In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 48 View Image Gallery
  • Halcyon - Anglesey - 1040048 - photo 1


(Ref. 1040048)

Moelfre near Benllech, Anglesey Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (15)
  • house (14)
  • clean (14)
  • location (10)
  • room (10)
  • all (10)

22 Customer Reviews

  • "Just had a lovely week in Halcyon."

    Its a beautiful big house loads of room for big families. The garden was lovely if we'd had the weather to sit out. Very comfortable Rita and John very helpful. Location fantastic just a short walk to Moelfre beach and the Kinmel Arms. Just needs a little TLC in a few areas.

    Reviewed by Joanne4.1Mar 2024

  • "I have given a one star score for the position of the property in relation to the village and the beach."

    It is the cleanliness (or lack of) and lack of maintenance that lets the place down. We were a party of 5 adults and 2 children for a 3 night stay. There was mould on the wall next to one of the children's beds. We rang the owner who said that she could do nothing that night but would get the cleaner to call the next day. We didn't want to stay but because the children were so upset we decided to put up with it and changed the sleeping arrangements so that nobody had to sleep next to that wall. As promised, the cleaner called the next day and wiped the wall. This however was not the only issue. There were too many to itemise them all but some were more mould in one of the living rooms, sweet papers and other things behind the beds, under one of the settees in the larger living room there was a lot of mess, the shelf on the coffee table was broken, the knob on the kettle lid comes off if you try to lift the lid, the hall lights don't work, the family bathroom lightswitch doesn't always work-it gets jammed, some of the curtains don't close properly and are hanging off the pole. In the kitchen cupboards there were 2 filthy cups, a frying pan with old oil in it, badly chipped plates and the oven racks and door were filthy. The towels provided were old and badly marked-we did not use them. The wardrobe doors in the ensuite room did not open and close properly neither did one of the drawers . There were blood stains on the pillows and duvet and urine stains on the mattress covers (two)on the ensuite double bed. There were as I said more issues. Needless to say, we won't be back

    We would like to thank you for your comments. We are sorry that the location of the property did not meet your expectations, not only do we, but other guests find it a good location, quiet, private and in a pleasant setting in its own grounds and only a short walk to the lovely old fishing village of Moelfre and the sea. We were contacted shortly after the guests arrival to say there was mold in one of the bedrooms and that they were not willing to let children sleep there. We did say that if you are not happy and you wish to leave we will refund your money. They didn’t want that. We contacted the housekeeper who said he will ask the cleaner to go tomorrow, the cleaner came next day and wiped a small amount of condensation, not mold, from the wall. We stayed at the property last week to see for ourselves how it could have deteriorated so much in a few days between guests. We also went to meet up with the painters who are repainting the house. Which had been planned for some time whilst we waited for a gap between guests over the winter months. The coffee table didn’t appear to be broken. There didn’t seam to be any problem with the curtains or rails. These have been removed whilst painting is being done and all curtains sent for washing. The pull switch in the main bathroom worked fine whilst we were there. The kettle lid was broken so we replaced the kettle. We spoke with the housekeeper and cleaner about blood and urine stains. The housekeeper has his own commercial laundry. He told us that they would not have left the laundry with stains. If they had, the cleaner would not have put them on the beds and would have sent them back. We did check the crockery and didn’t find any problems just need to get some more wine glasses. Which tend to get broken in the dishwasher. We do try to provide our guests with a good experience and always ask them to just phone us if they need anything. We always respond to there needs immediately or as soon as possible. As is shown in this and other reviews. Thanks Rita and John Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet1.6Nov 2023

  • "I loved this property, it was very spacious, clean, Owners very polite, great location with beaches nearby, great for fishing."

    Would definitely come back.

    Reviewed by Mustapha5.0Oct 2023

  • "Pleasant house ."

    Could do with some operating instructions on appliances and there seems to be a problem with the hot water which heats up some of the radiators and as such it gets a bit warm.having said this the owners are helpful and pleasant to deal with , all in all we had a lovely stay thanks.

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7Sep 2023

  • "The property is in a great location and is very spacious."

    It has the potential to be an amazing house. It does however need some tlc to make it stand out rather than be ordinary. While it is generally clean there has been no attention to detail for some time, so there are cobwebs all over, in light-fittings, on beams, in the cooker enclosure, even higher up on bathroom walls. The oven has all the numbers and symbols missing off the dials therefore it is very hard to use this with any success. This coupled with no instructions for the oven made even reheating food very difficult. The main bathroom had some loose tiles and really need some maintenance. The brown sofas in one living room were towards the end of their life and not that comfortable. There weren’t even 8 matching wine glasses in the kitchen, which was a bit disappointing when 8 adults were eating together at the table on our first night. With regards to this it was a tight squeeze fitting 8 adults around the table. We felt it would be better to have an extendable table in the large second lounge. The final issue is with the Sykes policy of only getting access to the property at 5pm, especially when you have to leave the property at 10am. This is very late especially in winter when it is dark and makes it even harder to find the house. However we did have a great time and feel some minor investment could make the house so much more enjoyable .

    Reviewed by Kathryn2.8Dec 2022

  • "Property was as advertised ."

    Very clean and comfortable and very relaxing. My friends and i had a lovely break.

    Reviewed by Alan3.8Oct 2022

  • "We stayed in the main house."

    This accommodation is in a great location for exploring Anglesey and the accommodation is a good size. The WIFI also performed well and the outside seating area was great. This being said there were several things that I feel is important to mention. Inside the house feels like it's been bought to use as a letting and minimal money has been spent on it. I think it needs looking after better with several items needing to be maintained. It looks as though it's been furnished with second hand brown furniture. There is nothing with 2nd hand furniture but at these prices, I would expect a better quality finish and comfort (e.g. low sagging sofas, low quality bedroom furniture) There were several niggles: * No instructions on how to use the heating and when we arrived there was no hot water. * Chipped china - several pieces of china should be thrown out as they are badly chipped. * The knobs on the cooker have worn off so you don't know which setting is for the grill, what correct temperature is etc. * No black bags for us to replace the emptied bin bag (we can only assume that the person who cleans will replace this). * No salt or pepper to cook with. In fact there was nothing in the cupboards that you would normally expect to find such as oil, condiments. * One scrub pad that has been used so many times. * The information book - has minimal info on the running of the house. * Loose tile on the step up into the main shower, and loose floor tile in the dining room. Both need fixing. These are small things, but take together I would expect a better standard for the price. However, 3 things really stood out. 1. The entire place needs a deep clean. It's obvious that the people who clean it currently don't move any furniture to sweep or clean. There is dust and cob webs a plenty. 2. All the pillows should be renewed. I have no idea how long they have been in use, but they are foam and the foam has all broken up. I recommend you bring your own pillow. 3. The bed in the 2nd double bedroom needs to be replaced. I spent 2 disturbed nights sleep before I had to change to one of the single beds, which obviously had a newer mattress and was more comfortable. However, I had a booked 2 double bedrooms... So all in all, I was underwhelmed. My week was discounted as a late booking, but if I had paid full price I would have been very cross.

    Reviewed by Caroline3.1Sep 2022

  • "Really loved village, Kimnal Arms very friendly excellent food, gluten free well catered for."

    Disappointed with cleanliness of house kitchen needs a very good deep clean, Saucepans and dishes needed a good scrub before using . The outside patio area was very confusing not sure what area was for house and what was for annex . Towels definitely past there best, bedding was also not the best duvet cover king size duvet double size. Bed double, all in all property lacked care and attention. Which was disappointing.

    Reviewed by Patrick2.2Aug 2022

  • "Clean, spacious, bright, well equipped property."

    Great location, on the edge of the village, but handy for all the attractions of a pleasant, quiet, former fishing village. Easy walk to the chip shop, the coffee shop and the pub.

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Jul 2022

  • "Lovely property in great location"

    Reviewed by Martin4.7Apr 2022

  • "Absolutely fantastic property!"

    Beautifully renovated (to our taste) and bright, tastefully decorated, very spacious, big CLEAN kitchen, very comfortable beds, DUST free which is quite the exception, big garden, can see the sea from the house, a few minute walk from Moelfre (pebble) beach - an amazing house in an amazing location! We really enjoyed our weekend there, and we'll come back for more time there at our next opportunity! The owners are also extremely accommodating!

    Reviewed by Isaac5.0Nov 2021

  • "Halcyon made a great base to explore Anglesey."

    The house was very clean and warm when we arrived with plenty of hot water. The milk and Welsh cakes were a nice welcoming touch. We appreciated the plentiful space especially the two large lounges as well as the roomy bedrooms upstairs. There was plenty of space to spread out. The house is excellently situated just a few minutes walk from the harbour with a great little shop on route. There are also some brilliant walks to be had from the front door with an excellent bus service for walks that start further afield. Only minor grumbles were the idiosyncratic teapot and the odd mixture of kitchen utensils.

    Reviewed by Jeanne5.0Oct 2021

  • "Loved our stay at the Halcyon."

    8 of us stayed in Oct 2021. The pictures don't do it justice. Loads of room and facilities are great. Just a 5 minute stroll to the beach. Would happily book again

    Reviewed by Graeme5.0Oct 2021

  • "We were 4 adults using 3 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms in a 4 bedroom house, and we were v comfortable."

    We felt that a full house would more of a problem. A downstairs toilet wouldn’t go amiss. We noticed a number of places where a little maintenance was needed. Otherwise, the house was fine and we had a good holiday. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.1Sep 2021

  • "In the main this is a nice clean, well funrnished property which we really enjoyed staying at, and will hopefully use again."

    The Wifi rarely works so make sure you have sufficient data in your allowance. There were some small niggling issues plus a couple of things that needed addressing while we were there and should have been noticed by the cleaners and/or the maintenance people. The curtains in one of the main rooms looking onto the road could not be drawn without standing on a chair - an obvious safety concern. Similarly the vertical blind in the dining room wouldn't draw which was a problem when the sun was shining. We contacted the owner whose response was absolutely superb. Immediately she contacted the maintenance man who came next day and fixed the curtains - the blinds need replacing. The first time we decided to use the cooker we found burned fat had been left in the grill pan so we never used the oven at all. Specific request from Sykes to use the dishwasher, especially on the eve of leaving but no tables provided to use the dishwasher. Apart from the dirty oven, the house was spotless so we assume this was a one off mistake. Maintenance is an obvious issue that needs addressing. Having said that, I reiterate that this is an excellent cottage in a lovely area, well worth considering.

    Reviewed by Stuart4.4Sep 2021

  • "Just back from a lovely week stay at Halcyon Cottage."

    The Owners, Rita and John were extremely helpful and resolved any queries and issues we had very promptly. They couldn't have been more obliging and friendly. It is a lovely big family house and plenty of private parking with extensive gardens and outside seating area. Plenty of room for the family to spread out with 2 large lounges each with a good sized TV.. Halcyon is situated in an excellent location for exploring the beautiful Island and just a short walk from the Coastal Paths and the village of Moelfre... We will be returning.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Sep 2021

  • "Expections did not totally fail but I have given that response for the following reasons: The house accommodates eight people which was very clean and tidy on arrival: there was plenty of room and a good space for outside activities."

    The owners had previously said that if there was anything amiss we were to get in touch. We soon found that there was no teapot and a bare minimum of cutlery which were oddments. The next morning after our arrival I contacted the owners who were unnecessarily defensive and were in disbelief when I reported the absence of the teapot. A pack of four sets of cutlery and a teapot arrived later in the day. The teapot was the height of a mug which felt insulting for saying there were eight people in the house. After hunting around I found a reasonably sized teapot under the stairs in a container of ornaments. There were a number of things that were in disrepair around the house which I tried to report to the owners but met with the same defensiveness. They asked me to send pictures which I did but I have not received any acknowledgement from them. In our conversations I understand that the owners have not had a visit to the house since before the first Lockdown which is probably why full attention has not been given to the property. It would not take much to put matters right after a full inspection and I suggest this is done soon before the house looks even shabbier. Areas for attention: some curtain hooks are broken or missing throughout the house, a couple of curtains look terrible in this regard; the dining room blind sticks and had to be drawn manually by standing on a chair; the En Suite blind is fraying on one side; there is no lamp shade on the central light in the second double room; some of the beds had only an under sheet and nothing else between sleeper and mattress; there was a whole in one of the single mattresses; a control dial on the hob was broken and did not work; the table covering on the dining table was torn on two sides. The owners might also note that the front fence sits at an angle and could do with repair. The owners might take advice on how to handle customer concerns. I hope this helps.

    Reviewed by Hazel3.8Aug 2021

  • "The Halcyon house was brilliant."

    Excellent location, clean, tidy and very spacious. We were pleasantly impressed. The only down side, if one can say, is the late check in and early check out. For a long weekend rental, I was expecting to be able to stay the last day at the property as well.

    Reviewed by Valeriu4.7May 2021

  • "Just enjoyed a super family holiday at Halcyon."

    The property is very spacious and well equipped and recent renovations have improved it dramatically when compared to existing photographs. The owners were a pleasure to deal with, very helpful and accommodating. Despite previous reviews there were no issues with hot water supply and plenty of supplies of sanitiser hand wash and anti bacterial wipes. The location is superb and convenient to visit many attractions in the area. We will not hesitate to arrange another visit.

    Reviewed by David4.7Sep 2020

  • "It is not nice to write a bad review on anything when things don’t go according to your plan, as there is so much of effort goes into providing a service."

    But sometimes it is worth mentioning the experience and give an opportunity to the service providers to correct their mistake and improve the standard. Our recent experience in staying at Halcyon cottage at Moelfre was disappointing. In this review I am going to list the things that were responsible for my disappointment. When I am spending £650 for two nights, I am expecting some basic services to be in place without any issues whatsoever. No ifs no buts and no excuses. Before I write anything, I would like to mention one good thing that the owner of the cottage were reachable over the phone and helpful in solving our issues to the extent they can. But this doesn’t carry much value because in my opinion there should not be a reason to approach the owners at all. These services should be hassle free. Full stop. Here is the list of things that disappointed us. Internet : The property do have internet connection but doesn’t work. For a remote place where it was difficult even to get a decent signal it was disappointing to see the internet is not working. Originally it was advertised as WiFi is available. When contacted the owner they mentioned that internet is not working due to recent renovation work. We had to spend two days without it. I would have gone to some no man’s land if I were to get away from the connected world. Central heating: On the day of our arrival the central heating system was not working. When contacted the owner he asked us to find the keys for the fuse board and open and have a look. After bit of struggle to find the keys, when we looked into the fuse board, we found the boiler switch was tripped off. On owner’s suggestion we tried to switch it back on. But that was unsuccessful as the switch was tripping off again and again with some sparks. We had to spend one night, out of two night stay without hot water in the kitchen and no central heating huddling next to the electric dummy wood fire stove. The plumber came and fixed the boiler at noon the next day. Bathrooms: Shared bathroom, that was meant for 5-6 people staying in the house didn’t have any hand wash or room freshener. The shower head holder couldn’t be held in position because of the old worn out holder mechanism. Shower head was leaky and spaying water everywhere from its broken case. No toilet cleaning brush either. All we had in there was couple of toilet roles. Thanks to that. Kitchen: Most of the kitchen was clean but the important item “coffee machine” wasn’t cleaned from last usage. The used coffee powder was there in that with a stinky smell. Kitchen was full of all kinds of cleaning sprays and scrubbers but no washing up liquid. A used up bottle with less than 10 % of liquid was kept near to sink. Not enough teaspoons, dirty kettle to add to the list. Surrounding: It wasn’t mentioned in the original advertisement that the property has an annex to it and its occupied by other people. Both cottage and annex had same access paths. No privacy as Kids were running around. Outside: Garden chairs were thrown around with dirty table. Fences around the house were getting repaired and all the stuff has been left just like that without tidying it up. The garbage bins were full and a fully loaded construction waste skip was kept on the sides of the driveway. It was so bad that we couldn’t even take a decent photograph outside the cottage. Inside/Bedrooms: Property was recently been through some repair work. Rooms, bedding were clean. The house was great but not that clean. Ripped sofa, damp patches on the walls etc. In total, the property is not up the expectations and we were disappointed with entire experience. The property work should have been completed and appropriate attention to details should have been given before putting it on rental. Hope the owners and the Sykes cottage people will make note of all of these and take appropriate actions. There might have been some positive things about this cottage but our disappointment overwhelmed those. With the given conditions I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone. These problems could be easily fixable but upon reading the other reviews it looks like the issues are well known and not getting fixed. If I have the rights I would like to ask for some money back.

    Reviewed by Prakash1.6Aug 2020

  • "We were advised that 5pm was the time we could enter the property as it needed a deep clean because of Covid 19."

    I was alarmed to notice that all the glass in the property ie glass in internal dooŕs, kitchen cupboard doors, internal windows and mirrors were covered in sticky finger marks!!! those were marks that we could see what about things that we couldn't see.!!! there were a few things that prevented me giving the property a five. not enough coat hangers in wardrobes , not enough teaspoons in kitchen, ripped sofa, wonky headboard just minor things that would be so easy to fix to upgrade the property. the kitchen was really well equipped and it was nice to have 2 separate lounges with flat screen tv's. Wi-Fi was a problem as none of us (6) could get access to it and with 3 kids wanting to use i pads it was annoying especially as the weather was so atrocious . I would go back if i couldnt find another property similar for the same price.

    Reviewed by Anne4.1Aug 2020

  • "Three days before the holiday we were informed that some building work would be carried out near the house but was not expected to disrupt us."

    . The building work was in fact 5 feet away from the house & the noise on occasion was considerable, especially as we had very 2 young children with us. I hired this house to give us all space to move around & a large garden for the 3 children to play in. A combination of bad weather & building materials making the mud worse meant that was not possible. Also the back of the house had a lovely area with large garden & large dining table & 6 chairs for outdoor dining, again which we could not use. Regarding the interior of the house, there was no hot water the day of arrival so we had to request a plumber who arrived the next day but had to return for the next 3 days! There was also a problem with the electrics, so we had to request an electrician to call out, again they were prompt. The house itself was great but not that clean. There was bad damp patches on a few walls & floor. We had two complaints about the bedding also. This property should never have been advertised for occupation until all the work was completed. I booked this particular house for 5 adults & 3 children so they could make noise & play outside & there was room for us all. Apart from all the problems we had, we would all happily return once all the problems are finally fixed, the house & gardens are gorgeous.

    Reviewed by Lynda3.4Aug 2020

Show more Hide all


  • Over two floors
  • Four bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC, 1 x double, 2 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room
  • Snug with electric fire
  • Oil central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine
  • TV with Freeview and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair provided
  • Off-road parking for three cars
  • Rear garden with patio area
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Please Note: Property will accept pets from 13th of September 2024
  • Shop 2.5 miles, pub 0.2 miles
  • Beach 0.2 miles

The property

Benllech 2.5 miles.

Resting in the ever-popular fishing town of Moelfre, on the scenic Isle of Anglesey, is this delightful detached cottage, Halcyon.

Enter this delightful dwelling and make yourself at home in the snug room, complete with two sofas, a TV and an alluring electric fire to keep you toasty.

When you’re not indulging in the fine restaurants of Anglesey, the country-style kitchen makes a lovely place to prepare your meals, whilst the dining room offers a pleasant setting to enjoy them.

Head upstairs and take your pick from four wonderfully furnished bedrooms, including two doubles and two twins, serviced by a gleaming bathroom where you can enjoy a soothing bath to round off the evening.

There is so much to do in the area, with the delights of the North Wales coastal path running through the village, plus a whole host of historical attractions to explore, including the ancient ruins of Din Lligwy, the Lligwy Cromlech, and 12th century chapel of Capel Lligy.

On a sunny day, make the most of the weather and visit the nearby pet-friendly beach of Traeth Bychan which is perfect for a picnic or paddle in the sea, and is just one and half miles away!

Why not spend a day in Beaumaris, browsing the many independent shops with a chance of finding some hidden gems?

If exploration takes you further afield then visit the popular tourist spot of Holyhead, where you can find beautiful boats and seaside scenery to watch whilst tucking into your traditional fish and chips, before enjoying a stroll along the breakwater Country Park to burn off those extra calories.

Resting in a real honeypot area of Wales, a holiday at Halcyon promises plenty of adventure.

Note: This property can be booked with 1040055 together they can sleep 10 people

View on map

About the location


Red Wharf Bay 2.5 miles.

Benllech has a beautiful, long and sandy beach, much favoured by families, with a slipway allowing easy access for all. A variety of shops and cafés front the beach, with a picnic area to the side, whilst the village centre offers more shops, pubs, hotels and restaurants. The setting promises to suit every taste, with the village itself ideal for family holidays, whilst the rural setting offers peace and easy access to the coast, rural Anglesey and of course the spectacular mountains of Snowdonia.

View more holiday cottages in Benllech

Please Note: Property will accept pets from 13th of September 2024

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas