Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Sea Rest - Cornwall - 1049651 - photo 1

Sea Rest

(Ref. 1049651)

Bude, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (8)
  • our (8)
  • property (7)
  • comfortable (6)
  • bed (6)
  • all (6)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "Very disappointed in the property."

    Great having recycling collection info but no containers to put it in. Cannot use open drawer of freezer as frost has it closed up. No information on any of the appliances. Lack of information on the heating and hot water, the thermostat doesn’t work at all. No information on the hot water cylinder upstairs, something you need to turn on if you plan to use either the Bath or the en-suite shower. Would have liked to have been asked if we would like fresh linens for our second week. We could have washed the sheets but as the rotary line in the garden is held together with insulation tape and was so dirty from exposure to the elements, we didn’t feel that was an option. Needs new light bulb in the third bedroom as the one there you might as well not turn on as it produces allot no light whatsoever. The grill for the extractor fan in the main bathroom hasn’t been cleaned in what looks like years. The toilet in the en-suite shower room off the master bedroom seems to retain a smell of urine no matter how much you flush. To say it was a disappointment would be an understatement, would not stay in this property again.

    Hi Lyn, We’re very sorry and disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Sea Rest. Unfortunately, if you had reached out to us during your stay then pretty much all of your issues could have been resolved very easily. Ref documentation of appliances, heating controls and general information we’ll take this feedback on-board and update accordingly. To address these concerns individually: 1. All the recycling containers are stored in the garage, along with other equipment available to guests. 2. The heating/hot water is HIVE smart thermostat controlled. There is a switch in the kitchen labelled ‘Do not switch off’ which after investigating following your feedback was found to be switched off, this meant the Hive heating and hot water control, including the thermostat would not function. When this is active i.e. the switch in the kitchen left on, then the hot water and heating is always available. There is no need to touch the hot water cylinder (immersion switch) upstairs in normal operation. Again, easily resolvable if you had contacted us in the first instance. 3. Fresh linen and general cleanliness, take on board and agree fresh linen should have been provided for the second week; we are working with the cleaning company to address the other issues. (in our defence, not an excuse, you were the first guests to stay longer than a week) We’ll also look to replace the rotary clothes line and check the third bedroom lighting. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lyn2.8Sep 2023

  • "The house itself is in a good position walking distance to the town and beaches."

    The sofa s have improved from last year more comfortable. It would have been good to have your garden furniture out as we did have a few good days but couldn't make the most of the nice weather. The only downside is that your clock didn't work and no batteries as stated in your welcome booklet and a few plant pots in the garden would look great and for you to clear all the weeds in the garden by the fence and just give the garden a good tidy up it makes a difference on the eye . Would also like to say thank for the welcome goods it was good to have a cuppa and biscuits after traveling a good distance.

    Hi Ann, Thanks for your feedback, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay, and biscuits! nice to see you return. Good to hear that the new sofas are comfortable. Ref the garden furniture it should have been available to you but will check to ensure this is the case going forward. We’ll also check that the garden maintenance is carried out and look to improve the overall condition. We’ll get the batteries in the clock replaced, thanks for making us aware. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann4.1May 2023

  • "Very disappointed."

    We were sold on the fact that the place is suitable for 6 adults, it clearly is not. Our party consisted of two family’s with two sons in their 20’s. The en-suite shower only worked for two days during our stay despite a plumber being called, apparently it was a known issue that the owner could not be bothered to fix. So with 6 adults sharing one shower it was hard work. Our sons did not stay the whole time and left early due to the unsuitability of the bunk beds, they took it in turns to sleep on the floor as the beds were not fastened to the wall and very very wobbly, coupled with the shower issue our entire holiday was not as expected. Also the garden was not dog friendly at all, with glass and old bones everywhere. So would I stay again, no! Is it with the money, no! I have contacted the owner who had declined to respond hence the review. Personally I would like some sort of compensation for the hassle that has been caused

    Hi Tony, We’re sorry you found your stay at our property disappointing, firstly we had every intention of replying to your email but we wanted to ensure we had all areas concerned covered off. Ref the bunk beds – they are advertised as adult sized and we’ve never had cause for complaint previously, we’re sorry you found them unsafe, our children sleep in them without problems and there is no legal requirement, or precedent in our experience to fix them to walls unless they are integrated. Taking advice from the cleaning mgmt. company - they have never seen free standing bunk beds fixed in their 30 years’ experience. Ref the garden – we cannot explain how glass/old bone was found, we’ve checked and confirmed with the gardener/cleaner that all was as expected prior to your arrival, they have even provided photos to us which they take as standard showing the garden in good order prior to your stay. Regarding the en-suite shower we just have to hold our hands up and apologise, we were equally frustrated that the problem had reoccurred where we were assured the issue had been fixed and was working correctly for our future guests. We would never intentionally allow guests to continue staying if we knew this issue was going to continue. Please be assured this was a high priority for us, however as you can appreciate it being the Easter bank holiday we did everything in our power to get our handyman to the property as quickly as possible who cut his easter break early in order to attempt to fix this. Unfortunately on this occasion he couldn’t provide a fix, whereby we had to call out the plumber who installed the shower and provided the previous fix to take another look and rectify. We were subsequently advised a new pump is required/on order and is due to be installed imminently. Appreciate these comments probably don’t resolve your concerns, but suffice to say we take guest satisfaction very seriously and will continue to try improving where possible in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony1.3Apr 2023

  • "Very comfortable property, very convenient location for us visiting family in the surrounding area."

    Good storage in bedrooms, and well equipped. Only problem we had was that we couldn't get any water pressure in the ensuite shower, so we all had to use the one in the main bathroom. Not a big problem as there were only three of us, but might be an issue for larger groups. It would also have been nice to have larger bath towels as the ones provided were quite small!

    Thanks for the feedback Anthony, pleased you enjoyed the property and found it comfortable. Apologies for the problem with the ensuite shower and thanks for letting us know. The towels supplied are normally bath towel size, so will check to ensure this is the case going forward. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony4.7Feb 2023

  • "Good location, walking distance to the centre of Bude."

    On arrival the boiler was leaking onto the kitchen work surface. Called the number provided and Jennifer had the issue resolved within 30 minutes which was great. We have to agree with all of the other reviews regarding the sofas, very uncomfortable. Bedrooms all good and we all slept well, however the photos taken downstairs are deceptive, smaller than expected. It was our week for refuse collection and unfortunately the various recycling bags were already full with the previous occupants refuse also in additional plastic bags. A trip to the local recycling centre may be needed to get rid of the backlog. We hardly used the car and really loved Bude and the surrounding areas on foot.

    Hi Jon, Thanks for your feedback, always appreciated. Unfortunately, things like the boiler leak happen but we're glad you found the response and rectification timely and efficient. You'll be pleased to know, as will previous guests, that we've listened and have now replaced the sofas with hopefully a more comfortable set. We're sorry the downstairs wasn't the size expected, the photos are professionally produced. Thank you for bringing the recycling bags issue to our attention, apologies this shouldn't have been allowed to buildup. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jon2.5Oct 2022

  • "On arrival house was clean and tidy."

    ... was smaller than pictures that were obviously taken at an different angle.Garden wasn't as big as shown and downstairs was small ...Not suitable for more than four people... Sofa's very uncomfortable.. Wasn't cosy...Needed light in back garden....Clearer instructions needed for operating appliances..

    Hi Wayne, thanks for the feedback, we’re sorry you found the property was not as expected or to your liking. We’ll look to improve on the areas pointed out where possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wayne2.8Oct 2022

  • "Lovely property,kitchen fully equipped with everything you would need Bed was comfy both had a good nights sleep The only thing that let it down was the sofas,they are so uncomfortable so couldn’t really enjoy watching television for long."

    And after being out for the day want something comfy Colin

    Hi Colin, thanks for the great feedback, much appreciated. We’re sorry you found the sofa’s uncomfortable, its an area we will look to improve on in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin3.8Oct 2022

  • "The property was as discribed when we made the booking."

    When we read some of the review's before we went I noticed somebody comments about a pizza tray which was good as we took our own.I agree with some of the review's that both sofas are rather uncomfortable. The property itself is really good more like a home from home. We really enjoyed our stay and looking to book for next year.

    Hi Ann, Thanks for the great feedback, we’ve worked hard to make the property feel like a home from home, so much appreciated. We have indeed added pizza and baking trays to the inventory based on previous reviews. Sorry you didn’t find the sofas the most comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you again next year! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann5.0Sep 2022

  • "We had a wonderful week in this property."

    The house was very clean, comfortable and perfect for our group. The beach and town are just a 10-15 minute walk away.....Perfect!!

    Hi Sarah, Thanks so much for the lovely feedback, much appreciated, really glad you enjoyed our property and your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Aug 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay in Bude."

    The location was great and the house was clean and tidy and we thought fairly new to the letting market. The kitchen was adequately equipped but some baking trays and a pair of kitchen scissors would have been useful. Also a long handled broom. The sofas were not the most comfortable. We had a great week overall. Thank you!

    Hi Alan, Many thanks for the feedback, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Reference the kitchen equipment there should be scissors available, we’ll check the inventory and plan to add baking trays and a broom as suggested. Sorry you didn’t find the sofas very comfortable. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan4.1Jul 2022

  • "Really enjoyed our stay to celebrate our Dad’s 70th Birthday!"

    Everything was perfect with the house and a great location. Only one issue, the couches in the living room are really uncomfortable.

    Hi Jennifer, Thank-you for the feedback, glad you enjoyed your stay and the location, sorry to hear you found the couches uncomfortable. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7Jul 2022

  • "We have just returned from an excellent stay."

    The property was perfect for 3 adults and a dog. It was clean and comfortable with everything needed for a relaxing holiday. There are 3 supermarkets within walking distance, the town of Bude is an easy 10-15 mins stroll and the enclosed back garden was lovely in the evening. We hardly used the car at all. Would definitely book again.

    Thanks so much for the positive feedback Susan, really pleased you enjoyed our property and the central location. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jun 2022

  • "The property was superbly finished."

    Felt very clean and new. A god place to explore from, and handy having Morrisons close by. The only thing I would suggest is to have some baking trays/pizza trays available as there were none. Good price for a few nights stay in May.

    Thanks for the feedback Antonia, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. We will add some baking/pizza trays as suggested. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Antonia4.4May 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our short stay at your lovely house."

    You have thought of everything to make anyone's stay comfortable and most enjoyable. The location is perfect to explore Bude town and the fantastic beaches. Its just a pity we couldn't have stayed longer!! Thank you

    Thanks so much for the great feedback Philip, really appreciate it and we’re so glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip5.0May 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x double (ziplink can be a twin on request), 1 x adult bunk
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room
  • Central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
  • TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available
  • Off-road parking available
  • Rear enclosed garden with lawn and patio with furniture and barbecue
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 1 mile, beach 1.6 miles
  • Note: EV charger on site for £25.00 per booking

The property

Tucked away in the popular coastal town of Bude in Cornwall, is this fantastic three-bedroom, semi-detached house, 72 Elizabeth Road.

Enjoying a prime location with access to a good selection of beautiful beaches and the local amenities, 72 Elizabeth Road is a superb dog-friendly dwelling for a group or family of six plus their two canine companions.

Be welcomed into the well-equipped kitchen, featuring a handy dishwasher and washing machine, where you can whip up tasty meals for your loved ones ready to enjoy around the dining table for six as you recount the day's adventures.

After dinner, why not let your four-legged friends stretch their legs out in the rear enclosed garden with a game of fetch?

As the evening cools, retire to the living/dining room to snuggle up in front of a much-loved film on the TV.

Climb the stairs up to the first floor, where you can pour in the bubbles and relax in the bath or wash away the day with a refreshing shower.

When sleep calls, choose from three well-appointed bedrooms to catch your rest in, a spacious king-size with en-suite shower room, perfect for those who prefer a little more privacy, a double and a bunk room with full-size bunks, all of which offer plenty of storage for your belongings.

Wander into the town centre, where you sample fresh seafood at the welcoming Life’s A Beach, tuck-in to traditional pub fayre at The Barge or dine out at the popular 2 Belle Vue Avenue, serving a delicious menu of seafood and steaks.

Pack-up your bathing suits, swimming trunks and towels and head straight for the glorious sands of Summerleaze Beach, where you can explore rock pools with the little ones, bathe, try your hand at surfing or take a dip in the Bude Sea Pool.

The keen walkers in your party will not want to miss a scenic stroll along the renowned South West Coast Path, or if that isn’t your thing, why not test out your swing at the excellent Bude and North Cornwall Golf Club?

If you’re looking to bring your pooches along for the seaside fun, head straight for the National Trust owned Sandymouth Bay Beach, where your dogs can play on the sands and enjoy clifftop walks.

Further afield, you will find Tintagel, home to the attractions of the National Trust site of Tintagel Old Post Office, Tintagel Castle and Merlin’s Cave.

All this and more awaits with a stay at 72 Elizabeth Road.

View on map

About the location


Tintagel 17 miles.

Bude is a fabulous coastal town that once visited you will want to come back to time and time again. Bude has something for everyone, great beaches for relaxing, and building sandcastles on, rockpools for investigating at low tide and cafes to watch it all from. The rolling waves are great for surfing all year round, and the footpaths by the restored canal or on the North Cornwall coastal path offer you a superb opportunity to explore and appreciate the outstanding countryside. Bude also has a superb golf course, indoor swimming pool, bowling alley/indoor play area and Heritage Centre at Bude Castle. It also has a good selection of local shops, supermarkets, cafes, pubs, restaurants and excellent Information Centre. Within a short drive are the remains of a huge iron age hill fort at Warbstow Bury, from where panoramic views can be seen. For days out, take the coast road north to see the lonely lighthouse above the sea at Hartland Point or walk or ride a donkey down the steep and cobbled village street (no cars allowed) of beautiful Clovelly to the harbour and the pub far below. Follow the coast in the other direction and there's the little cove of Crackington Haven, Boscastle, King Arthur's castle at Tintagel, Doc Martin's Port Wenn at Port Isaac and yet more great surfing beaches at Polzeath.

View more holiday cottages in Bude

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas