Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

21 people have recently viewed this property

Gate Lodge

Castle Douglas, Ayrshire and Dumfries & Galloway (Ref. 1060519)


(14 ratings)

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 5

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

14 Customer Reviews

  • "We would have liked more fridge space and less freezer space."

    Thank you for the excellent review scores. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GeorgeJun 2022

  • "Although the location building and surroundings were exceptional there were one two things that may be worth raising with you that could improve the stay."

    1 There is very little usable storage in the kitchen for self catering items 2 There sre no instructions for the microwave and TV (not able to remove subtitles) 3 No additional equipment provided such as CD and/or DVD player 4 No safety mat for the bath or shower 5 Downstairs toilet sink hot tap requires new stop washer 6 Power switches not labelled 7 Rear door yale lock key very tricky to operate Hope the above are of some help

    Thank you for your feedback, this is really important to us. * TV is a smart tv, decision taken that no other equipment would be required, a radios can be got for the property * Safety mat for both bath and shower will be put in situ * Yale lock on back door will be inspected Other issues are in discussion as to best way to resolve. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EdwardMay 2022

  • "I think the property has been recently decorated and possibly a new kitchen installed but I still found it lacking in a few items and was disappointed to notice stains on carpets."

    Generally, we enjoyed our stay but the hot tap in the shower room was a problem to switch off, the heating was not set as proposed in the Welcome Manual, there was no teapot/tray/tea strainer and the dishwasher was impossible to open. Luckily there is a freezer as it was also impossible to open the integrated freezer compartment of the fridge. Pegs are provided - but no washing line. I would add that we were only two occupants but we could not imagine the property being fully occupied by six adults. When I booked the cottage it was for five but the single bedroom is now twin! In the sitting room there are two two-seater couches. There are two other chairs in other rooms but moving them in would not make a comfortable evening's TV viewing. The duvet on the double bed is not big enough to cover two people, either.

    Many thanks for your feedback about Gate Lodge at Threave. It is important to us to improve what we have on offer. The new kitchen layout has made access to the small freezer box in the fridge difficult. There is a separate freezer located under the stairs. New taps have been installed in the shower room since your visit and a new tea pot and washing line have been ordered. The single room does have a second bed in there but that was temporary and we will remove it to create more space. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BarbaraMar 2022

  • "We had an absolutely wonderful, peaceful stay here at Threave Gate Lodge."

    The house was immaculate, modernised in keeping with the type of property it is and everything we needed was there. The property was warm and comfortable. We went there to relax and that’s exactly what we did. The grounds were delightful and we made use of the garden and had picnics since the weather was nice. The daffodils were beautiful as we sat amongst them. We will definitely return in the future as it is one of the nicest properties we have stayed in. Absolute 10 out of 10 for everything!

    Thank you so much for your positive comments. The team at Threave have worked really hard over the past 2 months, we have had a new kitchen and bathroom fitted, new mattresses and soft furnishings. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AngelaMar 2022

  • "This was our 1st stay at the Lodge."

    This is a fantastic place for a family. A lot of spaces insie and outside for the kids to play. The cleanliness and equipment were good. There were only a few issues that we think are easy to fix. The radiators in all the bedrooms are too small and the rooms always fill cold. Dining chairs need replacing. Outside light from the kitchen side will be a massive help too. There is a lack of information on the website about the BATS. Only on the outside of the Lodge. So on two different nights, the kids run down screaming because something was walking and making scratching noises in the attic. However, taking everything into consideration we are recommending this place and we will be back too. Regards Mr Wieczniak

    Thank you very much for your feedback. Gate Lodge has been taken off line for January for some work. We have asked for the radiators to be checked, they may need bleeding and if we can change the dining chairs. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ArturDec 2021

  • "This was our second stay at the Gate Lodge - we had stopped there last year."

    Some improvements had been made - the log burner is much better than the previous open fire, additional kitchen items had been added and some nice touches to the furnishings like new cushions and lamps. The kitchen and both bathrooms are definitely in need of updating and it would be nice if these could be done to fit in with the traditional feel of the property, as at the moment they feel incongruous with the rest of it. One of the chairs in the dining room is quite uncomfortable and since we’re a family of 5 someone always had to sit on it. The standard of cleaning was OK, and better than last year but there were still some kitchen cupboards that were a bit dirty inside and cobwebs in the corners of some rooms. Overall we had a nice week, the overall feel of the cottage is cosy and it was nice and warm. We kept the bird feeder in the back garden filled and it was lovely to see so many birds. It’s a shame that the one at the front of the cottage has gone now. The location is fantastic and this is what made us come back. The lovely walks from the cottage and the beautiful area made for a relaxing week.

    Thank you very much for your comments. Gate Lodge has been booked off for January 2022 for some work. We have also noted your comment about the dining chairs. It is good to see that you recognised that work had already started in replacing soft furnishings. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LouiseOct 2021

  • "The accommodation was great, didnt have any issues."

    On arrival we found one of the toilet seats broken but not a problem as there were 2 bathrooms. The only other thing I could think of was perhaps having a tablecloth available so the table doesnt get marked.

    Reviewed by RachelOct 2021

  • "States washer/dryer and not a dryer."

    No dishwasher although mentioned. Sofa's uncomfortable. But all good except for these points.

    Reviewed by JulieOct 2021

  • "Had read the mixed reviews that had been left and many of the issues identified had been remedied."

    There were new utensils and kitchen equipment and ample crockery. Although the lodge is a little tired in places, it was comfortable, loads of room and it was great to stay in and the location was amazing and so central for all the places we wanted to go to and family that we were visiting. The setting is beautiful and we were lucky to see deer from the kitchen window and in the grounds of Threave. Would definitely stay there again.

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments. You will be pleased to learn that we plan to fit a new bathroom and kitchen in Gate Lodge in January 2022 and also refresh the décor. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnneJul 2021

  • "The cottage was quirky with very comfortable comfortable beds."

    It was clean but could do with a few new cooking implements. The location was great for exploring the country side and Threave gardens were lovely. Lots of good beaches to visit a varied walks. Castle Douglas itself is a nice town with interesting shops. Could have stayed longer. Our 4 year old grandson had a ball.

    Many thanks for your comments and glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday in Dumfries-shire. Just to let you know following on from your feedback we have replaced kitchen utensils, crockery etc. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KimJul 2021

  • "There were quite a few problems with the accommodation."

    These have been reported to Sykes & the National Trust for Scotland. The only usable shower bathroom under the stairs is poky & has no shelving to put stuff on. The kitchen is also small, I'll equipped & difficult to use. The hot water being on 24 hours a day was a nuisance, causing a constant noise in the upstairs bedroom and affecting my daughter's sleep. She had to wear earplugs in the end. I suggest someone actually lives in the property for a week to really understand the challenges of staying there. It looks lovely on the outside, the cushions are impressive but that's about all.

    Thank you for your feedback and it is a shame that you did not contact anybody until the day before you left, when a maintenance man was sent to the property. At Sykes Cottages we do everything possible to ensure you have an enjoyable stay, but occasionally things go wrong. If a problem occurs we ask that guests contact the number in the property for the owner or contact Sykes Cottages so that any issues can be quickly rectified. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GrahamJul 2021

  • "The Gate Lodge is a wonderful place to stay for a holiday in South West Scotland."

    Clean and Tidy and ideally located to visit the beautiful beaches and Woodlands of Dumfries and Galloway. Theres a few things that would improve the comfort of the stay ... some comfortable outside furniture, at least one full length mirror and whisk wouldn't go amiss.

    Glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday in our beautiful part of Scotland. Just to update you, we have replaced kitchen utensils and have new garden furniture on order. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SallyJun 2021

  • "If you are expecting a bijou NT house with all mod cons then this ones not for you."

    No working WiFi all week Antiquated cooking facilities and stained utensils Only one set of crockery so you'll be washing up by hand all week- take your own liquid! Tiny outdated TV Dingy bathrooms with not a full length mirror in the house No handbook or visitors book. No recycling facilities until requested No working open fire as advertised The house is in a beautiful spot , is spacious and warmwith comfy beds and a new patio but needs urgent updating to meet my expectations

    Thank you for your feedback, following on from the commenst we received we have put into place plans to refurbish the kitchen and bathtoom in Jan 2022. We have replaced the kitchen utensils, a new TV supplied, the recycling bins had not been delivered before your stay as our local authority have only just rolled out a programme. We have installed a new log burner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NancyJun 2021

  • "Lovely lodge - homely and quirky - did miss an upstairs toilet as we had to use the twin bedroom."

    Generous central heating with constant hot water and a good shower. Would definitely stay again.

    Many thanks for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SylviaMay 2021

Show more


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground floor double, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with wood burner.
  • Oil fired central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer washer/dryer, TV, radio, DVD player and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Ample off road parking
  • Private rear lawn and gravelled area with furniture (not enclosed)
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 1.6 miles, pub 1.5 miles
  • Note: Cot bedding is not provided
  • Note: Should you wish to use the wood burner please buy fuel from a local petrol station
  • Note: Restricted headroom entering the shower room and at the top of the staircase, please mind your head
  • Note: Narrow, winding staircase, please take care
  • Note: As this property rests at the entrance of the estate, some noise is to be expected
  • Note: The opening times, visitor facilities and entry prices of all National Trust for Scotland properties and attractions can be viewed on their website here Please note: Wifi is available and is suitable for general use, but speeds can’t be guaranteed due to the rural location

The property

A 19th century sandstone lodge, guarding the entrance of the National Trust for Scotland’s Threave Estate, Gate Lodge offers a traditional holiday home for a group of five seeking a scenic base in Scotland.

Boasting views onto the garden that blooms with daffodils in the spring, it makes a spectacular choice for an idyllic escape.

Once home to the housekeeper of the Gordon family, the cottage now provides a superb space to enjoy a piece of baronial splendour.

Enter the property on the ground floor and discover the beautiful social spaces, made up of a sitting room with a wood burner, encompassed by traditional furnishings where you can relax; a kitchen hosting a good range of appliances and utensils; and a formal dining room where you can enjoy quality time together over a homemade meal.

Also on the ground floor rests a bathroom and a shower room, giving you a choice of either a bath or shower to begin the day, as well as the master double bedroom.

Take the winding staircase to the first floor to find the final two bedrooms, a twin and a single, wonderfully suited to a variety of group needs, with each bedroom offering a unique, traditional interior.

Soak up your surroundings in the mornings in your own private garden, observing the red squirrels and nuthatches that regularly visit, before exploring the wider grounds of the Threave Estate.

A truly special holiday home, choose Gate Lodge for your escape to Scotland.

Note: This property can be booked with Ref. 1060518, together sleeping nine guests.

Threave Gardens Cottages

Two unique holiday cottages resting amongst the wonder of the National Trust for Scotland's Threave Garden & Estate, Gate Lodge and Millwheel Cottage provide an exceptional stay for a group of nine seeking to explore the excitement of Scotland. Both of the cottages exude traditional style, presenting characterful features throughout that represent their historic past, while also hosting all of the contemporary amenities you could need to enjoy a week-long stay. The properties sit in an extremely desirable position, amidst natural beauty and wonderful wildlife, with an osprey platform and a bat reserve too, they offer a truly unique experience at any time of the year. As well as the beautiful Victorian era gardens, you can find a visitor centre, café, shop and a nature reserve all within walking distance of your front door, so you'll never have to venture far to find excitement. The centre of the local town of Castle Douglas rests slightly further afield; known as the 'Food Town', it's sure to offer something for all your cuisine needs, with a wide variety of food shops, pubs and restaurants to choose from, plus a selection of shops to while away the hours in. Loch Ken is worth a visit for keen birdwatchers, home to the official Red Kite trail, as well as being within easy reach of the Galloway Activity Centre for even more adventure! Venture towards the beautiful Galloway Hills, or enjoy a day in the riverside town of Kirkcudbright, known locally as the artists’ town, and discover the Stewartry Museum, a picturesque marina and the impressive National Trust for Scotland owned Broughton House & Garden, once the Edwardian home and studio of Scottish artist E A Hornel, you can expect to find a plethora of beautiful paintings accompanied by an equally impressive garden boasting a beautiful blend of Eastern and Western horticulture. Further afield is the village of Ecclefechan, Thomas Carlyle’s birthplace, where you can visit the home of this prolific writer and social commentator, constructed by Carlyle’s father and uncle, definitely well-worth a visit. For a memorable stay in Scotland, choose the Threave Garden Cottages.

View on map

About the location


Dalbeattie 6 miles; Kirkcudbright 9.5 miles; Dumfries 18 miles.

The attractive country town of Castle Douglas is nestled in the southwest of Scotland, in the Dumfries and Galloway region. Castle Douglas is known locally as the 'Food Town', playing host to a large selection of independent food shops, as well as a range of wonderful pubs and restaurants. The town provides access to the picturesque Solway Coast, with its miles of beautiful beaches and scattering of pretty fishing villages. Carlingwark Loch lies just south of the town, a large, freshwater lake, great for coarse fishing and sailing. Enthusiasts of water sports need look no further than Loch Ken and The Galloway Activity Centre. It offers sailing, windsurfing, powerboating, kayaking, canoeing, and a wobbly water park. Less than half an hour’s drive on the A713, it is an ideal place for a family or groups. Hop aboard a boat and venture to Threave Castle, perched on an island in the River Dee, and explore its glorious gardens elsewhere on the estate, open to the public all year round. Dumfries and Galloway is an area renowned for its outdoor activities including bird watching, mountain biking, fishing, star-gazing and golfing. Practise your swing on the 18-hole golf course situated in the grounds of the former 18th Century country mansion, Cally Palace. Pull on your walking boots and go hiking across west Scotland’s inspiring landscape, or sail along its wonderful coastline. Whatever you fancy for your holiday in Scotland, Castle Douglas is the perfect base for experiencing it all!

2 storeys
Please note: Wifi is available and is suitable for general use, but speeds can’t be guaranteed due to the rural location

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas