In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Kerensa ha-Kres - Cornwall - 959885 - photo 1

Kerensa ha-Kres

(Ref. 959885)

Sennen, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (24)
  • location (16)
  • well (14)
  • lovely (14)
  • clean (13)
  • all (13)

47 Customer Reviews

  • "How can you make no 9a have a car park spot at least 100 mt away."

    The cottage was cold the first night and took about 36 hrs to warm up. You do not mention in the listing that when you are in bed your head is a meter away from the road so as anything that comes by you hear. Television was small by today’s standards Not likely to recommend Considering its position from Sennen cove beach it was expensive

    Thank you for your feedback. The property is located on a private farm with a designated parking space available. The heating is normally set to a background temperature. The road mentioned, is a small road that runs through the village with a 30mph limit, and the window at the property is fitted with acoustic glass to reduce external noise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gerald2.5Jan 2024

  • "Lovely accommodation, perfect location with beautiful views."

    Despite being close to the road you couldnt hear any cars going past. Well maintained and very clean. Had a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Oct 2023

  • "We had issues with recycling as it was not clear what goes where ."

    Also the bin and recycling was taken from outside and we could not find it after . The neighbours were helpful but we only found bin and recycling stuff on the morning we left . It was hard to establish that we had arrived at the destination as the published information stated a garage which no longer is there .

    Reviewed by Carol3.1Oct 2023

  • "Excellent holiday cottage."

    Lots of thoughtful touches and fitted out to a high standard. Beautiful views, lovely neighbour! Highly recommend ☺️

    Reviewed by Rachael4.4Jul 2023

  • "Good location for beach , shop and pub."

    Comfy and well equipped place. Better garden furniture , ie bigger chairs and fable would be helpful.

    Reviewed by Stuart3.4Jun 2023

  • "I had a fantastic time at this property."

    A proper home from home. I will definitely be back

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0May 2023

  • "The property was lovely and we had a great week relaxing and winding down."

    The only minor thing that could be improved was the out door furniture- the chairs had a habit of collapsing and weren’t very comfortable. Beautiful sunset views from the deck.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the property and had a lovely relaxing break. The outside chairs will be replaced over the winter. We do hope that we might welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely cottage with great views."

    Was sceptical about the car parking after reading reviews, but it was great. Very well equipped and comfortable. The bath is very high so had to be careful getting into the shower, but we had to be careful. No complaints and would go back.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Apr 2023

  • "Very clean and well maintained cottage for two people, but felt it should be mentioned that the A30 does go right past cottage and garden, and it gives the impression that the beach is very close by but it is a good walk up and down hill to the local beach, ideal if thinkingof doing a day trip to Isle of Scilly which we did."

    Reviewed by Carol4.4Apr 2023

  • "Well equipped comfortable cottage ,enjoyed are stay appreciated welcome pack ."

    Lovely coastal path walks.

    Reviewed by Sheila3.8Mar 2023

  • "In common with others we thought the standard of cleanliness throughout, on arrival, was excellent and Emma was very helpful with the queries we had."

    A problem, particularly for the older guests, is the distance from the car parking area. In common with many we take our own food and, with the luggage, it would take many trips with heavy loads to transfer everything from the car. It was suggested we could use the back door (on the roadside), with our hazard lights on, which made life easier but could be dangerous if the traffic was heavy. The Electric Heating system is very good although we did need to adjust it up in the Living/Dining area due to the external conditions while we were there. The area adjacent to the external door is a cold spot at times but there is a supplementary heater which can be found under the double bed. The locks on both outside doors were difficult to operate and the gate to the roadway does not latch closed and had to be secured open to prevent it blowing in the wind. All appliances were relatively new and in good order but, a word of caution, the grille is fierce and care should be taken in selecting the settings and removing trays when in use. We appreciated that Dishwasher tablets had been left for our use. A Visitors Book and information about the local area would have been helpful and, in particular, details of the local bus routes and times which we found to be an excellent way of getting around the area. The accommodation and storage was very good for two people but doubt it would be adequate for four adults. Our one major reservation, as older occupants, was the Bathroom. The Bath is high sided, difficult get in and out, and has no grab rail or nonslip mat for showering. There is no power point for a Shaver or Electric Tooth Brush. This need not have been a problem if we had known beforehand and taken an adaptor. Also, the Bathroom door latch does not easily latch and, when it was latched, was difficult to open. We had to ensure the door was left unlatched at all times.

    Reviewed by Teresa4.4Dec 2022

  • "Excellent little get away very clean great views PUB and shop very close."


    Reviewed by James5.0Sep 2022

  • "The property was spotlessly clean which is a huge plus to my partner."

    She usually spends the first half day cleaning our rental properties. Peole walking past the front windows is a pain in the arse but we knew about this in advance as is the parking 100yds away. Two things that you might want to look at: The locks needs attention, even if its only a bit of oil but they were stiff. The other is that I could not see a fire extinguisher. I may have missed it & am not sure its required but then its only required when you need it!! Finally, was it value for money? At £1194/week for two adults & a 10 year old? On balance NO.

    Thank you for your feedback. The lock is sorted, it does get stiffer in wet weather! There is a fire extinguisher in the kitchen. Best wishes, Cornish Cottage Holidays. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had such a wonderful home in this home from home!"

    Even though we have two small children we felt rejuvenated and refreshed. The cottage is brilliantly situated with everything you need provided. We had a fantastic time!

    Reviewed by Abby5.0Aug 2022

  • "Very nice accommodation."

    Everything clean. Very comfy bed which is so important for bad backs

    Reviewed by Susan4.1Jun 2022

  • "As it says on the tin"

    Reviewed by James4.7May 2022

  • "No towel rails - these would have been helpful."

    The oven could do with cleaning, or so I am told. Otherwise, the accommodation was excellent. Handy for an excellent Fish & Chip shop.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I’m very happy to hear you thought the property was excellent. We appreciate the points raised and will look into the option of a towel rail being added if space allows. We hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alex4.7Apr 2022

  • "Stunning cottage and great location with beautiful views."

    Reviewed by Becky5.0Feb 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely, very clean, with comfy beds and accurately described and had everything we needed."

    We were also pleased to find that there was WiFi which wasn’t in the description, so the kids were happy about that! Beautiful sea views, great location, lovely local pub which was well worth a visit, shop and chip shop all within easy walking distance. Easy to park in the car park but we also parked right outside the back door when we packed up to leave. A nice easy stroll down to Sennen Cove beach where we visit her Sennen Cove cafe and walked up to Mayon Point where there were magnificent views across the bay. We visited in November so there were no crowds of tourists but we think in busier times there would be a really vibrant bustling feel to the village. We would definitely recommend this cottage and would stay again. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Keren5.0Nov 2021

  • "Excellent cottage, perfect for us two and with all that we needed in walking distance; beaches, shop, coastal walks, pubs and bars."

    Lovely decor inside and clearly well cared for, even better than it looks on the photos! We will be back when we can.

    Reviewed by Jaqui5.0Jun 2021

  • "I refer you to my complaint CASE ref."

    No: COR-216990-CF dated Monday 21/06/2021 for which I am still awaiting your response. Ann Porter

    Reviewed by Ann2.2Jun 2021

  • "I use Sykes because I have come to believe that unlike other sites I have used their property descriptions could be trusted."

    Not the case here. Your description of the property fails to take account of the fact that it is right on the main road, with people walking by able to look straight in the windows. The windows are quite sound proof when closed, but when open the traffic noise can be quite loud. I would not recommend this cottage to those not in the first flush of youth. Unloading and loading the car could be a problem, especially in the rain, as the parking space is approximately 100 yards from the cottage. By the way, the parking space is not always available. Getting in and out of the bath could also be a problem for some. Opening and closing windows involves quite a stretch. The heater in the second bedroom emits noises during the night which can be disturbing. On the positive side, the cottage was clean and well equipped, with the exception of the settees which are most uncomfortable: also, the seat cushions were wet on arrival, presumably following an attempt to remove the stains which were still visible on drying out. The views across Whitsand Bay are spectacular, although somewhat spoilt by the unfortunate horizontal bar across the windows at my eye level.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Kerena ha-Keres. The property sits alongside the main Sennen village road, which is the last village in West Cornwall before you reach the official point of Lands End. Being in the heart of Sennen village means it’s a short walk to local amenities (such as the village shop and ‘First and Last’ pub), and a 15-20 walk down a pedestrian pathway to Sennen Cove to the beach. The position of the cottage as you say also ensures that it has spectacular views across Whitsand Bay. The cottage was formerly a farm building and the windows and window frames (which are a standard design) are positioned to maximise the views across the bay (whether you are seated or standing, short or tall). Parking is a valuable commodity in this very popular location. The cottage (along with the other properties at Mayon farm) is lucky enough to benefit from a dedicated parking space in the private Mayon farm development car park. The car park is at the rear of the cottages (about 70 metres from the house). I am sorry to hear that there were occasions during your stay when other people chose to park in the dedicated space for the property, and I will feed this back to the people who manage the shared spaces at Mayon farm. We have looked to ensure that the cottage is cosy and comfortable, and the settees and cushioned window seat have always provided the ideal place to relax. I have personally always found them very comfortable but will check them again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mike3.1May 2021

  • "Really lovely cottage with beautiful views!"

    Thank you for an enjoyable stay in Sennen. Only addition to facilities would be Wifi but not an essential.

    Reviewed by Jade4.7Apr 2021

  • "Exceptionally clean on arrival."

    Very good location for exploring this part of Cornwall. Comfortable and spacious. The neighbours were really friendly to us, especially the lovely elderly lady next door. Very close to local shop and chip shop. The only thing missing was WiFi……. then after a while we began to think that was perhaps not such a bad thing. The patio furniture is in need of replacing I'm afraid..... getting a bit rusty. Overall we enjoyed staying here.

    Reviewed by D4.1Oct 2020

  • "Just had a wonderful week here."

    Absolutely spotlessly clean.Views so lovely.Weather great. Just felt so relaxed all week. Thankyou !!

    Reviewed by Colin4.7Sep 2020

  • "Thank you for a fantastic week!"

    The property suited our needs perfectly. The location was great, walking distance to the beach but also quick access to the main road to go out exploring. The proximity to the road was a non-issue, no excess noise and felt like our young children were totally safe and unable to access it. Delicious fish and chips and a handy shop very close by. We had a great week visiting the beautiful local beaches and attractions and hope to visit again!

    Reviewed by Hollie5.0Aug 2020

  • "The accommodation was really comfortable, equipped with high quality furnishings, the beds were super comfy."

    Really great location for getting to the beach. We really enjoyed our stay. Fabulous. Only disappointing aspect was how busy the traffic was right outside the cottage - the A30 in the height of summer is fairly non-stop. Also given the location next to the fish and chip shop, we were observed frequently by all the people loitering on the pavement.

    Reviewed by Kim4.7Aug 2020

  • "Location was good."

    Information folder badly written. On arrival only one bulb out of three in the bathroom was working. That bulb failed so we sent a message to the maintenance person who came out to fix but only changed one, but did come back to fix the following day. One bulb failed again before the end of the following day. At one point I had to move one of the sofa's and noticed a considerable amount of dust under it and around the skirting boards. There was also dirt around the shower where it had not be cleaned properly. The electric heater in the bathroom had a considerable amount of dust on it. Cottage need a deep clean. Although not directly the fault of the owners, another resident parked in our allocated parking space meaning we had to park on the main road.

    Reviewed by Ian2.8Oct 2019

  • "We were worried about being so close to the A30, but it was fine."

    The sea view from the cottage was a treat. Booked for next year before we even went home.

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Oct 2019

  • "A very well equipped property in a perfect location"

    Reviewed by Suzanne4.7Sep 2019

  • "The Location is fabulous, the walk to the cove is good unless you have asthma, asthmatics do not cope well with steep uphill walks."

    However the cove is easy to get to by car and parking is cheap.You are right next to the A30 but it really is not that busy the cottage is double glazed so there is very little traffic noise the thing that grizzled me most was vans parking right outside the window when I was sea watching, people do walk by but they didn't really gawp in some glanced but that was it, the chip shop is right next door if you come out the back gate, and a cost cutter for basics,and the pub is a short two to five minute walk up the road the First and Last Inn, very friendly and lucky for us every other week is quiz night which were there for a lot of fun, food is pretty good too as is Little Bo café down in Sennen. we found the property easy to navigate to an excellent base. dishwasher and washing machine/dryer available I didn't use these myself really home from home the only let down for my daughter was no wifi. would use this property again.

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7Jul 2019

  • "Location fine."

    The cottage should be very nice, however on opening the front door the entrance is quite dirty. The door is at best difficult to lock. The bathroom gives off a damp smell that stays constantly throughout the cottage, I think it’s now well overdue for a revamp throughout everything is tired and dated. They say the camera doesn’t lie in this case I would disagree, from the online description you’re left completely unaware that the cottage backs directly onto the extremely busy A30, with traffic at all hours. The entrance drive track is in a disgraceful state of repair with cavernous potholes to be negotiated, the cottage notes advise a speed limit on the track, really! Thankfully once out of the cottage the areas walks and beaches soon remind you just how beautiful Cornwall really is. Recommendation NO will we return here NO

    Reviewed by Derek2.5Jun 2019

  • "The cottage was nearly accurately described, didn’t mention, the strange parking facilities."

    Had to walk 100 yds for the car , and when the weather is not very good you can get very wet . No instructions for cooker , I have used electric before , but I couldn’t get the cooker to work. Hob was ok . The cottage was in a very good area for looking around SW Cornwall.

    Reviewed by Heather4.4Jun 2019

  • "The listing implies a nice quiet cottage with sea views."

    The cottage is actually four feet from the main A30 to Lands End with constant traffic including coaches. There is also a pavement directly passing the property with regular pedestrians looking straight in - we spent the whole week with the blinds down for privacy. The allocated parking space is 100 yards from the property - this is a problem for those with limited mobility (my wife).

    Reviewed by Arthur3.8May 2019

  • "The location and facilities where easy accessible very pleasing decor but could of done with table lamp in lounge area for the dark evenings, Above all we would definitely return Thanks for a great holiday, !"


    Reviewed by Brian4.7Mar 2019

  • "You said its best thing going for away break, its was as it says home from home with all to offer as above ."

    1. But can I please ask you to look at the back door it needs seeing to as it , will not open all the way , unless you force the door to hard . 2. The car parking space you gave has were to park ones car , in car park bay 9A you do need badly to look again in the way you pain out the parking on that site. 3. You got 9A car parking but has in the same building and also you next door building is 21, you gave 21 building a parking space next to 9 building eta bur someone on that site gone one more parking space wrong . 4. You got parking bays 6. [ 1. blank space no number ] then you got 10. 11. 16. 17. 18. 21. and one bay with no number eta . 5. your house number's do not match the house numbers . I think that's the best way I can I think of putting it to you the parking made it the worst spot though are holidays we found up setting , and some what did not understand, why some one was on that site changing the parking numbers one day we found someone change just one more parking spot number again not matching the real house number in that area. apart from that all well thanks.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Mar 2019

  • "The cottage is in a magnificent location for enjoying this end of Cornwall if you want to get away from it all but still be close to all that the area has to offer."

    It was comfortable and warm when we visited during the windiest and wettest week in March 2019 with plenty of books, dvds and local information leaflets to keep us occupied when we were not braving the elements. Small details would have improved it overall such as removing the cobwebs around the lights and noticing that two bulbs had blown in the kitchen. The addition of a bedside reading light on both sides of the bed in the double room would have been great. Storage for clothes and food was a bit tight all round so it would be a squeeze with 4 people. As ever, WiFi would have been a bonus too. If we visited this area again, we'd happily stay in this cottage again

    Reviewed by Sharon4.1Mar 2019

  • "Lovely place, clean and tidy, perfect location for our needs."

    Penzance is near enough for a big food shop.

    Reviewed by Ben5.0Dec 2018

  • "As our first experience using Sykes Cottages, we were very pleased and are very likely to use you again in the future."

    We absolutely loved the property we stayed in and thought it was perfect for what we needed. The location was great and facilities nearby were great. The cleanliness was very good and very comfortable. We had amazing weather too, so thanks for arranging that for us too!! We couldn't have had a better week!! Thanks again, Louise & Owen

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Sep 2018

  • "On arrival there was a strong smell in the cottage which took 3 days to clear."

    Initially we thought this was damp after reading the comments book but as the weather was warm and dry, this was discounted. We believe that the smell was a result of over use of the cleaning chemicals/materials. This was apparent when we tried to use the teapot which resulted in a bad tasting, and bad smelling cup of tea as the same cleaner had been used to clean the teapot. Once cleaned it was ok. The bathroom could have been cleaner. There was mould around the bath taps, the bottom of the shower screen and around the window. The only ventilation available was to open the window, not the best idea as the neighbour would be able to look directly into the room when you use the shower. There was no extractor only a wall heater. The booklet for the cottage stated that the heating should remain switched on at all times. However the heater in the lounge although switched on, did not work. The lights were on but no heat came from the heater. ***Owner Response*** “Thank you for the feedback - this is very much appreciated this enables us to understand the things which might need a little ‘love and care’ in the property, as inevitably things do overtime with use. We plan to • repair / replace the radiator in the lounge at the earliest opportunity • Fit an extractor fan in the bathroom - this has not been pointed out as an issue previously, however I can recognise that if the bathroom door is left closed all the time this could be an issue We were in the property about 4 weeks before your stay and were really pleased with the condition and the cleanliness of the place. We are sorry that in the intervening period a small amount of discolouration has appeared in the bathroom and this is certainly something that will be the focus for cleaning in the future”. David

    Reviewed by David3.4Sep 2018

  • "The cottage was superbly equipped and beautifully decorated,however nowhere on the description was it mentioned that you are positioned on the A30,all windows on one side of the cottage open on to the road and cars park right next to windows."

    There is a mention of the ocean views from patio area, but you are literally looking across A30 and yes they are lovely,in-between cars spoiling that. There is a gate from patio area,care if you have children as when opened you are stood on A 30. from the

    Reviewed by Jackie3.8Jun 2018

  • "Bad maintence of property,(wooden flooring breaking up in dining area over grown garden all weeds)"

    Reviewed by David2.2Jun 2018

  • "Brilliant Holiday thanks."

    Reviewed by Alan5.0May 2018

  • "A lovely cottage, well equipped and very warm and cosy, the only downside."

    .. I cannot see anywhere on the listing that the cottage is situated on the main road to Lands End, not too busy at this time of year (traffic did keep us awake in the night with lights shining in the window!) but in the summer months it would be unbearable! The "private" patio is overlooked by next door, but more importantly it is on the main road and so therefore not private at all! Many thanks Andy and Lisa

    Reviewed by Andy4.7Mar 2018

  • "The listing does not show accurately the position of the cottage i."

    E. right on the A30 with a pavement next to the kitchen and bedroom windows. The road was used as a car park while people shopped so privacy was never there and noisy with traffic and people going about their daily chores.We could not leave windows open ( Noisy) and patio was very noisy if sat out there as well. Distance from car parking space should be explained better as it was much further than expected for carrying suitcases and shopping We think the listing is deliberately misleading by not explaining where the cottage is i.e. On the A30 as the traffic noise was not enjoyed, also states its near to a chip shop so when you look at the area you could assume it means the other chip shop in Sennen cove not the A30. There was no way of checking where it was until we paid and booked which is fair enough but the listing should be more informative not leaving out information. This is my only complaint about this cottage as other wise it is a lovely place and a lovely cottage with good decor and well equipped.

    Reviewed by Malcolm3.8Mar 2018

  • "Property not really clean especially "around edges"."

    High chair and cot hidden under bed and mouldy/dirty. Customer services very "distant" - noone you could speak to who actually knew the property.

    3.3Oct 2017

  • "Reasonably priced cottage in a good location above the fantastic Sennen Cove."


    Reviewed by Matthew4.8Aug 2017

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • All on one level
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining and sitting area.
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washer dryer, sllimline dishwasher, Smart TV, DVD, Wi-Fi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off road parking for one car, approx 100 yards from property
  • Terrace with sea views and garden furniture and Barbecue
  • Sorry, no pets and smoking
  • Pub 2 mins walk
  • Shop 2 mins walk
  • Beach 10 mins walk.

The property

A superb barn conversion just a short walk from beautiful Sennen Cove.

With ocean views from every room, Kerensa ha-Kres sits in the village of Sennen on the far west Cornish coastline and is within a five minute drive of stunning Lands End.

With accommodation all on one level, the barn is snuggled in the corner of a pretty courtyard with a private raised terrace overlooking the sea.

The open-plan sitting room and both bedrooms have windows capturing a vision of sea.

The white gloss kitchen and ocean-coloured inspired bathroom add to the very charismatic interior which is a fusion of character and modern charm.

Enjoy a picnic on the private, elevated patio amidst the almost uninterrupted country and ocean vista, with garden table and chairs for dining under the sun or stars.

There's outdoor space for surf gear and buckets and spades, or bring cycles to explore this magical most westerly tip of Cornwall.

If you opt not to cook, the fish and chip shop and good food inn are all within a few minutes walk, plus a village store for provisions.

The Lands End Peninsula boasts dramatic land and seascapes.

The coastal path is ideal for discovering the rugged coastline and beautiful coves and beaches.

Sennen Cove has a popular one mile stretch of sandy beach and Whitesands Beach is a favourite with the surfers, with terrace restaurant looking out across the Atlantic, a pub for refreshment and a surf shop for the water adventurous.

The beach at Porthcurno is very beautiful and the Minack theatre is a striking setting with seats carved from the cliff face against the ever changing backdrop of sea and sky.

For those that love the dramatic coastline of Cornwall Kerensa ha-Kres is hard to beat!

View on map

About the location


Land’s End 1 mile; St Just 5 miles; Penzance 9 miles.

The most westerly village in mainland Britain, Sennen has a lovely mile-long beach of pure white sand and is a very popular holiday destination. With excellent surfing conditions, the village has its own surf school – overlooked by a super-cool beach bar/restaurant with floor-to-ceiling windows which make the most of the wonderful views. Once a hub of smuggling activity, Sennen still retains many secret passages – one of which is said to lead to the covered well in the Old Success Inn. Largely unchanged over time, this lovely village has a timeless appeal and is home to a gallery, a medieval church, an Iron Age fort and a small selection of shops where you can buy beachware, gifts and souvenirs, and a range of groceries. There is also a weekly Farmers’ Market in the village Community Centre each Tuesday morning. During the summer, the beach bar becomes a hub of activity and entertainment, with live music, weekly barbecues and popular surfing competitions.