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback very seriously and following this we have changed all of the floor coverings in the bathrooms from carpet to a more hygienic, vinyl flooring. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner
"The chapel was a lovely property in every way except for the awful smell in the downstairs back bedroom and bathroom - damp?"
Definitely stained carpets and mould in the shower didn’t help. Such a shame as I’d book there today for next year if this wasn’t the case. My parents had the bedroom with roll top bath and they struggled with broken toilet seat and stained carpet in their bathroom too. I ended up sleeping in the attic room with my daughter as the smell was too much in the back bedroom. The rest of the property was lovely and appreciated the well stocked kitchen, lovely comfy beds and of course an excellent location too.
"Another set of keys would be useful."
Previous reviewer commented on the nauseating smell from carpet in en-suite bathroom- despite owner’s reply that the carpet was to be replaced it hasn’t been and smell is awful. Hopefully carpet will be replaced with something washable, especially in a room without windows to open. As we were a party of 5 we had to use that bedroom. Not much storage for clothes in 2 of the rooms. Several lights not working, including utility room/WC which has no windows so had to use torch to use that room; half the lights in en-suite for main bedroom not working either. Liquid soap dispenser in bathroom empty. I think these relatively minor faults should be rectified when the house is cleaned between lettings.
"The property is fabulous, very well renovated and with lots of high quality fixtures and fittings including very comfortable beds, high quality bedding and towels etc."
The owners have done a great job with lots of little extra’s such as the records, games and the lovely goody pack when we arrived. Sadly the shower on the 2nd bathroom was out of order when we arrived and although a plumber looked at it the following day it was unusable. This was a real disappointment for us as one of the reasons we booked the property was so we could all have our own bathroom. The smell from this bathroom became unbearable and we had to move out of that room on day 2, the 3rd bedroom was not really suitable for a 6’ adult and we had many bumped heads during the week so really spoiled our stay which was a real shame.
Thank you for your lovely comments about our property and we are glad you enjoyed the majority of the stay. We express our sincerest apologize in relation to the smell in the bathroom we have been made aware of this and have recently found out it was the carpet, this is being replaced in the coming weeks. We hope this doesn't effect your booking with us again. Take care x Property Owner
"Lovely holiday home, enjoyed the spa bath,very comfortable accommodation"
"The Chapel was even bigger than it looks in the pictures."
Really lovely place to stay. Everything you need is there. Loved the jacuzzi. The sea is just a couple of minutes walk away and there are shops, pubs and places to eat just around the corner. Parking is a few minutes away £20 per week of you can't get a free space in the street. The Gaol makes an interesting afternoon and is literally in the next street. Fresh bread and cakes across the road from the bakery. Would love to visit again... Many thanks xx
"The property was beautiful the owners had thought of everything, it is a shame there is nowhere to sit outside, only issue we had was the outside bins hadn’t been collected the previous week which had meant they were full when we arrived."
(Obviously nothing the owner could do) There is no parking space and some days we had to park several streets away. Beautiful town and property definitely worth a visit
"Seion Chapel is a very comfortable property, well equipped and beautifully decorated."
As with most of Beaumaris, on street parking is on a first come first served basis, but even at this time in August we found spaces mostly within 200yds of the Chapel. There is no outside space at this property - so if you want to BBQ you need to be portable and get off to the beach or something. Only complaint we had was that the re-cycling bins were still full on arrival, so we had to dispose of our own bottles, cans and cardboard. This also happened last year at The Ark - seems previous customers did not get them out in time or the property cleaning team did not see it as their job - pity - otherwise a perfect week with great weather!
"The base unit in the kitchen corner right of the cooker is hanging off when opened, hinge totally pulled out."
...we found this on opening at the start of our holiday.
Thank you for your feedback, this is really important to us in order to help us make any necessary improvements that will benefit both our current and future customers. I can confirm the kitchen cabinet has been amended. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Property Owner
"Super property and in a great spot."
"Literally the nicest holiday let we've ever stayed in!"
It looked great on the photos online but often the reality is a little different... actually this place is even more impressive in real life. Large, high ceiling-ed rooms - fab furnishings/decoration. Even (the thing that often lets places down!) solid cooking equipment in good condition. Given the weather we had - the washer/dryer was very welcome! Such a shame it doesn't come with a dedicated parking space - but that really is the only downside. Very happy to recommend this property.
"Lovely, comfortable accommodation, right in the heart of Beaumaris."
Warm and cosy and extremely clean. It is light and airy with gorgeous big windows in the living area. We had a lovely family get together here plenty of room for us, 6 adults. Thank you.
"A lovely comfortable, spotlessly clean, quirky holiday property."
The converted chapel has been very carefully and imaginatively planned. An excellent welcome basket was much appreciated. We would definitely recommend to our friends and family.
"Booking process easy and hassle free."
All Information correct...directions and access to property easy to follow. Description and pictures reflect the property and not misleading. The nicest property we have stayed in so far. Will be using Sykes cottages again because of all reasons stated above. Thank you Sykes...The Bone Family
"Great location, well equipped, lots of nice modern touches, good WiFi, tv/entertainment set up, with surround sound, Netflix etc enabled."
The accommodation was very clean, and well furnished and decorated, We would definitely use again if visiting Buemaris.
Everything you could wish for. All appliances worked well with information provided. The jacuzzi bath was a lovely treat. Quality bed linen and towels. Very comfortable beds. Location near to very good pubs and restaurants. We loved The George and Dragon for meals and a drink. Top floor rooms only really suited to children due to head room. Parking may be difficult in high season. The owner of the Liverpool Hotel next door was upset about visitors parking on their premises ( we did not but she voiced her concerns about earlier bookings)
"Exceptionally beautiful house, full of character and 2 minutes from the sea and local amenities."
I would recommend this for couples and families as it offers luxurious touches such as the spa bath and plenty of space for families to spead across the three floors. The living area is bright and spacious with a large dining area and plentiful seating. The TV offered amazon prime and Netflix and the internet worked fine. The surround sound was appreciated by all. Highly recommended.
"What a beautiful place."
We stayed with some friends and our 2 year old, the house is just perfect. Everything you could need including some very fun board games! We actually went on to check next years availability whilst we were there! Can’t wait to stay again!
"The Seion Chapel is a beautifully decorated property with some amazing features, for once a decent sized welcome pack we used everything, a really nice touch."
A really detailed what to do book. I have holidayed in Anglesey alot so know the best places to go but it also gave me ideas for new places. We went to the Hideout BBQ which I loved, Dylans in Menai has fabulous views of the Straits, the Art Gallery in Llangefni is fabulous but my personal personal favourites are Benllech Bay, Rhosneigr and Newborough. The BathSpa and the Record Player were inspired additions,.if I came again which I plan to I would also add a set of my own lps to my packing. The property would be a really interesting property to bring my 2 adult sons to. I loved the style of the property with new sofas, filament style industrial side lighting with a great open plan kitchen, and the quirky dishwasher on the other side of the island which I once had in a previous house. I didn't feel the kitchen when was kitted out adequately. There was a broken cake stand in the cupboard with just 6 of everything, as we were only 2 and like to cook there were was just not enough cutlery and key items were missing for a bit of baking/cooking such as mixing bowl, scales baking trays, casseroles, au gratin dishes, pie plates. We had a continual problem with wi fi and the TV which we reported but found we were on the phone on hold for ages on what was a short break and we just wanted to holiday. The lack of TV drove my guest crazy so we retreated to The Bold to see Fleetwood Bac and had a great night out. The TV being on wifi let it down otherwise I would have given the property a 5. As my guest suggested maybe put a freeview box to give TV access for when the wifi fails which it did frequently.
"A beautifully light and airy property on a quiet street but very close to the boutiques and restaurants of Beaumaris."
It has been furnished and accessorised beautifully with exceptionally comfy beds with luxury bed linen and lovely pillows and soft fluffy towels. A very generous welcome pack provided, there is a great bakery at the end of the street and butcher and vegetables on the Main Street meant that we were able to buy everything we needed within walking distance. We were able to find parking within 50 metres of the property.
- Over three floors
- Three bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor king-size with en-suite freestanding, Jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground-floor double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x second-floor twin with en-suite shower, basin and WC
- Ground-floor cloakroom with basin and WC
- First-floor open-plan living room with a kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire
- Ground-floor utility
- Second-floor games room.
- Gas central heating with electric fire
- Electric oven and hob, microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge, coffee machine, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, TV and WiFi
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Travel cot and highchair kept in the property
- Roadside parking on a first-come, first-serve basis
- Sorry, no pets, no smoking
- Shop and pub 0.2 miles
- Beach 0.3 miles
- Note: Property is located at the rear of the Chapel
- Please note: own bedding must be provided if using the travel cot.Note: The property at the front of Seion Chapel is a separate rental and guests should not park there
Nestled in the seaside town of Beaumaris, on the Isle of Anglesey, in north Wales, is this delightful converted Methodist chapel.
Dating back to 1889, this property boasts a wealth of character inside, with exposed beams, whilst still having been completely renovated to provide a contemporary base for friends and families seeking an escape to Anglesey.
Entering the property, you will be greeted by a spacious hallway where you can drop off your coats and muddy boots and step into the contemporary dwelling.
The ground floor consists of two double bedrooms, both with their own en-suites so you don't have to fight over the bathroom in the morning!
Both bedrooms have a range of quality furnishings with ample storage space for your personal items.
The master bedroom's en-suite has an elegant freestanding, Jacuzzi bath where you can enjoy a warm soak in the tub at the end of a tiring day.
The first-floor houses the open-plan living space where you can look forward to relaxing and unwinding into the evening catching up with your favourite shows, or enjoying some quality family time together.
The kitchen is well-equipped with everything you could need to rustle up some delicious meals and gather at the large dining table to enjoy your meals over a well-deserved glass of wine.
Follow the steps up to the second floor and discover a spacious twin bedroom, also benefitting from an en-suite shower room.
While you're in the area, make sure to explore the seaside town of Beaumaris, and delight in exploring many of its traditional pubs and restaurants for that fine dining experience, as well as some shops and supermarkets for picking up any last-minute essentials.
Make sure you visit Beaumaris Castle, a medieval building where you can look forward to exploring this historic structure and the grounds it rests in.
Beaumaris Gaol is a Victorian prison which offers tours and still has the original cells, perfect for those keen explorers.
Alternatively, make sure to explore the Isle of Anglesey, with its many rural sites and plenty of walking and cycling opportunities.
Discover the Anglesey Sea Zoo which has over 150 species of underwater creatures to discover, something your little ones would delight in.
Pili Palas Nature World is also a small petting zoo with meerkats, bug and butterfly enclosures.
Return to Seion Chapel for a relaxing evening with your loved ones in front of the warming electric fire.
Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.
About the location
Menai Bridge 4 miles.
Beaumaris is a well known historic town on the Isle of Anglesey situated on the Menai Strait and overlooking the Snowdonia mountain range, making for the most stunning of sunrises. With its medieval castle (now a World Heritage site) dating back to the reign of Edward I and its Victorian pier, gaol and courthouse, it is also known as a major centre for yachting. Beaumaris is rich in history and retains much of its medieval street pattern. It’s setting, diversity of architectural styles and periods, differing scale, open spaces, varying roofs and overall quality contribute greatly to the town’s character. There is a good selection of shops, restaurants and public houses, as well as fishing opportunities and boat trips in the town, plus a golf course nearby. Along the coast is a large bay called Red Wharf Bay; its Welsh name is Traeth Coch (Red Beach) and the area is renowned for its glorious sunsets. The bay is very shallow and at low tide, almost 25 square kilometres (10 sq. mi.) of sand is uncovered providing safe bathing, perfect for wonderful family fun, fishing and miles of stunning scenic walks. Further afield is the port of Holyhead, which has regular ferry links to Dublin. Beaumaris is a good central base for touring Wales, in a beautiful location on the south coast of the picturesque Isle of Anglesey, within easy reach of the spectacular mountains of Snowdonia.
View more holiday cottages in Beaumaris
To allow for additional cleaning, check in time for this property has moved to 4:30pm, thank you for your understanding.
Please note that the ceilings are low in the upper floor bedrooms of the property as shown in the photographs.
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute