In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 28 View Image Gallery
  • Mural Cottage - Cornwall - 976546 - photo 1


2nd Floor1st FloorGround Floor

Kitchen Dining Area Bathroom WC



Mural Cottage

(Ref. 976546)

Mousehole, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (27)
  • parking (18)
  • stay (17)
  • our (15)
  • holiday (14)
  • mousehole (14)

37 Customer Reviews

  • "As usual a completely ☺ stay no complaints ."

    Well maintained and cleaned

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0May 2024

  • "The cottage is in a great location."

    Parking was not an issue for us, as we dropped off and parked in the harbour car park. Cottage now needs a good refit and overhaul. Comments in other reviews have referred to various issues for well over 2 years, and they now could do with being fixed. Damp on the staircase, plus damp musty smells. No hot water in the kitchen. The shower and bathroom needs updating. The constant running cold water tap in the bedroom was very annoying. Generally, the cottage is tired and could do with modernising, with new furniture, beds, and TV. The potpourri was mouldy and lots of hairs were found in the bath when we arrived, along with various cobwebs and dust. if I had visited in the peak holiday period, I do not believe this location offers value for your money, but as I visited out of peak season the price was more acceptable. Summing up, great location, but now it is time to freshen the cottage up, in readiness for the 2024 season

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We have dealt with some of the issues you have raised already and over the forthcoming few months, we will be looking into addressing some further changes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew3.1Dec 2023

  • "Beautiful well equipped cottage, had a wonderful weeks stay ,and had bonus of brilliant weather too, cottage tucked away down small cornish street but near enough to walk to a bus that passed harbour front many times a day ."

    Perfect would love to go again sometime,thankyou

    Reviewed by Celia5.0Sep 2023

  • "Cottage was in very good location near several coffee shops, pubs and restaurants and lovely costal walks nearby."

    Property it self was very Cousy and had all essentials. It could do with little modernisation and something to take the musky damp smell away. It certainly didn’t spoil our holiday and we loved our time spent in Cornwall.

    Reviewed by Laura3.8Sep 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay in Mural Cottage."

    It was so well stocked and the small touches like tea and cake on arrival made it really lovely to stay there. Things like there being cling film, kitchen roll and enough dishwasher tablets for our stay was really appreciated. We also enjoyed the well stocked book shelves. The location was brilliant and we loved jumping off the harbour wall most evenings. Parking was limited but we always managed to find a car parking space in the harbour for £5 per day. We will be coming back to Mousehole as it’s a lovely area and we still have so much to do. Tried to rebook but your already booked up for next year- another year then

    Reviewed by Abigail5.0Aug 2023

  • "The cottage is the nicest holiday rental we have ever stayed in."

    Very clean , very comfortable , well equipped and beautifully decorated. The welcome pack was a lovely thoughtful touch. There was only one negative , the parking. We couldn’t get to the front of the house to unpack/ pack due to neighbours blocking the road, and a large van parking in front of the window blocking the view. Will miss this beautiful little cottage

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Jun 2023

  • "Mural Cottage is fantastically located in beautiful mousehole."

    It has everything you could possibly need, a well stocked kitchen with all the equipment you could possibly need, bedrooms were beautifully made up and a lovely cosy lounge. Lots of information on local shops and eateries, was spotlessly clean. Tea and cake on the kitchen table as a welcome which was lovely. Only thing I missed was being able to sit outside, we stayed during a beautiful week and it would’ve been nice to sit out in an evening. We improvised and sat outside the front of the cottage on the pavement sipping wine in the sunshine. We met so many people as they walked by, locals, people on holiday was really lovely. I would absolutely recommend Mural cottage we had a wonderful week there.

    Reviewed by Tracy4.7May 2023

  • "Being a regular stay at Mural Cottage we found as usual that all the facilities were excellent ."

    No complaints

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0Dec 2022

  • "Upto date information regarding parking fees, eating places etc is required."

    Not being allowed into the cottage until 5pm shortens the stay which is abit annoying when you've done a 7 hour trip to get there. Having to strip the beds and empty all the rubbish bins is not what we go on holiday for , we go to get away from doing that and that should be included in the, sometimes , high rental price.

    Reviewed by Victoria4.4Oct 2022

  • "We liked the cottage with its quirky layout and its central position in Mousehole."

    The kitchen is well equipped and the wi-fi worked well. We enjoyed our stay. Like other reviewers have mentioned, parking is difficult in Mousehole. With spaces at the harbour car park rarely available, we used the car park by the Old Coastguard which is £11 day and you need the JustGo phone app or cash as the machines were not accepting card payments. A bus stop is by the harbour about three minutes walk from the cottage, with a regular service to Penzance.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Sep 2022

  • "Mural cottage is charming, has excellent facilities and was very clean on arrival."

    Thanks for the cake, milk and tea bags. However, both toilets & bathroom are on the lower ground floor, down a steep flight of steps. Warning, there are three concrete steps for anyone with walking difficulties/small children. Be careful at night when needing to use the toilet. Parking is diabolical. Mousehole is not car friendly and we were unable to park near the cottage to unpack/repack...or take shopping in due to building work one end (near gallery) and cars parked at the other end of the road. Both North and South Harbour car parks fill up very quickly and cost £5 for 24 hours. The other carpark next to the Old Coastguard. is £11 and again, at the time of our stay was full when we came back from days out. Mousehole has very little in the way of shops. No supermarket or post office. There are a few quirky gift shops and two rather expensive delicatessens. Watch out for the traffic as the roads are narrow with no pavements. The Harbour itself is quaint, with clean sandy beaches & several ice cream shops. The Ship pub is a friendly place and a meal at The Old Coastguard delicious with a fantastic view. It's worth going off the beaten track to see The Merry Maidens; a stone circle.St Ives, Penzance & Lands End are obviously maijor tourist areas and very popular. Sennen, slightly north of Lands End has a beautiful beach & a cafe serving fabulous fish & chips. The nearest supermarkets are on the outskirts of Penzance. Unfortunately we didn't realise how popular Mousehole was, and should have done our homework in advance regarding parking & the amenities.

    Reviewed by Amanda2.5Aug 2022

  • "Perfect placefor Familie."

    Reviewed by Astrid4.7Jul 2022

  • "The property was well laid out, if a little quirky with stairs down to the kitchen and bathroom."

    Mousehole was a lovely village, not too crowded, with the property a great base to explore round and about. The harbour was a good spot for swimming when the tide is in or just lazing in the sun. For future holidaymakers, the roads are particularly narrow and carparks either side of the harbour filled up very quickly, so first come first served, but there was parking on the hill, almost to the village of Paul. Need to take food provisions as shops in Mousehole do not cater for a large shop - Newlyn has a Co-op if food is required. All in all it was a great holiday retreat and would highly recommend the property and Mousehole.

    Reviewed by Andy5.0Jul 2022

  • "All facilities where very good except tv downstairs lost sound and catch up facilities however this did deter us from enjoying our STAY in the cottage ."

    Back again in October Yours Maureen&Keith

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage although stairs pretty dangerous."

    2nd time there and loved our holiday.

    Hi there. Thank you for leaving feedback. There is a handrail provided up the stairs. We do not feel they pose a heightened risk. We hope you will return for a 3rd time! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Jun 2022

  • "Very nice property, well equipped, clean."

    Thanks for the cake! Parking tricky due to Jubilee road closure, and car parks being full. But that is made clear in listing, and we managed to find a space on hill going out of the village.

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Jun 2022

  • "The cottage was more than we expected & had all that we needed for our stay."

    The location was good, nice & quiet, & a very short walk to the harbour. First time in Mousehole & will come back down here at some time. Park my car in the main car park & paid by using the parking app (no need to go back to the car to renew ticket). It’s about a 5 minute walk, so it was no problem for us each day we went out. Also, there where spaces each day we came back. Highly recommend this cottage for your stay in Mousehole.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0May 2022

  • "Excellent property in a great location in the village, will definitely stay again"

    Reviewed by Patrick5.0Apr 2022

  • "This is the second time that we have stayed at Mural Cottage and it was a lovely as we remembered it."

    Since our last stay, the sofas and bathroom have been updated - lovely! Tea bags, milk and a cake were provided on arrival (very welcome). The only down-side to the holiday (which is nothing to do with the cottage at all) was that the price of parking in the town has risen steeply since our previous stay two years ago. If you are lucky enough to get a space down in the harbour, you can park for 24 hours for £3. If not, the other parking spaces have become very pricey - previously you could park long the parade overnight for free. It's not the end of the world, but if you're stying for a week, it can add another £100 to your stay.

    Reviewed by Heather4.7Aug 2021

  • "Giving the cleaners longer for extra Covid cleaning when it is a normal clean and no extras being done."

    Most places we stop now offer some sort of welcome basket, some basic and some luxurious but not to even offer the basic tea/coffee is poor. However the beds were comfy and enjoyed our stay. 5pm is too late though to be let in and the excuse of extra cleaning is incorrect as things found that hadn’t been done.

    Thank you for your feedback. We have passed these comments onto the owner. We however wish to assure you that the welcome pack was obviously missed on this occasion, as you can see from glowing feedback this is usually provided. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne3.8Aug 2021

  • "I think the issue with parking really does need to be made more apparent."

    We were travelling with a toddler and new baby and on occasions, the only parking spot in the entire village was on entry - a one and a half mile walk away! I appreciate things are unusual this year and that there are a lot more tourists taking up valuable parking places but this made things very difficult for us and quite frankly, miserable. Carrying a new baby, getting a toddler to walk a mile and a half with three bags of shopping from a supermarket is just horrendous. Add to this, there's a general air of 'dislike' of tourists in the village - probably from a fear of a spike in Covid cases - which showed itself as abrupt, rudeness from many business owners (not all). I've watched as other tourists have been spoken to rudely, fingers jabbed at them by residents just because they mentioned the parking situation! Yes, again I appreciate their frustrations but if they want money into their local economy, they have to learn to treat their visitors with more respect. Overall, the combined situation made this a challenging and disappointing holiday.

    Thank you for your feedback. On our website we do say the following - In the heart of Mousehole, 200 yards from the pub, shops and harbour, a split-level, terraced, 18th cent., Grade II listed, fisherman’s cottage with a tiny, traffic-free lane at the back. Loading and unloading outside; car park, 200 yards. Mousehole is a very popular destination, especially so during the summer months. We would always advise that should you have any concerns or questions regarding the parking arrangements, that you contact us to discuss this prior to making a booking. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carrie4.4Jun 2021

  • "Amazing place and beautiful cottage."

    Highly recommended although not for someone with mobility issues. Parking pretty bad but I suppose that is to be expected for an old fishing village. Otherwise, great place and I would return.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0May 2021

  • "We really enjoyed our stay the cottage is very quirky and comfortable and has everything you need."

    The house is on 3 floors with kitchen and bathrooms on lower floors so if your not mobile or you use a walking stick you may find this a challenge. There is a bit of renovation going on in the adjoining property but we only heard the builders once during the whole of our stay - the seagulls were more louder than the builders! We loved mousehole it’s lovely and quiet and handy to explore other places. Parking can be interesting but we managed to park on the key side for £3 a day. All main supermarkets are In Penzance and you can arrange a pre delivery

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Apr 2021

  • "The parking was difficult but that’s to be expected in these wonderful little villages."

    We parked outside Mousehole and walked 20 mins to our cottage, great when dry .

    Reviewed by Charlotte3.8Oct 2020

  • "Parking can be an issue sometimes if the nearest car park is full."

    Lovely bathroom but it is on the ground floor which we failed to notice in description of property, ok for us but would probably not suit the elderly. On the whole, good value for money as it's a nice cosy cottage and we would return. Two of us but would comfortably house five.

    Reviewed by Rod4.1Sep 2020

  • "Beautiful cottage in central Mousehole."

    Has been refurbished since the pictures on the website. Very comfortable and well equipped. However no hairdryer! Very comfortable beds, sofas and good sized bathroom with bath and shower. Be aware that the roads bins are collected from directly outside the cottage at 8am Wed morning. Out the back where the kitchen is the properties adjacent are being worked on which was sometimes very noisy. Very disappointed the cleaner/caretaker just let herself in without knocking whilst we still had occupancy of the cottage to deliver the bedding and towels for the next visitor. We were downstairs and she didn’t even check or knock, a complete breach of our privacy. Completely unacceptable behaviour.

    Thank you for your comments. We have spoken with the owner who has confirmed that her housekeeper did knock and shout out before entering the property, once she realised you were still inside she promptly left. The collection of the dustbins is out of the owners control as is the neighbouring properties carrying out internal renovations. Hairdryers are not part of Helpful Holidays inventory. Despite the points raised we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Mousehole. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare3.8Aug 2020

  • "The house is fantastic, the pictures don’t do it justice."

    Mousehole is an absolutely fab place to stay; we’re looking forward to coming back.

    Reviewed by Sam4.7Jul 2020

  • "Absolutley amazing - second visit and would book again."

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Dec 2019

  • "All brilliant."

    Weather brilliant. Food brilliant. Siting of accommodation brilliant. An interesting layout to the cottage on three floors with kitchen, dining and bathroom down a level. Loose top banister on the right supporting the stairgate needs fastening, otherwise all facilities brilliant. Nothing missing as far as we could see comfort and kitchen wise.

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Aug 2019

  • "Pleasant cottage close to harbour but beware , peak season is a nightmare to find parking, we had to pay £9 for 24hrs most days which is ridiculous on top of rental cost of property."

    Thought that a few things could be improved such as new sofas and wardrobe in twin bedroom had really bad smell inside also bathroom cud do with a makeover (or a really good clean!). On the plus side, Mousehole is a really pretty place to stay and a visit to the Minack Theatre and Lands End is a must.

    Reviewed by Joanne3.8Aug 2019

  • "Fab cottage in perfect location ."

    Lovely place to stay and explore. Had great holiday.

    Reviewed by Anita5.0Jul 2019

  • "Mural Cottage is delightful; the kitchen is well equipped."

    All three bedrooms are equally comfortable. This was our second visit, the first was in a hot summer (and the cottage was cool), and the second visit was in winter, (always warm to return to). We hope to return in future.

    Reviewed by Kay5.0Dec 2018

  • "This was our first holiday with Helpful Holidays since 2013 having used you 5 or 6 times previously to that, so we were a little worried that being part of the larger Sykes group may have a negative effect."

    Thankfully our concerns were unfounded and everything was up to the standards of previous bookings. The cottage is just what we want for a Cornish getaway and Mousehole is beautiful as always.

    Reviewed by Jon4.7Oct 2018

  • "Lacked a hair drier."

    As there is no telephone difficult to contact the caretaker and when we did it was just a message. The property is unfit for anyone with only a slight disability, due to the steep stairs and cottage location up a steep hill.Very difficult to access by car having to reverse back up a narrow lane every time, otherwise we had a nice holiday.

    Reviewed by Tony3.8Sep 2018

  • "Parking is obviously a complication and I think must be worse in peak season."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Neil4.7Sep 2018

  • "This is a great holiday cottage."

    It's in the centre of Mousehole and in a quiet location. The cottage is very well stocked with everything you need for self catering. The car park is only 100 yards away and is only £3 per day. There are supermarkets a couple of miles away at Newlyn. It's a very good base to explore the Lizard and Lands End area of Cornwall.

    Reviewed by Austin5.0May 2018

  • "We've stayed in Mural Cottage before, so we knew it."

    It's very convenient for the centre of Mousehole, and a good sea view from one of the bedrooms. The cottage is clean and well presented, warm and comfortable, and we had a great holiday. Of course, Mousehole is a fishing village without easy parking, and, because of the cottage's situation, people staying there have to be prepared for an adventurous bit of reversing into a narrow lane when unloading and loading at the beginning and end of the holiday, and to negotiate with neighbours to move cars. So long as visitors know to expect this, that's fine. We found the best place to park in the evenings is, rather than the harbour car parks, on the road from Newlyn, where there are roadside spaces which are at the moment free. Bonus: a pleasant walk beside the sea, with all of Mount's Bay spread out before you. Other tips: rubbish collection is on Weds, and you have to wheel the bin quite a way to a collections point. Good idea to bring extra clothes pegs: washing machine works well. Oh, and, yes, there IS a mural!

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Mar 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday


  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king size double, 1 x twin, 1 x floor single
  • Ground floor sitting room
  • Lower ground floor kitchen with dining area
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Basin and WC.
  • Electric fires with night storage heating
  • Microwave, fridge-freezer, washer-dryer, dishwasher, TV with DVD, WiFi, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair available on request
  • Parking is available in a public car park nearby
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Pub less than 1 mile from property
  • Note: This property sleeps a maximum of 5, including babies.

The property

In the heart of Mousehole, one of Cornwall's prettiest villages, 200 yards from the pub, shops and harbour is Mural Cottage.

This quirky, split-level, 18th cent., terraced cottage is a Grade II listed former fisherman’s cottage.

Entering on the ground floor, the cosy sitting room features a fun mural scene of Mousehole’s past.

Also on the ground floor is a pretty single bedroom.

On the lower ground floor, you'll find the large fitted kitchen with dining area, a bathroom and additional cloakroom.

From the hall, steep stairs lead to the second floor and two more bedrooms, both with window seats for taking in the view – a king size double and one with two singles, which has a view of the sea over rooftops.

Outside you can load and unload the car before parking in the car park, 200 yards away.

Mural Cottage is perfectly placed for exploring Mousehole (pronounced 'Mouzzle' locally), which has a selection of shops and good places to eat around its historic harbour.

Further afield, it’s worth spending a day exploring Penzance and spectacular St Michaels Mount, or take in a show at the internationally renowned Minack Theatre, a superb open air venue perched high on the cliffs above stunning Porthcurno.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Penzance 4 miles; St Ives 12 miles.

A delightful fishing village nestled on a hillside and spilling down to the shore. The picturesque harbour, surrounded by its maze of winding narrow streets, draws visitors from miles around, while in the distance St Michael's Mount stands proudly in the centre of Mounts Bay. A fabulous coastline and miles of spectacular walking characterise the area, with seabirds, seals and wild headlands leading just around the corner to Land's End. The Minack cliff-top theatre is a few miles along the coast, while reminders of the region's ancient past in the form of Dolmens and standing stones appear everywhere. St Ives, with its stunning beaches, beautiful harbour and narrow winding streets is just 12 miles away.

Note: This property sleeps a maximum of 5, including babies.